U-Haul Store of Milpitas

U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Share |

Address

2395 Oakland Rd
San Jose, CA 95131

(408) 943-9191

(@ Montague Expwy)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Special Operating Hours

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Store of Milpitas

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Nicholas T. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Would definitely recommend.

JORDAN L. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I don't remember the gentleman's name who helped me and explained everything to me, but he was amazing and way overqualified for the job he was doing. He provided great service and was very informative. I think he was hispanic, with a goatee. Anyway, give that guy a raise!!

Stephanie H. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It would be great to get a confirmation email to be able to confirm that the equipment that we dropped off after hours was checked in. Thanks :D

JEFFREY L. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Van was dirty and smelly. Customer parking is limited.

Anthony B. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Don't remember the guys first name. His last name was Lopez. Very courteous and got me in and out quickly. Explained all my charges and what they were from. Well done sir!

Ray K. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The service when I rented the appllance dolly was good. The agent helped me load the heavy dolly into my car, which wasn't a simple procedure. However, when I returned the dolly today, I arrived at the dealership about 20 minutes before it was open. The door was open, but the clerk refused to accept my return until 9:00am. He locked the door and told me to wait. Then I waited at the sign that said "Equipment Return Wait Here" Some time after 9:00am, I noticed that the clerk was waiting on customers who came into the office after I arrived. Becoming tired of waiting for the clerk to come out to the sign where I was told to wait, I went into the office, where I was about 5th in line. After waiting in line for about 5-10 minutes, I notice another clerk was checking in customers behind me in the return lane. I went out and spoke to her, and she eventually processed my return. I asked why she waited on customers behind me in line, and she said she thought I was "just hanging out" I ended up waiting for about 45 minute to return the dolly that I had rented. Neither clerk seemed concerned about the inconvenience I had experienced. I think the dealership needs to have better policies or training in place. 1. If a clerk leaves the door to the office open, and a customer walks in before the official opening time, he should wait on the customer (my opinion) 2.If there is a sign telling customers with returns to wait, a clerk should go to them, rather than waiting for them to come into the office. The whole process was confusing and irritating. I will try to find another dealership next time. Perhaps you can suggest one to me, or tell me if the dealership I went to will make any changes. Thanks, Ray Kronquist 408-929-9066

Thi Mai Huong D. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have parking for truck renters

Cameron b. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The trailer that I had rented was dirty from previous renter, But it was a well maintained trailer with new and properly operating lights and tires much better than other local equipment rental places!

RUSHIKESH C. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, friendly staff.

Morrison B. on 11/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Service!!!

zack s. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

He helped me with parking, but there is no parking available with the location.

ROMEO D. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast crew,specially PETE.in and out in 15min.thanks....

JI Z. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

cancelled the reservation without notifying customer in any way

Max Z. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

At first I tried to book a 24 feet truck online, but your website said this location didn't have such. Although I eventually got what I wanted from this site after a phone calls, I would prefer your system had it right at the beginning. By the way, the customer service on the phone was excellent too. Thanks.

Ho W. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice and friendly

PHIL P. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Do not know the staff is fast to help clear in what U Hall can provide the cost OK Equipment is great Keep up the good effort

JOHNPAUL C. on 10/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tony and staff are well trained and friendly...i surely would go back to this site in the future...

PATRICIA O. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love reserving my truck directly they reserve my truck and have it ready when I arrive. It's important to my business that U-haul have my truck reserved and ready. That staff is excellent they remind me to buy supplies, bubble wrap and boxes so I don't run out and have to stop elsewhere. Excellent!

Christopher B. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall great. The only concern was that the gas in the U-Haul dropped from 1/4 tank to Empty when the vehicle was idling before I left (the contract stated I was getting it and needed to return it at 1/4 tank). The technician was very helpful. He filled the tank back to the contracted amount for me before I left.

Sean W. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The truck didn't have any gas in it when I picked it up and I wasn't able to make it to a gas station. I had to walk back to Uhaul to have them take me to a gas station. Not a pleasant experience.

UMAIR M. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Missmanagemnt dropoff location was not what I wanted, due.to which I got late and was charged 138$

CARL K. on 10/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This site is excellent. Enjoy the folks who work there. Email receipts are ecologically sound.

MARK C. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Checkout computer was not functioning and a long line developed. Trailer was old, tires at the end of their tread, and missing a jack in the front.

