U-Haul of Burlington

U-Haul of Burlington

Share |

Address

460 Riverside Ave
Burlington, VT 05401

(802) 862-8698

(Rt 7 @ N Prospect)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Burlington

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Burlington

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

MATT W. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Moving is stressful as is. It seems uhauk enjoys making this process as hard as possible. You set everything up on the website thinking you'll get everything where you need but alas the u box location you need is full and they decide to send you 2 hours away to fill your boxes. This wouldn't be the end of the world except for the fact they charge .79 cents a mile. So I made 2 trips and was charged hundreds extra for something I had 0 control over. Basically got baited and switched. I can almost guarantee I'll move again... but it won't be with uhaul. The clerk at best was unsympathetic towards this u e Unethical business practice.

MACKENZIE M. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No issues on drop off, fast and easy

judith a. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

First time I called was told none of pick ups had hitches. Good thing I called back and was told of course they do and we rented one. Brand new truck (awesome), old rusted hitch, had trouble getting pop up camper off the ball. Very crowded location (lots of rental trucks).

Michael M. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I booked the van for 9:00am online and the confirmation email I received stated that it would not be available until 4:30pm. This was a huge inconvenience to me, maybe the ability to check the time before finalizing a sale should be an option.

Kelly B on 7/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was a nightmare experience. The dates were wrong, the location for pick up was wrong - MULTIPLE TIMES!It cost me 3 times the amount to do this because of the problems with UHAUL.

DEVIN M. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy!

STEVEN H. on 7/25/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck was dangerous and should not be on the road. The brakes kept locking up and the transmission was slipping. On top of that there was a very rude employee inside. I will never use a uhaul again.

Stewart L. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location is old, but well-located. The vehicle I rented was almost new - and perfect for the job. No complaints.

Kelley D. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Van was brand new. Staff were articulate and helpful. Only drawback is the teeny, tiny parking lot. It was packed when we tried to return the van. This was the only stressful/unpleasant part of the rental.

hank b. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people were great. When I went there there were able to help like all the people there at one time. Very efficient. Very nice

LARRY R. on 7/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The price for an appliance-moving hand truck was incredibly reasonable. Saved our backs.

linwood m. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was no on site parking. After moving all day and was exhausted, but I had to walk a half a mile to get to my car. AND no one mentioned it during the initial process so I didn't know I should have someone come with me.

RICHARD R. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The sales person Quinton was extremely helpful,polite and efficient,

Christopher B. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

People working when I picked the truck up were very rude! When I dropped the vehicle off they were very rude again. They acted like they hate their job, not professional at all!

Tim M. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gentleman who took my return was incredible. He seemed to be by himself and about 4 people showed up with returns at once. There was no room on the lot and he had to play musical vehicles to get every return in and out. It was 85 and humid and he hustled all over the place and got each return out in a flash. He kept a smile on his face all the while. I hope you pay that man well!

Rebecca H on 7/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kevin and Crystal were excellent!

Charles W. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Close out the credit card invoice in person when the customer returns a rental vehicle. This allows the customer to address any small discrepancies at that time. I was billed for a few extra miles (I checked and recorded the odometer at pickup and return) which was the only blot on an otherwise perfect rental experience. It's hard to dispute something like that when the receipt is received by email and the small amount (~$4) not worth the drive back to the UHaul store. to dispute. All the personnel were professional and friendly at pickup and return.

LOU R. on 7/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. Staff was great. Equipment was a little old, but, in very good condition.

SANDRA R. on 7/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would recommend to revise the locations you provide on your website. I went to drop off the truck to one of the locations your site provided at 3436 Roosevelt Hwy Colchester, VT (802) 316-4406 It turns out they are not even an Uhaul place anymore. It really messed up my trip, I had to drive 40+ minutes to the next location. The person in the Colchester location which is a gas station said there's always people there trying to drop off uhaul trucks there and uhaul hasn't correct the error. They stop being an uhaul place for over a year!!

Doug S. on 7/14/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

good customer service

JOSH C. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was tossed around to 3 different p/up locations. Quoted a price then raised. Told I could use my credit card then hours before departure told no. Kevin Holcumb wrote me a rotten e-mail. I was so stressed out 9 hours total on phone,.Never again!!

CRAIG C. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You have almost no customer parking, very crowded and inaccessible (customer parking spaces wee filled with rental equipment). But your process was very, very streamlined. When I brought that truck back I was greeted outside and on my way in about a minute. I can see that this pocation has improved greatly from about 5 years ago (all except the crowding).

