U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Share |

Address

1525 Bryant St
San Francisco, CA 94103

(415) 252-0133

(Alameda & Bryant)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 7 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 5 am - 10 pm

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

LISA B. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had a horrible experience with the Valencia street location. I reserved a van over the phone and told the representative that I would be coming to pick up the van at 10:30 am. When I arrived, the van had already been rented out and I had to take a cab over to the Bryant Street location and rent a truck instead of a van. I also had told the rep on the phone that I would need to use the van until 5 pm and when I arrived at Valencia Street they also said I could only rent a vehicle for 4 hour block of time. My experience at Bryant Street was fine, but I am completely disappointed with Uhaul overall because they placed the order completely incorrectly when on the phone.

DANA V. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I cannot think of a thing..had no issues..everybody nice and helpful.

DANA V on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Had no problems...was well pleased.

SARAH A. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were very stressed from our move / remodel. The two girls that helped us with renting the storage unit were very helpful and delivered great service. I don't remember there names but it was yesterday at around 4:30 PM. I hope they can get some kind of good recognition for their service.

Alexandra A on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy and great process - everything went smoothly and was overall very timely!

PIPER G. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy peasy

Brian M. on 8/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The area is in an old industrial part of the city. Many homeless camped out along street. I turned over truck to attendant at driveway entrance. Never went inside facility.

SARA S. on 8/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The drop off ramp was very busy and backed up, and it wasn't clear where to go. Might be helpful, on those busy days, to have someone directing traffic and giving instructions on the street.

MICHAEL S. on 8/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I don't usually give bad ratings. You changed my rental place last minute. My wife went to get the truck as I couldn't because of the change and the rental men gave her the wrong truck. That was then trapped behind another truck. Making us drive an extra 30 minutes out of the way because of your poor customer service.

Elsy H. on 8/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Front desk/reception staff had attitude, could use better customer service skills.

Diane R. on 8/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I hesitated saying anything until my things arrived safely. Casey Clarke made this process unbearable for me and I actually felt frightened at times when dealing with him. I used the service to fly a uBox from San Francisco to Seattle and movers on both sides to bring the box to me. Your company never told me that I needed a padlock for my uBox - that it was required before it was put on a plane - the movers who delivered the uBox told me I needed one (apparently customer service not providing that detail is a common problem). I called the SF location and explained my situation to a gentleman who picked up the phone who said it was just "common sense" to buy a padlock which is an incredulous thing to say to a first-time user of your service. He told me that the General Manager would be calling me back. I let him know time was critical given the timing of my travel that week and needed to take action that afternoon if any was required on my part - if I needed to buy a lock and bring it to where the uBox was, I was happy to do so. Five hours later in the late evening, I called them back. I was panicked as I was getting on a flight the next day, then flying to Seattle where my box was being shipped. It was escalated to Casey. When I asked him why he'd not called me back earlier given the urgency of the situation, he repeated - and I quote - "I'm a busy man" and indicated they were not staffed appropriately. I was shocked, after having telling him my situation, that he said that and said it so curtly. Stressed with it being so late in the evening, I asked for someone to put a padlock on the uBox and bring it to me after all of the stress this experience this pattern of bad communication on the part of uHaul had caused. It seemed like a reasonable request, especially since Casey did not respond to my earlier call in a timely manner. He actually laughed and said "No, that's not going to happen, we'll put a lock on it and put the key in registered mail for you." I stressed that wasn't possible as I was leaving for a trip the next day then directly to Seattle after that to to a construction site where my new house is - there is no mailbox to receive the key there. He started yelling, his tone was - there's no good way to put this - menacing. I felt myself getting afraid. As someone who trains thousands of people a year on what good customer service looks like, it was a surreal moment to actually feel frightened by someone I had paid to help me move my property. He then said it was only recommended a lock be put on the box, it wasn't required but he would "go out of his way" and put one on and send it and all he would say is "Give me the address. Give me the address. Give me the address." I was stunned and grew more fearful at how out of control he had gotten. At that point, I burst into tears, confused and not knowing what to do. I'd been told by the regional Customer Service department that a lock was required or the box would

Jose G. on 8/27/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This was their only truck and I needed it for one way drop off. But they told me they needed it back, and they still charged me for time and extra mileage. I brought the truck back with more gas than it had at the start, and they didn't compensate me for any of these efforts. Last, the truck was in bad condition. A manager wasn't available to talk to, and no one seemed to care.

