U-Haul Moving & Storage at Gray Hwy

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Gray Hwy

Share |

Address

770 Gray Hwy
Macon, GA 31211

(478) 743-6756

(N Of I-16)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Gray Hwy

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Gray Hwy

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JULIE C. on 12/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great experience - just difficult place to come & go (busy highway)! Great job!

TANYA E. on 12/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great job!

JAYRUTH S. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I wish you would allow peole to drive the smaller pick up trucks out of town for smaller loads, thats just a suggestion, my experience wiht has okay with me, tjanks for hel. Jay Sheppard,

TRISA F. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't schedule truck rentals back to back...because sometimes people need them longer than expected.

Courtney J. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The equipment had a lot of prior damage on it not the locations fault. Took a long time to get help only one person on duty.

IESHA H. on 11/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have your worker to know how to add and subtract. However she was very unprofessional while communicating with me, I'm very disappointed in this matter.

SHANEEKA F. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and easy

TAMIKO W. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service was very slow and talkative.

SAMUEL H. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had problems with the truck and could not call road side assistance. When I made it in I told the attendant he lied to me told his manager something totally different. Worse moving experience ever.

DAVID Q. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I paid an extra $10 a day for an appliance dolly and when I got to my house to load everything the dolly was missing the straps. I called and they offered to swap it out- since I could only take it back with the truck (at $1 per mile) I just did without since it would cost me more to do that - so I paid more for an appliance dolly when I did the same thing I could have done with a regular dolly. The staff should have noticed the dolly was missing all the straps before they loaded it onto the truck and gave it to me.

BRANDI S. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Get people that care more about customers

MICHELLE N. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvements necessary. Mr. Mike Swain was the best in store customer service agent ever. So kind calm and professional. He deserves full credit for every smiling face leaving the store on during his shifts. I will be returning here for all my moving and storage needs all because of Mike.

EMORY C. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We had a flawless experience renting from this UHaul location. Typically we expect something to go wrong and everything was perfect. The employees were extremely friendly, the truck was ready to go and was powerful, and the price was very reasonable. Thank you for making our moving day run so smoothly.

Markevious T. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Hire better customer service employees!!

LEANN T. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Rosie has the patience of Job. She was so calm, cool and collected as the line of customers was continuous while I was waiting for my rental to fall in line. She really needs help at the first of the month. She was very kind and professional.

Jamie S. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer service is TERRIBLE! Rosiah is NOT very pleasant! She has a sarcastic rude tone. The wait time to check in/out is ridiculous!

VICKIE C. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing

HIREN P. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer services need to be improve. Lady behind the counter was smelling really bad and she was really rude.

Don P. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The computer was giving them fits, but they made everything right by the time we returned the trailer. Everyone was friendly & helpful.

Kenneth R. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service!

Dennis S. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the person that rent the truck to me said i qualified for 200 free miles ,when i return the truck she said she didn't know what i was talking about,and she went a step further and said she didn't talk to me,she made appontiment for the truck over the phone

Sanchez S. on 10/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep doing the same thing.

selentria k. on 10/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The wait time was over 40 mins as I had a reservation. They always seemed to be under staffed but the service is always pleasant. Originally my reservation was at 10am at a different location, but the staff was not even on the premesis. The location is attached to a garage/mechanic and that staff had to tell me that the worker wouldn't be in until about 10:30.

MARISA B. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The employees was really nasty. Then the two uhauls had roaches in them.

MACK M. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing..excellent service.....Manager is great!!!!!

JOE M. on 10/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff in Macon were very polite and professional. They made the experience very easy. Thank you

Daniel F. on 10/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No

CARL F. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Great Customer Service

Tarica G. on 10/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

good customer service

stephanie b. on 10/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The only thing I noticed once I got to the U-Haul pick-up location was a lot of people waiting to be checked in with two workers. Both were trying to get everyone cheched in in which they were doing a good job but the guy had to stop and go outside to prepare the truck for the customer in which he provided great customer service and was moving fast to get everyone taken care of.I would only suggest There be two checkout clerks and one guy outside to help customers with truck questions when there is a large number of reserves at one time.Overall with the waiting I still was very satisfied and the two employees had great attitudes even with some customers being rude about what was needed to rent a truck.

