U-Haul of Burlington

U-Haul of Burlington

Share |

Address

460 Riverside Ave
Burlington, VT 05401

(802) 862-8698

(Rt 7 @ N Prospect)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Burlington

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Burlington

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JOHN H. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found u Haul employees very helpful and friendly, the vehicle was very nice and made the move much smoother.

FRED C. on 10/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Better signage regarding where to pull in with the equipment to be returned would be helpful, but we were in and out in minutes.

CHERYL K. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Riverside Ave can be a challenge to get to especially during rush hour. The service agent was excellent. I like the drive up to drop off.

MARY P. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was great - the guys were very knowledgeable and polite - the van was very clean and perfect for the items we had to move. The only thing I would change - when returning the van - had to wait quite a while

KRISTIN N. on 10/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I could see there was a cart with cleaning products by the overhang of the intake area. It looked like the vehicle would be cleaned and ready for the next customer.

A P A. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Vehicle had 99K miles. It had numerous dings and dents and was not a very nice advertisement for Uhaul. The brakes were pretty much defective; shuddered when brakes applied. I should have returned it but I had it loaded by the time I decided.

JEFFRY V. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Simply too small and not enough staff. Everyone was hustling trying to help as many and as fast as they could. They need about 3X the space they currently have.

ELENA L. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. It was great as it was.

DONALD P. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Once again the automated system did not let me pick where to return the truck. Riverside is far from the most convenient of the 4 possible after hour locations. Would have greatly preferred being able to switch. VERY glad this did not cause the miles to go over.

MICHAEL M. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reserved a 26' truck 2 weeks in advance and find out 2 days before I need it that the largest truck available is a 12'

JAKE E. on 10/19/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I had a very negative, contentious interaction with a staff member about where I stopped my car to let my girlfriend take it to work. Never could I have imagined someone talking to a customer the way he did. No good at all. Doubt I will return.

JORDAN D. on 10/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Although the equipment was quite old and used, and the staffing was poor, the single person at the counter did her utmost to make this a positive experience. I had reserved a trailer and had it confirmed PAST CLOSING TIME. Then later I got a uhaul text saying that instead of picking it up at the location I had just seen the trailer 10 min prior, I would have to pick it up an hours drive South. THE RESERVATION SYSTEM IS A POINTLESS WASTE OF TIME FOR THE CONSUMER. The person at the counter did her best with a bad situation and all turned out well in the end. She was the ONLY saving grace of this experience being professional, courteous, and understanding of my plight. It seemed clear to me that she was underpaid for the amount issues she had to contend with.

Maurice M. on 10/16/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I had an appointment but had to wait while 4 other customers, 3 of whom came in after me, were waited on because their situations were a "quick fix". I was finally dealt with 25 minutes after my scheduled appointment time. When I returned it the sign said wait and someone would be out shortly. I waited 5 minutes then unhooked the trailer myself, parked my truck and went inside to settle up. It seemed like more staffing might be required.

KATHERINE S. on 10/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dave, William, and Anthony were all VERY helpful. Thanks to them all.

Larry L. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was an 'oil change needed' message on the dashboard when I took the vehicle for my rental. Seems like this trouble indicator should have been cleared, or the vehicle should have been serviced, prior to making it available to customers. Because of this msg., I was unable to read the mileage. Also, the check-in process to return a vehicle at this location asks the customer to demonstrate that all turn signals & brake lights are still working. It seems far-fetched to 'ding' a customer for repair charges in the unlikely event these items have failed during a 1-day rental. It seems more likely the staff is using the customer to verify all the vehicle's safety signals are still operational, so they know to fix them in the event of a blown bulb, etc. If so, this is not the best use of a customer's valuable time.

LUCY J. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The drop off schedule was frustrating. When dealing with a big moving project you want to drop off the truck and get it over with. The time estimates were completely unrealistic. I understand why you do them...but I don't think that it is the most effective way to handle issues with staffing.

Kevin M. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Only one person working at store. Did pre check in but still had to wait an extended period of time. Equipment was rust and employee had to make repairs / adjustments before we could take trailer.

JAMES S. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. Had the truck ready early which accommodated my schedule well and everything went super-smooth!! Thanks!

MICHAEL D. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Take care of the customers. Ended up running behind on my move because I had to go outside and find someone to help me after waiting for 10 mins along with another customer. With 2 employees on I shouldn't have to FIND someone to help me especially after I had a reservation. Slowww service.

