U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

Share |

Address

18315 Shawley Dr
Hagerstown, MD 21740

(301) 790-1800

(Exit 9)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Trailer Hitch Center of Hagerstown

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JOHN H. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The equipment I ordered was not available. That happens, but the staff at this location did not know how to get me in touch with "Traffic". They only knew how to forward my number if I called their location. I said that maybe I should try the UHaul national number, but they did not know what it was. I ended up going outside to see if the number was available on an advertisement on the side of a truck.

mark s. on 7/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have rented a number of times with U Haul. Was very disappointed in the performance of the truck. It has a few problems and that truck needs to be removed from the fleet.

BRIAN B. on 7/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Need a customer service person at the counter constantly...Customers had to wait awhile...Please try to do better...

DENNIS O. on 7/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were Great!

CORI S. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

During a stressful move the personnel made our experience much easier. I worked with Kurt specifically and his positive attitude and ease working with the public are exceptional. Thanks Kurt.

STEPHANIE G. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It would be nice if you have more of the larger trucks available. The only problem I had renting from uhaul was I was looking to rent a 24-26 foot truck but all the 24 trucks were broke down or not available and the location only had one 26 foot that was not available. So more larger trucks available is my only comment. Everything thing else was great and the guys at this are all excellent.

THOMAS F. on 7/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding service in every respect.

Jagadesan R. on 7/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer friendly service. The team helped me unload my car from auto transport and also helped me move my tv from Car to the truck. Very nice.

ROBERT K. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The drop off procedure was amazingly quick. The whole process took less than 5 minutes. Of course, the proficiency of the staff certainly lends to that.

JOSEPH K. on 7/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful and friendly, clean organized. Fit me in and out quickly.

JIMMY H. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys in Maugansville are the best !! thanks Jimmy

CHRIS L. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good location and FANTASTIC service!

JOHN R. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck was clean except for the interior windows. I stopped and cleaned the outside only to learn it was the inside of the windows that I was havi an issue seeing through.

NEKEVA L. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I reserved my rental online & it gave me a location for pick up at Beaver Creek Mini Storage but when I received the confirmation call i had to pick up at the Maugansville location but it didn't cause any problems other than it was farther away.

ERIC J. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was told the fuel was at 3/4 of a tank it was at 5/8. I filled the tank exactly as I found it, back to 5/8. I was then charged another $18.00 to put it back to 3/4. This is nonsense! I wouldn't recommend U-Haul to anyone. Its always the little things that add up. U-haul has a lot of them. Way to much money for a few hours in a day and 140 miles or so. I will be forwarding all of this information and correspondence to the Better Business Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission. Consumers beware! There are less expensive alternatives.

Stanley P. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kurt was excellent in both his customer service and the hitch installation. The only complaint I have is with the U-haul corporation. Considering how much military customers they probably have; I find it disgraceful that a national organization like this has no kind of discounts for active, retired or disabled military members. In the current world situations, that is disgraceful!

DANIEL K. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people are nice and helpful. Kurt is a nice guy.

DONNA W. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck seemed really old and noisy. Rattled like it was falling apart. Maybe time for some refurbishing.

DANIEL A. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A+++++++++

BRIAN B. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was charge more than what I was told it would be for equipment. Also I was charged for equipment that I didn't even get. I know not to trust the people at the counter again. I will get my equipment someplace else when I move.

JOE L. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have the truck that the customer reserves. Don't call at 6PM Friday to cancel a truck scheduled to be picked up 10AM Saturday.

Laura S. on 6/25/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The man that waited on me was talking to fast, no eye contact, he was not very personable. Said I had to return the vehicle with 5/8th of a tank of gas and their was only 3/8th in it. Very grumble man. Not nice. Was not thorough explaining things to me and was in a big hurry doing it.

Nathan S. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great manager, very helpful!!

JIMMY H. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys in maugansville are the best great guys george and store mgr is the best

PAT L. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Problem number 1 was that I had reserved a 10' turck and whe I got to the location they did not have any. I made reservation 1 week in advance and was not informed of any changes. I was forced to take a van or nothing, When I asked why attendant why did I bother placing a reservation and he said 'I don't Know" Problem 2 even though van was clean it smelt terrible like leftover food and would not go away. When I returned , there was a 10' truck sitting on lot.

CHRISTIAN E. on 6/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. Everyone was very respectful and courteous.

TERILYN R. on 6/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good customer service by person that rented equipment. Person that checked us back In did not know what he was doing.

RICKY L. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The vehicle I was given needed front end suspension work. Steering was very sloppy. The store was very small with very little variety for supplies and towing needs. The packing supplies were scattered all over the store because there's not enough room in one place for all the items to be displayed.

Lauren K. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a terrible experience with the mover site where you could hire a mover. The rest of my experience with uhaul was great.

DANIEL K. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

New management is better than before. customer service much much better and friendly.

ROBERT R. on 6/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Driving over 30 minutes to pick up equipment was very much unacceptable.

