start navigation end navigation

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Share |

Address

1400 Genesee St
Buffalo, NY 14211

(716) 896-2345

(@ Barthel)
Driving directions

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

 

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

GREGORY J. on 4/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just make sure that u have a lock in the back of the truck next time. Other than that everything was fine.

GWENDOLYN T. on 4/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guys were jerk he kept my credit card for no reason... I will never use the company again

BERTINA B. on 4/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The rep name Carmelita who took my reservation needs too pay more attention to the customers because my equipment I ordered was wrong and my email address was incorrect so I didn't receive my confirmation email until I called back, and I had to pay more than what was quoted to me but other than that everyone else was very helpful.

Mark Q. on 3/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Had to go to downtown location instead of the one right near my house, adding unnecessary mileage to the cost

John H. on 3/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Merchandise is good to be available to see. However, when it begins to block access to teh counter, then it may not be so good.

Geoffrey D. on 3/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My confirmation indicated I would receive a call to confirm what location for pick up, I did not. I went to the location I ordered through only to find no Uhaul facility as well as a subsequent location. After getting directions to another location I found it. the counter rep was not rude, but also not welcoming. Upon pulling the truck over & hooking up the trailer he walked away saying "you're all set", he offered no instruction on anything & I didn't even have a chance to inspect the vehicle. The equipment I rented was in great shape & I had no issues.

VERNICE T. on 3/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was in your location today did not like the fact that no one was in the shop for 15 mins I was by myself Untill someone came to assist me by then I miss my bus very upset

Keith C. on 3/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The car dolly had a left tail light out when I picked it up. The folks at the U-Haul store hopped right on it and fixed it.

JIMMY P. on 3/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing

WILLIAM S. on 3/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fast service.

VINCENT G. on 3/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was great, very flexible

WILBERFORCE J. on 3/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would like to see a more customer friendly environment. I realize that the location is in the rougher part of Buffalo. However, more customer friendliness would be encouraged. Hope this helps!!

CATHY W. on 3/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I called over 2 weeks ago, I was told this location was the closest to the airport, it was not, $35 for a cab!

darrin j. on 3/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have additional service desk associates during peek periods.

Jesse Z. on 3/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would only not recommend this location to a friend because of the other customers. They were all complaining about the wait time but it appeared that nobody took advantage of the early online check in like we had done so it was their own faults and were acting like it was the fault of UHaul. Plus mostly every customer was African American. Not that I'm prejudice but I think this would detour people from choosing this location. In the future I would choose an alternate location because of this.

SHEKIA J. on 2/28/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

If a truck is not working properly and a customer can not get back into the facility because the door does not open with a key that u get to be able to get ur things from storage, the company should really give more time and consider that that person would have gotten all their things from storage if the trucks was in working condition and the doors to the facility was also in working conditions.

RENITA S. on 2/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I feel that your employees were not professional.When you meet a customer you should at least greet them.Not just ask them for the keys and say nothing else to them.Not good customer service at all.

TONI H. on 2/25/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have.more.then one person working and if it is only one person, make sure they are friendly and like their job not rude to everyone

DARREN R. on 2/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Maybe because it was a Sunday, but another person working instead of just one.

katrina m. on 2/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More representatives to help customers

Thomas M. on 2/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone on both ends need to figure out what they're doing. The day after I return the truck, I get phone calls telling me the truck is not returned.. Great customer service.

CELESTINA P. on 2/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I arrived to pick up the Van I was infomed the merchandise was at half tank of gas. After doing my own inspection I noticed it was way below the indicated level. The individual stated that I would not be charge for a half a tank of gas since it was not at that level upon my inspection. However, their was no mention of the change on my electronic paperwork which made me question the overall service of the company. In the future all issues should be noted electronically because word of mouth is just not a reliable source.

JIM W. on 2/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Wipers did not work on first and requested truck. Replacement truck was larger than reserved and OK. Despite being told a message had been left on my home phone the day before pick-up, there was no message in my voice mail, so, I had no notification that reservation had been moved to this location. Cab from where reservation was made to this location was $45. Manager at this location was alone and overworked, but was a good sport about getting the trucks and trailers hooked up, disconnected, and then re-connected. Temp with wind chill was -10 with blowing snow. He stayed focused on my needs even when other customers arrived.

