U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Share |

Address

1525 Bryant St
San Francisco, CA 94103

(415) 252-0133

(Alameda & Bryant)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 7 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 5 am - 10 pm

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

NANCY H on 9/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Storage was well maintained and stuff was friendly and helpful .

RAMNI L. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My last experience was dreadful and I feel mistreated as well as improperly taken care of

KRISTINA F on 8/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Incredibly frustrating! Only one elevator- other is broken and has my been fixed in months and we`re not eve allowed to use the stairs!! Takes twice as long to move things in and out. Ughhh!

BINITA p. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I am a very regular customer. I rent U haul every week. Besides of clear communication from the clients side .There is always a huge communication gap between the staff and the customer. My u haul moving van had dead battery twice and middle of the night I had to crank it.

Ajay S. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was forced to fold the blankets upon return. Really? You are going to fold and clean them (I *assume* you're going to clean them, right?) anyways. Why make a customer wait and be forced to fold them?

Joshua R. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found all of the staff I interacted with friendly and knowledgable. Went to U-Haul because Zipvan flaked on me in the morning. U-Haul's customer service was about 100x better than Zipcar's. I'd recommend this to friends and come back! On how to improve: I think a couple of things were nonideal: 1) Asking whether I want to buy all of the "add-ons" on the website was annoying. It wasn't as easy as it should have been to see that you can bypass all of those options. 2) The fact that I had to wait for a representative to call me back about a reservation made me feel uncertain. I did it because U-Haul was my only option, but if possible, it seems like it'd be better to get back to potential customers more quickly with when/whether they'd be able to rent a truck.

EDDIE O. on 8/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy who receives and dispatches the trucks is a cool Dude. Righteous service.

BARBARA B on 8/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Unit was smaller than advertised and not easy to access with the slow elevator. Please extend hours to move in past 7pm, how are you supposed to move in after work??

JOSELITO S. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff here at the drop-off were on it. The dock personnel was helpful at the onset. Two people helped me with paying up and opening up the storage space. They were both helpful and cheerful so that was nice. The people who helped with the truck were also fast which helped. They were all presentable, professional, and pleasant. Good team!

Barbara B. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the storage unit was much smaller than advertised, also its extremely inconvenient that your hours to move in end at 7pm. Also it takes forever to unload your stuff when you have to take stairs or an elevator. I would never use your storage again.

EDWARD Z. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mileage charge could be less.

LISA G on 8/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was given the wrong sized unit. Also was forced to buy a specific lock. Not a big deal, but it would have saved time and hassle to be told this before moving day!

VIRGINIO S. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Please note that you charged me too much. We returned the truck on Monday, Aug. 18 and you were charging me for 8 days and for gas. Please note that we put gas on the truck before we returned it. The total number of miles should only about 100.5 miles.

Ryan D. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I filled out all steps for "express check in" and had to go through all the steps over again once inside. This option needs to be removed or modeled like the rental car industry. I should not have to go through those steps and wait in general lines and cover the same information. Second, if there are policies like folding blankets prior to return, they need to be in writing or explained upon rental. The inconsistency of trying to check-in and out of UHaul in poor overall.

RON L. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good experience. Great staff. Very helpful.

farrah s. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was professional and knowledgeable. The truck was in excellent condition and a pleasure to drive.

judith r. on 8/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Helpful efficient and fast personnel a very positive experience thank you

THOMAS B. on 8/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was not informed that I needed a lock to latch the back of the truck, the guy outside was rather rude about it, but inside they were super nice and let me 'have a lock' with promise to return, very nice inside the shop.

college b. on 8/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for your help!

ANGELA B. on 8/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful experience, very helpful and catered to this run down traveler after towing a trailer cross country. Everything went smoothly and they even helped with the return of the trailer to a different location.

Genevieve H. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not be horrible.

Rachel E. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always friendly and quick, we use this location for my business about twice a year. Thanks for making it painless!

sandra h. on 8/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Wow... I was hoping you would ask. Well, the line at 8.30am was too long and there were staff standing around chatting away from the counter, leaving one woman there to do all the work with people lining up. And then upon returning... there was only one woman there and by the time I left there was a line of 5 people waiting. The process does not go too slowly, but if people are not organized about their reservation, it sure does. The best thing about it was that I learned after I waited in line for 15 min to check out, that I did not need to stand in line to check out. That I could have just given the guy my paperwork. Why don't you all promote that? The staff should tell EVERYONE about it so that people will be happier w/ their customer experience. Having another staff person on at 5.30pm seems like it should be required. I was standing in that line thinking... boy, I really wish this was like returning a rental car... drive in, check in w/ a person and walk away. And it could have been.

RACHEL C on 8/19/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Not only was there water damage but my things had mold. Thanks for the humidity control!

Mariana C. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There was a series of event that made my experience poor, not just one thing. When I called to confirm I was given incorrect information, when at the counter I was also given incorrect information (I was told I needed the wrong size ball mount which I purchased only to have to leave u haul and return to the automotive store to purchase another ball mount. I wasn't allowed to return the hinge which cost me unnecessary costs). No one ever really apologized. I did encounter two nice people: Marcus and Ray. I was never offered any kind of discount for all my trouble and running back and forth from the hardware store.

