U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

Share |

Address

18315 Shawley Dr
Hagerstown, MD 21740

(301) 790-1800

(Exit 9)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

DAVID W. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I actually ordered the trailer for pickup at the U-Haul sight on Prospect Blvd, Frederick, Md. Your staff at what you call Traffic set it up for Hagerstown, a good 45 minutes away. When I showed up in Frederick, they didn't know what I was talking about. And I wasn't the only one there that had problems with your Traffic Center not getting the pick up location correct. So I drove to Hagerstown to get it and take it back. Wasted 1 1/2 hours because yall couldn't get the location straight..

SHANNON F. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys working at this location were beyond awesome. Super nice, friendly, no having to stand around for any help, couldn't have had a better experience for a drop off. Would recommend this location to others in the Hagerstown area.

RICHARD Y. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always great to work with.

GEORGE B. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Was forced to rent equipment for longer than needed and was refused refund on unused term. What a rip off, will never use Uhaul again

JAGADESAN R. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First, its about the employee who gave me the truck.I called earlier to reserve my 10 ft truck for 24 hr from the time of pick up i.e, 4pm. However, when I arrived he asked me to return it by 12 noon next day. he says he has another customer. I told him. I specifically reserved for 24 hrs. He didn't agree. It changed my moving plans. secondly, the employee didn't tell me that he was adding safe move insurance...., while i declined insurance when I was paying using my card. I said I don't need safe move, he insisted he needs proof that my insurance covers it. Geico covers it and I have used U-haul truck in Jun 2014. However, in this pickup, I was forced to pay for it. this guy was arrogant. usually this place has good customer service. This bad review is because of that guy who gave me the truck on Saturday 27th June, 2015.

Kathleen L. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing everything was perfect

STEVE H. on 6/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The first truck we reserved to be picked up in Cumberland, MD was not available when we arrived. We had to completely reschedule our move to 4 days later. U-Haul did credit me $50.00, but my son missed two days of work. We appreciated the $50.00, but it hardly covered our fuel for two trips from Hagerstown, MD to Cumberland, MD and it certainly didn't cover his lost wages for two days.

Forest W. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I rented a trailer to use on a mission trip for my church. Can this type of rental be tax free.

Margaret M. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was friendly and very professional. Pickup and return was a breeze. The equipment was clean and in good condition. Great experience and will use this facility again.

John R. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have the equipment available that was reserved. I reserved the equipment a week ahead, of which included a furniture dolly. This was very important to have as I was moving multiple large desks and multiple pianos. When I arrived, I was informed that there weren't any more. I found this very frustrating as it was clearly denoted on my reservation confirmation. I had to go and purchase a furniture dolly, so that I could complete my move. In the future it would nice to trust that the needed and reserved equipment is available.

GINA G. on 6/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Better than expected, truck was fairly new & in good shape-no worries, no problems

WILLIAM C. on 6/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clean the interior drivers area and spray some air freshener in the truck vents. A heavily smoked in moving truck is not attractive. Staff was very courteous and knowledgeable.

JAMES H. on 6/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have always used this particular Uhaul location because of their excellent customer service and availability of trucks! James Hill Hagerstown, MD

ELLEN P. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, friendly, polite and fast service.

Robert S. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great seevice nice truck happy with experience

KELLY M. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice customer service. Will recommend to friends

Ellen P. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Oh my, went there today to pick up a trailer, made the reservation on-line. I had such a great experience. There was this man who worked there, named David Albriecht, he made it a wonderful experience. He worked on my jeep so the trailer could be hooked . He was so upbeat and did everything possible to make everything work, from the trailer hitch to the brake and signal lights. He was such a pleasure. I can't say enough good things about renting. I will rent there again. Ask for Mr. Albriecht, he will make sure your experience is a good one. Again, Thank you Mr. Albriecht.

MARK N. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

As with past rentals, the service was very good. I had to make a few changes to my rental period while I had the equipment out, and the guys were very willing to work with me. I'll rent from there again.

TROY M. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck I had was a newer 17' with 42000 miles but had been damaged and the door would not close properly, every time had the door opened it would continuously ding, ding, ding the entire time the door was open even without the key in the ignition. Then when driving the truck there was so much air coming in at the top of the door you could not even hear the radio. Try driving a hundred miles with air whistling in by your ear the entire time and nothing to listen too. Please if you rent a 17' uhaul make sure it is not the one with the damaged drivers door you will regret it.

BRIAN N. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Suburb customer service

Alan S. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Over all a very good experience.

SCOTT R. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys behind the counter were awesome. Very helpful.

Heather l on 5/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The guys were great and very professional!

ANDREW S. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

George King was awesome in his assistance and quick processing!!

MARK D. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Lawrence was fantastic! Took 45 minutes to get the lights working between my truck (which was the problem) and the trailer. Everything worked out and had zero problems!

KRISTA W. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

While we were gone the motorcycle got stolen. We were trying to keep from hauling trailer back to save money and they wouldn't take it. We towed it empty the whole way home!

SUSAN K. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service! The return was quick and hassle free.

howard S. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

At o mistake of the location......great customer service at the time of and after rental but the equipment had issues. I had to return the 1st rental because it wouldn't shift out of 3rd. The second has power steering issues, a left high beam headlight went out and either a belt is loose or you have an alternator going bad. I had only a little head light left. I had to follow other trucks in so that I could see.

