U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Share |

Address

19001 Joy Rd
Detroit, MI 48228

(313) 584-9033

(W Of Southfield Fwy)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Special Operating Hours

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: Closed

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

DORTHY D. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was great and sales person was very respecful and polite.

Vanessa G. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thomas proved excellent customer service and with a smile vmg

Charles B. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My move out of state was made much easier with the service I received at the joy rd uhaul.thanks to help of Lorenzo and Anthony,keep up the great work.

RONALD K. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very courteous employees. I was treated well.

Tanisha J. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My whole overall experience was quick and pleasant. I even like the fact that I could reserve the truck over the phone and the truck was ready we I arrived. A big thank you to yesterdays U-Haul team.

APRIL M. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

my brother told me of the service he received at this uhaul and it was as he said,great service and sales person was very helpful with good attitude.

MONIQUE T. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing the person whom waited on me was multi tasking using 2 computers. He was excellent an he cared.

ANTONY M. on 11/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service,but give the man some help.he was alone but handled it great.

KIMBERLY N. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have gas meter at 1/2 fuel. Not expect customers to pay for the company mistake,upon returning! Very poor customer service, and slow workers!

WINSTON W. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the service was excellent and I customer service was great.

WENDY B. on 11/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Very friendly and attentive to getting customers in and out in a timely fashion. We would definitely recommend this U-Haul outlet. I'm sorry I can't remember the name of the main person who helped us, but he was great.

JOHN B. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pleasently surprised.

Yolanda J. on 10/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service by respectful and friendly owner. Couldn't ask for a better experience.

kandyce g. on 10/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rented a tow dolly from this location and recieved excellent customer service from Anthony Bundy. He was knowledgeable of the hook up of the tow dolly and also assisted us alot. Anthony was an exceptional representative of the uhaul company.

ANGEL J. on 10/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

IT WOULD BE BETTER IF THEY HAVE A RACK TO HANG THE DOLLY IN SIDE THE TRUCK SO THAT IT DONT BE SLIDDING ALL. AROUND. THE. TRUCK

KEN K. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I dealt directly with the owner Lorenzo he was professional, courteous, and a fantastic representative of U-Haul. I would recommend and use this location again without hesitation.

ANNIE R. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is customer service at it's best.very good job uhaul!

KENYATTA B. on 10/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great job U-haul!

Monica W. on 10/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Maybe you could run a special, like "No charge for gas used if you return it on time" or "We will allow you to keep the truck an extra day if you fill the gas tank" or "30% off of the rental price if you recommend a friend or a company to use our truck for their next move". Other than that, the service was excellent!

JAMES M. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This uhaul gives great customer service.

imad a. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was my pleasure dealing with Lorenzo Hart, very respectful and polite and went the extra mile to assure customer satisfaction, because of his excellent service I will defiantly keep coming back to this uhual location. Thank you Lorenzo.

ANNIE R. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr.Hart treated me and my son to excellent service and for that reason we will come again .great service!!

LISA W. on 10/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service started out good. I was pleased with the professional CS and service time, but when returning there seem to had been discrepancy concerning the mileage usage and fuel usage. From pick up location I traveled to Granville&Vanburn-Hayden&Orange lawn-Faust&W Chicago, then returning to Uhaul location on Joy Road. I feel charges were entirely to high. I've been driving since I been to drive with a outstanding licenced record with no restrictions, and I know my fractions. The fuel was not at 3/8 in which I was charged, it wwas only 1/4 when pick up and as returning and mileage was not checked. therefore they requested the entire $100 deposit. This maybe the first time from my knowing and rrememberance being a valued satisfied customer who don't want to stop my business with the company. So I would appreciate a thrall review and some feedback of compensation please. For the reason my intention was to pay my movers for their assistance, and I unable to for the reason of the complaint. Thank you for your cooperation and time, any further details I contacted by information provided to company.

