U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

Share |

Address

18315 Shawley Dr
Hagerstown, MD 21740

(301) 790-1800

(Exit 9)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

BLAINE K. on 12/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All staff members encountered were knowledgable and courtious. As a repeat customer to UHaul, I can honestly say that by far my best experiences with customer service were at the Hagerstown location.

PHIL A. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Personnel answered all questions in a friendly and helpful manner.

JOHN S. on 12/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rented a 4X8 closed trailer that leaked in rain water from left to right about in the middle. Fortunately I only did a short haul for a sofa that day and there was no damage. I told the attendant about this when I returned the trailer.

TODD B. on 12/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly and professional. Fine experience start to finish!

DAVE C. on 12/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great, I was treated very well. Thanks for making it a great experience!

paul s. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a last minute change of plans and went to the rental pickup just 20 minutes prior to closing time. I was impressed with the friendly service by "Kurt" and not have the feeling of being the "last" customer that holds up closing the business. The service was quick and I was on the road in just a few minutes. Definitely will be a repeat customer of this store and tell others.

COREY L. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i received my truck with less than E in fuel and was offered a credit if returned with 1/4 tank. i filled the tank and used less fuel than expected returning it with 1/2 tank, but was told there was no way to credit me anything for the additional gas. did not seem reasonable that it was impossible to reimburse me for the additional 1/4 tank(approx $20).

RAY D. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I didnt understand y I was giving an old truck when there new ones there to be used. The odometer was not working properly causing me to have to pay more for mileage. That truck should not even been used and it had a constant exhaust smell Wichita was making me sick.

SUCHINDER D. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This site was excellent.

JACKIE S. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent, friendly, warm, real customer service. I felt completely taken care of.

KATHY M. on 11/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very courteous.

PATTI L. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

this location was supposed to provide us with a 5x8 trailer and instead gave us a 6x12 which was really too much trailer for the vehicle we were using to tow. It was a very stressful trip back to WV - constantly worried if we were going to lose the backend of our jeep. and, NO, the trailer wasn't full. probably more like 10% capacity at MOST.

DARELL S. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Poor customer service. I was told one thing over the phone and when I got there was told something else. A bad experience for me.

Larry R. on 11/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location & facility were great. The Pricing however was high, and the advertised price was vague and misleading. Based off of that I would have trouble recommending the U-Haul brand to others.

Clarence M. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

they owe me $30.00

Ronald D. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast , efficient, and great customer service! I was very pleased with my dealings with this organization. thank-you

Matt S. on 11/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was very disappointed in the hidden costs. For nothing was explained at the start. A two day rental of a 17 foot truck at 39.99 - turned into a 219.00 bill? Wow - very misleading. Why all the tack on charges?

JOSEPH K. on 11/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Super convenient location. Drop off was quick and easy.

Mary H. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kurt Hoffman was professional, friendly, had common sense, and did an excellent job. I would definitely use this Uhaul office again. The main negative comment I would have about the U-Box program is that the computer reservation system has some major glitches that need to be worked out. I had problems at every stage whenever we had to deal with the computer system. It deleted out my information so that the person had to enter it multiple times, through no fault of their own. It refused to schedule a drop off of boxes at my home, so that I ended up towing boxes instead of getting them dropped because there would be such a lag in when the truck was available because it had not scheduled it ahead of time as requested. Kurt attempted several times to schedule it to be dropped when I first ordered the boxes, and it would not go through, so he finally had to get them dropped at the destination center. I also did not receive any UHaul reservation tracker e-mails, only contract and customer service emails. It would have been helpful to be able to track our boxes to see if they were shipped yet and when the expected drop date was. I had to call customer service to get this information.

Richard B. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was quick and courteous. When you're dealing with the stress of moving, Shawley's U-Haul was a welcome relief.

LINDA C. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I arrived to pick up my rental at the specified time and was unable to find an employee. I had to call your 800 number after waiti,g for 20 minutes to have someone call the store to locate someone for me. Not a very good way to run a business!!!

