U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Share |

Address

1400 Genesee St
Buffalo, NY 14211

(716) 896-2345

(@ Barthel)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Jassem J. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Having a gauge to show the actual weight of the box will be helpful.

MD NOORE S. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Thy gonna frot with me caz I drive only 14 mills n I put full $8 bt when I return they said I put less full , than he charge me fukin $7+ I hait it I never go this place

STEVEN B. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very helpful location.

Sherrie D. on 12/7/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I signed a contract for $66.07 pre-auth on my credit card. My card instead had a hold of $75.98. My original request was a 17' truck for $29.95. I added an appliance dolly for $10. She estimated my milage at 20 miles. however, my card was charged an extra $10 for a 2nd dolly that I did not ask for.

MARY G. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Horrible customer service I'll never use you again I'm going to budget

Emma B. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very excellent customer service.

DEMETRIA Y. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

DISCUSS THE TERMS IN FULL WITH ALL CUSTOMERS. THE HIDDEN CHARGES ARE RIDICULOUS!

wayne c. on 11/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The lady that assisted us was very helpful and informative. She was very nice to talk to.

JOHN V. on 11/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have rented a lot of car transporters and by far this location has been the best.I was very disapointed with the last location bald tires no axle cap,flat tire never left home on time

DAWN G. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The streets are terrible and the location should be out of the city.

HOA D. on 11/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You were great!

Aaron K. on 11/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Free coffee !

Scott E. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

One expects a place that deals with the recording of numbers to be accurate. My odometer was off by about 30 miles, which I unfortunately did not discover until after I left the lot. When I came back in and wanted to discuss the matter the woman doing returns called me a liar in front of several customers and was quite rude. I do understand that even though it is the job of the U-Haul employees to ensure accuracy I should have double checked the odometer before I left, however the rudeness of the Rep has already led to to me telling any and all that will listen to use a different company if possible, or at the very least a different U-Haul location. $30 may not be a lot to her, but especially during a move, it was a loss that has caused me some great distress. Should I ever be forced to use your company again, rest assured I will go over the vehicle with a fine toothed comb and will brook no variation.

JACQUELINE W. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Time management. I lost so much money waiting on a truck that I was supposed to pick up at 9am and didn't get it until 3pm. I had to pay movers that I was not able to use and had to find other people at the last minute and pay them as well.

Edwin V. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Manager was very helpful. We left a couple of things in the trailer and were able to go back and get them the next day without any problems.

Kevin D. on 10/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people working there were friendly and helpful

MICHAEL H. on 10/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The experence I had with U-haul was such a piss poor one, I would never recommend this company to anyone ever. If I have to find a trailor again I will go some whwre else even if it cost me more money.

MIKE M. on 10/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work !!!!!

PAUL P. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

GREAT NOTHING

samantha l. on 10/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All locations should provide the sane customer service had a very nasty manager at one of your locations

RONALD B. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

when a customer is told a location for pickup ,make sure you have your facts straight,so when the customer arrives they are told to go to a different location almost 8 miles away.this happened to me in turn causing a lot of unneeded confusion.next time I will probably use your competitor

GRAHAM S. on 10/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was great, physical location presented some challenges.

KAREN R. on 10/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Julio was FANTASTIC. He helped us get what we needed. 5 stars for him, ZERO stars for the 3 different people I talked to on the 800 number who were no help whatsoever.

JOHN S. on 10/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was great including Mr. Tirado....

joshua m. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Clean equipment prior to pickup, do NOT make customers wait. ALSO, try a better job at establishing greater communication between locations and corporate call center. I cant count how many times I've been fucked by this company. Making a reservation for one truck, arranging a ride from a friend (resulting in unwanted transfer of funds in exchange), arriving at said location only to find out the call center didnt take anything you said into account and offers something completely different something would do what you needed it to. So start making some changes for the customer. And offer discounts for disabled veterans (I'm a Disabled USMC Combat Veteran) as they have given all, and deserve something in return. In the mean time, fix your fuckups, theres a right way to run a business and then theres the uhaul way. Wrong, decitful, dirty, non-caring, no good customer service/equipment

SHANNON L. on 9/27/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Today was understaffed, and I waited in line for 45 minutes just to return my equipment and ask a question. There was only one woman working on the computers (who was friendly and doing her best) but it just wasn't enough to handle the customer load. She also didn't know how to do some of the things which just took up more time. Overall, it was not a very good experience.