SHELLY A. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck I rented was to expectation, but the customer service fell short, although Uhaul honored the deal with me, I felt that when I rented the truck, I was told one thing and when I went to return truck, I was told something completely different. Thank you for making good on the deal that was made during check in when I rented the truck.

ANN M. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

too busy at drop off in afternoon.

DAN M. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I think my van just got a new rubber liner laid down in the back. It was off-gassing something fierce - I thought at first the van was used to store tires. The air was toxic. Either find another liner, or don't even bother with it.

JEANNETTE O. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Waiting for a call back from management. Truck had sticky spilled beverage remains from a prior renter down the front console. Truck fuel gauge did not register gas after refueling 3x as much as I was told I would need to at 2 different locations adjacent to the uhaul shop. When I told the store clerk he said the gauge was a pressure gauge and it would take time to register. I should have called them rather than making the problem worse by putting additional fuel in. Then, in order to not get charged for the "fuel shortage," he sent me back to the gas stations for receipts to prove I had refueled. Meanwhile, the people waiting in the store while I was there had waited over an hour for their truck which never arrived. The renters who had it out called to say they'd be late while I was standing there. The only other truck on lot was the one I had just returned which still hadn't registered the fuel I put into it but they sent those customers away in it anyway despite their prior confirmation that they would check the fuel level after the gauge had time to register it. Can't check the fuel if someone else takes the truck away, wtf?! The reviews I read online were extremely negative about this location and after going into it quite open minded, I unfortunately had the same horrible experience as everyone else did. I highly recommend spending the extra cash and going to Penske.

Clifford M. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy people to deal with. I will be using this service again. Thanks!

EILEEN B. on 9/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I brought the truck back, I had to stand and wait while a van that came in before me was cleaned and moved. The worker didn't even acknowledge me. After standing and waiting for I while I finally had to ask if someone was going to help me. He said he would get to me soon and continued with the cleaning and then moved the van and then finally checked me in. I don't know why he couldn't have stopped and taken the few minutes needed to check me in.

LAWRENCE K. on 9/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I found the woman staffing the desk to be pleasant and helpful. However, the man to whom I turned over the truck became alarmed when he saw the key ring. He informed me that the truck may not be owned by the same U-Haul company that I rented the truck from in Cohoes, NY and, consequently, that I might not be able to drop off the truck at U-Haul of Burlington. I told him that I called U-Haul of Burlington and was given the go ahead to drop off the truck at that location. Fortunately, the woman at the front desk accepted my return of the truck. I had already experienced enough aggravation with the truck rental (i.e. an 1.5 hour delay in the morning due to no functional rear lights on the truck), and non acceptance of the truck would have just frosted already burnt cookies.

JEFF S. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Equipment was ready when I needed it. The sales staff was fast, friendly and efficient.

EZRA M. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hello, I have to mention on thing. I did not get the insurance coverage. Before I drove off from Uhaul I was asked to go out and look for any new damages or scratched to the body of the truck. I had previously always gone out with a U-Haul employee for the inspection. It was raining...the slip got real wet..negated anything I might have put down as damage. then later found out he had sent me out to look at the wrong truck...not the one I was renting. So finally got the right truck...and continued with the inspecting....rental went fine, came back and the inspecting person put a sticker on a hole that looked like got punched in on the plastic bumper... I assured him that nothing had touched that truck...he later conceded that he knew the hole was there previously...and he explained to me how it happened,....so I then asked him why he did not mark the damage before My rental ? He of course did not have a good answer...but I could have called out for this damage....I can see where games can be played here when it comes to non insured rentals...maybe this is the way the company likes it ? Just could be a little shady IMHO....So I guess it means you either get the insurance or be subjected in some rare cases to this game play...It just kinda felt devious....sorry... but not cool. Thanks Ezra J Mulheron

SHEKHINAH C. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great job Riverside Ave. location!

DELORES C. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Again,very helpful staff people.

TINA K. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Better process of reserving as the woman who answered the phone (not Riverside Ave location) could not locate Colchester and was not aware of what the inventory was and was asked to give a $50 deposit. I was billed twice once I checked in and was told that a $50 deposit should not have been taken. Still waiting for the credit on my card.