Jackie C. on 8/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great van in excellent condition. Helpful friendly staff

CHARLES D. on 8/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful experience!!

TREVOR H. on 8/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The UHAUL should have had a much more detailed inspection. One of the tires was low upon picking up the vehicle and the tire was visually worn upon picking up the vehicle. As I drove about 200 miles the tire pressure warning came on and I had to call roadside assistance. The UHAUL also had ants crawling all over the outside and into the cab itself.

Laurie H. on 8/27/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There were several employees sitting around at their desk and not one acknowledged us or when I asked for assistance were of any help. And every one was rude and acted put out when we asked a question. The only person that seems to be working there wa Amalia. She was literally doing everything on her own and was the only one that was helpful. It is hands down the worst experience I have ever had with a Uhaul/moving company and will NEVER recommend.

DAVIS F on 8/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

rented a storage unit here for more than 5 years and the service was excellent!!!!

lauren r. on 8/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was very kind, patient and helpful. I was able to get what I needed in a fast and easy way and I appreciate that. Thank you!

MARISA A. on 8/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, very responsive and professional employees!

ORME M. on 8/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly and knowledgable staff, and I appreciate that more than good equipment!

Dina W. on 8/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Communication with my Moving Helpers on the receiving end could have been better. The Moving Helpers had to be proactive in receiving information about my late U-Box, and had difficulty reaching U-Haul representatives. If my Moving Helpers hadn't been diligent in calling U-Haul my move would have been even further delayed.

DANNY B. on 8/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Don't send out passengers with a truck that has a bad battery. Wasted two hours of my time when moving is already a nightmare to coordinate. Next time I'll look for alternatives.

MICHAEL M. on 8/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

wash the windshield, very important! everything else from personel to equipment was super!

Alyse S. on 8/21/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The employees there were very rude and inconsiderate. The girl helping me was pissed that she couldn't be on her phone, when another employee yelled at her in front of everyone. The men moving the trucks were rude and inappropriate. The service was poor and very slow. I would never pick up from this location again. I don't ever rate places after I leave, but this place left a lasting impression, as I was so irritated when I left. I believe that this is a poor reflection on the management team and something needs to be done.

Suleman L on 8/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything arrived on time and happy with service

nathan h. on 8/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The absolute worst experience of my life. I was unaware that there was urine and bodily fluids in the rental truck when I picked it up. I was covered in the bodily contaminates, this happen Friday August 14. They said they would compensate me 50 dollars, which does not even cover my medical screening post contamination. I have been attempting to contact the manager on site. He has failed to reach back out, I have contacted the customer service line and filed a complaint. I have yet to hear back, I need to be compensated for the entire rental and gas. I drove a total of 57 miles. But when I returned the uhaul, the technician said I drove a total of 146 miles and was trying to charge me extra. The absolute worst experience of my life and I am recognizing Uhaul to be a company that does not take responsibility for major health hazards.

DEBRA W. on 8/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Seems hectic. You need more workers

CHAD S. on 8/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fun team! Keep smiling, moving is stressful. Thanks.

Billy W on 8/18/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The website was unable to find my reservation. I spent over 1 hour between 2 phone calls talking to 4 people, excluding the driver who was given my number to schedule a delivery who never called me.

Billy W. on 8/18/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My customer service experience was sub-par. First and foremost, I was unable to track my u-box on the myuhaul website, meaning that I was unable to arrange delivery online. I ended up calling the u-box support number, but they couldn't find my u-box either, so they put me through to the SF regional office, who was (finally) able to find my u-box in the system. However, when I asked when it could be delivered, they gave my contact information to the deliverer, who never got in touch with me. When I called back, my support agent was able to find the u-box in the system (after much effort), but she couldn't arrange the delivery, so she put me in touch with the regional movers. They were unable to find my box in the system, and had to call u-box support and work their way through the customer service nightmare of finding the box. When their call finished and they took me off hold, they were finally able to schedule a delivery. Overall, it took me two phone calls and well over an accumulated hour on the phone to actually schedule the delivery. Everyone I talked to was helpful (except for the woman who gave my contact information to a deliverer who never contacted me), and I know they were doing their best to work with a computer system that was blatantly failing. However, when I'm dealing with all of my worldly possessions, I never want to see "We could not find your reservation" on a website.

