Seattle Vault Self Storage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Seattle Vault Self Storage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

1800 Terry Ave
Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 284-2179

(Suite 100 on Howell St)
Driving directions

View website

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 10:30 am - 6 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sat: 8 am - 8 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 7 pm

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Seattle Vault Self Storage

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Seattle Vault Self Storage

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Kevin T. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only problem that I could see was the location in relation to everything else. It seemed to be a bit of a tight fit but I didn't have any major issues getting the truck in and out of the lot. Other than that, the truck was very easy to drive and load. I had a good experience with Uhaul and doing the move myself saved me a lot of money. Having movers help me would have cost me $300 to $700.

Allison F. on 10/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The rental agent who helped me was efficient as well as cheerful. Took care of everything without a hitch. Good customer service - Thank you.

Sepand M. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It would be nice to have washed sheets/pads/etc. that one could use to cover the inside of the truck for transporting things like a mattress, etc.

STEPHEN W. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone that helped me was amazing. One of the best moving experiences I ever had.

NICK B. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. This locations doesn't need to change a thing. Keep up the great work!

Douglas B. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At first, I was upset by the fact that I was charged for 2 gallons of gas for a 4.1 mile trip (the vans get 10-12 MPG in the city, so I would have used 0.5 gal of gas maximum). I called the location at 9:40am on 10/8 and the man on the phone made an exception for me, ensuring that I'd be credited the proper amount. I was immediately. While it wasn't perfect, they made an effort and improved the situation. Thanks!

Kathleen M. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We had to pay $18 for parking when we picked up the truck. I hadn't tried that location before and wouldn't recommend it to a friend. Free parking so that you can leave your vehicle is a must.

Monica T. on 10/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I've always had good experiences with U-Haul. While I noted that the equipment was not well maintained, it's important to get the whole picture. The side mirror on the driver's side swung every time I made a turn or hit a bump. I had to keep the window rolled down and constantly adjust the mirror. When I returned the truck and the attendant asked if everything was okay, I mentioned the problem with the mirror. He apologized and gave me a credit for it. Problems will periodically arise. What's important are the steps taken to correct it, and U-Haul does this well. I will continue to recommend U-Haul.

jacob p. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hello i made a reservation at 10:00am at this location for a cargo van . The van was not even there until 10:30 this delayed my move. Im very unhappy with this and would like to speak with someone.

Marissa D. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was fast and very easy! Thank you!

Katrina S. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The rental place itself and the staff there were awesome, too bad Uhaul couldn't find my reservation even when i called their 800 number and then when they transfered me to "reservations" the guy gave me the number to another uhaul location that didnt have any open reservations for the entire week. Whats the point of having a reservations line if they cant actually make reservations for you and do what is equivalent to googling and giving your customer another phone number to call that might not even work anyway.

joseph a. on 9/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

when I called your main number they couldn't find me ,,they had to transfer me to the local office ,,stressed me out on move day

Greg L. on 9/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Construction behind the storage was horribly coordinated with your storage units. Getting in and out was a nightmare, causing me a 2+ hour delay in getting my unit items moved. On top of this disaster, the assistant manager at the storage accosted me, verbally and physically attacked and abused me! I'm going to file a report with the ownership of Seattle Storage upon my return from being with my dad, who had open heart surgery this last week. To put it bluntly, my experience was horribly stressful, and I will never use Uhaul again. Thank you.

Charles T. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have rented cargo vans from Uhaul several times but at different locations. I find the one at university district to be most reliable. This Uhaul dealer at Seattle Vault Self Storage (1800 Terry Ave) on the other hand has an obnoxious staff. I am surprised no one has commented on this (here on Uhaul review) as there were several reviews on Yelp about the experience I am going to recount. When I picked up my van, I noticed that the fuel level was less than the half tank promised on paper, this was highlighted to the staff and he assured me that he will note that down. I am a considerate person and thought to myself that I will top up to half a tank nonetheless when I return the van. I did so. Upon receipt of my invoice, I was charged $11 for fuel. I was surprised. I called up the store (and talked to the same staff who dispatched the van the day before) to explain that I did top up the gas and told him I even had a photo evidence (depicting the fuel level at the mileage I ended off with). He dismissed me saying that he has checked the gauge several times and that it was clearly a notch below half. I suggested that there might be a problem with the gauge then. This was when he started to become real rude. He assert, "No! The problem is that you did not top up to the original level!" I told him that I did and I am going to contact U-Haul directly. He told me that it would be of "NO USE" because U-Haul will "side with him", and that he will tell them that I did not return it to the original level when U-Haul calls him. I said there is no point arguing with him, and that I will just provide whatever evidence I have to U-Haul. He ended off sneering and wishing me "Good luck with that!" I contacted U-Haul shortly after doing some preparation to bolster my claim. I realized that the fuel consumption of the van was 16mpg and that $11 fuel surcharge was calculated based on $5.50/gallon. This means I was short of 2 gallons. I drove for 10 miles during my rental. However, they are charging me for 32 miles of fuel (16mpg x 2) which is ridiculous and obviously wrong. I have a copy of the receipt from my top up which stated I have topped up 1+ gallon of fuel (even more than what I was supposed to top up for 10 miles). With the photo and receipt evidence, coupled with my reasoning above, I called U-Haul. Fortunately, they were convinced and I received an email the day after stating that "there was a mix-up" and I would be refunded upon receiving my receipt. (I sent my receipt and thought to myself that it was not even required because it is clear that they have overcharged me for fuel given my mileage alone, but later on realized they need it for audit purpose.) This is not the first time this has happened at this U-Haul location. I believe that more incidents have happened just that most people do not read their invoices. I hope people think twice before renting from here. I also hope that U-haul can investigate this location as I suspect fraud. Th

Louis T. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer service was very good.

