Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

186 Mulock Ave
Toronto, ON M6N3C8

(416) 532-9191

(Keele & St Clair)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Empire Car Rental

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Empire Car Rental

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Richard T. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rated the location as excellent because it was close to my apartment. However, the location itself looks like a disaster area. IIt needs to be paved!! Also update your office. A trailer!! Is that the best U Haul can do? The service I got was terrific. It's too bad the guys there work in an inferior environment! I'd quit.

LIEF S. on 4/23/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I booked a 20ft cube van on Monday, received a confirmation. When I arrived the 20ft was not available, I had to settle for a smaller one. After patiently waiting for 40 mins for the individual at the desk to attempt to get their computer system to accept my order, I got impatient as I had 'paid' movers on the clock waiting. I did not expect to was as much time as I did as well, the smaller unit meant that the 'paid' movers needed to do 2 loads, costing me an extra $100. The 17' cube van was just a little too small for the last items, unfortunately. Halfway through the move, I was called and told that my credit card didn't go through and against my better judgement gave it out to an individual over the phone. The location could benefit from organization and planning, it appears they have the tools but don't use them.

malcolm d. on 4/22/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

To date the worst rental experience ever. Zero customer service and Zero conflict resolution abilities.

Melissa W. on 4/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was a mix up with my mileage, and they were great about fixing it. I also had a problem last time I was there, but again, they were very apologetic and helped me instantly. I have experienced a few technical issues with them, but their customer service is fantastic and I would surely recommend this site.

Tim T. on 4/20/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional. Very convenient. Lot could use some maintenance (potholes). Vehicle was clean and ran very well. I will definitely use this location again.

GRAEME D. on 4/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Time booked online not honoured. Fuel surcharge added incorrectly. Mileage not recorded correctly despite feedback provided at time of pickup. Correction was made to mileage, but receipt shows 10km too much. Fuel gauge seems to be functioning incorrectly. Put 40L of fuel into a 151L tank, which equals approx 25% of tank, or 1/4 tank. Gauge showed that I used approx 1/32 of the tank, yet gauge barely moved when I added 20L to tank. I doubled my fuel to get it back to original level, yet was still charged extra.

Thomas L. on 4/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

On-location staff provided prompt, efficient service, but the location itself is very spartan. Please consider investing for a permanent building and paved lot.

Evgueni M. on 4/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The attendant was very friendly and helpful. However, furniture dollies, although reserved in advance, were not available. The attendant was able to reserve them at a nearby location; however, I had to do a separate run to that location on another day, to return the dollies. The truck's cabin was not clean at all; the door locks could not be locked with the key. Front wheel alignment appeared to be off: the truck would bounce side to side while driving in a straight line. The dirty cabin and the misalignment negatively impacted the overall impression. The trailer was fairly clean and well maintained; the ramp operated properly.

Reg P. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Asked for a dolly and moving pads in advance and when I picked up the vehicle nothing was available.

Brian W. on 3/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was a little bit apprehensive of renting from this location due to the reviews but this location was great. First of all the location is easy to find. This was also one of the friendliest rental experiences I've had. I was greeted worth a smile and by name. I will definitely be returning for my next rental.

Fulvio M. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck have bi problem s running OK but the pick up location look like homeless farm ... But that OK l got the job done

Christina C. on 3/22/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I confirmed the reservation online, when I arrived at the location -which is a dirt lot- they told me they were just about to cancel my pick up of the vehicle. I had a dolly reserved online and the clerk initially told me that they had none and that I was on my own. He took no accountability and was not helpful at all until I insisted that he call his supervisor. It turned out that there were in fact dollys on the lot but they were in the back of a vehicle. Following this fiasco which probably wasted nearly an hour of my time, I was informed that I could not leave my car parked on the lot for the day. He suggested that I park illegally at the restaurant lot nearby. I ended up finding street parking about 3 blocks from the Uhaul location. After all this I have been charged more than $30 for gas, when I did indeed fill the tank before returning it. So, overall a terrible experience and a rip off.

BORYS M. on 3/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Passenger side mirror inoperative.

Amy H. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick check out, invoice was promptly emailed with not surprises.

NORWINA C. on 3/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location is great! The guys is very nice and helpful.

BRYAN W. on 3/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Worst service I have ever received from U-Haul. I booked a 17' truck, received a 14' truck (if that...) and didn't even call ahead to let us know. This resulted in a much longer move. Will not be using U-Haul services again.

Robyn D. on 3/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My only issue was the gas was marked wrong and I almost left not noticing. Other than that - it was fine. It's a bit tricky to gauge "existing damage" when the truck is so scratched up tho.

Nirmalan V. on 2/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick service!

KESTIN C. on 2/13/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Better care of your vehicles.