GEVORG M on 8/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My unit`s door latch needs repair.

ERIC W. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They seemed a little short staffed for a busy Saturday morning (only 1 fellow helping with truck check out.) Despite how busy they were, the staff was friendly and attentive, and we were in and out in 15 minutes.

SCOTT S. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

fast and easy and cheap. thanks!

Adam M. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Booked online but then had to give all details again- given wrong keys that meant took extra 20+ mins to fix and car had dirty tissue in passenger door and smelt like stale corn chips

DAVID Z. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Alejandra and her staff was outstanding and could not have been more helpful. My vote for employee of the year.

JONATHAN L. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

himeless people galore. Everywhere harassing you.

Philip D. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fill up the gas tank so you know you're starting there target than somewhere around 5/16th of a tank.

ZACHARY M. on 8/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lower the prices per mile. Most other places charge 79 cents per mile or less. Other than that, this location runs very smoothly.

KYLE D. on 8/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck could have used some work. It was in bad shape

kevin d. on 8/14/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Inside of truck was dirty - a stalk of broccoli, food crumbs in ash tray, empty bottle of water. The young guy (Johnny?) who helped us was excellent!

Thomas R. on 8/13/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My confirmed truck size 17' was not available and counter guy, very helpful but basically told me "tough" we don't always honor confirmations. I was surprised by that approach to customer service yet I understand. His suggestion to wait or go to another Uhaul were not options for me due to time. But the idea of "tough" we cant always honor confirmation #s is a flawed policy and will cost you business long term

David N on 8/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Had moving help deal with going to the storage facility but everything came to me in good condition.

Thomas S. on 8/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The U-box door clasps were bent out of shape and not functional when I picked up the U-box. I had to nail the door shut to keep it closed.

Margaret W on 8/11/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Box came late, called to confirm my box would be ready, it was not. Left with the box bolted shut, had to come back and have it unbolted.

Jessica Y on 8/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very efficient. U-Box arrived a week before expected delivery date. Much more cost effective than other types of shipping!

DANIEL R. on 8/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

To be completely honest.. unresponsive, incompetent, and a bit rude.

lauren v. on 8/10/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck battery died on me. No one provided any sort of apology or compensation. Not impressed with the overall quality of work.

RANDY B on 8/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff, at the property, were helpful,and always were helpful friendly, at all times, thank you for your kind services R.Barnes

MATTHEW D. on 8/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At least 90% of the time spent at a u-haul location is standing in line, waiting for someone to type my same details into a computer that I have already typed into a computer in order to make the reservation. I don't see the value-add of making a lot of people wait. Hertz can get me into a rental car in 15 minutes, is u-haul so special?

Susie C. on 8/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The U-Haul service was efficient and pleasant. The number of street people hanging around outside made me apprehensive about leaving my car on the street while renting your van.

LAUREN K. on 8/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service from all the front desk staff. Thank you

JUANA N. on 8/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clean windows would be great. The side windows were so dirty that you could not see through them to see your side mirrors. It made it hazardous to drive. I didn't have anything to clean them with so I had to keep sticking my head out of the window.

CAROLYN S. on 8/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The last visit to this Uhaul location was actually very nice. There was a new person there (I think a manager) that was super helpful. Prior to this experience anytime I called to access my box, they either couldn't find my box or did not pull it even though I called ahead. Then it would take 45 min to get my box down for me to access. The other problem was the metal part of the box to attach the lock to was bent which made it impossible to open without assistance of tools. No one at Uhaul ever offered to fix it or help until this last visit and this new person. I wish he had been around before. Very helpful and it would be nice if the rest of the employees were as focused on customer service as he is.

DAVE O on 8/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great!

WILLIAM R on 8/5/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

except for jessica one of the managers the staff is on their personal cell phones while customers stood waiting. many times customers reswervations made in person were later unable to be found.

Liz S on 8/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service, friendly staff

Sheila C. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great, no nonsense service. Made the whole experience very straightforward and no time wasted. Much appreciated.

