Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

186 Mulock Ave
Toronto, ON M6N3C8

(416) 532-9191

(Keele & St Clair)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Empire Car Rental

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Empire Car Rental

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

therese t. on 1/19/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Have the correct vehicles for the client's needs. Always have a ramp on all vehicles to help in the aid of getting the items into the truck.

CAMERON J. on 1/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Actually clean the truck before giving it to people and have a quarter tank of gas in the truck when you say there is a quarter tank of gas.

DAWNE S. on 1/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

easy to find and drop-off after hours, and very close to the TTC streetcar

Amila R. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a bit difficult to find the location. Directions should state that (if you are driving)there is no access via St.Clair Ave and to go around via Keel south of St. Clair

LUCIANO C. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I paid over $700 for a 14' Truck and trailer from the Keele & St Clair location. What I received was an attendant who gave me the wrong keys, did not check the truck over, and worst of all, attached a RIPPED strap to the front right wheel of the car I was towing. The attendant from the drop off location was so stunned that he had allowed me to drive from Toronto to Ottawa with a dangerously unstable trailer, that he called his friend over to look at the setup in disbelief. I am more than upset that I paid SO MUCH money and was still put in danger by a poorly trailed attendant and poorly kept equipment. I'm hoping someone will be in contact with me before I post these images and video to social media.

adam t. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The guy working was friendly and helpful.

Leonardo M. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Don’t be late on office hour, don’t call the customer “mafioso” or “camorrista” and don’t leave the office during the hour of service

Stacey H. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I will never use uhaul again! WORST EXPERIENCE! Do yourself a favour and save some money by calling discount truck rental...this is what happened to me I am so very disappointed with the Uhaul service. I am a frequent user, and actually used it last week (however, when i got to the place to pick up my uhaul there was about 10 people waiting outside with a note on the door saying be back in 30 minutes, and no time as to what time she left. Which in my eyes and all the other customers eye...veryyyy unprofessional) However, not sure why, I decided to order a uhaul again for this Sunday January 11th. The guy I talked to on the phone at Mulock ave in Toronto seemed to have no idea what he was talking about, so I called today to confirm my uhaul, and of course the reservation was incorrect and they could not do anything for me but get me to call the 1800 number to book a uhaul at a different location because I needed an out of town truck? So i called the 1-800 number and talked to someone by the name of Jenny (who was extremely rude) i asked to speak to her manager and she said that there was no one else to talk to. I explained my situation and was very upset and she did nothing but fuel my fire. I asked for a discount because I had to travel to a further location and her snarky response was "I'll add 1 KM on for you" quoted me a cost of $220.00 plus insurance and taxes, when a year ago I ordered a bigger truck and drove from further away at the exact same time of year and it was $100.00 cheaper? are you planning on bumping your profits up by nearly 100%? The guy on the phone told me when I originally booked it, that it would be somewhere just over $100.00 which clearly I should have got in writing. So after I got off the phone with your rude customer service rep Jenny i was so mad I started calling around other truck rental places, because the last thing I want to do after the service I received is give you any business, which I will make sure none of my family or friends rent from uhaul again. I called Discount truck rentals and got the exact same thing I was looking for for 84.75 included taxes and insurance and over double the KM's for out of town service, not to mention there customer service was impeccable.

phyllis r. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The young man in the office was very friendly and answered all the questions I had.

Adam T. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location is sketchy as fuck. The seal around my door fell off while I was gassing up for no apparent reason. I was asked to move a trailer by hand out of the way as to make way for my truck. Would not use this location again.

Sachiko N. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We are required to fill the gas tank, although we ran less than 10kms. Assume it comes from the van had been parked on a steep, and the van was returned on a flat surface. What I mean was the gas tank was not flat at the time we borrowed so that it created the difference.

DANA L. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Van had empty boxes in it when we got it, and the carpet in the cab was messy. Vehicle was fine though.

Shayne M. on 12/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have the parking lot better maintained, driving into my wife bottomed out and cost me more money to fix her new car then this rental was worth. But the guys in the lot work fast, very friendly and straight to the point.

LUKE W. on 12/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service!

Pierre-Eric G. on 12/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The trailer setup is pretty ghetto. But: Great, fast, polite, and clean service.

JULIO S. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff.

BRAD P. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing it's always first class service!

TRACY C. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Uhaul has definitely improved over the past few years. I really appreciate how easy it is to arrange, pick-up and return the trucks. Staff are always helpful and very nice at this location. Great job. We'll be back.

Linda v. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The entrance to the site was marred by deep potholes making driving difficult. Their repair would make entering and leaving the location much easier.

Marianna D. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for the wonderful customer service. The gentleman behind the counter was very polite and accommodating. I would rent from this location again.

Flavia S. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Improve lighting in lot so that it isn't so creepy dropping off a vehicle at night.