ERIC W. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was surprised that there wasn't an after hours dropoff for the keys and truck. The staff was very friendly but it was a pain coming back the next day to checkout.

ROBERT K. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

All is well

CHRISTOPHER V on 8/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Storage unit was not clean when initially rented.There was garbage and dirt on the floor.

PAULINE M. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The customer service was great but there was a misunderstanding when I extended my rental so we had to keep the truck another day since the Bryant location was closed. There are no after-hours drop off. As a result, we had to keep the truck and the total cost was pretty high.

LUDOVIC D. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

slow, very slow, not responsible in case there is an issue with the movers not well organized at all (why do we take appointments if nothing s ready??????)

IDO O. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It took a really long (almost an hour) time to get sorted out. I think that it's more an issue with the computer system than the individual employees but it should not have taken that long.

Melissa Y. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make sure all that is requested (ie. dolly) is actually in the vehicle before given to the customer - also, when the customer sales rep and driver both remind the person to check the outside of the car for, maybe also remind them to check inside the vehicle for all requested materials.

MARLENE B. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good customer service!!

ANDREW R. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

Cathy B. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You guys really do a great job. I could tell you have to put up with answering the same questions a million times a day, but you do great at being patient with people.

OLLIE N on 8/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

After driving for over 20 hours we arrive tired and frazzled. Jessica was a real pleasure to deal with. Helpful and friendly, she was a pleasure to deal with.

Jennifer G. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Boston location did not have my box ready, holes in side of box from forklift (I will send picts), my lock that I locked in SF, CA was NOT locked when it arrived at my place in Boston. The crate looked like it was flipped on it's side - not neatly packed like when it left SF. Damage to my ottoman for which I will be submitting a claim (and photos)

leslie b. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

$19.95 IS the quoted price for the rental of a 10 ft. truck...but it ends costing over $100. The service agents/sales people AND ads could be more forthcoming & honest about the ACTUAL cost. Currently, it is misleading.

IGOR T. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The air conditioning was not working

Maurice B. on 8/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very aggressive day laborers makes it difficult to drive around your office. Perhaps you can make them stand or sit in one place?

SASHA R. on 8/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was a quick trip to add to an existing storage room. I had never rented a van before, but it was great! Easy to load/unload and to drive. The moving carts worked so well even my 83yo mother maneuvered one piled high with ease! My one complaint was with the closing staff. When the 3 min to closing announcement was made over the loudspeaker we had finished unloading the van and only had to put the few items into the storage compartment. A very nice employee, A.., said I'd better take the van down to the bottom of the ramp to check it in. She said she was locking up but I could come back up from the office area. No one was at the return area. The lady at the office told me I'd have to come back in the morning even though I told her I couldn't because of a morning flight. And she wouldn't let me in to go up to where my 83yo mother was waiting. I went back to the return area and there were two female employees now locking the gates. I said I needed to turn in the keys. They said "we're closed'. So there I was stuck outside without a way in and holding the keys to the van. Fortunately, A... was continuing to lock other doors and saw me outside. She was surprised that there hadn't been anyone to help me at the return area earlier. She instructed me where to park the van and had me give her my paperwork and keys and even escorted me back up in the elevator to where my mother was waiting. She singlehandedly saved the day for me and the reputation of your uhaul location. I have rented uhaul vehicles for decades. For multiple moves for myself, college kids, my family and others. This was the first place ever to not have an after hours dropbox. The office lady told me to find a place to park it on the street and come back the next day to drop off the keys. What would have been the difference between that and letting me leave the keys and paperwork? I had the van for just a few hours, drove 13 miles, and someone could have checked it the next day for anything else. My suggestion for improvement would be to ask the people who are unloading close to closing time if they will be done soon and tell them the deal of no customer service at closing or after hours. Or perhaps have the option of the drop box and reserved parking slots or designated area for truck returns.

TONY G. on 8/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager, Mark was very helpful. I left my car keys in the truck n he went through the truck found them and called me. Thank you Mark

Marlene B. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Parking just for your customers!!!

Chan T. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You should explain the process better on your website -- that U-Haul provides the box, but if you want delivery and loading/unloading help, that you have to hire outside contractors through Moving Help. I found your website to be terribly inefficient - it gave me a lot of inaccurate information that caused a lot of unnecessary frustration and time on the phone. Thankfully, the staff at the Bryant Street location were able to explain everything to me and help me understand how everything worked.