SCOTT K. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the check in space is on an incline/decline and there is no way to get a clear reading on the gas gage. It looks sketchy, there needs to be a flat surface to check in and out. ALSO.. when I checked out the last 2 vans I had to backup a hundred yards to get out of a parking space in the lot... that sucked.

DOLORES C on 8/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The paperwork is a bit cumbersome, but the staff was very nice and helpful. Good experience.

JESUS S. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

get a power generator for when power goes down.

Alex V. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Large pile of human feces found under $19.95 sign in the back. Cleaning solution had been dumped in cargo area, which caused feces to partially liquefy and spread throughout cargo area. We were unable to return to uhaul to exchange trucks due to strict time schedule to move out of residence. Initially given full refund ($53.75) w/paperwork to confirm, which was then reversed at a later time to partial refund ($33.75). The term unprofessional can only partially quantify our experience. According to uhaul representative, this is not the first time this has happened. Attempts to reach manager were also unsuccessful. Aside from obvious violations re: health hazards, this was worst experience I have had with uhaul to date (I have rented close to a dozen or more times). I will most likely rent elsewhere due to this experience. However, if the initially agreed upon full refund is given I may reconsider my stance.

SHERI o. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great from calling to reserve, pickup and return. I will happily use this location the next time I need moving services. Thanks.

Ted S. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I've been renting hauls for 25 years. Something has changed. This was the most efficient, easiest, most hassle free, most pleasant uhaul experience ever.

DAVID G. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There were a few hiccups in booking the van online. First, it let me book for a 9AM pickup - but the email confirmation said 2PM pickup. I called to correct, but the next email confirmation came back with the wrong location and return time. I had to call a third time to get it right. Once scheduling was taken care, no other problems.

AXELLE P. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

nasty disgusting & mostly dispicable not happy nor satisfied their dirty filthy nasty truck stopped working and they tried to blame me . Yeah I don't think so . Their roadside assistance gross they answer whenever they feel like it and the tow is a piece of shit . I will NEVER use this "company " you get what you pay for!

TRAVIS C. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Please have someone call me. I tried calling your support number but gave up after 25 minutes on hold. I am very dis-satisfied with my experience, and am very frustrated. Normally I would not write a negative review, but in this case I believe it is warranted. My two main complaints: 1. The truck I received was filthy, and based on the accumulated food waste, dirt, and odor, it was clear that the interior had not been cleaned for an extended period. The person I spoke at the rental office said that they had a problem with homeless people sleeping in the trucks?? Is that a reason not to have them cleaned? 2. I booked Moving Help through your website, and the mover that I booked did not show up. He texted me one hour before our scheduled start time to say that he wouldn't be able to meet me for another 4 hours. I already had the truck and was waiting for him to start. I tried to call him but he did not answer. I drove back to the Uhaul location to complain, and they said they couldn't help me because Moving Help is a separate company. Finally, there is no contact number on the Moving Help website or brochure. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO GET SUPPORT WHEN THERE'S NO NUMBER TO CALL? I had to scramble to make alternate arrangements. I will not recommend Uhaul or Moving Help to any of my friends or family, and am planning to make a complaint to my local Better Business Bureau.

DONNA P. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Roads very rough and pick up requires steep walk up driveway to parking lot

Terry R. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and quite helpful and professional.

LEAH H on 7/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They should have mentioned we would need a ladder to reach our unit. If we had known that we would have chosen a location that was more convenient to us.

David l on 7/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

terrible service `Poor` not a low enough score. Casey Clark completely USELESS. San Francisco office truly awful. I compliment Tim McDermott and Peter Brown in Maine who were of enormous help

Krystle D. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I called the day before to schedule access to my U-Box the next day. When I arrived, I had to wait over an hour for the staff to access my U-Box. This was disappointing.

