U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Share |

Address

1400 Genesee St
Buffalo, NY 14211

(716) 896-2345

(@ Barthel)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JOHN C. K. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your helpers were more than 2 1/2 hrs late!

CANDICE B. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I will not rent from this location again. An associate Craig, gave a truck that was schedule to go ppb a one way when I told him I wanted the truck for two days. He told me there was another truck available by phone but when I came in to exchange the truck he told me someone must have lied to get me in and there were no trucks. I was left stranded looking for another way back. There were problems the entire time which costed me tone and money during a move. Pick a better location.

GARY I. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Although the location was out of our way, I asked the person why and he explained to me that this truck was needed by someone else from this location. This was good enough for me. Thanks for your help.

DANIEL W. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Guy tried charging me more and hiding why he was charging me more. He kept telling me my wife was wrong. The Uhaul leaked so bad all our camping gear was wet and some food was unusable. My kids tent was soaked and they couldn't use it that night we arrived which caused us to have to rent a cabin. Our stereo and camp TV also got soaked. I took pictures so everyone can see. When we returned the Uhaul we told him about it all and he said he will look into it. Very unprofessional And we still haven't heard anything yet!??????

BELINDA M. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They got my reservation wrong 3 times! Called me @ 7:15am, the truck was supposed to be returned at 7:30 pm. Not a good experience!

Tejeshwara C on 6/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had reserved two boxes in Buffalo but only received one. My box arrived two days later than date committed in California. Will not recommend to anyone.

DALILA K on 6/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The prices, availability, and access were not the same when i went into the office. I was frustrated and extremely disappointed. I now have to searchc for another storage facility.

DIANE C. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was a Saturday and every customer (about 8 of us) had reserved their rental but there was only one clerk, who was very efficient, but we had almost a 45 min wait. Not good. We rented a 4x8 trailer and it wasn't clean, had dirt in it.

WILLIAM W. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

we had a very nice trip and your motorcycle trailer handled well. However, the trailer ramp was at too steep of an angle and my bike got hung up on it. I had to find a suitable grade to park on to get the right angle. Other than that, it worked well. Your light cord was put in your drop box last night when I returned the trailer. If there are any issues, please call my cell phone at 716-220-4537. Thanks again, Will.

KATHLEEN P. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were very satisfied with the service and would recommend this location to our Friends.

BONITA S. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I wish I knew the young man's name who handled the reservation. He was awesome! And the lady there who moved the trucks was too. They were both very personable & customer friendly!!

PASQUALE L. on 6/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I specifically asked for a 6' wide trailer to allow for a lawn mower which was slightly over 5' to be driven onto the trailer for transport. The trailer is 6'wide but the rear drop down ramp and width of opening at the rear is only 58" too narrow for my lawnmower to fit. So after wasting 3 hours travel to and from with endless calls to rectify the issue from various locations. I ended up not being able to use the trailer. cost me over $150 with gas, cost of rental, and labor needless to say I am not happy with Uhaul service

PATRICK S. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My reservation was for main st location - your company made me go out of my way to get my vehicle from your location and it made me late. U-hauls fault, not this location.

Kristen C. on 6/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We reserved a 17 foot truck for a move across several states. We reserved movers through U-haul. We got a call the day before saying that they did not have the truck at that location and sent us another location. When we went to that location the truck was not there. We were then sent here. This location also did not have the 17 foot truck we reserved and instead said the only thing they had available was a 14 (maybe 15?) foot truck. In a bind, we were forced to take this truck and try to make it work. We were not able to fit our belongings in this truck as there were no 17 foot trucks available anywhere in Buffalo. The man we worked with at this location LIED and put into the notes that we CHOSE to downgrade. When our belongings did not fit (as predicted) we called the U-haul 1-800 number we were told that the only truck large enough was a 26 foot truck which we had to travel 35 minutes to pick up. However, we were also told that we could not have that truck at the cost of the smaller truck because of the note left in the computer. The entire experience was unacceptable and wildly unprofessional. While we have used U-haul in all of our moves over the past 10 years (8 different moves) we will no longer be using U-haul. Because we moved our belongings into storage until we can move into our new home in September, we will need a truck again in a few months. For this move we will be using a competitor because of the lack of professionalism and unacceptable treatment we have received from U-haul.