Jeff M. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When we were investigating whether to use U-Box vs a mover, we went on to the U-Haul site and did a quote for a single U-Box (from SF -> Boston). We got a price indicating something a little more than $1700 or so -- and we were happy with this price, so after a little more research we decided to go with U-Haul. A couple of days later (after we'd decided), we came back to book the U-Box and the price we were quoted jumped to over $2000!! We were pretty disappointed, but didn't want to deal with going back and changing our minds again so we went ahead and booked 2 U-Boxes after reading that if we didn't need one we could just cancel the second and only pay for the first (we weren't quite sure if all of our stuff would fit into only 1). So we ordered 2 U-Boxes and the total price came out to be $3596 (I still have the email quoting that price). So we load up our U-Box and it becomes clear that we only need one of them, so we went in to the office and told them that we only needed one. They said they'd take the other box off of our bill and that was that. Two weeks passed, we got to our destination location, and we learned that there were some billing issues (apparently nothing on my end, all on the billing processing side). Basically I hadn't yet been charged for the shipping cost. The local store manager (Thomas Hamilton) was very helpful and understanding, but he seemed to be getting pushback from whoever he was trying to work with to fix the bill and he was being told he should not allow us to unload our U-Box. The problem was that all of our stuff for our apartment was in that U-Box, and if we couldn't get access to it we could not unpack our belongings and move in to our apartment. Not only that, but we had done nothing to cause the problem...whatever it was, it was on U-Haul's end and there wasn't anything we could do about it. After about 3 days had passed with no information, I called him back and offered to leave credit card and contact info or whatever it would take to make him feel comfortable letting us take our stuff while the billing dept worked out its problems. He agreed to go ahead and let us take our stuff. I can't reiterate how respectful and understanding Tom was -- despite the fact that it seemed he was being told by "central" (or whoever he was asking for help from) to not give us our stuff. We finally got our stuff, but we *still* haven't been charged for the shipment of our UBox. Not only that, but when I go in to my order details page, I see that I'm being charged $219 for "Monthly rent for 2 U-Box pods." (I only wound up with 1 pod), and my shipping cost for the single U-Box is still $3200!! How did we go from around $1700 for a single U-Box, to a little over $2000 for a single U-Box, to $3200?? To say this is disappointing would be an understatement... I mentioned the price issues to Tom, but since the whole billing system was messed up he said there wasn't anything he could do about it right now and we'd

MICHAEL S on 8/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Not very friendly at check out...just matter of fact. Didn`t thank for business, etc.

Ian H. on 8/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the van I picked up stunk like raid or some other chemical poison and I was nauseous from just ridding in it. I had planed to use it for five days but had to bring it back after just an hour or so because the smell was unbearable.

Nicolas C. on 8/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I stood outside hoping I could return the truck ( I arrived 30 minutes after they closed) and a friendly staff member helped me out as best he could considering I was left high and dry

DAVID K E. on 8/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the excellent customer service provided by the lady, Diane (?) at the counter that checked the van out to me, Jonathan (?) who brought the van, etc., to me, and Eileen who checked me back in, etc. The van and dolly were clean and in superb condition. Thanks to all for making this a positive experience. Much appreciated.

Danise O. on 8/7/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The discrepancy of information between the Uhaul store and the Uhaul call center was horrible. We got different information regarding our billing and location of our box from each party. Also, the box itself was skewed to one side and the wood splintered at the door. It felt cheap and unsafe to put all our belongings in it. We will not use this service again. Also, we originally purchased insurance and then when we received our bill, the insurance did not get processed. Also, our lock was totally beaten up and the door was difficult to reopen when we needed to unload it into our house. I recommend upgrading the boxes to more sturdy material and the locks to more effective protective lock systems. Also, we did not enjoy how the prices of the shipping and the box rental fluctuated over time. We were quoted for two boxes, ended up only shipping one, and still had to pay the price of two boxes. It was not an easy process to rent a box and have it shipped. When we called the Uhaul in Lebanon, NH, the store clerk told us our box wasn't there. When we spoke with the Uhaul call center, they said it was. We ended up needing to speak with the general manager of the site to figure out where our box was. It was, in fact, at the location, the clerk had just not looked closely. Staff, overall, were friendly, but not helpful or efficient with our time. We are going with a more professional, consistent, and organized company next time.

RONALD S on 8/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The last that helped me was amazing

RANDALL A. on 8/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I liked receiving my receipt through email. Front desk staff could have been a little more friendly.

Jose C. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The u-box service is very convenient. My only concern was the deliver window was changed twice which affected our moving plans.

PAMELA D. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My truck wasn't available, it wasn't the right size. I ended up with a smaller truck than I reserved. Some of my furniture did not fit, and I had to leave it in SF.

CASEY S. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The elevator gets hung up by people loading 10 carts and leaving them in front of the door! Then when they come back up with 5 carts there is no room to go! The "day birds" pack everything up and just use all of the carts and block the freight elevator. It was sooooo inconvenient.

THOMAS J. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice staff quick rental

Ian B. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The uHaul truck that I rented broke down which required me to sacrifice valuable time during my apartment move to jump start it with jumper cables. It delayed my overall move by and hour and was not what I would expect for the money I spent with uHaul.

Jillian M. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Smooth process, no problems.

KHALEF H. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Very poor experience very dissatisfied with uhual in general. I will no longer use this company . I kept the truck for alot longer then agreed and payed the amount for each day but they put me in recovery mode which means they feel that the truck wont be coming back stolen. And they kept advising me to turn it in or they will come and pick it up .they also told me not to drive it it has been reported stolen and that I will be arrested total bs. I payed I had my credit card on file and I returned it when It was no longer needed. Hope this comment schools people out there to be careful.

ALBERT Y on 8/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Clean and well organized. Friendly staff. Could use some better defined customer parking.

Andres R. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received an mail that I gave the return the van at 8:00am. However when I arrived on this time it was closing and they dont receive my car. It was terrible because I had to park the van in the street and return it next day. I hadnt time. Bad.

