U-Haul at East Colfax

U-Haul at East Colfax

Share |

Address

8150 E Colfax Ave
Denver, CO 80220

(303) 399-7010

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul at East Colfax

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul at East Colfax

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

RICK H. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The emplyee in charge was excellent even though he was by himself. He was very courteous and ready to help. Really knew his stuff. Seemed the manager had called in sick. Great job by this employee.

FRANCOIS P. on 12/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

uhaul is great but the advertising of 29.95 does not reflect as you know the reality at all. Put a realistic cost and it will be ok and more honest

Bruce S. on 12/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service absolutely terrible. Never received standard contract copy nor explained the specifics of the return. Very upset

lamark t. on 12/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Among the worst customer service experience I every received. Your representative was so rude so demonstrated absolutely no attempt at providing any form of customer service. I would not recommend this location!

Andrew S. on 12/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Quick and convenient. A little more expensive than I would have liked but ok

MARGARET C. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service and quick process. I was very pleased overall.

Tyler D. on 12/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck was filthy and smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, the one kid working at the location seemed over worked and had issues with customers that required the customer in front of me to have to wait hours for the manager to arrive. Hopefully the staffing levels where just low in the morning, but not having a manager on duty is inexcusable. That being said the one overworked employee seemed to really hold his own despite everything working against him.

misty r. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

make sure that everyone is can give an answer to any questions promptly instead of hesitation or tell the customer that you will get someone that can answer that question. Know the ends and out about your profession. But overall experience was well. Thank you and see you in the future.

Stephen W. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Even though the staff is working hard, it's a slow process to pick up the truck. Even the online check-in didn't speed up the process much.

Zulema I. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The location was not open at 9am. Customers were waiting outside and when the store clerks finally arrived, they did not apologize for being late. We drove a total of 10.1 miles. According to the store clerk, the trucks get 8-10 miles to the gallon. However, when we refueled before returning the truck, we paid $15! Clearly, we did not have a full tank when we received the truck, and yet, it read FULL. They were indifferent to our complaint and were unwilling to consider adjusting our balance.

dave k. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck was awful and was so out of alignment!!! When we returned the truck we pulled in where we were suppose to. Guy comes out and tells of us move it to another location which was very difficult due to the parking problems at this location.

ALEXANDER W. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

? Feel like this location does a really good job, sometimes a little short-staffed, so check-out and check-in seems to take a while.

MAE D. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

N/A

Steve N. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect. In and out, clear explanation of all requirements. Equipment in perfect working condition.

venu a. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i had a less than good experience. i booked at a location on 22nd ave and when i arrived, the location was closed with will be back at 12noon, so i waited for 1hr, then i was told there are no trucks, they asked me to go to this location, when i arrived here, i was told the same....

Jill H. on 11/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

LaVonne is so awesome!!! I had to move 2x in 5 days and she was so kind, caring, knowledgeable and fun!

John L. on 11/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

always a good experience there, poor employees are freezing, fix the heat

amy p. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I cannot think of any way to improve. Having moved more times than I can count, I was thrilled that the process was so easy and affordable. Thank you!

DANIEL F. on 11/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

First, nice trailer. Well done. I've seen some real garbage in the U-Haul ranks, but this one-way corporately owned trailed was flawless. The automation used in Denver for check-in/check-out is impressive and suggested, and the staff was standing by outside to help in a darn snow and wind storm. Hard to do better than that. I really wish U-Haul made the following changes: 1) The world is moving to smaller tow vehicles. A 6" wide, 5" tall, 10' long v-nose single axle trailer is needed. Sure I'd use 3500lb axles, but I'd placard it to 3000lbs GCWR to make life easy. 2) 55 mph speed limit on trailers? Have you tried driving across the plains of Nebraska at 55 mph? You're a menace at best. However, the little tires spinning much too fast on the 5x8 make anything much more seem dangerous too. To say nothing of increased ride roughness from the shorter tire. You really need to move to a much taller rim/tire combination. It would be safer and deliver a better ride. 3) If you'd had wireless backup camera for the trailers I'd have rented it. Seems like you're missing an opportunity here. 4) You really should publish optimum ball height's for each trailer. I think the 5x8's ideal top of ball height, loaded, is about 16". That answer is nowhere on the Website 5) Ever think about including a bubble level on the outside so we'd know how close to correct (slightly nose down) we were ball height wise? 6) An extendable "foot" or brace at the trailer rear keeping it from tipping backwards when unhooked and not yet correctly loaded would be nice. 7) I think you should include wheel chocks at every rental ( of course I changed tow vehicles, loaded in a heated garage while unhooked, and etc. 8) A swing up trailer stand would be awful handy. Hard to get proper tongue weights w/o the trailer being at the correct height too. 9) Since we've talked about wireless, and since arguably surge brakes don't meet many states and DOT's brake requirements (can't control trailer brakes independently). How about renting wireless controllers for that that need them and going to electric brakes? Lighter, more reliable, and I can adjust the amount of braking I need/want to my load. 10) How about a receiver in the back of the trailer? I sure would have liked to have had the bike rack and trailer behind the trailer, not inside it. Bike's just don't pack well..