DERRICK S. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a truck by phone, never picked up truck location allowed another person to use my reservation and sign out truck with my email and credit card attached, never charged card but it's the principle of the service that the person who signed out truck should have used his own email and my credit card should not have been attached to nothing, I would never use this location again.

R TODD B on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great service!

Lawrence M. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Meet all my expectations.

CHRISTINE K. on 6/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

To clarify, i did the self delivery, but when I went to pick up the box, the site had me scheduled for the wrong date, even though I showed them my confirmation email. they had to send me to another site, which really put a wrench in the moving process. The staff at each location is helpless.

Thanya H. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have more that one associate at the counter taking care of customers. I had to wait for a period of time that it was unnecessary due to lack of personnel.

Caleb H. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I reserved my 10-foot truck for 10am-4pm. I arrived right at 10am, and waited in line for 45 minutes. So I lost some time there. Then, when I worked with the agent behind the desk, he told me that I could only have the truck until 3:30pm at the latest. When I told him I had reserved it until 4pm, he basically told me there was nothing he could do. So, I ended up losing an hour and 15 minutes. Thankfully, my move was quicker than expected, but still, that was a bad experience. You also charged me $8.00 for gas. And I know I was a tiny bit low, but I was not 2 gallons low. Especially after the long wait and the shortened rental time, this just felt really wrong. I will be looking into a different company for my next move, and will not be recomending this location or uhaul generally to family and friends.

DEXTER R. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thank you for everything. Made moving day easier

PATRICIA J. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Craig was the gentleman who cashed me out. Was excellent! Very patient and kind. Thank You!

FRED W. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

directions given on the website were incorrect. directions took me to a location that did not exist. I then had to call customer service was on hold for over 15 mins to figure out the correct directions. very disgusted at that point. barely made it to correct location before they closed. was not very happy at that point. plus the location was quite far from my home.

Nancy L. on 5/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was polite and efficient. A pleasure to deal with.

Norb W. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent and courteous. Knowledgeable and efficient staff at the counter and in the yard. I enjoyed using U-Haul for my rental needs.

Ben W. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The main st. location is crazy weak. I wish I had gone to Genesee first. You need to improve main st.!

FRANK T. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

U haul broke down. Took 2 hours to get moving. Had to pay movers extra for time. And extra fuel cost could not shit off truck.

HELMUT B. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff at Genesee St were excellent! In and out in 10 minutes...

Christine W. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The biggest problem I had was finding direct phone numbers to the people who knew how to answer questions about my U-box reservation. I used U-haul after a last minute cancellation by another moving company. I was able to get everything I need from U-haul, including moving help, scheduled for the very next day.

William T. on 5/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The workers were arguing in front of me! The one guy who's been there for 8 years tells me to "go find" one of his workers to help argosy me with my trailer rental because he was getting backed up but "he" was the one that took my information! I told this gentleman that " I will not and that I expect to get serviced since I am a paying customer". He got am attitude and stormed off. I found the other gentleman (new employee) who gave me the service that I expected to receive from U Haul. Please call me at 716.444.5493, Bill Thomas

harold Y. on 5/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When e'mailing confirmation to customers please include name-address of store along with equipment type that is being rented...just to remind a forgetful customer...thank you for being there when we needed you!

PAMELA J. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

too busy and I waited outside for a service rep for close to 30 minutes and no-one came to help me w/one way drop off.

Jared G. on 5/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The trailer did not have places to hook a ratchet strap to.

brandi w. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The frost return address was wrong and cause us to go over our miles because we had to find another location to return the truck.

art r. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the truck we had .had the service engine ligt on.and brakes were terrible.also the people called ud to tell us they needed truck back by 5pm and we told them we needed the truck for 2 days.dont understand if u rent truck for 11am thats when i should have to bring it back not 5pm .but would use uhaul again good service

FLORENCE H. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

More workers. Wait was very long

tracy t. on 5/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was fine

Silvio S. on 4/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks. See you next time.

LATREASE A. on 4/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great prices, great customer service, no complaints

Terry T. on 4/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome customer service, very frendly.

ANGELO S. on 4/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Cargo Van was clean and comfy. The service was outstanding. I wish I was able to get one closer to Lockport, however, this worked out because we needed to be in that area.--Thanks for all your help. Michalena J. (Mickey) Scarcia

MICHAEL O. on 4/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Justin and the "crew" at this location could not have been more helpful!! As a business person I understand what GREAT Teammates mean to an organization!! This "Team" is a GREAT asset to your organization, and should be given GREAT praise for how they represent the U-Haul brand! Sincerely, Michael Olivieri

VICTORIA J. on 4/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Hire an additional person to help behind the desk. He was very helpful and personable. I felt sorry for him because of the long line of customers

JUSTIN T. on 4/9/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Was not helpful with regards to price matching. He said they price matched when they call, but did not when we got there.

MARLIN H. on 4/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Promt professional service at this location. Thank you.

CYNTHIA G. on 4/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I did not like the employee who called me and then argued with me over the uhaul truck not being there when i know we dropped it off there the nite before.he was rude and nasty on phone to me.and also when i was in that store the person who handled me was mad that the order was in computer was wrong,had problem on that also.

STEPHAN K. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We received a call on Saturday telling us the truck we reserved wouldn't be available until noon on Sunday instead of 9 am ( the reserved time). We were told it was due to the previous renter was not supposed to return it til 11am. It turned out that after I pushed he guaranteed it by 10 am. When I called the rep said she had no indication the truck was rented to anyone before us and it would be available at 9am our original time. We won't rent from u-haul again. Who wasn't telling the truth?

RALPH O. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the fuel was not accurate. The mileages was off. Overall a very pleasant experience

LEONARD K. on 3/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Craig very helpful and polite. Excellent customer service skills.

GARY B. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The trunk was dirty inside and out so a clean truck. Location not the one requested. Not convenient.

Charles C. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service was very good..

DELL K. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My reservation was fro $ 151.00 for rental of a 15' truck pickup in Buffalo and drop off in North Syracuse two days later that would be 3/9/2015 I got a call from your phone center on Sunday 3/8/2015 asking where the truck was I said that I had it for another day and the lady o the phone said no that I only had it for one day. I have the copy of the original E-Mail for the phone reservation I made and it stated that I had two days. I rushed around delivering the items I had from Buffalo and returned the truck on3/8/2015 at 7:15 pm however the store was closed so I kept the key and returned the next day to deliver the key and talk to the representative in North Syracuse

Abdel-Raheem A. on 3/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service was great.

ROXANNE C on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I just want to say Justin is a great representative for your company,he is very knowledgeable and helpful. He explained terms etc very simply and clearly.

NICOLE J. on 3/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was overwhelmed and it showed through the customer service.

FLANDA G. on 3/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I did rent trailer 3 times in total for long distance and all 3 times I had electrical problems (wirings, lights) I recommend better maintenance.over all good service

Monae J. on 3/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Explain each charge.

GABRIEL L. on 3/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service! General Manager was awesome!

MAREO S. on 3/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was very satisfactory and the customer service was very excellent

PATRICIA B on 2/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Justin wasknowledgeable and friendly. Great experience!!

MATTHEW S on 5/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very polite helpful staff.

TAMISHA J on 1/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged $48 for gas when I returned the truck back with the same amount of gas as when I rented it! some of my furniture was water damaged after being in one of your storage units.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At check-in I had to purchase a new lock because only 1 type was allowed. This was not indicated anywhere when making the reservation - classic bait and switch. I cannot recommend this location.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

b

TRACEY F on 10/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good experience no complaints

MICHELLE N on 9/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints. If rates were cheaper I would have kept unit but $80 a month for such a small space no longer made sense.

HELAINE M on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

MATTHEW S on 8/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant staff.

NICOLE G on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities and staff were clean and nice!

ERIC M on 6/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is awesome!

NINA C on 5/7/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had storage unit sizes and prices which were applicable to the needs of dorm students

STEVEN W on 3/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

KLEE T on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Rob and staff did an excellent job. We would be a repeat customer in a heartbeat! Thanks, Rob, for the great service.

MICHELLE N on 12/6/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional- they even helped me carry boxes to my car without me even asking!

ROBERT W on 10/16/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I WILL ALWAYS PICK U-HAUL

MARISSA S on 8/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There is a rat problem at this location. There are now chew marks on an antique table of mine and there was rat excrement inside of my storage unit.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

GWENDOLYN C on 8/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment at this time.

GEORGE T on 5/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful.

DOUGLAS K on 4/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

friendly people easy 2 talk 2

JAMIE R on 4/27/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had my belongings in storage for 5+ months.. The workers were very friendly, and I would definetly recomend this location to anyone either moving or needs storage

CHRISTINE T on 3/16/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was ok need to update your system keep getting letters and I been moved out

CHRISTOPHER B on 2/27/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had no problems or concerns

AMANDA F on 11/21/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff could be more friedly...

CRYSTAL P on 11/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Found mouse droppings and shredded paper in packed stored items. Too expensive

VICTORIA C on 9/12/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it more bright

WILLMERT P on 8/23/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was delayed for a long time due to typos made on my contracts by agent Mike Polak. He wrote my phone number and e-mail incorrectly.

JIMMIE S on 8/7/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

SHEREDA M on 6/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very please with my service ** the young man that helped me was very helpful and kind to my needs.

BARBARA M on 5/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Efficient and friendly service.

VICTORIA C on 5/8/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smooth

AONTWONNETTA B on 1/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The storage center was great

TASHA C on 1/15/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

storage is way to small not worth the price i am paying i couldnt get a full load of a 17 foot truck into the unit and its just boxes

SARAH N on 11/23/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Worked well for me

MARK R on 10/5/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees at the Genesee location were always very nice and helpful. I had the unit for many years and never had a bad experiance.

ALISA W on 7/10/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The times that I was able to access my unit has no reflect on the staff at that location. This was also based on the fact that I had a smaller unit.

LISA C on 6/30/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I purchased the truck for a Sunday 10am -10pm however I was never informed ahead of time that the facility closed at 5.

BARNABE S on 6/24/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I AM HERE TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I SIGN UP FOR AUTOPAYMENT DIRECT FROM MY ACCOUNT SO DO NOT WANT YO GUYS TO CHARGE ME FOR ANY LATE FEE ,I DID THIS SINCE DAY ONE SO THANKS FOR YOUR UNDESTANDING

LATASHA G on 6/21/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would Never spend money with this company again. the service SUCKS

DANICA R on 5/18/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no complaints and it was a pleasant experience.

ALISA W on 3/29/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even though Jason W. was a younger person in a busy store he was very knowledgeable. He got busy but never ignored me and even offered me the promotion deal with my storage unit.

RENITA M on 3/28/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Needed the space for 6 days but still had to pay by the month.UHAUL SHOULD TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION PRORATING FEES.I DID FIND OUT THAT OTHER PLACES HAVE MORE SPACE AND ARE LESS IN PRICE.

KATHLEEN R on 3/18/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff were rude, there were rat feces in all of my boxes. Some of my boxes looked like they made a home in them. The place is DISGUSTING!!! Maybe use U-Haul again but never this location.

PETER V on 2/27/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The storage hallways were very narrow. I was not able to fit my sofa in the unit due to it being so narrow.

RICHARD, G. S on 10/5/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All went well and the staff was helpful

LAURA H on 8/30/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wish my rent could have been pro-rated for the rest of the month, I think U-Haul should consider that option.

JEROME T on 7/17/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Found ALOT of mice crap on our items- not happy. Also a strong bad smell. Staff was always confused on what to do when i tried to pay for two units.

LESLIE M on 6/24/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Last agent at time of rental close out. The agent had her son was talking on her cellphone. When I asked for assistance the agent popped her lips and was very rude.

ASHLEY B on 6/17/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

=

LAURA H on 5/27/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff were INCREDIBLY helpful and open to all of my questions.

ATESHA J on 5/25/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

CHARMANE R on 5/16/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

there were rat droppings all in my belongings

BETHANY P on 5/12/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I moved in, the unit still had some things in it and had not been swept out. Other than that, I was happy with the facility.

TROY L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You can take your rental area and your 200 character limit and shove them up your ass. If you want my opinion then don`t limit my frustrations to 200 characters.