CODI P. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service needs improvement and the staff needs to explain more clearly instead of just highlighting quickly what important information you need to know.

AARON T. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always professional and friendly. I drive a little further but worth the extra few dollars.

DENISE D. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

First, you need to train your employees properly. I reserved a 17' truck on Sat. 10/25/14, they had the time wrong. Then I asked if I could pay by cash when I returned the truck, Greg said yes. When I returned the truck at 6:00pm, they had already charged my credit card. I was extremely mad and disappointed that employees can't follow directions. OMG simple question, can I pay by cash at the end of the day...Greg response "YES", then why was the transaction not handled in this manner. The employee working the evening shift said he could not get into Greg Account....really! This has caused me great frustration, now I have to pay off my Discover card, that was finally paid off. You need to train your employees properly and if one person leaves their shift, the next person should have abilities to update the prior employee record. This makes no sense to me, why employees can't alter another record. Denise DiTizio

SARAH M. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The clerk was very professional and even took the time to check me back in when he was off duty and on his way home for the day.

SELINA P. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Geoff Hoff (I believe his name was Geoff, maybe George) provided exceptional customer service... very helpful, knowledgeable, patient and kind. I will recommended everyone to this location and his service. Overly-satisfied!

MICHAEL K. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very happy with this uhaul store. that's why I keep going back to them.

DEBORAH P. on 10/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young man who waited on us, took great care of us!

ann h. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Owner was great at pickup. However, when I came to buy paper, the young man was not available for at least 10 minutes. I called out for him and could see him on the monitor working on a white SUV somewhere in back. When he did appear he was rude and short. He obviously needs some "people" skills.

JEFFREY T. on 10/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have utilized this U-haul location many times. Very efficient, responsible and helpful. Look forward to next time! JT (Hagerstown, Maryland)

CRAIG S. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

equipment was old, very hard to handle, poor gas mileage, no acceleration.. empty or full. Returned carpet film for credit, refunded tax was less than purchase tax, thereby refund amount was lower than purchase price...?

Ronald M. on 10/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Repair broken visor on driver side. Do more than sweep out truck cargo area when dry mud is inside on the floor.

Richard D. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience. Uhaul reps helpful and competent. Reservation online simple. Truck ready and waiting with requested items at requested time. Had to extend rental 1 day, done easily on phone. Return fast, billing accurate and per agreement. Could not have been better!

JOSHUA R. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Upon return of equipment the gentlemen was very kind and reassured me that the car dolly would get repaired do the next customer would not have to worry as I did.

Tammy B. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Next time take me to the truck instead of telling me it's one of the ones up on the left. I had to try the key in the doors to locate it.

BUFFY B. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you!!!! Your staff was excellent

PHILIP L. on 9/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Biggest issue is always fuel status. Why not offer a partial reimbursement for overflowed trucks or a flat bonus for returning trucks full. Even if latter is only $5 I bet you'd see an increase in full tanks which is easier for the next renter

DEBORAH K. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The young man Ryan was very helpful and answered my questions

ANNE N. on 9/17/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Had to wait for service. Personnel friendly.

brian c. on 9/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm always well taken care of at this location. They even loaned me tie-down straps to prevent me from having to purchase them! Thank you very much.

Mark B. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was actually a little upset with my experience and never even used my rental trailer at all! I needed to move something that was just under 4 feet wide, so I ordered to 4x7 trailer. I drove 35 miles to pick it up only to find out that the 4x7 trailer is actually only a little over 3feet? It's still a nice 7 feet long though! I don't understand why you would even want to call a trailer incorrectly by its size. That's the most important factor of renting one. I thought this was maybe some standard in trailer sizes where you have to measure the wheel base size, but even that isn't 4 feet? With the wheel wells it's closer to 5? So, in conclusion, I'm not mad, I just have absolutely no idea how you call it a 4x7 trailer when it's not. Thx, Mark Boheim

HANNAH B. on 9/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Third consecutive weekend having to visit this U-Haul location, all three times a pleasant experience.. Thanks!

