Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

186 Mulock Ave
Toronto, ON M6N3C8

(416) 532-9191

(Keele & St Clair)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm

Special Operating Hours

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Empire Car Rental

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Empire Car Rental

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JULIO S. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff.

BRAD P. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing it's always first class service!

TRACY C. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Uhaul has definitely improved over the past few years. I really appreciate how easy it is to arrange, pick-up and return the trucks. Staff are always helpful and very nice at this location. Great job. We'll be back.

Linda v. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The entrance to the site was marred by deep potholes making driving difficult. Their repair would make entering and leaving the location much easier.

Marianna D. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for the wonderful customer service. The gentleman behind the counter was very polite and accommodating. I would rent from this location again.

Flavia S. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Improve lighting in lot so that it isn't so creepy dropping off a vehicle at night.

MICHAEL G. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Michael Graydon Price 73 Southcreek Trail Guelph, Ontario N1G 3A7 647-765-5474 Sunday, November-30-14 U Haul Canada I am writing this letter to bring to your attention of a situation that occurred Sunday November 30, 2014 at 10am. I booked a U Haul Trailer Rental through 1-800-468-4285 and the contract number is 82627859. Notwithstanding the grief I had when I confirmed my order, the treatment given picking up the trail only exacerbated the overall negative experience in dealing with U HAUL. When I tried to confirm my order on MYHAUL.COM earlier this week, I could not find the order as it was booked under Graydon Price, not Michael Price. The email address I gave was MICHAELGPRICE257@GMAIL.COM, UHAUL had MICHAELGPRICE247@GMAIL.COM (as I recall, I did not make note of the error as I did not believe it would come to this letter). In order to have the information corrected so I could view my order, I had to call 1-800-468-4285 U Haul. I spoke to a Customer Service Representative and she had to transfer me to a section of U HAUL that could correct the information as she could not. I had to call back several times as each time I was transferred, your voice system timed out and I was put back to choose option `1,2 or 3`` . Finally I was able to speak to someone who corrected the information. I was then able to view my order. Due to the incorrect information, I never did receive a confirmation of my order in my email. At 5pm today received an email wanting me to evaluate my experience with U HAUL. This I will follow up with in addition to this letter. I called U HAUL (186 Mulock Ave, Toronto, On 416-532-9191) to confirm my order for pickup Sunday Nov 30, 2014 at 10am. Was told by them all was OK and ready to go. I told U HAUL (1-800-468-4285) on several occasions that I was paying by debit (TD Canada Trust). I was told no problem and was also told that the $60.00 deposit would be waved as my debit card had a VISA logo on it. I explained that this card was not a credit card, only a debit card. U HAUL explained to me that because of the card the deposit was waved and there would be no problem. The VISA logo was an assurance by TD Canada to cover the deposit. So I gave them the card number and the expiry date. I will be calling my bank to verify and follow up with U HAUL as to TD`s response to U Hauls explanation of TD Canada Trust`s card usages and obligations. Upon arriving at U HAUL 186 Mulock Ave, Toronto, On 416-532-9191 at 10am is when everything fell apart. I was the first customer on site, and was told they did not accept debit. I had them (Ray Anderson the U HAUL attending employee) call U HAUL for me, he handed me the phone and I asked why the fowl up. In short I was told I could go to another U HAUL that did accept debit, and had to pay the deposit, and U Haul stated the alternate dealer did not have the trailer I required. Upset I challenged the person on the phone and was treated extremely rudely. There

Peter M. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The owner needs a lesson in customer service. The young gentleman who processed our arrival and return was wonderful, but when I returned the truck there was a discrepancy about the amount of fuel used versus what was in the truck at the onset. I felt I was being overcharged for additional fuel when I had already filled the tank to where it was in the beginning. Yet, who I presume was the owner, told the nice younger gentleman to charge me an additional $11 even when the owner was asked to waive any additional fuel charges by the younger attendant. So basically U-Haul has lost all my business, all my friends business, my family, my neighbours and anyone who ever asks me to recommend a good truck rental company....all for $11 and a total travel distance of 20 miles. Tisk, tisk. Way to keep customers happy U-Haul, well done.

BASSAM S. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i ordered the dolly , they had none, i order the padded sheet , they had none, another customer wanted a cord to connect to a trailer , it was missing from the location

DEVON H. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

A total dump.