CAROL M. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager was a little nasty at first. But she apologize and we went on from there, I lost my keys to the storage ( I haven't been their since I put my stuff in storage on December of 2013) the gentleman (sorry cant remember his name, he was a tall black young man) help me cut the lock off a long with my son & nephew, he didn't complain just went straight to it. But OVERALL it was a great experience.

AUDREY H. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect

TYRUS R. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager was nice and professional as was the person who received the truck upon returning it

RICHARD C. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The problem was that the reservation got switched to this store and everything I ordered online was not transferred . The original store(Riverside) I selected was more convenient to my home. The Gray highway store did their best to accommodate me but the gate on the truck was obviously not well maintained so when it would not open that delayed our move and then Roadside Service took too long to come and was not able to fully repair the gate so then the safety of my family and friends was put at stake because the gate would just fall down

ALEKSA K. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

the staff at this location are incompetent. my last three experiences with the macon georgia gray highway location have been horrible and i have been over charged every time. i will never rent from this location again.

jonathan a. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was excellent. Keep up the good work.

Jamie A. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Helpful staff.

FRANK B. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service.

FRANK B. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There is nothing that I can think of to improve on something that works. Each time we do business there it runs smooth without a hitch. Good people, good for U-Haul.

MARK D. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Originally scheduled to pick up at Mercer university location. Show up as scheduled and no one is there nor is the trailer I had reserved. Call uhaul and have to backtrack to the gray hwy. location. Would have rented from there originally had it been enroute to where I was going. Gray hwy. location went smooth other than being told by one sales person the estimated cost would be lower since I was bringing trailer back early. Upon arriving back (early) the new attendant told me No such policy existed.

WARREN B. on 9/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The pick and return of truck and equipment was a positive experience.

Latreeceya M. on 9/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Employee not knowledgeable about credit card payments.I was told that a hold would be put on my account for uhaul rental and that they would not charge my card, that I could pay cash upon returning uhaul..they charged my card even after I told them I didnt have the funds to cover the uhaul in my account at that moment,which resulted in my account being overdrafted. This is by far the worst customer service I have ever received.

TONY C. on 9/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Clean out the ash tray. The vehicle was clean, but the cab still smelled of the previous driver, who was a smoker.

SHERRYL J. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The clerk was very rude and not friendly. He looked like he didn't want to be there . His name is deion. He didn't greet us when we entered. His overall attitude was very uninviting.

JEFF C. on 9/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Did a great job trying to rectify the mistake from the AGM at the store where I rented the truck. But I was still charged an additional fee for turn in of the truck.

james h. on 9/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

everythingwas perfect thank you somuch

ROBIN E. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

sell uhaul t-shirts

Kimberly M. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvements at this time. My rental and return service was GREAT!!!

BRAD B. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My reservation was not honored and required a day delay and then an 1.5 hour delay the second day. I would hope in the future that the uhaul location works with other locations to ensure that the equipment can be provided as reserved and that if a delay is impossible to avoid a discount is provided to the inconvieneced customer (which I did not receive).

Sharonica L. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Need to beable to get your money back when you don't use to use the items.

APRIL M. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I went to the Gray hwy location on Aug. 27, 2014 to reserve a trunk for Aug. 30,2014. My pick up time was 12 noon at another location and the trunk was not there, I had to wait until Aug. 31,2014 to move that put me 24 hours behind. When I went to get the trunk on Sunday, the trunk was there but the last customer had the key and I had to wait another two hours. The last driver stated that the trunk was pulling it the right and was hard to control. After a short test drive by the attentent I was on my way. The trunk is offline by about ten inches and very danger to drive and should be taken out so service. The act of moving is a stressful task to begin with and then to add a unsafe driving experience on a major interstate and twice as stressful. I was not happy with the whole experience the U-Haul.

MATTIE W. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Different people to work there. They should have to take a customer service class. The wait time was horrible and the knowledge of the policies.

WILLIAM C. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service! We had need to be there often this past week...sometimes it appeared that an additional employee would have been helpful to reduce wait time. There is a collection of discarded personal property in the back that might need to be hauled off.

kellen l. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was not notified before my reservation time that the truck I ordered had not been returned yet by other customer, resulting in me having to use a smaller one and make more trips.

WILLIAM C. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We want to compliment the woman and the man who waited on us this past Monday and yesterday. They were friendly, knowledgeable and efficient...really customer oriented. My husband and I both commented to that effect.