CURTIS W. on 6/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff!!

jordan h. on 6/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

N/A

Roniele C. on 6/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just keep working like that guys

DeWayne J. on 6/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always a pleasure to rent from this location. Truly a professional staff/

TABU H. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Allow customers to drop off the trucks wherever the renter can locate a UHaul store. Escort renters to the truck.

AARON T. on 6/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was terrific.

JEFF L. on 6/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My.u haul was rented at a very affordable price .They are by far the cheapest place in the phone book for your moving truck needs. As a reminder to anyone renting a truck. Please call at least three weeks in advance. The beginning and end of the month are super busy .

DENISE I. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Van was very new....less than 2000 miles and when going over 50 mph it shook.

PAMELA B. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Prices per mile are extremely high I only made two trips and was over $200 and feel it was too much for a single parent moving

WILLIAM W. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievably, the U-Haul computer at this site could not pull up any information on the U-Haul Moving & Storage at Janaf where I intended to, and did, drop off the trailer. I gave George the exact name of the Janaf location and the Raby Rd. address and saw him try to find the location on your website, but it was not there. No problem for me since that location is 100 yards from my business and I knew where I was going to drop off the trailer. Just thought you would want to know.

Edward L. on 5/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location has very professional, helpful, and attentive staff. They have a large inventory of vehicles to choose from and everything went smoothly with my moving day. Thank you!

SHARON K. on 5/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant and fast drop off time.. Thanks

CRYSTAL P. on 5/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything that the local dealer did was great. What I wasn't happy with was that I requested to pickup a truck in Waynesboro, Pa (17268), however since you did not have a truck available in that location you or should I say your reservation department failed to tell me that I needed to go to Hagerstown, Md. (21740) for the truck I requested. I understand that you were limited on the amount of trucks located at a certain location. I just don't understand why you couldn't alert me to the fact that I had to drive to the next town, (across the state line no less) to pickup a truck. It was rather embarrasing to find this out when I got to the Waynesboro location for them to tell me this.

JOE L. on 5/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

George the counter guy was very friendly and helpful.

NATHAN B. on 5/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great overall. The guy working was very helpful and the pickup/dropoff were quick. Would definitely do again.

STEVEN W. on 5/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The location was clean, and the unit was clean. However, there were two marker lights (one on each fender) that did not work at all. I do not feel that this effected the safety of the unit but I would have expected the units to be tested and ready to go before they are rented. The person working the counter was very nice, and worked to try and repair the problem before we left but was unable due to a wiring problem. He did pull both lights off and try new ones but that did not fix the problem.

Debbie S. on 5/25/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I called to reserve the U-Haul, the operator was very helpful and mannerly. When we went to pick up U-Haul and return U-Haul, Mr. George King was helpful, pleasant and mannerly. I wish all customer service was as pleasant as my experience with Mr. King was.

Jennifer F. on 5/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It would be great if there was someone there at 1pm. But the place was empty. I also paid for a dolly and didn't get one.

Dave R. on 5/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The store was very efficient and the staff was helpful, including recommending the right trailer hitch equipment. It was an exact fit for my truck and easy to install.

Melvin B. on 5/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The experience was a whole lot better than the last time I was there, so that's a plus.

LISA B. on 5/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

VERY NICE.

michael t. on 5/17/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service provider was extremely helpful and even provided an adapter to use for the trailer free of charge. Excellent service.

Edgardo D. on 5/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service as always expected.

LANCE D. on 5/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

That location was fine. The problem was that location was not where I had wanted to pick up the trailer. Because your computer system automatically sent my reservation to the wrong location I lost about an hour and it made the rest of my day a real struggle. You have TWO locations within 30 miles of each other with the EXACT SAME street name - South Potomac Street!

Kayt T. on 5/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly, efficient and professional. I will definitely call on them again when in need....

ZACHARY T. on 5/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I reserved a 26' truck, but they only had a 24' truck when I showed up. I would like to have had at least an email reflecting this change prior to pickup.

LeAnn W. on 5/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was my first time ever renting or driving a U-Haul truck and I was quiet pleasantly surprised. The transaction was smooth, Customer Service 100%, truck was ready to go, everything was labeled inside the truck and was pretty self explanatory. Overall, I was impressed and have no fear of ever going this route again when moving again.

ROBERT S. on 5/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

equipment was pretty dated. Should replace trailers more often. We did have a slight misunderstanding. I needed an extra day to load and unload the trailer including travel time to Lynchburg, Va. This information was not shared with the agency were the unit was returned in Lynchburg. They rented the unit before I returned it.

lisa s. on 5/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The reservation process went well. When I picked up the truck, the seats had been cleaned but the cup holders and the area around them was full of crumbs and very sticky. When we closed the passenger door, part of the door panel fell in on the floor, causing us again to get out of the truck and go in to make sure that they were aware of now the uncleanliness AND the broken part. We were told to throw the broken piece under the passengers seat on the floor. This caused quite a delay as there was only one employee at this station and we had to wait for him to come back into the building twice from helping other customers to bring these things to his attention. I felt bad for him, he was running around like he was crazy. He was very polite in spite of everything. Kudos to him.

