U-Haul Store of Milpitas

U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Share |

Address

2395 Oakland Rd
San Jose, CA 95131

(408) 943-9191

(@ Montague Expwy)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Jaclyn K. on 1/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I reserved online, which was great. I did have to wait a bit for the customer in front of me to make up his mind, but when my turn came it went quickly. I highly recommend using their online option for quick, hassle-free service.

ANDREW G. on 1/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the staff was very helpful when I needed to exchange the truck I had rented for a larger one just before closing time.

DIANA W. on 1/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John and Peter were great in advising what was wrong with the auto transport. Stayed late to help me check in my truck that I forgot to fill up before coming back.

David B. on 1/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Daniels at the service counter was great. He was thorough and explained the whole rental agreement. Nice guy!

DEREK B. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good experience overall,nice job

ROGER L. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

friendly staff. quick to get you in and out. polite and answered all questions professionally and courteous..

lior z. on 1/17/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged a lot of money extra with no explanation,when I wanted to talk with the manager they said he's not there when he was actually there. soon as I step out from the place they charge me the full amount like they promised they not going to do.the girl that was there absolutely lied in my face by promising that the manager will call me to resolve the issue of the payments which never happened. do not go into this place whatsoever...

Manhui J. on 1/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is my first time to use it but I had a very good experience.

ELIZABETH P. on 1/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful people. Were willing to help get our car off of the trailer and understood our needs. Very welcoming and prompt in helping us.

Johannes O. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything was fine.

ELOISA T. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was fully satisfied with the graciousness of the staff, cleanliness of the van and your assistance....despite odds! THANK YOU SO MUCH! Sister

CHRISTINE F. on 1/7/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

manager of store had my car towed from the customer parking in error. I want reimbursement of $725.00 plus cab fare $20.

VANESSA S. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location was great including the owner Dave! He was awesome !

KAMELA S. on 1/4/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was misled by rep and felt that I was overbilled in the end due to that error.

Michael K. on 1/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All that I interacted with at this location were, helpful, friendly, and efficient. Very pleased with my experience.

RACHEL R. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My rental was almost a year ago. I am just now receiving this survey as well as an electronic receipt. Also, they called me months after to see if I had returned the equipment I rented (I had returned it the same day). It seems like there is a 6-12 month delay in your communications.

MARK B. on 1/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Explain the headlights at night settings.

JAMES S. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All good

Elizabeth m. on 12/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Would be nice if there wasn't a charge for mileage. If customer brings back vehicle within 4- hour time frame. Like Home Depot and Lowes.....

WILLIAM C. on 12/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing

VANESSA M. on 12/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Due to having a reservation the process picking up my rental and dropping off was very quick. I was in and out both times. Staff very friendly and were able to answer all questions I had. Thank you.

RAMERO G. on 12/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The best uhaul in ca. I travel 100miles to rent units because of the great service.

RONALD H. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location was very busy the day of my pickup. The lady attendant was very short in her instructions to me and was hard to understand because of the office noise. We did no walkaround of the truck before I left inspecting for previous damage. No instructions were given for operation of the slide ramp (which was simplistic). She walked me to the truck and then disappered, leaving me to wonder if it was ok for me to drive off. I would rate her as poor on customer concern and tell my friends to avoid her if they need to rent a truck from that location. DEFINITE improvement is needed.

ROGEL C. on 12/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly Staff, explained everything in detail.

Kamilah F. on 12/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were awesome! Very thorough and take great care of your belongings!

DANIEL W. on 12/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast friendly service A+++

ROBERT C. on 12/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager, an older gentleman, wasn't friendly at all. He seemed irritated and unhappy. I wouldn't rent here unless I absolutely had to.

Iradj Z. on 12/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was fast and people were so friendly. Thank you guys...

Loc T. on 12/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service because Thomas asked his boss to allow me to use the Uhaul 2" ball hitch because mine was too large without charging me an extra fee. He simply held on to my hitch while I use the uhaul hitch and we simply exchange them upon return. This type of customer focus is valued and will generate customer loyalty versus being nickled and dime to death.

OVAIS H. on 12/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Close at 8pm. I seen a guy/lost customer struggle to get a 5x 8 because he got there to at 750pm. And have more inventory. Because there was no 5x8. He was told to call the 1800 number. Lost a customer going from this location to Dallas Texas.

Nikhil S. on 12/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Lower price for milage

charles a. on 12/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing-you were great.

Craig K. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All good !

DONALD H. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall experience was as expected, you are renting a truck after all... the service tech was friendly and got us through the rental process quick enough. Time spent was no more than 20 minutes. I used to drive a truck for a furniture store, so I can say that the truck was in great shape considering its purpose. No complaints from me. U-haul got it done!

