U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Share |

Address

19001 Joy Rd
Detroit, MI 48228

(313) 584-9033

(W Of Southfield Fwy)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

CHLORINE W. on 9/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Average due to road construction. Mr. Anthony was very pleasant, respectful and professional.

HERMAN G. on 8/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was told that the truck was dirty however it was given back to them the sane way they gave it to me. I had to turn around because they said that the gas was on one level and that was not true. So just like you inspect the customer has to as well.

AUBRAY H. on 8/25/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Make sure the truck has proper wheel alignment...when truck was turned toward right it went to the left and vice versa....and its sad they ignored the problem...the most appalling thing was that there was an inspector there whom also seemed to ignore this issue..

CATHY M. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Joy rd location an the lady at the call center help me a 100% the location on Lyndon an Schaefer very poor 5% I gave them 5% for the email tell me my time an dated to pick up the Uhaul truck but when I went to get the truck on Saturday 8/22/15 I was told I didn't have a truck a customer had gotten the truck before me on that Thursday an didn't bring it back I told the lady on the phone that's not my problem I needed a truck someone should had phone call me bout the statue on the truck no I had to find out about the problem the same day for pick up the lady at Lyndon location told me I had to call the 1800Uhaul I call her back an said this bum don't work for sum reason I was upsetting her for calling her back she then told me to call 1800calUhaul we true calling this bum service time I call her back at that time I was mad she said I told u I can't help u u have to call the 1800 number I hung up on her an call another location on Liviois an 8 mile an I told the guy that answer the phone shat was gapping to me he said he was sorry for my trouble an he gave me the num to call 1888 num an I thank him an call that number an from their I felt so please when the lady said she could help me thank u again Uhaul call center u guys made my family day cause moving can be stressful thank you guy once again

DARRICK w. on 8/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The representative was very pollute. Thank you!

KENNETH R. on 8/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best moving experience. Very helpful and thorough

EKAETE U. on 8/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The pricing is kind of steep but convenient...

David E. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is courteous and helpful. Have not had an issue yet.

LOREN R. on 8/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, great service and staff

DEMARIUS N. on 8/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck wS dirty their was a artful smell inside the air bag was missing their was paint out side on the windows in body of the truck

TIEONNA W. on 8/14/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Stop charging customers $14 for not refilling gas especially for those who get a truck with only 1/4 tank of gas

MICHAEL G. on 8/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very nice and helping thanks

Tanya T. on 8/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There needs to be more than 1 representative in the store. I had long waits upon pickup and return due to there being only 1 person to handle everything.

GREGORY W. on 8/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good service ... Great team work they have there

TAMIKA D. on 8/5/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No gas was in the truck and poor customer service

Nicole H. on 8/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The general manger was awesome and very helpf

Elizabeth L. on 8/4/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Computer system was slow so took awhile for transactions. Staff was helpful & friendly. Road construction was inconvenient & I had to park across the street in ungated parking.

Stephanie H. on 8/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Gary was excellent in his advice & assistance. We were pleasantly surprised at the efficiency & courtesy shown; I'd highly recommend this location. Thanks for a great experience :)

CARMEN G. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I masde my reservations on line and when I arrived at thr Joy Road location there was no pick up truck available for me, the gentleman was kind enough to find a truck i could us, but you ( on line) never designed the area to hold a tuck for me.

TOMASZ N. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were great and very helpful!

FRANK L on 7/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All about love good pepole

NEVELL R. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding service. Will use location again and refer others.

Laverne S. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All was well

ANTHONY M. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work

CARLA T. on 7/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

CHESTER M. on 7/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make sure your lights are in working condition. I had to drive without tailights through part of the move looking out hoping the police would not stop me for not having tailights. When I returned the truck I informed the attendant that there was no tailights he was not concern. Having to run the risk of getting a ticket for equipment failure should require some kind of compensation. Chester moore

JACQUELINE M. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Continue to provide excellent service and even though I had to wait a while. I was very pleased with the vehicle I was provided to help suit my needs. Great job guys.

KIMBERLY D. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Team was very courteous and professional. Great job!

GLORIA B. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful experience

ChristIan R. on 7/12/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Check your trucks for cockroaches before renting it out. Also, do your banking before you open instead of making a costumer wait 45 min past their appointment time while you run to the bank! And then you guys made no real attempt to resolve my issue other than connecting me to roadside assistance while repeatedly telling me that the truck was mopped so it should not have bugs. As if to say I put them there in the 20 min it took me to get home!

MARQUITA T. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone at the place were very friendly and helpful. The person who checks the vehicles when returning them was very thorough in his job and also helping me to understand all the fees I was expected to pay. It is always a pleasure when dealing with the manager Mr. Hart. I will continue to use this location for all of my moving needs thanks to the employees there.

JENNIFER D. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have storage ready to be available .

MICHEAL B. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

clean very nice well taking care of vehicle exceptional owner and workers awesome

JOHN H. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

get new trucks the one we had was old and hard to start. I have used u-haul everytime in the last 4 years this was the worst one I have done.

PATRICIA M. on 6/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went very well service was excellent customer service was very friendly and helpful

ROBIN S. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I honestly can not think of anything more that could have been done to improve my U-HAUL experience. It was as pleasant and hazzle-free as can be and I couldn't have asked for anything more. THANK YOU U-HAUL!!

