U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Share |

Address

1525 Bryant St
San Francisco, CA 94103

(415) 252-0133

(Alameda & Bryant)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 7 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 5 am - 10 pm

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

II P. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

They gave me broken van, its overheating and not only costing me time but also money! Very dissapointed with the experience.

Daniel R. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and efficient check-in service. Thanks to S. Peoples. She was very helpful.

HEATHER M. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone is awesome!

John E. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was not aware of the U-Box reservation tracker. Also, the one of the u box doors was screwed shut and the movers did not have an appropriate screwdriver to open the box. Other than those minor points, I was very pleased with the service and on time results.

Cynthia V. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great job - great customer service - kudos to customer service rep Amalia - she was great!

JORDAN H. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Why does your intake form ask how many hours you will need the vehicle when it is "$19.95 per day"? This led to me almost being charged for two days! Fortunately, I was able to catch the mistake. The time period in question was 8 hours. I called to say I would be an hour late. When I was checked out your system automatically tried to charge me for two days on a truck I had only 9 hours. You need to fix this as it is fraud.

Catherine C on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

flexible and cost effective way to move

Kyle L. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gentleman who was checking vehicles in at 6:30pm on 7/25/15 was awesome. Super helpful and was really busting his hump to get all the trucks and vans checked in for the customers.

DAVID B. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We are very appropriate with your business. We could move our staff smoothly.

Miranda T. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had a great experience here. I forgot my keys in the cupholder of my rental van and came back 10 min after closing to see if I could get them. A nice woman (I remember her last name was People or Peoples) helped me get them and I am very very grateful! All the other staff were super nice as well. Thanks!

john n. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No suggestions-- everything worked perfectly for my needs! UHaul are the best.

JESUS O. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A bit expensive , specially if we had a unit there , but the experience was great. Good Job, discount next time :)

HUGO O on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great people and costumer service. Good clean place and the reason I came back to you guys, discount to returning costumers? : Keep up the great work. Sincerely Hugo R. O.

HUGO G on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The lady cleaning was very kind in showing us our unit and how to get around. The lady`s at front desk were excellent Very efficient.

HUGO G. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lady a at front desk were excellent. Efficient and knew what they were doing even under pressure.

Iana C. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Inform customers with the driving lisences from other state to have additional card

Chuck S on 7/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice job. Thank you.

Shashwat S on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. No Complaints.

james m. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was treated like trash. The charges weren't explained to me. I was given the car with a lot less gas then was said was in it. On top of it all, the location has drug dealers outside, and people pushing to work for me for 20 dollars. The whole thing made me very uncomfortable.

ROBERT K. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Keep better track of records. Had one employee tell me that I could keep a van out until a certain time, while another told me a different time and no record was held for both conversations.

Nikolas L. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The overall experience was very good but one of the three pieces of equipment I had reserved was not available. I was that small cloud hadn't messed up an otherwise excellent experience.

CHELSEA S on 7/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I will be filing a complaint with the BBB, as I have not hear back fron uhaul regarding my complaint. Please have a manager contact me asap.

NICHOLAS S. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

we reserved a 26' truck a month+ in advance, scheduled movers & a precise time that we had to be out of our condo building. On the day pickup, they did not have our truck, only a 20' - that would not fit all our household items! It took several hours to get a new battery & fit the truck to be driven safely & get a trailer to pull behind it & setup, which cost us 2-3 hours of move time, over-time pay to our movers, conflict with our condo manager & avoidable undue stress. I will never recommend using Uhaul for a move in San Francisco after this experience. To improve, simply having the truck that you requested, ready & fit for driving at the time you requested it would do it.

JEFF B on 7/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Jessica and Amalia are the best

OLIVIA C on 7/23/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

You have to hopscotch your way through crack addicts and day laborers who come up to your truck and start handling your stuff because they want to get paid for helping you.

LYNETTE R. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Jessica was friendly, so helpful, and uber professional. Great employee!

ROBERT R. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

If/when a customer looses/misplaces a key while moving (godforbid!) have spare keys to help him or her out... CHANGE any policy requiring the customer to contact and pay a locksmith as well as uhaul for the replacement like the rep at this location told me. Fortunately I located the key but I was stressed moving in SF and momentarily couldn't find it. I am reluctant to ever use uhaul again given what I was told by the representative there. Don't punish or create unnecessary hardship if or when the customer is five miles away and needs assistance! You can charge the customer a reasonable fee for the duplicate but the information I was given was draconian and stupid. Be kinder to customers!

