U-Haul Moving & Storage of Pittsburgh North Shore

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Pittsburgh North Shore

Share |

Address

1200 Western Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15233

(412) 265-1119

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 7 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Pittsburgh North Shore

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Pittsburgh North Shore

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

MAURICE W. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the man in charge there went out his way to give me a truck on last minute rental, very helpful

Craig J. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The location that I went to was very good they took care of and got me in and out as well as made a place for me to leave my van while using the rental despite their being under construction.....However my overall Uhaul experience began with frustration....after checking your website and obtaining locations....I proceeded to a location that had not had Uhaul service for 2 years despite being listed on your site....I than found another store on your website....I gave them a call and got a recording that they were out of the office on the 25th and would return on the 26th (this is the 28th) I proceeded to that location and they were closed despite the hours of operation on the door claiming it should be otherwise.....This delayed my project timeframe (which had a specific time window) by over an hour....

SHARENE L D. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentleman that assisted me had outstanding customer service!!

Micah M. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i asked them several times on the phone how to get to the location and they didnt give me a location the continued to give me a address.

College I. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm very glad uhaul has a location on the north shore. Super convenient and the crew at this store was great. I get very extensive with my questions and Chris was still able to be a big help

tina l. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing everyone was professional and curtious

LINDA W. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would ask that the sales rep provide a more complete review of the features of the vehicle, including help with mirror placement. Also, I sought to return the van to the same parking location and discovered that the lot had been turned into a Steeler fan parking lot. It was a little difficult finding a space and more difficult to exit the lot and relocate to the lower paved lot.

TERRY S. on 8/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was very helpful and polite. I would absolutely recommend this facility for their next move.

LISA S. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

teach people how to give good customer service didnt know how to hook up trailer. was rude and didnt help with anything

COLLEGE C. on 8/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really like how smooth the rental process was at this uhaul location. Brad was very knowledgeable and quick! It also helps that the uhaul on western ave is so conviently located. Good job

MICHELLE M. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I purchased mattress pads when I picked up the truck. I had a queen and 2 twin bags in my hand and informed the boys at the register that I had a split box spring. He ended up selling me a "package". The package included 2 queen bags, which is useless when having a split box spring. I had to cut the one mattress bag in half to cover each box spring...being that the reason a person usually has split box springs is due to narrow hallways or stairs. If someone says they have split box springs, there is probably a reason they have this...do not sell them a single bag to cover them both.

Jennifer h. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Train the younger boys at the desk to be able to answer more customer service questions

ADELAIDE S. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Based on my experience with this rental transaction, I cannot think of any improvements. All aspects were excellent, including the staff who assisted us.They were quick, efficient, friendly, cheerful, and helpful.

SHAWN M. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This facility and staff was nice; however, my overall pickup experience was horrible. My pickup location was moved 30 minutes away from the location I reserved and then you improperly charged me by not granting the $50 pickup guarantee. Overall experience with U-Haul on this reservation was horrible.

BILL R. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Tight parking lot and tricky entrance with a trailer due to construction of storage facility

Ron K. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The quote I got online from Uhaul.com did not account for the high taxes and fees added on to the final price. My final fee was almost double what the website calculated for my total. A mileage calculator which the clerk at the desk had would have been helpful too. What seemed like a good deal at first was quite misleading. I suggest Uhaul improve their online website to account for local fees and give their customers an accurate quote. The sticker shock when he rang us up at the counter was enough to have my wife walk away in amazement.

WINSTON W. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just keep doing what you are doing

KAREN D. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

polite and knowledgeable staff, truck ready, clean and easy to operate, easy return even after hours

ERIC D. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

They overbooked trucks and therefore only allowed me a 4 hour rental. I've rented uhauls numerous times and have never been rushed. Due to the need to return the truck at 2 pm, I was unable to complete my move and now will have to pay additional costs for storage and rental of another uhaul.

Laura H. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and efficient. Returning the vehicle was extremely quick and easy!

CHIDOZIE O. on 7/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was very good

SARAH H. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was not the location that we had reserved, and we found out about the change only the day before.

THE EPILEPSY F. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was a team of 4 awesome guys. They were quick, competent, friendly and efficient. Four Stars for them!! This was my first time to rent from this location. I will absolutely rent from the Western location again.

AYONNA J. on 7/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Vincent Dave gave excellent customer service & was very helpful.

MYLES B. on 7/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The team was very helpful and quick to service are needs.

Kirk E. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy and expeditious drop off. Representatives were very friendly and efficient!

SARAH B. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful; I would definitely recommend this specific location and plan to use them again.

ADRIANNA D. on 7/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was pleased that the personnel worked with me to resolve some issues when picking up the truck. Everything worked out!

PAUL G. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location was closed when I dropped it off. I have no way to judge these questions but I had to click the boxes.

rebecca l. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

your staff is very courteous and friendly. Thanks for a remarkable move

Raymond D. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys did a great job getting me in and out. Super-nice guys.

MELVIN B. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i was charged a clean up fee and the truck wasnt even dirty

HEATHER B. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Uhaul place was 11.5 miles away. Each way I wish they wld if sent me 2 a closer location 2 my home. I returned my truck over a quarter gallon of gas. Can I get a few $'s credit on that. Cuz if it was under, Ud a charged me $5 a gallon! Jus sayn' :-)

ALEX B. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even without a reservation, David was able to get me a brand new truck very quickly with no problems. The truck worked great and drop-off was easy. Thank you

JONATHAN B. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More than made up for not having the size truck that I ordered (which was the result of a customer not returning it to the right location).