Juergen F. on 12/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There needs to be a bell to call the attendant.

carol F. on 12/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every thing is excellent! I will rent from this place again in the near future!

RANDY O. on 12/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The only thing that could be improved is that the cigarette lighter sockets should work so that your customers can keep their phones charged. Otherwise - good rates, good equipment and excellent, friendly service.

Nick S. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When people make reservations 10 days ahead of picking up a vehicle, you should have the vehicle at the location they requested. 10 days is plenty of time to make that happen, well unless its Uhaul. I will not use you or your services again as I was told oh well or get a cab by your people when I explained I had no way of getting to the new location. You guys aren't the only show in town!!

CHRIS C. on 12/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The mileage total billed was a little off from actual. 1/10 mile at start and 1/10 mile at return. 20% of the per mile rate is not worth the effort of correcting. Started with 1/4 tank of gas.... Rental should start with half tank minimum to avoid two stops.

Nasser P. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The agent was extremely professional and helpful. Thank you!

MICHAEL L. on 12/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Customer Support.

NOAH H. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

check lights had a headlight out

Gene S. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The appliance dolly I have rented should have been tied in the truck. It was moving around in the back and making noise when I was driving.

Marina K. on 11/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was great! The store is a bit small so there was a long line and a bit of a wait. Maybe adding another sales person at the desk would help. Thanks!

CLINTON R. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very fast and friendly.

RICHARD B. on 11/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees did an outstanding job of making the pick-up and drop-off quick and easy. Very, very efficient operation. Everyone I talked to there was very courteous, professional and friendly. I'll be BACK!

SEAN G. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints, appreciated the bright lighting at night while dropping off after hours

KHALED K. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Initially I wanted to rent a pick-up. Since it rained earlier, the back was wet. I switched to a van instead. The representative whose name was Sal, I was told, wanted to rent me a van that had a muddy exterior AND interior. I brought it to his attention. He said he'd clean it. I asked 'including the exterior?' he did not give a straight answer but I understood the answer is no, since, per his response 'how is the exterior going to affect you'. I asked why he couldn't just rent me a van. He dodged my question insisting the finish cleaning up the dirty van to then rent it out to me. A lady whose name escapes me then switched me to an already clean van. I could not fathom why 'Sal' insisted on having me wait while he cleans a dirty van when there were a handful of already cleaned and shiny vans in the parking lot.

Charles M. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is still one of the best truck rental places I've used. I always reserve, and the truck is always there. The trucks are sometimes a little battered (no problem there, since these vehicles get heavily used), but always clean and mechanically in good shape. AC and radio worked fine too :). I highly recommend this location.

Nicholas T. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Would definitely recommend.

JORDAN L. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I don't remember the gentleman's name who helped me and explained everything to me, but he was amazing and way overqualified for the job he was doing. He provided great service and was very informative. I think he was hispanic, with a goatee. Anyway, give that guy a raise!!

Stephanie H. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It would be great to get a confirmation email to be able to confirm that the equipment that we dropped off after hours was checked in. Thanks :D

JEFFREY L. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Van was dirty and smelly. Customer parking is limited.

Anthony B. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Don't remember the guys first name. His last name was Lopez. Very courteous and got me in and out quickly. Explained all my charges and what they were from. Well done sir!

Ray K. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The service when I rented the appllance dolly was good. The agent helped me load the heavy dolly into my car, which wasn't a simple procedure. However, when I returned the dolly today, I arrived at the dealership about 20 minutes before it was open. The door was open, but the clerk refused to accept my return until 9:00am. He locked the door and told me to wait. Then I waited at the sign that said "Equipment Return Wait Here" Some time after 9:00am, I noticed that the clerk was waiting on customers who came into the office after I arrived. Becoming tired of waiting for the clerk to come out to the sign where I was told to wait, I went into the office, where I was about 5th in line. After waiting in line for about 5-10 minutes, I notice another clerk was checking in customers behind me in the return lane. I went out and spoke to her, and she eventually processed my return. I asked why she waited on customers behind me in line, and she said she thought I was "just hanging out" I ended up waiting for about 45 minute to return the dolly that I had rented. Neither clerk seemed concerned about the inconvenience I had experienced. I think the dealership needs to have better policies or training in place. 1. If a clerk leaves the door to the office open, and a customer walks in before the official opening time, he should wait on the customer (my opinion) 2.If there is a sign telling customers with returns to wait, a clerk should go to them, rather than waiting for them to come into the office. The whole process was confusing and irritating. I will try to find another dealership next time. Perhaps you can suggest one to me, or tell me if the dealership I went to will make any changes. Thanks, Ray Kronquist 408-929-9066

Thi Mai Huong D. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have parking for truck renters

Cameron b. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The trailer that I had rented was dirty from previous renter, But it was a well maintained trailer with new and properly operating lights and tires much better than other local equipment rental places!