Jaime H on 9/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Gentlemen were helpful, attentive, and courteous.

Patrick B. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great, except I was charged for 1.5 gallons of gas and I drove about a mile and a half. There's no way I could have used a gallon and a half. I can see the uhaul location from my house!

ROBIN C. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The keypad outside the elevator is really awkward, it would be nice if it were in the elevator.

Greg T on 9/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Plan accordingly if you`re moving in at the end of the month, on a weekend, as there will be a lot of others doing the same.

Michael M. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Tell the customer to fill up the tank before returning the vehicle or get charged about $5.50 per gallon. Also, I thought I was driving fairly economically -- no sudden starts/stops and coasting down hills but I managed a meager 7.6 MPG? Overall I was happy with the truck and it fit everything I needed but the bill was about 33% more than what I was expecting due to the poor gas mileage and high gas refill prices.

AUSTIN B. on 8/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a late pickup due to traffic and the guy working the counter was extremely understanding with me on the phone. He helped me get all set up with the truck and I was on the road shortly after.

Kent R. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and easy, well priced. No complaints.

KELLY L. on 8/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was good, got the keys and truck fast and easy.

Jaki P. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was not clear on how to return the truck after closing hours, as there is an electric gate that doesn't open. After some searching around, I noticed some instructions on the key return box, so that helped.

Keith W. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This place was really buttoned up. Very impressive operation. Thanks...Keith

Vivian L. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I reserved two dollies with handles for my move, but none were in-stock when I came at the appointed time. I had the impression that if I reserve it, it would be available for my move. The move was a little difficult without the dollies as shown on the site, so it would be better to get more of the equipment and be able to keep the reservation promise.

Danielle T. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The U-haul customer service agent that assisted me at this location (11am Sunday Jul 27th) was exceptionally helpful. Not only was he curteous and responsive, but he helped reunite me with my personal items I accidentally left in the returned vehicle. I feel fortunate that I was served by this U-Haul employee. Thanks for making my move smoother!

SOREN G. on 7/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Be willing to accept checks or cash for a Uhaul order. Or fix whatever was wrong with the debit card being accepted. I had a debit card that repeatedly was denied for error 5, when I had 3000 in checking to use that I transferred that day. I was told that checks weren't accepted and had to get on the phone with a supervisor to take care of it with cash. This meant I got the truck an hour later than expected. The man at the desk at that point was as helpful as he could with the hoops we had to jump through.

Nan S. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The rep didn't remove the SafeMove coverage when I asked him to, so I got billed, and then they said they couldn't take it off. Had to call UHaul headquarters to get them to remove it.

MILES S. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Didn't get his name, but the guy who assisted me sets an example to all customer service employees. He was so professional, swift, efficient, and friendly. Please pass on my thanks if at all possible.

Raymond M. on 7/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

None! It was a great experience. 10/10 would use to move again.

Heather M. on 7/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found this location so much easier to deal with than other U-haul locations! Would definitely go back.

Brandon Z. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service by both employees. Very enjoyable experience

Lukas D. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy, best experience I've had with Uhaul!

Kathryn M on 6/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I went to the storage unit and had to wait an hour because the clerk was on lunch. Once he came back, he informed me that the unit was not available. I am very upset and want my money back.

Andrew L on 6/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The storage size 5x9 I reserved wasn`t actually available, but the staff helped me reserve a larger unit 5x10 for a little more.

Simon S on 5/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The store clerk was nice, but they didn`t have my reservation on file. I`m hoping that I won`t end up paying twice. The unit and hallways were clean and kept at a good temperature.

Siming R on 5/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly and kind

John D on 5/15/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

there was no place to pull up my truck to unload. i don`t see how you are a functioning storage facility in these conditions.

Kali W on 4/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great location. Must buy their locks, cannot use a regular padlock.

Christopher B on 3/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very clean facility and courteous staff.

Jameel G on 1/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went according to plan. We were mistakenly given a dirty storage unit, but it was to late to move things to a cleaner unit. However Great customer service

Patricia E on 11/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly helpful. Explained how to navigate to freeway, around the construction back to the facility. The trip was successful and uneventful it smooth seamless. Thank you.

Kyle L on 9/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service! Highly recommend

Tiffany H on 9/2/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good

Nevada B on 8/16/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very friendly staff. my only issue was my unit needed swept out pills and bb`s all over the floor of unit from the last renter.

Diana B on 8/12/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff are professional but personal as well as knowledgeable. The facility is very clean and well organized. I am so happy to have found this storage location!

Robert W on 8/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Please refund- unable to access unit after being told that access was available all evening. I had to move all my stuff into a family members garage because I could not unload my stuff into the unit.

Chris F on 7/25/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people that helped were very nice and helpful when I had to change sizes at the last minute. Thanks!

Maxwell J on 7/23/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Person who was in charge this past sunday was completely rude with an attitude during closing time. He constantly reminded us that it was closing at 7:00 starting at 6.

Claire V on 7/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Seattle Vault Self Storage is convenient, clean and well managed. I was impressed by the accessibility of the loading dock and units. I`d recommend this location to anyone!

Melanie C on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The storage facility opened late. This was a bit challenging. The unit also had a lock on it, which had to be removed.I am, however, pleased with the unit and the service.

Margaret A on 5/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The facility supplied large dollies and a freight elevator for moving large and heavy items. The storage units were reasonably priced.

Tiffany H on 3/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Clean facility and helpful staff

James M on 8/30/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Service was fine but we had to wait 15-20 minutes for the manager to appear as the office was closed at 1pm on a tuesday.

Yris A on 6/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

they were very helpful and gave me all the details of the storage facility

Thomas M on 6/10/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This facility is very clean. the service is great. I would recommend this place to anyone.