U-Haul Moving & Storage of Pittsburgh North Shore

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Pittsburgh North Shore

Share |

Address

1200 Western Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15233

(412) 265-1119

(Across from the Pittsburgh Police station)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 7 am - 7 pm

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Pittsburgh North Shore

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Pittsburgh North Shore

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

CANDICE S. on 9/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Bradley, the employee that checked me in, was very nice, explained everything clearly, and even walked me out to the truck. He explained current specials they were offering all while respecting that I to get moving. I was in and out and overall pleased with my experience. I read on a review that there are "hidden charges". I need to mention that this is not the case. If you fail to read the instructions and go over the mileage or order extra supplies (which are reasonably priced) you will be charged additional. Simple as that. Thank you for making moving a little easier!

MARK H. on 9/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was great thank you

HEATHER R. on 9/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employee who waited on me was extremely helpful both during the pick up and when I dropped it off. He was very friendly and made my first Uhaul experience a good one!

MARY L. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The workers were very helpful and curtius

ZACH C. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The store manager was very kind and polite and his staff were all very professional and friendly when we arrived early in the morning to pick up our truck. Would go back and rent from that location again just because of the staff.

MAAZ A. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone working 08/29/2015 evening after 6PM EST was a great help! Place is one of the nicest uhaul, I have visited in past 20 years. Staff helped me with setting up the motorcycle trailer, gave me brief educational info and young guys keeping business professional and execellent customer service.

ELENA N. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

we were in rush to make a bus on our way back, staff enthusiastically helped us book a cab, which arrived within 5 min - EXTREMELY pleased with staff!

MICHAEL S. on 8/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I was impressed with the quality of service. They helped make our move a lot more manageable. I would absolutely recommend them.

GARY S. on 8/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely nothing to improve! This is the cleanest most well organized U-haul I have ever been to. All of the employees were polite and friendly check in and check out were quick and easy. I'll be back in a month and highly recommend using this location!!!

SCOTTIE J on 8/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Manager ted was very helpful to me. Thank you for helping me out in a time of need.

ken m. on 8/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was very efficient, professional and knowledgeable! They had me checked in and out on the road in no time. When I returned the vehicle it was the same way. The worker had me checked out quickly and efficiently.

thomas c. on 8/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

signage directing first time customers to the entrance, there were trucks sitting nearby and it wasn't clear where the service center was

GRISSELLE M. on 8/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location was ok, however, the GPS took me to a location that was closed. Customer service line gave me another location and when I get there, they didn't want to take the equipment because of lack of space. I finally was able to take it to 1200 western ave. WHAT A NIGHMARE FROM BOSTON TO PITTSBURGH AND BACK.......

ANNA V. on 8/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was great! Everyone was wonderfully friendly. Thank you U-haul!

WILLIAM N. on 8/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Extremely satisfied. Thanks!

MACHELLE S. on 8/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very impressed with your facility and the level of service I received. I was assisted by your employee Ryan. He was very knowledgeable and professional. It was refreshing to see such a delightful young man who carried himself wonderfully - what great representation and image to have on your frontline operations!

Lisa J. on 8/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Better parking access

Robert S. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Service

LISA J on 8/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Only limitation 24 hour paid access will be made available

MARK H. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience, friendly employees

Jennifer S. on 8/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both desk staff and person handing off and receiving the truck (Shane) were courteous and helpful. Would use again and would recommend

EDITH K. on 8/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was wonderful

DAVID S. on 8/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

manager was very helpful finished installing my hitch and help with directions

MAUREEN C. on 8/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I didn't see available parking for my car. Not sure if this is something uhaul's offerand I just missed it, but I had to find street parking for my own car. Thanks

Norma J. on 8/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Could not have been easier!! Thank you!

JOANNE S. on 8/18/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It mentions dropping off a lock with the keys. Were we supposed to get a lock? Maybe it should say "if you received a lock. "

Michelle O. on 8/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff has excellent customer service and people skills and was easy to work with, personable and knowledgable. Highly recommend this location!!

ALLYSON N. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was a fantastic experience all around. Friendly, fast, efficient staff. Clean, well-maintained vehicle. Happy to have a quick checkout when returning the uhaul as the staff used his electronic device to process everything and send me an email confirmation. I am a very please customer!