JIMMY T. on 2/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The young man at this location was very helpful, informative and kind. He was very nice to chat to while waiting for our rental. We would much rather pay the entrance KM to rent from this location again to deal with him as opposed to the female employee at the Davenport and Queen location. In a way, we were glad our rental wasn't available as it wa more pleasant dealing with the gentle at the Keele and St. Clair location.

ileen k. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The parking lot was NOT plowed and I don't have snow tires so you can only imagine what a time I had coming in and leaving!!! Not acceptable in my books, especially the rate UHaul charged me for a one way rental on a trailer. Very disappointed!

tyler w. on 2/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This specific location was a bit confusing to find at the back of the corner lot. Maybe an extra sign for U Haul thats visible from the Keele/St Claire intersection.

JAMES A. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I got the truck in at 3:54 and the attendant stayed past his shift to help me out. Thanks guys!

therese t. on 1/19/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Have the correct vehicles for the client's needs. Always have a ramp on all vehicles to help in the aid of getting the items into the truck.

CAMERON J. on 1/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Actually clean the truck before giving it to people and have a quarter tank of gas in the truck when you say there is a quarter tank of gas.

DAWNE S. on 1/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

easy to find and drop-off after hours, and very close to the TTC streetcar

Amila R. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a bit difficult to find the location. Directions should state that (if you are driving)there is no access via St.Clair Ave and to go around via Keel south of St. Clair

LUCIANO C. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I paid over $700 for a 14' Truck and trailer from the Keele & St Clair location. What I received was an attendant who gave me the wrong keys, did not check the truck over, and worst of all, attached a RIPPED strap to the front right wheel of the car I was towing. The attendant from the drop off location was so stunned that he had allowed me to drive from Toronto to Ottawa with a dangerously unstable trailer, that he called his friend over to look at the setup in disbelief. I am more than upset that I paid SO MUCH money and was still put in danger by a poorly trailed attendant and poorly kept equipment. I'm hoping someone will be in contact with me before I post these images and video to social media.

adam t. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The guy working was friendly and helpful.

Leonardo M. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Don’t be late on office hour, don’t call the customer “mafioso” or “camorrista” and don’t leave the office during the hour of service

Stacey H. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I will never use uhaul again! WORST EXPERIENCE! Do yourself a favour and save some money by calling discount truck rental...this is what happened to me I am so very disappointed with the Uhaul service. I am a frequent user, and actually used it last week (however, when i got to the place to pick up my uhaul there was about 10 people waiting outside with a note on the door saying be back in 30 minutes, and no time as to what time she left. Which in my eyes and all the other customers eye...veryyyy unprofessional) However, not sure why, I decided to order a uhaul again for this Sunday January 11th. The guy I talked to on the phone at Mulock ave in Toronto seemed to have no idea what he was talking about, so I called today to confirm my uhaul, and of course the reservation was incorrect and they could not do anything for me but get me to call the 1800 number to book a uhaul at a different location because I needed an out of town truck? So i called the 1-800 number and talked to someone by the name of Jenny (who was extremely rude) i asked to speak to her manager and she said that there was no one else to talk to. I explained my situation and was very upset and she did nothing but fuel my fire. I asked for a discount because I had to travel to a further location and her snarky response was "I'll add 1 KM on for you" quoted me a cost of $220.00 plus insurance and taxes, when a year ago I ordered a bigger truck and drove from further away at the exact same time of year and it was $100.00 cheaper? are you planning on bumping your profits up by nearly 100%? The guy on the phone told me when I originally booked it, that it would be somewhere just over $100.00 which clearly I should have got in writing. So after I got off the phone with your rude customer service rep Jenny i was so mad I started calling around other truck rental places, because the last thing I want to do after the service I received is give you any business, which I will make sure none of my family or friends rent from uhaul again. I called Discount truck rentals and got the exact same thing I was looking for for 84.75 included taxes and insurance and over double the KM's for out of town service, not to mention there customer service was impeccable.

phyllis r. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The young man in the office was very friendly and answered all the questions I had.

Adam T. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location is sketchy as fuck. The seal around my door fell off while I was gassing up for no apparent reason. I was asked to move a trailer by hand out of the way as to make way for my truck. Would not use this location again.

Sachiko N. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We are required to fill the gas tank, although we ran less than 10kms. Assume it comes from the van had been parked on a steep, and the van was returned on a flat surface. What I mean was the gas tank was not flat at the time we borrowed so that it created the difference.

DANA L. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Van had empty boxes in it when we got it, and the carpet in the cab was messy. Vehicle was fine though.

Shayne M. on 12/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have the parking lot better maintained, driving into my wife bottomed out and cost me more money to fix her new car then this rental was worth. But the guys in the lot work fast, very friendly and straight to the point.

LUKE W. on 12/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service!