CHRISTOPHER V on 8/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Although the facility looked clean overall, the storage unit that we rented was not swept clean and had garbage in it.

Jesse B. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pick up was great. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Drop-off was a bit frustrating as the folks dropping off were trying to get to work and there was only one overworked man taking the myriad returns. Great staff - just perhaps have more of them on-site when you open.

JESSE A on 7/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful and freindly service

VICTOR M. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

none. all staff was very efficient and professional.

Caitlin C. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was friendly, helpful, and fast, even at 7am. They made a stressful day much easier.

Brendan T. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Parking would be amazing, wait times were 15+ minutes, extra staff would help.

MARYANN P. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your U-Haul team at this location provided the utmost in customer care. We accidentally left important documents and keys in their office, and they bent over backwards to return them to us. Outstanding service, intelligent, polite, and true to their word. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone who had moving needs. Thank you, Marcus Grove and Team!

JACOBUS W. on 7/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hi! Specific detailed feedback: • The desk staff was really helpful. Loved them. • The guy who got my truck for me had a very dirty U-Haul shirt on. Instead of him asking for my order I had to tell him that I needed a dolly • When I checked the truck back in, the guy at intake said that he would check my in and that I do not have to go back to the desk staff, yet the next day I got a call from U-Haul asking me when I was going to bring back the truck! Thanks!

SUSAN C. on 7/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

i reserved a 14 ft van and was quoted a fee. The next morning when I went to pick up my creserved van the rates were given a TWICE as much. The fuel gauged on the paper work showed 1/4 tank the van, when it was driven off the lot, was EMPTY. The staff was of no help , they would not honeor the quoted fee, they could not my other van rentals for reference as to cost and they basic said-too bad- this is the cost. I had hired 4 men to help with the move and had NO choice but to pay the extremely high rate. I will be going on YELP and Angie's list to report the careless, and impassive service NEVER will we rent from this establishment again zip car for us!!

TONIA C on 7/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Unit reserved was not available. Elevator where loading dock was out of service. There was trash and boxes blocking paths to storage unit.

Amanda N on 7/29/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

UHaul lost my box several times took over 45 mins to find. Turns out they were charging me for a box that was already returned.

Elizabeth S. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Its a little scary for a woman to walk up to this location with all the folks outside accosting you for moving help, but the folks inside were fantastic and very helpful.

AUDREY V. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience for a quick in-city 24 hour move. Thanks!

NIKHIL K. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Please be more specific about gas. I had to refill the gas 3 times to meet the "gas limit". There was a problem with the gas meter and this made me fill in much more gas than needed (it was variable in what it displayed). I was extremely disappointed because all of my experience with U-Haul was great till this gas issue was encountered. I tried to reason with the staff and demanded some sort of compensation for the extra gas I filled in but this was to no avail.

FRANCESC P. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Price per mile super expensive

MAEVE B. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Your gas policy sucks.

KRISTIN W. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

VERY friendly and helpful staff.

SCOTT V. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I didn't personally pick up the truck so I can't speak to the location.

ANGUS M. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff were super nice and accomodating. A+

Ellen H. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was easy and efficient. They were accommodating to my changing needs. Would definitely come back and recommend it.

RAUL A on 7/25/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

lots of people literally living inside the storage units,prostitutes entering after hours and most likely drug trade considering the really shady people ins and out after hours.

Sarah E. on 7/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had mixed experiences with the staff. I spoke to three different staff about the price of extra blankets and all three failed to mention that when renting blankets for a cross country move you have to pay to $10 to rent them PER DAY. It's ridiculously expensive to rent blankets by the day when shipping can take weeks. There should be a better system for cross-country pod renters. Finally I spoke with one woman who was awesome! She was super informative and even took me out to look at the pods to get a better idea of how much you can fit. Her best tips: make sure you have a lock for your pod and definitely take pictures before it ships so you won't be held responsible for any damage that might occur along the way.

patrick m. on 7/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything was fine, though I wouldn't say one pod can move a whole 1 bedroom apartment

Brandon R. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I've used this location twice. Once went very well, the second time was poor. Quality of the agents varies widely.

MATTHEW R. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Please make sure that the service associates on the phone communicate with the staff a the location. I had reserved a truck for 3 days but when I got to the Bryant location they informed me that I couldn't keep it that long and said that this happens all the time. The interior of the truck was also incredibly dirty and I had to wipe it down so the seats and the steering wheel weren't sticky.

nakul M. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

While the staff is not necessarily very welcoming, they are extremely quick and efficient so I was quite satisfied with the whole experience.

PAUL C. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was amazing and the people who helped me were just fantastic. Professional and efficient! Thank you

TOMAS B. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved blankets for packing but the location didn't have any. Not a big deal since I didn't end up needing them.

SAMANTHA D on 7/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Joseph was super helpful, patient, and professional. Our U-haul storage experience was convenient precisely what we needed. Thank you!!!

KATHERINE P. on 7/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff were very friendly and patient as the showed me how to operate the truck I rented, letting me try out the locking mechanisms for the back and the ramp several times so I was sure I know how to use it. The truck was clearly well-maintained and ran great for my whole long-distance move!

lawerance i. on 7/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The ladies at the front and at the dropoff were wonderful. I would definitely come back!