CINDY C. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My son was helping me move. (He was to drive the U-haul). I had told him since he is a teacher not to rise too early, but gave him a time frame. I had originally thought I would pick up the truck but realized the day of our move that I really wouldn't be able, so I called U-haul and told the girl who answered that we would be running later than planned originally. She then changed the time we would be arriving. We received a call while on the way (actually 5 minutes away) to see if we were going to still be needing the truck. I called and told them we would. When we arrived they had canceled my order. We then started over from scratch, which was OK, but we got another truck other than the one that was on hold for us, that did not have the appliance dolly I had requested. We didn't realize that we had the wrong one until we started moving and used the little dolly that was on the truck and my boys almost hurt themselves while trying to get the fridge out of my house and then into the other. The washer and dryer were difficult also, but not quite as difficult. Afterwards I called and told one of the reps who was not in the least customer friendly. He asked if we used the one on the truck and said "Oh well, you will be charged for the one you used." I believe when you call and order a truck, you put down a deposit. The truck should be held for the day. If you don't show, then you shouldn't get your deposit back. Don't cancel the order on the day, especially if someone calls and says they are running late. And if you have to start over on the order, ask what was previously ordered. The rep should have been considerate enough to say he was sorry about our experience and credited the charge for the wrong dolly. Even if we used it. That would have been good customer service.

LEVETIS W. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Speed of service.

shawnqualia c. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the only truck rental and storage place i use. I love you guys and the prices.

PETER R on 8/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I completely fail to understand how paying 82 dollars a month for storage does not guarantee that my items won`t be moldy. FUCK paying for insurance, it`s your facility MAINTAIN it.

JOSEPH L on 8/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Rented a trailer and a storage unit. Entire process went very smoothly. Would recommend and will use their services again.

JOSEPH L on 8/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Rented a trailer and a storage unit. Entire process went very smoothly. Would recommend and will use their services again.

WHITTNEY W on 4/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great!

STEVE K on 4/12/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Location needs to have a better way to be contacted. Every phone call I made to this location rolled over to the Customer service center in Arizona.

WHITTNEY W on 4/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful experience.

TODD J on 3/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always good service, when I come in!!!!

ERIN S on 2/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent. UBox was nice. Only complaint is that the furniture pads provided with the boxes were very dirty and covered with leaves and debris.

NICOLE R on 2/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was okay wasn`t bad. Just had a very bad misunderstanding a couple months back but my over all experience was good

LINDA W on 1/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

With the exception of my $3400.00 tempur-pedic bed getting wet so badly that I cannot use it at this time.

WANDA B on 1/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you all for being so kind during a hard spot in my life. Ya`ll made it very easy for me. Again thank you

GREGORY L on 10/29/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Had a leak in the unit i rented and all my Furniture was Molded and water Damaged. it will have to be a unit that is Heated And cooled if i rent from them again.

ELYSE C on 9/25/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

George at the Macon Ga location was excellent every time I went in the location

ELYSE C on 9/25/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

George at the Macon Ga location was excellent every time I went in the location

LINDA W on 9/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

George has a great personality and is great at his job. All staff was nice and helpful. I wouldn`t change a thing.

KASHAWNA R on 9/2/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The uhaul worker was very helpful and gave wonderful customer service

LESLIE B on 7/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff was friendly, but not real clear on how ubox works. I had differing answers to questions.

ANTHONY J on 6/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent help and friendly staff.

LINDA W on 6/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

George, Mgr. was great!

KAY D on 5/29/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

A lien, charge an extra month link accounts that had NOTHING to do with me, MY UNIT WAS CLOSED THE MONTH PRIOR! Mgmt NEVER called back nor apologized. I WILL NEVER RENT FROM THIS FACILITY AGAIN!

MAJA C on 5/13/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Unreal to believe it was. On 1/2 tank ,my son added 40$ yet after less than 120 miles you charged another 70 plus dollars. Saying that it was on 1/4 tank.

QUADRENYK R on 3/13/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the service was excellent and the employees were excellent

KATRINA S on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

George Glenn was an excellent customer service guy.

KAY D on 12/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Couldn`t find my reservation 2day bc my name is mispelled on lease. I would prefer a 24hr access rm. Other then that very friendly staff grounds office well maintained

DENISHIA W on 10/24/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have no complaints!! I received wonderful customer service was provided by the general manager, George and the associate, Greg. Yes, I recommend this location to others!!

