U-Haul Moving & Storage of Hammond

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Hammond

Share |

Address

822 165th St
Hammond, IN 46324

(219) 937-1454

(& Calumet)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump

View Rentals

Moving Truck Rental in Hammond, IN at U-Haul Moving & Storage of Hammond

Moving to or from Hammond, IN, 46324? Get FREE truck rental rate quotes at U-Haul Moving & Storage of Hammond. U-Haul rental trucks are specifically engineered from the ground up to assist moving families, not freight. Our moving trucks have more safety features than other moving trucks in the industry including gentle ride suspension and high visibility mirrors to assist the driver. Whether you are moving a smaller apartment or a large four-bedroom house, U-Haul truck rentals in Hammond, IN will provide you with the moving truck rental you need to get from point A to point B. Find the perfect size moving truck to assist with your move, U-Haul is home of the $19.95 rental truck!

Get FREE moving truck, pickup truck and cargo van rental quotes at U-Haul Moving & Storage of Hammond

Zip/postal code or city, state/province
Zip/postal code or city, state/province

Available Trucks

Simply click on each moving truck shown above to view individual truck specs including: safety features, towing capacity, fuel economy and of course, the available space-per-truck size. Each rental truck is individually priced to help save you money, time and energy on your move to or from Hammond, IN.

Cargo vans and pickup truck rentals in Hammond, IN

U-Haul cargo van rentals and pickup trucks in Hammond, IN are perfect for home improvement projects, deliveries and other small loads. Rent cargo vans or pickups to save money on local moving or deliveries. Cargo van and pickup truck rentals are popular with local business, college students and smaller housing moves in Hammond, IN, 46324. Our moving van rentals include air conditioning, rub rails to protect your belongings and come equipped with a hitch to tow a trailer rental. U-Haul is the home of the $19.95 cargo van rental in Hammond, IN, reserve a van for your moving needs from U-Haul Moving & Storage of Hammond!

$19.95 Pickup truck and cargo van rentals

Features

  • Automatic transmission
  • Air conditioning
  • Gentle-Ride suspension
  • Fuel-efficient V-8
  • SRS/air bags

Customer reviews

MANUEL M. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First off stop trying to rip people off on fuel charges if your truck only read 1/4 tanks don't have a receipt that breaks down the gas tank in 1/8 then charge 5 gallons of gas for because some how your employees are able to look at a gas reader that shows 1/4 increments and visually convert that to 1/8 increments and charge me for five gallons when it so called was off by 2/8. High way robbery. Then you express to me before I leave that u haul doesn't reimburse for extra gas added to the truck so put it exactly where it's at upon leaving. Good things I took pictures before I return the truck showing the gas hand

Maurice A. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure trucks are in better shape

THOMAS M. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

customer service does not return calls regarding concerns.

Charlotte S. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The wait time for customer service rep. to assist customer.

MARK S. on 7/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mike the General mgr. Went above and beyond for my trailer hitch install today. Best service I've had in a retail environment in some time. Thanks Mark

KATHLEEN G. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They need to let the customers know about the overdrive. They failed to let us know and we moved 700 miles away and used TONS of gas.

MICHAEL C. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I came in on a Friday to rent a truck, which on that day the rates go up. That day was considered a busy day. When I got there they had only 1 register open and the lady in the front was very slow. I waited an hour just to pick up my already reserved truck. Once I got my truck the service light was on.

Elisa R. on 7/24/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Rude, made me wait without acknowledging my presence. Messy store. Not very friendly at all.

Cynthia S. on 7/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The check-in guy was NICE, fast & efficient! UHaul only allowed 10 more miles than I actually drove, so that was close + there was no credit for the additional 1/4 tank of gas which is about $25 ~ yet I would have been charged if it was too low :( go figure. Blessings!

JOSE C. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Charge the right amount,.

shelby c. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Schererville was the closer branch to me. I called the Schererville branch, and they had one tow dolly that I needed to move my truck. I gave the representative my debit card information to hold the dolly for me, and literally thirty seconds after I gave her the debit card information, the next words were "I'm sorry but the system cleared out your information and the dolly is no longer able to be reserved." Seriously?? Thirty seconds after I gave my debit card information, it was no longer there? Also, I should have been able to return the dolly to any U-Haul branch, whether it be Schererville or Hammond, I should not have had to drive an hour out of my way just to return it. As long as it is returned to a U-Haul branch, it shouldn't matter which branch. Will not be using U-Haul again any time soon because of this bad experience.

mark s. on 7/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it less expensive if you only use it for a couple of hrs you shouldn't be charged for the whole time

JOSE H. on 7/19/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The ignition key was not working right away. It takes almost 3 minutes to figure it out every time I tried turning on the Uhaul. Also, I was told I was charged one thing and then was charged another even though I specifically asked before leaving the place. They said it was because of miles, but that is not what we talked about inside. I was very upset and disappointed.

