U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

Share |

Address

1000 Sherman Ave
Elizabeth, NJ 07202

(908) 355-6462

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

THERESA S. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was serviced by Dawn. She expressed to me that she was the manager once I advised her I felt she was being rude and the customer service was poor. Her tone of voice was very sarcastic and mean. She was rushing the process. She did not thoroughly explain what I was signing and why. She also did not explain my estimated charges to me. When I asked her to slow down and elaborate, she stated, " I did explain it to you. Like I said earlier." She made me feel very uncomfortable. She asked me to do several things at once. She became upset when I wanted to thoroughly read a document she gave me before signing it. She spoke over me when I told her I felt she was being rude and disrespectful. She stated she was not doing anything wrong instead of acknowledging how I felt. She was also on her cell phone during the beginning of the interaction. I was polite and respectful to her but the same behavior was not returned to me. Then the lock that was located on the back of the U-Haul truck was jammed. A staff member stated she knew it was jammed before the issue was reported. Nothing was done before the truck pick up to resolve the issue.

Kiem R. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was the second location I had to go to because the forst location over booked. The location was 10 miles from where I was suppose to be originally but the lady at the second location was very nice. I never recieved the $50 guarantee if the location is changed

LAZARO G. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The trailer that was given to me was old and very poor condition. One of the tires on the trailer went flat when the road side assistance person lifted trailer the wheels had excessive play. I believe this trailer is not road worthy.

GLENN G. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Improve cleaning inside the car especially driver side

RODRIGO S. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing bad to say about this location everybody there is awesome specially Dawn the GM, I love them

Jeffrey B. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

-- Received a text message confirming for a different location in a different town than on the reservation, so again, had to call the corporate office and square this to the dropoff location that was reserved. Again, UHaul dropped the ball here -- perhaps the Online Reservation system has problems, or personnel don't always look carefully at pickup times and pickup/dropoff locations. In any event, there is certainly room for improvement in this area. -- Overall, the truck rental was good -- the equipment served the purpose, the cab was comfortable, the A/C and radio worked well, and the truck handled well.

NOEL T. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had the complaint about my reservation,because I make a reservation three month ago in one location in Linden New Jersey with 1100 Dollars by truck and 164 by Tow Dolly for 5 days I should pick up the truck at 9.00 am 06-30-2014.I called one week before for check my reservation and the person encharged told me that all is ok but when I called him tree days before he does not answer me and the day before receive 3 message from U-Haul for give me information about my pick up truck and for surprise me I'll go to pick up the truck 7 miles from the store that I make appointment and the Tow Dolly in another location in Elizabeth,Is incredible that some client make a reservation times ago and happened things like this.The person encharged of the office in this location told me that i had 5 days for drop the truck and Dolly and if the office is closed I need to left inside the keys box the keys of the car in any place nearly to me .

ED C. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Hire more help give the help a raise.

HERNAN R. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

thanks. excellent service. very nice

HYE K. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The guy who checks in the trucks need to double check where they mark the gas line on the slips.

ROBERT S. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pick up location is change on me at the last minute they want to give me a small truck then what I order The 800 number was rude to me and my wife very unhelpful I do not think that I would recommend to anyone

WALIF G. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service was great

ALICIA B. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No one verified or looked in the truck with me at the time of delivery...

WILLIAM W. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The counterperson (Erica?) was very thorough and professional. The transaction was quick and accurate, and the vehicle was clean and in great shape. Nicely done!

Tyrone T. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Better customer service. The employees were indifferent to customers presence. Store opened late and the employees are not friendly. They never say "can I help you". They walk past you like your not there. Never said "thank you" or have a good day. its like going to the DMV were no one cares.

LUIS O. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The attendants are absolutely not prepared to deal with people. We made a reservation for one type of vehicle and it is not there. We heard from hour employee "It is one way deal, take ut or leave". She us not carrying nametag and was impossible to know her name. Nasty person..

MARCIA W. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

immediately release hold on bank account using debit cards- double check equipment for problems have at least two people working at site to avoid unnecessary delays start time calculated when u enter to avoid xtra charges

GEORGE H. on 6/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You need to improve your contracts online. Its not clear at all what you get for when you order.