RYAN B. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was allowed to pick up the truck the night before to avoid the morning rush and that was extremely helpful and much appreciated. Pick up time took me less than five minutes and drop off time was less than five minutes!!! Staff was very fast and were willing to answer many questions. Overall wonderful experience.

mark m. on 9/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Waited over 10 minutes for my uhaul to be checked in. I also observed the employee sweep out the previous check in trunk's interior back. When my turn came , he mentioned that there was some a few pieces of sawdust in the back and pointed me to a broom to clean it up. Mind you that is was raining and I didn't want to stand up in the back with my clay caked boots . I have returned many a trunk as clear as possible before . This was the first time I was asked to reclean the back. I of course could not avoid having a few footprints left in the back interior. I don't what this employee's direction was for. I was late getting home for someone covering my son.

Robert T. on 9/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure the previous person returns it on time and schedule more time between rentals in case they don't. I had to wait 37 minutes past my scheduled time before the previous person got back.

SAGE M. on 9/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

get their shit together, employee told us there was no overnight drop off and was trying to charge me for having it later than 5pm when i had reserved it till 2am or so will not be using uhaul ever again

MAC T. on 9/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good customer service very satisfied

TORREY M. on 9/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My uhaul broke down 4 hours into a 6 hour trip. Uhaul roadside assistance showed up an hour and a half later to tell me the starter was shot, and a local mechanic who happened to be on the scene told me that the starter was at least 15-20 years old. Because it was now 7pm on a Sunday, (and driving with my wife and 6 month old) they told me I have have one option, I could stay at the Scottish Inn hotel paid for by uhaul, possibly the dumpiest hotel in western NY, and I would pick up my '26 foot uhaul truck(packed to the brim) when it was repaired(no exact timetable). I couldn't believe what I was hearing. So I asked the tow truck driver a candid question about how bad uhaul is, and he smiled and said this happens all the time, but no comment. Then I asked how much it would cost to tow the truck to my final destination, only 2 hrs away. And he said uhaul would pay half of the $900 cost.(pricey because you have to pay for round trip). I called uhaul and said I'm not taking option one and that I have a 6 month old girl and I could drive to my destination as they towed the truck, and she said a hotel would b fine and that my 6 month old could sleep on the floor, as she didn't know if the Scottish inn had baby cribs to provide. I could not believe this. In the end I paid half the $900 tow and got to my destination. Not only will I never use uhaul again, but I will make it a point to tell everyone at work about how terrible the customer service is and what a complete joke this company is. And it is with great pleasure that my work involves a ton of relocations. Uhaul is pathetic. Nothing else to say. This is in the facts of my story.

MATTHEW C. on 9/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was very disappointed that my requested location was unavailable after I made plans to pick up there. I had to pay more because my move required more miles. I will very much rethink using uhaul in the future since you were unable to meet my request. There were trucks available at the location I wanted to use when I drove by. Very unhappy.

LEE G. on 9/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. They made everything as easy as could be

PAUL M. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fast and easy transaction. Staff was friendly, and helpful.

david m. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location is crowded and has minimal parking, but there's not much you can do about that. It is very convenient, however, but I did have to have someone drop me off and pick me up.

Jacob B. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing much. Third time I've used this rental office. Quite please with the equipment and customer service. Thanks

MIKE G. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

thanks

AMANDA B. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

the first experience of reservation was excellent . a woman was kind and helpful. She then called back and asked us to pick up early , at a cost of $189 for an extra hotel stay we did so. She was fine then also. From then on it was horrific. A young man and his supervisor, Mr Holcomb were rude, combative and disruptive. I WILL NEVER RENT FROM UHAUL AGAIN

MELISSA M. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The woman who handled my pick-up was about the unhappiest, most rude person I have ever dealt with. She needs a new job.

KIM C. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck needed an oil change and when I went in I specifically asked for a trailer and ended up with a 14' truck

KRISTINA L. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You need better customer service when returning trucks. The staff should not be cleaning and parking cars and leaving a line of people waiting. People who are moving have deadlines and are very busy. It was outrageous to wait 20 minutes to check out. Now I know in the future I'll just wait until your closed and leave my key in the box.

ELISABETH O. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My interactions with the regional manager for New England was incredibly poor. I plan on filing a complaint with the BBB because of the pathetic customer service I received from him. The manager at this location was able to work with me and that is why my rating is not any lower.

LESLIE L. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had a wonderful experience.

