U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

Share |

Address

1000 Sherman Ave
Elizabeth, NJ 07202

(908) 355-6462

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

GARY G. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was courteous, efficient & helpful. A great customer experience.

richard f. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i would recommend the location only because its so close to the airport the lady that served me on arrival was very helpful i was worried about returning the van in the location as it was not a nice area on returning the van after hiring it for a week i asked the lady (samantha) if she could call a cab for us as we were from England and had no idea on how to get back to the airport , I don't know any was what she relied her answer shocked me the man behind me in the line called a cab the another lady u-haul worker came in and i asked her and she did call me a cab richard farquhar England

GAZZIE G. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

THE U-HAUL WAS LEAKING WATER ON MY FURNITURE,WHICH I STATED AND THE WORKERS STATED THEY COULD DO ANYTHING FOR ME AND THAT STINKS FOR THE MONEY THEY CHARGED ME.

Jonathan A. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

After a horrible experience leaving out of the uhaul place in 1222 chestnut st , Elizabeth, nj. I decided to cancel my reservations and go to this Uhaul on 1000 Sherman Ave Elizabeth nj.. What can I say I was in and out in 5mins.. the guys were very friendly and attentive. while I just wasted 2 hr 1 at chestnut st with the Rude Guy that didn't know what he was doing and 2 waiting for the bus.. I should kept this as my original Uhaul pick up and it was this location .. Again I can't thank you guys enough for my experience quick and pleasant. . 2 thumbs up #jaeawesomeapproves

ARNULFO R. on 10/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Is a good service and exe lent people

MARK G. on 10/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Trucks were parked very close to each other, making it difficult to get out of space.

James J. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

was nice to have someone come outside when I arrived and took care of check in so I could drop off and leave quickly

GARRETT S. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I asked for a pickup in Jersey City and this location was out of the way.

Anthony B. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The overall maintenance inside the vehicle could have been better. Once nightfall came in inside windshield was unbearable to see out of. I've rented from you guys before and the windshield seems to always be the biggest issue.

ANGEL A. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

If I could think of a suggestion to make this place better Id happily suggest it. However, the Uhaul team handled my reservation and (later that day) my pickup in an extremely satisfactory manner. Congratulations on your team of courteous and helpful individuals. I look forward to my next visit there.

NAKIEDA M. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My only complaint is that when I returned my truck it was only 1 empl, long line. However, customer service was great!

Gabriel G. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You need to have secure parking for customers vehicles while driving the U-HAUl rental. that's unacceptable having to park the vehicle in a non-secure place like public street. specially in that area. also the truck bed was really dirty with some "oil or petroleum" on it. should be sent to a car wash to have them cleaned for next customer like me.

REGINA M. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Just take keys and let customer go.

JOSUE S. on 9/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged for gas even when I delivered truck with more gas than when delivered to me

MICHAEL F. on 9/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

outstanding service and great employees

GAIL L. on 9/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing to improve. You r great!!!

Manuel G. on 9/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

everything was perfect

ANTONETTE D on 9/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Things were stolen out of my storage unit. When I called, I was told my unit didn`t looked tampered with like I was lying when I know what I own.

SONIA B. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people that work there are excellent customer service reps. I was extremely impressed by the knowledge they showed and the way in which they conduct business. They deserve a pay raise!! They were EXCELLENT!!!!!

MARY G. on 9/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The person handling payment needed help correcting a mistake on the price quote.

MICHELLE E. on 9/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service was great, the employees explained everything in great detail.

LEROY H. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Proper staffing makes a big difference. Only one person was on duty. And she was trying to be everywhere.

Jill P. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The women who were behind the counter were so helpful and kind. It is refreshing to see such a commitment to customer service and satisfaction. Both of them deserve some sort of recognition- they placed my needs at the forefront and did everything they could to accommodate me. Moving is tough enough, it was nice to at least have one thing go so easily and pleasantly. I wish those women worked for the utility companies. They could teach them a thing or to about professionalism. I could not tell you anything that needed to be improved.

CARLOS R. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service .!! The staff is awesome !!

ASA J V. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service when calling is horrible. They were very unorganized and I got different answers from different people for the same question.

anthony a. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

i loved van great experience looking foward to give repeat business

YAHAIRAH S. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Have a working truck not one that is going to leave you in the middle of the road

PHIL R. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Employees here are friendly and down to earth. Everything went smoothly.