SYREETE M. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep the same employees. customer service was great no hassles

TEAMEOS H. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr Hart was very cordial and courteous, and took care of all my needs. This is my uhaul location. Mr. Hogan

JAMES M. on 9/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was excellent.

ANGELIA M. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both of the gentlemen were wonderful. My trailer was connected and took me all the way to NJ. They did a great job with my time and situation with renting.

DAMION O. on 9/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing,I received great service.

DAYRLL S. on 9/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I will tell everyone I know about the service I received at this Uhaul.I came in the door upset and the salesman that took care of me had me laughing by the time I left,just what I needed.amazing job.

SADE D. on 9/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

YOLANDA S. on 9/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The men that ran the office we very Friendly and efficient. I have always had good experiences with rentals from this office, that is why I always rent from this location!!!

HAZIM J. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

it was great !!!!!!

PAULINE M on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just keep up the good work.

EBONY B. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Theres nothing you can improve! The guys that work there get the job done, it was fast and hassle free! Nice doing business with you guys! Will be coming back

youssef m. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the manger had a great personality, and excellent interaction with us.

marcus b. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing

VICTOR T. on 8/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lorenzo who runs this location I top notch and exemplary in all ways regarding the renting experience. I will continue to patronize this location for my rental needs.

KAHSUD J. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This uhaul came through for me when I needed it the most,special thanks to my sales person,Mr.Hart for his patient,courteous and professional service.No improvement needed.

Gregory M. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't leave 1 foot tall trailer stands in the middle of the parking lot where cars travel / park. They are not designed to mark off areas. If you need to mark off an area, consider using a bright orange cone.

CLAUDE T. on 8/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was really impressed at how the staff took such great care of my needs when it came to my rental, expecially the general manage!! Kudos to the staff, you will get all my referrals, customer for life, and 5 stars on yelp

LORENZO M. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Maintenance on trucks

JAMES M. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing,Lorenzo is the best.

LORI R. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had originally booked a Uhaul from 8033 Schaefer Hwy, Detroit, MI 48228 online, and thought everything was squared away. I sent my cousins there to pick up the vehicle, since I had already reserved it with all of my information, including driver's license, credit card, etc. When you cousins arrived, they were told they couldn't pick up the vehicle because I was not physically there. Mind you, I'm about an hour away, on a Sunday, packing in Ohio. I talked to the people that worked there and they told me to call customer service. I talked to customer service, and they said there was nothing they could do, even though I was willing to pay a deposit. Long story short, I ended up having to drive all the way back to Michigan and booking a Uhaul in person and the second facillity, sending my cousins to Ohio while I ran to close out the paperwork on my storage unit in Michigan (the original plan was for me to go the storage unit once we got to Michigan, but now the clock was ticking). By now it's around 4pm, I'm headed back to Ohio to help them finalizing packing. On our way back to Detroit, we realized my storage unit had closed, and I had to keep the Uhaul truck overnight, which meant I couldn't unload it until the morning. This was by far the WORST move I've ever experienced, and I was extremely disappointed. I couldn't believe there wer NO accommodations that could have been made for me, seeing as though I was willing to even put down a deposit. I, of course, ended up having to take that Monday off as well so I could fininish the move. Had things gone a they were supposed to, I would have been done with everything no later than 6pm on Sunday. I've never had a problem over the years, so I just simply couldn't believe it. In the future, I suggest you make it eminently clear that the person has to physically be there "in person" to rent the Uhaul the day of, even if they reserved/book it online. Except for the second facility, who did a good job, this was an EXTREMELY horribly performance by your company. Bad form.

Carmen T. on 8/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am a first time customer, so it would have been helpful for the customer service rep to give a quick explanation of the process to rent. I felt a little loss when the rep was assisting, assuming that I already knew the process.

Brandon E. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and easy transaction. Staff was very friendly and professional.

LORI G on 8/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was disappointed that the space I was quoted was too small and the next biggest one was too big and DOUBLE the price.

barbara w. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Employers were very professional helpful and nice, I would definitely use this location if ever I need a truck, or anything from uhaul.....Thank you so much.