JOE S. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your Roadside Assistance did NOT assist me. A complete explanation has been sent in to corporate. In fact, your RA is borderline fraudulent and totally misrepresented. Your employees are doing what they are told but RA, itself, failed.

mohamed e. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person who help us when we returned the van was great.

Adeel M. on 10/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy working there was awesome! Great customer service! We will be back :)

janice s. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The key was tricky to turn.

CHRIS M. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience with U-Haul was horrible. I would not recommend booking online nor would I recommend U-Haul to anyone.

Alexander R. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. One thing that could make it even better is providing USB power for charging phones.

Locke d. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

David & Sal are great guys. I rent vehicles 5 times a year for 3-4 days each time & I'm dedicated to only renting from them. Great crew.

Achal A. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Inform customers of after hours drop off. Shout out to Paulina for being a great customer service rep. :)

robert l. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The fuel reading was off. The contract said 1/4 tank, but when I got in the truck it was between 1/8 and 1/4. It didn't seem like a big deal to me, but when I went to refill the tank, that extra 1/8 cost a lot of extra money. Try to be more accurate on the fuel reading. Better yet, give the truck with a full tank. That way the customer just has to give a full tank back. No fussing with 1/8 and 1/4 increments.

Ken H. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. More staff would help with handling all customers in a timely manner.

Christian M. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

need more personnel.

Sue S. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff was very helpful. The reservation by the main group was incorrect for my pickup in Fremont. The Milpitas location worked well with me for a satisfactory solution. It's not what I wanted but they made a good compromise since they knew how my reservation was messed up. I really appreciate their help.

Esau M. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Counter help was very courteous and helpful

Aditya T. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went well. I was happy about my experience. Keep it up! :)

Michael C. on 9/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

19.95 rental. 15 miles. 1 1/2 hours = $48. Not such al bargain

Elizabeth T. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

my only complaint was that I saw a hold in my bank account for over $400.00 three times. there was a hold of over $1200 in my account. I didnt understand why this was a process anyone would have to through. this was not explained to me.

James L. on 9/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

John Uribe and Pete Flores were excellent. They were friendly, patient, and very knowledgeable Both were very helpful in assisting me with my rental.

Octavian B. on 9/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A better tracker, better estimates for pricing and time of arrival.

Darren H. on 9/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick service. great job!

William F. on 9/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Too bad there is so much paper work. I liked the people I interacted with

rololfo l. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

now, the delivery of the trailer went well it wasn't too far from my destination. i had no problem finding the place

JENNIFER H. on 9/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great truck and excellent service!

scott u. on 9/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was one of the best experiences I've had from a Uhaul rental. David was quick, efficient, and super nice with his service. Thanks David!

DANIELLE H. on 9/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people were great and very helpful. Hey Pete...Go Niners!!!!

SHERRY L. on 9/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The truck brakes were grabbing when I would stop and one of the light covers fell off while enroute to pick up our stuff. Everything else was in order.

BRIAN W. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service, friendly.

JIMMY V. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All smooth!!

ANETTE L. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not a thing

Jad Y. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and the lady that help me was awesome!

COLBY DION B. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very clean great customer service. Fast and efficient!

steve p. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic job.....great customer service

Alexander R. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you!

VU V. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent service.

Ramon C. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Preferred if the windshield are clean

Richard W. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I felt like I had been scammed, as you let me have the truck for 29.00 per day, but your mileage charge was so high that I ended up paying 170.00 for a simple move, and it took me 40 minutes to pick up my vehicle despite the online check in.

MARTIN R. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made a reservation on a friday for a saturday morning pickup of a trailer. Upon arriving saturday at the uhaul center they said the trailer was not back yet and called the person that had it and asked them to return it. They then told me to wait. I requested they give to me one of the other 2 trailers in the yard but they said those were reserved and I had to wait for mine to come in. after 45 minutes I called the local uhaul help center and asked if another center may have a trailer similar that I could go get for the day. The persson told me they would make a call to the center I was at and call me back when they found another location. By now it has been 1 1/2 hours and the man in the uhaul center comes out and says he will give me one of the other trailes, so we go to start the paper work on it and he cant perform it becuase the person at the local center had taken my reservation away and now it is not assigned to any store. after another fifteen minutes the customer with my trailer finally shows up and returns the trailer so we can only act as though I am a walkin and he gives me the trailer to use for the day (rents it to me). I wasted almost 2 hours that morning waiting to use a trailer I have a reservation for the day before. I had a 2 1/2 hour each way drive to make that day with the trailer and believe me I was not happy that entire day. So, do you want a referral ? no !! What I want is my rental money back !! With this kind of service I wont be thinking about uhaul as my first choice next time. customer service is everything people. teach the centers how to give good customer service or close your doors.