BRIAN J. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was only one person working, and she was excellent but completely overwhelmed by the number of people needing service. The location signage was difficult to see, there was too much going on in too small of a space (storage units, parked trucks, drop off and pick up, customer parking) and correct drop off location not enforced, so there were cars going every direction and a$$holes trying to drive around people to cut in line for service.

PETRO M. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the GREAT WORK !!!!!

JAMES A. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Find a location that is not an hour out of my way.your pickup point was not even close to my travel plans.

masiel t. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly, they explained everything i needed to know. I would surely come back for my next move.

LORENZO E. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

After taking the van back they said I was short 3 gallons of gas. In total I drove 8.3 miles! They said I should have checked the gauge before taking it. It was so comical I paid the fuel fee and went a out my business. Will NEVER go back there again.

LINDEN S. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was in the office before 9:00 AM, hence not a long wait. However, I did not see any waiting area with seats, for a busy day of customers. There is only one computer...how does that play out on a busy day?

GLENN R. on 8/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Erika was very helpful. I never used an auto-transport before, she fully explained everything I needed to know .I was very happy with the equipment and the knowledgeable sale staff.A great experience.Thank you Erika and Erik

KIRAN G. on 8/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person who helped me here is cheerful and have pleasant smile and the place is good & tidy. the reservation process is so fast

Ciro M. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything good

MICHAEL Z. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your employees were attentive, accommodating, and very helpful. Highly Recommend!

LEON D C. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing just keep up the good work y'all are doing .

FRANK B. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even though this was not my first preference for a pick up location as it was not closest to where i was loading the truck. The accessibility and overall size of the location was good. The overall pick up and get on my way procedure was very quick and efficient.

MARIA N. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service thank you

SARAH MONAY S. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I filled the tank up and they would not even credit me 10-20 dollars back I was only supposed to fill the tank half way.

MELISSA D. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great. Keep up the good work.

ROBERT L. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All staff was well trained and gave out all the info you needed to know. Staff was friendly even when they were very busy.

AARON G. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

What can I say. I made a reservation for Charlottesville, Virginia, where I live, for a one-way haul to NJ I received a text message the day before pickup of the truck, informing me that my truck would be available in Mineral, Virginia. I was on the phone a dozen times, with very unhelpful operators. One operator instead of changing my truck to my home city, made a second rental for me on a truck. Thanks, but did not need two Uhaul truck rentals. Another operator "helped" me by cancelling my auto trailer. That was a pleasant experience after I drove the hour in the opposite direction to pick up my truck and trailer. Apparently I was expected to then pick up my auto trailer in Charlottesville. Yeah, I guess my ghost driver could drive two car an hour to pick up a trailer. Lovely. I spent over two hours in total on the phone, had my call "disconnected" or "re-routed" numerous times, and basically got f#$%% over. I hate Uhaul. The only pleasant thing I can say is that the folks in Mineral Virginia were extremely nice, pleasant, and cordial. That appears to be how things work. There are good folks who are operators, and a bunch of #$$% in corporate. I hate Uhaul. Do not rent from them unless you must. And of course you must, as there are only two national alternatives, who are both far smaller.

ronald m. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was nice and clean and above average but the personnel wanted to charge me.a extra $16.00 after I told him I got the truck with the fuel.at the 7/16 mark. I was disappointed. I had to delay my time to go in find a manager tell her my dilemma answer a bunch of questions and wait for her to tap keys and buttons to delete the extra charge from my bill. I don't get that from rental places I go to and a big company like u haul shouldn't be trying to tax the consumers extra like that when I could've easily put the $5.00 of fuel in the truck than be charged 16.00.

john f. on 7/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

#10

THERESA S. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was serviced by Dawn. She expressed to me that she was the manager once I advised her I felt she was being rude and the customer service was poor. Her tone of voice was very sarcastic and mean. She was rushing the process. She did not thoroughly explain what I was signing and why. She also did not explain my estimated charges to me. When I asked her to slow down and elaborate, she stated, " I did explain it to you. Like I said earlier." She made me feel very uncomfortable. She asked me to do several things at once. She became upset when I wanted to thoroughly read a document she gave me before signing it. She spoke over me when I told her I felt she was being rude and disrespectful. She stated she was not doing anything wrong instead of acknowledging how I felt. She was also on her cell phone during the beginning of the interaction. I was polite and respectful to her but the same behavior was not returned to me. Then the lock that was located on the back of the U-Haul truck was jammed. A staff member stated she knew it was jammed before the issue was reported. Nothing was done before the truck pick up to resolve the issue.