Audrey S. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location is hard to find especially for someone from outside of town.

felipe c. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When I arrived they did not have the furniture dolly I reserve by internet. When I reserved it appears that if they do it have the reserved item I will be compensated with 50 CAD, but this not happened. I am very dissapointed and expecting the company keep his word

Arvind C. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved a furniture and utility dolly but they were not available when I got there. That was very frustrating as I then had to spend an hour sourcing those two pieces of equipment for my move. I was very disappointed.

MAHFUZUL I. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I need to speak to Customer Service. They lied to me. The date that I rented and the bill they sent me are two different dates. They billed me extra the wrong date. This is not right.

Gregory C. on 10/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was brilliant.. Great rates... Excellent staff!!

Winnie A. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was fast and friendly!! Highly recommended!!

SANJOG K. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ray is fantastic. Many thanks!

James T. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really great customer service!

CANDICE L. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Truck was not available at my location and was not even notified until I called. Another truck was reserved for me, but at a location 10 times the distance from where i had planned to pick up. Lack of communication between locations as well- no one knew I was coming, and was not given much of a discount for all of the inconvenience. I also asked to return the truck to another location, more convenient to me, but was told I was not allowed to.

Melodie B. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Despite having returned the vehicle with the required 1/2 tank of gas I was still charged for gas and the representative insisted I did not return it at an adequate level. If it was just under a 1/2 tank as she claims then it still shouldn't have cost the amount that was charged. In the future i will be sure to take photos for any discrepancies.

ABDEL R. on 10/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

CHECK THE MILEAGE AND FUEL LEVEL! The guy that works there gave me the paper work and told me everything is set. When I got into the truck I checked the mileage and it was off by 40 km (which would've been e a $30 charge!!). Also, the paperwork work indicated a full tank, however, when I checked the truck fuel level it was 3/4 of a tank! I also asked for a dolly, at the desk and when I went to the truck there was nothing inside (I had to go back remind him and I carried the dolly myself). check before you sign anything

Michael V. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy serving me was awesome. I may go out of my way to rent from that location again next time. Two thumbs up.

MICHAEL C. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little bit tricky to find the Lot & Office. Perhaps more clear signage on Mulock Ave would help. Overall great experience, thanks!

MARK B. on 10/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Please note that drop-off was NOT made at Empire Car Rental on Mulock Ave. Drop-off was made at Jet-Pac Rentals 45 Dovercourt Toronto, Ontario

JACQUELYN H. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location was hard to find and there were no people on site. The parking lot was dirty and inconvenient. It seemed like an abandoned lot.

BRUCE M. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Not much. I was a first-time U-Haul customer and had a really good experience. Staff were courteous and helpful. Thanks!

GAD P. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Just an ugly muddy lot full of puddles, poorly marked.

ERIN I. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The confirmation for the rental I placed 1 month in advance was not correct. When we arrived to the rental lot, which was not well marked, they didn't have all of the equipment that I reserved. Upon return I received a phone call 4 days later saying that I hadn't returned the equipment, though I had and had already received a receipt for the rental. Overall, it was not a very good experience.

DAVID R. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have the things the costumer reserved

bryan s. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a very hectic day (Sept. 30) and very busy (traffic due to an accident) staff was very nice and willing to help.

ASHLEY S. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff fast in and out service

MATT B. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

great service!

RAPHAEL F. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I've had dealings with this location twice now, and both times it was a poor experience. The best uHaul experience I had was with the location up the street: All Canadian Self Storage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer) 207 Weston Rd Toronto, ON M6N4Z3 That location had excellent customer service, we didn't have to wait long, our booking was confirmed as we booked it! I will probably only go there from now on.

Greg W. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall, happy with the service and rental. The location is sketchy. The staff were pleasant and professional. Truck itself a bit battered but worked fine. Had tried calling several times to confirm reservation but always went to a voice msg. Bottom line --- my expectations were fully met and the price was reasonable.

