Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

186 Mulock Ave
Toronto, ON M6N3C8

(416) 532-9191

(Keele & St Clair)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Empire Car Rental

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Empire Car Rental

Overall rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

ALASDAIR S. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very hard to find, in a scruffy lot with broken down and abandoned other vehicles. All the u-haul vehicles were fine though.

MARGRAT D. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Ray called the day before and had everything well set up. When we got the truck it was just as advertised. It worked wonderfully.

Lisa G. on 5/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The van was very dirty( mud caked) hard to see out window and no washer fluid in van. We were charged for going 87 km over the 149 km pkg rate, but only in fact went 18 km over. We have called to leave message. Hopefully this will be resolved. The uhaul representative we dealt with in person was very knowledgeable, kind and helpful.

DAVID S. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location is very difficult to access and its lot is small. The service, however, was excellent!

MARK N. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ray is excellent to work with. Very disappointed that the business may not continue.

Bahareh M. on 5/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and amazingly easy and convenient. Thank you U-Haul!

Karoliina K. on 5/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The location itself is a little difficult to find and looks a bit sketchy. However, the employee working there was super friendly and very fast to process our pick-up!

GARY KENNETH m. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Nice crew. Helpful and friendly. The place is pretty rough though. More like a junkyard. Personally I could care less - but cleaned up with perhaps a paved lot and less wrecked cars it might attract more business. Better for the U-Haul brand in Canada. No comparison to the US pickup location. A million miles aprt I'm afraid. What's up Canada U-haul? Like I said nice crew though.

Jonathan M. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was redirected to this lot after i requested and confirmed at a lot closer to my location. it took me three hours out of the way to drop off this truck in the city traffic. The uhaul person that called me to redirect me to this lot was supposed to e-mail me the address and never did. Overall very disappointed with the experience. will NOT use uhaul again.

Mimmie A. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

All good. The online info beforehand was very useful and covered most of our questions. The fellow in the office at Empire was very good, with clear instructions, and the whole process was easy. Cheers!

VICTORIA ROBERT H. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice guys. Dirty truck.

Richard T. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rated the location as excellent because it was close to my apartment. However, the location itself looks like a disaster area. IIt needs to be paved!! Also update your office. A trailer!! Is that the best U Haul can do? The service I got was terrific. It's too bad the guys there work in an inferior environment! I'd quit.

LIEF S. on 4/23/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I booked a 20ft cube van on Monday, received a confirmation. When I arrived the 20ft was not available, I had to settle for a smaller one. After patiently waiting for 40 mins for the individual at the desk to attempt to get their computer system to accept my order, I got impatient as I had 'paid' movers on the clock waiting. I did not expect to was as much time as I did as well, the smaller unit meant that the 'paid' movers needed to do 2 loads, costing me an extra $100. The 17' cube van was just a little too small for the last items, unfortunately. Halfway through the move, I was called and told that my credit card didn't go through and against my better judgement gave it out to an individual over the phone. The location could benefit from organization and planning, it appears they have the tools but don't use them.

malcolm d. on 4/22/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

To date the worst rental experience ever. Zero customer service and Zero conflict resolution abilities.

Melissa W. on 4/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was a mix up with my mileage, and they were great about fixing it. I also had a problem last time I was there, but again, they were very apologetic and helped me instantly. I have experienced a few technical issues with them, but their customer service is fantastic and I would surely recommend this site.

Tim T. on 4/20/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional. Very convenient. Lot could use some maintenance (potholes). Vehicle was clean and ran very well. I will definitely use this location again.

GRAEME D. on 4/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Time booked online not honoured. Fuel surcharge added incorrectly. Mileage not recorded correctly despite feedback provided at time of pickup. Correction was made to mileage, but receipt shows 10km too much. Fuel gauge seems to be functioning incorrectly. Put 40L of fuel into a 151L tank, which equals approx 25% of tank, or 1/4 tank. Gauge showed that I used approx 1/32 of the tank, yet gauge barely moved when I added 20L to tank. I doubled my fuel to get it back to original level, yet was still charged extra.

Thomas L. on 4/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

On-location staff provided prompt, efficient service, but the location itself is very spartan. Please consider investing for a permanent building and paved lot.

Evgueni M. on 4/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The attendant was very friendly and helpful. However, furniture dollies, although reserved in advance, were not available. The attendant was able to reserve them at a nearby location; however, I had to do a separate run to that location on another day, to return the dollies. The truck's cabin was not clean at all; the door locks could not be locked with the key. Front wheel alignment appeared to be off: the truck would bounce side to side while driving in a straight line. The dirty cabin and the misalignment negatively impacted the overall impression. The trailer was fairly clean and well maintained; the ramp operated properly.

Reg P. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Asked for a dolly and moving pads in advance and when I picked up the vehicle nothing was available.

Brian W. on 3/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was a little bit apprehensive of renting from this location due to the reviews but this location was great. First of all the location is easy to find. This was also one of the friendliest rental experiences I've had. I was greeted worth a smile and by name. I will definitely be returning for my next rental.

Fulvio M. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck have bi problem s running OK but the pick up location look like homeless farm ... But that OK l got the job done

Christina C. on 3/22/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I confirmed the reservation online, when I arrived at the location -which is a dirt lot- they told me they were just about to cancel my pick up of the vehicle. I had a dolly reserved online and the clerk initially told me that they had none and that I was on my own. He took no accountability and was not helpful at all until I insisted that he call his supervisor. It turned out that there were in fact dollys on the lot but they were in the back of a vehicle. Following this fiasco which probably wasted nearly an hour of my time, I was informed that I could not leave my car parked on the lot for the day. He suggested that I park illegally at the restaurant lot nearby. I ended up finding street parking about 3 blocks from the Uhaul location. After all this I have been charged more than $30 for gas, when I did indeed fill the tank before returning it. So, overall a terrible experience and a rip off.

BORYS M. on 3/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Passenger side mirror inoperative.

Amy H. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick check out, invoice was promptly emailed with not surprises.

NORWINA C. on 3/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location is great! The guys is very nice and helpful.

BRYAN W. on 3/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Worst service I have ever received from U-Haul. I booked a 17' truck, received a 14' truck (if that...) and didn't even call ahead to let us know. This resulted in a much longer move. Will not be using U-Haul services again.

Robyn D. on 3/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My only issue was the gas was marked wrong and I almost left not noticing. Other than that - it was fine. It's a bit tricky to gauge "existing damage" when the truck is so scratched up tho.

Nirmalan V. on 2/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick service!

KESTIN C. on 2/13/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Better care of your vehicles.

JIMMY T. on 2/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The young man at this location was very helpful, informative and kind. He was very nice to chat to while waiting for our rental. We would much rather pay the entrance KM to rent from this location again to deal with him as opposed to the female employee at the Davenport and Queen location. In a way, we were glad our rental wasn't available as it wa more pleasant dealing with the gentle at the Keele and St. Clair location.

ileen k. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The parking lot was NOT plowed and I don't have snow tires so you can only imagine what a time I had coming in and leaving!!! Not acceptable in my books, especially the rate UHaul charged me for a one way rental on a trailer. Very disappointed!

tyler w. on 2/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This specific location was a bit confusing to find at the back of the corner lot. Maybe an extra sign for U Haul thats visible from the Keele/St Claire intersection.

JAMES A. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I got the truck in at 3:54 and the attendant stayed past his shift to help me out. Thanks guys!