RONALD M. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Minor problem with seat belt adjuster, but it wasn't a factor with my rental. Told employee about belt before I left with truck. He apologized several times as he tried to fix it and explained that there were no other truck available in the size I rented. He did say that it was something that would be fixed right away. Facility was clean, well lit, offered many moving accessories, courteous staff, and has storage rentals available.

KIM R. on 8/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and accommodated my last minute request. He explained the renting process very well and showed me how to work everything.

EVELYN M. on 8/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was awesome.

mohamed a. on 8/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Love you

HENRY S. on 8/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Terrific operation. Staff were informed and very helpful. Store is pristine as was the equipment.

Sharon S. on 8/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Positive comments: excellent customer service, new facility and new vehicle. Clean and efficient.

ROBERT O. on 8/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Extremely easy rental experience. Friendly, prompt, courteous. Would def. use again.

DAVID G. on 8/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You all were great!

PATRICIA W. on 8/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was excellent & I loved the customer service. Thanks a million to the Uhaul Co. On Western ave keep up the great work :-)

THOMAS M. on 8/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Check in was clean and painless. Richard was friendly and courteous.

KELLY K on 8/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall great

Russ C. on 8/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff and very friendly. I called and needed to use truck longer then I thought and it was not problem to extend time. Good people!

FAITH K. on 8/4/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Ensure that reservation can be fulfilled prior to customers arrival!!!

ALYSIA B. on 8/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Chris and Richard were excellent!!

DONNA R. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We also purchased boxes and packing supplies at this location and the manager was very helpful in advising us on approximately how many boxes and packing supplies we should need for our move. He was surprisingly accurate. Everyone we dealt with at this location was very helpful and professional. A great experience!

TERRANCE P. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pittsburgh North Shore was excellent location to rent a U-Haul - fantastic customer service.

PUSHPA R. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

everything okey

RON T. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great, quick service by the staff. Everything very efficient. Would return.

DEBRA S on 8/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have nothing more to add.

ABBIGAIL M. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location was fine. We dropped our keys off in the dropbox.

NEIL O. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was honestly the best experience I have ever had using a moving/rental company. The location was excellent, with some great people working there on behalf of U Haul. If you can replicate that service & experience at every location, you'll be setting a new standard. Thanks again!

VERONICA S. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It's a good price for moving plus they offer the helper which was perfect for our situation. Everyone was cheerful. It was simple and it was a pleasure doing business with them.

KELLY B. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was prompt, friendly and incredibly professional. I will recommend this location to others and definitely use it in the future.

MEGHAN D. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All of the staff were extremely helpful and kind. They were all very knowledgable and friendly. I hate moving, but this company and staff made it easy and pleasant. Thanks to them for all their help!

LAURA K. on 7/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

After having an extremely frustrating time scheduling with my original preferred location (who tried to move my reservation by at least 7 hours), everyone at the Western Ave location was friendly, kind, understanding, and so competent. If I ever need a U-haul again in Pittsburgh I would choose this location as my preferred location even though it's slightly further away from my neighborhood.

MICHAEL M. on 7/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The agent who checked my van out was extremely friendly.

NICK D. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

all good.

DAVID J. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great. Picking the truck up and dropping it off was fast and easy.

CYNTHIA A. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Through no fault of the fellows who processed my paperwork and hooked up the trailer for me (who were both extremely helpful and professional!) they had to 'jury rig' the connecting pin that secured the trailer to my UHaul receiver hitch. Fortunately, their improvised solution worked very well and I had no problems, it appeared to have the potential to be a safety concern. I appreciate the efforts of the two gentlemen who helped get me on the road!

owen s. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

check in/ check out were super fast

GEORGE W on 7/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was outstanding, I believe their names were Adam Brian. Facility was in excellent condition. Very impressed, you`ve gained a loyal fan.

ryan k. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The gas gauge on the truck took so long to adjust after being filled to show the true amount of gas in the tank I drove five miles to return the truck and it was still climbing. I should have returned it with a 1/2 tank and since the gas gauge didn't read properly by the time I returned it the tank read 3/4 full and I spent $40 in gas when it would have taken $10. This is a sham that uhaul is running. When I called and tried to talk to a sales person they said they can't do anything. Clearly uhaul was the one that came out on top in this situation. Last time I will ever use any uhaul location.

Sean L. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great! The staff were friendly and helpful, it couldn't have been easier.

MICHELLE P. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

While the man that helped was friendly, I asked to get a physical receipt and he said he would just email it to me. I did get it in short time though!

JOSHUA N. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, very nice, knowledgeable.