AKANE S. on 8/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every staff who assisted me on 8/28/14 was great and outstanding! Thank you very much for all youre friendly customer services.

Sheila S. on 8/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service and super friendly staff!

BRADLEY S. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This is not an issue with the location, but instead with UHaul as a whole. I put in a request for a 17' truck over a week in advanced, and then was told 2 days before my move that I could not get the truck. I had to settle for a 14' truck, which meant I had to leave items behind for a future pick up and some of my furniture got damaged due to the need to stack awkward items.

KRISTIE R. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This is a recommendation for UHAUL in general- not necessarily this locations. Don't send uhauls to other locations with nails in the tires. I had to drive out of my way to this location to pick up a new uhaul because the one I received was about to have a blowout because of a 6 inch nail jammed in the side of the tire. We were already half loaded by the time we saw it. Inspect your uhauls BEFORE you send them to locations, please.

ALEXANDER H. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Fix the price estimates and improve the clarity of pricing information generated by the computer

PAUL S. on 8/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff in helping us unload the car from the trailer

JILLANA H. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great friendly staff!!

Patricia O. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Go directly there don't book with the customer service line.

Mary S. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The outside of the van was filthy. I appreciate you not washing it after every rental with the water shortage, but it was nasty

Jeff C. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall, my experience was positive. The truck's inside windshield should have been wiped clean. There was terrible glare from the sun catching on the film on the glass. I requested 12 furniture pads on only received one bag of six. This was not discovered until it was too late to go back to the pickup location.

tri l. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

do not charge for the dolly. should come with at least one free moving equipment

Steven H. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had rented trailers here at two other occasions which went well. This time, however, did not. My reservation was for a trailer with a ramp. Though the reservation was confirmed, for some reason, it was reallocated and I didn't have what I was supposed to have. The manager said U-Haul was to call me to let me know about the availability at a different location 20 miles away in Newark, CA. No one did. Anyway, I ended up renting a larger one and paid more because I needed it for a site job. What was a bad deal in all and none of that was my fault. I give this location a POOR performance because they should have given me the larger trailer for the same price because that was their mistake.

Elisa G. on 8/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

David and his team have superb and friendly customer service.

Ryan S. on 8/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I called to make a reservation, the person on the phone told me the first 30 miles of driving were included/free, however when I picked up my reservation, I was told they were not. This seems completely unfair as a bait and switch technique that I am very unsatisfied with. Next time I will just hire movers with a truck.

ROBIN H. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately, the rental truck had a flat while driving and inconvenient our regular planned schedules. Uhaul did an outstanding job of supporting me as a customer on roadside assistance, though.

GEORGE B. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice customer survive and friendly staff

ANTONIO C. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Get a new manager

SUDARSHAN K. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and easy...helpful staff

Kathleen d. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this location are great. I rent from here all the time.

Peter C. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

good service

PHONG H. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was hung up three times when calling on the phone. The 1st two reps on the phone was not very pleasant at all. The 3rd one finally made my reservation but very rude. This was my first time making a reservation over the phone. The rep was not very patience with me and didn't want to explain or inform me with information so I end up making a reservation on a vehicle that I certainly didn't want.

Ed F. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Exterior of the van was extremely dirty and in need of washing.

DEBBIE M on 1/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to Dave and Shawn

RICHARD L on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Jose location is not secured. The manager threaten to ship after just a day of loading but the location is not secured.

ROSEL W on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Dave helped me .. went out of his way to teach me connect and disconnect the tow hitch from the trailer.. even accompanied my to my apartment and showed me how to use the equipment.

ROBERT L on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the exception of the drop off. The employees could not give me a receipt which both wasted time and made me nervous about leaving my belongings with them.

PAM S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No calls for delivery info. Told it would be there between 12-2pm. Showed at 3 without the 2 dozen blankets that I ordered. The brackets had been ripped off so there was no way to lock it. Big hassle!