U-Haul Store of Milpitas

U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Share |

Address

2395 Oakland Rd
San Jose, CA 95131

(408) 943-9191

(@ Montague Expwy)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

TOM P. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The 2395 Oakland Rd, San Jose, CA location was great for picking up the U-haul truck. HOWEVER I had to drive to a different location in San Jose to pick up the car tow dolly, which was stored at a make-shift u-haul liquor store with absolutely terrible service. The man at the liquor store would not show us how to attach the tow dolly, let alone even help us in finding the store since there's just a tiny tiny sign that says "u-haul" in the bottom corner of the store window. Someone could seriously get hurt if they were to rent a tow dolly from this other location again and attach it to their truck without being provided adequate instructions. I would never, ever recommend that location to anyone. The location was at 1158 N Capitol Av San Jose, CA 95132.

Mark P. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The attendant gave me the wrong closing time for the return. He said 7 pm but when I returned the vehicle the attendant on duty said they were open until 8 pm. Caused me to rush unnecessarily.

HANI E. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I got the truck on time and the person was very friendly.

DENA P. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure the size vehicle that is reserved, is the vehicle the person gets. I reserved a 24 ft truck weeks before the move. Then I received a call the day before our move that we would be getting a 15 ft truck and a trailer instead. The day of the move, the trailer was not available. We were only able to move half of our belongings and had to pay additional fees in order to keep our apartment long enough to make another move. Not sure if we want to use UHaul again.

TAUNYA G. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Don't do the online reservation and think that it will save you time. It's a really flawed system. This location was the better of the two that Uhaul sent me to.

Anthony C. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

best vehicles and staff anywere

RUSSELL M. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employees need to pay attention to the customer and not just keeping a conversation going on between them

JEFFREY B. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Job and thank you :)

Venkata V. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice experience.

LUIS L. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good customer service. Vehicle was in excellent condition, clean and very easy to drive. Returning the vehicle (truck) was well organize.

Gonzalo A. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Treat every one just like you treated us...

Chien Chou K. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The smell is bad in the car.

Anthony C. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

cool

Greg K. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Old Oakland Road store is great. I have rented other trucks from this group in the past and they are always on the ball. The staff is great and very helpful. Where Improvement is needed is with your website. It was easy to use, but the 20ft truck I wanted was not available, but I still got signed up and took all my information. When I was contacted and told the truck I wanted was not available, I was told there was a 10 or 15 foot truck I could take instead, but it was in Oakland. Get someone to look at a map and see how far Oakland is from San Jose. So we now know not to use the website. Too bad, it had the potential to be a very good tool. Luckly the store on Old Oakland road had a15ft I could have rented, or I would have go with another company.

Michael S. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Professional operation, pleased with the service

nancy h. on 6/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Know that this u-haul station stand by their word! They are about pleasing their customers. David is awesome!

DEANNA A. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous service......we were in and out quickly. All of our questions were answered and everyone was so friendly. It was a pleasurable experience!

BINH N. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not much, I had a very good experience at this location compared to the location in San Francisco. This location is not crowded and has a very friendly staff.

Alejandro L. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excelente service .. I Been at this place more than 3 times and always I has a great costumer service ... All personal is very friendly and helpful !!

Jordan E. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Parking was a little confusing for a first-time customer. I wasn't quite sure where I should park my car.

RODRIGUEZ J. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service is good, and they help me find exactly what I need for my move

DAVID K. on 6/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

my original rental was at 1027 the almeda u haul a 26ft they screwed me over. this agent helped me out u haul corporate is very unprofessional there business ethics suck and just dont care .

Michael c. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My fourth rental in 4 weeks. Still coming back.

Anthony C. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great service

Michael C. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Started out horrid when I went to pick up my resy at white rd. and the customer had not returned the sport trailer I secured. Immediately Alicia(sp?) sent me to Oakland rd. where she had secured their sport trailer and added a discount! Once I arrived all personnel were informed of my situation and really went the extra mile for me! I was really happy!

MANISH P. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff, quick service, transparent process

IRAJ A. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the insurance that I was told... was extra... $168.00 .I have $154.00.also they did not check the oil...I was not happy that light was on says change the oil... I do not have time to change the oil for you...

Norman F. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None

NATHAN B. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this business is wonderful. I highly recommend this location. They are just great every time I need a truck.

Jerome S. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

super accommodating staff ! thanks !

KATY J. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We booked out UHaul weeks in advanced and I got a call the day before the move that it was unavailable. The customer service center was not appologetic at all and didn't really try to solve the problem. The UHaul location in Milpitas was where they problem solved and really tried to solve the problem. They were great and helped us to work out a good solution.