Edsel G. on 6/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

everything was good

Lanae H. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Remain as courteous and nice as you are now. Fast checkout and fast return. Would definitely recommend and will use again if need arises. Thank you for your wonderful service.

AUBREY C. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

wonderful business and very clean storage love it....????????

Andre L. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

no comments,everything went smoothly.

NICOLE M. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Get some 20 ft. trucks for moving. The 26 was going to be too big and the 17 was too small. Had to make 2 stops. Other than that good service.

kristen i. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very helpful and friendly staff. Only downside was construction on Joy Rd made it hard to get to actual U-haul store/parking lot.

SEANISE J. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing the customer service was wonderful!!!!

quidonna t. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love this location the men are profressional and friendly.

roy f. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

from start to finish everything was handled in a professional manner. I was impressed, totally and would recommend a friend or family member to this establishment at joy rd. and southfield frwy.

SHANEE L on 5/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was VERY helpful!

ROBERTO M. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

with professional has experience and good moral and approach i wish your company move forward for better movement thanks

Navone E. on 5/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everytime is was in the store, it ran very smoothly, and quickly but another cashier might help when it gets too busy

JOHN S. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

DOREEN S on 4/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All of your representatives were good. They were professional and understanding, more than helpful.

MARCIE H on 3/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Young Man Was Very helpful.

GERALD E on 3/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service.

LORI G on 3/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very good. No complaints.

MAHER T on 1/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and helped to get the most suitably sized unit.

SHERITA M on 1/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Speedy friendly service

ELZABETH M on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Well train staff especially the manager on duty.

PAULINE M on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just keep up the good work.

LORI G on 8/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was disappointed that the space I was quoted was too small and the next biggest one was too big and DOUBLE the price.

THOMAS S on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys there are good in what they do and love keep the customer very happy and well taking care of!!!!

SELINIA J on 7/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Someone cancelled my reservation, but the staff was very helpful. Also the late fee notice posted at the storage needs to be changed the cost does not reflect what will be charged for late fee.

LORETTA T on 7/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

GOOD SERVICE ALL THE TIME

DARIUS W on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was to my liking with no problems

CARL M on 6/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

F

WINNIA N on 4/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

none

DEWAYNE P on 3/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was very good and i was very impressed.

NKAGA G on 8/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love my experience both at California and here in Detroit. Keep on with the good job. Grace Nkanga

LULA W on 8/11/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It could have better parking.

DEREK S on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well maintained

ERIK G on 6/16/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Served it`s purpose

JOAN W on 3/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sometimes the workers seemed over worked. They multi tasked really good but they are human. Being out of breath from being over worked is not good a appearance for the company.

SHERITA B on 1/16/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff have awesome customer service

SHAVONNE W on 12/28/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

All the workers I had contact with, except for one, was very helpful and friedly. If needed, I will use this location for storage again.

DUJUAN A on 11/30/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice, friendly, and professional staff.

KAREN L on 11/5/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with the service keep up the good work

TROY G on 10/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My only complaint is that the units are a little expensive

SHAVONNE W on 8/23/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The men were very heplful and assisted with everything.

DENEAN B on 3/8/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent professional customer service provided by Nate. He definitely goes the extra mile to extend great service a good turn out for whatever problem that may occur. Excellent Team Player!!!

BRANDY H on 2/4/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks, guys! I was a great 4-5 months, and you took good care of me!

KATHERINE H on 12/10/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good. Nice staff. Helpful

SHAVONNE E on 11/7/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Everytime I rent a truck from your business, I always get the wrong information. Customer Service is terrible. The guys are always willing to accomadate and fix what customer service messed up.

BRANDY H on 10/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always friendly and very helpful. Thanks!

JANET B on 9/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your Staff at Joy Rd and Artesian was excellent and very helpful, kind and very professional everything will be alright for me and my family. Thumbs up to Nate.

TAIRA S on 5/15/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner Mr.Anthony amd staff were very helpful and caring.To make sure yur needs were meet.I would use his business again Ms. Stevenson

AMBER H on 11/26/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ALLWAYS GOOD

LASHAWN H on 6/27/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The only complaint I have was that there were a fer dead rodents and rodent droppings in both my storage units and around the facility.

GREGORY I on 6/25/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the experience.

WARREN P on 5/15/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Brenda and I are repeat customers.

MALINDA R on 3/2/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly and helpful to my needs.

CHRISTOPHER C on 8/15/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There were times when the customer service was very poor and my room was sold due to dishonest employees not turning in my pymts which I do have the receipt for!!! I will never recommend to anyone.

JESSICA J on 7/31/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

there should be unlimited acsess to the storage units. this would be more convient to those who work between the hours of operation.

FLOYD M on 7/22/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

its was ok.

SHERYL J on 6/15/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gentlemen were very friendly, helpful and fast.

KORY J on 6/9/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. Lewis was very professional and helpful. If I need U-Haul`s sevices again I definitely use go back to the Joy Road location.

KAMARIA G on 5/26/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employees are rude and always in a hurry.

LARRY C on 4/25/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

just fine no problems

ANGELA L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

needs better customer service , allow payment arrangements when customers can`t make payment in full by due date

YOLANDA S on 3/8/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was very friendly, and explained everything well.