Madison Park Shell (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Madison Park Shell (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |


3100 E Madison St
Seattle, WA 98112

(206) 729-3915

(Across the street from Seattle Arboretum)
Driving directions

View website


Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 10 am - 8 pm
  • Sat-Sun: 8 am - 8 pm

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Madison Park Shell

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Madison Park Shell

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Elin B. on 11/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only issue I has was when I returned the UHaul. The person taking the return had not been trained on the process. Eventually I was able to return the truck but he had to call the owner in order to complete the transaction.

Dane B. on 10/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work!

MERRELL W. on 10/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Stop advertising a $19.95 rate (or whatever it is). Sure I read the small print, but when was said and done it cost me $58 for a 2 hrs trip. The rate painted on the side of the van is false advertising.

Heidi W. on 10/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very convenient. Super friendly staff and very quick process. Filling up the tank at the end of the trip was easy because the location is a gas station.

nicole p. on 10/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very convenient !

ANDREW B. on 10/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I'm not usually one to exaggerate, but this was the worst rental experience of my life. When I was putting gas in the truck before returning it, the store employee approached me at the pump (without saying who he was) and ordered me to put in sufficient gas in the truck and bring the furniture pads into the store. His tone was aggressive and rude, but at that point I didn't say anything other than "OK." After I parked the truck and brought the pads in, the employee ordered me to put more gas in the truck because of the mileage I had traveled. Again his tone was aggressive and rude. I showed him the rental agreement showing the written mark indicating gas level, and I assured him I had brought the gas level to a higher level than the agreement. He refused to accept and ordered me back out to the truck to put at least two more gallons in. When I returned to the truck, I took a picture of the gas gauge to prove it was significantly higher than when I rented the truck earlier in the day. I walked back to the store without having put additional gas in and showed the employee the picture of the gauge. I tried to explain he was essentially getting "free" gas as it was higher than when I began the rental. His argument seemed to ignore the fact that I was already willing to pay the mileage charge. Then, without explanation, he said "OK" in a very rude and dismissive tone and waved me out of the store. There was no expression of respect, courtesy, politeness, gratitude, or even civility. His behavior was the rudest and most offensive I have ever encountered in a retail setting. I am planning to file a complaint with the store manager and the Better Business Bureau, and I am planning to write an honest review on social media (i.e., Facebook, Yelp, Google Maps, etc.) to make sure other customers know the customer service at this location is poor. My expectation is that you will respond to me in a way that A. acknowledges the negative experience I had at this Uhaul location, and B. offers some measure of contrition to demonstrate you are operating in good faith. My email address is and I look forward to hearing from you.

CAROL S. on 10/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was easy and the folks so nice!!! I will tell everyone to rent there! ??

chelsea w. on 10/5/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This location was inside a Shell gas station and needed much more adequate signage. The representative was nice but didn't seem to know much about the trucks and was very brusque.

L James M. on 10/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved a dolly for $7. Upon arriving to pick up the van, I was told only a King size was available for $10. I asked why the dolly I reserved was not available. The man who waited on me told me it was not his responsibility. I asked him if he checked his orders to make sure all ordered equipment was available. He told me again it was not his responsibility. The king size dolly was much heavier to lift and more awkward to use. Please refund $3 from my bill.

TRACY M. on 9/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The inside of the truck had a 'yucky' smell, maybe from someone smoking inside. And I would have appreciated being told ahead of time where to park the truck on return, rather than being asked to move it once I I had parked it. But otherwise everything was great and easy.

Alastair T. on 9/18/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The Shell gas station attendant was very slow to process my pickup and interrupted the service at least four times to take payments from other customers, who walked in to pay for gas. It also seemed he was uninformed about U-Haul's policies relating to overseas drivers licenses and insurance. He called his associate on the telephone twice to ask questions in Korean. I provided a passport for identification and he flipped through it to see all the countries I have visited, which felt invasive. He kept questioning my UK license's validity and seemed unable to read the english text which clearly itemise its date of expiry, license number, etc. Although he was initially cordial, he became impatient and unfriendly to me, making me feel like I was somehow at fault. There were no problems with the vehicle or return service.

JESSE C. on 9/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location gets an average rating, however, UHaul gets the lowest possible rating if there were box to check for that. I made a reservation, checked in online, arrived at the location and there was no truck for me. No one called me. No one emailed me. I took a cab there and was told I would have to wait. It took me arguing on the phone to get the truck that was in the lot (it was apparently reserved for someone else). I will definitely strive to never use UHaul again.

Matthew S. on 9/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

1. Truck had broken and duct-taped passenger side mirror. Could not see to rear on right side. Very dangerous. 2. Check engine light was on. Uhaul representative said I could cancel, but offered no other truck to replace it. I needed the truck badly so I took a chance on it. 3. Turns out they gave me the wrong truck. Paid for a 15-ft truck, they gave me a smaller one. Was credited some $ on return, but big hassle and was expecting a larger truck. 4. I brought back some used Uhaul boxes in good shape that I wanted to donate to the Uhaul "Take A Box, Leave A Box" Program." Representative said "we don't do that here."

Fletcher A. on 9/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a 19' cargo van online and received a confirmation that the van was available. Upon pick up the clerk said the van needed to be back in less than two hours because he had another reservation for it later on. I thought I was renting this for the afternoon and it wasn't clear to me when I rented it and took part of the day off from work that I was going to be forced to this short of a window. This created a lot of stress for us and resulted in too little time to get everything moved we had hoped to. We did return it within two hours but it wasn't with out a high level of stress as we raced to move out of the condo and fought Seattle afternoon traffic. It doesn't seem fair that a $19.95 a day rental fee means only two hours of time. I'm extremely unhappy with this experience and feel we did not get the full value we paid for.

ABIGAIL L. on 9/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This location attempted to rent me a truck with a missing side view mirror. After refusing to take the truck as is, they proceeded to duct tape the mirror back on. Very unsafe and very disappointed with this location. Will not be returning to this location.

KUN L. on 9/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A big help of the customer service there. I was unable to reload my stuff on time and they managed find another uhaul for the next customer so I had extra 5 hours to move! Really appreciated!

Anna W. on 8/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was helpful and made the rental process easy.

Chelsea G. on 8/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There should be loading ramps on 10 foot trucks... and if there isn't it would be helpful if the customer were made aware of ahead of time. For me, lack of a ramp was a hindrance.

Patrick Joseph S. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Try to make add in odor absorber or spray it with Febreeze to make interior smell better.