U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Share |

Address

19001 Joy Rd
Detroit, MI 48228

(313) 584-9033

(W Of Southfield Fwy)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

DEONTRANESE S. on 3/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a great experience! I would recommend the service to ALL my friends, family, and coworkers. Thank you for doing a great job and serving all my needs. Mrs. Sawyer

sandra b. on 2/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service is Awesome.

JOSHIWA S. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was excellent clean professional environment

CALVIN D. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very satisfied with greeting I received,I come here because of the service .no improvements needed.

YOLANDA G. on 2/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service at the place on joy rd should not be an exception all your stores should have service like this......Mr.hart doe's his job very well,hope I have no more need for a truck but if I do this is my place to come.

carine S. on 2/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Uhaul truck drove horrible.

JOE B. on 2/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

repeat customer,service is always good.keep it up.

KAREN S. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The gentleman that helped me put me into the wrong truck, then dolly I requested wasn't in the truck but the charge was added, he charged me for driving 70 miles when I actually only out about 30 miles on the truck. He's also the reason my account is short. Instead of recalculating my total and refunding the difference, he refunded the $117 and then charged $77 to my debit card. So now I have to survive with no money until the refund shows up. Thank you so much for the service I received today. I won't ever do service with that location again.

Saleem A. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Improve the checkout speed only one person checking people out at the register and also trying to rent equipment on a known busy day (end/first of month

APRIL H. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great customer service and the staff was very personable

Willie H. on 1/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure the customer know that 7/8 of gas is the next line after 3/4 and to make sure there's a line on the gas gauge that say 7/8

andre w. on 1/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent service again

JEDADIAH H. on 1/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing.

CALVIN D. on 1/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the way customer service use to be like back when the customer was still valued.the service is excellent.

SHERITA M. on 1/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentlemen are always so nice, helpful & respectful.

OPHELIA E. on 1/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

NA

KENYATTA B. on 1/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The office's floor vent to the right in front of the cash register is a very dangerous hazard. I twisted my ankle which returning my rented truck.

MAHER T on 1/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and helped to get the most suitably sized unit.

yolanda g. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I can not say enough good words about the level of service I was shown here at this haul location,the gentleman that took care of us was very kind and helpful.I will be coming back if needed.

WANDA M. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly service!

AMANDA W. on 1/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is our second time here in so many weeks. We absolutely can't say enough good things about this location. If you're in the metro-Detroit area, this is the place to go. The owner and his staff are amazing, polite and prompt. We won't go anywhere else if we need to rent!

DEMONTA L. on 1/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great from the service to the employees, my move was timely and successful! Most importantly, they found my keys that were left in the truck so that was a big plus! Thanks you all and have a happy new year!

ANDRE W. on 1/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This locations employees have excellentpeople people skills.

JOE B. on 1/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ithe dollys should be free but other than that i was well taken care of here.lorenzo got me on my way.

SHERITA M on 1/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Speedy friendly service

SHERITA M. on 1/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentlemen in this store were very helpful and polite. I've used this location in the past and that's what brought me back. Thanks Lorenzo H. and Anthony B.

Cynthia G. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was excellent.

CALVIN D. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

If anything is changed ,i will take my buisness elsewhere,i felt i was being dealt with honestly and the man who waited on me was very professional.

AMANDA W. on 12/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We love these guys and have recommended them to friends who needed to rent a truck. Very pleasant people and professional.

QUIDONNA T. on 12/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Dont change a thing ....L------ was excellent at customer service. A----- returned my mail Ieft in the truck. I cant leave out the guy who retrieved my mail and cleaned the truck.. Will use again based on honesty.

RHONDA D. on 12/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately, I find myself moving every year.. Not because I want to but because it makes my Mother feels like she's traveling & have options. Lol. No matter what side of town i'm moving from or to. Recently from Canton back to Dearborn, I always, come back to the same location. Nothing like building a rapport with a business everyone is always so friendly & pleasant. I won't name one specific name because everyone here is equally yoked. Job well done! 5 STARS!!

James K. on 12/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very friendly knowledgeable staff. Wonderful experience.

JODY C. on 12/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck and the facility were clean. The staff were all helpful and professional. I will use this location in the future.

YOLANDA G. on 12/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I wuld like to take the time to thank the staff of the uhaul on joy and southfield for showing that caring about the customer is more important than the customers money.speacial thank you to lorenzo for his patience.

Ernistine Y. on 12/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I submitted one review previously, I don't think it went through. This one is just in case the last one was not received. I had good experience at this location.

ELZABETH M on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Well train staff especially the manager on duty.

CALVIN D. on 11/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

no improvement needed,ouick service,in and out.

NICOLE M. on 11/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good customer service.

ANGELA M. on 11/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

this uhaul serves the area well.keep hiring service people like lorenzo.

DORTHY D. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was great and sales person was very respecful and polite.