Kiem R. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was the second location I had to go to because the forst location over booked. The location was 10 miles from where I was suppose to be originally but the lady at the second location was very nice. I never recieved the $50 guarantee if the location is changed

LAZARO G. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The trailer that was given to me was old and very poor condition. One of the tires on the trailer went flat when the road side assistance person lifted trailer the wheels had excessive play. I believe this trailer is not road worthy.

GLENN G. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Improve cleaning inside the car especially driver side

RODRIGO S. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing bad to say about this location everybody there is awesome specially Dawn the GM, I love them

Jeffrey B. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

-- Received a text message confirming for a different location in a different town than on the reservation, so again, had to call the corporate office and square this to the dropoff location that was reserved. Again, UHaul dropped the ball here -- perhaps the Online Reservation system has problems, or personnel don't always look carefully at pickup times and pickup/dropoff locations. In any event, there is certainly room for improvement in this area. -- Overall, the truck rental was good -- the equipment served the purpose, the cab was comfortable, the A/C and radio worked well, and the truck handled well.

NOEL T. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had the complaint about my reservation,because I make a reservation three month ago in one location in Linden New Jersey with 1100 Dollars by truck and 164 by Tow Dolly for 5 days I should pick up the truck at 9.00 am 06-30-2014.I called one week before for check my reservation and the person encharged told me that all is ok but when I called him tree days before he does not answer me and the day before receive 3 message from U-Haul for give me information about my pick up truck and for surprise me I'll go to pick up the truck 7 miles from the store that I make appointment and the Tow Dolly in another location in Elizabeth,Is incredible that some client make a reservation times ago and happened things like this.The person encharged of the office in this location told me that i had 5 days for drop the truck and Dolly and if the office is closed I need to left inside the keys box the keys of the car in any place nearly to me .

ED C. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Hire more help give the help a raise.

HERNAN R. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

thanks. excellent service. very nice

HYE K. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The guy who checks in the trucks need to double check where they mark the gas line on the slips.

ROBERT S. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pick up location is change on me at the last minute they want to give me a small truck then what I order The 800 number was rude to me and my wife very unhelpful I do not think that I would recommend to anyone

WALIF G. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service was great

ALICIA B. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No one verified or looked in the truck with me at the time of delivery...

WILLIAM W. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The counterperson (Erica?) was very thorough and professional. The transaction was quick and accurate, and the vehicle was clean and in great shape. Nicely done!

Tyrone T. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Better customer service. The employees were indifferent to customers presence. Store opened late and the employees are not friendly. They never say "can I help you". They walk past you like your not there. Never said "thank you" or have a good day. its like going to the DMV were no one cares.

LUIS O. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The attendants are absolutely not prepared to deal with people. We made a reservation for one type of vehicle and it is not there. We heard from hour employee "It is one way deal, take ut or leave". She us not carrying nametag and was impossible to know her name. Nasty person..

MARCIA W. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

immediately release hold on bank account using debit cards- double check equipment for problems have at least two people working at site to avoid unnecessary delays start time calculated when u enter to avoid xtra charges

GEORGE H. on 6/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You need to improve your contracts online. Its not clear at all what you get for when you order.

AMANDA S. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

N/A

Jessica M. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, again the service agent was polite and courteous. We pulled up he scanned us in, checked the vehicle and we were off.

REGINA D on 5/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Price for rental is to expensive.

PIUS P on 3/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was ok, the reps can be more friendly and act like they love or like the job.

CAROLYN V on 1/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

For $10 only, we were able to have 24 hr access to our storage unit.

NORMAN EDWARD S on 1/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and Curtis staff. I would highly recommend them.

CAROLYN V on 12/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful staff! It was a pleasure renting from them.

KAREN P on 11/19/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The facility is well kept, staff is very friendly.

RINA V on 10/21/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Easy access not burocratic stress was great. Very practical. Thanks.

JORGE C on 10/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

SANDRA R on 8/10/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was charged a $10 fee to have 24 hour access despite me receiving a letter stating that it was supposed to be free as part of my storage agreement.

KISHORE Y on 7/18/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good. Very friendly staff.

