U-Haul at Telegraph

U-Haul at Telegraph

Share |

Address

18270 Telegraph Rd
Detroit, MI 48219

(313) 534-8063

(Telegraph just south of grand river)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul at Telegraph

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul at Telegraph

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JOANN H. on 9/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have your employee Denzel Washington there so he can wait on the next customer. Because he is excellent.

Joshua F. on 9/2/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I reserved a truck and was sent to pick it up at a location that was closed. Once the reservation was sorted out, I went to pick up the truck from U-Haul at Telegraph. I waited in the lobby to be helped for 5-7 minutes because the clerk was having an argument with a customer. The truck was in decent shape and clean but the transmission light was on in the dash; wasn't very comfortable with that not knowing if the truck would break down or not.

TIMEKA R. on 9/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was very upset I made a rsvp at the u haul located on telegraph and 9 mile. When I got there I was informed that my rsvp was moved to a different location. I feel I should have been notified if this change prior to my pickup which caused me to waste a lot of my time!

THOMAS R. on 9/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My only concern is the Battery on the Truck that I rented. It seemed like it was going to die at any moment

ELMIRA M. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It's a small lot but everything went along just find ! No problems what so ever !

THERESA F. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Our moving experience went very smoothly thanks to uhaul.

TEGRA T. on 8/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Don't send them to the uhaul dealer on 6 mile near telegraph in detroit.

AVERY T. on 8/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Location was good truck broke down which was bad

JOHN J. on 8/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service.

DUANE F. on 8/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Yes everything was GREAT! I want to give a special shout out in support of 'D.J.'! He did a great job, has high quality verbal and people skills! Duane Fueslein

JAY J. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I really didn't like having my reservation "assign" to a location other than the one I made it at. It resulted in 2 hours of my time, my gas and effort to use U-Haul . That is UNACCEPTABLE! I also didn't like be "lied" to. Being told the trailer was "owned" by the point. Well it had Oregon plates on it making it hard to believe it was "owned" by a point in Michigan. The trailer was pretty old and beat-up too, tires were crap. But, trailer was maintained. Your traffic person in Detroit I had my first contact with regarding the reassignment laughed at be on the phone when I complained. It pissed me off so much I swore at him. Which was not good. But, for him to have a glib, flippant, laughing attitude when a Customer is put out by a U-Haul issue is VERY UNACCEPTABLE. The folks at the Telegraph store were very professional. I did return the trailer a few hours late and was charged a whole extra day, not to fare when regardless of when it had been returned it could not have been re-rented. No discount for being "reassigned" no leniency for a few hours over which is what I spent based on the reassignment.

RETHA M. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Upon returning the truck, the employee checking me in told me I went over my 100 miles that was included and would be changed. I told her she needed to check my contract because I paid for 300 miles knowing that my round trip would be very close, but we'll within that amount. She did check with another employee who verified I'd pay less because we used less than what we paid for. Glad it was resolved without issues. She mentioned she doesn't do the computer stuff....maybe all employees need to have this training for future smooth transactions because I heard there was a customer prior to my return with a similar situation.

michael F. on 8/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Rep was excellent

KAREN V. on 8/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location is amazingly efficient. I couldn't believe how many trucks of all different sizes were packed into this tiny lot, but there was still plenty of room to maneuver. The staff was incredibly friendly as well.

JANICE R. on 8/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I can't think of anything. Great customer service!!

TRACY R. on 8/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Let customer know their's a hold on debit card 3 to 5 day no credit if picking up a new haul the next 1 to 2 days call me 313 415-8828

Tracy R. on 8/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

call customer, also let customer know it take 3to5 day to get your money back when using debit card.

LILLIE N. on 8/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just keep doing what you been doing.

SHERYAN H. on 8/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

(Dropped off after hours)

BEATRICE L. on 8/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Be sure to clean return vehicles... Encourage customer to check inside vehicles before signing agreement.

Gwendolyn R. on 8/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had to point out scratches and dents on the truck to representative.

DR. B. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The employee who connected the trailer to the hitch neglected to tighten it to the Ball, so it became disconnected and caused damaged to the item in the trailer.

STEPHANIE m. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I use this location every time I move and I will continue.I will also refer others.They provide excellent customer service, the staff is very friendly and I am always provide top notch Quality service.

TRACY R. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

gas should be empty or full

Tracy R. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You are not guaranteed.

Leland R. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was not my reserved location, but I was satisfied with the compensation to go to a further location.

ARANDI G. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had an awful experience with this location. I returned my truck there was no one there. Then the attendees had terrible customer service and attitudes. I will never rent here AGAIN!

KIMBERLY G. on 7/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This location had only one person on duty on a Sunday. He was so busy he forgot to load my truck with the dolly I paid for. So I drove off without it to my destination and had to come back! Perhaps management should consider scheduling more staff. Despite the inconvenience, the young man was very nice and professional.

sandra c. on 7/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have more than one person working at the location.

shaneeka s. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We by were provided a regular dolly but we requested an appliance dolly smh.

Brian S. on 7/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was my first time using U-haul. I am so happy to report that everything went amazing. This location had my reservation ready to go and everyone I delt with was very friendly and knowledgable. Pick up and drop off was very easy. Thank you.

DeAngelo J. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was fast, polite efficient even when I needed to the truck for a few extra hours.

LASHAWN E. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

At have two associates at the desk too make things smoother

Christine R. on 7/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good service. Fast helpful,

andre D. on 7/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I will use another location next time, simply because this one didn't seem to be interested in answering any of my questions about a future rental. They seem to be preoccupied with completing some type of a report rather than handling a customer that right in front of them. I made reservation at another location simply because of this.

