U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Share |

Address

899 W Baltimore St
Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 879-5852

(Take 94 either direction to Lodge fwy 1st exit east)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 24 hours

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

RONDA T T on 4/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received excellent customer service. I wanted the 1 large unit but was offered 2 small units, 1 free. Over and Beyond! Thank you for making what was a difficult situation a lot easier.

kyra l. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When a reservation is made and put in the system. Please be sure that not more than one location chooses the reservation. 2 U-haul locations selected my reservation which reflected in one cancellation that wiped out my reservation. That made my actual reservation get reserved by someone else. Luckily I had a representative that was willing to work something out to make sure I was satisfied. It would've been a whole lot of drama if I didn't get my rental as reserved as I was going out of town!!!! I'm happy that didn't happen.

JULIAN W on 4/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone there is extremely patient, helpful, courteous, knowledgeable, and very professional. Breathe of fresh air interacting with people like that.

BILL S on 4/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone was great. Facility was amazing. 2 5x8 units do not equal 10x16. I would still rent if I could get the space that I need for the appropriate price

Bonita B. on 4/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just keep doing what you are already doing and that is excellent customer service. Look forward to doing business with u all again in the future.

DREW A. on 4/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service - the guys did a great job making sure that the truck was ready to go and helped me decide on some of the different things I would need to get the job done. Thank you for all your help!

KATHY H on 4/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good

DINA C. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Coffee, in the lobby.

GLEN H on 4/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager and crew were courteous and professional!!

GLEN H on 4/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager and crew were courteous and professional!!

SOPHIA H. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Thank you!

Todd S. on 3/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sweet location, laid back but extremely efficient employees.

LADONNA Y. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Communicate to the client that they need to return to the Uhaul store for a refund instead of having them call multiple people and being handed off several times. Its very frustrating.

CAROLYN C. on 3/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the excellent work .. The manager was extremely helpful in being a hands-on person.

ANDREY R. on 3/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff got me in and out, fast! Thanks

CHRISTINE P. on 3/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The two employees that helped me were great, knowledgeable, curious, very professional! AAA+

peter g. on 3/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I appreciated the great, friendly service! The cargo floor covered in fine dirt, as if it had not been cleaned.

CYNTHIA R. on 3/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful staff and overall experience :)

ANGELINA R. on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Guys very nice, professional and clean...pleasure doing business with them...will return

Laura H. on 3/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went very smoothly for me.

ANDRE S on 3/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I find this storage facility and its office very clean, inviting. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall I enjoyed my experience there and would definitely recommend it to others.

DARRYL J. on 3/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The lock on the truck didn't work so I couldn't secure my things over night, I just had to hope No one steal my things.

Anthony J. on 3/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Clean equipment and professional staff.

CARMEN L on 3/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The uhaul representative was very professional, knowledgeable, helpful. Moving can be stressful its nice to deal with courteous people. Thank you, 5 stars...

SARIETHA-KASUUN D. on 3/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I experienced poor gas mileage in the truck I rented. I also noticed that it has engine miss, which has relationship with the spark plugs. I felt that spark plugs has not been replaced from long time.

Tara M. on 3/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No need for improvement. The two gentlemen that took care of me were pleasant and time efficient! Excellent customer service.

KERRIE T on 3/1/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It would have been a better experience if the front desk staff was more professional. The few times I came there the men behind the desk were not polite cursing

BILL S on 2/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reserved a 10x10x16 unit, what I really got was 2, 5x10x8 units which is half the size. They told me they would get me the next available 10x10x15. If not I will have to find space elsewhere.

BARBARA B. on 2/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep smiling

LORI S. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvements that I could suggest. The U-Haul agent who assisted me today, Kyshawn Turner, went above and beyond what I expected of him in assisting a smooth transaction with the return of my U-Haul 15 ft truck and one way auto-transporter. Thanks for the professionalism and assistance!

THOMAS B. on 2/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome, Friendly, and Quick

Kevin K. on 2/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Went above and beyond to ensure a satisfying customer experience.

John P. on 2/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mantain clean vehicles.

BRENT F. on 2/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was great. Everything thing went smoothly and over all had a great experience with my first time with uhaul. :)

KEVIN F. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The New Center's U-Haul Moving & Storage, located on (w) Baltimore St. in Detroit, MI. , has provided excellence and positive experiences with all my reservations.

LILLIAN C E. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My final rental cost came to 265.18, however, I was charged 318.00 and we have been given the run around in order to correct it and recieve the balance. When my husband attempted to speak to someone about it, he was hung up on several times. I recieved a voice mail from someone ranting for over two minutes about the situation. I am expecting this to be handled asap.