CHRIS L. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My comments have nothing to do with the 2 locations as they were helpful and easy to work with. U-Haul itself is a whole other matter. If I can find another truck rental place that works for my needs I will switch in a heartbeat. I rent 1-way truck rentals at least 4 times a year to and from S.F. to the east bay. I attend a twice a year trade show in S.F. and need to haul my samples from my warehouse to the convention center. I schedule the trucks way in advance to make sure of availability. My drop off and pick up locations are specific although a couple of options in the surrounding area also work. The last 3-4 times I have rented I am told that a truck is not available or there is a smaller one located across the bridge, in the next county etc.... I do not have transportation to get to Mill Valley or San Mateo, I was counting on U-Haul to have my truck available. The move-in and move out times are specific and having a truck that I reserved for 8am not available at any near by locations until after noon or the next day is not acceptable. THe noon availability only came up after 3 phone calls and numerous pleas. To say I am disappointed in the service delivered by UHaul to a long time loyal customer is an understatement.

Sean M. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your customer service phone provider was awful. Unfriendly and unwilling to help. I requested a transcript of the conversation and it never arrived. He wouldn't get a supervisor to speak with. It was the worst service I've ever received.

Rebecca W. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The drive train snapped on the bottom of our uhaul in the middle of the freeway and almost caused a major accident. This truck should have never been allowed to be rented.

II P. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

They gave me broken van, its overheating and not only costing me time but also money! Very dissapointed with the experience.

Daniel R. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and efficient check-in service. Thanks to S. Peoples. She was very helpful.

HEATHER M. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone is awesome!

John E. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was not aware of the U-Box reservation tracker. Also, the one of the u box doors was screwed shut and the movers did not have an appropriate screwdriver to open the box. Other than those minor points, I was very pleased with the service and on time results.

Cynthia V. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great job - great customer service - kudos to customer service rep Amalia - she was great!

JORDAN H. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Why does your intake form ask how many hours you will need the vehicle when it is "$19.95 per day"? This led to me almost being charged for two days! Fortunately, I was able to catch the mistake. The time period in question was 8 hours. I called to say I would be an hour late. When I was checked out your system automatically tried to charge me for two days on a truck I had only 9 hours. You need to fix this as it is fraud.

Catherine C on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

flexible and cost effective way to move

Kyle L. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gentleman who was checking vehicles in at 6:30pm on 7/25/15 was awesome. Super helpful and was really busting his hump to get all the trucks and vans checked in for the customers.

DAVID B. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We are very appropriate with your business. We could move our staff smoothly.

Miranda T. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had a great experience here. I forgot my keys in the cupholder of my rental van and came back 10 min after closing to see if I could get them. A nice woman (I remember her last name was People or Peoples) helped me get them and I am very very grateful! All the other staff were super nice as well. Thanks!

john n. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No suggestions-- everything worked perfectly for my needs! UHaul are the best.

JESUS O. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A bit expensive , specially if we had a unit there , but the experience was great. Good Job, discount next time :)

HUGO O on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great people and costumer service. Good clean place and the reason I came back to you guys, discount to returning costumers? : Keep up the great work. Sincerely Hugo R. O.

HUGO G on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The lady cleaning was very kind in showing us our unit and how to get around. The lady`s at front desk were excellent Very efficient.

HUGO G. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lady a at front desk were excellent. Efficient and knew what they were doing even under pressure.

Iana C. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Inform customers with the driving lisences from other state to have additional card

Chuck S on 7/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice job. Thank you.

Shashwat S on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. No Complaints.

james m. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was treated like trash. The charges weren't explained to me. I was given the car with a lot less gas then was said was in it. On top of it all, the location has drug dealers outside, and people pushing to work for me for 20 dollars. The whole thing made me very uncomfortable.

ROBERT K. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Keep better track of records. Had one employee tell me that I could keep a van out until a certain time, while another told me a different time and no record was held for both conversations.

Nikolas L. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The overall experience was very good but one of the three pieces of equipment I had reserved was not available. I was that small cloud hadn't messed up an otherwise excellent experience.

CHELSEA S on 7/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I will be filing a complaint with the BBB, as I have not hear back fron uhaul regarding my complaint. Please have a manager contact me asap.

NICHOLAS S. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

we reserved a 26' truck a month+ in advance, scheduled movers & a precise time that we had to be out of our condo building. On the day pickup, they did not have our truck, only a 20' - that would not fit all our household items! It took several hours to get a new battery & fit the truck to be driven safely & get a trailer to pull behind it & setup, which cost us 2-3 hours of move time, over-time pay to our movers, conflict with our condo manager & avoidable undue stress. I will never recommend using Uhaul for a move in San Francisco after this experience. To improve, simply having the truck that you requested, ready & fit for driving at the time you requested it would do it.