DAVID U. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Was a great experience. Only think you could improve on is maybe coffe and donuts! Thanks for your help

ALAIN R. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The place is understaffed, it took me 30 mins to get someone to come and do the checkout. No one was there to help remove the hook on my car. The whole experience was terrible and I would not wish the same to any other customer.

christina d. on 7/7/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

First, the truck was not swept out, and the floor at the drivers seat seemed to be cleaned with armorall, it was dangerously slippery. Also, the rental agent told me that if I had the truck back by 7pm the next day, I would only be charged one day. Guess what, I was charged two. When I called I was told that was policy and I'd be contacted by Keith the manager, no call from Keith! I understand your policy but when your employee makes an arrangement, you have to stand by it!! I will be reporting this to the credit bureau, not that it will most likely do any good, but a crook is a crook!

Randall C. on 7/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was well organized and prepared. For as busy as they were they took the time to explain and set up the trailer I rented in a very professional manner. Very impressed!

DIMITRI B. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only reason I rated the location average is because there is no safe drop yard and available storage. I would expect more space at a Uhaul like facility. The nearest availability for storage and drop yard space was 60 miles away in Rutland. Other than that, the young man who helped me drop the trailer stayed after hours so he could help...

EDWARD H. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Extremely efficient and easy to return

MICHAEL E. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Service was great given the circumstances. Truck was 4 hours late and delayed packing and ultimately the trip. Truck was very dirty. Also received a flat tire.

CHRIS B. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Let customers leave a name and number option for call back in the morning.

CARISSA L. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The rental truck was perfect however the auto trailer was another story. There was marked damage on it and at several times during the 1500mi trip the ratchet straps came loose at one point so loose they became reached. Luckily we had personal ratchet straps we were able to secure the vehicle with however we would still have to pull over to check the trailer every time we hit a large bump in the road. In addition i was told i could not run my card as a debit card (my purchase limit was 10k for debit) and i had to run it as credit which the limit was not high enough so i had to call my bank. They released the limit and a 1500.00 charge went through. Because of this charge i was told it would have to be refunded and i would have to wait until it got credited to my account. This lead to a very heated discussion with the sales rep which was not his fault that the software and transaction processing method was set up for him to fail in these types of situations. Needless to say this is the 2nd time we have rented with Uhaul and had extreme difficulties dealing with what is normally a basic issue.

KATIE G. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Another uhaul place didn't have the truck I had reserved, but luckily this uhaul location had what I needed and let me keep the vehicle for 24 hours, which the original location would not let me do. It really worked out better that I went through this one!

Robert H. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Garage personnel were smoking during my interactions with them - agent who met me at the vehicle was courteous and efficient and professional

Sean H. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very quick and easy! Thank you!

PETER M. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

all was fine

Alyssa K on 7/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Two men working outside when I checked in and out were SO helpful. However,man and woman working inside at the front desk were always rude, unhelpful, and unwilling to answer my questions.

OGHENERUONA A. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Line was very long on the day I went in. They probably need more assistance, and should try to process things a little quicker. Some seemed much slower than others in finishing with each customer.

ALEC S. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I ordered a 24 foot truck (3 bedroom house) from U-Haul online 2 weeks before I needed it. I received a confirmation email. The day before I was scheduled to pick up the vehicle, I checked in with the local office to confirm and I was told they only had a 15 foot truck available. I was never called or alerted in person. As a result I needed to make multiple trips, which cost me double in moving labor and double in the mileage that U-Haul charges. There was no effort on the part of U-Haul to defray any of those costs. U-Haul's lack of customer service ended up costing me about $400 and a great deal of headache. Thanks for that.

JEREMY S. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Super nice guy at the providence spot, he must LOVE coffee. I think you could have a small pamplet with simple driving suggestions for noobies - make wide turns, double check your mirrors, etc. Hit me up if you need a graphic designer!

Brittany E. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There should be a sign on the road showing where to return truck.

JAY T. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle, and great staff!

Charles W. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it clearer what constitutes clean/have the person check the back.

CHARLES K. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff were helpful advising me on how to fix problem with my b hitch.

CHRIS E. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The reservation process was a joke. Any good company that lets you reserve a truck or any type of equipment online should know at that time if the equipment is available. Uhaul either needs to ditch their website or fix it.

Mark G. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They uncoupled the trailer and I was gone in 10 minutes. Later that day they emailed me a receipt. Excellent service!!! Maybe you should send someone up from Hyannis to learn from folks who know that customer service is the key to success.

ZACHARY E. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have honest employees working the counter. I reserved a uhaul online from 0800 on June 26th to 0800 onJune 27thth. The man at the counter insisted I only reserved the truck from 0800 until 1600 because that is the average time it takes to move. The employee became unprofessional and aggressive, then once I pushed back and stated my original reservation he later admitted one of the employees changed my reservation. Nice job uhaul. Way to have employees with honesty and integrity.