ANDRE S on 2/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really loved this U-Haul storage facility. It was well maintained. The staff was very courteous and if I ever need storage again or need to rent a truch I will return to this location.

MARY P. on 2/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I made a call in to the call center to inquire about a problem I had after my visit and never recieved a call back.. Have a little courtesy and return a call when you say you will

PAUL E. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this location were very, very accommodating, given the ill effects of the weather in Detroit today. Many thanks for their help and flexibility!

CLARA M. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck didn't drive well, window was given frosted not cleaned off. Turned truck in tried to charge me for various petty fees.

WALTER C on 1/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The final delivery could have been a better experience. Went through 2 agents before one finally followed thru and communicated with the delivery point. Arnold Moving was a pleasure to work with.

Rose M. on 1/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Attendants were nice and helpful, gas was full, van was in good condition and clean. Staff was friendlier than any other U-Haul places I've been to, raising my expectations for future U-Haul experiences.

Sandra S. on 1/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people I worked with were very helpful, polite & friendly. My only comment is that there were engine lights on (ck engine & low tire pressure) & I felt that they should have been checked. Otherwise I enjoyed driving the truck.

Ajay K. on 1/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is perfect

KEVIN F. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager and rental agent team are very knowledgeable about my Uhaul needs.

Winnia N. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service, there's nothing.

DARRYL W on 1/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would like to commend the Manager Mr. Anthony Jones and his staff for their excellent customer service skills.

DARRYL W. on 1/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was outstanding as usual and I would like to give a special accolade to the manager, Mr. Anthony Jones and his professional staff Tracy,and Marsalis who happens to be a new trainee. Darryl Angelo Walker

MICHELLE G on 1/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They was nice and I will go back and send people

FANNICE M on 1/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent storage facility with great customer service. I will recommend this facility to anyone I know.

VICKI C. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My husband dropped off the trailer, so I can't reply to some of the questions.

CHARMINN F. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was an inconvenience... The initial reservation was made for a pick up location convenient to my location. When I arrived there (after getting someone to drive me there) I was humiliated by being told that I could not rent equipment because my (valid) driver's license was from out of state, and even though I had my MILITARY ID, I was not allowed to rent the equipment I had reserved unless I was willing to pay (up front, in cash) which meant driving around to find an ATM machine or bank which meant an additional inconvenience for the person who brought me to the location. I will not consider UHaul again, nor will i recommend them to any soldiers/friends in the future.

jenny l. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and prompt customer service! Thank you!

JEFFREY M. on 1/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The guys were helpful but one turn signal didn't work on our trailer and the truck was low on oil

KAREN E. on 1/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was by far the best experience I ever had with a U-Haul Store from the calling in to request information and setting up the reservation to picking up and dropping off the truck. The manager of the store was very helpful in answering my questions and making sure I had everything I needed. I work in customer service but I don't interface with customers and to have this experience was wonderful. To the entire team at the 899 Baltimore U-Haul Facility thank you so very much.

MICHAEL C. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Uhaul need to improve on customer service(some staff in this unit are very unpleasant to approach). Also state all applicable fees at the onset of the transaction.

Christopher G. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy who I returned to I gave sheet that had mileage and gas on it .The guy who brought the truck to me initiated the columns for gas being wrong and fuel so he changed it on papers. The guy inside when I went to get my deposit refused to change it. And laughed even acknowledge ing it was there employees that signed it. No cool aT all. I was charged more than suppose to be. That is a crime

Consuela B. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tyshawn, Marcellus, and Carmisha were outstanding employees!! And each of them as well as the other supporting staff went above and beyond to ensure that both my truck and space rental experience was awesome and stress-less!! I will highly recommend this facility to all my associates furthermore I am so glad to see U-Haul in my community finally...it was a necessary need. Keep up the good work another 70 years!!!!

JEFFIN J. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Contract stated there was 3/4 gallon of gas in truck, there was only 1/2, instead of filling it up, the attendant put a line through the green slip indicating how much gas there was, then he initialed his name and pretended like I wouldn't get charged for the remaining gas missing, I didn't know any better so I went along with it. I not only put in more gas than was initially in the truck, I was also charge for "missing" gas based on the incorrect "3/4" on the contract. Go to another location, with honest folks who are not lazy.

JAMES J. on 12/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Couldn't open unlocked passenger side door on the from the outside . Maybe need a new latch .

DAIDRIA G on 12/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Tracey the Facilities Manager was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and accommodating during my experience. The facility is very secure and I have already recommended it if two people!

CLARISSA M on 12/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manger needs to be a little. More friendly to his staff.

IDELL D on 12/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anthony James and staff were exceptionally professional. I would highly recommend using their facility.

