U-Haul Store of Milpitas

U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Share |

Address

2395 Oakland Rd
San Jose, CA 95131

(408) 943-9191

(@ Montague Expwy)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

KENNETH D. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Store was fine, but far from my house. Didn't appreciate the reservation system not accounting for that.

Daniel C. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Gps in truck

DAVID V. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Again, these people were very nice and helpful. I really appreciate them going the extra mile to help me.

RYAN S. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Super fast checkin, everything went very smoothly.

PETER H. on 5/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have used U-Haul of SJ several times. Consistent good service.

Dennis Q. on 5/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I left a garage remote in the rental vehicle and they did everything they can to help get it back.

Ananda P. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is nice and spic & span

Henry X. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service at this site is really good, very likely to recommend it to friends around

BEVERLY G. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The person who hooked up the trailer to the hitch did it wrong and it came off just as I was getting home to load ( about 5 miles from location). Gisele was helpful with getting me set up and ordering the hitch and called me when it came in which I appreciated.

PARVIZ P. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The person who helped me was very friendly and helped me with what I needed

WAYNE W. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It literally took hours in line to rent a reserved truck.

Kenneth C. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both employees I dealt with were super helpful, friendly and prompt. Thumbs up.

MICHEAL C. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Already scheduled another/next rental

RANJIT KUMAR M. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Additional charges are very costly

Merry A. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure there is gas in the truck. When we got it, the needle was at empty!

TIMOTHY R. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dropoff was fast & easy. Pickup,however was slow. There should have been more than one person handling pickup.

MARY N. on 5/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Conveniently located and quick!

Isaiah P. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I ordered a 24 foot truck, but because the thieves ripped out the fuel pumps and siphoned out the gas, I had to get at a 20 foot truck, which led me to have to make 2 trips instead of one, which cost me more time and money. The wait was very long as a result of this. I will not be going back to this location due to the criminal activity of the area. The staff however, was very nice and did their best. So the staff was great. Just need to do something about the thieves.

Lintu M. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was charged 1.59 instead of 1.39 as advertised in the website for 10 feet truck. this is absolute fraud and misleading , even after repeated requests, they turned off my request.

Arthur H. on 4/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I would like you to provide a Better way of measuring amount of gas in the tank. Uhaul employee confirmed I was having a hard time seeing what the needle was stating because many trucks have float problems due to siphoning.

LANETTE S. on 4/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Drop off was easy and very much appreciated after a morning of heavy lifting. Very positive experience using Uhaul. Online reservation was easy and efficient....with no problems.

phillip P. on 4/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

great location good attendents equipment just what I need works fine price ok

JAGADEESH G. on 4/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the two guys on the 2 counters were trying there best to take care of customers as quickly as possible but there were at least 5 people waiting in the line ahead of me. This being a busy location the space/office where customers could stand was very small. Some people had to stand outside the door as the line was long. I came to this location which is 12 miles away from where I live as none of the other locations closer to me carried more than 18 feet long trucks and I needed a 24

THOMAS M. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Price was not the same between my reservation and actual bill

Jim H. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

wish gas was full

GURDEEP S. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Yes will

CARLOS P. on 4/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck I reserved was double booked so they sent me to this location. They made me feel great by giving me a discount on my rental to make up for the mistake. Very pleased with the level of professionalism by the staff. Made this part of my move awesome!

DAVID S. on 4/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Maybe bigger cabs for the driver???

LINUS C. on 4/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

To be fair, the equipment is for moving so I'd expect it to be dinged up. And, I've rented from other locations before with identical problems. My issue is that the damage is VERY hard to document.

CHI T. on 4/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good servises

SONIA A. on 4/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your employees rock!!! Great staff!!! Thank you for an excellent service.

KLEIN C. on 4/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was helpful. I was able to navigate through the busy day moving furniture with the U-Haul Truck with ease. I recommend this location.

Terry S. on 4/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both locations have good customer service. Couldn't ask for more. Thank you!

