U-Haul at East Colfax

U-Haul at East Colfax

Share |

Address

8150 E Colfax Ave
Denver, CO 80220

(303) 399-7010

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul at East Colfax

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul at East Colfax

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Michael W. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and courteous staff, the van was clean and functioned perfectly. Great prices. Thanks staff at this location.

ELTON N. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was nice. However, it took a longer time to load my vehicle onto flatbed until the supervising manager came to assist.

PAUL L. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The experience started wrong when the representative saw me standing at the counter and look to the white male behind me and asked, if he was next. As if I had just walked past him. The insult was that he saw me walk in first! The person stated that I was next person to be serviced. Then we go thru the process and when I get to the truck I find out that it is a 14' truck and not the 10' that I reserved. He told me that they called me at 7:45p and had switched my reservations. When I told him that no one called he became condescending jerk who lied about having no more 10' trucks and wanted to charge me for a 14' truck. When I ask why can't I have the one that the guy behind me is returning, he said they are reserved. I said I have a reservation and confirmation; that is when he again started to talk down to me. When I told him that I am not going to tolerate his attitude, he told me he was the asst. manager and that he didn't have to rent a truck to me. I am a 53 year old man, no young punk is going to talk down to me. He definitely needs customer service and diversity training. I won't ever rent from that location or any location that he works at!

Susan B. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

After we began our trip we realized that the truck had no windshield wiper blades at all!!!! This caused us to have to stop in Laramie, WY to track down some wiper blades. The first place we stopped did not do repairs so we had to go to another. This took too much time but we had no choice. We can't believe the truck would be rented without wiper blades.

David R. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, everything was just fine.

SAM K. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There only one person working in the store and about 6 people waiting ahead of me when i got there it took about 45 minutes and the worker did a good job but said his boss had a meeting and left him there alone. And they were having computer problem. Very unprofessional.....

luke h. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly Staff.

david z. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My truck didn't have windshield wipers and the gas tank plug was broken. My movers also did not show up that I hired through you guys and had to move everything myself. It was single handedly the worst uhaul experience I have ever had and I have used you a lot.

keith b. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John, the asst mgr, was very helpful and knowledgeable with my trailer wiring issues, you are lucky to have him! My only beef was that when I called I wasn't connected to the actual store, and I was trying to get directions and people who I talked to on the phone weren't helpful in that area.

CRAIG W. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hire more help. In the morning when I picked the truck up and then later when I dropped it off there was only one person manning the entire shop and he was kept pretty busy.

Kevin H. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The attendant did a fine job. However, the location is understaffed. Equipment maintenance was poor, as the truck I rented had the "check engine" light lit as soon as I started it, and more importantly, had no wiper blades. The attendant apologized, but could not install replacements as they had none in stock. The location is in a bad neighborhood with no obvious measures in place to ensure customer safety/security.

PATRICIA S. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only one person there could have used some help

Louis K. on 9/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Really bad torn seats. Not very inviting if you have to wait around.

BETH M. on 9/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only thing we could have done different was for the guy who hooked up our trailer to possibly turn our drop hitch over for better clearance. Otherwise, an amazing experience.

PATRICK M. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great people, very helpful

John R. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Everything went well until returning the rental vehicle. There was a line of customers at the front counter, and no one waiting on us. We could hear voices in the back of the location in a mechanic's bay, working on a hitch. Until I went back there and asked the attendant to come to the desk and start checking out people, he was ignoring the customers up front while a line formed and was not particularly apologetic about having to be called to the frontwhile we waited. I would use a different location, better staffed, next ime, or use a different rental agency such as Ryder or Penske. JR

David R. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Kareem was very helpful attaching the trailer for us and answering our questions, as well as fixing a wiring issue from previous service at this location. Thank you!

Aron D. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented a van at a daily rate + 100 miles, and the agent said it was fine as long as I returned it before closing at 7 pm. When I returned it at 4:30 pm, I got charged a late fee because the rental agreement had 3:00pm listed as the return time, even though it was rented for the full day. This business practice is misleading at best and I would not rent from Uhaul again.

ELLIS H. on 9/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Probably the best U-Haul experience I have had to date… Having had a major problem with the place on Almeida in Denver just a week ago, This location was a breath of fresh air. I have still not received a phone call regarding the dispute that I filed over a week ago through U-Haul customer service.

Soren C. on 9/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have used this location before and the people working there on weekends are really nice and helpful. Very short time in/out with reservation made prior to going there to pick up.