Anthony C. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

fantastic

TERRENCE P. on 6/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were very helpful and courteous. They answered all questions and made the move easier.

Tracy S. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Um explain after hours drop off when someone is potentially going to have it.

ATHENA E. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John was a great help in providing answers to my questions. He was fast at getting the vehicle ready for my use and just as helpful when I returned it. All representatives should be as friendly, helpful and fast as John was. Best Uhaul experience I've had since I can remember. Thank you John, for your assistance!

Christoph B. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Extremely helpful staff - especially the agent (young woman) did everything possible to help us

MARK M. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The people that work there are very helpful. The truck I got showed a 1/4 tank, but before I was 2 miles away, it was empty. (gas gauge must have been stuck?) I bought gas, and brought in the receipt, and they made sure I didn't get overcharged for gas.

miguel h. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Way friendlier staff.smiles customer acknowledgement. I waited in line and had 3 different employees come in and not one said we will be right with you or even asked if we had been taken care of.I really wanted to take my business elsewhere because of The poor customer service.I work in a high pace customer service based company and it I would never allow my employees to treat our customers the ones that pay our wages because of there business.

ANDREW P. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everybody at that center is always great to work with

KENNETH D. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Store was fine, but far from my house. Didn't appreciate the reservation system not accounting for that.

Daniel C. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Gps in truck

DAVID V. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Again, these people were very nice and helpful. I really appreciate them going the extra mile to help me.

RYAN S. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Super fast checkin, everything went very smoothly.

PETER H. on 5/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have used U-Haul of SJ several times. Consistent good service.

Dennis Q. on 5/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I left a garage remote in the rental vehicle and they did everything they can to help get it back.

Ananda P. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is nice and spic & span

Henry X. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service at this site is really good, very likely to recommend it to friends around

BEVERLY G. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The person who hooked up the trailer to the hitch did it wrong and it came off just as I was getting home to load ( about 5 miles from location). Gisele was helpful with getting me set up and ordering the hitch and called me when it came in which I appreciated.

PARVIZ P. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The person who helped me was very friendly and helped me with what I needed

WAYNE W. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It literally took hours in line to rent a reserved truck.

Kenneth C. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both employees I dealt with were super helpful, friendly and prompt. Thumbs up.

MICHEAL C. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Already scheduled another/next rental

RANJIT KUMAR M. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Additional charges are very costly

Merry A. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure there is gas in the truck. When we got it, the needle was at empty!

TIMOTHY R. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dropoff was fast & easy. Pickup,however was slow. There should have been more than one person handling pickup.

MARY N. on 5/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Conveniently located and quick!

Isaiah P. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I ordered a 24 foot truck, but because the thieves ripped out the fuel pumps and siphoned out the gas, I had to get at a 20 foot truck, which led me to have to make 2 trips instead of one, which cost me more time and money. The wait was very long as a result of this. I will not be going back to this location due to the criminal activity of the area. The staff however, was very nice and did their best. So the staff was great. Just need to do something about the thieves.

Lintu M. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was charged 1.59 instead of 1.39 as advertised in the website for 10 feet truck. this is absolute fraud and misleading , even after repeated requests, they turned off my request.

Arthur H. on 4/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I would like you to provide a Better way of measuring amount of gas in the tank. Uhaul employee confirmed I was having a hard time seeing what the needle was stating because many trucks have float problems due to siphoning.

LANETTE S. on 4/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Drop off was easy and very much appreciated after a morning of heavy lifting. Very positive experience using Uhaul. Online reservation was easy and efficient....with no problems.

phillip P. on 4/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

great location good attendents equipment just what I need works fine price ok

JAGADEESH G. on 4/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the two guys on the 2 counters were trying there best to take care of customers as quickly as possible but there were at least 5 people waiting in the line ahead of me. This being a busy location the space/office where customers could stand was very small. Some people had to stand outside the door as the line was long. I came to this location which is 12 miles away from where I live as none of the other locations closer to me carried more than 18 feet long trucks and I needed a 24

THOMAS M. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Price was not the same between my reservation and actual bill

Jim H. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

wish gas was full

GURDEEP S. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Yes will

CARLOS P. on 4/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck I reserved was double booked so they sent me to this location. They made me feel great by giving me a discount on my rental to make up for the mistake. Very pleased with the level of professionalism by the staff. Made this part of my move awesome!

DAVID S. on 4/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Maybe bigger cabs for the driver???

LINUS C. on 4/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

To be fair, the equipment is for moving so I'd expect it to be dinged up. And, I've rented from other locations before with identical problems. My issue is that the damage is VERY hard to document.

CHI T. on 4/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good servises

SONIA A. on 4/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your employees rock!!! Great staff!!! Thank you for an excellent service.