Robert G. on 4/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing I can think of at the moment.

micheal w. on 4/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fast service

Richard J. on 4/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good service and friendly experience

Scott S. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

only 1 person was there waited an hour in line.

JACK B. on 4/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not all lights are working.

ROGER M. on 4/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck windows were dirty

VIRGINIA L. on 4/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Quick and great service

ELIAS O. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I want to thank the young lady who helped me, for her knowledge and great help.

PATRICIA C. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The whole experience with Uhaul was awful. I reserved a 20 foot truck online at the Curtner location. However, on the day before my reservation, I received texts & phone calls (multiple) from different people from different centers. One claimed I had two orders in the system. One said that I could only get 2 10foot trucks. There was much back & forth, but no real reason why I couldn't get the truck I had reserved. Not only didn't I get what I wanted, but I had to drive 45 minutes out of my way to get the truck. HORRIBLE SERVICE. I will never use Uhaul again. You left me in a really really bad position with no time to make other arrangements. What a very bad business model you have. Had you indicated at the time I made the reservation that the truck I required wasn't available, I would have found another company to rent from. Yet, you waited until mid day the day before - leaving me zero time to make alternate plans. How can 1 person drive 2 10 foot trucks???????? The proposed solution was crappy as well.

MARILY H. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast, great customer service.

karl k. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Truck was dirty inside cab. Dog hair everywhere and slobber on inside of window's!

DAVID C. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was told by the young lady at the counter who processed my pick up that I could return my 26' Truck to my new U-Haul Storage Location on 44th St. Sacramento, CA (the manager of that location also told me that I could do the same). After I picked up the truck, I received several phone calls and text messages INSISTING that I return to another location that was 10 miles farther from my new address (I had already had to drive 30 additional miles to/from Milpitas CA instead of my requested pick up location on Curtner Avenue San Jose which is only a few miles from my old address. While I was given additional mileage on my contract for both of the new pick up and drop of locations, I drove an additional 50 miles in total and it cost me more fuel and time. The misleading/changing information is a disservice to your customers--you need to do a better job of keeping our promises!

ROBERT O. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice brand new truck Friendly and quick service

Javed L. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

can you make it more affordable? Like instead of per mile, just charge per hour unlimited miles

Alexis I. on 3/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Try to keep the vehicles cleaner, but other than that everything else was great!

ANGELA T. on 3/20/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Make it very clear that the reservation is not really a reservation-it's a request. My truck was not available on the day of the move. The offered to "give" me two small instead and I had to pick up in two different cities. Hired extra driver, paid extra for movers that had no trucks to load when scheduled, had to pay for extra car tow trailer, extra insurance, gas on two trucks instead of one. Driving between cities trying to piece together the 4 pieces of equipment instead of the two I reserved. Horrible- would have been cheaper to hire professional movers start to finish.

Phil p. on 3/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

more staff

THI L. on 3/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It's cheap and very convenient when you reserve it on line and come to pick up at store. It has excellent staff service. Thanks

XU G. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The gas meterin the document is not clear. Then I added additional 4 gallons of gas into the truck. They don't reimbuese any cent for that. That is not good at all.

syed f. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is the second time in a row i went to this Uhaul location and they refused that they donot have any truck available and i made the reservation outside the uhaul location and then they gave me the truck and earlier they were denying and this happened twice .I am very disappointed with this behavior.

MARK F. on 3/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I got the truck it was so empty of gas the U-Haul manager urged me to go to the gas station next door before driving anywhere. I got a $30 credit if I returned the truck 1/4 tank full... I filled up in route before hitting my destination. The truck took $220 to fill up... not $30x4=$120. When I got to my destination, I still had just under a 1/2 a tank left. I U-Haul location strongly suggested that I call U-Haul for a credit for the additional gas and complain about the truck being empty to begin with. I did... still waiting for closure- Not satisfied-

PRITISH S. on 3/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only if we had known that we could drop off the U-haul truck after close of store, we would have saved the rush. it would have helped to know when and how we could drop off vehicle within working hours and outside hours.

DAVID W. on 3/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

GREAT service!!