RAYMOND H. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The pick up / drop off area (the ramp) was pretty crowded and busy for the amount of people working and is not a very inviting spot. But the staff was all very helpful and the interior of the location is fine.

BRANDON H. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The reservation and check-in process was easy and helpful. The problem I encountered was I reserved 2 dozen furniture pads, and trusted that they would be included when I left the lot. When I got to my destination I realized they were not there, so I drove all the way back to the lot only to find out they were out of furniture pads for the day. The cost was refunded to me of course, but if they did not have any that day I would have preferred to have been told earlier.

Nicholas H. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was friendly and efficient. We also needed to use the van for 2 hours more than we anticipated, so we called and asked if that was okay. They were cool and easy about it. My only complaint was that the van only had 1/4 a tank of gas when I picked it up so I immediately had to go to the gas station. Overall, though, good experience!

MASHA R on 7/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The all-female staff is super considerate, patient and helpful! They take real ownership of their jobs. I`ve received my receipts in person and over email. Can`t wait to move into my storage unit!

TABITHA L on 7/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mediocre customer service. My order comes up under my former roommate`s name, due to someone`s laziness to create two separate accounts. Only one of the two boxes was available on the requested date.

Yves F. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Truck under a quarter tank at pickup

Tom D. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Prefunctory service, but everything worked so it was fine.

CHARLOTTE K. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

this place was terribly hard to find, offering better directions ahead of time or some sort of warning would have been appreciated!

John P. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You can make sure the batteries are charged in your trucks.

LEE K on 7/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Casey Clark and his staff are really nice and helpful.

maria p. on 7/17/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER,THEY DONT KNOW WHERE IS MY UBOX..KEEP SAYING IT IS CANCELLED..CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS KEEP TRANSFERRING FROM ONE PERSON TO ANOTHER, I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS SERVICE TO ANYBODY

maria p on 7/17/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER,THEY DONT KNOW WHERE IS MY UBOX..KEEP SAYING IT IS CANCELLED..CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS KEEP TRANSFERRING FROM ONE PERSON TO ANOTHE,R I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND THIS SERVICE TO ANYBODY

VIEN D. on 7/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The 20' truck ordered was NOT available upon arrival. Had to settle for a 15' truck. Hopefully the billing will properly reflect the change.

Lee K. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager was really nice and professional

Geoffrey R. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It seems like rentals should be for a 24 hour period rather than during a day. Also an option to return after hours would improve flexibility.

Tyler B. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Long wait, unfriendly staff when I could find them, had to load uhaul myself Will avoid in the future

Tyler B on 7/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Staff was nowhere to be seen. Had to load the ubox myself after staff told me which one. Extremely displeased and will avoid uhaul in the future

Bennett M. on 7/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

N/A

Stephen D. on 7/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was only one very nice woman (Jessica) working the check in and rental process while a line of people just kept growing. There were two more desks but no other employees...

DIEDRE L. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Van that I had reserved online and confirmed was not avAilable. Computer went down twice. Dolly offered for free because they had to change my vehicle was not in van

DANA F. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This was one of the worst experiences I've had not only with Uhaul, but with customer service as a whole. I spoke with more than 4 employees, all of who were very unhelpful-- I was not told where to go, or what to do, was not given my keys (I had to ask for help on this 3 times before getting assistance), was not told which car was mine (and when I finally found someone to ask, he pointed me to the wrong truck), was not given a lock-- nothing. And on top of that, I have never experienced such rude overall tones/ behaviors. I will never pick up at this location again.

christopher d. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A profoundly disorganized office. It took 90 minutes to fulfill a service order that I had submitted online six weeks in advance, and the whole time there were half a dozen workers standing around looking bored. On the other hand, the young lady who I dealt with was very nice. The facility is clean and well-lit.

Alexander K. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

On one of the boxes, the locking mechanism had broken (although the lock was still in place). The same box, overall, was in quite awful shape.

Gabriela a. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Being able to drop of your truck at any uhal or at least within the area with out having to switch everything back out to a different truck.

KEN L. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't switch pickup location from Belmont to San Francisco at the last minute. SF traffic and roads suck.