KESHA W. on 7/18/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Well Mike & Romell are great I wouldve giving a rating of excellent but the old lady they have working there....I cant remember her name & dont want to but she wears heavy eyeliner and drawn on eyebrows, she is very rude & unfriendly, she didnt explain anything to me and wanted to swipe my credit card without giving me a price! Who does that! I was sooo irratated by her nasty demeanor that i ask for someone else to finish with my rental, Thats when I had Romell he handled everything in a nice & respectful way.Its a shame that one sour apple can spoil the whole bunch.

DAVID E. on 7/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck was a worn out rattle trap. 96000 miles on it. Rear door let rain in. Every small bump made the dash board make a noise like the whole truck was going to fall apart. The steering wheel and the front end vibrated excessively. Just glad to have made it.

JAYNE S. on 7/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this place is exceptional. They really seem to take pride in their jobs. Manuel was especially helpful.

DEBBIE W. on 7/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Owner very accommodating and friendly. .

BRITTANY B. on 7/10/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

when we contacted the company for our moving needs we were assured we would be taken care of. first we had to drive 2 hours one way to pick up the truck and trailer, then 2 hours back home to load it, when we arrived we wanted a 26 foot truck but were provided a 20 foot truck and transport. they say they added 50 extra miles to help with the mileage but when driving 180 miles round trip to get the truck it was not even helpful. once we got the truck loaded and headed to our destination, we were not even 20 miles from our home before the auto transport broke down with a flat. once it was fixed and by the time we reached Nebraska, we stopped for gas and discovered that the car transport had yet again broken down with another flat. roadside service was contacted and we waited a little over an hour to be helped by someone who wouldn't even speak to us except to say "ok your all done" we were stranded at a truckstop with 4 children for almost an hour and not even a sorry for the trouble. the next day we were contacted by a person from u-haul saying we had to have the rentals back by 6 pm that day, our contract was for the 24th to the 28th and we were contacted on the 26th. we were also promised that because we had to drive 2 hours one way to pick up, we could come on the evening of the 25th and it would not count against us as an extra day...WRONG our family was contacted several times stating that another family was waiting for our truck in ATLANTA!! we were moving from Illinois to Wyoming..why would we have the truck to atlanta?? so when i contacted the company about this they stated it was a error on their part and not to worry...yeah rite..when we unloaded the truck and returned it to the drop off location it was clean..and had almost a full tank of gas..when we picked it up it was on 1/4 of a tank...then the very next morning i was contacted again by the drop off location by a man who was very rude to say the least and demanded an 800.00 payment for wrong drop off location..DOES ANYONE READ CASE NOTES??? so i again contacted the company and was advised not to worry they would take care of it YET AGAIN...so when i contacted the company to make sure it was taken care of i requested a refund of the entire contract minus the mileage, and was advised that i would have to wait 3 days for a decision, that was on the 30th of june it is now the 10th of july, and only get transferred then disconnected when i try to call to resolve this issue. my family has used uhaul for many years for almost every moving needs we had. our family was treated very badly and left alone in the middle of nowhere Nebraska with 4 children and a twice broken down car transport, i thought u-haul takes care of their customers..I guess I was wrong..really wrong this time. I will never forget this experience..awful

SERGIO C. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very dependable vehicles

JAYNE S. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am sorry to say I don't know the name of the front desk person, but he was fantastic and took pride in his job and was helpful. This place exceeded my expectations.

CHARLES J. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I,WAS VERY SATISFIED WITH THE SERVICE,AND WILL USE YOUR SERVICE THE NEXT TIME YOUR SERVICE IS NEEDED. THANK YOU VERY MUCH

SANDRA S. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I see nothing you could do, as for me I was very pleased. I give this location a 5 star.

MYRNA V. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Made reservations for speedy pick up waited more than 45 minutes to get truck. What is the purpose of this?

ALEKSIS B. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I added a package that included a dolly and 6 furniture pads with the truck. I only had 1 pad in the truck. Driving back to the store to pick up the missing pads would have only put more miles on the truck that I would have had to pay for, as well as taking out a large chunck of time from my rental. It would be nice if they could double check to make sure that ALL ordered supllies are provided in the truck prior to giving it to the customer.

TRACI D. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing!! Everything was great!!