MICHAEL G. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Michael Graydon Price 73 Southcreek Trail Guelph, Ontario N1G 3A7 647-765-5474 Sunday, November-30-14 U Haul Canada I am writing this letter to bring to your attention of a situation that occurred Sunday November 30, 2014 at 10am. I booked a U Haul Trailer Rental through 1-800-468-4285 and the contract number is 82627859. Notwithstanding the grief I had when I confirmed my order, the treatment given picking up the trail only exacerbated the overall negative experience in dealing with U HAUL. When I tried to confirm my order on MYHAUL.COM earlier this week, I could not find the order as it was booked under Graydon Price, not Michael Price. The email address I gave was MICHAELGPRICE257@GMAIL.COM, UHAUL had MICHAELGPRICE247@GMAIL.COM (as I recall, I did not make note of the error as I did not believe it would come to this letter). In order to have the information corrected so I could view my order, I had to call 1-800-468-4285 U Haul. I spoke to a Customer Service Representative and she had to transfer me to a section of U HAUL that could correct the information as she could not. I had to call back several times as each time I was transferred, your voice system timed out and I was put back to choose option `1,2 or 3`` . Finally I was able to speak to someone who corrected the information. I was then able to view my order. Due to the incorrect information, I never did receive a confirmation of my order in my email. At 5pm today received an email wanting me to evaluate my experience with U HAUL. This I will follow up with in addition to this letter. I called U HAUL (186 Mulock Ave, Toronto, On 416-532-9191) to confirm my order for pickup Sunday Nov 30, 2014 at 10am. Was told by them all was OK and ready to go. I told U HAUL (1-800-468-4285) on several occasions that I was paying by debit (TD Canada Trust). I was told no problem and was also told that the $60.00 deposit would be waved as my debit card had a VISA logo on it. I explained that this card was not a credit card, only a debit card. U HAUL explained to me that because of the card the deposit was waved and there would be no problem. The VISA logo was an assurance by TD Canada to cover the deposit. So I gave them the card number and the expiry date. I will be calling my bank to verify and follow up with U HAUL as to TD`s response to U Hauls explanation of TD Canada Trust`s card usages and obligations. Upon arriving at U HAUL 186 Mulock Ave, Toronto, On 416-532-9191 at 10am is when everything fell apart. I was the first customer on site, and was told they did not accept debit. I had them (Ray Anderson the U HAUL attending employee) call U HAUL for me, he handed me the phone and I asked why the fowl up. In short I was told I could go to another U HAUL that did accept debit, and had to pay the deposit, and U Haul stated the alternate dealer did not have the trailer I required. Upset I challenged the person on the phone and was treated extremely rudely. There

Peter M. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The owner needs a lesson in customer service. The young gentleman who processed our arrival and return was wonderful, but when I returned the truck there was a discrepancy about the amount of fuel used versus what was in the truck at the onset. I felt I was being overcharged for additional fuel when I had already filled the tank to where it was in the beginning. Yet, who I presume was the owner, told the nice younger gentleman to charge me an additional $11 even when the owner was asked to waive any additional fuel charges by the younger attendant. So basically U-Haul has lost all my business, all my friends business, my family, my neighbours and anyone who ever asks me to recommend a good truck rental company....all for $11 and a total travel distance of 20 miles. Tisk, tisk. Way to keep customers happy U-Haul, well done.

BASSAM S. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i ordered the dolly , they had none, i order the padded sheet , they had none, another customer wanted a cord to connect to a trailer , it was missing from the location

DEVON H. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

A total dump.

Audrey S. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location is hard to find especially for someone from outside of town.

felipe c. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When I arrived they did not have the furniture dolly I reserve by internet. When I reserved it appears that if they do it have the reserved item I will be compensated with 50 CAD, but this not happened. I am very dissapointed and expecting the company keep his word

Arvind C. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved a furniture and utility dolly but they were not available when I got there. That was very frustrating as I then had to spend an hour sourcing those two pieces of equipment for my move. I was very disappointed.

MAHFUZUL I. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I need to speak to Customer Service. They lied to me. The date that I rented and the bill they sent me are two different dates. They billed me extra the wrong date. This is not right.

Gregory C. on 10/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was brilliant.. Great rates... Excellent staff!!

Winnie A. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was fast and friendly!! Highly recommended!!

SANJOG K. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ray is fantastic. Many thanks!

James T. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really great customer service!

CANDICE L. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Truck was not available at my location and was not even notified until I called. Another truck was reserved for me, but at a location 10 times the distance from where i had planned to pick up. Lack of communication between locations as well- no one knew I was coming, and was not given much of a discount for all of the inconvenience. I also asked to return the truck to another location, more convenient to me, but was told I was not allowed to.

Melodie B. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Despite having returned the vehicle with the required 1/2 tank of gas I was still charged for gas and the representative insisted I did not return it at an adequate level. If it was just under a 1/2 tank as she claims then it still shouldn't have cost the amount that was charged. In the future i will be sure to take photos for any discrepancies.