KIRK K. on 7/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service with every staff person I interacted with. Very friendly and asked if we needed anything else. Glad we used this location. The other one we called in Southside told us they were only doing 24 hour rentals. We also needed a truck with 3 seats, and the other locations did not have that either. Thanks!

MARK B. on 7/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All of the employees were very friendly and helpful in hooking up the car hauler. I would definitely use them again and recommend them to any needing U-Haul services.

BRANDI D. on 7/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great experience! Employees very friendly & helpful!

JAMES C. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All staff were exceptionally professional and helpful.

THOMAS K. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would rent from this location again. They were very professional and efficient getting me in and out.

ROBERT S. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My customer rep.was extremely accomadating very Knowlegeable and helpful with my rental.

RUFUS J. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing really liked these people, friendly and professional!

BILL M. on 7/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very courteous, nice facility.

EMILY M. on 7/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was the friendliest, smoothest U-Haul rental experience I have ever had. Setting up a return equipment stall that renters can just pull into and have a store rep come out and check out the vehicle and then send you the contract/invoice via email is amazing!

WHITLEY B. on 7/14/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing, the workers at the facility had a lot of knowledge about the equipment and answered all of our questions and were really nice and honest with us.

Tor L. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was fantastic! The facilities were also very clean.

ELIZABETH W. on 7/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I spoke with roadside assitance on the phone and they had no idea what they were doing. I truly hope that no one has to use this for themselves.My truck was shaking the entire time and i couldn't even keep the wheel straight, and while driving it would shift into another gear, YET they wanted me to drive it back to the location i got it. I rent often as you see i have rented twice this month and i am extremely disappointed in this rental. The young men at the Western Ave store were great though, very customer centric.

JONATHAN A. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ted was professional and one of the nicest people I've met

SANJEEVA K. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent overall. Great experience.

RYAN B. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Brad at the front desk was more than helpful and one of the most knowledgable associates I have ever dealt with at uhaul. Will definitely becoming back to this location.

WALTER O. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Much better than experience on Washington Blvd. ..Thanks guy's

LOWELL A. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very pleased! Excellent staff and store was immaculate.

JOHN P B. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

pick-up truck was very dirty inside and smelled. I cleaned it the best I could and spayed it with an disinfectent and now it should be better for the next guy. The staff there are very nice .

CHRIS T. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a great experience renting a pick up truck for a day, the U Haul staff was very nice and courteous and helpful. My only comment is that the shelving with in the business area needs to be better organize. Walking into the store I was first comforted with shelves blocking my approach to the counter and once reaching the counter there were more shelve and I didn't know which counter or staff member to speak with or do business with . Entering the business was very confusing by the maze of shelving. Other than that I was very satisfied with the staff and the vehicle.

KRISTOPHER K. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Everyone was very friendly, helpful and prompt.

GREGORY N. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Though extremely frustrated at not being able to get a one way truck as needed, and having to settle for a round trip which doubled the cost... This locations staff was very pleasant to work with.

ADAM C on 6/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ted and Bradley were very professional and nice. Great Staff and Facility.

CHARELLE C. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They stayed late to help us unload the car dolley right at 7pm without complaining. Very clean and large store. Multiple staff members available to help! Much better experience.

LARRY W. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was wonderful and pleasant. Great at getting us out quickly, and making sure we knew everything. Good team you have.

JAMES B. on 6/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice and clean. Large building. Very nice.

DAVID B on 6/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best storage facility I`ve used. Helpful, friendly, clean and safe. What more could you want.

JAMES F on 6/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent overall experience.

PATRICIA M. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I thought the service was excellent and employees were kind and helpful

THOMAS D on 6/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff, clean facility, easy to get to from just about anywhere. They even helped me locate a truck for rent from another location since they were booked! Definitely will use them again.

KEVIN M. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was a second choice pick up location. Originally requested 3000 Liberty Ave Pittsburgh as it was in walking distance of our site. We were rerouted to a Moon Twp 20 to 25 miles away. We requested it be moved from Moon to a closer location. This was flatly denied. A subsequent call to the Traffic Dept. helped secure the Western Ave pickup.

STEVEN S. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Impressive turn around. I arrived @7:45 on a Friday. Was received as soon as I arrived and was finished within 5 minutes.