KLEIN C. on 4/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was helpful. I was able to navigate through the busy day moving furniture with the U-Haul Truck with ease. I recommend this location.

Terry S. on 4/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both locations have good customer service. Couldn't ask for more. Thank you!

Robert G. on 4/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing I can think of at the moment.

micheal w. on 4/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fast service

Richard J. on 4/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good service and friendly experience

Scott S. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

only 1 person was there waited an hour in line.

JACK B. on 4/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not all lights are working.

ROGER M. on 4/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck windows were dirty

VIRGINIA L. on 4/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Quick and great service

ELIAS O. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I want to thank the young lady who helped me, for her knowledge and great help.

PATRICIA C. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The whole experience with Uhaul was awful. I reserved a 20 foot truck online at the Curtner location. However, on the day before my reservation, I received texts & phone calls (multiple) from different people from different centers. One claimed I had two orders in the system. One said that I could only get 2 10foot trucks. There was much back & forth, but no real reason why I couldn't get the truck I had reserved. Not only didn't I get what I wanted, but I had to drive 45 minutes out of my way to get the truck. HORRIBLE SERVICE. I will never use Uhaul again. You left me in a really really bad position with no time to make other arrangements. What a very bad business model you have. Had you indicated at the time I made the reservation that the truck I required wasn't available, I would have found another company to rent from. Yet, you waited until mid day the day before - leaving me zero time to make alternate plans. How can 1 person drive 2 10 foot trucks???????? The proposed solution was crappy as well.

MARILY H. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast, great customer service.

karl k. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Truck was dirty inside cab. Dog hair everywhere and slobber on inside of window's!

DAVID C. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was told by the young lady at the counter who processed my pick up that I could return my 26' Truck to my new U-Haul Storage Location on 44th St. Sacramento, CA (the manager of that location also told me that I could do the same). After I picked up the truck, I received several phone calls and text messages INSISTING that I return to another location that was 10 miles farther from my new address (I had already had to drive 30 additional miles to/from Milpitas CA instead of my requested pick up location on Curtner Avenue San Jose which is only a few miles from my old address. While I was given additional mileage on my contract for both of the new pick up and drop of locations, I drove an additional 50 miles in total and it cost me more fuel and time. The misleading/changing information is a disservice to your customers--you need to do a better job of keeping our promises!

ROBERT O. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice brand new truck Friendly and quick service

Javed L. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

can you make it more affordable? Like instead of per mile, just charge per hour unlimited miles

Alexis I. on 3/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Try to keep the vehicles cleaner, but other than that everything else was great!

ANGELA T. on 3/20/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Make it very clear that the reservation is not really a reservation-it's a request. My truck was not available on the day of the move. The offered to "give" me two small instead and I had to pick up in two different cities. Hired extra driver, paid extra for movers that had no trucks to load when scheduled, had to pay for extra car tow trailer, extra insurance, gas on two trucks instead of one. Driving between cities trying to piece together the 4 pieces of equipment instead of the two I reserved. Horrible- would have been cheaper to hire professional movers start to finish.

Phil p. on 3/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

more staff

THI L. on 3/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It's cheap and very convenient when you reserve it on line and come to pick up at store. It has excellent staff service. Thanks

XU G. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The gas meterin the document is not clear. Then I added additional 4 gallons of gas into the truck. They don't reimbuese any cent for that. That is not good at all.

syed f. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is the second time in a row i went to this Uhaul location and they refused that they donot have any truck available and i made the reservation outside the uhaul location and then they gave me the truck and earlier they were denying and this happened twice .I am very disappointed with this behavior.

MARK F. on 3/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I got the truck it was so empty of gas the U-Haul manager urged me to go to the gas station next door before driving anywhere. I got a $30 credit if I returned the truck 1/4 tank full... I filled up in route before hitting my destination. The truck took $220 to fill up... not $30x4=$120. When I got to my destination, I still had just under a 1/2 a tank left. I U-Haul location strongly suggested that I call U-Haul for a credit for the additional gas and complain about the truck being empty to begin with. I did... still waiting for closure- Not satisfied-

DEBBIE M on 1/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to Dave and Shawn

RICHARD L on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Jose location is not secured. The manager threaten to ship after just a day of loading but the location is not secured.

ROSEL W on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Dave helped me .. went out of his way to teach me connect and disconnect the tow hitch from the trailer.. even accompanied my to my apartment and showed me how to use the equipment.

ROBERT L on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the exception of the drop off. The employees could not give me a receipt which both wasted time and made me nervous about leaving my belongings with them.

PAM S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No calls for delivery info. Told it would be there between 12-2pm. Showed at 3 without the 2 dozen blankets that I ordered. The brackets had been ripped off so there was no way to lock it. Big hassle!