KRISTY S. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service...very friendly and helpful...thank you!!!!

CASSANDRA P. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

NA

KELLY K. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No problems with the pick-up location other than it was on the complete opposite end of the city from where I live and from where I requested pick-up. Utterly inconvenient.

JEFFREY K. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very quick and helpful

DAVID N. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys at this location are efficient. It was a great experience! I will always use this location. David Nowakowski.

PATRICK J. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a great moving experience. Everything went as planned. Very easy!

JULIE P. on 6/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both Adam & the other guy that helped me at this location were super professional, helpful and made everything so simple, I don't even think I was in the store for more than 20 mins, I couldn't believe how easy it was, Thank You.

JENNIFER J. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had an excellent experience at this UHaul location. From start to finish, the staff was friendly, professional, and accommodating, and I will absolutely recommend this location to others.

Quintin B. on 6/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Continue doing the job that is being done.

SHAWN A. on 6/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely nothing. These guys were professional, laid back and funny. They recommended certain items that they felt like we needed to help our move go smoothly. I Iiked these guys. They didn't make me feel like business as usual or just another customer renting a truck. First time ever!

CHRISTINE J. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very friendly and professional. I'm glad I chose them

LOUIS L. on 6/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I wasn't sure if I should leave the dolly with the trailer when I dropped it off after hours. Plus, I was a little paranoid that someone could have taken the trailer and I had no proof that I had even left it in the yard.

JOSEPH A. on 6/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great help!

CHIDOZIE O. on 6/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ted was great! Very knowledgable about the business and the trucks. Trucks were also surprisingly clean.

EBONY O. on 6/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The manager Ted Mankey was very unprofessional & rude as were some of his employees. When I talking to him in the store he started yelling and getting smart with me and my driver as was one of his employees then he walked outside along with his employees leaving us in the store alone.I called roadside service and the person on the phone asked to speak to the manager so I gave him my phone and he took my phone and walked away with it for 5 or so mins. Apon returning the phone to me he dropped my phone into my hands and walked away.I have been using uhaul for many yrs and I have never had this problem ever. I will be going to the media about this

Adam C. on 6/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff were quick and professional.

MIKE E. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly and helpful staff.

ERIN S. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I reserved a 17' truck and dolly 2 weeks in advanced. I was told several times that they typically do not keep trucks that size at their location but guaranteed that they would find one for me and that I would receive a call 24 hours in advance to let me know which location I could pick it up at. I received a phone call at 4:15 the afternoon before the morning that I was going to move (across the country) that said there were no trucks or dollies for me at all. The ONLY option I was given was to go and pick up a 24' truck MYSELF in Butler, PA which is at least an hour away. After talking with a supervisor I was able to get an employee to bring the truck to the location I needed and they gave me about $200 off. The size of the truck was absolutely ridiculous. I had way more space than was needed, it was much more difficult to drive and maneuver, and it costed me over $500 in gas when it would have cost me less in a smaller truck. I am extremely disappointed that I had to be the one to solve the problem and that I got such a ridiculous "discount" when I was inconvenienced the way that I was. I was especially upset that I was also given this information less than 24 hours from the time I was supposed to be packing the truck with several family and friends from all over Pittsburgh and OHIO driving in the next morning to help me. I WILL NEVER USE UHAUL AGAIN, I will be making a report to the Better Business Bureau, and all of my friends and family whether through word-of-mouth or social media have heard what I have gone through and refuse to ever use Uhaul. This was unacceptable "customer service" and I am highly disappointed and unsatisfied.

David S. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The turn signals and emergency lights did not work. Unfortunately, we only realized that once we were several hours from the location. The equipment was clean though. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I could not ask anything else of the staff, just improvement on the truck maintenance.

MICHAEL M. on 6/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Parked truck into lower smaller lot. Better signs to indicate larger upper lot for returns.

Samuel C. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Additional workers for Sunday morning. Two people were overwhelmed. Open earlier on Sunday.

DOZIE O. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location was great. Ted was able to squeeze me into a truck for a move that had to be done that day.

DOZIE O. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Vince was very helpful. Dave was also very polite. I am glad this location is so conviently close for me.

CHRISTAL P. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just continue with the excellent service and professionalism of the staff.

JAMES W. on 5/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and helpful manager

DAVID L. on 5/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was truly exceptional! We came in the day prior to our move & two really nice young men helped us with selecting the right size & number. Then, on Sunday when we picked up the truck two new men were there to help us. Both were very kind and considerate. First class customer service!

SHARON W. on 5/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Be more exact on the gas level. I was told it was 7/8 ths full. It was less than 3/4 full. I didn't notice until after I had left.

RECHANDA W. on 5/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was the best uhaul experience I've had. Ted and David were very friendly and thorough. I would recommend this location to everyone.

CAROL C. on 5/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There are no improvements needed. I customer services that was provided was excellent. Everything was explained in detail and thoroughly. Best service!

CAROL B. on 5/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, very capable staff

RICK A. on 5/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were friendly and helpful. They got me in and out in an acceptable amount of time.

Ronald L. on 5/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Express check in for frequent renters

CHIDOZIE O. on 5/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love this location. Everytime i come in the staff is very helpful and inviting. Dave was my representative and he was very knowledgable about the truck. I will be glad to use storage here when it is available!

ROBERT F. on 5/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Convenient location, friendly helpful workers, and nice clean vehicle. Overall a very good experience.

terry w. on 5/5/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The customer service rep was extremely helpful and did a great job of explaining everything- the building itself was an old toy factory from over 80 years ago and needs to be torn down and replaced if you decide to stay in that location.