U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Share |

Address

899 W Baltimore St
Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 879-5852

(Take 94 either direction to Lodge fwy 1st exit east)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 24 hours

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

BILL S on 2/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reserved a 10x10x16 unit, what I really got was 2, 5x10x8 units which is half the size. They told me they would get me the next available 10x10x15. If not I will have to find space elsewhere.

BARBARA B. on 2/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep smiling

LORI S. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvements that I could suggest. The U-Haul agent who assisted me today, Kyshawn Turner, went above and beyond what I expected of him in assisting a smooth transaction with the return of my U-Haul 15 ft truck and one way auto-transporter. Thanks for the professionalism and assistance!

THOMAS B. on 2/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome, Friendly, and Quick

Kevin K. on 2/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Went above and beyond to ensure a satisfying customer experience.

John P. on 2/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mantain clean vehicles.

BRENT F. on 2/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was great. Everything thing went smoothly and over all had a great experience with my first time with uhaul. :)

KEVIN F. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The New Center's U-Haul Moving & Storage, located on (w) Baltimore St. in Detroit, MI. , has provided excellence and positive experiences with all my reservations.

LILLIAN C E. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My final rental cost came to 265.18, however, I was charged 318.00 and we have been given the run around in order to correct it and recieve the balance. When my husband attempted to speak to someone about it, he was hung up on several times. I recieved a voice mail from someone ranting for over two minutes about the situation. I am expecting this to be handled asap.

ANDRE S on 2/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really loved this U-Haul storage facility. It was well maintained. The staff was very courteous and if I ever need storage again or need to rent a truch I will return to this location.

MARY P. on 2/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I made a call in to the call center to inquire about a problem I had after my visit and never recieved a call back.. Have a little courtesy and return a call when you say you will

PAUL E. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this location were very, very accommodating, given the ill effects of the weather in Detroit today. Many thanks for their help and flexibility!

CLARA M. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck didn't drive well, window was given frosted not cleaned off. Turned truck in tried to charge me for various petty fees.

WALTER C on 1/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The final delivery could have been a better experience. Went through 2 agents before one finally followed thru and communicated with the delivery point. Arnold Moving was a pleasure to work with.

Rose M. on 1/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Attendants were nice and helpful, gas was full, van was in good condition and clean. Staff was friendlier than any other U-Haul places I've been to, raising my expectations for future U-Haul experiences.

Sandra S. on 1/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people I worked with were very helpful, polite & friendly. My only comment is that there were engine lights on (ck engine & low tire pressure) & I felt that they should have been checked. Otherwise I enjoyed driving the truck.

Ajay K. on 1/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is perfect

KEVIN F. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager and rental agent team are very knowledgeable about my Uhaul needs.

Winnia N. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service, there's nothing.

DARRYL W on 1/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would like to commend the Manager Mr. Anthony Jones and his staff for their excellent customer service skills.

DARRYL W. on 1/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was outstanding as usual and I would like to give a special accolade to the manager, Mr. Anthony Jones and his professional staff Tracy,and Marsalis who happens to be a new trainee. Darryl Angelo Walker

MICHELLE G on 1/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They was nice and I will go back and send people

FANNICE M on 1/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent storage facility with great customer service. I will recommend this facility to anyone I know.

VICKI C. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My husband dropped off the trailer, so I can't reply to some of the questions.

CHARMINN F. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was an inconvenience... The initial reservation was made for a pick up location convenient to my location. When I arrived there (after getting someone to drive me there) I was humiliated by being told that I could not rent equipment because my (valid) driver's license was from out of state, and even though I had my MILITARY ID, I was not allowed to rent the equipment I had reserved unless I was willing to pay (up front, in cash) which meant driving around to find an ATM machine or bank which meant an additional inconvenience for the person who brought me to the location. I will not consider UHaul again, nor will i recommend them to any soldiers/friends in the future.

jenny l. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and prompt customer service! Thank you!