JOHN L. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

One tire on the trailer was bald of tread in spots. Tension between the personnel in the office checkout tables was uncomfortable to be around and spilled over into a rude attitude from my checkout attendant. Pre-registration via a phone call to the office was excellent.

ZECH C. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer service was horrible. Worst experience ever!!

SHORON L. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

People were wonderful; service was wonderful - thank you

SAMUEL M. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

After a 10hr ride in late June at 90-95 degrees in a uHaul truck without working A/C, and after a rain leak in Mom's attic marred a carefully packed table's finish I would say there was some room for improvement of the equipment. Sometime around getting bags of ice to keep the cats from dying from the heat, I reflected back upon the ease of my prior move with a rental from Penske. Good news was that the uHaul's lower truck deck was easier to load, the the link to moving help was very helpful. Unfortunately, I will not use the company again due to the equipment issues.

Teresa H. on 6/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I came 15 minutes early to pick up my rental - happily as I had to wait 45 minutes to receive it and a very long line formed behind me. The Internet was acting up and the employees did not seem equipped to cope successfully with the situation. They faced the situation with calm, but seemed so passive and at the mercy of the machine. Couldn't there be an alternate, manual way of preparing the contract in the case of an Internet failure? Seems to me this might be included in the Guarantee - 45 minutes is a long time when other people are waiting for you to arrive so they can load . ..

CATHERINE H. on 6/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I didn't know how to release the parking brake and had to call to get help. I wish I had been told how to do this before I set out.

Val H. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The employees were inattentive to customers waiting in front of them - never made eye contact. When the small parking area was filled with Uhaul equipment they left no place for customers to park. Manager lost his temper with a customer who was trying to park in in back of the facility. Rude, rude, rude

JEANNE B. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck bucked all the time, feeling like it wanted to shift but couldnt-the tow was off. Felt like either the transmission was going or the tires had broken belts. Barely got it to 50mph on the interstate. Upon returning advised them I had put 5.08 gallons of gas since it was not full and was not quite down to 3/4-the indicator said at 3/.4 to put in 5.5 gallons, then I find they charge me over 9.00 for more gas I only drove 34 miles, I know it gets bad mileage but think it is more than 5 miles per gallon..I told them that the gauge did not move, so thought there was also an issue with that as well as the transmission. Showed him the receipt..I have rented a number of trucks through the williston road/.rent a wreck location and had much better experiences than this one. I do not feel I should have to pay for any more fuel for sure.

JANE C. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very nice.

JOSHUA P. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Truck was unavailable when reserved.

RYAN B. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Sunday morning clerk (from receipt) Austin Hamlin was incredibly rude and barely accommodating. He basically called me a liar and that I had not selected the option of 8:00am on the internet when booking my truck because the store doesn't open until 9:00am. Not only did I book that option time on the uhaul website I also booked for a different location that I found later to not be open on Sundays. I'd like to see the website provide only the approximate times, locations, and truck availability. The other truck maintainer, Quentin I believe, was very friendly and negotiable and obviously new his coworker had a horrible attitude. I've also had rude employees in the past at this location.

MARGERY N. S. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

UHaul changed my pick-up location an hour before I was due to arrive (on an airplane), requiring me to pay for a second taxi to the new location. The first location was apologetic and helpful. This second location did not acknowledge the inconvenience nor was it willing to help me with driving directions needed due to the change. The truck was not clean (trash in cab, dirty windshield) but operated well. Generally, dear UHaul, please don't overbook--and give customers more notice when changes need to be made.

SHAR R. on 6/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They serviced us after hours and we are very greatful! Thank you!

Michele A. on 6/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were very helpful. I would definitely use this location again.

ROB B. on 6/18/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Kevin Holcomb is bad news for uhaul. I've rented from this location probably 6 times in the past with smooth sailing but this last time I was greeted by Kevin Holcomb yelling at me, then condescendingly asking me how long I had lived in burlington. He felt I should know that the businesses on his street have two drive ways. After returning the truck I received an emailed receipt with a surprise, a $25 cleaning charge billed by, guess it...Kevin Holcomb. Truck was clean when I returned it, I've never received that charge before, and I won't again since I'll be renting from Penske.

Katie B. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little difficult to get into as they have so many trucks. Had to park next door at the gas station. Staff was excellent.

mark l. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I returned the trailer i rented at 9:30 am whitch was an hour and a half early. They did not process the paper work until 1:30 and i got charged for an exta day. Not happy about that.

DAVID V. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Provide guidance for night-time equipment drop-off at the location.