Dennis V. on 7/8/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

If there was anyway to minimize the people around begging to help it would be a more pleasant experience. As it was, there were a number of itinerant looking men around asking insistently if they could help. This was unsettling and unpleasant.

MARY C. on 7/8/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I went to the desk to get a hand truck to move boxes from my truck into my storage area. The girl never told me I can get a hand truck at no charge to use on the premises. Instead she rented me one for $10. BAD BUSINESS...I HATE being ripped off. In addition, I see my same storage locker advertised at 79.95 per month and you'Ve just sent me a rate increase notice..again...NOT GOOD...and, I'm not happy. Thank you Mary Ellen collins

John D. on 7/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None....excellent service...

JANINE R. on 7/7/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More employees handling the very long line. The one employee did a great job, but it would have been even faster with two. Provide short-term parking. Driving around for 20 mins is bad.

Katherine F on 7/7/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Not the experience I wanted and paid for

Cale S. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It is completely transparent how disconnected the U-Haul management and customer service is from the independent locations executing the Ubox orders. Communication between the two entities is deplorable. Through the entire experience I found myself chasing, begging, repeating myself to multiple parties involved in the Ubox operation - all seemingly unaware of each other. Some days I needed to make over 12 phone calls just to get an answer about the location of my Ubox and the time it will arrive. That doesn’t include phone calls my wife made. I believe my dolly and blankets are still in the front yard of my original location. This was a very difficult experience for me and my pregnant wife, sleeping, sitting, and eating off the floor for almost 3 weeks. Everyone I know and care about will be warned about the disconnected management structure between U-haul and the actual business entities executing the orders and the pain it can cause them. This is beyond poor service, it is an unethical disregard for timely delivery of items we needed to survive.

SONIA J on 7/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The units advertised as 5x7x7 are not 7 ft. tall! All open units on LL had caging running the entire span of the ceiling. This shaves off 6-8 inches off the top of the unit.

Christina W. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location was fine, however uhaul lied to to me about this specific location having an after-hours drop off when I called to ask. I wanted to rent my van from 4-6 pm, and the location listed that it closed at 5 pm online but let me book until 6 pm (which is why I called to ask in the first place). That only gave me an hour of use, after paying for 2 hours of time with my vehicle. I don't appreciate being told one thing then given another.

Gregory T. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at my location were extremely professional and helpful. Really nice people to be assisted by.

carlos g. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. The vehicle was in great condition.

Zach K. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

+ The line was long, waited 30 minutes to check out. Attendants showed no urgency to address line. + Attendant did not seem sufficiently trained for computer system. + Truck cab and box was not clean.

ALON N. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Improve availability for other locations, this was not the original location I needed are was further away from my house. It's meaningful when you're charging based on miles driven.

HANI E. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I reached there and Luther was there to help.

THIEN N. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I'm a repeat customer ! Ford Van is much better ! Service excellent ! Not like your dealer on Sutter St SF 2 days ago !!!!.

MAX P. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved at 100 Valencia location and called the day before to make sure that location had a truck. Then, shortly before we went to pick up the truck, U Haul called to switch to Bryant Street, which was not as convenient for several reasons. Plus, there was about a 15 minute wait at Bryant to get the truck. However, Jimmy, the counter person there was very helpful and did expedite the process when we finally got through the line.

joao b on 7/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had scheduled the U-Boxes to be delivered by U-Haul thinking it would be the most comfortable and reliable option - not true. They were never delivered. We called 10+ times and never heard back

Lisa S. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Grossly under staffed

RYAN S. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Make sure there is at least half a tank in the truck. I had a quarter which led to unnecessary stress.

Marilyn C. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Didn't know this location didn't have after Hours dropoff. If this was more clear when reserving online it would be very helpful. Others picking up their trucks at the same time as me were similarly surprised/upset. Thanks!

ANDREW B. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very busy, crazy, and stressful because the street became extremely congested with several semi trucks and people trying to return or pick up rental vehicles. I thought the girl who helped me with my u boxes was awesome and did a great job. However my boxs were not ready until 45 minutes after the specified time and it took a very long time to get in and out throughout the day however it became less busy after five. The other staff could check vehicles in and out a little faster to reduce congestion of the road.

Nicholas A C on 6/30/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The door would not close properly on the ubox and despite repeated efforst, no one came out. The uhaul was picked up a day late the door had not been fixed to my knowledge.