Lurix J. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. Your personnel were courteous and helpful.

PAUL D. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Can't imagine you could improve on perfection!

CHAD C. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved one month in advance to have a hitch installed and to rent a trailer,I flew in and arrived at my apt time and was told we called you and your hitch is not yet arrived! I never received any call. I drove 9 miles down the road and had another Uhaul install the hitch,the next day I rented the trailer and when I went to turn it in it was a problem because it was not the correct location! Someone entered it incorrectly in the computer system,I had to have the drop location call customer service to resolve the conflict,I am very unhappy with Uhaul,for the price I rented a 4x8 trailer $300 for 3 days,I could have bought a trailer at Harbor Fright.

MARNIE M. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The people at the drop off wondered why I was sent "out there". I don't know. That's where the dispatcher told me to go. It was annoying.

Gregory G. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location (8150 E Colfax) has questionable business practices. The policy regarding the $50 refund if the rental is not available is very misleading and this location mislead me on the conditions for obtaining it. They directed me to another location (which according to the other location happens a fair amount) for the rental and ensured me that I would get the $50 refund. Upon calling customer service, they said that I was NOT eligible for the refund, since the location never called me to confirm the date and time of the rental - even though my online reservations and early check-in clearly indicated the date and time. I would recommend that others avoid using this location.

THOMAS K. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have used this location close to my home twice in 3 months. I made one reservation via net, the other over the phone; both good experiences. The only negative for me was both times renting I had to drive to another local u haul dealer to have windshield wipers put on the truck. both times I had to take my personal time and drive 5 miles to and from this other dealer. And I am paying for the mileage at 99 cents/mile! this second rental also came with a 1/4 tank of gas..... and with plans to put on 175 miles moving, the first thing I had to do was fill up the tank!!!!!! THIS TO ME IS NOT USER FRIENDLY WORLD CLASS SERVICE; IN FACT IT WAS A HUGE INCONVENIENCE! Other than these issues the agents were v. friendly and helpful to their ability. I had no issues with the trucks or equipment. U Haul would do well to institute a WORLD CLASS CUSTOMER SERVICE culture to enhance the customer experience. Most of us out there moving are highly stressed and tired during our moves, we don't need the extra stress. Seamless customer service at a high level would truly make this a marquis company/service. tom in colorado

MEG Q. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

we looked on line for a drop off in Denver and this was the third location, the other two no longer existed. you need to update location info.

ALEX M. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager went out of his way to help me. Super efficient. There were wires hanging down. He went out of his way to fix it and make sure it was out of the way without with me having to ask.

Caitlin R. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very helpful. No complaints

FRANCIS F. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young lady was most thorough and courteous. Keep up the good work!

AMY M. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck had no wiper blades, which is against the law. When I asked about it they said the blades gent stolen so there's nothing they can do about it. Also I got about two blocks away and the check engine light came on so I turned around and came back....they didnt seem too upset by it and said not to worry. Crappiest service I have ever experienced.

Gary S. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good guys, very helpful and courteous.

DAVID J. on 8/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Clean, cool location and effortless drop-off for a good experience...

Blake B. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff was not knowledgeable about putting a trailer on a truck which can be very dangerous.

DOUG D. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great Crew, good store, in a crappy location. Great pre-rental confirmation, communications and pre-registration process that is reassuring and saves precious time. Good Job!

CEDRICK J. on 8/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great people all around. Told me to call corporate about the trailer issues they also verified auto transport issues.

Cynthia T. on 8/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had the reservation for 7am, the store clerk did not get there until 7:45ish. The clerk wanted me to sign the damage form BEFORE I examined the truck. The check in was smooth w/ no problems, that was done by the store manager and she was very personable and professional. I would use this location again but I will make it for a later time.

ERIC L. on 8/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work. They were quiet patient and cool during a stressful time.

Roger M. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff!

Ryan C. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went very well. Friendly and informative staff

Julius V. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received excellent customer service from walking in the door and then when dropping off. I used this location many times through the years. This was by far the best experience I've had to date. The gal and guy that took care of me had great attitudes.

Deanna L. on 8/9/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

First of all, the number listed as the local number for the location forwards to a call center in Tennessee. We inadvertently left personal property in the van and called back to see if we could retrieve it (I know, it's my fault for forgetting it), and had to leave THREE (so far) messages at the call center for a call back. As of yet (four hours after return), I do not have a confirmation of charges or a call back. Poor customer service all around....when processing the transaction there was no eye contact, poor communication.

