Decent Car & Truck Rental & Services (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Decent Car & Truck Rental & Services (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

No photos available

Address

1286 Dupont St
Toronto, ON M6H2A4

(416) 264-6662

(Dupont and Lansdowne)
Driving directions

View website

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 8 am - 4 pm
  • Fri-Sat: 8 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 8 am - 4 pm

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Decent Car & Truck Rental & Services

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Decent Car & Truck Rental & Services

Overall rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

CASEY C. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very convenient drop off, staff person on site was helpful and polite, friendly. (also, he was very helpful with my one concern about less gas in the tank than there was supposed to be when we picked up)

Wilson C. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Location poorly kept.

chengzhi x. on 7/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good manager,he is a very kind people.

Christina H. on 7/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received a confirmation email for one location and truck was at another location which I found out only when I got there.

MARK P. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It really is just a tiny shack crammed full of stuff (not even a working washroom). What bumped it up to average is that the guy that helped me was nice and helpful.

SUSANNAH B. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My rating would have been higher, but I kept trying to call them and they refused to pick up the phone.

CHU S. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My credit card got charged twice! Plus, it is difficult to contact U-Haul!

Ana M. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The customer service representative was very unpleasant. Also I had to ask him to give me intructions on how to use the van, he was ready to have me sign the papers without gicing me instructions or showing me where the insurance or maintenance papers were. Not a gret customer service expereince at all!! Will not recommend or use Uhal again.

DIRK B. on 7/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was prompt, friendly and uncomplicated. Very much unlike my previous UHaul experiences. Thank you!

TINA C. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I recently made a reservation on the phone with one of your customer representative . He told me they can send someone to pick up the truck at my location without any additional cost. However, when I went to pick up my truck, I was told by the frontdesk that they can't do the pick up. It took me almost half an hour to deal with this. I would like to know why your representative told me something that is not true?

KAREN H. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The attendant was two hours late. After returning the vehicle, the location called looking for their van a month later. I had to contact uhaul directly for assistance. Overall, Uhaul was great particularly Dan Girard and Jennifer Dietz, but this location has poor customer service which indirectly gives Uhaul somewhat of a bad name.

JOHN L. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location needs to be more responsive on the telephone. I have called a number of times after I rented the truck to ask a question about billing and nobody has ever answered. Regarding the billing, I am not sure how to proceed because my credit card was over charged, but nobody is at the location to take my call and go over the bill. Therefore, I can't pay until someone at this location answers my call.

Khim S. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Completely unsatisfied with this Uhaul rental. The lot was so small and when we returned the cargo van, there was not sufficient room to park in the lot. After calling the UHAUL line and verifying where to park the van. They advised and gave us the okay to park on the road. The van got towed and they credited an unauthorized parking ticket fee after informing me that there will be no additional expenses once the account was completely closed on May 9th.

DANIEL R. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Gassed up the truck next door at the Shell gas station before returning and I'm charged an additional $18.95 for 9.46 litres of gas in my final bill? That is ridiculous and criminal. I will be telling everyone about this sketchy behaviour and never renting from uhaul, again.

RAYMOND C. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Representative was very efficient and courteous. Very helpful and accommodating. Overall great experience!

FRANK G. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your home website has very poor customer service! They sent us to 2 different locations first to 30 Nugget and then to the 1286 Dupont St. We were unde the impresstion that wer would get the truck early on Saturday morning, June 28/14 and by the time we picked it up it was 4:30 in the afternoon. This created problems for us. For this reason I would not use your company again.

STEVEN T. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location I droped it off at was gross and dirty with a pile of garbage beside the door of old pop cans and bags of garbage I would never in my life time refer anyone to that location because of health reasone this place should be shut down right away I am a mystery shopper and I would never walk into that place again I want all charges dropped from my account and if you want someone to really work for you Please give me a call at 1 647-741-4388 I would love to do mystery shopping for locations for U-Haul across Canada.

Thomas K. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Location did not have any moving supplies (mattress covers, boxes) and did not have our requested dolly.

Wincy L. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No one answered the phone at this location - EVER. Then again, there's only one guy working at this location, which is a shack next to a gas station and a trailer and a pile of trash. The trucks were booked back to back, so I wondered just how often they were cleaned... But hey, you get what you pay for, right?

ARYEH L. on 6/27/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The cargo hold of the truck was full of animal hair. After arriving at this location on time for my rental pick-up- found the door locked, other customers waiting outside and was informed by employee that they had already closed (at 3 p.m. instead of 4). Employee did eventually let us complete our rental agreement, and was polite, but told us that his boss doesn't pay him from 3-4 p.m. The phone number given from the U-Haul site for this location is not correct.

paul m. on 6/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a good experience. I rented three times recently, kept coming back.