Cuong M. on 6/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

If you send an email confirming that a unit is available for loading and on that date the unit is not there you should have notified the customer ahead of time, especially when the customer has boxes and boxes ready for loading, and should offer some help or compensation, instead of the cold-shoulder, the run-around, and a general total lack of concern. That would be good customer service, if not just plain civilized behavior. All stages of interaction with U-Haul was utterly unhelpful, demoralizing, and thoroughly sub-par, from the local franchise to corporate. I had a neutral attitude towards U-Haul before. Now I thoroughly despise U-Haul and will avoid it all cost.

ALAIN B. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager at the desk was a little pushy on the insurance. Otherwise everything was really good. Good vehicule. Also I extended the lease twice, and the personnel over the phone were nice.

Paul E. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There is no reason to own a pick up truck or trailer when it is so easy and inexpensive to rent a Uhaul truck. I had a truck full of yard waste today that I took to the land fill. I rented the truck the night before, picked it up at 8 AM and returned it by 1PM. They emailed me the receipt and that was it. I drove my car there and left it parked up the hill off Prospect St..while I used the truck. Seriously it doesn't get much easier.

PETER O. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The facilty is small and has two driveway entereances. The return driveway is on the farside of the building. A sign at the nearside (north) would be helpful.

JAMES H. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The young gentleman who assisted with the trailer was very pleasant (Mr Stubbs?). The gentleman behind the counter was rude and was not customer service oriented

sara b. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

contract with neighboring businesses to use their parking lot for customers. If I parked at Dunkin Donuts, I would been attracted to go in and purchase something from them. It could be a win-win for you both.

ALAN F. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The vehicles tires were unbalanced and the vehicle shook violently at speeds below 55mph. Considering my trip took eight hours each way at speeds well below this threshold I did not think the vehicle was in good shape.

Rodney S. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A walk thru of the truck and where everything is would be helpful.

Aaron M. on 6/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Larger, better marked parking lot. It's difficult to tell where to drop off your van or truck once you're done.

Kristin V. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was nowhere for me to park, communication was unclear about where/when to pick up truck

edmund s. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not enough parking spaces and the area is too congested

Andrew M. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Expand the entrance-way for the trucks maybe? Several people arrived at once and couldn't get in very easily.

A P A. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Van had 94000 miles and had a leak that was a minor inconvenience. As a repeat customer, I would like to think a newer and better conditioned vehicle would be made available. If I were moving furniture, the leak may have been a problem....I wasn't and so it was a minor inconvenience. Drop off was a mess...looked like everyone who rented came back at the same time. No opportunity to discuss equipment with personnel.

Ben J. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was great. Customer service was excellent.

Todd M. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great job on an incredibly busy day for Burlington.

Nicholas H. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing! It was great in every way from the quality of the vehicle to the service when I picked it up and when I returned it. I'd definitely use this location again.

David H. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

QUIT FUCKING EVERYTHING UP

ANTHONY P. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Called to confirm it but no one told me I would have had to have it back by two the big woman at the counter was really rude and really did not want to do her job at all worst experience ever will never go to a uhaul store again

BEN R. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff at this place could not care less about you, every question is an inconvenience and they shrug and roll their eyes constantly. They clearly hate their jobs and it shows on their faces and with their attitudes. Due to their lack of customer service U-haul will never get my business again

Daniel M. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was told that the gas tank would be at 1/2 full when I got in the van. It was under a 1/2. I returned it with the amount that was in it at pick-up. Store was closed when I got back and was unable to talk to anyone about it.

Heather T. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

They were super busy and needed more personnel on, but did a great job

HANNA M. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was treated horrible! This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had. My reservation was not what I was promised and the owner Kevin yelled at me and told me that it wasn't his fault and there was nothing he could do!

james s. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good experience. Professional, organised even in the busiest month of year.

JOHN L. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and efficient. In and out in no time

Richard C. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Cleaning chemical was strong. I needed to keep window open all day.

TARYN L. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very speedy and polite service. Everything was easy and efficient. Will definitely use this location again!

Lisa D. on 5/28/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The lot setup at this location is a challenge to say the least. I picked up here which is out of town for me, so I went a day ahead to complete the pre towing check. Only to have to complete it again when I picked up from the same rep. They assigned me a pickup time which I could not make and they agreed to change on the phone. When I arrived it took three customer reps to get me on my way. They were disorganized and less than courteous. Did I mention the trailer they assigned me had no license plate? And they refused to change it. Said it would be fine. It came from Ohio like that. I had to drive 4 states with no license plate. Good thing I did not get pulled over. Not one rep showed me how to use the ramps, or hookup, or drop off the trailer. Although we know how, not everyone renting a trailer for the first time ever does. I was less than pleased and will never be back to a Uhaul site.