RUSS M. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

At the last minute, U-Haul switched my location. It threw a major wrench in my moving day plans – as it was way out of my planned route, but also because I'd previously booked a U-Haul at that very location with the intent of figuring out the route and location to make my move day go smoothly – but the real stinger was that U-Haul failed to even TELL ME that it had changed my location. I found out by checking online and by then it was too late to do anything. I am FURIOUS about this. I would not recommend U-Haul to ANYONE. I think this was a completely disrespectful thing to do to a customer – especially one who had rented two trucks and a storage unit. U-Haul had absolutely no consideration for me or my needs, my time, anything. This was a horrendous experience and I'd like to be compensated – I did NOT get what I paid for, at all.

James P. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The yard was a a bit of a mess, but the service was friendly and the location was convenient.

GILLIAN M. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I received the worst customer service at this location. When I arrived, the employee there said that I was late and that I was scheduled to pick up the vehicle at 10am. I check my email confirmation and it said 11am for a 6 hour rental (27375013). She told me I'd better hurry because I only had the truck until 3pm. This did not match with my original booking but she stubbornly told me that that's what my booking was. I was moving so I felt rushed and had just take booking she was giving me because clearly I had no other option. I had to park my car at a McDonald's across the street because there is no customer parking at the lot (!?) She had me quickly sign the contract without going over it with me or informing me of any details. The traffic in Toronto is very bad all the time so 4 hours did not turn out to be enough time to have the truck. I called the UHaul location to tell them that I would be late (and thought they would be fine with that because I had originally booked the truck for 6 hours anyways and allowing me some leeway would be the least they could do for screwing up my reservation). The UHaul employee (Marcus) on the other line was extremely rude and basically told me "look at your contract, you have to be here at 3pm. You signed it. You'd better be here or you'll be charged". I've never actually been spoken to this rudely over the phone. It was incredible how horrible the customer service was. I will never use UHaul services again.

Raj B. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First off the location is very shabby. The office is a temporary one and not a permanent building. it's within an RV. Then the vehicle was returned late. I had reserved a dolly but didn't have one when I went there to pick it up. All in all a very bad experience with this uhaul location. I have rented uhaul previously within Toronto and this was by far the worst experience I have had. Wouldn't recommend this location to my friends and family as well.

KANISTA B. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

NO DEBIT MACHINE WAS NOT APPLICABLE

KEN W. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We were from out of town so we weren't sure where to go. weed growth outside of compound made it questionable. Odd place to go pick up so signage would be a benefit. But Once inside the clerk was attentive and polite.

Flavia S. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a cargo van and it was very dirty in the back. The vendors were otherwise great people and I had good service.

Clive G. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Location was not easy to find, the lot was small and unpaved and the office was in a small trailer.

FRANK L. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

allow for debit payment

DAVID L. on 9/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Send them to another location. Loaded the trailer by myself in the pouring rain because no staff was at this location. Had to pay over the phone without any contract documents. Trailer was extremely dirty.

LAURA E. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When we were returning the truck at the designated lot on time, the location was full and had closed early. We were left to find another location on our own to leave the truck. Upon finding a second location, driving through Toronto traffic for an hour, that too was full. We wasted two hours of our time, and spent extra money on gas that shouldn't have been our responsibility. We were extremely disappointed with this locations lack of communication, availability and overall disinterest in their business. Honestly, this experience really tainted my opinion of this company and will think twice of ever using this method for moving in the future. What to improve? I don't know your system, but I imagine each lot has an idea of how many trucks will be returning to that location (as it is listed in each contract). Lots should NOT be overbooked, and in the case they are, it should be the responsibility of the lot manager to CALL their customers and direct them to another (available) location. That is just courtesy.

SARAH K. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The first place i called did not confirm my order. I was lucky i called the night before to ask if i should get an email or something to confirm... The woman Diana (supervisor) was great and said that she would speak to that store (45 dover court). Luckly, she found me a van but i had to go way out of my way. The first agent (dovercourt) said there was not deal on Km even thought i was going over 400 km. DIana said she was wrong. I will be using budget in the future. STaff need more training.

James T. on 9/17/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service and staff was terrific - very friendly and seamless. The location itself (the lot)...was a bit rough around the edges but that doesn't impact the service experience. I'd use that location again if I was in need of a truck in that area.

HUGH M. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Re: question tow: The truck ran with no issues, however the engine light was on when I picked up the truck, the attendant at the pick up location said not to worry about it. The back of the truck and the cab were dirty (mud). I was happy with my move, however I drove <20mi. If I had been travelling further, the engine light would have been more concerning. Overall U-haul is the best value for in town moves.