ANDY N. on 1/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was cheated

SHARON H. on 1/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing

TIMOTHY S. on 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The trailer I rented was filthy!! Very upset. It seems as though whoever used the trailer before me used it to haul greasy car parts! I needed to move my daughters bed to her apartment at her new school. This mattress set is less than a year old. It was a rush move, my daughter thought she had it taken care of. But at the last minute I went to u-haul and rented a 5x10 enclosed trailer to move her mattresses in. Picked the trailer up late. It was dark so I could not see the condition of the interior. Long story short, the mattresses are covered with grease stains and now smell like a junk yard. Very upset, very dissappointed!! Have used u-haul for things like this on many occasions and never had to worry about the condition of the equipment!! Would recommend that trailer interiors be inspected and cleaned before they are rented out!! These mattresses are ruined!!

ALAN W. on 1/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

For some reason, truck windows were damp with water droplets and mist on them when I picked up truck. Hard to see out window for first 15 minutes as I was driving. Defroster eventually took care of it, but was difficult to see for quite a while. It was raining, but I fail to see why the interior of the windows would be wet and hard to see out of.

andrew h. on 1/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep doing what your doing. Putting the customer first and making the rental process quick and easy. Thanks!

IESHA D. on 1/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Truck broke down, management has no customer service

TAMISHA J on 1/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged $48 for gas when I returned the truck back with the same amount of gas as when I rented it! some of my furniture was water damaged after being in one of your storage units.

Stephen S. on 1/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Phone support said I could drop off truck at another location "closer" yet they do not take 26' trucks and I had to drive clear across town to go to a different location wasting gas which I ended u having to pay for because I was driving all around town.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At check-in I had to purchase a new lock because only 1 type was allowed. This was not indicated anywhere when making the reservation - classic bait and switch. I cannot recommend this location.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

b

madiha s. on 12/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good customer service and very helpful staff both places geneses and cheektowa storage location

JEFFREY G. on 12/30/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Jamarr, the GM at the Buffalo location was great. He went out of his way to help me out with setting my vehicle up to pull the trailer by installing a wiring harness for the trailers lights. I wasn't expecting this to be needed but he went out of his way to do the install personally and as quickly as possible, even running to another location to get the needed parts. Jamarr is a real asset to U-Haul and treated me very well and I will definitely use the Genessee street location's services again. Jeff Guarino

LYNN D. on 12/30/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck was not supplied with the required fuel when the truck was picked up and then the battery died in the middle of the move putting us at least an hour behind schedule. Then we requested to take to a closer location to drop off due to the delay and were not able to do so because the location we rented the truck from owned the truck. Very inconvenient and we received no compensation for our inconveniences.

charles h. on 12/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

keep up the work.

WOODY R. on 12/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great. Fast and friendly!

JOHN M. on 12/24/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I traveled with my daughter from Texas and her belongings were soaked from water. We were driving through rain and thought thank God we rented a covered trailer so her things will not get wet only to arrive home in Buffalo and my Grandsons mattress was soaked and the clothes in boxes were wet. Spoke to Uhaul and they stated nothing could be done due to not having insurance. This is not our fault, this is the fault of Uhaul for not checking there rental equipment.

CINDY B. on 12/21/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The truck battery died, Had to call road side service, to come and replace the battery. I called customer service to see about a credit, the person I spoke with said my contract would be noted & i would get a $50 credit, then I sent a chat, to confirm & the agent said he had no record of my account being noted. Very poor customer service.

TRACEY F on 10/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good experience no complaints

MICHELLE N on 9/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints. If rates were cheaper I would have kept unit but $80 a month for such a small space no longer made sense.

HELAINE M on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

MATTHEW S on 8/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant staff.

NICOLE G on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities and staff were clean and nice!

ERIC M on 6/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is awesome!

NINA C on 5/7/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had storage unit sizes and prices which were applicable to the needs of dorm students

STEVEN W on 3/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

KLEE T on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Rob and staff did an excellent job. We would be a repeat customer in a heartbeat! Thanks, Rob, for the great service.

MICHELLE N on 12/6/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional- they even helped me carry boxes to my car without me even asking!