JEFF B on 7/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Jessica and Amalia are the best

OLIVIA C on 7/23/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

You have to hopscotch your way through crack addicts and day laborers who come up to your truck and start handling your stuff because they want to get paid for helping you.

LYNETTE R. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Jessica was friendly, so helpful, and uber professional. Great employee!

ROBERT R. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

If/when a customer looses/misplaces a key while moving (godforbid!) have spare keys to help him or her out... CHANGE any policy requiring the customer to contact and pay a locksmith as well as uhaul for the replacement like the rep at this location told me. Fortunately I located the key but I was stressed moving in SF and momentarily couldn't find it. I am reluctant to ever use uhaul again given what I was told by the representative there. Don't punish or create unnecessary hardship if or when the customer is five miles away and needs assistance! You can charge the customer a reasonable fee for the duplicate but the information I was given was draconian and stupid. Be kinder to customers!

RAYMOND H. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The pick up / drop off area (the ramp) was pretty crowded and busy for the amount of people working and is not a very inviting spot. But the staff was all very helpful and the interior of the location is fine.

BRANDON H. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The reservation and check-in process was easy and helpful. The problem I encountered was I reserved 2 dozen furniture pads, and trusted that they would be included when I left the lot. When I got to my destination I realized they were not there, so I drove all the way back to the lot only to find out they were out of furniture pads for the day. The cost was refunded to me of course, but if they did not have any that day I would have preferred to have been told earlier.

Nicholas H. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was friendly and efficient. We also needed to use the van for 2 hours more than we anticipated, so we called and asked if that was okay. They were cool and easy about it. My only complaint was that the van only had 1/4 a tank of gas when I picked it up so I immediately had to go to the gas station. Overall, though, good experience!

MASHA R on 7/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The all-female staff is super considerate, patient and helpful! They take real ownership of their jobs. I`ve received my receipts in person and over email. Can`t wait to move into my storage unit!

TABITHA L on 7/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mediocre customer service. My order comes up under my former roommate`s name, due to someone`s laziness to create two separate accounts. Only one of the two boxes was available on the requested date.

Yves F. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Truck under a quarter tank at pickup

Tom D. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Prefunctory service, but everything worked so it was fine.

CHARLOTTE K. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

this place was terribly hard to find, offering better directions ahead of time or some sort of warning would have been appreciated!

John P. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You can make sure the batteries are charged in your trucks.

LEE K on 7/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Casey Clark and his staff are really nice and helpful.

maria p. on 7/17/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER,THEY DONT KNOW WHERE IS MY UBOX..KEEP SAYING IT IS CANCELLED..CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS KEEP TRANSFERRING FROM ONE PERSON TO ANOTHER, I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS SERVICE TO ANYBODY

maria p on 7/17/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER,THEY DONT KNOW WHERE IS MY UBOX..KEEP SAYING IT IS CANCELLED..CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS KEEP TRANSFERRING FROM ONE PERSON TO ANOTHE,R I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS SERVICE TO ANYBODY

VIEN D. on 7/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The 20' truck ordered was NOT available upon arrival. Had to settle for a 15' truck. Hopefully the billing will properly reflect the change.

Lee K. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager was really nice and professional

Geoffrey R. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It seems like rentals should be for a 24 hour period rather than during a day. Also an option to return after hours would improve flexibility.

Tyler B. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Long wait, unfriendly staff when I could find them, had to load uhaul myself Will avoid in the future

Tyler B on 7/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Staff was nowhere to be seen. Had to load the ubox myself after staff told me which one. Extremely displeased and will avoid uhaul in the future

Bennett M. on 7/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

N/A

Stephen D. on 7/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was only one very nice woman (Jessica) working the check in and rental process while a line of people just kept growing. There were two more desks but no other employees...

