U-Haul at Chester Ave

U-Haul at Chester Ave

Share |

Address

1945 E 55th
Cleveland, OH 44103

(216) 881-2420

(@ Chester Ave)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul at Chester Ave

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul at Chester Ave

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

George P. on 7/31/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Make sure you have reserved items in stock. I reserved a furniture dolly when I moved and when I picked up my uhaul, they told me they were out of stock of furniture dollies. Said that someone stole one and another was rented out. So, you only have 2 furniture dollies? Then the guy tells me that I can buy one if I need one. EXCUSE ME?! Why would I buy one for more money than it costed to rent one, when YOU are the one who, for whatever reason, are out of stock. And the guy who checked me out seemed bored and disinterested, saying that he "just arrived to work and to bear with him". That's no excuse for poor customer service. Won't be going back there ever again and I'm going to tweet, Facebook, and Instagram my experience so that people know what they're getting into by going here. Moving is stressful enough, the moving company is supposed to make it less stressful, and in this case, they failed.

Toshia P. on 7/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When a customer comes in and says hello greet them back

Richard W. on 7/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Complete service from beginning to end I was pleased Andre was professional and polite.

Evelyn B. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great and I greatly appreciated Mr. Banks excellent customer service that he provided when picking up and dropping off!! Keep up the great work and thanks!

DANIEL H. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager at the store today was excellent. Friendly, helpful and direct. He made my experience at U-Haul more pleasant than I expected.

CHERYL A. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

professional, friendly service

Natasha H. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Give some customer service orientation, or classes. The rep was very rude, and snappy.

KENNETH A. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing to be honest. I was in there during afternoon so I was in and out

JAMES C. on 7/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have more equipment available and a do a better job at explaining the GAS pricing

ERICA W. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I always use this location and have never experienced an issue.

ROXANNE C. on 7/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was fine and the representatives were great I would not change anything.

andrea c. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The General Manager who waited on me could've been a little more friendly. He was very curt with a dull personality. I wouldn't recommend that he waits on anyone.

GAIL B. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work, your team is good there and I was very empress. I've already recommended that location as I was referred also. Thank you. You have a good group there.

JOHNNY D. on 7/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Kinda unsure if I would recommend it to some else at this point in time.

KARY H. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Sale Clerk who help me knew his job.. Wht would help is get all brand new vehicle.

Andrea T. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The problem is always with your billing method. U-haul always messes up your account when using a credit card. I prefer the cash deposit method!!!!

DARLENE B. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service I received from Mr. Andre Banks was very professional, friendly, and Mr. Banks went out of his way to make my experience with U-Haul positive. I will use the U-Haul manged by Mr. Banks in the future.

THOMAS E. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were amazing.

MARK M. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The wait was a little long when picking up the truck. The service was friendly once I made it to the counter. The return was very easy and again the service was friendly! Thanks,

ALFREDO G. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I will never use U-haul for moving and/or transportation of items again. Three weeks after I made my initial reservation, and about 7 days before my move I called the central U-haul telephone line and sucessfully revised my original reservation for a larger truck size and new date. However, when I began receiving confirmation text messages regarding the original reservation I quickly called to confirm my revisions. I was told that there were no record of my revisions. This occurred the morning of my move (when I needed the truck) and very worst of all -- of the 3 people I eventually spoke to regarding my problem -- no one acknowledged that U-haul made a mistake or even apologized. I just kept hearing the line "Our records indicate that you didn't call." OF COURSE YOUR RECORDS INDICATE THAT, OTHERWISE WE WOULDN'T BE IN THIS MESS. In the end, U-haul did find me an appropriate truck. However, I'm still upset that not one person apologized. Never again U-haul. I can't go through that again.

THOMAS H. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is a very busy store for good reasons. The employee's are on top of their game and everything always goes smooth. This is why a come to this location only anytime a need a big truck.Thanks again.

MATTHEW H. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was only one person helping people check in and out, which produced a longer line than needed.

MAYA W. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mike was extremely helpful! I was there on a busy day, and was very impressed with the service at this location. I have rented trucks at other locations in the area and had a very different experience. The truck was clean and ready, and the employees were very accommodating. I knew that it would be a busy weekend for them, but the customer service this time was impressive!

KYLE P. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I just have one complaint. Why have I been charged $40 twice? I had booked the uhaul on June 27. My order no is 22673492. Please let me know about it.

ALBERT R. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Hire new ppl to manage n run the location - Andre Banks and the rest of the staff have very poor customer service skills - so much so that we r buying a box truck - we will not b using uhaul moving forward

BERNARD D. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great friendly service!

SAMANTHA B. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Need more employees working the desk.

MELISSA L. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Maybe separate the check-in and drop-off lines. It was very busy when I was there, and I noticed that could help a little. Overall, I thought the staff was really great dealing with the chaos.

joseph g. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I am being overcharged currently by $80 dollars. Nice try ass hole.

JEFF T. on 6/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You ripped me off - how can you charge $36 for fuel when the contract clearly states $4/gallon and I drove 22 miles? Where do I go to get a credit?

bob b. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

At pickup and drop off both employee's went out of their way to help me! Excellent customer service! Bob

LASALLE S. on 6/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employee was very nice. Service excellent. I will come back nice

Abdulaziz A. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Helpers were really helpers, friends, and professional.