ABDEL R. on 10/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

CHECK THE MILEAGE AND FUEL LEVEL! The guy that works there gave me the paper work and told me everything is set. When I got into the truck I checked the mileage and it was off by 40 km (which would've been e a $30 charge!!). Also, the paperwork work indicated a full tank, however, when I checked the truck fuel level it was 3/4 of a tank! I also asked for a dolly, at the desk and when I went to the truck there was nothing inside (I had to go back remind him and I carried the dolly myself). check before you sign anything

Michael V. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy serving me was awesome. I may go out of my way to rent from that location again next time. Two thumbs up.

MICHAEL C. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little bit tricky to find the Lot & Office. Perhaps more clear signage on Mulock Ave would help. Overall great experience, thanks!

MARK B. on 10/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Please note that drop-off was NOT made at Empire Car Rental on Mulock Ave. Drop-off was made at Jet-Pac Rentals 45 Dovercourt Toronto, Ontario

JACQUELYN H. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location was hard to find and there were no people on site. The parking lot was dirty and inconvenient. It seemed like an abandoned lot.

BRUCE M. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Not much. I was a first-time U-Haul customer and had a really good experience. Staff were courteous and helpful. Thanks!

GAD P. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Just an ugly muddy lot full of puddles, poorly marked.

ERIN I. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The confirmation for the rental I placed 1 month in advance was not correct. When we arrived to the rental lot, which was not well marked, they didn't have all of the equipment that I reserved. Upon return I received a phone call 4 days later saying that I hadn't returned the equipment, though I had and had already received a receipt for the rental. Overall, it was not a very good experience.

DAVID R. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have the things the costumer reserved

bryan s. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a very hectic day (Sept. 30) and very busy (traffic due to an accident) staff was very nice and willing to help.

ASHLEY S. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff fast in and out service

MATT B. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

great service!

RAPHAEL F. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I've had dealings with this location twice now, and both times it was a poor experience. The best uHaul experience I had was with the location up the street: All Canadian Self Storage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer) 207 Weston Rd Toronto, ON M6N4Z3 That location had excellent customer service, we didn't have to wait long, our booking was confirmed as we booked it! I will probably only go there from now on.

Greg W. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall, happy with the service and rental. The location is sketchy. The staff were pleasant and professional. Truck itself a bit battered but worked fine. Had tried calling several times to confirm reservation but always went to a voice msg. Bottom line --- my expectations were fully met and the price was reasonable.

RUSS M. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

At the last minute, U-Haul switched my location. It threw a major wrench in my moving day plans – as it was way out of my planned route, but also because I'd previously booked a U-Haul at that very location with the intent of figuring out the route and location to make my move day go smoothly – but the real stinger was that U-Haul failed to even TELL ME that it had changed my location. I found out by checking online and by then it was too late to do anything. I am FURIOUS about this. I would not recommend U-Haul to ANYONE. I think this was a completely disrespectful thing to do to a customer – especially one who had rented two trucks and a storage unit. U-Haul had absolutely no consideration for me or my needs, my time, anything. This was a horrendous experience and I'd like to be compensated – I did NOT get what I paid for, at all.

James P. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The yard was a a bit of a mess, but the service was friendly and the location was convenient.

GILLIAN M. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I received the worst customer service at this location. When I arrived, the employee there said that I was late and that I was scheduled to pick up the vehicle at 10am. I check my email confirmation and it said 11am for a 6 hour rental (27375013). She told me I'd better hurry because I only had the truck until 3pm. This did not match with my original booking but she stubbornly told me that that's what my booking was. I was moving so I felt rushed and had just take booking she was giving me because clearly I had no other option. I had to park my car at a McDonald's across the street because there is no customer parking at the lot (!?) She had me quickly sign the contract without going over it with me or informing me of any details. The traffic in Toronto is very bad all the time so 4 hours did not turn out to be enough time to have the truck. I called the UHaul location to tell them that I would be late (and thought they would be fine with that because I had originally booked the truck for 6 hours anyways and allowing me some leeway would be the least they could do for screwing up my reservation). The UHaul employee (Marcus) on the other line was extremely rude and basically told me "look at your contract, you have to be here at 3pm. You signed it. You'd better be here or you'll be charged". I've never actually been spoken to this rudely over the phone. It was incredible how horrible the customer service was. I will never use UHaul services again.

Raj B. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First off the location is very shabby. The office is a temporary one and not a permanent building. it's within an RV. Then the vehicle was returned late. I had reserved a dolly but didn't have one when I went there to pick it up. All in all a very bad experience with this uhaul location. I have rented uhaul previously within Toronto and this was by far the worst experience I have had. Wouldn't recommend this location to my friends and family as well.

KANISTA B. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

NO DEBIT MACHINE WAS NOT APPLICABLE

KEN W. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We were from out of town so we weren't sure where to go. weed growth outside of compound made it questionable. Odd place to go pick up so signage would be a benefit. But Once inside the clerk was attentive and polite.