Kyle S. on 5/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone at the Riverside U-Haul was very helpful. They were very fast and efficient and our U-Boxes were already set up and ready to go when we arrived the morning of our moving day.

DANIELLE S. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The chains were not put on high enough and I had to pull over to adjust as it was causing sparks. That was a terrifying experience, but overall good service.

LAWRENCE A. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy drop off professional staff

Carolyn M. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even in the midst of student move-out weekend, they did an amazing job of keeping us all moving and getting our vehicles on time. Very impressed with the excellent staff at this location!

Maureen G. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

N/A

Jonathan W. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The vehicle was fairly clean but did smell of smoke and the steering wheel and arm rests were sticky.

Charles H. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would be a great customer, I was very happy with the service I received.Have a wonderful day.

betsy l. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very easy and pleasant service -- van was spotless - great reviews

Barbara R. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was overcharged for my rental. I was charged twice. Plus, the van was not fully filled with gas when I picked it up. I didn't notice until we had started driving. I left a note when I returned the car, that I should be credited for the gas I had to put in. I not only did not get a response but I was charged 2 x for the rental. Please FIX and contact me to let me know you have fixed this.

james h. on 5/24/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

unfriendly guy at counter, no customer parking had to park about 1 mile away from location and walk to rental place. When returning, the truck was clean ( cab and storage area) but got charged $25 for a cleaning fee. This is totally unwarrented . Will not return to this Uhaul location.

Lucia C. on 5/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reserved u box and was told they didn't have any. I reserved the van and box in March. The manager said it didn't matter. He yelled at me on the phone on the day of the rental and said a reservation isn't a guarantee. How ridiculous.

David S. on 5/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All very good

patricia m. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Been around for along time very friendly and helpful

ALICIA F. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Riverside Avenue Burlington VT location is slow ... not enough computer terminals to check people in or out. They have one terminal usually only available even though 3 people there. And update there site on the Web there is no Pine Street location

Peter W. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service. Clear instructions. Staff seem helpful and caring.

LOU C. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always have a good experience at this location.

JONATHAN H. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The trailer that I reserved, which was confirm by an employee in-person only a few days before I came to pick up, was NOT the trailer style that was entered into your computers. Instead of admitting or trying to acknowledge the mistake made on the part of UHaul employee, the Asst. Mgr. who greeted me at time of pick-up angrily blamed me for the mix-up. He was wrong to do that and his attitude was intolerant. He had no patience or understanding. He was not supportive or kind. During our encounter I told him so and suggested that because of his terrible attitude, I was considering not returning to do future business with the location. Perhaps his role as Asst. Mgr. should be reviewed if he cannot adopt a different approach to customer support as an ambassador of the company. The trailer I wanted had not be rented to another person so the reservation was changed and I left with the trailer I expected. However, I was lucky and all my plans for the day which included working with other people could have instantly dissolved had the correct trailer not been available. A few days earlier, when I stopped by to make the reservation, I complimented the employees for how much the site had changed and the improvements in appearance, logistics, booking and customer service. Generally speaking, that is still true, but the praise I offered has been diminished by this single encounter with an individual who did not represent himself or the company in a positive manner.

Joe S. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Attendant indicated that there would be a long wait for drop-off accounting; that an email summary would be sent. The email arrived shortly thereafter. I did notice a discrepancy in miles allowed. The figure that I received upon pickup was 196. However, since I wasn't charged for the overage, I guess it didn't matter. Thank you for everything.

pamela h. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Check in time is a disaster. The help at the counter was dead slow and spent most of their time on the phone instead of helping customers trying to pick up. Parking is almost impossible.

Arthur K. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The actual fuel gauge in the truck is much smaller and lacks the detail that prints out on the contract, and it is difficult to compare and try to get back to the same level upon return.

LYDIA K. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

People at pick up were very friendly and nice location has zero parking and is very hard to move around yard full of trucks no extra room.

Peter T. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and fast service

George S. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, very professional in my book. Motorcycle trailer worked perfectly!

Brian b. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When changing drop off policy, should let people know when they pick up equipment. Not just on return. Rented many times there and try to help especially when there is one person working and helping other people. Does not help after the cat is out of the bag. Thanks

harry p. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have rented from here in the past - pick up wait times can be long. I was also told there was no customer parking which was frustrating because I had to park several blocks away. The drop off was smooth and efficient and Quentin provided outstanding service!

TIMOTHY k. on 5/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Girl at counter acted as if we were a inconvenience to her day!! As cold as ice!!

Jan C on 5/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was a booking error with my U-box reservation. Your staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make it right! I highly recommend the staff in Burlington!

Preston H. on 5/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

almost no instruction on how to load and secure the car on the trailer,same with unsecuring the car. wasted a lot of valuable time. also fender flip down on trailer was not explained, so I had to crawl out of the care window and fell and injured arm. not fun.