Charlotte M. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The space in the location was very efficiently used and also very well-kept. The best truck rental location I've ever been to.

DARLENE J. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service. Very helpful, accommodating , and efficient. Thank you

William T. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The rep quoted me at $150, turned out to be $200, then the rep told me in confidence the rate for overage on miles would be 20 cents. He handed me the contract to sign then told me the overage would be 40 cents, acting like it was no big deal. Get your facts straight! I will NOT be using Uhaul ever again. The cab of the truck had coffee stains and smelled awful.

JOEL S. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The day I arrived to pick up the truck, it was pouring down rain, and it took nearly 2 hours for them to get the truck ready for me. When I finally did pull it off the lot, it didn't have a windshield wiper. The next day, when I returned to attach my car to the trailer, the person who helped me (same guy from the day before, Kadeem Davidson, the General Manager) did not tighten the straps on the wheels nearly tight enough. Luckily, I caught it before the car came off during our 1300 mile move. Quite possibly the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

Zane H. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Making the best of a tough location.

Kathleen W. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

go back to the idea of truck is full on fuel when rented and return the same way.

Kate S. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great location, friendly service. I will definitely use this location again. Quick and easy pick up and drop off and they were spot on with how much the whole thing would cost! 5 stars!!

daniel r. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very nice and helpful staff. Vehicle was not clean, it had crumbs all over the driver seat and sticky soda gunk in the cup holders.

DAVE S. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

They were disorganized in the morning when I arrived. The wait was long because the manager lost keys to a truck he had just had in his possession. My truck was missing a windshield wiper on a rainy day.

Tom H. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Quicker process of rental order

Carla S. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff member who helped us was very helpful. However, the truck he gave us had no drivers manual and NO WINDSHIELD WIPERS. This made our move much more stressful as we had to hurry to beat the rain.

SCOTT P. on 7/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

What a great place,Very Helpful. Some nice Guys you got working there..thanks Uhaul!!!!

MICHAEL T. on 7/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

needed a truck and car carrier. Took the vehicle to be carried to the pick-up site as directed by the web site in order to confirm the vehicle was not oversized and would fit. The attendant peeked out the window and said the 2004 XTERRA was just "fine." On the pick up day I got the truck and car carrier and went to load up. When it came time to load and secure the XTERRA guess what? I could not wrap the harness around the front tires. Tire size is p265/65R/17. I was flabbergasted and exasperated. I called the location and they 'suggested' I deflate the tires and/or use additional tie downs to secure the car. I reminded them I had brought the car by 10 days ago to preclude having a problem like this. I drove the car off the carrier and drove 30 minutes (60 minutes round trip) out of my way to see if these guys could secure the car just in case I was doing something wrong. They agreed the tires were too big for the harness (no kidding) and they gladly sold me some tie downs to secure the car to the carrier. Thanks a load.

madeline s. on 7/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very affordable. Made moving easy.

CHRIS D. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When attempting to drop off the truck i was bounced around from store to store. I had changed the drop off location with your 1-800 number the day before i dropped it off. called it again the day of and everything was fine, show up at the location and the employees act clueless and give me grief about how I'm at the wrong location. I WOULD RATHER SHOOT MYSELF IN THE DICK THEN EVER USE YOUR COMPANY AGAIN.

Cheri A. on 7/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great staff--very much into assuring customer satisfaction, friendly, and helpful.

Todd P. on 7/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys do a great job!

Tim K. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck had an odor of some foul fat person when I picked it up, and the drivers side mirror kept adjusting itself to stare at the ground. Normally I like staring at the ground, except when I'm driving a big truck. Otherwise I had a pleasant experience. The gal at the desk who checked me out and her co-worker who did the walk around seem to enjoy their jobs and providing a good experience to their customers. When was the last time you gave them a raise, or is your windshield wiper replacement because of some bum theft cutting into that budget?

Alexander G. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast and friendly customer service! I will specifically seek out this location again!

Eli B. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I waited in line for approx. 30 min to get the keys to the truck. With express online check-in, it shouldn't take that long. Please plan better for times when it's likely to be very busy. The employees were hustling as fast as they could, but sometimes more are needed. Everything else was great! Thank you.

ROGER P. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great equipment, and even better service!!!

Rebecca J. on 7/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You gave me the wrong trailer. When I returned for the correct trailer, I waited another hour to get it. I returned the trailer on Saturday, July 5th at 8:30PM and just received a charge for returning it on July 9th. This is unacceptable.

ROBERT W. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

LOWER MILEAGE RATE

ALEX B. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Not suitable for purpose, not willing to help, no license plate. Terrible customer service. Seeking legal action.

Lindsey S. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Helpful, efficient and friendly staff

MELISSA K. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was very good and I cannot think of any improvements needed. Thank you

Sandra I. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Just wanted to say that both your employees that we dealt with at that location were very helpful, and extremely friendly. It has been awhile since I have experienced such friendly employees - they deserve a thank you from the company.

JOHN V. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Don't double charge someone for your employees laziness of not checking in a vehicle when it is dropped off.

Stephen B. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

truck was crappy. I only went 12 miles and it cost me 20.00 in gas. contract indicated gas was full when I picked it up. no way I used 20.00 in gas.

SAMANTHA H. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Two days prior to my moving day I went in person to this location to buy supplies and ensure that my U-Haul would be available for pick up at opening time (7 AM) on my moving day. Upon arrival at 7AM on my pickup date I was told that my pick up time was not until 2 PM later that day. Given that I had coordinated with a multitude of people in two separate cities and had both reserved my U-Haul weeks prior AND double checked two days prior on my pick up time this was UNACCEPTABLE. I was told by management at first that there was nothing they could do and that somehow this occurrence was my fault because I had been sent an email at 9PM the prior evening confirming my changed pick up time. I doo not check my email at 9PM the night before a move where I am waking up the following morning at 5 AM to get to a pick up location on time based upon the conformation information I was given IN PERSON two days prior that my pick up time would be 7 AM. I told management that this was unacceptable, and in NO WAY my fault since at no point was I being negligent about reasonably coordinating with this pick up location. Management then gave me an ultimatum that was essentially "would you prefer that I be deeply inconvenienced, or the person they had slipped wrongfully into my reserved pick up location slot be deeply inconvenienced?" Their attempt at using the weapon of guilt to somehow put the burden of guilt upon me rather than themselves for sloppy management of scheduling was unsuccessful. This poor attempt at coordinating was in no way my fault, and I obtained my truck as planned. However: my truck did not have the equipment I had requested and paid for already in the back of the truck so I had actually ask them to retrieve the two dollies AND while driving on the interstate realized that the truck I had DIDNT HAVE WINDSHEILD WIPERS. Had I come across any level of bad weather this could have been extremely dangerous and legitimate grounds to sue. You are lucky I made it to my location safely. Do not use this location on Colfax, I certainly wont. In all likelihood I wont ever rent a product from you folks again.

ROBERT N. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

In Denver develope people persons skills

SHELBY L. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

U-Haul Contract 95777094 - yet again you are sending me emails. I have not booked you because I use a New Zealand company. Please remove my email from your files. shelbylake@gmail.com

ROGER M. on 6/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff and management. Always friendly and willing to help.

Alexander S. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure there are windshield wipers on the trucks... Apparently they are being removed at night to circumvent a theft a issue. Its not good to find out you have no wipers when Colorado unexpectedly monsoons. Also, the staff seemed mildly incompetent... Sufficient, but not stellar.

AMANDA C on 9/25/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Kareem was AWESOME and was literally my hero in such a nightmare of a move. Moving Helpers and the moving company that they contracted with is what made this move such a nightmare.

KRISTIN H on 7/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone I spoke and/or interacted with was extremely friendly and helpful!

NICOLE B on 6/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Mark, the manager here is a Grade-A douche-bag and should go back to the food service industry for the level of ineptitude and poor service we received there with our last move. Do not go here.

CALLA T on 2/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best customer service I have EVER received. I would go out of my way to use this U-Haul location again.

DAVID L on 12/3/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was exceptional! Kodoos to Javier for his help on Friday, November 30!

SARA W on 7/6/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Been charged not told.Still waiting to be refunded $1680.Waiting 4 receipts.Box was smaller, had to use 2 instead of 1.Staff seemsfriendly, but nothing gets done.NO communication.No recommend.

HOLLY F on 5/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was the worst moving experience, will not recommend Ubox to anyone

TIMOTHY R on 2/4/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Most excellent service and product. No complaints whatsoever.

TIMOTHY R on 2/1/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and product. No complaints.

FRANCESCA J on 8/30/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kareem`s customer service was beyond exemplary. He was patient in a difficult situation and handled everything quickly, easily and professionally.

BEVERELY L on 9/14/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Awful, horrible, and this will not let me tell you how bad it reall was, worst company I have ever done business with. Poor does not describe it.