U-Haul at Chester Ave

U-Haul at Chester Ave

Share |

Address

1945 E 55th
Cleveland, OH 44103

(216) 881-2420

(@ Chester Ave)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul at Chester Ave

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul at Chester Ave

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

MICHAEL S. on 3/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The overall experience was professional n customer friendly, thanx !

Turki A. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

1-The location is very slow in the process of renting trucks or buying supplies. 2-I've encountered a problem during the truck rental. While I was loading the truck I left the (Hazards Lights) on for the safety to the traffic. In my experience, hazards lights doesn't consume much power from the battery not like leaving the headlights on because headlights have way more wattage. Also when the KUFNER TOWING expert came, he was surprised and said that it didn't even take a second for the battery-jump to start. You can confirm that on his end. In conclusion, the road side assistance was the worst experience I every had especially with timing like this in Cleveland weather. She said it was my fault leaving the "hazards lights" on and I have to pay $90 and wait 2 hours for the help to come! After few explanation, she claimed that she found another company for $50 and will arrive in 45 min. The help arrived about 30 min late. Charging me for that was unfair even though I insured it to be safe (I know it only covers accidents and such) but still! Where is the customer satisfaction? The moving process is stressful enough and the company should be on my side to make the process worry free and easy moving.

Shann A. on 2/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Poor equipment

Shann A. on 2/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure the equipment runs

LEAH M. on 2/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep Andre at East 55th st location!! He is great!! The store was clean and neat.

ELAINE T. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Parking lot needs to shoveled and cleaned out. Not enough parking.

Raina h. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

they forgot my blankets for my mirrors but over all I am satified

gerald w. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Easy reservation. Truck was ready on time and fully operational. People in store were courteous, professional and efficient.\No muss, no fuss.

RALISA P. on 2/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice

LESIA J. on 2/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Andre Banks give A1 service.....

nivi e. on 2/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Being able to pre-checkin online really expedited the pickup process. Unfortunately, they were understaffed during the dropoff, so it took an hour to return a car, which is very unfortunate, since it left an otherwise positive experience with a bad end result. I had to wait too long for the rental to be reviewed. Once I got to the desk, it took only a few minutes since the rental was straight-forward and simple, but overall, the dropoff experience was inefficient, and should not have taken so long. Also, the place had a faulty sliding door that kept opening unnecessarily And chilling the inside, which was especially uncomfortable on a 14 degree day with a too long wait.

Rob F. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No use making a reservation it took me nearly 35 minutes to get my van that I rented, then another 10 minutes for someone to unblock it. While I was using the van I was sliding all around on the ice because the rear tires were bald. I definitely will not be using this location again and most likely will not use U-Haul in the future if I can avoid it. Do yourself a favor and avoid this location at all cost

DIANE G. on 2/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I just need to know how do I get compensated for the truck having bad tires resulting in sliding in a ditch requiring a tow that I paid cash for out my pocket and I do have a receipt

NATHAN P. on 2/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When returning the truck. There was a long line of customers waiting for service. & the employee was confusing the customers when it came to paying & replacing money back on there credit cards it was more than one customers that was confused at the time. & it took longer than expected to leave out. But other than that. Once I got up to the desk, everything went smoothly.

MARVELYN A. on 2/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Give them a vehicle that is properly maintained. ..and faster service was needed..

CLINTON P. on 2/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck I used was clean yet the I had numerous complications with the vehicle power steering and brakes made loud uncomfortable noise

EDGAR T. on 2/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have extra workers to help out with the manager!

Alireza G. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Company representatives, Justin Triplett and Andre B. were very helpful.

William M. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I entered a lot of information online to reserve the truck but none of it was used to populate the fields for the employees. It would save a lot of time if that happened. They asked for my credit card again, if I wanted safe move (which I indicated I did online), and whether I wanted any additional moving peripherals (which I indicated no online). It wasn't a hassle for me but I think you could make it easier for the employees if that information was available to them.

KEEANA H. on 1/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager at this store is great! I use to HATE this store but they were always the only one with trucks available. However, I must admit, the customer service here has improved much. The Manger there is awesome. If only the remaining staff followed his lead for customer service consistantley.

ANDRE D. on 1/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Andre' was very helpful great job keep up the good work.

RICKY R. on 1/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Justin Triplett and Michael Shepard were extremely helpful. This uhaul center always has great service.

Darlene B. on 1/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Because I have called about an item, twice now, that I may have left in a rental. No one has gotten back to me yet, in a week and a half. I haven't been able to reach, and haven't been contacted by a rep from E.55th and Chester U Haul.No. Not to recommend at all.