Beau-Robert M. on 7/18/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Overall customer service should be more pleasant and helpful. There was a potentially dangerous defect in the passenger sidemirror that was noticed before the vehicle was released and was not adequately repaired. I would not recommend using this Uhaul location.

ROBERT M. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found everyone at the SF downtown U-Haul to be friendly, courteous, and helpful; from the front desk staff to the young man that brought the van out to me. Real nice group of people there, and I wouldn't hesitate to return again- or to recommend them to others. Kudos to all the staff at SF downtown U-Haul for making it easy!

BRETT B. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck was a bit underpowered, but other than that everything went smoothly

Michael S. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was told that the warehouse my U-Box pod would be delivered to was climate controlled. It was not.

JEFF R. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Make sure that if they are going to haul a trailer that they know U Haul does not provide a hitch and more importantly, not every location will even have one for them to buy. Fortunately, I researched this prior to arrival and mgt was kind enough to have one sent over and available. Otherwise, this would have been a real nightmare. Moving is stressful enough already, adding this kind of complication is unnecessary.

SHANNON H. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Totally unprofessional. Customer service reps on personal phone calls. Miscommunications. No one in the loading dock to help. Incompetent/slow/disorganized.

ERIC K. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The check-in and check-out process was quick and easy. The attendant who brought my truck insisted on the walk-around vehicle inspection which I appreciated.

Helena Claire V. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck cab was filthy, hadn't been cleaned out from previous user. However, Jessica, my customer service person was great, she was so good I didn't mind the filthy cab so much.

KAYLA C. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Customer service from Eileen. She was nice and friendly. I would definitely this location to a friend!

Marie M on 7/13/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor communication and follow up from Phoenix. Constant shifting of blame and no ownership of problems. Systemic problems. Would never use again.

Sara A. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The pick-up and return process with the desk staff was incredibly easy and well done. They were thorough, explained things well, and were very efficient. I appreciate their attention and hard work.

ASIA H on 7/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing staff extremely friendly and helpful : very good experience w them

Janice M. on 7/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The tracker did not tack the ubox after it left the SF location. The ubox did not arrive at the Rochester MN location on time. It was a day late which caused me to have to hire movers as I did not have the transportation to move the box a day after I was to pick it up. The hold times on the phone are horrible. Your service would be great if it were on time and had shorter holds on the phone.

JENNIFER M on 7/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

At standard

David D. on 7/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service. Very professional and efficient. Nice equipment. Everything I needed

David A. on 7/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A lot will need to be done. Here are the main problems I faced: -UBox arrived 2 months late. -I was double charged for shipping (an extra $2400). -Very minimal communication, and conflicting information, regarding my UBox's location. This is unfortunate, because the many different UHaul employees that I conversed with were very friendly and always helpful. For whatever reason, it was difficult for them to actually determine the state of my order and follow-up with me. I don't know what the problem is, but my guess would be that whatever internal processes for handling customer orders, and seeking information about them, are terribly ineffective. They prevent, otherwise very helpful, employees from being able to fully assist customers like myself. Its a shame. I doubt I, or my close friends and family, will use this service again. I will seek all other alternatives next time I move house. Its hardly worth the hassle. I'm not interested in any sort of follow-up. Use this review to improve your service. I'm just glad its finally over. NOTE: This is a review of my overall experience, not just the San Francisco portion. I would fill it out in the proper section of the website, but the website won't let me.

Burness G. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Vehicle was dirty on outside. I was checking it in to drop off and employee said everything checked out. Then went inside to pay and they said it needed more gas. The first employee could have told me so. Your website has 2 different pieces of information said that the storage facility is open 5am to 10pm and also 24 hour access. As a business owner I find this confusing. I asked about this upon move in and they said it was not corret. But, the website still lists this.

SUSANNAH S on 7/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful experience--thank you!

Brian C. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service agent was extremely rude and unprofessional. Vehicle was beat up and charge per mile is ridiculous.

CAMERON S. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff were very friendly and on the job. Check in/out folks were a bit bored but nice and competent.

MaryJane J. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff, equipment, and facility were all great! The past 16 months of moving and storing, with it's inherent stress and confusion, were made much more pleasant by UHaul on Bryant. Clean building, friendly, helpful staff and fabulous trucks. I will definitely tell people about my wonderful experience. Thank you very much.

CHARLES G. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

outside of truck was filthy. I am handicapped with 2 canes; I walked all over trying to find out where to get the truck. The driver's step is way too high. Window cranks were like pulling taffy. The young agent guy was obviously swamped at 10 am July 1

ARTHUR L. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly and efficient.

MICAELA N. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I thought I settled the bill when returning the van. Then I get a bill with a $30 "Late Payment Fee" on it sent to me via email. Actually, I didn't even read that email until getting a second email about a remaining balance because the first email only said that my "contract was attached." Since it didn't mention a balance, I assumed this was a for-your-records type notification and only glanced at it. Then the second email arrives (graciously waving the Late Fee!) and I have to stop what I'm doing to pay it. The real bummer is, I left Uhaul that afternoon deeply impressed with the ease of returning the rental and the overall thoughtfulness that went into the system. No more.