JERRY L. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Needs no improvement.

NORMA S. on 7/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was EXCELLENT! This is the best U-haul experience ever! I highly recommend this location for its fast, friendly service!

Nick E. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Seemed like everyone was hard at work. Was greeted promptly with a smile. In and out in minutes.

THOMAS S on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys there are good in what they do and love keep the customer very happy and well taking care of!!!!

SELINIA J on 7/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Someone cancelled my reservation, but the staff was very helpful. Also the late fee notice posted at the storage needs to be changed the cost does not reflect what will be charged for late fee.

LORETTA T on 7/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

GOOD SERVICE ALL THE TIME

DARIUS W on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was to my liking with no problems

CARL M on 6/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

F

WINNIA N on 4/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

none

DEWAYNE P on 3/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was very good and i was very impressed.

NKAGA G on 8/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love my experience both at California and here in Detroit. Keep on with the good job. Grace Nkanga

LULA W on 8/11/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It could have better parking.

DEREK S on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well maintained

ERIK G on 6/16/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Served it`s purpose

JOAN W on 3/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sometimes the workers seemed over worked. They multi tasked really good but they are human. Being out of breath from being over worked is not good a appearance for the company.

SHERITA B on 1/16/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff have awesome customer service

SHAVONNE W on 12/28/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

All the workers I had contact with, except for one, was very helpful and friedly. If needed, I will use this location for storage again.

DUJUAN A on 11/30/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice, friendly, and professional staff.

KAREN L on 11/5/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with the service keep up the good work

TROY G on 10/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My only complaint is that the units are a little expensive

SHAVONNE W on 8/23/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The men were very heplful and assisted with everything.

DENEAN B on 3/8/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent professional customer service provided by Nate. He definitely goes the extra mile to extend great service a good turn out for whatever problem that may occur. Excellent Team Player!!!

BRANDY H on 2/4/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks, guys! I was a great 4-5 months, and you took good care of me!

KATHERINE H on 12/10/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good. Nice staff. Helpful

SHAVONNE E on 11/7/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Everytime I rent a truck from your business, I always get the wrong information. Customer Service is terrible. The guys are always willing to accomadate and fix what customer service messed up.

BRANDY H on 10/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always friendly and very helpful. Thanks!

JANET B on 9/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your Staff at Joy Rd and Artesian was excellent and very helpful, kind and very professional everything will be alright for me and my family. Thumbs up to Nate.

TAIRA S on 5/15/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner Mr.Anthony amd staff were very helpful and caring.To make sure yur needs were meet.I would use his business again Ms. Stevenson

AMBER H on 11/26/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ALLWAYS GOOD

LASHAWN H on 6/27/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The only complaint I have was that there were a fer dead rodents and rodent droppings in both my storage units and around the facility.

GREGORY I on 6/25/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the experience.

WARREN P on 5/15/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Brenda and I are repeat customers.

MALINDA R on 3/2/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly and helpful to my needs.

CHRISTOPHER C on 8/15/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There were times when the customer service was very poor and my room was sold due to dishonest employees not turning in my pymts which I do have the receipt for!!! I will never recommend to anyone.

JESSICA J on 7/31/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

there should be unlimited acsess to the storage units. this would be more convient to those who work between the hours of operation.

FLOYD M on 7/22/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

its was ok.

SHERYL J on 6/15/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gentlemen were very friendly, helpful and fast.

KORY J on 6/9/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. Lewis was very professional and helpful. If I need U-Haul`s sevices again I definitely use go back to the Joy Road location.

KAMARIA G on 5/26/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employees are rude and always in a hurry.

LARRY C on 4/25/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

just fine no problems

ANGELA L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

needs better customer service , allow payment arrangements when customers can`t make payment in full by due date

YOLANDA S on 3/8/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was very friendly, and explained everything well.