AMBER M. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely awful customer service! We reserved a truck for 3:00, arrive at 2:50 and are told, quite rudely, that our reservation did not start for 10 more minutes and another family had the truck until 3:00. So, you don't have a 30 minute, or even 15 minute, buffer between appointments for checking the truck in and back out? 3:15 comes around and still no truck. We were offered the $50 guarantee or another truck that we could have for less than 24 hours. We had a deadline, needed a truck, so took the other one. No apology, no discount for the inconvenience or the fact that we'd have it for less than a full day, and no manners. Then I call the next day to try to reserve another truck so we could still move more stuff and I am transferred to FIVE different reps and not one of them "could" make the subsequent reservation. So utterly frustrated and disappointed. Never, ever again will I use UHaul and I'm telling everyone I know and putting this on social media. Awful company.

DANIEL M. on 8/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location is so jammed that I could not even park. I had to back out into traffic to leave as I could not even turn around in the lot.

KATHRYN H. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Extremely POOR customer service. Very crabby and rude customer service. They refused to allow us to bring back our 4 x 8 small trailer as they did not "have room". Very rude. Grabbed the trailer off our car, basically tossed the trailer in a corner. rude on the phone and VERY RUDE in person. we returned it early and did not get a refund for the extra 2 days. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND HIM TO ANYONE. VERY RUDE. I get that the colleges were all moving their kids back in but NOT A REASON TO GIVE SUCH HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. SHOULD NOT BE A U HAUL DEALER if he cannot handle it. I believe we should have gotten a refund issued for the days we did not use it, or at least explained why not, just threw the paperwork back at my husband. Haven't had that bad of customer service ever.

susan q. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

this problem is more with the UHaul website which offers boxes, clothes boxes, mattress protectors, etc which were ordered, but those are for purchase at the site and not ready with the truck/order which lead to lost sales since products selected were not ready to go with truck.

TIMOTHY T. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This facility needs more staff. The average wait time on both visits to the building exceeded 30 minutes. Once you are waited on, the customer service is excellent. They are short staffed and overwhelmed with demand.

MARK S. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The demand for 25,000 on the truck was scarey should I damage it. I thought it was a ploy for me to purchase the insurance. Very please with service both in and out. I Armor Alled the truck before returning it as it was so nice

william m. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You really need more room in the parking lot to move in and out. The staff was very good and easy in and out, just no parking for the location of the bussiness

Allan T. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

As with my last rental, this trucks wiper blades were absolutely shot. Needed NEW blade asap. Probably original ford blades. A good test before letting it go out, just shoot the fluid, and if it streaks badly change the 3 dollar safety item. Pretty simple.

Blanka N. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a mouse in the back of the truck...it was a live mouse by the way.

karen c. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff that helped me was upbeat and friendly, however she needed back up. Line was out the door and people were getting cranky--some left. She was fantastic and was doing the best she could. The vehicle itself was not well maintained, I feared it would break down at any given moment.

Victoria B. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make sure that there is more than one person working at all times when it's busy. When I got there, I had to wait a bit due to there was only one guy working at that time. I felt quite bad for him.

Paul S. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I appreciated the very good service we received. Thanks

DAVID G. on 8/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Bigger lot. Friendlier staff. More staff when it's college move-in time. Better instructions. Assistance entering & exiting the lot. Waited 10-15 minutes without being acknowledged while the employees argued in front of us. Rude.

CLIFFORD s. on 8/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy tried to over charge me twice...had to argue with him to get the quoted price..tried to fleece me because I was from out out of town

Sarah P. on 8/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I thought the whole process went very well and quickly. The online sign-up was clear and easy to walk through; the in-house check-in was quick and easy; the equipment worked and was all that it was advertised; the return was also quick and easy. Both employees I dealt with were professional and helpful.

Mike G. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks for your hard work

GREG C. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We had a confirmation to rent a truck for a move planned for this weekend. We have movers scheduled for Sunday morning and are were just told that UHaul will not honor or reservation. This is pretty basic: we make a reservation (done), you send a confirmation (recieved), then we get the truck as contracted (FAIL). Penske may be more expensive, but they will not leave you without a truck at a last minute.

NANCY G on 8/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

HAD SOME PROBLEMS WITH THE BILLING, A COMPUTER GLITCH. ALL RESOLVED NOW.

Thomas K. on 8/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

More staff needed at busy hours. Waited a long time to drop off and there was not enough staff to handle the amount of people. Not enough parking.

HEATHER T. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Return was 100 x better than the start. Return was quick and easy, great customer service.

RUSSELL L. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check in was a little slow, but not bad. Drop off efficient and relatively painless

BETH B on 8/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My U-box is missing and so far very little has been done to find it.