CLAIRE J on 7/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and helpful

margaret Jo F. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Please be more transparent when it comes to the cost of rental that includes mileage. It's a bit of false advertising. I was surprised by the actual cost of renting a vehicle as opposed to the advertised price. It was too expensive. I would not rent again from u haul because do that.

MICHAEL S on 7/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, easy and convenient...

JAMES S. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They did not offer a drop box for after hours returns, which means I had to come back the next morning to drop off the keys.

SABRINA C on 7/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Hours were not convenient whatsoever, and the staff at times were rude and condescending because I looked younger than I actually was.

Derek C. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Devlin and Jessica are truly the best staff at this location. Most of the other employees don't seem to care about the customer experience.

Amy B on 7/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Loading location misrepresented, staff in store very unprofessional and unfriendly, then I was overbilled not contacted with a response. Very poor communication and knowledge by employees.

Jonathan D. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Loaded 4 U-Pods at U-Haul site in San Francisco on 5/31/2014. Was informed weeks later that my Pods were still located in SF and were not scheduled to be shipped until 6/25/2014, with an arrival of 6/30/2014 and moving help scheduled for 7/1/2014. Travelled to Phoenix with my wife and two young children to be at our new residence for move-in on the 7/1/2014. We are still now in a hotel (at our expense), as we were just informed today (7/2/2014) that are Pods will not arrive until tomorrow (7/3/2014) with moving help now expected to take place on 7/4/2014. Not sure if I will receive moving help on this date, considering it's Independence Day. I'm hoping that these expenses will be reimbursed, as my lease has begun and I've been having to stay in a hotel and eat out. If I were solo, I'd be staying at the empty residence, however I have a 10 week old and a 5 year old. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Jonathan Dismuke j_dsmk@yahoo.com 415-624-6224

STEPHEN L. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I found the online process to be negative and confusing. First, the online book tool did not properly reserve my uhaul truck. Someone called my over the phone to inform me that my booking (which was successful, according to the online tool) was after the store closed. I had to re-arrange my moving schedule last minute based on the misinformation and confusion caused by the online book tool. Second, I also think that the fuel charge is difficult, and represents a poor way to treat customers. I feel that uhaul's prices are advertised heavily, but the fuel cost is hidden to trick customers. I also feel that the fuel process is inconvenient and expensive. Overall I would rather use any company other than uhaul next time I move. However, I also must say that I received excellent customer service at the pickup location. People were friendly and happy at the store, and I did not have to wait long in line.

CRITES C. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Wait time to return the vehicle was unacceptable. Approximately 30-40 minutes.

GLORIA D. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The advertisement is confused. I understood that the miles start to run when you go out to the city, not in the city too!

BRIAN A. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

1) No means to tell what time your online reservation will be for at the time of booking. My reservation was made for 10PM to 4AM, which is unacceptable. 2). My online confirmation showed where I intended to pick up my truck, the truck was actually at another location. No truck was actually available at the location that I specified. The online system is misleading. 3) The customer service agent on the phone said I could change my drop off location, which the store said I could not. 4) Understaffed for busy weekend. Very slow

JUAN E. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer service was awful. We did not want the extra insurance coverage, yet were charged for the extra fee. The customer service representative said "choose the first box" and at no point did we intend to choose insurance. What a sneaky way to get an additional $10 out of someone. Bad business practice.

NICOLE R. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location was oddly hidden, but the check out process was very quick

IRFAN K on 6/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Ubox was not made available for my movers contracted via Uhaul/movinghelp at the agreed upon time. As a result, I incurred $100 in additional costs on my move.

ROBERT C on 6/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hours open do not match the UHaul website. Staff helpfulness varied. Unit was secure, other than individuals walking in and out of the center without any card, key or staff member present.

RYAN O. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Fucking forever with these lazy bastards

CHRISTOPHER C. on 6/27/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The whole process from booking to picking up the equipment was horrible. There was so much wrong with it that I don't have the energy or time to waste explaining how terrible it actually was. I will never use this compnay again and I will encourage others to avoid this mess of a company.

RENEE E. on 6/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy drop off location and friendly personnel !! Made a very stressful time easier to accomplish!!

ORLANDO Z. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I visited this U-haul location to rent a truck in order to self-deliver and load U-boxes. I was initially charged more than I was quoted, and the charge took place well before the day I was told it would. To make matters worse, on the delivery end of things (if you can call it that). The moving help that I booked through U-haul arrived on my "guaranteed" day to pick only to leave empty handed as my boxes had not arrived. I called and spoke to someone who tried to be but wasnt helpful. She said my boxes would probably arrive the next or the day after that. Again after several hours on the phone with various customer service representatives, I come to learn that my boxes still HAVE NOT LEFT my original location!!!! Would you recommend this to a friend? an enemy? No one deserves this level of ineptness. No one is asking for perfection, just what they are promised.

Pedro G. on 6/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At the time of returning the vehicle, request the contract so you do not charge the customer for things that should not be charged. I was charged 16.50 extra dollars when I did not have to pay for that and then you had to re-do the operation all over.