NANCY H on 6/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff is friend and helpful. The trucks I`ve rented have always been great and my storage locker worked out just great!

becca L. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I specifically requested a certain hitch (a pintle hitch), which I was assured would be available when I made the reservation yet was told day-of that they don't carry them in the locations and I had to scramble to find one from another provider. I also was told when I made the reservation that I was able to add more insurance on the truck I rented when I picked up the truck, yet was unable to do that either. Overall not a great experience.

Amanda B. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only bad thing about this location is where you have to return the truck. It was in an alley and there were 2 semi's unloading/loading at the time I was trying to get in. The employee that helped us was very nice and when I asked if he could go us a taxi he told us to go inside and someone would call for one. Found an employee to do that and while we were waiting outside the employee that checked us in came over to make sure we had gotten a taxi. I thought that was very nice of him.

ERICK M. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I rented it at around 3 and u guys close at 5. She said I can return the next day and they try to charge me. The guys gettin the trucks are so lazy. They don't even look like they want work. If u don't want to work then quit. Like customers are an inconvenience there.

CAROLINA B. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have more trucks available even without reservation.. Thanks

Lily Y. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I'm a regular renter and I usually have no problem with renting trucks but I'm not sure why the weekend I rented was such a problem. Representative at this location scheduled and changed my time and location for pick up. I had to reschedule all my movers and they argued back with me and did nothing to help improve my experience.

LINDA K. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The first truck had a flat tire. So had to change the truck before checking out. Thank god the check-out personnel notice or else, I would have had some roadside troubles. They should know better then to rent out a truck with a flat tire.

Nathan H on 6/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was called on the day of my scheduled delivery saying that they were out of uboxes. My phone calls were not returned and I had to go to the store to resolve the issue.

Diana F. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Rate at pick up was $30 more than rate quoted online.

FRANCOIS B. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Tell people to call ahead to make sure that there is a, infact, a battery in the vehicle that they are renting. Seriously people; if you have batteries stolen as often as the service technician said, then the first thing you should be doing every morning is checking your trucks. NOT waiting for a customer to get into a dead truck, and then wasting 45 minutes of their life as you try and find a truck that hadn't been looted. Seriously the worst customer service experience I have had in quite a while.

Alexander K on 6/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was confusion on the of boxes I had ordered, and in fact it was rather difficult to get a box added a few days before the move. Aside from these minor-ish hiccups, it went fine.

nancy o. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service representatives at the reservation desk were friendly and helpful. The check-out person wrote over the original contract to indicate that there was more gas in the tank than stated which was not accurate. He also noted damage to the vehicle but failed to note the palm sized crack in the windshield. I called after driving away to make certain this damage was on record.

AMBER K on 6/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall great experience. Staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. Would recommend to a friend, and use again if ever in S.F. again.

ANNE N. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The 15' truck I reserved and confirmed was not there and they did not know where it was. They told me my only options were to go to Treasure Island, even though I had no way to get there, or to get a smaller truck with a trailer, which I did not feel comfortable driving. I wish they would have called to let me know that my truck was not available/did not know the location before I got there because the movers were already at my place and I had no Uhaul truck to use. They sent me over to the Bayshore location to get the trailer and the staff there were so helpful and helped me get the original 15' truck I wanted!! Would recommend the Bayshore location because they really helped me out.

Adam P on 6/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our MovingHelp team arrived on time and was very efficient.

Marissa M. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not have the tank be on empty.

ASAF B. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We reserved a furniture dolley, had the fuel gauge measured while on a hill, and just generally felt like this whole thing was a scam to try to gouge me later. I left really distrusting uhaul.

DOMINICK i. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was a good experience, renting a truck from U-Haul. I would do this again!

Salvatore S. on 6/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Placing a brief manual of use of the truck in the vehicle will help fixing sooner some unexpected problem, such as not being able to locate immediately the way to disable the parking brake and having to deal with the crazy buzzer (it took me 10 minutes to figure it out).

Huan Y. on 6/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My box is still missing after 3 weeks from when it was picked up. No one knows where it is, no one has called me back. Worst possible experience.

Mattias S. on 6/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location was helpful, but this was after I had a terrible experience at the Uhaul location near Candelstick. Because of that location and my overall experience with Uhaul I will never use you guys again and highly recommend others to never use Uhaul.