DAYNA V. on 9/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Haul needs to maintain their equipment. Trailer leaked all over the contents inside. Glad it was a closed trailer...not.

KIMBERLY H. on 9/17/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck needs brakes ABS kept bouncing back while driving and needs a wheel alignment terribly. Overall truck runs good.

kevin c. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff promptly took care of me. I was charged correctly. I have a minor complaint. I pointed out that the gas gauge read slightly below 1/4 of a tank even though my contract alleged the gauge read exactly 1/4. i had to speed an extra couple of bucks for gas that I shouldn't have had to because i didn't want to be penalized for returning the truck below 1/4 full.

TASHIKA M. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvement needed. I was concerned about being a little late and the manager was pleasant and did not charge me for an extra day. Service was great

Christine K. on 9/10/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

PS the only reason I said this location is below average is because I am comparing it to the Main St Buffalo location, which is terrible. I arrived on my scheduled date (as confirmed in the confirmation email) and the guy had me on the schedule for the next day and sent me to this location, which eventually led to me having to store the u box overnight on my own property because they were so understaffed they couldn't secure it that night.

CHRISTINA T. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were great , my family uses this company all the time .

Rachel V. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

RETURN PHONE CALLS!! This was the only problem I had! I left my house key inside the cab of the truck I rented & called the very next morning. The woman took my message & claimed the GM would immediately call me back & he never did!! Later when I called back, I got the "call center", where the woman I spoke with there was very rude!! She said there wasn't anything she could do because I already left the earlier message & practically hung up on me!

LINDA C. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was a great experience. I would recomend your service to all.

ARETHA R. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thank you

JOHN S. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My location got switched at last second but i was charged 20 cents less per mile for the switch. Everything was great except the old location on Transit kept calling asking me where i was???? John R Smith

Leon J. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

More friendlier staff would be helpful...my agent seemed annoyed as if he wasn't happy about his job as if he's over his position..overall I was treated with decent care

PAUL P. on 8/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy at main street is a sick he is a sarcastic sick. Needs skills

MATTHEW S on 5/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very polite helpful staff.

TAMISHA J on 1/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged $48 for gas when I returned the truck back with the same amount of gas as when I rented it! some of my furniture was water damaged after being in one of your storage units.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At check-in I had to purchase a new lock because only 1 type was allowed. This was not indicated anywhere when making the reservation - classic bait and switch. I cannot recommend this location.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

b

TRACEY F on 10/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good experience no complaints

MICHELLE N on 9/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints. If rates were cheaper I would have kept unit but $80 a month for such a small space no longer made sense.

HELAINE M on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

MATTHEW S on 8/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant staff.

NICOLE G on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities and staff were clean and nice!

ERIC M on 6/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is awesome!

NINA C on 5/7/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had storage unit sizes and prices which were applicable to the needs of dorm students

STEVEN W on 3/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

KLEE T on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Rob and staff did an excellent job. We would be a repeat customer in a heartbeat! Thanks, Rob, for the great service.

MICHELLE N on 12/6/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional- they even helped me carry boxes to my car without me even asking!

ROBERT W on 10/16/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I WILL ALWAYS PICK U-HAUL

MARISSA S on 8/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There is a rat problem at this location. There are now chew marks on an antique table of mine and there was rat excrement inside of my storage unit.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

GWENDOLYN C on 8/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment at this time.

GEORGE T on 5/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful.

