U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

Share |

Address

1111 Sam Houston Dr
Victoria, TX 77901

(361) 578-9833

(Across From Victoria High)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 7 am - 7 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

MICHELLE P. on 8/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I didn't like that I could never get in touch with actual location. Every time I called the store, I would get the call center. It was very frustrating as I had specific questions for the store about making arrangements for picking up my truck & tow.

AMY G. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The facility only had one employee servicing customers - could have used another. The tow dolly that we picked up had a damaged strap on one side and a new (just replaced) strap on the other. I was told that the damaged strap has been noted on the rental agreement but that it didn't need to be replaced. The new strap had been bolted to the dolly with a twist in the strap but I didn't ask questions due to the shortage of help at the facility.

DANIEL M. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was told that it would be pro rated if I returned my rental early, so I turned it in 10 hours early and I received no refund and that is not trustworthy by your company.

John M. on 8/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Not have your customers delayed for four hours due to malfunctioning equipment.

BENNY M. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The crew at this store is exceptional. I was very pleased with all phases of my rental.

Jimmy B. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reservations with the 1-800 number should be implemented when picking up rental so all the info does not have to be given all over again. What's the use in that service for the customer except another waste of time regurgitation of info already shared on the phone.

FRED G. on 8/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

my trailer was not going to be at my reserved spot at Lone Star Lumber in Ingleside Texas but Robert fixed me up with a more convent location . Then the people at UHaul in Vivtoria Texas gave me an even more convent pickup time than my original! All was great and drop off was simple! Thank you!!

EDEN Y. on 8/14/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Make a real office, rather than having the business center in the middle of a bunch of productw that are for sale

Lena B. on 8/11/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The uhaul had a broken gas gauge and we ran out of gas twice. It was a horrible trip and we weren't even compensated for our trouble. I will never use uhaul again.

FRANK Y. on 8/11/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Uhaul representatives were appauling, rude and inconsiderate. They were not informed and unable to assist with a simple return costing me $500! Thanks for nothing!

GORDON M. on 8/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees were great, however one of the trucks still had crumbs, etc., in the floor. The other trucks' windshield rubber was coming loose and had to be slammed in the door to keep from flapping. One of the trucks engine light came on during the trip.

GLEN G. on 8/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The 2 ladies working the desk were busy but very friendly and easy to work with.

ELAINE D. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Residual cigarette smoke in cab. Otherwise, Sam Houston is a good place.

JOEY D. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The ac system was faulty and in Texas you need cool air, upper management was to make a call of the inconvenience, but didnt. Over the years I've used uhaul numerous times seems something always isn't perfect with them

DESIREE J. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

discounts

CHERYL T. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

none

CARA A. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I used trucks from here twice in one week. the employees were friendly, helpful and efficient. The trucks were easy to drive and comfortable. The only thing I would change is the price. It is very expensive to use uhaul. $19.95 a day is very misleading. The $ per mile really adds up. I rented a 10' truck for 12 hours and did not rent any other items that time. It was over $200.

nelda h. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The check in process was too long - too time consuming. The agent spent over 10 minutes each with persons in front of us in line - I had reserved online and checked in online - our check in was much faster but we were at the location about 45 minutes. Just too long.

NOEL G. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When someone has a reservations for trailer have one for them. Train your employes what to do it this happens. I had reservations for a trailer yall did not have it your employe was lost and did not know what to do. My experience with yall was pretty crapy

CHRISTINE G. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Hey were great and On spot.

STEVE G. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Bad tires. Blowout at 60 mph. Wouldn't use uhaul again. Should be more concerned about customers safety

ROGER H. on 7/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My reservation was made at a non U haul center, due to the lack of trailers in the area. When I arrived for my appointment, I was told that the employee of the business which is a combination tile, granite and Used car lot! Teh owner was not in, and the gate to the yard was locked, and he did not have a key! I was tod to come back in about 3 hours!! Very unprofessional way of doing business, and this company does not represent the UHaul Brand very well. I went to a UHaul Center and they had a trailer in stock, and my reservation was transferred to the center.

CAROLYN H. on 7/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very nice and so close to our new home. Thank you ALL very much

KAREN W. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Our experience with U-Haul was absolutely horrible. The truck broke down 3 times in the same day. We spent most of our day sitting on the side of hot Texas highways because our truck kept on breaking down. U-Haul was reluctant to replace our truck with one that could travel the 2400 mile trip. It was a battle and your customer service was terrible. We were promised that all would be taken care of, but had to keep trying to get the truck replaced and explain our troubles all over again to next person we would get on the phone. We lost a day of travel and were treated terribly. We will not rent another Uhaul again.