JOHN F. on 11/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

other then the baby seat in the front seat,blocking the view.everthing is just fine with the service

PASTOR LOUIS G. W. on 11/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The management was a great appreciate it

Joy B. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The dolly reserved was not available, and when we asked for the charge to be removed. However, when we reached the drop off location, we were charged a missing equipment fee.

DEBORAH M. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the truck smelled. recommend spraying with a freshener and maintain your vehicles better. other than that it was fine.

ROBERT W. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

when I returned this van very long line only one person was there

JOHN S. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very friendly and helpful!

Anna R. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sarah was so awesome and helped me to turn a last minute let down into a smooth and successful move. The attitude there was helpful and caring. I would, and do, tell everyone I know about the way I was treated and help I got there.

Anne P. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location has a new GM and she's doing a fabulous job. They had our truck ready, we were out and ready to start moving in under 15 minutes (and we weren't the only customers there) and were able to drop the truck off after hours on Sunday. Just got my credit card receipt and it actually came in at less than our original quote. Sure helped make our move go smoother!

david m. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work

SARAH M. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck was very nice, service fast and courteous. I liked reserving & checking in online, The advertising is somewhat misleading; it cost more than I expected.

Michael W. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and courteous staff, the van was clean and functioned perfectly. Great prices. Thanks staff at this location.

ELTON N. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was nice. However, it took a longer time to load my vehicle onto flatbed until the supervising manager came to assist.

PAUL L. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The experience started wrong when the representative saw me standing at the counter and look to the white male behind me and asked, if he was next. As if I had just walked past him. The insult was that he saw me walk in first! The person stated that I was next person to be serviced. Then we go thru the process and when I get to the truck I find out that it is a 14' truck and not the 10' that I reserved. He told me that they called me at 7:45p and had switched my reservations. When I told him that no one called he became condescending jerk who lied about having no more 10' trucks and wanted to charge me for a 14' truck. When I ask why can't I have the one that the guy behind me is returning, he said they are reserved. I said I have a reservation and confirmation; that is when he again started to talk down to me. When I told him that I am not going to tolerate his attitude, he told me he was the asst. manager and that he didn't have to rent a truck to me. I am a 53 year old man, no young punk is going to talk down to me. He definitely needs customer service and diversity training. I won't ever rent from that location or any location that he works at!

Susan B. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

After we began our trip we realized that the truck had no windshield wiper blades at all!!!! This caused us to have to stop in Laramie, WY to track down some wiper blades. The first place we stopped did not do repairs so we had to go to another. This took too much time but we had no choice. We can't believe the truck would be rented without wiper blades.

David R. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, everything was just fine.

SAM K. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There only one person working in the store and about 6 people waiting ahead of me when i got there it took about 45 minutes and the worker did a good job but said his boss had a meeting and left him there alone. And they were having computer problem. Very unprofessional.....

luke h. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly Staff.

david z. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My truck didn't have windshield wipers and the gas tank plug was broken. My movers also did not show up that I hired through you guys and had to move everything myself. It was single handedly the worst uhaul experience I have ever had and I have used you a lot.

keith b. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John, the asst mgr, was very helpful and knowledgeable with my trailer wiring issues, you are lucky to have him! My only beef was that when I called I wasn't connected to the actual store, and I was trying to get directions and people who I talked to on the phone weren't helpful in that area.

CRAIG W. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hire more help. In the morning when I picked the truck up and then later when I dropped it off there was only one person manning the entire shop and he was kept pretty busy.

Kevin H. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The attendant did a fine job. However, the location is understaffed. Equipment maintenance was poor, as the truck I rented had the "check engine" light lit as soon as I started it, and more importantly, had no wiper blades. The attendant apologized, but could not install replacements as they had none in stock. The location is in a bad neighborhood with no obvious measures in place to ensure customer safety/security.

PATRICIA S. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only one person there could have used some help

Louis K. on 9/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Really bad torn seats. Not very inviting if you have to wait around.

BETH M. on 9/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only thing we could have done different was for the guy who hooked up our trailer to possibly turn our drop hitch over for better clearance. Otherwise, an amazing experience.

PATRICK M. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great people, very helpful

John R. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Everything went well until returning the rental vehicle. There was a line of customers at the front counter, and no one waiting on us. We could hear voices in the back of the location in a mechanic's bay, working on a hitch. Until I went back there and asked the attendant to come to the desk and start checking out people, he was ignoring the customers up front while a line formed and was not particularly apologetic about having to be called to the frontwhile we waited. I would use a different location, better staffed, next ime, or use a different rental agency such as Ryder or Penske. JR

David R. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Kareem was very helpful attaching the trailer for us and answering our questions, as well as fixing a wiring issue from previous service at this location. Thank you!