AMANDA S. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

N/A

Jessica M. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, again the service agent was polite and courteous. We pulled up he scanned us in, checked the vehicle and we were off.

AUDIN A. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The vin has previous damage that was not repaired.

MAVIS F. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The GM manager was very nice.

TOM L. on 6/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

U-Haul in Elizabeth is without doubt the best U-Haul office in New Jersey. My most sincere appreciation for Mr. Erik Valdez and everyone in the Elizabeth office. They made everything work. They are so worthy to be praised!

Laura g. on 6/19/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When one is renting a commercial vehicle such as a cargo VAN for example and plans to keep it overnight/for five days, the customer should be informed or reminded by u-haul: they may get a $90, court appearance required, parking ticket from Elizabeth NJ police for parking a commercial vehicle on the very street they live on. And that between the hours of 9pm and 6am you better magically find yourself a driveway to park it in and a ride back home..

CARRIGAN D. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck was not clean but that really wasn't a very big deal. I had two pretty significant issues at this location. First, I'm not from the Elizabeth, NJ area and found myself lost for nearly an hour trying to navigate the countless low clearance bridges. My truck's clearance was 12' and it took me an hour to find an acceptable way out. In the end, I had to take Route 1 S (instead of the Turnpike) to Trenton where I was scheduled to pick up a tow dolly. If GPS, with truck routes, or even a strip map were provided this would have bee completely avoided. Second, it wasn't until I was well on my way to Trenton that I realized the truck I had rented did not have air conditioning. Even on the highways the temperature was practically unbearable. This is not the first time I've had this problem with U-Haul but on a long distance move to SC from NJ - unacceptable. The can temperature was so high I had to change my travel plans and have my wife drive her vehicle (instead of towing it) so as to not subject her to my misfortune. When I arrived at the Trenton location the young lady was sympathetic but ultimately could not help. I would've taken the truck back but my timeline for loading the truck was so tight we barely made it out on time as it was.

ANITA A. on 6/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The lady was very helpful in assisting me with a plan that was most beneficial economically and otherwise.

KIMBERLY L. on 6/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was excellent

Karen B. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The assistant in the yard was very slack. As a woman I was even more disappointed with the lack of help. The yard attendant expected me to hook up the heavy trailer. I had to actually ask for help rather than be asked if I needed help. Seriously... this is not how customer service should be!! And the trailer smelled like Fish.

EMMANUEL O A. on 6/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice customer care. I love the way the lady explained the term, insurance and hourly use of the van. Most importantly the guy who took the van in was fast and excellent

JASON V. on 6/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect

joy b. on 6/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the service was friendly and fast. the customer service lady was very friendly and explained everything

JESSIE C. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Lines were long spent about 30 mins standing on line.need more ppl working to get customers out faster

REGINA D on 5/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Price for rental is to expensive.

OBADIAH B. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service options! My first move I hired a company, who charged me $1,800 in labor. U-haul saved me over a $1,400 in service options. I will use this location again in the future!

VICTORIA R. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

While the experience with this location was phenomenal, I was originally set to drop off the uhaul I rented at K&M Auto on Frelinghuysen Ave in Newark. Thankfully there was an individual on sight at K&M to let me know that their location no longer accepts Uhauls and directed me to the location in Elizabeth. I strongly recommend updating the Uhaul website and removing the K&M drop off site from the list.

Lauren M. on 5/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvements needed; very clean, friendly and professional location and personnel.

Damaris A. on 5/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I always love to use this location for my moving needs. Dawn was very helpful and speedy with the check-in process.

PETER A. on 5/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No problems.. Truck was ready and easy return.

John F. on 5/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The woman who served me was very friendly and helpful. I have com complaints whatsoever about that location. However, my original reservation was for 6pm with the U-Haul location at J&M Prime Auto Body in Union. I showed up before 6 pm, passed the person in charge of the store as I entered the parking lot, and was then told that they were closed by someone else who was there. This employee called the manager who refused to return. The 800 number eventually directed me to the Sherman avenue location, which was very inconvenient and necessitated my family having to return to that area late at night to return the truck.

antonio r. on 5/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More Furniture dolly available for rentals.Thanks !