WAYNE B. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice! They compensated for our pick-up experience and when we explained, the gentlemen was very pleasant. We were concerned about being charged for things out of our control, but they worked with us and listened.

max p. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

service was great, equipment well maintained and the employees did a great job

RON P. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very busy. could have used more help

Mark S. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Computer system seemed unreliable, slow. Lead to issues with the charges that were taken care of by this very capable and helpful staff, but it tainted an otherwise very good experience, and took time away from all involved.

James P. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Vehicle was dirty on out side and in side had bad farm smell but overall ran good vehicles should be washed before rentals and freshened up.

kelly l. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The equipment was in good shape -- clean and perfectly functional. The transaction went smoothly, as well. The people I dealt with in the store, with one exception, were ill mannered, gruff, rude, and snippy. From the phone call I made to confirm the reservation, to the service I received at the counter when picking up the vehicle, to the employee who conducted the closing transaction when I returned the vehicle, the employees were a poor representation of the customer service I'm sure U-haul aspires to give. Interestingly, the one employee in the transaction who was knowledgeable, polite, efficient, and pleasant was probably the lowest man on the totem poll. The black gentleman with the pleated hair (sorry I didn't get his name) who tended to details at the return of the vehicle was a delight. His colleagues should strive to emulate his traits.

James T. on 5/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Having to park at Dunkin Donuts across the street on a very busy road is not acceptable. The UHaul location did not have enough parking.

Edith a. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The entire experience was frustrating. The franchise was very busy and seemingly understaffed. I had to wait for two phone calls taken by the manager and the other person was moving back and forth from the counter taking care of something else. Finally I was checked out and then the van I was assigned to was taken by another employee for reasons not explained. I had to go back to the counter and re-do the rental agreement with new numbers, had to swipe my credit card again, etc. At this point my wait time was nearly 20 minutes. Then I left with a van that did not have the furniture dolly I'd leased on board - was this my responsibility or was I to assume that the person handing me the keys was also handing me my rental? I discovered this when I reached my destination and went to load - under a time limit, and aware that as I left the building there were no fewer than 10 people in the lines waiting for their rentals, I decided to do without. When I returned the van, I was subjected to a safety check. New Policy? training someone at my expense? I don't know, but again I explained that time was burning and I was tightly scheduled, and the poor man had to continue to go through high beams - etc. It was now 2;30 p.m. and I'd had the van for 2.5 hours of daylight. Exasperating etc. The idea that the safety equipment check was something to do on the customer's time, when there was no indication of damage or compromise to the van - was ridiculous and a real low point for the Uhaul experience. Selfish policy . I understand if I have to show proof of the vehicle's condition if there is reason to suspect, but this was just maddeningly STUPID and at MY EXPENSE after a less than stellar experience to begin with - no furniture trolley, two contracts drawn up because of an error or miscommunication between employees, etc. Hard to "recommend" the recommendattion would be for the van itself, not the players or "systems" in this time consuming activity on a hot and busy day. The woman who took my scribbled note about the missing dolly and my request that I not be charged, did adjust my credit card receipt for which I am very relieved.

jackson s on 5/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

don`t tell someone they need to arrive at the scheduled pickup time and then make them wait and hour while you prepare the box. there was a scheduled time for a reason.

heidi m. on 5/7/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I see great improvements in this location since my last visit!

Roth B. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, the experience was great and efficient. 10/10.

JOSHUA T. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

UHaul should make arrangements to move trucks to locations where the trucks are reserved.

JOHN C. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The 20 ft trucks are really good. I will rent again.

Kathy G. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The folks and the truck were great. When I asked if I could keep the truck a few extra days, because I was loading it myself, couldn't afford movers, so I was trying to do it before or after work everyday, I was not told that the insurance was a daily thing, I ended up paying for insurance everyday that the truck was in my driveway while I tried to fill it up without help. So I spent a whole lot of money on insurance for days when your truck just sat in my yard. I believe it should have been made clear to me that I would have to pay insurance for every day. I would have made a different choice if I had known. And, I have to move my stuff again in a couple of weeks, but I believe your folks should make people know just what they are signing up for. Thanks, anyway.

Joe B. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, the fella here was also prompt, friendly and extremely helpful. Keep up the great customer service UHAUL!

VALERIE M. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service is always lacking; the rental process is not streamlined.

THERESA c. on 5/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Store was well-stocked with helpful packing material. Staff very knowledgeable.