DOUGLAS K on 4/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

friendly people easy 2 talk 2

JAMIE R on 4/27/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had my belongings in storage for 5+ months.. The workers were very friendly, and I would definetly recomend this location to anyone either moving or needs storage

CHRISTINE T on 3/16/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was ok need to update your system keep getting letters and I been moved out

CHRISTOPHER B on 2/27/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had no problems or concerns

AMANDA F on 11/21/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff could be more friedly...

CRYSTAL P on 11/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Found mouse droppings and shredded paper in packed stored items. Too expensive

VICTORIA C on 9/12/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it more bright

WILLMERT P on 8/23/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was delayed for a long time due to typos made on my contracts by agent Mike Polak. He wrote my phone number and e-mail incorrectly.

JIMMIE S on 8/7/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

SHEREDA M on 6/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very please with my service ** the young man that helped me was very helpful and kind to my needs.

BARBARA M on 5/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Efficient and friendly service.

VICTORIA C on 5/8/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smooth

AONTWONNETTA B on 1/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The storage center was great

TASHA C on 1/15/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

storage is way to small not worth the price i am paying i couldnt get a full load of a 17 foot truck into the unit and its just boxes

SARAH N on 11/23/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Worked well for me

MARK R on 10/5/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees at the Genesee location were always very nice and helpful. I had the unit for many years and never had a bad experiance.

ALISA W on 7/10/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The times that I was able to access my unit has no reflect on the staff at that location. This was also based on the fact that I had a smaller unit.

LISA C on 6/30/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I purchased the truck for a Sunday 10am -10pm however I was never informed ahead of time that the facility closed at 5.

BARNABE S on 6/24/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I AM HERE TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I SIGN UP FOR AUTOPAYMENT DIRECT FROM MY ACCOUNT SO DO NOT WANT YO GUYS TO CHARGE ME FOR ANY LATE FEE ,I DID THIS SINCE DAY ONE SO THANKS FOR YOUR UNDESTANDING

LATASHA G on 6/21/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would Never spend money with this company again. the service SUCKS

DANICA R on 5/18/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no complaints and it was a pleasant experience.

ALISA W on 3/29/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even though Jason W. was a younger person in a busy store he was very knowledgeable. He got busy but never ignored me and even offered me the promotion deal with my storage unit.

RENITA M on 3/28/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Needed the space for 6 days but still had to pay by the month.UHAUL SHOULD TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION PRORATING FEES.I DID FIND OUT THAT OTHER PLACES HAVE MORE SPACE AND ARE LESS IN PRICE.

KATHLEEN R on 3/18/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff were rude, there were rat feces in all of my boxes. Some of my boxes looked like they made a home in them. The place is DISGUSTING!!! Maybe use U-Haul again but never this location.

PETER V on 2/27/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The storage hallways were very narrow. I was not able to fit my sofa in the unit due to it being so narrow.

RICHARD, G. S on 10/5/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All went well and the staff was helpful

LAURA H on 8/30/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wish my rent could have been pro-rated for the rest of the month, I think U-Haul should consider that option.

JEROME T on 7/17/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Found ALOT of mice crap on our items- not happy. Also a strong bad smell. Staff was always confused on what to do when i tried to pay for two units.

LESLIE M on 6/24/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Last agent at time of rental close out. The agent had her son was talking on her cellphone. When I asked for assistance the agent popped her lips and was very rude.

ASHLEY B on 6/17/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

=

LAURA H on 5/27/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff were INCREDIBLY helpful and open to all of my questions.

ATESHA J on 5/25/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

CHARMANE R on 5/16/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

there were rat droppings all in my belongings

BETHANY P on 5/12/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I moved in, the unit still had some things in it and had not been swept out. Other than that, I was happy with the facility.

TROY L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You can take your rental area and your 200 character limit and shove them up your ass. If you want my opinion then don`t limit my frustrations to 200 characters.