ELLEN S. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keith provided excellent service.

SABRINA W. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The worker there were very friendly and courteous.

ASHLEY P. on 7/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was told another price over the phone. Unprofessional workers.

VICTOR M. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I wrote in before and said that I had a problem with the representative I spoke with on the phone. I never received a call back from a customer service manager. Not the manager of the store, my problem was not with the store it was with customer service.

will f. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I live in West Bloomfield, michigan and I picked up a Uhaul over this past weekend 6/28/2015 to make a Quick move just a half mile away. I was inconveniently sent to pick up a truck all the way in Detroit michigan 20-25 miles away from where I live. An I thought it was unfair for me to have to pay a mileage charge because Uhaul didn't have a truck for me a neither of the three locations that are closest to where I live (west bloomfield michigan). So I was charged for mileage after traveling 20-25 miles away to pick up a truck. I was told someone would do something to help me but the location pretty much told me I was SOL

ANGELICA C. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was overcharged for a 15" truck. I called and waited on hold several times just to get the run arounds about my refund. I don't care if its only a dime, y'all messed up and I am due my money. Don't worry I'll be calling again tomorrow to make sure I get my money. The clerk didn't know what he was doing and the manager was rude. Very disappointed!

SHANA M. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great

Todd A. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location and the management are fine but the space itself is kind of cramped. You can't do anything about that.

Tracy R. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

stop adding fee's on bills, with out customer consent.the problem is your gas charge should be full or empty.i don't agree with my bill, also did't see bill until I got home and check out my online bill.

SIMONE C. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The sales rep didn't respond I sat in the parking lot for 10 min there is a sign that says return equipment there was a van in front of me finally some one came out I found out the van was the managers there is plenty of video footage but no recognition I felt very amazed at the lack of urgency

ROBERT W. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner was very friendly and helpful.

Laurence B. on 6/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No suggestions for improvement as everything went smoothly and the people at the shop were well organized.

MICHAEL L. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very satisfied Thank you

ROBERT o. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall pretty good experience I'd say if it was to b a little closer that would b great but otherwise all good

Lisa S. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When we came in there was a wait because only one staff person was available. Otherwise staff was pleasant and efficient.

SETH B. on 6/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Slow service. Did not seem to know how to use computer well. Forgot to give me dolly, called to inform me of the mistake, and I asked them to take it off my rental and I'd be fine without. They never took it off my rental. Overheard conversation of another customer who just turned in the truck I was taking that it had a hole in the roof. They said there was no way he would miss it and he should pay for it, which is ridiculous because it's on the roof. How should he be able to see that?

Victor S. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great company, went there twice to rent a uhaul truck and they were fantastic both times

CATHERINE F. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Went out of his way (Marco) in the compter to get us a truck at the last minute.

CRAIG C. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was good...

james h. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I think you are doing a fine job, keep up the good work.

lakeisha a. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Upon arrival greeting was very disrespectful from the employee then leaving the employee start arguing with another employee that was helping filling in at the time that haul company was very unprofessional and know I will never use them.again.or refer them to anybody bad experience and very ghetto

FREADA R. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

the gas tank was at 3/4 when pixk-up. tried to return the truck with 3/4, however, the needle would not register until the tank was filled. I return the truck with a full tank of gas. The manage would not give me do any thing to correct the problem. I was given a truck with a defected gas tank. You jest took my money

ANITA D. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clean & busy location. Staff was very professional and pleasant when handling a rush.

vanessa g. on 5/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was wonderful, courteous, and well organized.

justin e. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

One person working! Didn't know how to work computer!

jimmy s. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck was excellent service was good until returning truck uhaul system was down an couldn't get my deposit back that day gave phone number an didn't get a call back for 2 days had to make a trip to get money back thanks UHAUL for the extra gas I had to waste

MIKE S. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Really black area, dude told me I didn't have the right adapter then I plugged it in because it was the correct one and he tried to sell me the same thing. Probably treating me like I didn't know anything because I'm white and south of 7 mile road

Lonneta C. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks Keith Caldwell for all your help and making this process a little bit easier and stress-free!

Ibrahim E. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It took over 25 minutes to get paperwork and checked out. There was no line or other customers. Things were moving as slow as molasses. Will never rent from this location again!

Andre H. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was nice and courteous, truck was clean and in good running condition.

ELVENA M. on 5/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Worst experience I ever had it was a nightmare especially the manager. Of the West 8 mile store in Southfield. I was left without a truck after mine broke down for almost 2 days. Only a lady named Monica from roadside assistance really helped me.No one else seem to know what they were doing. If I had to get a truck I would use only Telegraph/6 mile rd /Grand River store In Detroit. I wish I had never went there or stored my things there.Only to get my things out will be the only time I'll go back. What a horrible manager.

Kenyetta W. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything was done correctly, I had no problems.

jerome w. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The entire process went smooth and professional. We've been coming to this location for years.

JIMMY S. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

They were very helpful thanks to the young lady that help me out sorry didn't get her name

Nicole P. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent! Scheduling, pick-up, and drop-off was seamless. Thank you!!!

yvette t. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

get better staff in this place they were very rude and I thought when I rented there once before the person was having a bad day so I let it go but then I went and rented there aging yesterday and I still got very nasty service I will never rent from this place every again.

ALICIA B on 8/8/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Steve was very helpful and the gentlemen on the afternoon shift was pleasant as well. We recommend to family and friends.

LEE S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

One of the yard helpers was not very professional he was trying to assist me with a problem with the latch on the U-Box while talking on a personal call.