U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Share |

Address

899 W Baltimore St
Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 879-5852

(Take 94 either direction to Lodge fwy 1st exit east)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 24 hours

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of New Center

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JOHN L. on 7/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys were fantastic. I love the facility too.

RAYMOND P. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Better customer service at check out

HENRY H. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, great location, great Custer service!!!

ROBERT A. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing! The service was excellent, the employees were very professional and neat!

GRAHAM F on 7/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff here were always friendly and very helpful. I always felt safe at this facility. Thanks.

RICHARD L on 7/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

VERY nice friendly group of young men working there. Obviously concerned with customer satisfaction and safety. They should be commended.

DAKARI S. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great location great customer service

LINDA M. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was disappointed to not be able to get a 10' truck and return it in another location. I reserved a truck several days before at the Gratiot location. I found out on moving day that the truck would have to be returned there. Brownstown was the moving destination. Everything had been confirmed including dropping the truck off at a closer location in Taylor after completing our move. We got a different story upon arrival at the Gratiot location. I would warn people to only deal with an actual UHaul company instead of a UHaul subsidiary. They are incapable of ensuring any guarantees, which really invalidates their purpose. We had no choice but to try other locations on moving day. The employees at the Baltimore store were professional and helpful, but were unable to do more on such short notice. We were only able to rent a cargo van, which truly did not accommodate our needs. We had to make several trips from the east side of Detroit to Brownstown. Obviously, these back and forth trips doubled the costs AND we had to return the truck to the Baltimore store. I should have been contacted before the move date about these problems and unavailability of the truck I needed as well as being informed ahead of time of not being able to return the truck at another location. I will be hesitant in the future to choose UHaul. Moving is stressful enough without running into so many problems on the moving date.

Steele L. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Check out of vehicle was extremely fast since I reserved online. I also needed storage space, and he took care of everything all at one time even personally showing us the sample spaces. Great customer service, and would highly recommend to others.

DANIELLE W on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The excellent is for this location and Anthony and his workers. I was incredibly disappointed in the conditions of my uboxes when they first arrived. GROSS.

Pablo B. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Info about gas

BENJAMIN B. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys that work here and always courteous and helpful.

Carlos M. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service!

LEVERT S. on 6/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service!

DIONIS C. on 6/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Help was courteous and friendly. Trucks were well maintained with the exception of the first truck I was shown that had roaches moving about the inside of the cab when the truck back door was opened. They had no more trucks on the lot that size so I was given a larger truck for the same price for the 'icky' inconvenience.

MARTIN D. on 6/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Positive: large inventory, friendly staff. Negative: I was not explained clearly how to unhook the auto trailer, took me a while to figure that out.

lisa c. on 6/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We have been consistently using the New Center U-Haul for our Non-Profit's trucking needs. They have delivered above and beyond service each time we have rented and the team is full of positive energy! We also have marketing materials for the location and refer any of our community partners, residents or organizations to the New Center U-Haul!

SARAH W. on 6/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I spent 4+ hours on the phone trying to set up this rental. I called back 3 times to confirm because there was such confusion with this reservation. Despite all of this time, when I showed up at the rental site the reservation was still wrong and I had to wait another 45+ min to get the reservation correct. The staff was friendly, but the ease of the UBOX was overshdowed by the hassle and time to reserve and straighten out the reservation.

MICHELLE R. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

NA

AISHA S on 6/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was cool. I need someone to call me about refunding me the money from my prorated month!

TAMARA W. on 6/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very helpful and location was clean and well maintained.

TERRENCE J. on 6/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

What is there to improve? Excellent staff and great service.

Serene A. on 6/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone was very nice, an this is a little thing- would've liked it if the guy at the checkout desk picked up the pace a little. No one ever picks up the phone there either it seems.

Debrah J. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very impressed with the 2 young gentleman who checked me in, had cleaned the vehicle, and took care of me upon my return. Very professional, very courteous and pleasant.

Adam P. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great job, the store was well maintained and everyone was very courteous and professional, and we were in and out in a very timely manner when we picked up and dropped off the truck. The truck ran well and was clean.

USIFOH A on 6/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

N/a

BRADLEY L. on 6/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle, great location. Friendly service as always. Thank you!

MARLA D on 6/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A thoroughly pleasant customer experience. Anthony Jones and all the staff are extremely courteous, knowledgeable and pleasant.

Justin F. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The new Uhaul location is great! Thank you so much for rehabbing and keeping a nice building intact!

LUIS S. on 5/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service from this team!!!

ROBIN N. on 5/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was reasonable rate descent ride

Mark C. on 5/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You need a sign directing customers to the entrance at the far end of the parking lot! There was no direction and we didn't know where to go. The guys working there saw us wandering around and came and told us where the entrance was. We were very happy with their service and with the truck.

