U-Haul at East Colfax

U-Haul at East Colfax

Share |

Address

8150 E Colfax Ave
Denver, CO 80220

(303) 399-7010

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul at East Colfax

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul at East Colfax

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

MATTHEW P. on 2/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very nice and personal manager...

Michael W. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good experience. Quick and easy.

Kaitlyn R. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience!

HARRY G. on 2/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service; 2 very nice personnel

Robert M. on 2/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You need to have more staff, there was only one person working both at pickup and drop off, and it took a long time to get my order taken care of.

Niklaus M. on 2/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure equipment is clean inside.

CHRISTOPHER J. on 2/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The building said that it opened at 7am and I stood outside until 7:15am for them to unlock the door and open. The guy that was there was rude. I told him that I may need supplies and he didn't offer me any help with. It was a bad experience and I left upset with choosing Uhaul again for my move.

TYLER H. on 2/14/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Waited 20 minutes to turn in vehicle when returning van...one employee very helpful and curteous, one employee extremely out of his element and incompetant.

Benjamin W. on 2/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The guy who "helped" me check in was dis-interested and scanning his cell phone while talking to me. I said thank you for getting the truck and he just walked off staring at his phone He then was paying so little attention he got me the wrong truck from what he was supposed to. When I discovered this after I had left I came back and told him and he said he would change it and send me an email......he did neither. The truck was fine and worked well. When I returned there were different guys. They didnt know anything about the situation with my wrong truck, because he had not told them. However, the two gentlemen who were there did EVERYTHING possible to make the situation right. I appreciate the work they did but, the first guy made a horrible impression.

MICHAEL H. on 2/9/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was over "authorized" for 3 days on a simple utility dolly rental. My appointment to pick up was at 3pm but they were understaffed and I didn't actually end up picking up my rental until 4pm, yet they still started it at 3pm. When I returned it, it was never checked in or charged appropriately. I received a phone call asking when I was going to have the dolly back to the store. I called back and explained I returned it yesterday. 40 minutes later, I was charged double and immediately called to have it removed. They did remove it, however I wonder if they would've noticed the mistake on their own. I'll be going to other Uhaul locations if I need them in the future.

Richard L. on 2/4/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Employee at check in was of little help when I returned the truck and trailer. He was unwilling helping me find an easy way to drive the truck and trailer in for the return.

Christina B. on 2/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast courteous service both checking and and checking out - I am a realestage stager and have frequent need of a rental van and will definitely rent again from this location (this is the 2nd time I've rented from this location already, both clerks were friendly and helpful and competent)

john g. on 2/2/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Enployee was spastic- completely unorganized and charged me for a key that I returned

Jamin M. on 1/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was poised for time. There was one person ahead of me when i arrived. I ended up waiting almost twenty minutes while the attendants went the extra mile for this lady. It would've been nice if they could've managed their time and attention better. It was mostly because one of them was about to be done for the day and didn't want to get tangled up in another super involved ordeal. I totally get it but it meant that i as a customer had to pay with my time because these guys are only going to do one thing at a time. Maybe I'm not in the know though. Maybe the lady ahead of me was justifiably more important than me. Maybe the attendants were mildly retarded and only capable of handling one task between Hythe two of them. I don't know. What i do know is that their bumbling cost me literally twenty minutes almost. No exaggeration. Like i said i was pressed for time so i was well aware of how much had passed. I waited patient but i wanted to curse both of them out.

JESSICA A. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The workers were very helpful, fast, and nice.

RYAN D. on 1/23/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This was truly the worst experience I've ever had with you all they were rude from the get go I was charged for a faulty equipment part that they have no proof to say that I could snap it off it just was my fault charge me for New Orleans do anything for there were no Winchell wiper blades on the vehicle during a snowstorm told me I needed to call roadside assistance which is illegal to let a vehicle leave off a lot with three anyway it's a wiper blades which told numerous times that I was stupid not I was talking about I will never ever use

BURT F. on 1/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

nice people... Easy to work with especially Lavonne

BRANDON S. on 1/19/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I never thought the first people i'd encounter when moving to Colorado would be douchebags. Thanks U-haul employees

MEGAN S. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

James was very knowledgable and truck was ready

Vincent C. on 1/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The instructions for dropping off the vehicle after-hours were confusing. Otherwise the experience was flawless.

Elena R. on 1/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

While the U-box price was much better than the competition, I don't know that I would use them again. While the overall process is simple, the customer service has made the process a difficult one. Mainly I disliked that when you called the phone number for a specific location, you were sent to a general help desk that could not actually assist with most issues. I wanted to get to my U-box to load a few more items and I could not get a hold of the office directly and when I went into the store, nobody knew where my box was because it was not updated in the computer correctly. Staff definitely needs to be better educated and PLEASE get each location a dedicated phone number!

shirley j. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The rental of a van to assist with my family's moving to a new house was flawless. And the van was very easy to operate. The personnel at this U-Haul location were very helpful.