Jolene D. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was hands down the worst moving experience I've had in 20 years and I move for work every three years. I will never, ever, ever use Uhaul again.

ELIZABETH R. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I'm having a hard time hearing back from the store manager about my incorrect invoice. They're trying to charge me for a completely empty tank (how could I have driven it there?) and said that I shouldn't have left it there overnight because someone probably siphoned the tank. Although the man renting the truck told me I could drop it off after hours, which I did, at approx. 9:30pm. I'm disputing the charge on my credit card because of her lack of response with this issue. I'm not happy with the service I've had so far with Uhaul.

Daniel Arcos A. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location has good staff and are helpful.

MILAN K. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Van was dirty they have not even cleaned windows. Service at return was miserable. There were no renters in the shop. Parking lot was full with cars - business was very slow. Despite this I was given dirty van even after I protested the check-out person just said you will not be charge for returning dirty vehicle! In addition, lady at return was not available I had to wait a while - there were no customers on site! She requested that I collect and fold blanket and hand it to her rather then leaving it in a van. Service was ridiculous. Will look for another place next time.

MY H. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Failed to listen to reviews and experienced it first hand. Update your systems.

JON C. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The truck was clean enough but quite scratched and sounded a bit rough in driving. I am not bothered by the damages and was happy that they accommodated my need for a truck on short notice. Very efficient process with a small but reasonable line to wait in before starting (5 minutes maybe)

Julien S. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was just a drop-off, little interaction than a "okay, you're done". I guess it was okay, nothing exciting or remarkable.

April S on 6/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very happy that U-haul was able to accommodate our last minute need for an additional U-box!

PEGGI J. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I specifically requested a vehicle and although there were those models on the lot, I was given another vehicle. Also I think all vehicles should be released with a full tank of gas. After being told by the customer service person at the desk the van hold a 1/4 tank, the guy that released the van to me wanted to argue about it. Rude. I was also compelled to put more than the required 1/4 tank in as not to accidentally return it too low. U-Haul definitely benefits from this practice, as the consumer ends up paying for their gas costs. Much simpler to just have a full tank.

dwight c. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

One of the worst experiences I have ever had. I only wanted to ship one box and after telling Uhaul this a number of times they still shipped an empty second box and tried to bill me for it! Soon trying to get this resolved they told me I had to wait for the San Fran store to pay the shipping on the second box before they could release my things. Next time I'll just pay the extra money for PODS!

CARLOS A. M. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Remove bird shit from equipment before giving it to customers and be sure the van you are giving is easily reachable without having to make us wait to have other vans moved.

HANNAH L. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We waited 20 minutes fur the uhaul. Please be prepared in advance.

Robert S. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Kind and organized staff - very surprised how easy and quick the whole process of getting the truck was. Drop off equally good folks receiving my truck.

Kelly G on 6/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The moving help recommended by uhaul was great in Austin and San Francisco.

Ronda P on 6/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

U-Haul said the boxes would be a location very close to my house. The boxes, however, were over 20 miles away. That increased the time to complete the job by at least an hour and half.

Nuray G. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Make sure continue these excellent services. Thank you.

Rhonda S. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience - made my move very easy for me.

Dianne N. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was not happy that the people at this location did not let me know about the additional fee that would be incurred by using the dolly that was left in the truck. I found this deceitful and when I came back to return the truck I didn't even know why I had an extra fee on my bill until I had to go back inside and ask an ask an agent.

WILLIAM D. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck stalled in the middle of highway for no apparent reason. Took almost 20 minutes just to get someone to pick up phone. Then another hour wait to get help. The roadside guy couldn't figure out problem, so he called UHaul - and UHaul didn't answer - so he called a tow directly. Tow was great. But then got to UHaul and had to move my load to a new truck. UHaul staff watched me reload truck single-handle while they had nothing to do and just watched - even though I was having to reload truck because UHaul truck was the problem. A 3 hour move turned into an all day affair - and nothing from UHaul - no apology, no credit, nothing. You guys are awful. I hope I never have to use you again. Yuck.