JEFFREY M. on 1/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The guys were helpful but one turn signal didn't work on our trailer and the truck was low on oil

KAREN E. on 1/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was by far the best experience I ever had with a U-Haul Store from the calling in to request information and setting up the reservation to picking up and dropping off the truck. The manager of the store was very helpful in answering my questions and making sure I had everything I needed. I work in customer service but I don't interface with customers and to have this experience was wonderful. To the entire team at the 899 Baltimore U-Haul Facility thank you so very much.

MICHAEL C. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Uhaul need to improve on customer service(some staff in this unit are very unpleasant to approach). Also state all applicable fees at the onset of the transaction.

Christopher G. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy who I returned to I gave sheet that had mileage and gas on it .The guy who brought the truck to me initiated the columns for gas being wrong and fuel so he changed it on papers. The guy inside when I went to get my deposit refused to change it. And laughed even acknowledge ing it was there employees that signed it. No cool aT all. I was charged more than suppose to be. That is a crime

Consuela B. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tyshawn, Marcellus, and Carmisha were outstanding employees!! And each of them as well as the other supporting staff went above and beyond to ensure that both my truck and space rental experience was awesome and stress-less!! I will highly recommend this facility to all my associates furthermore I am so glad to see U-Haul in my community finally...it was a necessary need. Keep up the good work another 70 years!!!!

JEFFIN J. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Contract stated there was 3/4 gallon of gas in truck, there was only 1/2, instead of filling it up, the attendant put a line through the green slip indicating how much gas there was, then he initialed his name and pretended like I wouldn't get charged for the remaining gas missing, I didn't know any better so I went along with it. I not only put in more gas than was initially in the truck, I was also charge for "missing" gas based on the incorrect "3/4" on the contract. Go to another location, with honest folks who are not lazy.

JAMES J. on 12/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Couldn't open unlocked passenger side door on the from the outside . Maybe need a new latch .

SHIMON W. on 12/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was a good "in & out" experience. My only comment would be that the staff was very "absent" or "low spirited". To clarify, they were not rude in any way but very robotic and uninterested and it came across as unappreciative. Nothing to reprimand anyone about, but would suggest improving the customer facing experience.

Antonio R. on 12/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is one of the best Uhaul's I have ever been to.

MARY K. on 12/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I represent a group of volunteers that assist children of need at Christmas. U-haul expert service is vital to the success of our annual program. Thank You and Merry Christmas from over 3100 children that participate and receive clothing and toys for the Holiday.

LYNN W. on 12/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Cost could be lower. Everything handled very professional, good experience.

PRAJYOT M. on 12/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A special mention to Albert who helped us on the chat and Oliver who was again exceptional over the phone to change the reservation location just couple of hours from pick up time. All this in the middle of the night. As for the location is concerned, everything was exceptional. The people were extremely professional and polite, truck & equipment were clean, everything was in working condition, and the drop off was marked clearly with a separate key drop Box. The drop off feature helped us and so did an option for our own car parking at your facility. I would have two recommendations: 1) Request to keep trucks fueled at proper mark of fuel tank level indicator so it is easy to keep track. In between marks is difficult to judge. 2) The truck I rented had a Washer fluid icon on the Headlamp turn on knob. It was not a big deal but took me a while to figure out. All in all, I would definitely recommend Uhaul to my friends and would use the service again in future. Thanks a lot for making moving to our new home so easy for us.

DAIDRIA G on 12/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Tracey the Facilities Manager was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and accommodating during my experience. The facility is very secure and I have already recommended it if two people!

CLARISSA M on 12/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manger needs to be a little. More friendly to his staff.

CHENISE M. on 12/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice speedy service. Stayed in contact in regards to service with vehicle. Quick with check out on return of truck and very thorough with all questions in regards to your service.

GORGE C. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great except we were surprised to see this really nice U-haul van so dirty. We are using various vehicle to pick up food and gifts for St Pats Food Pantry. My husband puts every trip on Facebook, tagging St Pats, the donor organization, and Uhaul, and thought you would want the van to look it's best.