ANDRE C. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing

karen k. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ANDRE AND HIS ASSOCIATE WERE VERY COURTEOUS AND PROFESSIONAL. THANK YOU AGAIN.

William B. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager was extremly helpful.... called him up and we had the truck 45 minutes later. Thank you for making my life a little easier. He should get a raise.

JOHN D. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Justin was very helpful

Francis D. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service from Andre. Would love to have his help the next time I rent u haul

SHAWN H. on 6/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

If possible I would suggest opening a separate line for people who have already pre-registered.

MELISSA B. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We rented a truck for 5/30 at 9 a.m. until 6/1 at 6 p.m. and hired movers to assist with our move. However, when we arrived to pick up our truck, we were informed that we needed to return the truck by 6/1 at 9 a.m., because someone else had rented it. I found this incredibly frustrating for several reasons. First, your reservation system should not allow individuals to make reservations if truck are already booked. Second, your confirmation emails should contain both pick-up and drop off times - though this is probably intentional, so that when your offices arbitrarily change these, customers have no reference to which they may point. Third, the movers that we hired were unavailable for a last minute change, which meant that we had to scramble to find friends to help us move. In a torrential rainstorm. So that we would have the truck back by 6/1 at 9 a.m., because we did not want to inconvenience the next customer like we had been inconvenienced. We will never again use UHaul. Your reservation system is terrible and your staff unhelpful.

keith b. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed the experience. Andre was very knowledgeable and explained all options., very pleasant, an asset to the company.

Brandon A. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When making the online reservation it said I had the truck until 6pm, but in store they said I only had the truck until 2pm "sharp". Inconvenient to feel rushed, even though I had the truck back by 1 pm.

Gerald H. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There seems to be a constant reminder to bring the equipment (vehicle) back by a certain time,as if I was not in a rush.......bring the vehicle back when completed.

Amanda M. on 5/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Andre helped me today. Everything went smoothly and I would definitely recommend this location to others. Lots of options to help with move (dolly, furniture pads, boxes, etc).

Paige V. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The associate I talked to at 9:00am on Saturday was great at multi-tasking, was very knowledgable, and friendly!

morgan b. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Justin was super helpful!!

JOSEPH J. on 5/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick in and out.

Loree G. on 5/7/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Justin was very friendly and helpful in servicing me. I will be back for more rentals.

Mittie J. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I picked up on a Saturday monring. The line wait time is a bit long. I had a reservation, but had to wait nearly a half hour before getting to the counter. Once there, I was processed quickly.

MARKEITH P. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At pickup, the clerk could not find the reservation, which was easily found by the operator at the central U-Haul telephone number. At pickup, the clerk could not find the credit card number used to make the reservation. After another phone call, the clerk accepted a fresh recitation of the credit card number and then said that expiration date was wrong in the system. After complaining to the clerk about the poor handling of the reservation and payment information, the clerk threatened to send the person picking up the truck on their way if I was going to be that way.

BARBARA D. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service and equipment are perfect. What would really be perfect is if uhaul would also have passenger vans for rent. Hauling goods or people is hauling, " haul using uhaul", there right there is ur slogan gift, to use to market ur possibly proposed inclusive feet. This location I think would be perfect. We need a 12 passenger to rent so my masonic sorority and I can leave here in July to attend our national workshop in Birmingham Alabama July 12-18, 2015.

VALERIE D. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was great. The two gentlemen were very professional. Andre and Kevin.

Malia W. on 5/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick and efficient. Truck was in good shape. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Very good experience overall.

DIONNA G. on 4/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Grear customer experience!!!!!

jesse s. on 4/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Manager mainly had an outstanding personality and he worked efficiently . He made the organization look superior.

vanessa m. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mike was very nice and helpful and knowledgeable.

Tipakorn G. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

In general, the process of picking up a truck that I have already reserved online takes way too long. I think you should look at how airlines streamline their check-in processes.

Carol K. on 4/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvements necessary! The employee on 4.12.15 at noon was very knowledgeable and helpful. UHaul's added web site option of using moving help was such a good idea. There is no way I could have completed my "To Do" list without them. What a successful day!! Thank you!

FRANK b. on 4/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You could give a little more lead way in miles .Otherwise you are doing an excellent job.Thank you, Ronetta Ingram,satisfied customer.

Andy B. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, fast, and well-maintained equipment.

JAMES J. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The back door on our truck continued to get stuck, causing a delay in our move. Due to that, we had to rent another vehicle to finish moving the last of our items that couldn't get moved due to the door being stuck.

ELENA R on 5/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

THE STAFF WAS NICE BUT DIDN`T KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON AND IT WAS UNPROFESSIONAL. PLUS I CALLED ASKING FOR A MANAGER AND WAS NEVER CALLED BACK.

VEDA R on 10/19/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had to get my boxes at a time i was under a lot of stress. The staff was not just helpful, but they went beyond what was expected. I continue to recommend these services to anyone that will listen.