ANDY R. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect ! I will definitely recommend this location to everyone !

RYAN F. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I got a brand new van, everything was in perfect working order. I was late and instead of charging me for it the woman at the desk thanked me for parking the van for them. I will defiantly be renting from this location in a few months when I have to move again.

AFIZA E. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lot is extremely crowded making it quite difficult and frankly dangerous for people to move their vehicles. The one person that was working was extremely bogged down helping move vehicles, sign people in and answering the phone making it a long wait time to acquire the vehicle. Finally, they blatantly lied and charged extra. I have took a picture of what I submitted the car at, and the amount they listed was a full 30 miles extra, putting me over the allowed amount and then charging me for it. In addition, that brought the gas level down and then they charged me for that. I'm fairly confident that is illegal.

NATALIE D. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was extremely unsatisfied with the service that was provided to me yesterday. The girl who was working at my pickup location was brutally lazy. I called prior to leaving my house to confirm my rental and the correct location. It was confirmed. When I arrived at the pickup location, the girl working there (who was the same girl I spoke to 30 minutes earlier, confirming my reservation) said my reservation was not there. My phone number, name, or reservation number were no where to be found. She also claimed she didn't have a truck for me. I called customer service immediately because she refused to get one of her superiors on the phone. They found my reservation immediately and said the girl was just being lazy and didn't want to give me the truck. I finally got it from her, half an hour later. They didn't even give me a damn discount for the trouble and chaos that was caused because of her laziness. They also charged me $50 for 1/8 tank of gas. I will NEVER give a recommendation to anyone, I am severely disappointed and dissatisfied.

Colleen R. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It is very difficult to find. Also, there is a HUGE steel post sticking out of the fence beside the key drop box. As I was dropping off the keys last night in the dark, I was watching the ground for the HUGE puddles in the HUGE holes and walked right into the post and nearly knocked myself out. Place is a disaster! No parking available either, street has no parking allowed! The trailer is a mess, the yard is a HUGE mess. Someone needs to check it out.

CHRIS M. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer service was not very cooperative and they were not present at the location. A few customers were just as confused as we were. We also received a phone call telling us that the truck was going to be towed at our expense. It was already a stressful 2 days - this added chaos was unnecessary.

IAN P. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Have the equipment ready for pickup, ie: other stuff out of the way. Also, the clerk said the trailer lights were working when they were NOT.

JANET L. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I booked a pick up one month in advance at a different location. It was changed unilaterally by the manager, so I called to request he honour the contract. He agreed to assist, but on the day of the move when I went to the booked location, there was no van and the manager was not there. It cost a 30.00 cab ride and extra time to attend a location farther from my move. (When I asked why the online reservation was not honoured, he said I should have come in to reserve in person so he could see my face.). The manager at the substituted location was highly professional and apologized for her colleague. To improve, you should honour your bookings that are made on line. Thank you.

ANDRE C. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service.

junn l. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wish they would allow debit card.

Annabelle N. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service clerk was very nice and efficient ! Highly recommend this location !

honarine b. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

its all about how well you get along with people and a truly customer service agent that gives more than 100% to help a customer.

RANDY R. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I requested the right to drop off in another city if the hotel didn't have parking for a trailer. The hotel called to confirm that they do have parking and UHAUL denied me the right to modify the reservation. I did it the UHAUL way and got charged for their lack of ability to serve customers. I have been waiting 4 days for the manager to call back - 3 days after I was supposed to return the trailer - go figure.

DAVID L. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The service was excellent. The area was sketchy. But we ordered a 10 ft truck and none was available.

DERRICK H. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Almost didn't know it was there, and needed a truck not a van but that can't be helped if I didn't reserve

Martin S. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Uhaul lady we dealt with was very helpful

GLEN G. on 8/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Trailer looked old and a bit beat up with a few dings and some rust, but at no fault of the location's; trailer had Nebraska plates. Lady at the office was great and very helpful.

GORDON G. on 8/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Picked up my truck on a busy Saturday morning. Staff was polite and friendly even with a short wait to process the first few customers of the day. Truck was in good working order, 90% clean, and worked well for the move. On return there were no surprise charges and I was reimbursed for mileage under what was estimated. Overall, a great experience and I wouldn't hesitate to rent a truck from them again.