Erica M. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The rental process could definitely be smoother. There were a lot of people there and a long wait to get the truck. The salesman was pushing us to purchase the insurance and told us that they don't deal with insurance companies so if anything happened, we need to pay in full. That comment alone would encourage me to rent from somewhere else.

sherrill m. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make it so our own insurance covers an accident with a U-Haul

SOUMAIA Y. on 4/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

keep up the great customer service :)

eva s. on 4/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I thought the store was great and the customer service was excellent. Though .59 a mile was no deal with the distance I went. I can get a cheaper rate at Enterprise.

JEFFREY D. on 4/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Worker told me van I rented was only a year old to try to get me to buy insurance when I was only using it to move a couch and returning it in 2 hours and I am an excellent driver and have driven more expensive cars like a BMW.

Emily H. on 4/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There should be clearer signs, visible from both sides of Riverside Dr., indicating which entrance customers should use to return equipment.

amanda h. on 4/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was my first time using a trailer... I had to buy a ball, pin, and wiring, and get set up. They were knowledgeable, patient, and encouraging. I had a wonderful experience! Even though they were under construction, I still has excellent service from the owner, his wife, and two other employees while I visited for wiring installation and then trailer pick up. I'm so glad that I drove out of my way to work with this location!

JADA R. on 4/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only thing that was a real pain was the place is unders construction and they didn't have a good set up to help customers while the place is a mess.

ERICA L. on 4/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy to pick up, helpful staff. Thanks!

Victor R. on 4/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Location is small but fairly well organised

KAITLYN R. on 4/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really friendly and efficient service. Low cost, convenient!

Justin A. on 4/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr Alger was incredibly helpful, even for being understaffed

BRIAN W. on 4/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They lied to us about the equipment and fee. Only admitted it when we got the police involved. I would never recommend U-Haul to anyone and will spread the word as much as possible how terrible this company is. It is the single worse experience I have ever had with a company. I hate liars!!!!

Rachel A on 4/6/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged for 3 months of storage that I never signed for, did not authorize. My card was charged 3 times...just discovered I was only refunded for 2 of 3 charges and will have to contact again

DAVID P. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The van smelled like someone had burned a tire in the back of it, so I bought an air freshener for the rear view mirror, but otherwise it was a clean and well-maintained vehicle. Suited my needs and I thank you for providing it.

BRENT W. on 4/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location seems to do it all well and with efficiency. Plenty of vehicles in stock any time I've needed one.

JENNIFER M. on 4/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was a little weary about renting from this place because of reviews I saw online. I'm happy I did any way because I had a perfect experience. The van drove very well and was clean. The staff got me in and out quickly and were flexible and friendly.

Michael D. on 4/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was great!

NANCY G on 8/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

HAD SOME PROBLEMS WITH THE BILLING, A COMPUTER GLITCH. ALL RESOLVED NOW.

BETH B on 8/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My U-box is missing and so far very little has been done to find it.

Amber W on 8/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Boxes were never ready at scheduled time for pick up. I called multiple times to try to avoid this issue and things still we`re not ready. Waiting times were outrageous.

Stewart W on 6/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Kevin at Burlington UHaul was extremely helpful - our only concern with the UBox would be that there were not straps available inside to secure our items. Thank you! Deb Weber

NIKKI W on 3/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

People at Burlington uhaul were knowledgeable and helpful, going the extra mile to help.

RACHEL N on 1/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

William at U-Haul Burlington has been very kind and helpful over the last couple of years for all my u-haul needs. He is extremely knowledgeable and he deserves a pat on the back.

JOHNNY L on 12/5/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All the folks were very helpfull Thanks for all your help

JAMES M on 10/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I`m very pleased with the experience. Everything worked very well. The staff at both the Maryland location and in Burlington were very helpful and attentive.

CINDY F on 10/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good experience

BARBARA C on 9/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nick and his staff were very professional and came on time with the Ubox delivery.

JON T on 8/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

thanks

CURTIS S on 8/13/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff on both ends of the moving transaction were superb!

BRIAN S on 8/2/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

poor

MARIA S on 7/22/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was a good experience. Thank you.

DAMIEN E on 7/16/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Horrible experience, never again. Very late in delivery, staff was not knowledgeable in the service. Not a mean staff, but lacking experience in uBox service.

SEAN O on 7/4/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

1. No delivery available, website said it was. 2. 3 weeks in transit, still not at location Vt to NC 3. No communication Sorry UHaul but u really let my family down.

DONALD A on 6/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

In general very helpful. Trailer for u-box was not available when promised, but alternate solution was provided.

SERINA C on 6/20/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Box was not shipped even though facility said it was. Box arrived damaged latch fell off door. Not the fault of Burl location, but can`t reach corporate ubox. Was told they`d call they never did.