Alvaro L. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was just perfect. Kind and professional. A perfect experience.

ANDREW M. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Open on time, not 90 minutes late.

Roozbeh P. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location contact information is wrong and no one has it, not even u-haul's headquarter. they charged me $15 for 2 liters of gas, which is impossible to distinguish on a very small analog gage. I want to contact and rectify this with the location, and all the numbers (on the website, from headquarters, etc.) connect me to another location!!!

KARL B. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My only issues were the lack of a decent restaurant/coffee shop in the area while waiting for the truck, and the fact that everything was in Miles took some getting used to (due to U-Haul being an American company)

MATHIEU S. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The location had run out of mattress covers, which I had been hoping to purchase. This is the only thing that I feel could have been improved.

TRACY T. on 6/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had read about the long lineups but being a Thursday mid month we were the only ones there at the time, Agent was really nice and helpful. The truck was clean but was running really rough. Location you can't beat. My only complaint is that no-one ever answers the phone and it caused me some stress as we were running late....I had also tried the day before to confirm and again, line was either busy or not answered. A company of this size should be more professional about this. UHAUL Corporate Office - do something about this!!!

JAMES B. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Simply out the location was not able to fulfill the specifications of my reservation

Yasser A. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Worst rental experience ever! The store open at 8am and the guys didn't show up until 9:40pm. There was a huge line (10) and it took me another half hour to get my VAN. I got my elevator locked from 9am-12m..so I missed 1h 30 minutes!! Friends waiting for me, running late for everything, it was a chaos because U-Haul was 1h 30 minutes late. The guy said I'm sorry and he gave me $3.50 as Customer Service Refund. Whaaat?? That was ridiculous.

Justin F. on 6/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck drove smoothly and the service was friendly!

ARJAY T. on 6/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall, its been a great experience and i will definitely use this location again in the near future..

llijah p. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service. Great location. Thanks a bunch!

FRANCOIS C. on 6/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Their phone obviously doesn't work. The attendant claims he attempted to contact me several times during the previous week - I had no recorded call or message. I in turn had tried to phone them: the line was either busy or would not answer.

Alp G. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There is only one person who does everything - rentals, payments, moving trucks in and out of parking spots. He is stretched too far. There was a long long line when I was renting and also when returning. He needs an assistant. Nothing against him. He was very nice and efficient, given all he had to do by himself.

Tracy M. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I called 8 times throughout my moving day and they never picked up. I even called customer support and they tried to call, but no answer. Everything else was fine, just pick up the phone.

Sonia T. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I pre-ordered two dollies to facilitate my move, and was told there were none when I arrived to pick up the van. Its was very inconvenient and unprofessional.

DANY J. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Maybe improve the appearance of the location.

GLEN M. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Difficult to reach on the phone. Need to be more available.

DARREN K. on 5/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This might be more of a U-haul central planning thing, but when returning my vehicle after hours (the central employee who called me told me I could return it as soon as I was done with the truck), I had to get creative to fit the truck on the property. I was the last possible vehicle that could have been parked there. But once again, conveniently located.

Chris R. on 5/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff took time to fully explain truck rental process and answer all my questions. very professional! Thank you

Ninoslav V. on 5/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A bigger parking lot would really help the owner. Otherwise, excellent service.

Pedro B. on 5/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service!

STEVE F. on 5/16/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Was overcharged for distance driven, (charged in mi instead of kms) store does not want to resolve the issue referring me to head office to deal with this. Store is inconsistent with staffing during operating hours giving customers the only option of calling a number written on a piece of paper on the door which only takes you to a voice mail box where someone calls back 3hrs later.

SIOBHAN G. on 5/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

He didn't go through the truck with me like lights, working, where lights are etc. I knew from driving it before but if I didn't he shouldn't have rushed me.

MARY M. on 5/6/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The attendant at this location wanted us to drop the truck off at another location when the paper specifically stated we were to drop it at the Dupont location. I did not enjoy either dealings with UHaul on both ends of the process. U Haul is not very customer oriented and I was following the requirements. If I can avoid using UHaul in the future I will.

KAREN H. on 5/6/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Got a message on my home phone, after dropping off at Dupont that UHaul wanted me to drop it off elsewhere. Again, this would have added to my mileage and timing of my trip. Luckily there was one spot available for me to drop off at my intended location. Don't give people the option of pick up and drop off locations, if they can't be met. Your refueling guide is also off. I put in 50 litres according to your guide, which should have brought the tank back up to where i had started with it, but it was less/off by about $10. Need to correct your estimates as we can't tell when we are fueling if it is enough or make sure we get it with a full tank, and then return with a full tank - easier for customer.

DILYS B. on 5/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Give the poor man some space in his claustrophobic office!

JUSTIN B. on 5/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made a reservation for a van two days in advance, but got to the location to find out that there were no vehicles available. I had to wait an hour and a half before a rental van was returned by another customer and therefore available to me. I was told that this mix up happened because a customer did not return their van on time, and that one of the workers had rented out the "standby" van. I absolutely had to move out that day, and had no choice but to wait for a vehicle. Despite the fact that my reservation was NOT ready, the uhaul representative refused to provide me with the 50$ for having violated my reservation since I was "technically served". I do not believe that being forced to stand around for an hour and a half past my reservation time constitutes "being served" and was basically told that my time is worth nothing to this company. Once the vehicle did arrive, it came with just under a quarter tank of gas, was wet and dirty in the back, and had the engine warning light on. Again, not what I would expect from Uhaul. This rental location does not have a parking lot so much as a large dirt/gravel patch full of potholes. There are no spots marked for vehicles, and therefore customers dropping off their rentals after-hours do so in a completely disorganized fashion. When I went to return my rental vehicle there was no space left for me and I was forced to leave the vehicle parked partly on the lot, and partly on the sidewalk, sandwiched beside two other vehicles. Again, a completely unprofessional experience and stressful end to what was already a hard day thanks to this rental location. I have used Uhaul many times in the past, but will have to seriously reconsider if I will choose to use you again after having such a horrible experience. This rental location's operation is absolutely unprofessional and unbecoming of the Uhaul company image.

Jairo R. on 5/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was very good, very nice clerk, But the facilitie very small and was dirty outside.

steve d. on 5/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good Morning, Hope all is well! The Only Problem I had was parking the truck on return, the lot is small and people just park anywhere. I would recommend painting lines or coming up with something to park the trucks, have a area for cargo vans and a area for big trucks. Maybe getting info from the lot attendant would help with organizing it and making for return/pick up easier. Kind Regards, StevenDeSousa

Troy A. on 4/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff at this location were very helpful.

Muzrudeen A. on 4/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

First off, the guy who helped me out with the book was quite friendly and accommodating. Although this location is not a "pretty looking one", as it's got a tiny office suitable for just one person it's quite convenient for folks in Toronto who would like to p/u a Uhaul in the Dupont/Lansdown area. You can easily get to this location via TTC along Dupont street or via Lansdown avenue as the bus stop is only 2blks away from this location. Again, it does look more like a "make-shift" office but the service was great, and my billing was very accurate..I was not charged for a km extra, and the truck worked great .

Mark J. on 4/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

first of all...the van was unbelievably dirty. The outside looked like it had been driven down a dirt road for the last week. On the inside, the floor mats were so muddy that i doubt it had been cleaned in the last month. The van itself ran and drove just fine. After arriving 20 minutes before my 8am return time, i ended up sitting and waiting (illegally parked out on the busy street because there is absolutely no room in the crowded lot for another vehicle) for the location to open till 8:15...the representative didn't even show up till then, and had to open at that point. all in all, a 5 minute drop off ended up taking close to 30. very disappointing.

DANIELE B. on 4/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck was well maintained, but the cargo space was really dirty, I would have expected at least that it had been swept prior to the pick up. Regarding the location, there is no parking to leave the car. However, there is a big parking lot closeby, 5 minutes walking, not too bad.

Michelle R. on 4/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was great. The rep was knowledgeable, approachable, and professional. He was also very calm, which was a nice way to start a moving day. I liked the flexibility. Was moving out of town and he let me know that it wasn't an issue to return the rental the next day in my case (rather than late at night as I had said originally.) That really took the pressure off. Thanks.

ALISDAIR M. on 4/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very convenient, friendly service.

Martin S. on 4/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great fast convenient service!

Robert P. on 4/16/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Supposed to open at 8, employee showed up at 8:15. Truck back door was frozen shut. Second truck was dirty in cab, needed to be washed not just vacuumed.

Anthony H. on 4/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

difficult to find the location. u-haul should pay for the location to have a bigger sign.

DALIA M. on 4/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The location was very convenient for me and the vehicle was in pristine condition. The office and lot however could do with a good spring cleaning....

douglas j. on 4/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The representative was personable and very courteous a pleasure to do business with. Thanks for the business

JOHN S. on 4/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very honest, friendly and patient attendant, willing to do what it takes to satisfy my U-Haul needs !

anna w. on 4/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My cargo van was quite dirty and the bumper was falling off, but it ran fine and the gentleman behind the counter was very friendly and cheerful. And great location. Thanks!