ANGEL M. on 5/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My truck was not available at the original location I requested pickup and to top it off uhual called me and sent me a txt stating that my truck was ready. Long story short I wasted my time going to pick up truck only to be told that I had to travel a few towns over to get my truck. Very bad experience and Ive used uhual before

VICTOR H. on 5/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was real shocked and surprise on the good truck uhaul had for me being I was taking an out of state trip normally they give you a beat up truck..

OLUGBENGA P O. on 5/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep it up and smile to every customer be friendly and businesslike still. .

aleyda g. on 4/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the women was very nice to us. thanks i will come back

YOMAR S. on 4/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Can you please look into an unlimited mileage package? Or a day to day rental unlimited mileage.

ronaldo c. on 4/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I get kind upset because there was a 1/4 tank of gas so i had to stop at gas station, I didnt like because my schedule was already tight and any gain minutes for me was very precious. I believe when you handle a truck to a customer the tank should be full.

RAUL P. on 4/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You have excellent customer service and good pricing. Will use again and recommend to others. Thanks

ANTHONY B. on 4/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Be fairer with the price.The 19.99 is an illusion unless your going across the street and coming right back. Way too much money is spent on mileage and gas. Very, Very disappointed with the price. and we didn't even keep it for the full amount of time. .....we brought it back almost 2 hours early with over the amount of gas.

Luis R. on 4/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

keep up the good work. Thank you

LAZARO H M. on 4/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I can't think of anything to improve on what you already have.I was very please with my experience.

Doel M. on 4/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great truck equals great move!!

SONYA T. on 4/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service and the female customer service person was exceptional. I don't remember her name, however you should look into it and place something her personnel file. She was exceptional. She should be rewarded in some way. I have already told two of my colleagues who are relocating also to go to this U Haul and look for her specifically. Compared to the U Haul on the one & nine she outshines them in professionalism, clean location and knowledge of all the trucks as well as all the products you offer.

theresa h. on 4/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothingthat i could see,,staff was excellant,,,, very knowledgable, and professional. and who ever came up with the idea of the scale to put gaslevel back to orignal point, should get a raise,, made my truck rental experience very pleasant,, trying to do another home project so i have a reason to rent again soon

KARA D. on 4/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the truck needs transmission work. I had doubts as to whether it would make the trip

MICHEAL S. on 4/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Helpful, curteous, respectful and knowledgable sales associates. Great experience. Would definitely use U-Haul again and particularly the Elizabeth location !

ALTERIQUE R. on 4/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager was extremely attentive and knowledgeable..I was very very impressed by her professionalism and attention to detail..we from the inner city are not used to being treated with such dignity and honor..overall 5 out of 5 stars..

BISERKA N. on 3/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was prompt and quick. No complains. The truck had broken glass in the back, which was not cleaned from the previous customer. The moving guys that I've booked and paid through the U Haul website did not show up at all!

Jessica M. on 3/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The representatives were helpful and knowledgable.

CRAIG M. on 3/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Speak with employees on putting what the gauges actually states instead of what they thing it states. I have had 2 bad experience at location with returning vechiles where the gas is understated as to what is actually stated on gas gauge.

PIUS P on 3/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was ok, the reps can be more friendly and act like they love or like the job.

CAROLYN V on 1/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

For $10 only, we were able to have 24 hr access to our storage unit.

NORMAN EDWARD S on 1/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and Curtis staff. I would highly recommend them.

CAROLYN V on 12/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful staff! It was a pleasure renting from them.

KAREN P on 11/19/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The facility is well kept, staff is very friendly.

RINA V on 10/21/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Easy access not burocratic stress was great. Very practical. Thanks.

JORGE C on 10/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

SANDRA R on 8/10/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was charged a $10 fee to have 24 hour access despite me receiving a letter stating that it was supposed to be free as part of my storage agreement.

KISHORE Y on 7/18/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good. Very friendly staff.

PATRICK V on 6/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff. Friendly and very professional.

ROBERT L on 6/16/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

xoxo

PATRICK V on 4/30/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great friendly and professional. Excellent customer service experience.