SHELLY F. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The cargo van smelled of smoke. It hd trash and ashes in the van. I brought it back early as I did not want to drive it anymore. The attendant was friendly but the van smelled so bad ....I began to stink and the smoke made my throat hurt.

MANUEL C. on 7/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

this location was understaffed and very busy when my wife and i did our walk in portion of business with Uhaul. the service was slow but the service reps handled up on business the best they could. they were very nice and helpful but it seemed to me there could have been more employees on duty to handle the amount of customers waiting.

NATALIE N. on 7/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very efficient and nice. Great experience.

KIMBERLY DAWN C. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Make sure reservation are correct and at right location

CASSUNDRA H. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

clerk was courteous, and informative.

CLARA G. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We were put in an unsafe vehicle, I'm the fact that a repair was substandard. We had not gone 65-75 miles stopped for gas and all the coolant drained out of the engine. At 4:00pm we called Roadside assistance and it took 2 hours for someone to get there. They checked the issue and found that the heater had gone out and whoever repaired it used incorrect parts and riveted it to Work. They had used a plastic connector when one would splice a waterhose together and by pass the heater all together. The mechanic replaced the plastic piece with a brass clamp,filled With coolant and said it was ok to start the 365 mile trip. 5 miles down the road and the hose blows and all Coolant is lost had to exit on side of interstate going into Houston,Texas and call roadside assistance again and have the mechanic come back out. He did not have the needed parts on his truck,so had to go in search for them. He finally located an auto parts store bought the parts and came Back to repair the truck. At 9:30pm we were finally able to get back on the road for our 6-7 hour drive in a 26' truck pulling an auto transport behind. I stayed in contact with customer service and finally was sent to castrophic Roadside assistance emergency and spoke with Tim, the manager and he read all the notes from my calls and explained how the original repair was jimmy rigged and he was appalled that truck Would have been put back into service. He told us we needed to complain and should be compensated. I expect a full at the very least and reimbursement for fuel, as the truck used more than the average gas mileage with the incorrect repair. Fuel cost were $175. I have used uhaul previously with no use but this is unacceptable. My son and family were put in an u safe vehicle, sat on the side of the road with a 4 year old for 5-5:30 hours and by the time they were able to get back on the road, they would have been at their destination. Then to have to drive at night hauling the auto transport. They did stop and get a hotel room and sleep for a few hours then got back in the road to Make it home. I have found it isn't always the best to go with the best price and a national name. Trust Me our experience will Be posted on all social Websites. I'm curious to see how Uhaul will respond and how long it will take. They are quick to take your money I wonder how quick they will be to return it. Sure I will be dealing with this for months trying to get my money back.

sylvia p. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Once we set up with one of your phone reps & they quoted us a price it should of been honored instead i was charged more. I did bring it up & questioned price at time of pick up & the lady at location seemed confused but i was in such a hurry that i just paid & went on my way. Not happy dissatisfied...

LaToshia W. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would definitely rent from them again. Friendly service and all about making sure their customers are in Good hands.

MARY ELLEN D. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every thing was excellent.

SHERALL H. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It is always a pleasure to deal with this U-Haul location. It makes moving less stressful. I highly recommend them to all my friends and family.

Sharonna W. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I told the young lady that the mileage was different on the vehicle. She said she would take care of it. When I returned the van that same afternoon the mileage was not corrected and I was overcharged. She told me to call back on Monday. I tried. They can't even answer their phones. Very poor customer service.

Cassandra M. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer service returning was not friendly at all.. Phone system was messed up and local number transferred me to Cincinnati when I called local number...

danna g. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a furniture dolly and when I went to pick up truck they did not have available and no one called me. They gave us a truck that the key did not fit the back of truck and when we went to turn in truck they were closing so told my husband just to put the dollies we had in the front of truck then wanted to charge us to clean it. I was not told I would be charged $100 if the truck wasn't cleaned !!!

DORNA C. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was an awful experience. UHaul had called me in advance and asked me to consider switching from a truck to a van. When I found out that I had a small load to move, I told them I wanted the van. When I got to the office, the van wasn't available - I was on the spot and took the truck under pressure. At my first stop on the journey (Phoenix) I tried to terminate the truck contract and was told that I couldn't, even though this was not stated anywhere in the contract I had signed. (I have never rented a vehice where you couldn't return it early.) Phoenix did allow me to swap the truck for a van, but not at the discount I was quoted in Victoria. As a result of all this, I have spent HOURS on the phone with several UHaul departments and found the "contract" information and my options contradictory or completely missing, and not customer friendly at all. I don't understand why anyone would do return business with you.