SHANTA E. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We waited in line for truck pick-up for 45 min.! The attendant, Anthony, was very efficient, but one person behind the counter was completely inadequate.

LIANE L. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

the online reservation is misleading, it took 4 different calls before someone finally told me there is only one store open Sunday in vt. and I ended up spending $100 the ad said $19.99 it should just say you're going to pay through the nose one way or another. I hope I never need to rent a truck again

MEREDITH P. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

None. Good service. Although, if it were busy, it might have been more difficult.

JENNIFER S. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Polite and helpful staff.

David H. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was quite busy and only two folks working both returns and pickup. Hire one more so they can focus on returns. It would help a lot. Otherwise excellent experience.

ANYA H. on 8/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the gas tank was not filled up and I ended up paying $30 to drive 3 miles. I understand I was supposed to double-check it, but it was early morning and I was moving and scattered. I think the least you could do is make sure gas tanks are full!

ARNIE G. on 8/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Much improved since I was there two years ago. New staff is courteous and efficient. I had an awful experience two years ago.

MARGARET Y. on 8/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly. Made a reservation online. Got there and checked in fairly quickly. Staff at check-in and return were courteous and professional. Good experience!

MAUREEN p. on 8/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

In and out in ten minutes

Jenna L. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was a great and extremely convenient way to move. The staff members at both U-Haul locations I dealt with were friendly and helpful.

Thomas G. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no issues renting the trailer that I needed. Reserved online the evening before. The trailer was ready the next morning. I was on my way after a little paperwork, trailer hookup and safety inspection.

RANDY C. on 8/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Windows were dirty the passenger side window was especially smudged which was not all that evident until the sun started setting. Pet/dog hair in the cab leads me to believe the previous renter had a passenger of the 4 legged variety.

Louis C. on 8/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is a very well run location. I have rented here twice over the past 3 months . Everyone is courteous and well trained.

JENNIFER B. on 8/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I feel that I was deceived on the price of the rental. When I needed to have it for a couple extra days I was told it would be 33.00 a day nothing about milage was said when in the end I ended up paying 500.00. I will never use you again or will I recommend you.

Richard T. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very mixed experience. Kevin was very helpful making reservation, informing me of cost saving of one way move vs round trip, double the price. Another local agency simply stated the round trip option and was ready to book. On return it was an information fiasco which resulted in driving extra miles, at cost of added miles, gas and my time as well as a family member's for pick up. I was in Middlebury VT, and as I got to know the system, realized there are very many UHaul sites. It made sense to drop it in Middlebury, where the 10 footer might be needed, rather than drive it all the way to Burlington, which just happened to be the site I firs called. One 800 number directed me to call the VT number, 888-463-8207. That person was unhelpful and curt, telling me there likely would be an alternate drop off charge up to $60, and that the only way to know would be to physically bring the truck to a Middlebury site, without even offering where that site might be. I said I would then bring it back to Burlington. When I got to Burlington, they said that they were not aware of my call to the 888 number as the rental agreement had instructed me to do. So no one was available to check out the truck. Later I got an e-mail that there were 80 extra miles, at $0.40 per mile charge. This makes the whole process illogical. I could have simply said what I was doing, going from Laconia NH to Middlebury VT, and not have had the extra miles, wasted time and gas, and the extra miles charge. All because of incompetent communication on the part of your staff. U Haul have too many people involved with inconsistent procedures and communications.

DONNA S. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager was rude, unhelpful, treated people like they were stupid. I have rented from them before and had never had a good experience. This one topped the cake. They double charged my card. I called with no return phone call. I had to not only call the credit card company but also the diostrict manager. This person should NOT be in customer service.

HELANIE R. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I asked to have a dolly and there was no dolly on this truck.

KEVIN B. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

service was slow and not up to speed with procedures. It took over 15 minutes to return a truck and there was only one other customer being waited on. Truck rode well, the mirrors wouldn't rotate to adjust but I told the employee about them.

jessica j. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The customer service at the desk for pick-up was great, but awful for the return. I waited for a long time without being acknowledged, which was irritating. I know he was busy, but just saying hi and letting me know an estimated wait time would have been appreciated. He was pretty rude. Otherwise, everything was great, but this does give me pause about renting again.

James S. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It would be better if there was more available customer parking, and if it was less cramped trying to drive the trucks out. But that was minor. Everyone was helpful and the trucks were fresh and clean.