FLOYD J. on 1/7/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Your employees should be thieves!!! I locked the truck and put the keys in the dropbox, accidentally leaving my phone inside. I got my phone the next day but my stylus was missing. I used it before I exited the vehicle, so I know I had it. But the clerk insisted that I must of dropped it. I let it go since its not worth the trouble. If uhaul employs are thay hard up and dishonest, there's plenty of other companies to use. Denver East colfax location, YOU SUCK!! $

tim b. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I ended up only needing to move a vehicle ten miles my total cost was $85!! For ten miles. Little high I think. From the time I made my reservation to the time I dropped off the tutck and trailer not one employee made eye contact. One guy was on his phone the whole time. You could do better uhaul

Annabelle M. on 1/5/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Understaffed. I waited alone in the store for 15 minutes before anyone appeared to help me.

James G. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff the office better to expect peak periods. Otherwise, this location is central and convenient, and the staff very friendly and helpful.

luke h. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Our last experience with one of the employees was disappointing. He was pretty unfriendly and said he would charge us because of garbage in the cab "an empty plastic bag" and what he said was a dirty back of the van. I did take a broom to it and noticed a spot of dirt approx. 4 inches in diameter....but c'mon man!! It seemed as though he was not at all interested in doing his job. I was not made aware that we needed to take the shop vac to it!!!

Anita B. on 12/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I arrived, it was obvious that an employee had been to the store, as the snow was shoveled and salt was on the sidewalk to prevent ice from forming. But the doors were locked, and after at least 10 minutes of me knocking on the door, no one answered. I then returned to my car and waited another 5 minutes to see if an employee would show up. I drove around the parameter of the Uhaul location-- no one was there to help me. Once someone finally showed up, I was told that the reason there was no one at the store was because the store was under construction and the person who was supposed to be there had to go to the bathroom somewhere off site.

wendall p. on 12/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The vehicle was very uncomfortable, especially for someone tall or a bad hip. Would not utilize this vehicle again that does not have sufficient leg room.

ANGELA J. on 12/21/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I would not because I was lied to concerning rates, I rather go pay budget rates then be giving wrong information.

RICK H. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The emplyee in charge was excellent even though he was by himself. He was very courteous and ready to help. Really knew his stuff. Seemed the manager had called in sick. Great job by this employee.

FRANCOIS P. on 12/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

uhaul is great but the advertising of 29.95 does not reflect as you know the reality at all. Put a realistic cost and it will be ok and more honest

Bruce S. on 12/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service absolutely terrible. Never received standard contract copy nor explained the specifics of the return. Very upset

lamark t. on 12/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Among the worst customer service experience I every received. Your representative was so rude so demonstrated absolutely no attempt at providing any form of customer service. I would not recommend this location!

Andrew S. on 12/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Quick and convenient. A little more expensive than I would have liked but ok

MARGARET C. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service and quick process. I was very pleased overall.

Tyler D. on 12/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck was filthy and smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, the one kid working at the location seemed over worked and had issues with customers that required the customer in front of me to have to wait hours for the manager to arrive. Hopefully the staffing levels where just low in the morning, but not having a manager on duty is inexcusable. That being said the one overworked employee seemed to really hold his own despite everything working against him.

misty r. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

make sure that everyone is can give an answer to any questions promptly instead of hesitation or tell the customer that you will get someone that can answer that question. Know the ends and out about your profession. But overall experience was well. Thank you and see you in the future.

Stephen W. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Even though the staff is working hard, it's a slow process to pick up the truck. Even the online check-in didn't speed up the process much.

Zulema I. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The location was not open at 9am. Customers were waiting outside and when the store clerks finally arrived, they did not apologize for being late. We drove a total of 10.1 miles. According to the store clerk, the trucks get 8-10 miles to the gallon. However, when we refueled before returning the truck, we paid $15! Clearly, we did not have a full tank when we received the truck, and yet, it read FULL. They were indifferent to our complaint and were unwilling to consider adjusting our balance.

dave k. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck was awful and was so out of alignment!!! When we returned the truck we pulled in where we were suppose to. Guy comes out and tells of us move it to another location which was very difficult due to the parking problems at this location.

ALEXANDER W. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

? Feel like this location does a really good job, sometimes a little short-staffed, so check-out and check-in seems to take a while.

MAE D. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

N/A

Steve N. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect. In and out, clear explanation of all requirements. Equipment in perfect working condition.

venu a. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i had a less than good experience. i booked at a location on 22nd ave and when i arrived, the location was closed with will be back at 12noon, so i waited for 1hr, then i was told there are no trucks, they asked me to go to this location, when i arrived here, i was told the same....

Jill H. on 11/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

LaVonne is so awesome!!! I had to move 2x in 5 days and she was so kind, caring, knowledgeable and fun!

John L. on 11/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

always a good experience there, poor employees are freezing, fix the heat

amy p. on 11/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I cannot think of any way to improve. Having moved more times than I can count, I was thrilled that the process was so easy and affordable. Thank you!

DANIEL F. on 11/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

First, nice trailer. Well done. I've seen some real garbage in the U-Haul ranks, but this one-way corporately owned trailed was flawless. The automation used in Denver for check-in/check-out is impressive and suggested, and the staff was standing by outside to help in a darn snow and wind storm. Hard to do better than that. I really wish U-Haul made the following changes: 1) The world is moving to smaller tow vehicles. A 6" wide, 5" tall, 10' long v-nose single axle trailer is needed. Sure I'd use 3500lb axles, but I'd placard it to 3000lbs GCWR to make life easy. 2) 55 mph speed limit on trailers? Have you tried driving across the plains of Nebraska at 55 mph? You're a menace at best. However, the little tires spinning much too fast on the 5x8 make anything much more seem dangerous too. To say nothing of increased ride roughness from the shorter tire. You really need to move to a much taller rim/tire combination. It would be safer and deliver a better ride. 3) If you'd had wireless backup camera for the trailers I'd have rented it. Seems like you're missing an opportunity here. 4) You really should publish optimum ball height's for each trailer. I think the 5x8's ideal top of ball height, loaded, is about 16". That answer is nowhere on the Website 5) Ever think about including a bubble level on the outside so we'd know how close to correct (slightly nose down) we were ball height wise? 6) An extendable "foot" or brace at the trailer rear keeping it from tipping backwards when unhooked and not yet correctly loaded would be nice. 7) I think you should include wheel chocks at every rental ( of course I changed tow vehicles, loaded in a heated garage while unhooked, and etc. 8) A swing up trailer stand would be awful handy. Hard to get proper tongue weights w/o the trailer being at the correct height too. 9) Since we've talked about wireless, and since arguably surge brakes don't meet many states and DOT's brake requirements (can't control trailer brakes independently). How about renting wireless controllers for that that need them and going to electric brakes? Lighter, more reliable, and I can adjust the amount of braking I need/want to my load. 10) How about a receiver in the back of the trailer? I sure would have liked to have had the bike rack and trailer behind the trailer, not inside it. Bike's just don't pack well..

JOHN F. on 11/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

other then the baby seat in the front seat,blocking the view.everthing is just fine with the service

PASTOR LOUIS G. W. on 11/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The management was a great appreciate it

Joy B. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The dolly reserved was not available, and when we asked for the charge to be removed. However, when we reached the drop off location, we were charged a missing equipment fee.

DEBORAH M. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the truck smelled. recommend spraying with a freshener and maintain your vehicles better. other than that it was fine.

ROBERT W. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

when I returned this van very long line only one person was there

JOHN S. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very friendly and helpful!

Anna R. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sarah was so awesome and helped me to turn a last minute let down into a smooth and successful move. The attitude there was helpful and caring. I would, and do, tell everyone I know about the way I was treated and help I got there.

AMANDA C on 9/25/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Kareem was AWESOME and was literally my hero in such a nightmare of a move. Moving Helpers and the moving company that they contracted with is what made this move such a nightmare.

KRISTIN H on 7/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone I spoke and/or interacted with was extremely friendly and helpful!

NICOLE B on 6/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Mark, the manager here is a Grade-A douche-bag and should go back to the food service industry for the level of ineptitude and poor service we received there with our last move. Do not go here.

CALLA T on 2/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best customer service I have EVER received. I would go out of my way to use this U-Haul location again.

DAVID L on 12/3/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was exceptional! Kodoos to Javier for his help on Friday, November 30!

SARA W on 7/6/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Been charged not told.Still waiting to be refunded $1680.Waiting 4 receipts.Box was smaller, had to use 2 instead of 1.Staff seemsfriendly, but nothing gets done.NO communication.No recommend.

HOLLY F on 5/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was the worst moving experience, will not recommend Ubox to anyone

TIMOTHY R on 2/4/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Most excellent service and product. No complaints whatsoever.

TIMOTHY R on 2/1/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and product. No complaints.

FRANCESCA J on 8/30/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kareem`s customer service was beyond exemplary. He was patient in a difficult situation and handled everything quickly, easily and professionally.

BEVERELY L on 9/14/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Awful, horrible, and this will not let me tell you how bad it reall was, worst company I have ever done business with. Poor does not describe it.