ANNIE S. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This location accepted the truck as should. What made us unhappy with the return process was the fact that we were told that we could return the truck to ANY location. The first location turned us away because "we dont have a truck scheduled for return". So we had to drive the truck to the other location. Also, what I find as 'shoddy' is the fact that U-Haul is quick to charge for bringing the truck back with less than agreed fuel, but will NOT make up the difference when we leave more fuel in the truck than when we first picked it up. This is a shameful practice for your company!!! Other than that, I will continue to use your trucks in the future...but with teachings from the past, for sure! This issue should be fixed to where it is fair for both U-Haul AND the customer.

JEREMY M. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager worked with me to get the right truck at the right price. Neat and friendly person.

SAMMY H. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Felt like we were treated like scum and the Hispanic girl with dark hair working Sunday was very rude and unprofessional. I've been getting uhaul for about 10 years because of my business and I will never use or recommend uhaul again.

Duane M. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Too many tattoos and piercings on employees. Every one of them had them.

GARY B. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only trouble was I rented a 27' about a month ago & it used less gas than the 20' I just rented. I do not understand this.

DANIELLE D. on 6/20/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The location did not have all the equipment that I had reserved. I had reserved an appliance dolly that they did not have in stock. When I first check in they were also not sure that they had a utility dolly as reserved and had to search one out. This was dissappointing and frustrating as I had 2 fridges, 2 washes and 1 dryer to move with no appliance dolly.

Mary S. on 6/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Slow down and be patient with older customers.

GLENN H. on 6/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I've had dubious luck with uhaul in the past... But this location is pure magic. Everyone I've ever dealt with has been great, from behind to counter to helping hook up trailers etc.

BETTY H. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the employees at this location were super nice people

Erika V. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great!

Abel G. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Strippers

jon t. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This has been the worst Uhaul experience I have ever had with Uhaul.

FOLKE M. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The person checking me out kept making mistakes (several).. When the manager was to correct a wrongly charged dolly, your computer system was so slow it took almost 10 minutes.

SHELLY A. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The employee was not very professional.

Alex R. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Jessica and her team were quick and positive. I had to return quickly and they accommodated me.

KURT K. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I reserved a Car Dolly with a credit card, but due to unforseen circumstances, could not pick up the dolly untill several hours later, when I got there the reservation had been cancelled, I had to rent a much larger and ineffecient Car Trailer, cost me more in gas, I couldnt drop the car where it was needed as the trailer wouldnt fit and I couldnt get in or out of the car on the trailer as the door was hitting the fender of the trailer. The VW shop was closed by the time I got there with the delays due to not having a CAR DOLLY that I reserved, so all in all it was a horrid experience for me.

WANDA L. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Was pleased at how quickly the staff got me in an out when picking up the equipment and also returning it. Very courteous too.

LILLIAN T. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

none, The employees were polite and prompt. Lillian

William M. on 5/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Employee was by himself and had 4 people waiting. He maintained a good attitude and was courteous with all of the customers

ANNETTE V. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very Nice and professional

lupe s. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Employees were very freindly

Oscar L. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

U haul in Sam Houston has very professional individuals, Adam is a very helpful man, made sure that the equipment I used was in good condition. A friendly helpful man.

ERIC G. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent staff. More local businesses could learn a lot from the overall professionalism this particular location has. I will highly recommend this location on social media sites here locally. Great job.

THOMAS B. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

Albert M. on 5/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Maybe a deposit waiver for returning good customers.

LES G. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Service!

rosario m. on 5/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

N-A

RICHARD A. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding customer support after a long day of moving. Adam, the manager was a true professional and rendered superior service. An overall great U-Haul location.

NORMA D. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was friendly and helpful

PAUL M. on 5/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very clean store and well organized. Very professional staff. Very satisfied and would absolutely recommend.

JEFFERY T. on 4/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very quick with getting me on the road. Very courteous and helpful. Enjoyed working with them.

John S on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Staff!

MARILYN T on 4/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was excellent, very helpful, professional and courteous, especially Ric. Because of this experience,I have already recommended that my friends use this service.

MARIANNE M on 12/4/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ric at Sam Houston UHaul is a gem. The computer system gave him grief at every turn, but he got the equipment I needed, on time and in a friendly, professional way. I will always be indebted to him!

BOB LINDA S on 9/14/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people were great to work with. However, something needs to be done with your computer system.