CAROLINE B. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The wait to pick up the truck and go through the paperwork was a bit long. I understand that it's a very busy time of year for renting trucks, but there was only one person at the counter helping people and a line of about five people waiting to get their equipment. It would've been nice if there had been more people to help in order to speed up the process.

C JOSEPH S. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Your service and delivery are top notch. I waited 3 minutes to check in using the Express feature and less than than that checking back my vehicle. Very well organized and efficient.

TODD J. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make sure gas gauge is correct on paperwork.

JAY L. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The employees were all extremely friendly, cooperative, and helpful. That being said, this location does too much business to have as small of a lot as they do. I know that this isn't something that can really be helped for now, but maybe looking into a bigger location somewhere in the area would be beneficial.

Amber W on 8/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Boxes were never ready at scheduled time for pick up. I called multiple times to try to avoid this issue and things still we`re not ready. Waiting times were outrageous.

RICHARD S. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had everything I needed and asked for from the staff and the equipment so there is nothing to criticize. Thank you for your service.

Nya M. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The area was way too small.

LEE A. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is the worst uhaul location in America. Myself and nearly everyone I know has had a terrible experience here. The problem is they have the most trucks and the location that forces people to use them. Today, again, went to go pick up my truck, which I reserved weeks ago online and directly on the phone with the location, and they didn't "have one available". Now I'm totally screwed the day I need to move. Absolutely unbelievable.

Daniel H. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was charged for an extra day when I returned my vehicle within the contracted time period. Customer service has been unable to assist me. I chose Uhaul because the price was the best. Now we've paid the same cost as competitors for equipment we didn't even have for the second time period we were billed for.

LESLEY S. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The truck needed some maintenance, but it got the job done.

ROBERT W. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had an excellent experience at this UHaul. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and helpful. The wait for both pickup and drop off was minimal.

EDWARD S. on 7/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always make sure that the vehicles or equipment is clean and well maintained for the next customer!

JOHN L. on 7/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Check in time was too long...45 minutes @ 7AM scheduled pickup. Myself and another customer could not find a uhaul employee on the property for 20 minutes prior to checking in, Otherwise, service was excellent. jl

JURIJ H. on 7/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

As usual for U Haul, parking is very tight but the staff was very helpful in making the trailer connections and getting us out of the lot safely. Good job.

rob r. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good experience.

James M. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The early check in app did not work correctly: I could not check the box to accept the terms the rental agreement. Otherwise, the app worked well, but not being able to accept terms made it all useless and a waste of my time. Everything else with my rental experience went well.

BRENT L. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

People were very helpful and knowledgeable.

JONATHON B. on 7/16/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

After seeing reviews on Yelp and Google, my experience seems standard for this location. Moral of my story: Uhaul will let you significantly overpay for services, and then have the audacity to tell you after they pocket your money. I called the number for Uhaul's Riverside location, which seemed to connect me to an operator instead of the actual store. I asked, "Is this Uhaul on Riverside?", and the reply I received was rudely, "I do the reservations". Since my question wasn't answered, I asked again, which seemed to annoy the operator who could have just answered my question the first time. I still didn't know if I was speaking to someone in town or across the country. I placed a reservation for a box truck four days before needing it. When asked if I would return it to the same location, I mentioned I would be driving down to Boston and back (about a 500 mile round trip). On the day of pickup the representative was overly aggressive about the optional insurance coverage. I had verified with my insurance company that I was covered for my rental, but he told me my insurance representative "lied to me". His other claims were more ridiculous. He saw that we planned on driving to Boston and back and processed the rest of the reservation. We returned the truck that afternoon. A man walks up to us and starts asking check-in questions. He sees our mileage is about 500, and is surprised. We tell him we drove to Boston and back and his reply is "there are cheaper ways to do that". I went from having accepted the cost of the trip to being shocked and angry. He said "you need to call ahead", but I had called, and no one said anything about cheaper options. A customer can't be expected to call multiple Uhaul numbers looking for a deal that he doesn't know exists. The store representative the morning of the pickup said nothing about cheaper options. The trip cost over $600 and had no urgency. We could have waited for the right day to save some money. I was most upset because Uhaul was willing to let a customer significantly overpay for services, and then they would have the audacity to tell me after they had my money in pocket. Extremely poor customer service.

JERRY W. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have the size truck I wanted (26') and let me pick it up at the location I wanted to (Rent-a-Wreck). I had to accept a smaller truck to be picked up at a different location. Otherwise the service was excellent and speedy.