SANJAY J on 4/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

you guys ROCKS!!!!

NORMA F on 12/18/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall great experience!

REID U on 12/10/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was Great!

LISA R on 11/6/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I wouldnt change a thing. Customer service was superior.

HELENA R on 8/24/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My rental unit is on the top level of the facility and I am extremely disappointed to find that there is no way to get there except by STAIRS. No elevator. REALLY!

KIM W on 8/20/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the staff was very courteous and friendly thank you

DEREK L on 7/22/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Did not like having pest traps in my unit, could have used a light to see inside the unit otherwise great experience - easy to get in and out and facility was safe and felt clean overall

MELISSA C on 7/17/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would prefer the ACCESS hours to extend into the evening on Sundays, being that it`s more convenient for people to move on the weekends rather than during the week.

DEREK L on 6/22/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clerk was very friendly and helpful, storage was easy to access and appears safe because it is indoors storage unit could have been cleaner

KATHERINE A P on 6/16/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was fine.

MAYURESH S on 6/10/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The hours need to be longer

ALISHA F on 6/8/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They are impossible to get ahold of. I tried to contact U-Haul in Elizabeth NJ for 4 days before I finally got someone to pick up my boxes.

LAWRENCE S on 3/9/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

wasn`t told about all the fees upfront. also had problems due in payment due to a hold placed on my account which i was told wouldn`t be resolved for 5 days, but the hold was lifted that day.

DAVID S on 3/5/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

friendly staff and on time delivery

PIUS P on 1/24/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was outstanding and the manager went above and beyound to make sure my move was nice and easy.

MICHAEL A on 11/21/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was very good!

DONALD L on 9/30/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very, very good. The young lady at the counter was lovely!

GRETCHEN P on 9/8/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very clean. everyone very professional.

MEISHA JOVONE F on 8/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The store was clean but I never get in touch with someone from the actually store when calling.

CHRISTINE V A on 6/24/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dawn and her staff have always been helpful and friendly. I`ve had storage at this facility since 2007. Thanks everyone,

FLAVIO F on 6/12/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good customer service, I`m very happy. Thanks

CHRISTINE V A on 4/26/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young lady who took care of me was extremely nice. Matter of fact, each time I visit the facility or call in to make payment I`ve had no problems.

VERA H on 1/24/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

helpful professional

IVANA B on 1/7/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager onsite dawn is very helpful. She helped make a tough situation easier to deal with.

IDA S on 12/5/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

After 12pm there was only 1 person working and there was a lind of approx 8-10 customers. Seemed a little short on staffing. I had to wait 30+minutes just to reserve an additional storage unit.

DUANE C on 11/6/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The choice in size of the unit we used was perfect, so I wasn`t paying for a unit with too much or not enough space. The manager Dawn was very pleasant.

LUIS H on 8/22/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and clean facility.

LUIS H on 7/23/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dawn was excellent in providing my movers directions to the wstorage location.

JEREMY F on 5/25/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

While my experience was good, the pricing was not competitive. There were too many hidden cost and the policies were not the best i.e the disk lock. I left the facility was the cost was too much.

JEREMY F on 3/26/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only complaints are the price of the monthly storage fee. As well as having to purchase a special lock for the faclity.

EILLAEN M W on 12/10/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Dawn was extremely helpful during the time I dealt with the Elizabeth U-Haul store. I found her to be extremely pleasant abd helpful.

MURIEL S on 11/22/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ive had my storage for 3yrs. and the staff at this Uhaul have and had always been professional and courteous. I will definitely use them in the future......

SHEMIK M F on 11/12/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Upon obtaining a storage unit, I was under the assumption that this facility was secure. My storage unit was broken into.

DELI F on 10/13/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best experience ever. Geeral manager was absolutely helpfull in every way possible. Thank you very much for the great help.

MICHAEL ADAM S on 10/3/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

good service

ALVERTO C on 9/14/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

.

DELI F on 9/10/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

both location managers were superb Linden and Elizabeth centers. My move went great. Thank you

LAUREN W on 8/31/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Call me!!!

KEITH G T on 8/20/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good service thanks

PAUL N on 4/2/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I truly liked the U-HAUL service.