Decent Car & Truck Rental & Services (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Decent Car & Truck Rental & Services (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

1286 Dupont St
Toronto, ON M6H2A4

(416) 264-6662

(Dupont and Lansdowne)
Driving directions

View website

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 8 am - 4 pm
  • Fri-Sat: 8 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 8 am - 4 pm

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Decent Car & Truck Rental & Services

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Decent Car & Truck Rental & Services

Overall rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

GABRIEL H. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The gentleman who helped me was very nice and showed me how to get started with the vehicle. Great!

VANESSA Y. on 8/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Original dropoff location had a full parking lot so Dupont was out of the way for us.

Guilherme S. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received the truck very fast and everything worked weel

Jason H. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location saved us - I was sent an email at 10:08am from Uhaul saying that my location had been changed - even though I left my home at 9:30am to pick up my truck. Thankfully the person at the Dupont location had a truck available for me, otherwise I would have been stuck. The Uhaul central booking system is an absolute joke, especially as I found out that I was changed from York Mills to Dupont ONLY when I called to confirm my reservation the day before, I won't rent from Uhaul ever again because of this nightmare of an experience.

DANIELLE K. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We waited to speak with the person at the desk for 45 minutes before getting our truck. There was only a line up of 2 people in front of us, but another person's truck had not shown up so we had to wait until they resolved his issue before getting our reserved truck.

GEOFFREY T. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Reserved a 14' truck online and did express check in. Arrived at location and no truck is available. Attendant at location worked to find me another truck but attendants at uhaul kept hanging up on him. While at location trying to figure out a new plan (with movers waiting at my house for truck to arrive) uhaul changed my 'confirmed' reservation to a small van, located in a suburb of the city. Essentially leaving me stranded. Fortunately, somebody returned another truck a half day early so I took that and was able to salvage some of my move. I am absolutely shocked that a company offering such incredibly poor service exists. I have not experienced such callus disregard as a customer in... well, possibly ever. I will never, ever, ever use your company again and will be filing a compliant at the Better Business Beureau.

ANDREW A. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found both staff I encountered both easy to work with and understanding. Unfortunately, I got intoxicated and couldn't return the van on time. I called ahead, the location was still able to care for the customer affected by my tardiness, and didn't charge me extra for the lateness. Maybe a day's worth of surcharge was lost but a long term customer was gained. I appreciate the great service.

JESSICA G. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It's convenient that it is next to a gas station.

MALISSA F. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy running the location was polite, but seemed to be slightly overwhelmed. I think he was doing the best he could. Our truck was clean, but the driver's side mirror had a screw loose so we had to keep opening the window and readjusting it while we were driving on the highway. I fixed it by wedging a coupon booklet between the mirrors. I think the problem is with the company. We got a call 90 minutes before we were to pick up our truck that we couldn't have it until 4:30 pm which ruined our moving plans. We called Customer Service and they were rude and offered no alternative solution. I had to ask them to see if there was another truck available somewhere else in the city - there was nothing. I think U-Haul needs a back-up plan for when people bring trucks back late. Also, when we went to pick up the truck, the guy wasn't there because he had to go pick up a van for another customer. Clearly he needs another staff member there. Also the little shack he's working out of is in serious need of a renovation. We will not be using U-Haul again.

ANN H. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Give them a truck with a radio that works.

HUBERTUS V. on 8/13/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and the pick-up went very smoothly. The location is convenient, but since there is very little parking it is stressful to bring the truck back at the end of the rental period because the lot fills up so fast. The staff suggested bringing the truck back in the morning if the lot was full, but that would require finding street parking somewhere and dealing with city parking passes/tickets. This location should work out a deal with another Uhaul location, so that if the lot is full you can bring it to another lot.

JARED C. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

1. The floor of the truck was very dusty and should have been cleaned prior to handing the car over to me. I had to sweep it out with a broom prior to loading my furniture in there. 2. I returned the car with a full tank of gas, yet was charged a small gas fee upon receiving my invoice via email. When I called the proprietor, he said that if was just below full, but I disagree, it was returned with the dial pointing exactly to "F", which doesn't sit well with me. I feel like I was taken advantaged of here.

Ian M. on 8/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfied with the service I received.

ZARRAR R. on 8/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Had a horrible experience overall. The employee overcharged me for gas in the truck. Told me if I pay him $10 cash, he would "let it go". I'm sure he pocketed the money. I couldn't return the UHAUL when I needed to because the lot was full, so I waited for an hour to get an answer on what to do. Nobody was willing to help me. Because of this I had to find a parking spot for it overnight and return it the next morning. This cost me extra kilometers and gas. HORRIBLE service and experience. Would never come back to this location again.

KYRA D. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

this location was great, the fellow that helped us was really really helpful. Uhaul however let us down. We had ordered a 17' truck for 9am, and they supplied us with a 14' truck at 4pm. Not good considering we were moving 1.5 hours away and had to endure cottage country traffic, twice. Could not finish the move till 3am because of it, and to make matters worse the new people moving in had to wait as well. Most disappointed in UHAUL as a company - feel that they didn't really care one way or another. The fellow at the Dupont location tried his very best to make things work for us.

David E. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I arrived at 9am as per my reservation, and the person who ran the place was locking up and said he would be back in 20 minutes. Apparently he had run out of paper for the printer. This was very inconvenient for me, and threw off my schedule.

MATT C. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great.

Kate B. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Site was pretty gross, lots of garbage. Staff were helpful and nothing was wrong with the truck.

NADIA K. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lot where the store is located ids absolutely disgusting. There is garbage everywhere. It was atrocious.

Laura G. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Answer the phone!! The phone just rings and rings, and finally you get a message that the long distance number (?!) is unavailable. I've been overcharged, which is the second time this has happened with UHAUL, and I won't be using them again in the future. You should not be charged for mileage until you've returned the truck, because you cant get through to anyone to dispute the charges. Really poor business practices.

ANA S. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, Thank you

CASEY C. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very convenient drop off, staff person on site was helpful and polite, friendly. (also, he was very helpful with my one concern about less gas in the tank than there was supposed to be when we picked up)

Wilson C. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Location poorly kept.

chengzhi x. on 7/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good manager,he is a very kind people.

Christina H. on 7/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received a confirmation email for one location and truck was at another location which I found out only when I got there.

MARK P. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It really is just a tiny shack crammed full of stuff (not even a working washroom). What bumped it up to average is that the guy that helped me was nice and helpful.

SUSANNAH B. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My rating would have been higher, but I kept trying to call them and they refused to pick up the phone.

CHU S. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My credit card got charged twice! Plus, it is difficult to contact U-Haul!

Ana M. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The customer service representative was very unpleasant. Also I had to ask him to give me intructions on how to use the van, he was ready to have me sign the papers without gicing me instructions or showing me where the insurance or maintenance papers were. Not a gret customer service expereince at all!! Will not recommend or use Uhal again.

DIRK B. on 7/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was prompt, friendly and uncomplicated. Very much unlike my previous UHaul experiences. Thank you!

TINA C. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I recently made a reservation on the phone with one of your customer representative . He told me they can send someone to pick up the truck at my location without any additional cost. However, when I went to pick up my truck, I was told by the frontdesk that they can't do the pick up. It took me almost half an hour to deal with this. I would like to know why your representative told me something that is not true?

KAREN H. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The attendant was two hours late. After returning the vehicle, the location called looking for their van a month later. I had to contact uhaul directly for assistance. Overall, Uhaul was great particularly Dan Girard and Jennifer Dietz, but this location has poor customer service which indirectly gives Uhaul somewhat of a bad name.

JOHN L. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location needs to be more responsive on the telephone. I have called a number of times after I rented the truck to ask a question about billing and nobody has ever answered. Regarding the billing, I am not sure how to proceed because my credit card was over charged, but nobody is at the location to take my call and go over the bill. Therefore, I can't pay until someone at this location answers my call.

Khim S. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Completely unsatisfied with this Uhaul rental. The lot was so small and when we returned the cargo van, there was not sufficient room to park in the lot. After calling the UHAUL line and verifying where to park the van. They advised and gave us the okay to park on the road. The van got towed and they credited an unauthorized parking ticket fee after informing me that there will be no additional expenses once the account was completely closed on May 9th.

DANIEL R. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Gassed up the truck next door at the Shell gas station before returning and I'm charged an additional $18.95 for 9.46 litres of gas in my final bill? That is ridiculous and criminal. I will be telling everyone about this sketchy behaviour and never renting from uhaul, again.

RAYMOND C. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Representative was very efficient and courteous. Very helpful and accommodating. Overall great experience!

FRANK G. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your home website has very poor customer service! They sent us to 2 different locations first to 30 Nugget and then to the 1286 Dupont St. We were unde the impresstion that wer would get the truck early on Saturday morning, June 28/14 and by the time we picked it up it was 4:30 in the afternoon. This created problems for us. For this reason I would not use your company again.

STEVEN T. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location I droped it off at was gross and dirty with a pile of garbage beside the door of old pop cans and bags of garbage I would never in my life time refer anyone to that location because of health reasone this place should be shut down right away I am a mystery shopper and I would never walk into that place again I want all charges dropped from my account and if you want someone to really work for you Please give me a call at 1 647-741-4388 I would love to do mystery shopping for locations for U-Haul across Canada.

Thomas K. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Location did not have any moving supplies (mattress covers, boxes) and did not have our requested dolly.

Wincy L. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No one answered the phone at this location - EVER. Then again, there's only one guy working at this location, which is a shack next to a gas station and a trailer and a pile of trash. The trucks were booked back to back, so I wondered just how often they were cleaned... But hey, you get what you pay for, right?

ARYEH L. on 6/27/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The cargo hold of the truck was full of animal hair. After arriving at this location on time for my rental pick-up- found the door locked, other customers waiting outside and was informed by employee that they had already closed (at 3 p.m. instead of 4). Employee did eventually let us complete our rental agreement, and was polite, but told us that his boss doesn't pay him from 3-4 p.m. The phone number given from the U-Haul site for this location is not correct.

paul m. on 6/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a good experience. I rented three times recently, kept coming back.

Alvaro L. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was just perfect. Kind and professional. A perfect experience.

ANDREW M. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Open on time, not 90 minutes late.

Roozbeh P. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location contact information is wrong and no one has it, not even u-haul's headquarter. they charged me $15 for 2 liters of gas, which is impossible to distinguish on a very small analog gage. I want to contact and rectify this with the location, and all the numbers (on the website, from headquarters, etc.) connect me to another location!!!

KARL B. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My only issues were the lack of a decent restaurant/coffee shop in the area while waiting for the truck, and the fact that everything was in Miles took some getting used to (due to U-Haul being an American company)

MATHIEU S. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The location had run out of mattress covers, which I had been hoping to purchase. This is the only thing that I feel could have been improved.

TRACY T. on 6/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had read about the long lineups but being a Thursday mid month we were the only ones there at the time, Agent was really nice and helpful. The truck was clean but was running really rough. Location you can't beat. My only complaint is that no-one ever answers the phone and it caused me some stress as we were running late....I had also tried the day before to confirm and again, line was either busy or not answered. A company of this size should be more professional about this. UHAUL Corporate Office - do something about this!!!

JAMES B. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Simply out the location was not able to fulfill the specifications of my reservation

Yasser A. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Worst rental experience ever! The store open at 8am and the guys didn't show up until 9:40pm. There was a huge line (10) and it took me another half hour to get my VAN. I got my elevator locked from 9am-12m..so I missed 1h 30 minutes!! Friends waiting for me, running late for everything, it was a chaos because U-Haul was 1h 30 minutes late. The guy said I'm sorry and he gave me $3.50 as Customer Service Refund. Whaaat?? That was ridiculous.

Justin F. on 6/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck drove smoothly and the service was friendly!

ARJAY T. on 6/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall, its been a great experience and i will definitely use this location again in the near future..

llijah p. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service. Great location. Thanks a bunch!

FRANCOIS C. on 6/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Their phone obviously doesn't work. The attendant claims he attempted to contact me several times during the previous week - I had no recorded call or message. I in turn had tried to phone them: the line was either busy or would not answer.

Alp G. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There is only one person who does everything - rentals, payments, moving trucks in and out of parking spots. He is stretched too far. There was a long long line when I was renting and also when returning. He needs an assistant. Nothing against him. He was very nice and efficient, given all he had to do by himself.

Tracy M. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I called 8 times throughout my moving day and they never picked up. I even called customer support and they tried to call, but no answer. Everything else was fine, just pick up the phone.

Sonia T. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I pre-ordered two dollies to facilitate my move, and was told there were none when I arrived to pick up the van. Its was very inconvenient and unprofessional.

DANY J. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Maybe improve the appearance of the location.

GLEN M. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Difficult to reach on the phone. Need to be more available.

DARREN K. on 5/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This might be more of a U-haul central planning thing, but when returning my vehicle after hours (the central employee who called me told me I could return it as soon as I was done with the truck), I had to get creative to fit the truck on the property. I was the last possible vehicle that could have been parked there. But once again, conveniently located.

Chris R. on 5/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff took time to fully explain truck rental process and answer all my questions. very professional! Thank you

Ninoslav V. on 5/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A bigger parking lot would really help the owner. Otherwise, excellent service.

Pedro B. on 5/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service!

STEVE F. on 5/16/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Was overcharged for distance driven, (charged in mi instead of kms) store does not want to resolve the issue referring me to head office to deal with this. Store is inconsistent with staffing during operating hours giving customers the only option of calling a number written on a piece of paper on the door which only takes you to a voice mail box where someone calls back 3hrs later.

SIOBHAN G. on 5/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

He didn't go through the truck with me like lights, working, where lights are etc. I knew from driving it before but if I didn't he shouldn't have rushed me.

MARY M. on 5/6/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The attendant at this location wanted us to drop the truck off at another location when the paper specifically stated we were to drop it at the Dupont location. I did not enjoy either dealings with UHaul on both ends of the process. U Haul is not very customer oriented and I was following the requirements. If I can avoid using UHaul in the future I will.

KAREN H. on 5/6/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Got a message on my home phone, after dropping off at Dupont that UHaul wanted me to drop it off elsewhere. Again, this would have added to my mileage and timing of my trip. Luckily there was one spot available for me to drop off at my intended location. Don't give people the option of pick up and drop off locations, if they can't be met. Your refueling guide is also off. I put in 50 litres according to your guide, which should have brought the tank back up to where i had started with it, but it was less/off by about $10. Need to correct your estimates as we can't tell when we are fueling if it is enough or make sure we get it with a full tank, and then return with a full tank - easier for customer.