VANESSA B on 10/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the general manager was especially helpful and informative. thanks a lot!!!

VANESSA B on 10/5/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

only complaint is that the hallways between storages are to small for storing large and long items such as sofas.

FRANK B on 9/8/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The guys at U-Haul on Gray Hwy in Macon, GA were quite helpful and friendly. I especially appreciate how they patiently worked around us as we unloaded, all day long, with a smile on their faces.

NILA A on 8/11/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Space was small Staff would only open one door so you had to haul your items without a cart to the other side of the building.

KENNITH B on 8/6/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The guys at the gray hwy location, are very professional And very helpful. The facility was well kept and I was always greeted with a smile.

DAVID Z on 7/19/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Personnel were outstanding!

SALLY W on 7/16/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I WAS SERVCED BY THERON AND HE DID AN AMAZING JOB ASSISTING ME VERY DILIGENTLY WITH MY EVERY NEED. THANKS MS. WEST

DANA M on 7/16/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Complete unprofessionalism.Very hard to get them to call me back.Lost gypsy moth form twice and did not communicate well with other center. Had to contact GM`s boss. Needs improvement.

DAMIAN S on 3/20/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My unit was broken into, and since no one offered the rental insurance, I`m out my property and any compensation. maintained and built.

BESSIE B on 2/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My last experience was not so good.

BEVERLY B on 1/7/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous-and professional. I will recommend this to anyone looking for a secure, clean and easily accessible facility.

GAYLE P on 12/30/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was ok, the people who worked there seemed to care.

AOTORIA P on 11/18/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Never experience having to pay for rental usage in full, if I vacate a unit a week or so into the month. I called ahead. Staff locked up the facility with my license, my kids I still in the unit.

KELLY H on 10/15/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My only complaint would be the cockroaches. I saw a few while moving stuff in and out and there were some stuck the bottom of my mirror.

JOEL W on 10/3/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Also, they were the ones who told us about the free month of rental when you rent a truck.

YVONNE J on 7/21/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Poor customer service

KAREN J on 6/25/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have done business with this U-Haul center several times in the past few years and have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. That was one reason I chose to go there yesterday.

CHARLENE H on 5/30/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All questions were answered. Each associate was polite to eachother.

ASHLEY W on 5/13/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The employees were friendly and willing to provide assistance.

TIM J on 4/19/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service

KIMBERLY H on 10/14/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

One staff member wasn’t knowledgeable, and slowed the rental/return process. Another staff member was rude when I said I was clearing out my unit. He said “you better be able to do it in 10 minutes.”

KELLEY H on 8/25/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I`ll definitely be using this storage facility again next summer.

JASON O on 6/6/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Drove to Macon, u lie about ur accom. I resrvd a 14x8x8 storage unit. U only offered a 2 6x8x6 far cry from what i reserved. I took my biz elsewhere.

SHERRY P on 3/9/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff gave us some difficulty when we were trying to get a ground floor unit vs. a second floor unit. Both were available

NIKKI J on 10/11/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

EXTREMELY poor service from Corey...I notice other customers have the same reaction when they see that Corey is there.His smart remarks and disrespectful comments are totally unacceptable.

MARION S on 9/7/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

sure, your personnel are great services well done.

KELLY H on 8/24/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the service was very good, i`ll most likely use them again next summer

NIKKI J on 8/10/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

overall good service

KORI M on 7/29/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The local stores have no customer service, and their headquarters do not make them responsible for the errors in their operations. Do not use theis company for any services.

TASHIRA J on 7/21/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff was not fiendly nor professional. Issues that arised were not handled properly and they were very unorganized.

TASHIRA J on 7/19/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service was horrible and the storage units were not clean. It was a hassle and my issues were not handled properly.

SHANTEEZ T on 7/13/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I didnt like the fact that the storage was so small. I guess I was expecting something more!

CANDICE H on 7/5/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff who were physically there were okay. However, the owner was very rude and unprofessional.

WENDY G on 6/22/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Need to be able to get in storage unit after office hrs. Prices for small area was expensive i found after i had already stored my things.

LUANN P on 6/16/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Theron, general manager was very helpful and great customer service.

KELLY H on 5/4/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

it was good

ERIN R on 4/29/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

On several occasions I had to wait for someone to come into the front to give me the key for several minutes. Even when there were no other customers and they knew I was there.