CHRISTIAN P. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My debit card was over charged and I'm still waiting for my refund. It jammed my bank account up

ROY M. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was very helpful and everything went smooth . I will average renting a truck for the Western Pa Humane Society 2 times a year . When the time comes I will rent from U-HAUL again . Oh yea , great job on the renovation of your facilities .

RICHARD E. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

To begin with, the truck I ordered was not in stock. Moreover the movers I hired through your site never bothered to show up.

EUGENE S. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All the guys were great!

DAVE M. on 5/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I felt the total charge was a little too high, $61.00 for 3 hours use and I only went 23 miles. "To many misc. charges"

PATRICIA D on 5/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Bradley was great to work with: efficient, helpful, friendly.

STEVEN G. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was excellent and the associates I worked with were great. I was very surprised with how easy the entire process was from picking up the truck to returning it. I will definitely use this location in the future.

SUSAN S. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The location is fine. But the truck, which was new, clean, and drove well, did not have working air conditioning. Also, the dome light would not stay off (yes, I read the instructions on using it but I'm pretty sure there was something malfunctioning). This forces us to leave the drivers window down low enough to reach in to manually turn the dome light off again - or else the battery would go dead! it wouldn't hurt to give us a small credit on the $300 we paid.

RYAN M. on 5/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great. Highly recommended to everyone.

GLENN J. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Two great guys working there.. Courteous knowledgeable, and efficient change nothing..gj

DRIVER W. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We were 45 minutes late for our reservation at the Washington Blvd location, so your computer canceled our reservation. The person that I spoke to on the phone was not very helpful. I use the rentals for our catering business, so the use is very time sensitive. This was an additional problem added to an already complicated day. In 18 years or renting through the Washington Blvd location and having a corporate program, this was the first time that this has happened. Unacceptable.

Michael B. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Richard and the staff working that day were extremely professional and knowledgable.I will be back to rent from this location again.

ROBERT S. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service. Will rent from this location again.

BECKY H on 5/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

?

DAVID B on 5/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff and facility. Best I`ve seen in 6 moves across 4 states. Friendly and helpful staff helped with complicated 2 state one-way move with car trailer and storage. Highly recommended.

DAVID B. on 5/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I've moved 6 times across 4 states in the last 8 years and this is the best facility I've come in contact with. The place is brand new, secure and convenient. The staff was terrific, especially the general manager. I had a complicated one way move with a car trailer and needed a storage place at the end and this place made it easy. What took 3 guys 2.5 hours in NJ took 2 guys 45 minutes here because the setup was better and the staff more helpful.

STEVE G. on 5/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys that checked me in were great. Quick and polite. Service was great. Will recommend for sure.

LONNIE T. on 5/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very easy to get the right truck to haul a large old tv to a recycling center and get back to work without any delays in my day. The staff was friendly and polite, and the truck was a brand new and very easy to use vehicle.

CHRISTINA B. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were closing when I got there but explained the drop off key box, so all was good.

Samantha H. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Van was incredibly well-maintained and easy to drive. Friendly customer service.

CAMERON F. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All of the folks at this location were very polite and helpful. The truck was very clean and the store was also clean and organized. They were efficient in both checking the truck out and back in. I would definitely recommend this location to others. Great job!

Patrick S. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both people were VERY pleasant and helpful

ERIN L. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service, really helpful guys

THOMAS B. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvement necessary, the experience there is top of the line and it starts from the manager, Ted, I think, he has great customer service skills and a genuine concern to provide you with all the help and service available to him for you. Thank you!

Ed B. on 5/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Cannot be happier. Thanks.

LEORNARD R. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Over priced

ZACHARY B. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The entire staff was not only professional and helpful but personable. They make us feel like close friends.

OLIVIA W. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We had such a read experience with Tod and Brad helping us! After we almost took our business to budget because of online scheduling issues they made us really happy that we stuck with Uhaul. We will most definitely use this location for future rentals and refer our friends there!

ELIZABETH Z on 4/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service, very pleased with my experience so far!

PATRICIA T on 4/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager Ted was fantastic. His crew was always very attentive. I have rented a truck twice and used the starage facility as a holding place for my move. Beautiful clean facility trucks.

LEAH S on 3/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone at uhaul north shore was so helpful! I rented a truck and unit and the process was quick and easy. I would recommend anyone moving in the Pittsburgh area to use your location!

ANNETTE S on 3/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

it was the best compared to storage express on campbells run road

MARLENE P on 2/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Chris, Brian and were all very professionaal in helping me with my moving