Paige S. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very nice.

THOMAS C. on 5/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have used this location 4 times in 14 years without any problems.

LOUIS B. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I resent the dolly and pads locked in the truck. Take them out and give me back the 3 cubic feet of hauling space I'm paying for. Nothing against the local retailer. This kind of stupid has to come down from corporate level morons.

PAMELA S. on 5/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very fast in and out

Joseph B. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep your maintenance up on the trucks. It is bad when the truck has problems stoping.

Jeff T. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have others that are closer but, customer service at this location keeps me coming back. Jeff Taulton

Janice J. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kurt has excellent customer skills. and he was the only one working at the center at the time, and we did not have to wait long because he kept hopping & popping to get all of us taken care of. Kudos!

Heather J. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very fast, efficient and friendly from start to finish! I changed the size of vehicle at pick up and they helped me with decision and had no problems making it happen!

Gary F. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I've rented from U Haul dozens of times and this was absolutely the best experience I have ever had. Quick,efficient and super courteous, especially when I rented the van.

Rebecca R. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keyless Entry device was terrific! However, this device does not fit into the "key return" box for an after-hours drop. Caused an extra, early morning trip back to the Center to hand-deliver the key ring/device.

PAUL B N. on 4/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Same as above. Thank-you.

Earl S. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good service! Will use this location in the future, if needed.

MERRITT D. on 4/22/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This office was contacted to assist us with the accident due to equipment breaking and stranding us not to mention damaging our car. They picked up their dolly and left us there, refused to tow our car, did not find a replacement dolly and after 4 hours of waiting on a Maryland on ramp, we used AAA to get us the rest of the way home 111 miles. NEVER AGAIN

ROBERT E. on 4/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service!

Karl W. on 4/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

U haul always does a great job. I've used them for years and I've never been let down.

PAUL W. on 4/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

First time ever renting a moving truck. Easier then I thought it would be. I will def use Uhaul again....

nina k. on 4/11/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They rented us a truck that should not be allowed on the road. I drove the truck 40 miles and only averaged 2.6 mpg. I was 10 miles over what I estimated, and I was charged $10 for that. Do you think a 24 ft box truck should get that little? I was going to recommend U-haul, but due to my experience I will refer them elsewhere. I live on a fixed income, and feel that I was charged excessively just because they could. I am going to pursue options on what I can do to stop your company from over charging people for unsafe equipment.

JIM M. on 4/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding service by extremely pleasant associates...Thank George and Kurt.

ROGER A. on 4/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Aaron was excellent! Great job!

MICHAEL S. on 3/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I use this uhaul place a lot and I always get excellent service from Kurt, thank you

Tyler J. on 3/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Ensure all trucks have a full tank of gas when rented.

Brenda M. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very professional drop off site and location. Adequate amount of staff to assist.

TRACY B. on 3/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys seem to be hiring and training great employees

DeJuana J. on 3/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wow! Great Service! Mr. King was outstanding. My truck was available, ready and clean. I was in and out in less than 15 minutes!

JESSICA B. on 3/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It is open later hours which is great.

SHARON B. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service, but be a little more patient people do get loss. But I want thank you very much in a short time of need.

JEFF S on 11/7/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Employees John Howard in Hagerstown Cheryl Mead in North Charleston were wonderful. Ubox system still has kinks to work out. Wouldn`t recommend for long distance moves.

JESSICA W on 10/20/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was helpful but grumpy, you could tell they didn`t want 2 be there. I asked the staff 2 change the account being charged twice but they charged the old one twice, thankfully my bank blocked it.

JESSICA W on 10/7/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff were helpful, but not friendly, they were there only to do the minimum and nothing more.

PHILLIP D on 3/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was great and box delivered as promised.

PHILLIP D on 1/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. John and the guys at the Shawley Drive UHaul were very helpful with answering all my questions. Made my move very easy and relaxing. Thanks for all the time.

MARIELA J on 10/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a great experience, when I did have issues, they were resolved in timely manner, and we were compensated.

MEGHAN M on 10/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service at this location was outstanding. Much thanks to Chris and John who were incredibly kind, prompt, and knowledgeable. Great business..highly recommend it.

WENDY K on 9/11/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were very pleased with our Weexperience and have already recommended u-box to people. Other companies are going to be hurting once people catch on to what a great program this is!

DAVID T on 8/11/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck Jjump start at center said we had cab light on Attend parked trk at stor bin for us we did nothing tag on keys said dead bat after jump told let run for 1hr MY GAS I did night bat dead

JONATHAN K on 8/10/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Several attempts to contact the facility ended in failure. As a result they charged me a months rent when my stuff had been cleared out of the unit for a week prior to due date.

KENNETH T on 8/9/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Locking hardware broken. Price competitive, however less space than PODs and ABF Upack.

JOHN S on 7/18/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a bit of an issue due to the local fire marshal, but we did get the problem solved in a reasonable manner

CARL F on 6/5/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very clean and well maintained

DAVID T on 11/28/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service very good and friendly

LISA M on 11/23/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Gene helped me with my move, was very helpful, and made extremely valuable suggestions I would not have thought of otherwise. I`m highly pleased!

KIMERLY C on 8/25/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

good experiance

MICHAEL P on 12/3/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The facility leaked and some of my items got damaged, there wasn`t a light inside and although the hours were 7 - 7, that did not fit my schedule. The guy running the place was nice and friendly.