The Spare Room (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

The Spare Room (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |


5009 Hwy 1417 N
Sherman, TX 75090

(903) 893-7004

(South Of Plainview Rd)
Driving directions

View website


Standard Hours

  • Mon-Sun: 9 am - 6 pm


  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for The Spare Room

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of The Spare Room

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

DANIEL T. on 10/7/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. McRae is always friendly and a joy to speak with... His staff are always helpful

CHRISTINA V. on 9/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Location was clean and organized. Very friendly people! I would highly recommend this U-Haul-Storge unit!

CLAUDIA B. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location and personnel were fantastic. The equipment was defective: both lights fell off of the tow dolly AND we had to make a trip from Dallas TX to Madison, WI WITHOUT air conditioning.

KEVIN L T. on 8/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

First trailer I looked at was not well maintained and had significantly rusted wheels and numerous dents/scrapes to body. They had two other trailers that were same dimensions and changed the paperwork cheerfully and I left with a clean, well maintained trailer. Would definitely use these folks again.

MICHAEL O. on 8/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The location was good and the staff was very professional. The truck had air conditioner problems. The driver's side front tire was low and something was spilled on the floor of the truck.

ROB L. on 7/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I HATE the "preferred" but not guaranteed location when I make a reservation. I select my locations based on what the reservation screen says is available, the location, and the hours of operation. But then only to have it changed when and if UHaul calls me back to confirm the reservation which they never did with this rental.

Jaret W. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Since we were told drop off after hours was ok, we went there (Hwy 1417) and it was closed. Called Uhaul# and got 525 W Lamar.. here is where the problem starts. That guy we talked to at Uhaul phone# didn't tell EITHER PLACE what we did!! So, the next day Hwy 1417 calls looking for it, and I told them where I left it. No prob with them.. Now, TODAY, 5 days later, I get an extra charge from Lamar St saying I had the trailer an extra 3 days!! They had no idea I dropped it off there, and it was sitting in their lot the whole time! Because, again, your phone rep, who otherwise did a great job too, didn't inform either lot what the new plan was.. Lamar reversed the charge, but because of moving and budget being so tight, I now have an OVERDRAFT FEE to deal with. Other than that, it was a great move and I will work with you again, I just need to make sure the lot is 24/7 first I guess. Thanks.

DAVID J. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I don't see anything wrong with your service

Dustin O. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you! Made my transition smooth and convenient.