CHRISTOPHER P. on 6/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Some of the individuals outside were pretty aggressive in stepping out in to the street to ask us if we wanted their help as we were driving in. That made my wife uncomfortable

Matthew K. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reserved for a few days not sure if return date, salesman advised more days, finished in a day, no refund, that's bad business

Jonathan S. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I bough 2 wardrobe boxes and they did not give me the metal piece that went with it. I came back to get and when I got home they had given me the wrong size. 20 minutes from my house to the store each way. When you are crunch for time when moving, I did not need the additional travel time for store mistakes.

Dennis R. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy to deal with. Highly recommend this U-Haul location for renting vehicles.

RICHARD W. on 6/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

check the gas level as it was different than what was told to me at the desk.

MICHAEL K. on 6/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

employees working outside not happy. either overworked or underpaid or both.

VIRGIL P. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The wonderful team in customer service were all great. Helpful, friendly and professional.

Zhuomin W. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

So bad front desk service, waited for more than one hour to get the truck even there was nobody before us. The girl keep calling and talking with her c

DORTHY P. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice and very helpful. They took care of the gas problem.

Hallie H. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

long lines, slow service, practically mauled by people outside, place is filthy, surroundings are filthy, terrible neighborhood, return took almost 1/2 hour to get checked in, sat in truck at return and waited for someone to finally come out - not a good experience.

Marie M on 6/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Please check my complete record. I expect compensation. Please show my order to upper management as an example of a complete breakdown in communication between SF, shippers and your Phoenix hotline.

BRIAN M. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service!

CORRIE B. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service, equipment and great value.

MARK E. on 6/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clean the messy cab before releasing to the next customer. (Spilled food and bits of trash.)

FABIOLA A on 6/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The lady who helped me was kind. Thank you.

RENAUD C. on 6/16/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Took me more time to rent and return the van than to move. The employees are not committed to the client and is very lazy, they do not explain what they have to do.

CLAUDIA L. on 6/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The center was very confusing and it's really not an ideal location to pick up such a large vehicle. Staff was friendly though.

ERIC K. on 6/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Cheaper Prices; Specials for AARP, AAA, and U.S. Military Veterans,!!!

JOO Y on 6/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The workers there were very friendly and explained things extremely well for me. There was absolutely no surprise whatsoever in terms of price.

Elan E. on 6/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The trip odometer and the primary odometer registered a difference of 5.7 miles on a 28 mile journey, and so I was overcharged, in my estimation, $6.00, for miles I don't believe I drove. It's not the $6.00, but the principal that the 2 odometers in the same vehicle should be calibrated the same. Fortunately, I only drove 28 miles - I can't imagine how badly someone going 100+ miles would be overcharged. It's stealing.

Anthony G. on 6/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The brake release lever was absolutely invisible. It is black embossed printing on a black bacground. I was stuck in rush hour traffic trying to find the lever to pull. Please label the release in a clearer fashion. Thank you.

RONALD F on 6/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Felt a little unsafe due to all the laborers seeking work outside the facility

PATRICIA G on 6/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I intended to rent a truck here to put my daughter`s things in another storage facility. After seeing this facility and meeting its staff, we rented a truck as well as a storage unit.

ROBERT B. on 6/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Upon returning the vehicle in question, I parked it in the return area, waited outside for a curbside rep to approach, and after 15 minutes without anyone coming by, went inside. Upon entering,both of the agents working were on the phone, so I waited 15 more minutes and they never once acknowledged me. The woman standing in line in front of me said she'd be there for nearly 45 minutes and still hadn't gotten acknowledged. At that point, since I had places to be and there was a card on file, I placed the keys on the counter with the return copy of the contract and said, "just go ahead and check it back in like a curbside or after hours return." To which the agent shot back, without once moving the phone from her ear, "go outside and do it!" So I grabbed the keys and went back outside, looked around for 10 minutes to find someone working there, and finally located the curbside agent. I handed him the keys and contract and told him, "I can't wait any more. Go ahead and do it as an after hours return and email me the receipt." To which he told me, "go inside and do it." Since I'd already been waiting inside and out for nearly 45 minutes, I refused to take the keys or contract back and said, "I was inside and waited too long. Now I'm telling you to return it like an after hours. I'm not waiting any longer." And I walked away. 18 hours later I started getting the aforementioned calls from the Hollywood location, where I'd rented the vehicle for a "1 way, 1 day" rental, threatening to file a stolen vehicle report because the Potrero Hill location had never checked the vehicle back in or put notes into the system. These issues are not isolated. They're systemic!

Fallon H. on 6/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Aubrey exceeded all expectations in every area of customer service. He was the best UHAUL employee I have ever met.

GEORGE C. on 6/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Joe was very professional and personally made sure that the storage unit was ready for us to move in on the scheduled date.

diane w. on 6/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

wash windshields and mirrors and provide vehicle with full tank of gas (had to refill on way to destination and again before returning).

MARC M on 6/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Exelent customer service very helpfulkthe girls name was Jessica an asset to haul thanks

TERRELL H. on 6/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fun and friendly

AARON A. on 6/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I wasn't given the best service at check-out. The associate had no idea what to do when delivering to another location outside of the physical address you are taking your possessions. Even so, why should the customer have to call to communicate this? I clearly stated the address when making the reservation. Hard to blame the folks at check-out. More of a internal issue.

MICHAEL L. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Longer hours would be the single best thing you could do - or have a night drop. Music would also be nice - the sales floor seems so "dead".