GUYLER T. on 5/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent quality and service however, I think the rentals are too expensive. We are renting the vehicles for transporting equipment to and from civil war re-enactments and we are a non-profit organization. We rent only from U-Haul and we are not eligible for any discounts?? We are the only Civil War Negro Troop Living History Representatives for the State of Michigan and we travel around the state to educate the public by re-enacting different historical battles and showing the camp and how they lived during that time period. Is there any charitable pricing that you could bestow upon us?

Leonard M. on 5/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Need signs on the street to indicate location. Signs to direct you to the entrance as the lot is entered.

RANDALL P on 5/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very nice place

KATHLEEN I. on 5/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

keep doing what you are doing

JEFFREY B. on 5/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Manager was well voiced, professional and thorough.

MARK J. on 5/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The you man that helped with my reservation was courteous and professional.

WINNIA N. on 5/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

NOTHING!! This the first uhaul location that clean and well maintian. customer service was " EXCELLENT"

kevin r. on 5/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a great rebtal experience with very little wait time!

DENIECE P. on 5/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All is great!!! Your staff, are always helpful and indeed kind and professional.

Lisa S. on 5/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. Very courteous employee service. Business atmosphere. Easy check out. Flexible with last minute change I had to make. They will have me as repeat customer. I will recommend them to others I know.

Frederick S. on 5/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I believe Gary McDaniel was the person who handled the delivery and return of the vehicle. He was fantastic, very personal and professional. I have rented a number of vehicles (I have two college kids) and he, by far, was the best to work with. fred standish

DEBRA D. on 4/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The team was excellent, knowledgable and engaging. The facility was the cleanest of all the sites I've visited so I would have to say - don't change a thing!

RHONDA G on 4/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was the best storage facilityin all areas that I have used.

PSONTIA W. on 4/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is my second time coming to this location and they are awesome they provide quality customer service, very courteous and they are very professional love this location

WENDY M. on 4/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was an excellent experience. The van was ready to go and in perfect condition when I arrived. The staff member who assisted me was polite, efficient and professional. The grounds were excellently maintained and easy to drive in an out of. I will definitely use this uhaul location again and recommend it to others. Thank you for a pleasant and hassle free experience!

jessica t. on 4/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was very nice and helpful, from ordering over the phone to pick-up and delivery. This new location is centrally located to the downtown area. I would use this location again.

THOMASENIA J on 4/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentleman are always helpful, knowledgeable, and patient. They are pleasant, and accomondating. At this store the customer is always right.

DAN H on 4/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place

GLORIA A. on 4/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Give a detailed explanation of the after hour drop, verbally along with the instuctions on the pamphlet. I felt unsure about that process when dropping off the vehicle.

SHARON E. on 4/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

For someone who has never been to this location before, when entering the property, it is not clear where the main office is located.

Charles M. on 4/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the nicest u-haul location I have ever used. Very new and clean but within a beautiful historic building.

TOMASCIA W on 4/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would like to thank the employees for all of their wonderful assistance.

RENARD M. on 4/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

GIVE ME MY NEXT RENTAL FREE!!! Every thing was excellent

ANTHONY B on 4/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good experience: long walk to storage unit.

RHONDA G on 3/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is absolutely the most professionally run facility I have experienced. It is pristine and very secure.

KIMBERLY D on 3/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone at this facility

ANTHONY B on 3/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was a good first experience. It will take more time to evaluate completely.

ELIZABETH N on 3/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

unhelpful staff. disconnect between policies/locations. checking no way to track box. movers forced to wait over an hour for the uhaul team to prepare the box, despite a confirm email

DARRYL W on 3/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff very professional.

TRINA H on 1/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this store was very helpful when I was renting my truck and getting my storage unit. They were extremely helpful with providing tips for moving and packing my items

SAMUEL S on 1/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities were excellent, very happy with entire experience. Staff was outstanding-extremely helpful and professional. The guy who signed me up and the guy who showed me around were both a class act.

SAMUEL P on 11/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dakari and Gary provided great service at this impressive facility. Despite coming in near closing, they assisted me with getting everything I needed, were thorough, and professional.

MAXIM S on 11/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service at U-haul location. General manager quite helpful, friendly and competent.

MATTHEW B on 10/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Immaculate facility and the best customer service experience I`ve had in years. Friendly, helpful and professional and no surprises in the price. Absolutely top notch. Anthony and Tracy are great.

CAROLYNN R on 9/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff were very courteous and helpful

VERNON R on 9/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Flexible staff that offered options and solutions to issues that arose. Excellent staff!!!

GRAHAM F on 9/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was great, and the employees were very nice.

JEFFREY H on 9/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great, friendly customer service. I was impressed!