RUSHIKESH C. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, friendly staff.

Morrison B. on 11/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Service!!!

zack s. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

He helped me with parking, but there is no parking available with the location.

ROMEO D. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast crew,specially PETE.in and out in 15min.thanks....

JI Z. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

cancelled the reservation without notifying customer in any way

Max Z. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

At first I tried to book a 24 feet truck online, but your website said this location didn't have such. Although I eventually got what I wanted from this site after a phone calls, I would prefer your system had it right at the beginning. By the way, the customer service on the phone was excellent too. Thanks.

Ho W. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice and friendly

PHIL P. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Do not know the staff is fast to help clear in what U Hall can provide the cost OK Equipment is great Keep up the good effort

JOHNPAUL C. on 10/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tony and staff are well trained and friendly...i surely would go back to this site in the future...

PATRICIA O. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love reserving my truck directly they reserve my truck and have it ready when I arrive. It's important to my business that U-haul have my truck reserved and ready. That staff is excellent they remind me to buy supplies, bubble wrap and boxes so I don't run out and have to stop elsewhere. Excellent!

Christopher B. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall great. The only concern was that the gas in the U-Haul dropped from 1/4 tank to Empty when the vehicle was idling before I left (the contract stated I was getting it and needed to return it at 1/4 tank). The technician was very helpful. He filled the tank back to the contracted amount for me before I left.

Sean W. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The truck didn't have any gas in it when I picked it up and I wasn't able to make it to a gas station. I had to walk back to Uhaul to have them take me to a gas station. Not a pleasant experience.

UMAIR M. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Missmanagemnt dropoff location was not what I wanted, due.to which I got late and was charged 138$

CARL K. on 10/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This site is excellent. Enjoy the folks who work there. Email receipts are ecologically sound.

MARK C. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Checkout computer was not functioning and a long line developed. Trailer was old, tires at the end of their tread, and missing a jack in the front.

JOE S. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your Roadside Assistance did NOT assist me. A complete explanation has been sent in to corporate. In fact, your RA is borderline fraudulent and totally misrepresented. Your employees are doing what they are told but RA, itself, failed.

mohamed e. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person who help us when we returned the van was great.

Adeel M. on 10/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy working there was awesome! Great customer service! We will be back :)

janice s. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The key was tricky to turn.

CHRIS M. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience with U-Haul was horrible. I would not recommend booking online nor would I recommend U-Haul to anyone.

Alexander R. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. One thing that could make it even better is providing USB power for charging phones.

Locke d. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

David & Sal are great guys. I rent vehicles 5 times a year for 3-4 days each time & I'm dedicated to only renting from them. Great crew.

Achal A. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Inform customers of after hours drop off. Shout out to Paulina for being a great customer service rep. :)

robert l. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The fuel reading was off. The contract said 1/4 tank, but when I got in the truck it was between 1/8 and 1/4. It didn't seem like a big deal to me, but when I went to refill the tank, that extra 1/8 cost a lot of extra money. Try to be more accurate on the fuel reading. Better yet, give the truck with a full tank. That way the customer just has to give a full tank back. No fussing with 1/8 and 1/4 increments.

Ken H. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. More staff would help with handling all customers in a timely manner.

Christian M. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

need more personnel.

Sue S. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff was very helpful. The reservation by the main group was incorrect for my pickup in Fremont. The Milpitas location worked well with me for a satisfactory solution. It's not what I wanted but they made a good compromise since they knew how my reservation was messed up. I really appreciate their help.

Esau M. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Counter help was very courteous and helpful

DEBBIE M on 1/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to Dave and Shawn

RICHARD L on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Jose location is not secured. The manager threaten to ship after just a day of loading but the location is not secured.

ROSEL W on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Dave helped me .. went out of his way to teach me connect and disconnect the tow hitch from the trailer.. even accompanied my to my apartment and showed me how to use the equipment.

ROBERT L on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the exception of the drop off. The employees could not give me a receipt which both wasted time and made me nervous about leaving my belongings with them.

PAM S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No calls for delivery info. Told it would be there between 12-2pm. Showed at 3 without the 2 dozen blankets that I ordered. The brackets had been ripped off so there was no way to lock it. Big hassle!