EDWARD D on 11/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with your services I will tell all my friends.

LUIS M on 11/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A 24 hour facility where a rep would always be available would be helpful

KEVIN F on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

See yu soon

DIANE G on 10/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

deceptive advertising---must buy their lock and pay EXTRA for 24 hr. availability to your own stuff??!! NOT OK.

CARYL B on 10/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfied wiith the service and the upkeep of the facility. I will tell others about my great experience for sure!

DIONIS C on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

During move out the freight elevator stopped working and the building was closed due to no electricity. They gave me extra time. Technically, I don`t owe any late fees. Please clear that up. Thanks

KEVIN F on 9/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks

JAMES O on 9/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff is incredibly nice and eager to help. Registration was quick and seamless. The facility was beautifully redone and secure. I doubt there is a better storage facility

FANNICE M on 9/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I strongly recommend this U-Haul the customer service is great and the facility and trucks were will maintained.

VANESSA J on 9/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Horrible experience.One elevator is very inconvenient.I had to pay movers for extra 2 hours of moving, one elevator! I will be moving my stuff as soon as possible,you can`t even use the stairs!

JAMES L on 8/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

While I the customer is utilizing my storage space and restrooms, I feel totally safe within the facility. Yes, I will refer others to become official customers here.

RANDALL P on 8/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

rented a storage bin for the summer to store college furn. we needed to get in after 7 1 nite other than that it was great will rent again

JENEEN S on 8/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I am very pissed with your truck ppl I have reservations to pick a truck get here no truck im pissed and I will never come here again for a uhaul truck never

BABAJIDE A on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

GWEN C on 8/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone from the manager to the gentleman that showed me around were knowledgeable and answered my questions. I left feeling my items were safe and secure.

JEFFREY H on 8/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Anthony does a great customer-focused job of managing the New Center facility. It`s clean, secure and well run, with the welcoming feel of a small, local business.

RAYMOND T on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They saved me money and I really enjoyed my experience overall. Anthony, Dakari and Camisha were outstanding. You guys have a good team there. Please maintain this level..

GRAHAM F on 7/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff here were always friendly and very helpful. I always felt safe at this facility. Thanks.

RICHARD L on 7/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

VERY nice friendly group of young men working there. Obviously concerned with customer satisfaction and safety. They should be commended.

DANIELLE W on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The excellent is for this location and Anthony and his workers. I was incredibly disappointed in the conditions of my uboxes when they first arrived. GROSS.

AISHA S on 6/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was cool. I need someone to call me about refunding me the money from my prorated month!

USIFOH A on 6/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

N/a

MARLA D on 6/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A thoroughly pleasant customer experience. Anthony Jones and all the staff are extremely courteous, knowledgeable and pleasant.

RANDALL P on 5/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very nice place

RHONDA G on 4/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was the best storage facilityin all areas that I have used.

THOMASENIA J on 4/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentleman are always helpful, knowledgeable, and patient. They are pleasant, and accomondating. At this store the customer is always right.

DAN H on 4/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place

TOMASCIA W on 4/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would like to thank the employees for all of their wonderful assistance.

ANTHONY B on 4/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good experience: long walk to storage unit.

RHONDA G on 3/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is absolutely the most professionally run facility I have experienced. It is pristine and very secure.

KIMBERLY D on 3/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone at this facility

ANTHONY B on 3/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was a good first experience. It will take more time to evaluate completely.

ELIZABETH N on 3/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

unhelpful staff. disconnect between policies/locations. checking no way to track box. movers forced to wait over an hour for the uhaul team to prepare the box, despite a confirm email

DARRYL W on 3/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff very professional.

TRINA H on 1/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this store was very helpful when I was renting my truck and getting my storage unit. They were extremely helpful with providing tips for moving and packing my items

SAMUEL S on 1/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities were excellent, very happy with entire experience. Staff was outstanding-extremely helpful and professional. The guy who signed me up and the guy who showed me around were both a class act.

SAMUEL P on 11/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dakari and Gary provided great service at this impressive facility. Despite coming in near closing, they assisted me with getting everything I needed, were thorough, and professional.

MAXIM S on 11/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service at U-haul location. General manager quite helpful, friendly and competent.

MATTHEW B on 10/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Immaculate facility and the best customer service experience I`ve had in years. Friendly, helpful and professional and no surprises in the price. Absolutely top notch. Anthony and Tracy are great.

CAROLYNN R on 9/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff were very courteous and helpful

VERNON R on 9/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Flexible staff that offered options and solutions to issues that arose. Excellent staff!!!

GRAHAM F on 9/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was great, and the employees were very nice.

JEFFREY H on 9/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great, friendly customer service. I was impressed!