Max B. on 6/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Horace was great! My van was parked in and he ran right away to move the other vehicles. When I returned, he also offered to help. Please pass along my complements to him

KELLY F. on 6/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The location of the rental center was fine. However, the quality of your equipment is horrible. You allowed me to rent a truck that had broken down 10 days before my rental. The very same truck was in my possession when it also broke down again and had to be towed. I took the work day off and I hired 5 movers to fill the truck and we had to unpack the entire 24' vehicle. Also my full day off was wasted trying to get a replacement truck. The Manager at your 15th and Bryant Store...Casey was helpful and tried to do all he could. But what he was able to do in no way compensated me for my inconvenience and expense. I WILL NEVER RENT FROM YOU AGAIN! COMPARED TO PENSKI YOUR BUSINESS IS COMPLETELY SECOND CLASS

Ryan A on 6/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The ability to hire mover through Moving Help through the website really made our move less stressful. The only problem was contacting the SF location to confirm my U-Box was available.

LOIS O. on 6/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Just a little scary picking up the truck in SF. There were druggies that approached our Uber and luckily the uber driver realized the problem and intervened

JONATHAN P. on 6/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent staff.

DEANNA A. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was friendly, helpful and we didn't have to wait at all.

LYNWOOD R on 6/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Overall, I would rate my experience a very good one.

Stefanie N. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Working with Uhaul Corporate was a nightmare. I will never work with them again. Anyone locally or who partners with Uhaul was great.

DIANA G. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was not told on my confirmation voicemail that the pick up location had changed. The staff had poor customer service at both locations and seemed disorganized as well as very under staffed.

Laura M on 6/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only one who was helpful at this location was Joslyn. Otherwise, it was a terrible experience! My U-Box and trailer were not ready with the pick-up I rented. Very long wait!

james s. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

A few points: - counter person was courteous and professional; however, she was not very efficient at navigating systems to complete the check-out process; - the person from whom I picked up the equipment was not only rude but also disinterested in helping to explain how the equipment worked and didn't seem to care that I had a question and just walked away; - when dropping off the equipment, the person I dropped the equipment off to was rude and I stood around waiting for them to check-in the equipment before they finally told me I had to go inside and complete the paperwork. - as a result, I had to wait again in a long queue of people picking up and dropping off equipment -- should have an express drop-off process. - overall, a disappointing customer experience.

Thomas H on 6/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The box was not ready for pick up. We waited for an hour and a half before a ubox employee arrived that could help us.

Larry K. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I don't like all the unsavory vagrants hanging around and would fear for my wife's welfare if she was to go there alone. Take San Franciso back and clean up the street!

Thomas H. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This was the worst uhaul experience I have had. My ubox was not ready for me at arrival and no employee was able or willing to help me find it and get to it. I had the day reserved and a truck rented but no one was able to help me. The facility was trashy and the staff was unwilling to help. We waited over an hour for a staff member to arrive that was finally able to help with the ubox and then they were very rude. I have rented 4 trucks this year from uhaul and a ubox at a cost of over 5,000 and I will probably never use the company again and will always recommend other people stay away from this service.

JARRELL P on 6/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really good experience. Everything was quick and easy

DAVID M. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We had to wait in line for 15 minutes even though I had pre-checked in on-line before I got there.

Rachel C on 6/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My reservation was “lost” 5+ times. On hold for 15 minutes, cutoff, no one called back, I call again, wait again, and was connected to a new person who said there was no reservation. This happened 10x

jonathan u on 6/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

-i would give a better rating, but I went through a few mistakes with billing, coordination and time scheduling for pickup. Otherwise everything went smoothly once things were resolved.

JARED S. on 6/13/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There are homeless camps full of drug users lining the street in front of this location. Also, there are several people soliciting work in front of the location and they are very pushy. Many look like addicts and /or parolees.

FRANCIS M. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

make it more cost effective. Trucks are great, final bill isn't.

MAX M. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

First truck had a light that was not functioning, second truck had lots and lots of dog hair and dog food inside cabin, smelled as well. Windshield was very very dirty. The only person dealing with customers outside was a trying to tend to 3 other customers that showed up after me while I was waiting. I was polite and patience, very passive. No excuse for the dirty windshield and the filthy cabin, truck had less than 5,100 miles which was the only upside, and I came back with more fuel than it had....no compensation? And too many people outside haggling you for movers. Big no no.

Matthew S. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Air conditioner in car didn't see the work. They also gave me the wrong directions for finding my van.

BRIAN D. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The dolly strapped to the inside of the truck was loose and I didn't inspect the inside so it bounced around when I was driving away. But I wasn't charged for it so I am not complaining but the thing of having it in an awkward place I can live without. Let people rent it from the building or position it better in the truck.