SONIA M. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rent from different Uhaul locations, this one is by far the BEST, the guys are always friendly and take good care of me!! Excellent service!

Blythe S. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very customer friendly.

iram H. on 2/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was smooth, had no hiccups throughout my rental process. Staff was great.

SONNY C. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a good experience with U-Haul at this location. I booked my reservation online at 7am, and when I arrived at 1pm for the pickup of the motor cycle trailer the General Manager David D. aka double D greeted me. I had the paperwork and hookup/inspection done in appx. 15 minutes. Jonny helped will the trailer hookup. I was able to meet my goals for the day and return the trailer at 330pm. I'd definite return for future rental and refer my friends. Thanks, Sonny Cerrillo

tamal c. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found it very organized and absolutely fine.

WINSTON F. on 2/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Saul was excellent !!

TERRY B. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

When renting overnight for 24 hours, according to your present rules, and a customer picks up early in the morning, 7:00am - 10:00am; if a customer needs to unload a third truckload early in the morning, the current rules do not allow enough time to return the truck without incurring a penalty for being late, especially if the customer has to rent from a non-local U-haul facility because of unavailability of a certain type of large truck, 20 foot and upward. U-haul should consider a change of rules to accommodate a situation like this.

YOUNG C. on 2/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very convinent, kind staff, well satisfied.

greg p. on 2/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The rental yard needs to be re-paved, especially behind the office building. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Santhosh Kumar K. on 2/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work!

KENNEDY A. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It's all good to me ... quick check in&out service.

Tracy N. on 2/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great friendly service! Thank you

JENNIFER J. on 2/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

customer service was outstanding both when renting & returning. Quick, friendly & professional

JACK V. on 2/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Hard to say. The Truck not only drove very well for a vehicle of this type, but I got *exceptional* mileage! I hope that I won't be moving soon, but when I do, U-Haul will be my choice of provider!

RANDY V. on 2/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff and experience was very good. Still missing email confirmation of returned equipment. (I did ask for a signed receipt, so all is good!)

AURELIO V. on 2/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I VERY MUCH WANT TO THANK OUR LOCATION FOR THEIR PATIENCE - we did need the Truck for longer than what we were allowed to reserve it for when we made the reservation only got for 6hrs and returned it an hour later, and they were patient with us.

Peter B. on 2/2/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

To Customer service. I never got my confirmation on the 17 foot truck I rented on 1/28/15 for 12:00 Noon return time.However I returned the truck on 1/ 29/15 before Noon time and switched to a Cargo Van. The Person on the checkout counter promised I Could return the Van on 1/30/15 at noon time just like the big truck with no problem because I rented the Big truck the day before All went well until I turned in the Van in and was ready to pay a different checkout person was on duty.He very rude and nastily insisted to charged me one extra day I turned the Van in at 11:00 AM I was promised before 12:00 would be fine because of the big truck the day before. Not with this rude and nasty person.Nothing I could do He used my Credit card and I was to except it So my experience is of a very disappointing one with U-Haul. Sincerely, Peter

Dorothy A. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I think doing a wash of the truck prior to lending to the next customer will be good.

RICHARD L. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

One employee was sick so one employee to service ten person line. I had a reservation which was not available and I was not emailed to tell me it wasn't available after a confirmation

Richard J. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

In spite of being extremely busy, The staff worked very well and kept in good humor. Thanks to all.

DEBBIE M on 1/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to Dave and Shawn

RICHARD L on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Jose location is not secured. The manager threaten to ship after just a day of loading but the location is not secured.

ROSEL W on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Dave helped me .. went out of his way to teach me connect and disconnect the tow hitch from the trailer.. even accompanied my to my apartment and showed me how to use the equipment.

ROBERT L on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the exception of the drop off. The employees could not give me a receipt which both wasted time and made me nervous about leaving my belongings with them.

PAM S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No calls for delivery info. Told it would be there between 12-2pm. Showed at 3 without the 2 dozen blankets that I ordered. The brackets had been ripped off so there was no way to lock it. Big hassle!