PATRICK V on 6/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff. Friendly and very professional.

ROBERT L on 6/16/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

xoxo

PATRICK V on 4/30/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great friendly and professional. Excellent customer service experience.

SANJAY J on 4/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

you guys ROCKS!!!!

NORMA F on 12/18/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall great experience!

REID U on 12/10/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was Great!

LISA R on 11/6/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I wouldnt change a thing. Customer service was superior.

HELENA R on 8/24/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My rental unit is on the top level of the facility and I am extremely disappointed to find that there is no way to get there except by STAIRS. No elevator. REALLY!

KIM W on 8/20/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the staff was very courteous and friendly thank you

DEREK L on 7/22/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Did not like having pest traps in my unit, could have used a light to see inside the unit otherwise great experience - easy to get in and out and facility was safe and felt clean overall

MELISSA C on 7/17/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would prefer the ACCESS hours to extend into the evening on Sundays, being that it`s more convenient for people to move on the weekends rather than during the week.

DEREK L on 6/22/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clerk was very friendly and helpful, storage was easy to access and appears safe because it is indoors storage unit could have been cleaner

KATHERINE A P on 6/16/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was fine.

MAYURESH S on 6/10/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The hours need to be longer

ALISHA F on 6/8/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They are impossible to get ahold of. I tried to contact U-Haul in Elizabeth NJ for 4 days before I finally got someone to pick up my boxes.

LAWRENCE S on 3/9/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

wasn`t told about all the fees upfront. also had problems due in payment due to a hold placed on my account which i was told wouldn`t be resolved for 5 days, but the hold was lifted that day.

DAVID S on 3/5/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

friendly staff and on time delivery

PIUS P on 1/24/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was outstanding and the manager went above and beyound to make sure my move was nice and easy.

MICHAEL A on 11/21/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was very good!

DONALD L on 9/30/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very, very good. The young lady at the counter was lovely!

GRETCHEN P on 9/8/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very clean. everyone very professional.

MEISHA JOVONE F on 8/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The store was clean but I never get in touch with someone from the actually store when calling.

CHRISTINE V A on 6/24/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dawn and her staff have always been helpful and friendly. I`ve had storage at this facility since 2007. Thanks everyone,

FLAVIO F on 6/12/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good customer service, I`m very happy. Thanks

CHRISTINE V A on 4/26/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young lady who took care of me was extremely nice. Matter of fact, each time I visit the facility or call in to make payment I`ve had no problems.

VERA H on 1/24/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

helpful professional

IVANA B on 1/7/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager onsite dawn is very helpful. She helped make a tough situation easier to deal with.

IDA S on 12/5/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

After 12pm there was only 1 person working and there was a lind of approx 8-10 customers. Seemed a little short on staffing. I had to wait 30+minutes just to reserve an additional storage unit.

DUANE C on 11/6/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The choice in size of the unit we used was perfect, so I wasn`t paying for a unit with too much or not enough space. The manager Dawn was very pleasant.

LUIS H on 8/22/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and clean facility.

LUIS H on 7/23/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dawn was excellent in providing my movers directions to the wstorage location.

JEREMY F on 5/25/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

While my experience was good, the pricing was not competitive. There were too many hidden cost and the policies were not the best i.e the disk lock. I left the facility was the cost was too much.

JEREMY F on 3/26/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only complaints are the price of the monthly storage fee. As well as having to purchase a special lock for the faclity.

EILLAEN M W on 12/10/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Dawn was extremely helpful during the time I dealt with the Elizabeth U-Haul store. I found her to be extremely pleasant abd helpful.

MURIEL S on 11/22/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ive had my storage for 3yrs. and the staff at this Uhaul have and had always been professional and courteous. I will definitely use them in the future......

SHEMIK M F on 11/12/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Upon obtaining a storage unit, I was under the assumption that this facility was secure. My storage unit was broken into.

DELI F on 10/13/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best experience ever. Geeral manager was absolutely helpfull in every way possible. Thank you very much for the great help.

MICHAEL ADAM S on 10/3/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

good service

ALVERTO C on 9/14/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

.

DELI F on 9/10/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

both location managers were superb Linden and Elizabeth centers. My move went great. Thank you

LAUREN W on 8/31/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Call me!!!

KEITH G T on 8/20/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good service thanks

PAUL N on 4/2/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I truly liked the U-HAUL service.