PORTIA G. on 1/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the availablity of same day apointment and rental for moving. The only thing I did have a concern with is the computer system for charging my card. It had available balance but the system wouldnt take it. Luckily, I did have 100 dollars to take out SO IT OVERALL DID WORK OUT. my card was a global cash card of -direct deposit. Thats the only thing I would ask to change. Love the service and experience though

FREDERICK S. on 1/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Only issue here is the property foot print is small.

DARNELL B. on 1/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clerk was very knowledgeable and courteous.

LOVII H. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It seemed like the runner was doing all the work and the two people on the inside were just standing around waiting for the runner to finish instead of helping him to make the process go faster and smoother.

MELONY B. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Today 's weather was 5 degrees and knowing their trucks set outside they should have ensured and tested before giving out the unit that everything was working properly and ensured I knew how to operate the vehicle. When I got to my location, I had to call U-Haul roadside service for assistance to get the door to the cargo space opened as it was frozen. I had to travel a short distance to another U-Haul dealer to get them to help, which they most graciously did. Upon returning the truck to the E55th & Chester location, I asked about a discount on mileage, which Roadside operator said would be appropriated and accommodated, however there were no notes in the computer and E. 55th - Chester staff did not offer to call Snow Road & Chevy Blvd location to verify, which they could have, instead of acting as if the occurrence was of no importance, no infraction or not true. In making arrangements to get the vehicle, I told the clerk of my destination, his "guestimate" of mileage was 14 miles off, I think providing customer's a true sense of expenses is your responsibility. In addition, it would be more inviting if U-Haul had a fee scale that accommodated needs of less than 4 hours - even with difficulties I returned the truck within 2 hours but had to pay based upon a 4 hour increment. The non-chalant, customer is invisible is not the attitude expected for $73 plus $5 gas I spent and what I rented did not operate correctly. I will be advising everyone I know, not to go to E.55th- Chester U-Haul for business.

EVELYN C. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall Service was excellent

cheryl h. on 1/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

customer service was good. store is being re-modeled however the worker are going well with the flow

NASSER OBAID A. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Thank you . we still need more flexibility for international students ...

RASHEEDA S. on 1/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a very good experience.

John W. on 1/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Get three seated small trucks

KENNETH T. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a very pleasant experience during this #HECTIC move. Andre was a great help!!! #55chester

ELSIE A. on 12/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have a better entrance. Cars are backed up waiting to get into the lot.

Benjamin G. on 12/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Don't forget to load the dolly/furniture pads!

JEFFERY F. on 12/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Mgr was very helpful

JEFFREY M. on 12/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

As much as I've rented from you I would. Like some kind of discount

GERALD L. on 12/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The turn signal was not up to operating correctly initially, and we had to leave with it only marginally legal. It made it ok, but it made me nervous to drive without turn and brake signal on one side of the trailer.

DERRICK M. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just have one more attended to customers ,the wait is too long even though the attended is very well trained and polite! thanks much

ROSEVELT L. on 12/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Better customer service

Peter S. on 12/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very busy place! The employee who took cares of me was great! Lot size is a bit too small for the amount of business I saw being transacted.

BERNARD D. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service! Fast and friendly.

MUSEUM OF C. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Andre was great!

tyrone d. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience. Representative Andre Banks was a geat help.

BRIAN A K. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Andre is a very good employee and helpful.

Kutrina R. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The only thing is there should be more then one person checking everyone in or out on weekends. When returning my truck it was so crowed in the small store that we had to guess who was the last person in line because you couldn't form a descent line and people standing everywhere. People was buying boxes, picking up and dropping off trucks. I think that was a lot of people in the store at one time and only one person taking care of all of it, I'm glad he did have help on the outside with checking the trucks in as you drove up. That was my only issue because I always use this location

ANNIE T. on 11/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All was to my satisfaction

JOSEPH J. on 11/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Allan was awesome

tyler s. on 11/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

the past and was satisfied every time. This last experience was so poorly handled by uhaul that I will be sure to encourage others to use other companies besides uhaul as well. Feel free to call me and discuss further. 937-684-0007 Hire more respectable employees with better knowledge of their jobs and better attitudes. My truck had the check engine light on and the mileage and gas gauge was wrong on the paperwork when I picked it up. I had to go back in and point out all of these things to the clerk.

RODERICK B. on 11/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

more severe maintenance of your vehicles

JAMES M. on 11/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service is excellent at this location. I use it often and am always pleased with the experience.

Eddie J. on 11/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing

JERMAINE X. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Andre was excellent. Keep it up mate

JOHN B. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

front door needs to be unlocked during business hours

ELENA R on 5/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

THE STAFF WAS NICE BUT DIDN`T KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON AND IT WAS UNPROFESSIONAL. PLUS I CALLED ASKING FOR A MANAGER AND WAS NEVER CALLED BACK.

VEDA R on 10/19/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had to get my boxes at a time i was under a lot of stress. The staff was not just helpful, but they went beyond what was expected. I continue to recommend these services to anyone that will listen.