U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Share |

Address

1400 Genesee St
Buffalo, NY 14211

(716) 896-2345

(@ Barthel)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

STEPHAN K. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We received a call on Saturday telling us the truck we reserved wouldn't be available until noon on Sunday instead of 9 am ( the reserved time). We were told it was due to the previous renter was not supposed to return it til 11am. It turned out that after I pushed he guaranteed it by 10 am. When I called the rep said she had no indication the truck was rented to anyone before us and it would be available at 9am our original time. We won't rent from u-haul again. Who wasn't telling the truth?

RALPH O. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the fuel was not accurate. The mileages was off. Overall a very pleasant experience

LEONARD K. on 3/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Craig very helpful and polite. Excellent customer service skills.

GARY B. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The trunk was dirty inside and out so a clean truck. Location not the one requested. Not convenient.

Charles C. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service was very good..

DELL K. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My reservation was fro $ 151.00 for rental of a 15' truck pickup in Buffalo and drop off in North Syracuse two days later that would be 3/9/2015 I got a call from your phone center on Sunday 3/8/2015 asking where the truck was I said that I had it for another day and the lady o the phone said no that I only had it for one day. I have the copy of the original E-Mail for the phone reservation I made and it stated that I had two days. I rushed around delivering the items I had from Buffalo and returned the truck on3/8/2015 at 7:15 pm however the store was closed so I kept the key and returned the next day to deliver the key and talk to the representative in North Syracuse

Abdel-Raheem A. on 3/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service was great.

ROXANNE C on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I just want to say Justin is a great representative for your company,he is very knowledgeable and helpful. He explained terms etc very simply and clearly.

NICOLE J. on 3/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was overwhelmed and it showed through the customer service.

FLANDA G. on 3/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I did rent trailer 3 times in total for long distance and all 3 times I had electrical problems (wirings, lights) I recommend better maintenance.over all good service

Monae J. on 3/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Explain each charge.

GABRIEL L. on 3/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service! General Manager was awesome!

MAREO S. on 3/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was very satisfactory and the customer service was very excellent

LEONARD D. on 3/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I would recommend Uhaul but location is not close to where I live but only one that could accommodate my request

TIMOTHY D. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Horrible!!!!! never again will we do business with uhaul again We were promised a truck with a ramp on the phone when I asked specifically if they had one they said yes so we reserved the truck and an appliance dolly with a credit card when we got to the location we were moving and opened the truck there was NO RAMP so now we have no use for the dolly , on top of being lied to just to make a sale we put a quarter tank of gas more than we got it with so there wouldn't be any descrepinces thinking they would take it off the end price seeing they were so very clear on how much gas was in it and what fees you would get if it wasn't returned that way when we returned it they basically told us there was nothing they could do but thank you for the gas , what a slap in the face , and then charged us for the dolly we couldn't use ! Btw I called uhauls main # when we seen the truck wasn't what we ordered and they transferred me over and over and over and over and over made me tell every new person the story untill the 6 person hung up on me , WE Wouldn't recommend them IF THEY PAID US to move I plan on telling all Socal media and anyone that asks about our experience how terrible this has been I have no respect for places that lie at any means to make a sale , shame on uhaul they made our move 5Xs harder than it needed to be I paid over 100$ to rent a smaller truck I didn't want for 5 hours lifting all our appliances 3 feet up , go to budget they have lower truck beds and way better costumer service, we had no problems with them last time we moved and it was only 60$ For a truck almost twice as big they were great at budget , Uhaul was a living money sucking nightmare of an experience!

MARCELLOUS B. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

More flatbed trucks

maria s. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very fast and easy. The employee was very down to earth and pleasant. Other than the prices for the mileage everything was great.

Shatasha E. on 2/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You Guys are awesome!!!!!!

ISAAC L. on 2/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing..

JOI B. on 2/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Justin was very helpful

BARBARA H. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Your representative can be more professional and honest. I was yelled at by your rep. Called a liar and was told to shut up. One of the worst experiences.

PATRICIA B on 2/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Justin wasknowledgeable and friendly. Great experience!!

John L. on 2/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good experience. I've been using U-shaped for over 30 years and this location does a great job.