Debra D. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was fine.....

LAURA J. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees were very friendly and it was a very easy experience.

Cale B. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was very friendly and helpful.

jeff b. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good job, pleasant, knowledgeable employees

HATTIE F. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I respect the service received from U-Haul in Hagerstown. The representative was very professional.

MARIA P. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The equipment I reserved weeks in advance wasn't available. I needed a large truck and this location only had a small truck to offer me. This caused me not to be able to move all of my belongings, now I will need to rent again and coordinate a second move date since UHaul didn't provide the correct equipment.

JOYIA R. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

picked up vehicle with 3/4 tank of gas told to have the same at drop off

James W. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Overall, very pleased with the Hagerstown/Maugansville staff and the U-Box experience. I conducted my business in person, as I had received information the online process was cumbersome.

RICHARD B. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The best UHaul location I have seen. Plenty of trucks and supplies.

TRINA J. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a 24' Truck and it was confirmed when I arrived to pick up the truck I reserved I was told they only have a 17' truck available so I had to make 3 trips to move my things and uhaul did not accommodate me even tho it was there error

MICHAEL S. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I turned in my truck I told him about the problems with the alignment on the truck, I'm 40 yo I've driven a number of these things in my lifetime during multiple moves but when I explained to him that it was really difficult to keep the truck balanced with or without items in the back or towing a car, he simply brushed it off as nothing special.

BRADLEY S. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and helpful. Good experience. Made think about setting up a local franchise myself.

JEFF S on 11/7/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Employees John Howard in Hagerstown Cheryl Mead in North Charleston were wonderful. Ubox system still has kinks to work out. Wouldn`t recommend for long distance moves.

JESSICA W on 10/20/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was helpful but grumpy, you could tell they didn`t want 2 be there. I asked the staff 2 change the account being charged twice but they charged the old one twice, thankfully my bank blocked it.

JESSICA W on 10/7/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff were helpful, but not friendly, they were there only to do the minimum and nothing more.

PHILLIP D on 3/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was great and box delivered as promised.

PHILLIP D on 1/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. John and the guys at the Shawley Drive UHaul were very helpful with answering all my questions. Made my move very easy and relaxing. Thanks for all the time.

MARIELA J on 10/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a great experience, when I did have issues, they were resolved in timely manner, and we were compensated.

MEGHAN M on 10/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service at this location was outstanding. Much thanks to Chris and John who were incredibly kind, prompt, and knowledgeable. Great business..highly recommend it.

WENDY K on 9/11/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were very pleased with our Weexperience and have already recommended u-box to people. Other companies are going to be hurting once people catch on to what a great program this is!

DAVID T on 8/11/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck Jjump start at center said we had cab light on Attend parked trk at stor bin for us we did nothing tag on keys said dead bat after jump told let run for 1hr MY GAS I did night bat dead

JONATHAN K on 8/10/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Several attempts to contact the facility ended in failure. As a result they charged me a months rent when my stuff had been cleared out of the unit for a week prior to due date.

KENNETH T on 8/9/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Locking hardware broken. Price competitive, however less space than PODs and ABF Upack.

JOHN S on 7/18/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a bit of an issue due to the local fire marshal, but we did get the problem solved in a reasonable manner

CARL F on 6/5/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very clean and well maintained

DAVID T on 11/28/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service very good and friendly

LISA M on 11/23/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Gene helped me with my move, was very helpful, and made extremely valuable suggestions I would not have thought of otherwise. I`m highly pleased!

KIMERLY C on 8/25/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

good experiance

MICHAEL P on 12/3/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The facility leaked and some of my items got damaged, there wasn`t a light inside and although the hours were 7 - 7, that did not fit my schedule. The guy running the place was nice and friendly.