BILL H. on 5/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wash my car, unload the trlr 4 us. And serve a cocktail with a smile. Lol

edwin m. on 5/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I thought every thing was fine. Truck was ready on time and very clean. No issues with the truck either. Overall a good experience.

Tina H. on 5/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Put the vehicle trunk back together as it come apart! Putting the trunk back in order. Explanation : Trunk left side push pins not put back on to complete the job properly . I had to purchase from the car dealer at Nissan parts to correct the issue. Other than that everything was completed as promised. Time, pricing was good, and very respectful associates . All my questions were answered.

Aaron P. on 5/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

ANDREW W. on 5/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Work on the computer system.

Clay B. on 5/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Only negative is the computer system was down when we came to pick. They threw in pads and dolly for free because of the wait, so it's all good.

THERESA N. on 5/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you

AMANDA D. on 4/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Greg was very nice and understanding about the state of the vehicle.

EDGARDO D. on 4/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff and great customer service.

NORM M. on 4/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing you delivered everything, that was promised. No complaints at all would highly recomend.

STEVE M. on 4/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very convenient location and professional personnel.

GARY G. on 4/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep it up, your doing nothing wrong...

Denise S. on 4/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All was great!

BRIAN W. on 4/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

UHAUL has a real gem of a team member in John Howard. I enjoyed his customer service so much, I looked forward to seeing him again when I dropped the trailer off at the end of the day! Just a super nice guy who was very knowledgeable as well. Thanks for a great UHAUL experience John!!

cory s. on 4/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Need a uhaul this is the best in the area Do you need fully insured movers call MuscleforMoves at 7176835319 or visit facebook.com/MovingwithMuscleforMoves or MuscleforMoves.com

ERIC H. on 4/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The trailer I was given did not fit my vehicle after I was told it would. The straps would not fit around the tires. That was the only reason I chose uhaul because other rental companies were cheaper but uhaul had the right size trailer I needed to tow my vehicle. I was basically told by two people within the company that I had to fix the problem by myself. I will probably never use uhaul again and let others know about the poor customer service.

Doug G. on 4/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make sure you reinforce the NO BACKING UP restrictions for the two-wheel car dolly. Sheared a safety chain hook at the destination. Had to circle through the front yard to avoid backing up.

DANIELLE P. on 4/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is one of the BEST locations I have ever visited - the employees were GREAT and the environment was too

DANIEL B. on 3/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not sure why mileage cost more on certain days of the week. Looks to me that one flat rate would be a lot more fair. Some of us just can not take off during the week.

JEFF S on 11/7/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Employees John Howard in Hagerstown Cheryl Mead in North Charleston were wonderful. Ubox system still has kinks to work out. Wouldn`t recommend for long distance moves.

JESSICA W on 10/20/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was helpful but grumpy, you could tell they didn`t want 2 be there. I asked the staff 2 change the account being charged twice but they charged the old one twice, thankfully my bank blocked it.

JESSICA W on 10/7/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff were helpful, but not friendly, they were there only to do the minimum and nothing more.

PHILLIP D on 3/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was great and box delivered as promised.

PHILLIP D on 1/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. John and the guys at the Shawley Drive UHaul were very helpful with answering all my questions. Made my move very easy and relaxing. Thanks for all the time.

MARIELA J on 10/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a great experience, when I did have issues, they were resolved in timely manner, and we were compensated.

MEGHAN M on 10/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service at this location was outstanding. Much thanks to Chris and John who were incredibly kind, prompt, and knowledgeable. Great business..highly recommend it.

WENDY K on 9/11/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were very pleased with our Weexperience and have already recommended u-box to people. Other companies are going to be hurting once people catch on to what a great program this is!

DAVID T on 8/11/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck Jjump start at center said we had cab light on Attend parked trk at stor bin for us we did nothing tag on keys said dead bat after jump told let run for 1hr MY GAS I did night bat dead

JONATHAN K on 8/10/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Several attempts to contact the facility ended in failure. As a result they charged me a months rent when my stuff had been cleared out of the unit for a week prior to due date.

KENNETH T on 8/9/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Locking hardware broken. Price competitive, however less space than PODs and ABF Upack.

JOHN S on 7/18/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a bit of an issue due to the local fire marshal, but we did get the problem solved in a reasonable manner

CARL F on 6/5/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very clean and well maintained

DAVID T on 11/28/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service very good and friendly

LISA M on 11/23/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Gene helped me with my move, was very helpful, and made extremely valuable suggestions I would not have thought of otherwise. I`m highly pleased!

KIMERLY C on 8/25/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

good experiance

MICHAEL P on 12/3/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The facility leaked and some of my items got damaged, there wasn`t a light inside and although the hours were 7 - 7, that did not fit my schedule. The guy running the place was nice and friendly.