JULIE e. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The customer service has changed for the better, associates were efficient & friendly. Although it was busy they were pleasent & helpful

robert h. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the staff there was very helpful and understanding to my needs !thanks again!

LORRAINE P. on 1/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck was clean but the tires were really bad, was slipping and sliding everywhere

TARA J. on 1/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The young man who took care of us was very nice but when he hooked up the trailer hitch to the back of our rental truck he forgot to tighten the screw,thank goodness my husband checked it when we got home because the only thing holding that trailer onto the truck was God and the chains! That being said he might not have forgotten to tighten it if he wasn't the only person working at that store at 8:30 am!! Its impossible for one person to be in two places at the same time! He was trying to take care of us when another customer came for his/her rental..You are expecting way to much from one person and by doing so,your company is putting both lives and equipment in danger! Another problem,we rented a truck with an auto transport hauler.We made it clear that we were driving this truck to Pittsburgh Pa to pick up a 72 Buick skylark.We had already made our travel plans and when we came to rent the truck and auto hauler we discovered that this is a two wheel drive truck,what makes no sense to me at all is why your company rents two wheel drive trucks within this area! We get snow,ice and taking this truck to Pittsburgh was next to impossible! It had problems getting up and down the hills,which Pittsburgh is made up of! Another thing that would have been nice would have been for someone to have at least wiped the interior of the truck down before we rented it.. Not a big thing but still nice on the customer service part of things!! On a side note it was a brand new truck with 301 miles on it,this truck should have had no problems but my guess is that its the cheapest thing that your company could purchase in bulk.For driving on the streets or maybe picking things up from the hardware store it wouldn't have been an issue but for what we were renting it for it sucked!!

PAULETTE W. on 1/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very, nice people and friendly

SHEVONNE H. on 1/11/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When I got the truck it was below 1/4 for gas and the rep sd would give me a $18 discount toward gas if I brought back at 1/4 I brought back above 1/4 and the rep didn't credit the extra gas and he should as all of the trucks were 1/4 gas or less just inconvenienced because the rep was lazy he made me find my own truck and never checked the truck and failed to see that the dolly was used previous. I won't use Uhaul services again.

MIKE P. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I think it is time get new truck there! They all getting old there.

holly h. on 12/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every interaction I have had at this UHaul location has been excellent. I felt confident that I was working with professionals. Truck was very clean, and I had no problems with anything.

MICHAEL D. on 12/20/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The price rates an avalibility was in acceptable

Jassem J. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Having a gauge to show the actual weight of the box will be helpful.

MD NOORE S. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Thy gonna frot with me caz I drive only 14 mills n I put full $8 bt when I return they said I put less full , than he charge me fukin $7+ I hait it I never go this place

STEVEN B. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very helpful location.

Sherrie D. on 12/7/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I signed a contract for $66.07 pre-auth on my credit card. My card instead had a hold of $75.98. My original request was a 17' truck for $29.95. I added an appliance dolly for $10. She estimated my milage at 20 miles. however, my card was charged an extra $10 for a 2nd dolly that I did not ask for.

MARY G. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Horrible customer service I'll never use you again I'm going to budget

Emma B. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very excellent customer service.

MATTHEW S on 5/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very polite helpful staff.

TAMISHA J on 1/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged $48 for gas when I returned the truck back with the same amount of gas as when I rented it! some of my furniture was water damaged after being in one of your storage units.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At check-in I had to purchase a new lock because only 1 type was allowed. This was not indicated anywhere when making the reservation - classic bait and switch. I cannot recommend this location.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

b

TRACEY F on 10/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good experience no complaints

MICHELLE N on 9/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints. If rates were cheaper I would have kept unit but $80 a month for such a small space no longer made sense.

HELAINE M on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

MATTHEW S on 8/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant staff.

NICOLE G on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities and staff were clean and nice!

ERIC M on 6/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is awesome!

NINA C on 5/7/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had storage unit sizes and prices which were applicable to the needs of dorm students

STEVEN W on 3/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

KLEE T on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Rob and staff did an excellent job. We would be a repeat customer in a heartbeat! Thanks, Rob, for the great service.

MICHELLE N on 12/6/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional- they even helped me carry boxes to my car without me even asking!