PAMELA S. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When I dropped it off, I mentioned the issue about filling fuel tank...he said ok, then we told him it was little rough while driving..again, answer was ok. This was day after I was called by this outfit to return as early as possible bc they had a customer who wanted to start out earlier than my return time,so I hurried to return it (4 hours earlier than I had to because I was asked to) and not even a thank you for returning it early per their request

LESTER G. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything was great. Nobody mentioned the Gas issue but I made sure to return it with the same amount of gas as I started with.

TED M. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received a confirmation email at 6:03 pm the day piro to the rental pickup. It stated that the 26' truck I had reserved was confirmed and that the only change was the pickup location, which was fine. Upon arrivl to the pickup location, i was informed that the 26' truck had been changed to a 20' truck. I told the Uhaul employee that i had recieved and email confirming the 26' truck. He then stated that "if you had read the agreement, it states that the pickup location and equipment can be changed". I stated that i had read the contract, and that i had receieved an email last night confirming the 26' truck. He again stated "if you had read the agreement, it states that the pickup location and equip,ment can be changed". I then stated that I had read the contract, and that i had recieved an email last night at 6:03pm on Thursday night confoirming the 26' truck. I then showed him the email. He then said "you're right" and aksed how many rooms i was moving, two which I replied 4-5, and it would take two trips. He then called dispatch and receieved authorization to double the allotted miles, add an extra day, and provide 1/2 tanki of gas. I appreciated UHaul offering the extras to "make it right". regarding the clerk, he should be remined that he should not always assume that the customer is in the wrong. Thank you.

HOLLEN G. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The customer service experience was lacking. Why does it take so long to enter information into the computer, I enter most of it when I reserved the vehicle. Another customer wanted to buy and schedule a trailer hitch and the customer service rep basically wanted nothing to do with the customer. At least the lot has been rearranged so that you can pull in and pull out your vehicles, that's a plus.

Gayle N. on 7/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was fine!

MIKE G. on 7/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Truck had urine all over the box. Had to drive back 10 miles to have them clean at my expense and all they did was mop the floor with a dirty mop for 2 minutes

Huguens A. on 7/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall the service was good.

ARTHUR W. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

this was my first time using a moving truck, and I have to say it was the worst experience I ever had, we were already strees due to a life event of our son and had to move his house into storage , and so we decided to use uhaul to help with this stressful event , and found it to be the worst customer help ever , we felt like we didn't want to be there we were uncomfortable and the staff that work there seem they didn't like their job, rude and very unfriendly, ive never walk into a business and felt like I was unwanted there, I felt like if I asked questions it was a bother, I don't like to talk bad about others maybe they were having a bad day ? thanks for listening , have a good day,

LARRY W. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This location needs more staff. Everytime I called I was put on hold. The 2 times I was at the location there was a line of people. The staff there was very courteous and nice. Given how busy they were, I am surprised they were still polite. I would hesitate to recommend this location to a friend and I would tell them there may be a wait.

ROBERT C. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer service is poor--I was threatened with a fine for bringing the truck back late [By the way, since when does a day rate for a truck consist of less than 24 hours--in my case, 19 hours?]. Never received a call from the manager, even though I asked to directly speak with him/her to explain the situation. And then when I bring the truck back approximately 1 and 1/2 hours late, no fine, no problem with a number of similar size trucks in lot. What gives?! Result: my unfinished move takes another day and half since I could not use the truck.

S C B. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Parking there is extremely difficult. If you happen to park in the wrong location, chances are you'll be severely reprimanded. Signage advising the CORRECT entrance for customer parking is advised. They are so overloaded that it's nearly impossible to maneuver in the lot. Customer service is iffy. I had some trouble, complained to the corporate office, and then it was resolved. But my impression is that they are so harried, that they will only really respond to a problem if you involve corporate.

Stephen R. on 7/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Checking the equipment back in was a breeze. Painless. The rep who handled it was great.

Tom T. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The "environmental fee" of $1.00 per day is offensive. I have no idea what it is and the explanation online is confusing and misleading. Handling the environmental costs are part of doing business. It appears to be a way to keep your advertised daily rental rate lower while still charging the customer. In my opinion, it is deception.

Stewart W on 6/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Kevin at Burlington UHaul was extremely helpful - our only concern with the UBox would be that there were not straps available inside to secure our items. Thank you! Deb Weber

NIKKI W on 3/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

People at Burlington uhaul were knowledgeable and helpful, going the extra mile to help.