DIEDRE L. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Van that I had reserved online and confirmed was not avAilable. Computer went down twice. Dolly offered for free because they had to change my vehicle was not in van

DANA F. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This was one of the worst experiences I've had not only with Uhaul, but with customer service as a whole. I spoke with more than 4 employees, all of who were very unhelpful-- I was not told where to go, or what to do, was not given my keys (I had to ask for help on this 3 times before getting assistance), was not told which car was mine (and when I finally found someone to ask, he pointed me to the wrong truck), was not given a lock-- nothing. And on top of that, I have never experienced such rude overall tones/ behaviors. I will never pick up at this location again.

christopher d. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A profoundly disorganized office. It took 90 minutes to fulfill a service order that I had submitted online six weeks in advance, and the whole time there were half a dozen workers standing around looking bored. On the other hand, the young lady who I dealt with was very nice. The facility is clean and well-lit.

Alexander K. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

On one of the boxes, the locking mechanism had broken (although the lock was still in place). The same box, overall, was in quite awful shape.

Gabriela a. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Being able to drop of your truck at any uhal or at least within the area with out having to switch everything back out to a different truck.

KEN L. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't switch pickup location from Belmont to San Francisco at the last minute. SF traffic and roads suck.

Dennis V. on 7/8/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

If there was anyway to minimize the people around begging to help it would be a more pleasant experience. As it was, there were a number of itinerant looking men around asking insistently if they could help. This was unsettling and unpleasant.

MARY C. on 7/8/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I went to the desk to get a hand truck to move boxes from my truck into my storage area. The girl never told me I can get a hand truck at no charge to use on the premises. Instead she rented me one for $10. BAD BUSINESS...I HATE being ripped off. In addition, I see my same storage locker advertised at 79.95 per month and you'Ve just sent me a rate increase notice..again...NOT GOOD...and, I'm not happy. Thank you Mary Ellen collins

John D. on 7/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None....excellent service...

JANINE R. on 7/7/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More employees handling the very long line. The one employee did a great job, but it would have been even faster with two. Provide short-term parking. Driving around for 20 mins is bad.

Katherine F on 7/7/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Not the experience I wanted and paid for

Cale S. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It is completely transparent how disconnected the U-Haul management and customer service is from the independent locations executing the Ubox orders. Communication between the two entities is deplorable. Through the entire experience I found myself chasing, begging, repeating myself to multiple parties involved in the Ubox operation - all seemingly unaware of each other. Some days I needed to make over 12 phone calls just to get an answer about the location of my Ubox and the time it will arrive. That doesn’t include phone calls my wife made. I believe my dolly and blankets are still in the front yard of my original location. This was a very difficult experience for me and my pregnant wife, sleeping, sitting, and eating off the floor for almost 3 weeks. Everyone I know and care about will be warned about the disconnected management structure between U-haul and the actual business entities executing the orders and the pain it can cause them. This is beyond poor service, it is an unethical disregard for timely delivery of items we needed to survive.

SONIA J on 7/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The units advertised as 5x7x7 are not 7 ft. tall! All open units on LL had caging running the entire span of the ceiling. This shaves off 6-8 inches off the top of the unit.

Christina W. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location was fine, however uhaul lied to to me about this specific location having an after-hours drop off when I called to ask. I wanted to rent my van from 4-6 pm, and the location listed that it closed at 5 pm online but let me book until 6 pm (which is why I called to ask in the first place). That only gave me an hour of use, after paying for 2 hours of time with my vehicle. I don't appreciate being told one thing then given another.

Gregory T. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at my location were extremely professional and helpful. Really nice people to be assisted by.

carlos g. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. The vehicle was in great condition.

Zach K. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

+ The line was long, waited 30 minutes to check out. Attendants showed no urgency to address line. + Attendant did not seem sufficiently trained for computer system. + Truck cab and box was not clean.

ALON N. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Improve availability for other locations, this was not the original location I needed are was further away from my house. It's meaningful when you're charging based on miles driven.

HANI E. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I reached there and Luther was there to help.

THIEN N. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I'm a repeat customer ! Ford Van is much better ! Service excellent ! Not like your dealer on Sutter St SF 2 days ago !!!!.

MAX P. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved at 100 Valencia location and called the day before to make sure that location had a truck. Then, shortly before we went to pick up the truck, U Haul called to switch to Bryant Street, which was not as convenient for several reasons. Plus, there was about a 15 minute wait at Bryant to get the truck. However, Jimmy, the counter person there was very helpful and did expedite the process when we finally got through the line.

joao b on 7/1/2015