Vanessa G. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thomas proved excellent customer service and with a smile vmg

Charles B. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My move out of state was made much easier with the service I received at the joy rd uhaul.thanks to help of Lorenzo and Anthony,keep up the great work.

RONALD K. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very courteous employees. I was treated well.

Tanisha J. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My whole overall experience was quick and pleasant. I even like the fact that I could reserve the truck over the phone and the truck was ready we I arrived. A big thank you to yesterdays U-Haul team.

APRIL M. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

my brother told me of the service he received at this uhaul and it was as he said,great service and sales person was very helpful with good attitude.

MONIQUE T. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing the person whom waited on me was multi tasking using 2 computers. He was excellent an he cared.

ANTONY M. on 11/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service,but give the man some help.he was alone but handled it great.

KIMBERLY N. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have gas meter at 1/2 fuel. Not expect customers to pay for the company mistake,upon returning! Very poor customer service, and slow workers!

WINSTON W. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the service was excellent and I customer service was great.

WENDY B. on 11/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Very friendly and attentive to getting customers in and out in a timely fashion. We would definitely recommend this U-Haul outlet. I'm sorry I can't remember the name of the main person who helped us, but he was great.

PAULINE M on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just keep up the good work.

LORI G on 8/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was disappointed that the space I was quoted was too small and the next biggest one was too big and DOUBLE the price.

THOMAS S on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys there are good in what they do and love keep the customer very happy and well taking care of!!!!

SELINIA J on 7/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Someone cancelled my reservation, but the staff was very helpful. Also the late fee notice posted at the storage needs to be changed the cost does not reflect what will be charged for late fee.

LORETTA T on 7/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

GOOD SERVICE ALL THE TIME

DARIUS W on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was to my liking with no problems

CARL M on 6/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

F

WINNIA N on 4/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

none

DEWAYNE P on 3/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was very good and i was very impressed.

NKAGA G on 8/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love my experience both at California and here in Detroit. Keep on with the good job. Grace Nkanga

LULA W on 8/11/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It could have better parking.

DEREK S on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well maintained

ERIK G on 6/16/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Served it`s purpose

JOAN W on 3/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sometimes the workers seemed over worked. They multi tasked really good but they are human. Being out of breath from being over worked is not good a appearance for the company.

SHERITA B on 1/16/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff have awesome customer service

SHAVONNE W on 12/28/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

All the workers I had contact with, except for one, was very helpful and friedly. If needed, I will use this location for storage again.

DUJUAN A on 11/30/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice, friendly, and professional staff.

KAREN L on 11/5/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with the service keep up the good work

TROY G on 10/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My only complaint is that the units are a little expensive

SHAVONNE W on 8/23/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The men were very heplful and assisted with everything.

DENEAN B on 3/8/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent professional customer service provided by Nate. He definitely goes the extra mile to extend great service a good turn out for whatever problem that may occur. Excellent Team Player!!!

BRANDY H on 2/4/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks, guys! I was a great 4-5 months, and you took good care of me!

KATHERINE H on 12/10/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good. Nice staff. Helpful

SHAVONNE E on 11/7/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Everytime I rent a truck from your business, I always get the wrong information. Customer Service is terrible. The guys are always willing to accomadate and fix what customer service messed up.

BRANDY H on 10/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always friendly and very helpful. Thanks!

JANET B on 9/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your Staff at Joy Rd and Artesian was excellent and very helpful, kind and very professional everything will be alright for me and my family. Thumbs up to Nate.

TAIRA S on 5/15/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner Mr.Anthony amd staff were very helpful and caring.To make sure yur needs were meet.I would use his business again Ms. Stevenson

AMBER H on 11/26/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ALLWAYS GOOD

LASHAWN H on 6/27/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The only complaint I have was that there were a fer dead rodents and rodent droppings in both my storage units and around the facility.

GREGORY I on 6/25/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the experience.

WARREN P on 5/15/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Brenda and I are repeat customers.

MALINDA R on 3/2/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly and helpful to my needs.

CHRISTOPHER C on 8/15/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There were times when the customer service was very poor and my room was sold due to dishonest employees not turning in my pymts which I do have the receipt for!!! I will never recommend to anyone.

JESSICA J on 7/31/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

there should be unlimited acsess to the storage units. this would be more convient to those who work between the hours of operation.

FLOYD M on 7/22/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

its was ok.

SHERYL J on 6/15/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gentlemen were very friendly, helpful and fast.

KORY J on 6/9/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. Lewis was very professional and helpful. If I need U-Haul`s sevices again I definitely use go back to the Joy Road location.

KAMARIA G on 5/26/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employees are rude and always in a hurry.

LARRY C on 4/25/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

just fine no problems

ANGELA L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

needs better customer service , allow payment arrangements when customers can`t make payment in full by due date

YOLANDA S on 3/8/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was very friendly, and explained everything well.