ROBERT W on 10/16/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I WILL ALWAYS PICK U-HAUL

MARISSA S on 8/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There is a rat problem at this location. There are now chew marks on an antique table of mine and there was rat excrement inside of my storage unit.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

GWENDOLYN C on 8/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment at this time.

GEORGE T on 5/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful.

DOUGLAS K on 4/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

friendly people easy 2 talk 2

JAMIE R on 4/27/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had my belongings in storage for 5+ months.. The workers were very friendly, and I would definetly recomend this location to anyone either moving or needs storage

CHRISTINE T on 3/16/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was ok need to update your system keep getting letters and I been moved out

CHRISTOPHER B on 2/27/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had no problems or concerns

AMANDA F on 11/21/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff could be more friedly...

CRYSTAL P on 11/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Found mouse droppings and shredded paper in packed stored items. Too expensive

VICTORIA C on 9/12/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it more bright

WILLMERT P on 8/23/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was delayed for a long time due to typos made on my contracts by agent Mike Polak. He wrote my phone number and e-mail incorrectly.

JIMMIE S on 8/7/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

SHEREDA M on 6/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very please with my service ** the young man that helped me was very helpful and kind to my needs.

BARBARA M on 5/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Efficient and friendly service.

VICTORIA C on 5/8/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smooth

AONTWONNETTA B on 1/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The storage center was great

TASHA C on 1/15/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

storage is way to small not worth the price i am paying i couldnt get a full load of a 17 foot truck into the unit and its just boxes

SARAH N on 11/23/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Worked well for me

MARK R on 10/5/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees at the Genesee location were always very nice and helpful. I had the unit for many years and never had a bad experiance.

ALISA W on 7/10/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The times that I was able to access my unit has no reflect on the staff at that location. This was also based on the fact that I had a smaller unit.

LISA C on 6/30/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I purchased the truck for a Sunday 10am -10pm however I was never informed ahead of time that the facility closed at 5.

BARNABE S on 6/24/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I AM HERE TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I SIGN UP FOR AUTOPAYMENT DIRECT FROM MY ACCOUNT SO DO NOT WANT YO GUYS TO CHARGE ME FOR ANY LATE FEE ,I DID THIS SINCE DAY ONE SO THANKS FOR YOUR UNDESTANDING

LATASHA G on 6/21/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would Never spend money with this company again. the service SUCKS

DANICA R on 5/18/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no complaints and it was a pleasant experience.

ALISA W on 3/29/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even though Jason W. was a younger person in a busy store he was very knowledgeable. He got busy but never ignored me and even offered me the promotion deal with my storage unit.

RENITA M on 3/28/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Needed the space for 6 days but still had to pay by the month.UHAUL SHOULD TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION PRORATING FEES.I DID FIND OUT THAT OTHER PLACES HAVE MORE SPACE AND ARE LESS IN PRICE.

KATHLEEN R on 3/18/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff were rude, there were rat feces in all of my boxes. Some of my boxes looked like they made a home in them. The place is DISGUSTING!!! Maybe use U-Haul again but never this location.

PETER V on 2/27/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The storage hallways were very narrow. I was not able to fit my sofa in the unit due to it being so narrow.

RICHARD, G. S on 10/5/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All went well and the staff was helpful

LAURA H on 8/30/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wish my rent could have been pro-rated for the rest of the month, I think U-Haul should consider that option.

JEROME T on 7/17/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Found ALOT of mice crap on our items- not happy. Also a strong bad smell. Staff was always confused on what to do when i tried to pay for two units.

LESLIE M on 6/24/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Last agent at time of rental close out. The agent had her son was talking on her cellphone. When I asked for assistance the agent popped her lips and was very rude.

ASHLEY B on 6/17/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

=

LAURA H on 5/27/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff were INCREDIBLY helpful and open to all of my questions.

ATESHA J on 5/25/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

CHARMANE R on 5/16/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

there were rat droppings all in my belongings

BETHANY P on 5/12/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I moved in, the unit still had some things in it and had not been swept out. Other than that, I was happy with the facility.

TROY L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You can take your rental area and your 200 character limit and shove them up your ass. If you want my opinion then don`t limit my frustrations to 200 characters.