Aron D. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented a van at a daily rate + 100 miles, and the agent said it was fine as long as I returned it before closing at 7 pm. When I returned it at 4:30 pm, I got charged a late fee because the rental agreement had 3:00pm listed as the return time, even though it was rented for the full day. This business practice is misleading at best and I would not rent from Uhaul again.

ELLIS H. on 9/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Probably the best U-Haul experience I have had to date… Having had a major problem with the place on Almeida in Denver just a week ago, This location was a breath of fresh air. I have still not received a phone call regarding the dispute that I filed over a week ago through U-Haul customer service.

Soren C. on 9/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have used this location before and the people working there on weekends are really nice and helpful. Very short time in/out with reservation made prior to going there to pick up.

Lurix J. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. Your personnel were courteous and helpful.

PAUL D. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Can't imagine you could improve on perfection!

CHAD C. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved one month in advance to have a hitch installed and to rent a trailer,I flew in and arrived at my apt time and was told we called you and your hitch is not yet arrived! I never received any call. I drove 9 miles down the road and had another Uhaul install the hitch,the next day I rented the trailer and when I went to turn it in it was a problem because it was not the correct location! Someone entered it incorrectly in the computer system,I had to have the drop location call customer service to resolve the conflict,I am very unhappy with Uhaul,for the price I rented a 4x8 trailer $300 for 3 days,I could have bought a trailer at Harbor Fright.

MARNIE M. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The people at the drop off wondered why I was sent "out there". I don't know. That's where the dispatcher told me to go. It was annoying.

Gregory G. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location (8150 E Colfax) has questionable business practices. The policy regarding the $50 refund if the rental is not available is very misleading and this location mislead me on the conditions for obtaining it. They directed me to another location (which according to the other location happens a fair amount) for the rental and ensured me that I would get the $50 refund. Upon calling customer service, they said that I was NOT eligible for the refund, since the location never called me to confirm the date and time of the rental - even though my online reservations and early check-in clearly indicated the date and time. I would recommend that others avoid using this location.

THOMAS K. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have used this location close to my home twice in 3 months. I made one reservation via net, the other over the phone; both good experiences. The only negative for me was both times renting I had to drive to another local u haul dealer to have windshield wipers put on the truck. both times I had to take my personal time and drive 5 miles to and from this other dealer. And I am paying for the mileage at 99 cents/mile! this second rental also came with a 1/4 tank of gas..... and with plans to put on 175 miles moving, the first thing I had to do was fill up the tank!!!!!! THIS TO ME IS NOT USER FRIENDLY WORLD CLASS SERVICE; IN FACT IT WAS A HUGE INCONVENIENCE! Other than these issues the agents were v. friendly and helpful to their ability. I had no issues with the trucks or equipment. U Haul would do well to institute a WORLD CLASS CUSTOMER SERVICE culture to enhance the customer experience. Most of us out there moving are highly stressed and tired during our moves, we don't need the extra stress. Seamless customer service at a high level would truly make this a marquis company/service. tom in colorado

MEG Q. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

we looked on line for a drop off in Denver and this was the third location, the other two no longer existed. you need to update location info.

ALEX M. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager went out of his way to help me. Super efficient. There were wires hanging down. He went out of his way to fix it and make sure it was out of the way without with me having to ask.

Caitlin R. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very helpful. No complaints

FRANCIS F. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young lady was most thorough and courteous. Keep up the good work!

AMY M. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck had no wiper blades, which is against the law. When I asked about it they said the blades gent stolen so there's nothing they can do about it. Also I got about two blocks away and the check engine light came on so I turned around and came back....they didnt seem too upset by it and said not to worry. Crappiest service I have ever experienced.

Gary S. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good guys, very helpful and courteous.

AMANDA C on 9/25/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Kareem was AWESOME and was literally my hero in such a nightmare of a move. Moving Helpers and the moving company that they contracted with is what made this move such a nightmare.

KRISTIN H on 7/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone I spoke and/or interacted with was extremely friendly and helpful!

NICOLE B on 6/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Mark, the manager here is a Grade-A douche-bag and should go back to the food service industry for the level of ineptitude and poor service we received there with our last move. Do not go here.

CALLA T on 2/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best customer service I have EVER received. I would go out of my way to use this U-Haul location again.

DAVID L on 12/3/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was exceptional! Kodoos to Javier for his help on Friday, November 30!

SARA W on 7/6/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Been charged not told.Still waiting to be refunded $1680.Waiting 4 receipts.Box was smaller, had to use 2 instead of 1.Staff seemsfriendly, but nothing gets done.NO communication.No recommend.

HOLLY F on 5/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was the worst moving experience, will not recommend Ubox to anyone

TIMOTHY R on 2/4/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Most excellent service and product. No complaints whatsoever.

TIMOTHY R on 2/1/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and product. No complaints.

FRANCESCA J on 8/30/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kareem`s customer service was beyond exemplary. He was patient in a difficult situation and handled everything quickly, easily and professionally.

BEVERELY L on 9/14/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Awful, horrible, and this will not let me tell you how bad it reall was, worst company I have ever done business with. Poor does not describe it.