MARY K. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Each year for the past 53 years my organization (NEYIC) host huge Christmas celebration for over 4,000 child of need, who are 12 years and under from Metro Detroit. We rely on the use of U-Haul trucks to collect the children's gift and transport them to our Party. Our overall experience is outstanding and U-Haul will be continuously a part of our celebration.

Mary K. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Each year for the past 53 years my organization (NEYIC) host huge Christmas celebration for over 4,000 child of need, who are 12 years and under from Metro Detroit. We rely on the use of U-Haul trucks to collect the children's gift and transport them to our Party. Our overall experience is outstanding and U-Haul will be continuously a part of our celebration.

CEDRIC H. on 12/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great job everyone is friendly

IDELL D on 12/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anthony James and staff were exceptionally professional. I would highly recommend using their facility.

Glenn M. on 12/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I preordered a pic up truck two days prior . You sent me a confirmation number that truck was available ,,, however when I got there at 9 am there was no truck available that I had preordered in advance.. A young man Keyshawn turner tried to locate a truck for me calling to locations to verify truck availablity but there were computer errors to what was in computer and actually there ! So the young man asked me if I would use a van . No I said I need the convince of the truck . He then offered me a cube van . Not what I wanted or reserved but with extra help I was able to make it work. You have a very good young man working for you there .

ALICIA E. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I Have a problem. I was not able to use the tow dolly and returned it the same day. which was on Nov. 28, 2014. Today is Dec. 5, 2014 and I have not received my refund. I am very disappointed with this matter. I would like for someone to contact me on this matter as soon as possible. My phone number is 313-304-0265.

ROBERT M. on 12/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Location had Large truck rentals reserved before I arrived at 8:30 am needs more large vehicles available for walk in customers as well.

TRACY B. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Proud employee of Uhaul.

VINCENT M. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful and professional staff! My checkout was quick and effortless!

ramona s. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Would not change a thing. Very professional.

Talia J. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Guys who work there are consistently there, polite, & complete the proper checks.

WOODRINA R. on 11/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The personnel at this location are very helpful and always go the extra mile. They help take the edge off my moving experience.

GLEN B. on 11/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice guys running the store, took the time to explain everything to me and were very helpfull in everyway, and if anybody asks were to rent a moving truck or get moving supplys this would be the place i would send them to.

JAVON D. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customers should not be charged the last month. The same month their moving out should be free.

BLAKE R. on 11/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff in Detroit was most helpful and professional. I give them all an A+!!!

Chad S. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Know what was in the truck/not in the truck, before renting it out. Was questioned about a missing dollie that was never in the truck. Otherwise a good experience!

PETER M. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Professional and courteous staff...very clean facilities

FONZO O. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work! Thank you very much for you superior service!

George C. on 11/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for the donation, St Pats food pantry. George and Sharon

Rachel F. on 11/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Guys working in the facility were great and very helpful. Also the building that U-Haul is located in was super nice.

Mark P. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good service and the staff was friendly. Anthony Jones III was exceptional and well represents what I look for in a logistic/transportation partner.

CAIRINE C. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck was a little scary, hut it got the job done.

NAJAH A. on 11/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Don't rent out equipment with all the check lights on. Stop overcharging my account and then making me wait for a refund.

deniece p. on 11/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

your service is always excellent!!!!

SHIMON W. on 11/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had the pleasure to be assisted by a rep named "Anthony". I had a poor experience at a previous UHaul, which forced me to come to the Baltimore St location. After becoming aware of my bad experience, Anthony turned my perception around, quickly with good customer service and ownership. Thank you

EDWARD D on 11/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with your services I will tell all my friends.

LUIS M on 11/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A 24 hour facility where a rep would always be available would be helpful

KEVIN F on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

See yu soon

DIANE G on 10/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

deceptive advertising---must buy their lock and pay EXTRA for 24 hr. availability to your own stuff??!! NOT OK.

CARYL B on 10/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfied wiith the service and the upkeep of the facility. I will tell others about my great experience for sure!