Jeffrey C. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The check in attendant; was lousy and she was in the middle of her breakfast as she was checking me in; I have rented U hauls many times and this time I thought I was in a cheap lottery stand. I am particularly disturbed that the truck I was given had sheet rock all over it's floor. When I mentioned it to the attendant he did not apologize nor offer me another truck having tons parked in the lot. I now have to clean my entire house and building hallways to clean the left over sheet rock dust. I will be disputing the charges for this truck unless otherwise done so by U haul.

JOHANNES W. on 6/10/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Only dropped the car off , the crew was nice . A little on organized .

JOSEPH C. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Be more attentive. 25 min waiting in line before I was even acknowledged by anyone in the store.

NATALIE L. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The customer service at this location was horrific. I reserved a storage unit over the phone and was promised it would be first floor. When I showed up the next day I was given a 4th floor unit and no one cared when I showed them my reservation email. I was very upset but took the unit. I specifically asked/made the uhaul employees confirm I wouldn't have any problems accessing my storage unit when I came two days later (my scheduled move in date) and made the uhaul employee repeat to me that my unit was recorded in the system as being mine. When I arrived two days later I was of course told there was no reservation on file and had to jump through hoops to get a unit. I've never been so furious. The woman who helped me couldn't have cared less that I had been given the run around. I cannot wait to move my items out of this locarion. I plan to do so at my first opportunity.

YAYNE-ABEBA W. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They lied about how long I had the vehicle. Thought I had it for 24 hours when I only had it till 7 PM. Returned it early. At the time that I checked in to return the vehicle , the person who helped me return the vehicle told me I'd be charged an additional $35 I asked to speak to a manager. She said they don't have managers . I went inside and found out I'm being credited $35 . Your check in and check out staff come across as rude and indifferent. The whole experience was stressful and I felt like I was lied to. I had the vehicle from 9 to 4 and I was charged more than I was quoted online. Your staff are awful and should not be working with customers

Christopher G on 6/8/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

- Ubox id code scratched off. - Box latch misaligned and missing corner support, tipping. - Boxes couldn`t be delivered, because the Ubox staff didn`t show up to work.

Christopher G on 6/8/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

- Ubox id code scratched off. - Box latch misaligned and missing corner support, tipping. - Boxes couldn`t be delivered, because the Ubox staff didn`t show up to work.

FREDERICK C. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Guy who we dropped off the uhaul to was awesome and very helpful

JENNIFER R on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The facility seems fine but there are too many homeless people hanging around including coming inside the loafing dock and it made it seem unsafe. I would be uncomfortable there alone.

roger h. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It became difficult to determine when to pick up the truck, so when we arrived at the Bryant location, we witnessed some chaos. The final result was good; the stress was unnecessary. The truck we were assigned was excellent and very reliable/comfortable for the long ride to Minnesota. U-Haul is a reputable company to deal with; they keep us informed on-line.

JOSEPH C. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They are to short stuff. Have to wait ten minutes to return my rental.

Sarah V. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The facility & equipment were nice and well maintained. The rental process was quick and easy! The customer service skills of the employees leave much to be desired. Many employees having personal conversations and seem annoyed to have to help anyone.

Rita D. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck smelled of urine and was repulsive. The staff seemed very resigned to the disgusting nature of the facilities and vehicles.

ANNA L. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a sign saying "stop here and wait for attendant" for the truck return...but no one was there to help me. I had to get out of the truck, wander around, and then come back after not finding anyone...only to then find the UHaul person finishing with another customer. Very confusing.

JoAnn H. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It might be helpful if you didn't feel so harassed in the SF location to hire people hanging around the area.

Kristin M. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

WORST MOVING EXPERIENCE EVER

EMMA O. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Slow service. Only 1 person working when I arrived. Long line.

Matthew M. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great...loved the van. Price was reasonable & staff was helpfull.

Lisa N. on 6/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More yard workers to retrieve carts assist customers in the building, on the loading dock, and parking lot. Hire more people & pay them well to better assist customers.

Gabriela D. on 6/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was so extremely helpful and assisted with switching from one truck to a larger one. I also appreciated getting a phone call that told me where I could return the truck on my one-way stop. Great service!

WINFIELD S. on 6/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars