U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Share |

Address

1400 Genesee St
Buffalo, NY 14211

(716) 896-2345

(@ Barthel)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

ARETHA R. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thank you

JOHN S. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My location got switched at last second but i was charged 20 cents less per mile for the switch. Everything was great except the old location on Transit kept calling asking me where i was???? John R Smith

Leon J. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

More friendlier staff would be helpful...my agent seemed annoyed as if he wasn't happy about his job as if he's over his position..overall I was treated with decent care

PAUL P. on 8/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy at main street is a sick he is a sarcastic sick. Needs skills

RONALD S. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Less clutter

CHARLES D. on 8/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When i reserved the truck, i was told a had 2 days and 240 miles. When i picked up the truck the contract said i had to return the truck in 24 hrs. I also noticed the gas guage on the contract shower 1/8 of a tank more than the truck guage. I went back in and had the gentleman who took care of us make the 2 changes and initial the contract. He made the changes and we left.

PETER H. on 8/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only thing wrong was thy gave me the wrong ball size

jose m. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very professional.

BARBRA G. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

while using this vehicle I found serveral difficulties one in particlar was that the vehicle stalled after loading I allowed the vehicle too sit for a day too wait for storage only too find rain the day made a more unpleasant effect. As I applied my boxes the rain from the outside poured deeply inside of various contractor bags of coats,family clothing, and shoes as well as boxes of books, pappers and dishes. After taking inventory I found books and serveral papers destroyed also one suede jacket in which Ill take too the cleaners for possible repairs

TASHA J. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees were awesome!!

CATHY M. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding customer service... Multiple locations close enough anywhere in Buffalo NY.. Most accommodating !!! This location was outstanding.. Everyone I dealt with went above and beyond to make my moving experience a smooth transition!!!

STEPHEN H. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

nice people fast service

ROBERT B. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

BIG PROBLEMS. Called Orchard Park store. supose to pick up 6'x12' trailer at noon. Said it was refered to Genesee st. store. Sent me there and had no 6'x12' trailer. I i call Orhcard Park store its because its close to me, NOT OUT OF THE WAY..and if rent a certin size trailer for a specific day its because I NEED IT THAT DAY..Very AGGRIVATING..p.s. Dionne at the Genesee store was amazing...

arrietta l. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thank u for improving your trucks and serviceat that location..and the customer service was much bettet

Alex W. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The return of the equipment was fast and efficient. The staff unhooked and parked it...I didn't even get out of the car. Perfect!

DANIEL P. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had to drive from a location a half mile away to this location 14 miles away in the city.

JAMES M. on 7/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No suggestions come to mind. All was great.

ANNE M. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person who took care of us was a great guy (and took care of us in a righteous manner. Everything went smooth. He's deserves a raise as he is an asset to your company.

DEMONT R. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This uhaul location has over charged me for gas and mileage. I think there trucks are rigged to overcharge. There's noway i drove 50 something miles from east Buffalo to west Buffalo. I put $40 of gas in it and it still didn't reach 1/8 of a tank. This site should be investigated

Megan J. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There were many racks near the counter making it challenging to get to the register or to tell who was in line.

GREG P. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I just had a problem about the two I d. And each store had a different policy.

Bob J. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly staff. Prompt attention.

DAVID T. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I reserved a truck 2 weeks in advance at a location within a mile from my house. I contacted the location the day before pick-up to confirm the time. After confirming I had people at my house ready to assist in moving. However, when I called UHaul that morning I was told I had to pick up the truck downtown, which is about a 30 minute ride out of the way because there was no truck at my location. This was inconvenient and changed the days moving plan. UHaul should personally reach out to the customer in advance if they are going to change locations to see what works best for the customer.

ROBERT B. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ovreall experience was great. Friendly Quick service... Thank you

STAN B. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Shorter lines

JOE C. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Nothing but trouble here. Gas tank was not where Uhaul rep Dionne said it was. Was under 1/2, he marked it @ 1/2, I brought him out to look, he said it counts as 1/2, I returned it at same level & was charged $16.50 because it wasn't @ 1/2 tank. Also, I reserved a 17' truck, upon pickup I was told I had a 17' truck but it was actually a 14' truck. As a result I had to make 2 trips adding 42 miles that shouldn't have been necessary. I've made several calls and gone back to this location to speak to the manager, who was "too busy" to speak with me. I've been told 3 times now that he will call me back...I'm still waiting. Management skills are lacking here as well as problem resolution skills. Nobody seems to want to rectify the situation, they just keep passing the problem to the next person.

JASMINE W. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My experience with U Haul was great, I wouldn't change a thing, keep up the good work:)

dan f. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

What a great store and employees!!! Keep up the great work and customer service.

JAMES D. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Was given the wrong pick up location. Ended up losing 1.5 hours of truck time with my paid help

FERNANDO R. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Check equipment be for renting out to make sure everything is in working order.

STEPHEN P. on 6/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, competent customer service.

REBA B. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I appreciate the service it was very good Thank you so much

AILEEN G. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the next ford f150 yall buy get more seats insead of 3

Stan B. on 6/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Less wait time to get vehicle.

KEVIN J. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

my online preregistration made my pick up easy. The staff was very nice and got me on my way fast. Thank you

TIM W. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I RESERVE THE TRAILOR A MONTH IN ADVANCE TO BE PICKED UP AT THE TRANST RD STORE ONLY TO FIND OUT I HAD TO PICK IT UP AT ANOTHER LOCATION, WOULD OF LIKE TO PICK UP WHERE I MADE IT FOR..

Gregory J. on 6/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck I had reserved was not available and knocking off 20 cents a mile was NOT adequate compensation for the added inconvenience.

MICHAEL B. on 6/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Due to the equipment and truck failure we experienced, I have a hard recommending U-Haul for long-haul moves. Staff were helpful and friendly, but need more reliable equipment.

Hasheen D. on 6/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm not sure. Service was prompt, the truck was clean and the staff was helpful. I'm pretty satisfied the way it is for right now.

MARYLLN J. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees were wonderful people especially the one when I went to pick up the truck

PETER F. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

mpg of the truck so can guess the amount of gas to fill back up to even

JACQUELINE K. on 5/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We were overcharged for 2 dollies when we only used one that was on the truck. We were advised during truck inspection by the female rep who met us outside that there was already one on truck so no need to grab one from outside. Need a refund.

alan e. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You need to have a light conversion kit available for different cars to trailers. Either for loans, rent, or to purchase.

MATTHEW S on 5/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very polite helpful staff.

EDWARD D. on 5/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

not a thing

TIMOTHY S. on 5/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly excellent service all around. I would use and recommend UHaul again. - reservation attendant quickly developed lowest cost option for hauling collector car back to Buffalo (rental truck competitors would not quote my job). - Truck and carrier were very clean and prepared prior to pick up, check in just 10 minutes. - Truck and trailer hauled perfectly 1000 miles. - check out not as prompt as the (only) attendant unhitched and recycled the equipment back into the lot while we patiently waited for him to check us out. *Please review rental car process; customers come first, then take care of getting the equipment ready for the next rental. Overall a very pleasant and positive experience.

TAMISHA J on 1/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged $48 for gas when I returned the truck back with the same amount of gas as when I rented it! some of my furniture was water damaged after being in one of your storage units.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At check-in I had to purchase a new lock because only 1 type was allowed. This was not indicated anywhere when making the reservation - classic bait and switch. I cannot recommend this location.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

b

TRACEY F on 10/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good experience no complaints

MICHELLE N on 9/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints. If rates were cheaper I would have kept unit but $80 a month for such a small space no longer made sense.

HELAINE M on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

MATTHEW S on 8/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant staff.

NICOLE G on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities and staff were clean and nice!

ERIC M on 6/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is awesome!

NINA C on 5/7/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had storage unit sizes and prices which were applicable to the needs of dorm students

STEVEN W on 3/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

KLEE T on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Rob and staff did an excellent job. We would be a repeat customer in a heartbeat! Thanks, Rob, for the great service.

MICHELLE N on 12/6/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional- they even helped me carry boxes to my car without me even asking!

ROBERT W on 10/16/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I WILL ALWAYS PICK U-HAUL

MARISSA S on 8/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There is a rat problem at this location. There are now chew marks on an antique table of mine and there was rat excrement inside of my storage unit.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

GWENDOLYN C on 8/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment at this time.

GEORGE T on 5/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful.

DOUGLAS K on 4/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

friendly people easy 2 talk 2

JAMIE R on 4/27/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had my belongings in storage for 5+ months.. The workers were very friendly, and I would definetly recomend this location to anyone either moving or needs storage

CHRISTINE T on 3/16/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was ok need to update your system keep getting letters and I been moved out

CHRISTOPHER B on 2/27/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had no problems or concerns

AMANDA F on 11/21/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff could be more friedly...

CRYSTAL P on 11/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Found mouse droppings and shredded paper in packed stored items. Too expensive

VICTORIA C on 9/12/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it more bright

WILLMERT P on 8/23/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was delayed for a long time due to typos made on my contracts by agent Mike Polak. He wrote my phone number and e-mail incorrectly.

JIMMIE S on 8/7/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

SHEREDA M on 6/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very please with my service ** the young man that helped me was very helpful and kind to my needs.

BARBARA M on 5/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Efficient and friendly service.

VICTORIA C on 5/8/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smooth

AONTWONNETTA B on 1/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The storage center was great

TASHA C on 1/15/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

storage is way to small not worth the price i am paying i couldnt get a full load of a 17 foot truck into the unit and its just boxes

SARAH N on 11/23/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Worked well for me

MARK R on 10/5/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees at the Genesee location were always very nice and helpful. I had the unit for many years and never had a bad experiance.

ALISA W on 7/10/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The times that I was able to access my unit has no reflect on the staff at that location. This was also based on the fact that I had a smaller unit.

LISA C on 6/30/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I purchased the truck for a Sunday 10am -10pm however I was never informed ahead of time that the facility closed at 5.

BARNABE S on 6/24/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I AM HERE TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I SIGN UP FOR AUTOPAYMENT DIRECT FROM MY ACCOUNT SO DO NOT WANT YO GUYS TO CHARGE ME FOR ANY LATE FEE ,I DID THIS SINCE DAY ONE SO THANKS FOR YOUR UNDESTANDING

LATASHA G on 6/21/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would Never spend money with this company again. the service SUCKS

DANICA R on 5/18/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no complaints and it was a pleasant experience.

ALISA W on 3/29/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even though Jason W. was a younger person in a busy store he was very knowledgeable. He got busy but never ignored me and even offered me the promotion deal with my storage unit.

RENITA M on 3/28/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Needed the space for 6 days but still had to pay by the month.UHAUL SHOULD TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION PRORATING FEES.I DID FIND OUT THAT OTHER PLACES HAVE MORE SPACE AND ARE LESS IN PRICE.

KATHLEEN R on 3/18/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff were rude, there were rat feces in all of my boxes. Some of my boxes looked like they made a home in them. The place is DISGUSTING!!! Maybe use U-Haul again but never this location.

PETER V on 2/27/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The storage hallways were very narrow. I was not able to fit my sofa in the unit due to it being so narrow.

RICHARD, G. S on 10/5/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All went well and the staff was helpful

LAURA H on 8/30/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wish my rent could have been pro-rated for the rest of the month, I think U-Haul should consider that option.

JEROME T on 7/17/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Found ALOT of mice crap on our items- not happy. Also a strong bad smell. Staff was always confused on what to do when i tried to pay for two units.

LESLIE M on 6/24/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Last agent at time of rental close out. The agent had her son was talking on her cellphone. When I asked for assistance the agent popped her lips and was very rude.

ASHLEY B on 6/17/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

=

LAURA H on 5/27/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff were INCREDIBLY helpful and open to all of my questions.

ATESHA J on 5/25/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

CHARMANE R on 5/16/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

there were rat droppings all in my belongings

BETHANY P on 5/12/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I moved in, the unit still had some things in it and had not been swept out. Other than that, I was happy with the facility.

TROY L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You can take your rental area and your 200 character limit and shove them up your ass. If you want my opinion then don`t limit my frustrations to 200 characters.