DIONIS C on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

During move out the freight elevator stopped working and the building was closed due to no electricity. They gave me extra time. Technically, I don`t owe any late fees. Please clear that up. Thanks

KEVIN F on 9/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks

JAMES O on 9/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff is incredibly nice and eager to help. Registration was quick and seamless. The facility was beautifully redone and secure. I doubt there is a better storage facility

FANNICE M on 9/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I strongly recommend this U-Haul the customer service is great and the facility and trucks were will maintained.

VANESSA J on 9/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Horrible experience.One elevator is very inconvenient.I had to pay movers for extra 2 hours of moving, one elevator! I will be moving my stuff as soon as possible,you can`t even use the stairs!

JAMES L on 8/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

While I the customer is utilizing my storage space and restrooms, I feel totally safe within the facility. Yes, I will refer others to become official customers here.

RANDALL P on 8/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

rented a storage bin for the summer to store college furn. we needed to get in after 7 1 nite other than that it was great will rent again

JENEEN S on 8/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I am very pissed with your truck ppl I have reservations to pick a truck get here no truck im pissed and I will never come here again for a uhaul truck never

BABAJIDE A on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

GWEN C on 8/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone from the manager to the gentleman that showed me around were knowledgeable and answered my questions. I left feeling my items were safe and secure.

JEFFREY H on 8/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Anthony does a great customer-focused job of managing the New Center facility. It`s clean, secure and well run, with the welcoming feel of a small, local business.

RAYMOND T on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They saved me money and I really enjoyed my experience overall. Anthony, Dakari and Camisha were outstanding. You guys have a good team there. Please maintain this level..

GRAHAM F on 7/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff here were always friendly and very helpful. I always felt safe at this facility. Thanks.

RICHARD L on 7/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

VERY nice friendly group of young men working there. Obviously concerned with customer satisfaction and safety. They should be commended.

DANIELLE W on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The excellent is for this location and Anthony and his workers. I was incredibly disappointed in the conditions of my uboxes when they first arrived. GROSS.

AISHA S on 6/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was cool. I need someone to call me about refunding me the money from my prorated month!

USIFOH A on 6/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

N/a

MARLA D on 6/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A thoroughly pleasant customer experience. Anthony Jones and all the staff are extremely courteous, knowledgeable and pleasant.

RANDALL P on 5/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very nice place

RHONDA G on 4/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was the best storage facilityin all areas that I have used.

THOMASENIA J on 4/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentleman are always helpful, knowledgeable, and patient. They are pleasant, and accomondating. At this store the customer is always right.

DAN H on 4/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place

TOMASCIA W on 4/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would like to thank the employees for all of their wonderful assistance.

ANTHONY B on 4/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good experience: long walk to storage unit.

RHONDA G on 3/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is absolutely the most professionally run facility I have experienced. It is pristine and very secure.

KIMBERLY D on 3/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone at this facility

ANTHONY B on 3/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was a good first experience. It will take more time to evaluate completely.

ELIZABETH N on 3/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

unhelpful staff. disconnect between policies/locations. checking no way to track box. movers forced to wait over an hour for the uhaul team to prepare the box, despite a confirm email

DARRYL W on 3/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff very professional.

TRINA H on 1/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this store was very helpful when I was renting my truck and getting my storage unit. They were extremely helpful with providing tips for moving and packing my items

SAMUEL S on 1/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities were excellent, very happy with entire experience. Staff was outstanding-extremely helpful and professional. The guy who signed me up and the guy who showed me around were both a class act.

SAMUEL P on 11/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dakari and Gary provided great service at this impressive facility. Despite coming in near closing, they assisted me with getting everything I needed, were thorough, and professional.

MAXIM S on 11/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service at U-haul location. General manager quite helpful, friendly and competent.

MATTHEW B on 10/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Immaculate facility and the best customer service experience I`ve had in years. Friendly, helpful and professional and no surprises in the price. Absolutely top notch. Anthony and Tracy are great.

CAROLYNN R on 9/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff were very courteous and helpful

VERNON R on 9/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Flexible staff that offered options and solutions to issues that arose. Excellent staff!!!

GRAHAM F on 9/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was great, and the employees were very nice.

JEFFREY H on 9/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great, friendly customer service. I was impressed!