U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Share |

Address

899 W Baltimore St
Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 879-5852

(Take 94 either direction to Lodge fwy 1st exit east)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 24 hours

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

KEVIN F on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

See yu soon

Richard B. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Cargo area had spillage of what appeared to be antifreeze. Was a mess. Windshield was very dirty, difficult to see out of. Kept getting warning lights for needed oil change and for low tire pressure.

KENNETH J. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was a little confused upon arrival about where the entrance to the customer service center was. A sign might be helpful near the main drive directing customers toward the rear of the building. Otherwise a really nice facility!

MELINDA J. on 10/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My sales representatives were very helpful. They had very good customer service practices. The store and location is very clean

Eric F. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect!

DIANE G on 10/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

deceptive advertising---must buy their lock and pay EXTRA for 24 hr. availability to your own stuff??!! NOT OK.

Devin S. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Shorter wait time before associate acknowledges customer. Associate didnt seem to like the job or maybe was having a bad day.

CHRISHAWN D. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was very nice. The general manager was great.

JENNIFER I. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this location is awesome!!! All of the young men are friendly, courteous, knowledgable, helpful, and go above and beyond for the customers.

Keri F. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very very clean location, well staffed, knowledgeable and efficient staff, clean truck and a smooth seamless transaction.

Robert M. on 10/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I did not know I would participate in a review or I would have gotten the names of the staff that assisted me but they were outstanding on pickup and return. I will use this location in the future for my moving & transport needs Thanks for giving me a opportunity to expressed my feelings

BETTY L. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The only problem I had was the mirror on the passenger side of the truck wouldn't stay in place. Thank GOD I had someone in the truck with me to let me know if I could switch lanes.

CARYL B on 10/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfied wiith the service and the upkeep of the facility. I will tell others about my great experience for sure!

DIONIS C on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

During move out the freight elevator stopped working and the building was closed due to no electricity. They gave me extra time. Technically, I don`t owe any late fees. Please clear that up. Thanks

Changsheng Q. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you very much!! Changsheng Qu

Wendy K. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was extremely polite, kind, and helpful. The location was very clean and inviting.

carl e. on 9/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

KEVIN F on 9/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks

PAULA W. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvement will let you

JAMES O on 9/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff is incredibly nice and eager to help. Registration was quick and seamless. The facility was beautifully redone and secure. I doubt there is a better storage facility

ERIK C. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

That vehicle seemed like it was about to fall apart. There was a definite pull to the left, and made sounds which it probably shouldn't be making.

THOMAS M. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented an enclosed 5x8 trailer and the lights did not work. The staff said just be careful. If this was not my last resort in would not have taken the trailer. I know the lights were supposed to be working especially since it was getting dark. If I have to pay full price for something it should work properly.

NATALIE F. on 9/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Impress upon the store manger the importance of getting to WORK ONTIME. Put in your info that tow lights must be same as Uhauls. More than 1 1/2 hours of my time,and extra money WASTED.

CHARESE W. on 9/17/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very friendly staff.

FANNICE M. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I strongly recommend this U-Haul the customer service is great and the facility and trucks are will maintained.

FANNICE M on 9/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I strongly recommend this U-Haul the customer service is great and the facility and trucks were will maintained.

Natalie Y. on 9/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great employees! Friendly and helpful.

ANTHONY J. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was top notch. I would recommend this location to friends.

MICHEAL M. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great; can't think of any suggestions for improvements. Thanks.

VANESSA J on 9/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Horrible experience.One elevator is very inconvenient.I had to pay movers for extra 2 hours of moving, one elevator! I will be moving my stuff as soon as possible,you can`t even use the stairs!

JAMES L on 8/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

While I the customer is utilizing my storage space and restrooms, I feel totally safe within the facility. Yes, I will refer others to become official customers here.

RANDALL P on 8/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

rented a storage bin for the summer to store college furn. we needed to get in after 7 1 nite other than that it was great will rent again

JENEEN S on 8/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I am very pissed with your truck ppl I have reservations to pick a truck get here no truck im pissed and I will never come here again for a uhaul truck never

CARYLON W. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was impressed with the professionalism of the two young people who assisted me. They were courteous and patient and explained the rental process to me.

BABAJIDE A on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

MICHELE B. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was courteous and friendly despite the fact that they were very busy on the day I returned my vehicle. If there was anything I would suggest, it would be to show renters were certain knobs were. I could not find the air conditioning while I was driving and did not think to ask when I was sitting in the lot. (partly my stupidity, I agree, but it still would have been nice.

Barbara U. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Only complaint was that there was not as much gas in the truck as indicated on the paper. The manager was very accomodating, and worked very, very hard to meet our needs. This is the second time we have used this location, and it will not be the last.

MARTIN M. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No suggestions - very pleased with the service

ALBERT S. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was very helpful,professional.

Ophelia O. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck was old..parking break was broken. The truck transmission was bad. It was a hard ride. The service was very good. They were friendly and explained everything well. They apologize for the truck and thanked me for my business.

AMBER D. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facility was well maintained. Staff was very accommodating and courteous.

ANNA B. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The check engine light was on in my rental truck which made me a little nervous, but since I was only driving a short distance, did not end up being an issue.

TASHA W. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have towing equipment available..... I had to keep calling all week up to my date if pick up but uhaul never had any tow equipment available.....