MARIA A. on 6/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing to improve. I even needed to extend my reservation an hour and a half and they were gracious enough to let me do it at no extra charge. Great customer service!

HENRY R on 6/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Ok

JESSICA M. on 6/7/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The people working at this location were great, the vehicle was also great, but there was no option for parking, there were creepy dudes everywhere and I didn't feel safe walking to and from my car to the location or leaving my car in the street there.

ROBERT H. on 6/4/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I waited for over an hour as they "tried to get to my Ubox." They came up with excuse after excuse for why it was taking so long. I eventually had to leave and come back the next day. Not only that, but I had to unload my whole box into a van and drive that as opposed to just taking the box.

TEDMEN C on 6/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

On a scale from 1 to 10 I would say a 9.2

HAYDEN F. on 6/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Drop off was quick and easy - just pulled up and hopped out of the car. I would have liked to have the process explained to me a bit more because they just yelled that I would get an email receipt. This left me a little bit stressed that I would have extra charges.

TROY T on 6/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and helpful staff

Dylan J. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I felt like I was getting bombarded with hidden fees and sheisty business practices all over the place. I never felt like UHaul had my back

CHRIS B on 6/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great. Good service.

John B. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make sure the moving pads are in the vehicle. I paid the rental fee and they weren't included and I didn't notice until too late...but overall very efficient. Thank you, John

YAROSLAV B. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Waited awhile to get my truck after giving the contract to an attendant. It was a busy moving day (May 31) but could have made it easier than waiting 20 minutes to fetch a truck.

Shakirah S. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Guillermo at this location was very professional, honest and helpful.

nancy r. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful staff; great availability for van (reserved on May 31st for the next day, June 1st!); totally reasonable rates. Don't be turned off by the many men outside the building who are offering to help in any way that they can. They're looking for work and won't bother you after a simple "no thanks".

WILLIAM H. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was impressed that I did not have to wait a check in and the staff was great especially my check in lady. Greatly appreciated.

BRONWYN A on 6/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff are always super helpful and friendly. Excellent customer service. Thank you.

JESSICA G. on 6/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was great, however the online ordering system was not working properly which slowed down the process. The staff handled the situation really well and ended up checking us out the old fashion way to save time.

fernay m. on 6/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent but the truck had fleas and dirty

PAT R. on 6/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Joe Moore inside and Guillermo outside where both great

JAMES G. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

n/a

WYLIE T. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Lines were a little slow, but my person was fast.

JARED F. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Look at Yelp

STARIELLE N. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was given two crucial points of misinformation. One was that I would be able to park on-site during the day while I rented a cargo van. The other was that I could return the van after closing and leave the key in the drop-box. Both of which I found to be untrue at the most inconvenient time possible. Each of these cost me so much time and headache that I do not believe I will ever be renting a U-haul again unless I absolutely have to, and then I will probably try and find a different location or a different company.

Charles W. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Need expecting delay on picking up. The line may be long. However, it is great services with great equipment.

ROGERIO S. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice people!!!

dennis c. on 5/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I wouldn't recommend that a female go to this location alone. I arrived by cab and was surrounded by at least 20 men wanting to assist me from accross the street from your building. Also there should be at least two attendants working your rental return area. I waited 20 minutes before someone showed up to help me.

Thomas F. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved a pick-up truck. When I completed my contract, I specifically told the U-Haul associate I wanted a pick-up truck. When the vehicle was issued, I was given a van even though the attendant told me there were pick-up trucks available. Although in order to correct the issue, I would need to go back inside and bring it u with the U-Haul associate. Why don't your associates know the difference between a pick-up truck and a van? Also, I was pre-charged $80 and was told that I would be issued a credit. Three days later and it hasn't happened. I would rate the overall experience as Poor.

LAURA V. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The first POD did not arrive with the protective cover.

Melanie F. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Maybe not have the manager and his workers out front leaning against the wall with the music blasting in a hall parked next to them as they wait for clients. Not a good look Adrian.

Kimberly M. on 5/27/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented a pod from Uhaul for a cross country move and the the whole process has been confusing and miserable. It is clear that it is a new program and employees do not know what they are doing. I was told by many people at the corporate headquarters to call the individual Downtown Uhaul San Francisco center to confirm all things that need to happen actually happen (trailer is available with pod, pod gets shipped, etc.). Yet, when I call no one answers and I am connected to corporate. If I do actually connect with a person from the location center, they are extraordinarily rude. They treat my like I am being silly for checking on the status of the pod when I have been explicitly been told to do so by their corporate headquarters. Then their mixed answers makes me more nervous and lose trust in the system entirely. Normally, I would I be hands off but now I feel like I have a full time job making sure what should happen automatically acctually happens. So far, the corporate folks have been great. The location center people, however, don't have any consideration that you have left your life's belongings at their location and they are clueless about the process. Everyone tells you something different and there is a lot of "this should happen" instead of "this will happen". The overall tone is "you dumbass". We are paying a lot of money for this move and expect much much more. I will use and suggest another company in the future. Last, our pod was so shabby. The movers could barely close it because the whole thing was tilted at an angle. I really hope it doesn't burst open on the cross country drive.

QIAN-ZHOU Y.