DAMIEN E on 6/20/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff could not answer any questions, I spent hours on the phone for customs paperwork and had to change my date due to incompetent staff. Very poor experience

KASEY L on 6/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful, answered all of my questions and took extra time to explain everything to me. Thank you!

MARIA L on 6/10/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

U-Box was pulled out of storage 2 days before the scheduled pick up date and sat in the weather. Staff had a difficult time locating it when I arrived to off load it.

CHELSEA A on 6/5/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Uhaul never shipped by box until I spent 3 days trying to find out where it was and no one seemed to know how to help. I demanding a full refund

CRAIG S on 6/4/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Support by store itself was very good. Telephone support by central phone service was poor. Reservations were made on 2 different occasions with vehicles actually not available

DEBBIE L on 6/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Moving day in a college town can be a stressful day - but this was not the case, our storage unit out and available to us with no delays. Renting a u-box was perfect to store large items short term.

MARIA L on 5/27/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was scheduled to pick up my equipment at 9:00 a.m. and wasn`t able to until 11:00 a.m.

AMANDA S on 5/26/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff at the Burlington uhaul are the most dysfunctional, unintelligent people I have ever met. I could never get a straight answer from anyone about any of my questions.

AUDREY F on 5/23/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Never got to speak with anyone. Lied to. Overcharged. Calls never returned.An awful experience. I will be contacting my credit card co.

DONALD A on 5/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good service.

DANIELLE L on 5/18/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It shipped a week after I was told it would, only after I reached out to confirm. I tried to get a hold of someone to track my ubox but no one could tell me where it was and it arrived four days late.

PAUL V on 5/13/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

i notified that we were to be there friday on wednesday. we arrived and had to wait nearly 1 1/2 hours to get access to the u-boxes Someone loading a box should not be tying up the warehouse.

DANIELLE L on 4/27/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was knowledgable and attentive.

CASSIE B on 10/22/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Box was picked up 1 week late, arrived just as late. Customer service was very porr when trying to find out when my box was to arrive.

RIMI T on 10/20/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Late shorthanded Box backwards-could not open.Waited hrs for pickup turn return.Not picked up Sun- called Monday- someone came late Wed.Gen Manager said will reverse delivery fee-very happy with that.

CASSIE B on 9/29/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

THe boxes are small, making packing them with larger furniture difficult. THe staff was amazingly helpful, Rian True was fantastic.

ELIZABETH O on 9/19/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Harassing late notices though paid in full. No record of confirmed reservation. Damaged box/contents.

EMILY M on 9/19/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We were absolutely appalled to find that Uhaul is not set up to take pre-scheduled third party payments. A national moving company never does employer-sponsored moves. REALLY!?!??

BRENNAN V on 9/11/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It has taken too long and they got mixed with my box which caused the delay

DANIELLE D on 9/5/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Facility provided good service, but I had a hard time getting anyone to give me a straight answer about how the process works, but that was mostly when I called customer service

KELLEY B on 9/4/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Didn`t call to verify drop off, I called 3 times before getting thru. Didn`t come to get boxes when scheduled, they didn`t call. I called mult times until geting rude manager

KRISTEN H on 8/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Received boxes SUPER fast. Thank you.

BILL G on 5/27/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My wife shouldn`t have to carry big boxes herself. No one offered to help her. GM was rude and interrupting.

MICHAEL V on 5/25/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was rude and very unhelpful. They seemed lazy because the manager wasn`t onsite and refused to bring my U-Box out from storage because they were too busy.

TERESA B on 4/14/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick, friendly service. Very helpful.

LI J on 11/7/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My overall experience is great. This is my first time using U-box service and it definitely met my expectation. I look forward to the arrival of my goods in the destination!

ALLISON E on 10/25/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Our representative, Ryan, at the Riverside Ave UHaul in Burlington VT has been terrific. Other reps have not been very helpful. Also, the UBox is poorly constructed. It`s a rip-off.

GAVIN R on 8/1/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

hard to get ahold of anyone helpful horrible service I will not be using you again not worth paying 1220 to feel nervous about if all my things will be delivered to the right place and ontime.

MONIQUE C on 7/28/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The workers were creepy, stole my cell number and texted me. Plus, I was charged for a month twice.

NICOLE C on 6/30/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Awful expereince. I will NOT be using your services again.

MAYADA I on 6/25/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall i was happy with experience especially because u-haul rectified a problem I had with the location the box was dropped off at.

MALLORY R on 6/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The company needs to be more upfront about the delivery and rental charges.

ABBY M on 5/26/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Manager at facility was helpful given our situation

HENRY L on 4/10/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Can`t offer suggestions/ type more than this/ this box wont let me

MISTY S on 4/7/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Andy was great! He was very flexible and helpful regarding delivery and pick-up of the Ubox.