ROBERT W on 10/16/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I WILL ALWAYS PICK U-HAUL

MARISSA S on 8/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There is a rat problem at this location. There are now chew marks on an antique table of mine and there was rat excrement inside of my storage unit.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

GWENDOLYN C on 8/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment at this time.

GEORGE T on 5/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful.

DOUGLAS K on 4/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

friendly people easy 2 talk 2

JAMIE R on 4/27/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had my belongings in storage for 5+ months.. The workers were very friendly, and I would definetly recomend this location to anyone either moving or needs storage

CHRISTINE T on 3/16/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was ok need to update your system keep getting letters and I been moved out

CHRISTOPHER B on 2/27/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had no problems or concerns

AMANDA F on 11/21/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff could be more friedly...

CRYSTAL P on 11/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Found mouse droppings and shredded paper in packed stored items. Too expensive

VICTORIA C on 9/12/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it more bright

WILLMERT P on 8/23/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was delayed for a long time due to typos made on my contracts by agent Mike Polak. He wrote my phone number and e-mail incorrectly.

JIMMIE S on 8/7/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

SHEREDA M on 6/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very please with my service ** the young man that helped me was very helpful and kind to my needs.

BARBARA M on 5/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Efficient and friendly service.

VICTORIA C on 5/8/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smooth

AONTWONNETTA B on 1/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The storage center was great

TASHA C on 1/15/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

storage is way to small not worth the price i am paying i couldnt get a full load of a 17 foot truck into the unit and its just boxes

SARAH N on 11/23/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Worked well for me

MARK R on 10/5/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees at the Genesee location were always very nice and helpful. I had the unit for many years and never had a bad experiance.

ALISA W on 7/10/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The times that I was able to access my unit has no reflect on the staff at that location. This was also based on the fact that I had a smaller unit.

LISA C on 6/30/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I purchased the truck for a Sunday 10am -10pm however I was never informed ahead of time that the facility closed at 5.

BARNABE S on 6/24/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I AM HERE TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I SIGN UP FOR AUTOPAYMENT DIRECT FROM MY ACCOUNT SO DO NOT WANT YO GUYS TO CHARGE ME FOR ANY LATE FEE ,I DID THIS SINCE DAY ONE SO THANKS FOR YOUR UNDESTANDING

LATASHA G on 6/21/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would Never spend money with this company again. the service SUCKS

DANICA R on 5/18/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no complaints and it was a pleasant experience.

ALISA W on 3/29/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even though Jason W. was a younger person in a busy store he was very knowledgeable. He got busy but never ignored me and even offered me the promotion deal with my storage unit.

RENITA M on 3/28/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Needed the space for 6 days but still had to pay by the month.UHAUL SHOULD TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION PRORATING FEES.I DID FIND OUT THAT OTHER PLACES HAVE MORE SPACE AND ARE LESS IN PRICE.

KATHLEEN R on 3/18/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff were rude, there were rat feces in all of my boxes. Some of my boxes looked like they made a home in them. The place is DISGUSTING!!! Maybe use U-Haul again but never this location.

PETER V on 2/27/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The storage hallways were very narrow. I was not able to fit my sofa in the unit due to it being so narrow.

RICHARD, G. S on 10/5/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All went well and the staff was helpful

LAURA H on 8/30/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wish my rent could have been pro-rated for the rest of the month, I think U-Haul should consider that option.

JEROME T on 7/17/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Found ALOT of mice crap on our items- not happy. Also a strong bad smell. Staff was always confused on what to do when i tried to pay for two units.

LESLIE M on 6/24/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Last agent at time of rental close out. The agent had her son was talking on her cellphone. When I asked for assistance the agent popped her lips and was very rude.

ASHLEY B on 6/17/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

=

LAURA H on 5/27/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff were INCREDIBLY helpful and open to all of my questions.

ATESHA J on 5/25/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

CHARMANE R on 5/16/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

there were rat droppings all in my belongings

BETHANY P on 5/12/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I moved in, the unit still had some things in it and had not been swept out. Other than that, I was happy with the facility.

TROY L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You can take your rental area and your 200 character limit and shove them up your ass. If you want my opinion then don`t limit my frustrations to 200 characters.