EQLGIA M. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

If you do the same for other customers that you done for me than you want have to worry about the why's because all bases have been covered so we will always come back and pass the word on as to where to go for your next rental. Thanks and God Bless

NANCY H. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was not satisfied due to the inconvience of the location that was giving to me.

GWEN C on 8/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone from the manager to the gentleman that showed me around were knowledgeable and answered my questions. I left feeling my items were safe and secure.

ANTHONY O. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were late picking up our truck. The location was very accommodating and worked it out, but I suggest putting a bigger notice at online checkout about losing your reservation if you are late. I don't remember seeing anything online that stated trucks would only be held for 15 minutes. Thank you.

JEFFREY H on 8/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Anthony does a great customer-focused job of managing the New Center facility. It`s clean, secure and well run, with the welcoming feel of a small, local business.

RAYMOND T on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They saved me money and I really enjoyed my experience overall. Anthony, Dakari and Camisha were outstanding. You guys have a good team there. Please maintain this level..

CORALTILA L. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The associate at the front counter was very friendly and had a welcoming smile. Their customer service was great.

JOHN L. on 7/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys were fantastic. I love the facility too.

RAYMOND P. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Better customer service at check out

HENRY H. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, great location, great Custer service!!!

ROBERT A. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing! The service was excellent, the employees were very professional and neat!

GRAHAM F on 7/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff here were always friendly and very helpful. I always felt safe at this facility. Thanks.

RICHARD L on 7/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

VERY nice friendly group of young men working there. Obviously concerned with customer satisfaction and safety. They should be commended.

DAKARI S. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great location great customer service

LINDA M. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was disappointed to not be able to get a 10' truck and return it in another location. I reserved a truck several days before at the Gratiot location. I found out on moving day that the truck would have to be returned there. Brownstown was the moving destination. Everything had been confirmed including dropping the truck off at a closer location in Taylor after completing our move. We got a different story upon arrival at the Gratiot location. I would warn people to only deal with an actual UHaul company instead of a UHaul subsidiary. They are incapable of ensuring any guarantees, which really invalidates their purpose. We had no choice but to try other locations on moving day. The employees at the Baltimore store were professional and helpful, but were unable to do more on such short notice. We were only able to rent a cargo van, which truly did not accommodate our needs. We had to make several trips from the east side of Detroit to Brownstown. Obviously, these back and forth trips doubled the costs AND we had to return the truck to the Baltimore store. I should have been contacted before the move date about these problems and unavailability of the truck I needed as well as being informed ahead of time of not being able to return the truck at another location. I will be hesitant in the future to choose UHaul. Moving is stressful enough without running into so many problems on the moving date.

Steele L. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Check out of vehicle was extremely fast since I reserved online. I also needed storage space, and he took care of everything all at one time even personally showing us the sample spaces. Great customer service, and would highly recommend to others.

DANIELLE W on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The excellent is for this location and Anthony and his workers. I was incredibly disappointed in the conditions of my uboxes when they first arrived. GROSS.

Pablo B. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Info about gas

BENJAMIN B. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys that work here and always courteous and helpful.

Carlos M. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service!

LEVERT S. on 6/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service!

AISHA S on 6/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was cool. I need someone to call me about refunding me the money from my prorated month!

USIFOH A on 6/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

N/a

MARLA D on 6/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A thoroughly pleasant customer experience. Anthony Jones and all the staff are extremely courteous, knowledgeable and pleasant.

RANDALL P on 5/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very nice place

RHONDA G on 4/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was the best storage facilityin all areas that I have used.

THOMASENIA J on 4/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentleman are always helpful, knowledgeable, and patient. They are pleasant, and accomondating. At this store the customer is always right.

DAN H on 4/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place

TOMASCIA W on 4/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would like to thank the employees for all of their wonderful assistance.

ANTHONY B on 4/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good experience: long walk to storage unit.

RHONDA G on 3/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is absolutely the most professionally run facility I have experienced. It is pristine and very secure.

KIMBERLY D on 3/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone at this facility

ANTHONY B on 3/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was a good first experience. It will take more time to evaluate completely.

ELIZABETH N on 3/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

unhelpful staff. disconnect between policies/locations. checking no way to track box. movers forced to wait over an hour for the uhaul team to prepare the box, despite a confirm email

DARRYL W on 3/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff very professional.

TRINA H on 1/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this store was very helpful when I was renting my truck and getting my storage unit. They were extremely helpful with providing tips for moving and packing my items

SAMUEL S on 1/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities were excellent, very happy with entire experience. Staff was outstanding-extremely helpful and professional. The guy who signed me up and the guy who showed me around were both a class act.

SAMUEL P on 11/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dakari and Gary provided great service at this impressive facility. Despite coming in near closing, they assisted me with getting everything I needed, were thorough, and professional.

MAXIM S on 11/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service at U-haul location. General manager quite helpful, friendly and competent.

MATTHEW B on 10/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Immaculate facility and the best customer service experience I`ve had in years. Friendly, helpful and professional and no surprises in the price. Absolutely top notch. Anthony and Tracy are great.

CAROLYNN R on 9/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff were very courteous and helpful

VERNON R on 9/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Flexible staff that offered options and solutions to issues that arose. Excellent staff!!!

GRAHAM F on 9/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was great, and the employees were very nice.

JEFFREY H on 9/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great, friendly customer service. I was impressed!