RACHEL N on 1/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

William at U-Haul Burlington has been very kind and helpful over the last couple of years for all my u-haul needs. He is extremely knowledgeable and he deserves a pat on the back.

JOHNNY L on 12/5/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All the folks were very helpfull Thanks for all your help

JAMES M on 10/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I`m very pleased with the experience. Everything worked very well. The staff at both the Maryland location and in Burlington were very helpful and attentive.

CINDY F on 10/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good experience

BARBARA C on 9/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nick and his staff were very professional and came on time with the Ubox delivery.

JON T on 8/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

thanks

CURTIS S on 8/13/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff on both ends of the moving transaction were superb!

BRIAN S on 8/2/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

poor

MARIA S on 7/22/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was a good experience. Thank you.

DAMIEN E on 7/16/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Horrible experience, never again. Very late in delivery, staff was not knowledgeable in the service. Not a mean staff, but lacking experience in uBox service.

SEAN O on 7/4/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

1. No delivery available, website said it was. 2. 3 weeks in transit, still not at location Vt to NC 3. No communication Sorry UHaul but u really let my family down.

DONALD A on 6/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

In general very helpful. Trailer for u-box was not available when promised, but alternate solution was provided.

SERINA C on 6/20/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Box was not shipped even though facility said it was. Box arrived damaged latch fell off door. Not the fault of Burl location, but can`t reach corporate ubox. Was told they`d call they never did.

DAMIEN E on 6/20/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff could not answer any questions, I spent hours on the phone for customs paperwork and had to change my date due to incompetent staff. Very poor experience

KASEY L on 6/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful, answered all of my questions and took extra time to explain everything to me. Thank you!

MARIA L on 6/10/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

U-Box was pulled out of storage 2 days before the scheduled pick up date and sat in the weather. Staff had a difficult time locating it when I arrived to off load it.

CHELSEA A on 6/5/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Uhaul never shipped by box until I spent 3 days trying to find out where it was and no one seemed to know how to help. I demanding a full refund

CRAIG S on 6/4/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Support by store itself was very good. Telephone support by central phone service was poor. Reservations were made on 2 different occasions with vehicles actually not available

DEBBIE L on 6/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Moving day in a college town can be a stressful day - but this was not the case, our storage unit out and available to us with no delays. Renting a u-box was perfect to store large items short term.

MARIA L on 5/27/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was scheduled to pick up my equipment at 9:00 a.m. and wasn`t able to until 11:00 a.m.

AMANDA S on 5/26/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff at the Burlington uhaul are the most dysfunctional, unintelligent people I have ever met. I could never get a straight answer from anyone about any of my questions.

AUDREY F on 5/23/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Never got to speak with anyone. Lied to. Overcharged. Calls never returned.An awful experience. I will be contacting my credit card co.

DONALD A on 5/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good service.

DANIELLE L on 5/18/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It shipped a week after I was told it would, only after I reached out to confirm. I tried to get a hold of someone to track my ubox but no one could tell me where it was and it arrived four days late.

PAUL V on 5/13/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

i notified that we were to be there friday on wednesday. we arrived and had to wait nearly 1 1/2 hours to get access to the u-boxes Someone loading a box should not be tying up the warehouse.

DANIELLE L on 4/27/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was knowledgable and attentive.

CASSIE B on 10/22/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Box was picked up 1 week late, arrived just as late. Customer service was very porr when trying to find out when my box was to arrive.

RIMI T on 10/20/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Late shorthanded Box backwards-could not open.Waited hrs for pickup turn return.Not picked up Sun- called Monday- someone came late Wed.Gen Manager said will reverse delivery fee-very happy with that.

CASSIE B on 9/29/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

THe boxes are small, making packing them with larger furniture difficult. THe staff was amazingly helpful, Rian True was fantastic.

ELIZABETH O on 9/19/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Harassing late notices though paid in full. No record of confirmed reservation. Damaged box/contents.

EMILY M on 9/19/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We were absolutely appalled to find that Uhaul is not set up to take pre-scheduled third party payments. A national moving company never does employer-sponsored moves. REALLY!?!??

BRENNAN V on 9/11/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It has taken too long and they got mixed with my box which caused the delay

DANIELLE D on 9/5/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Facility provided good service, but I had a hard time getting anyone to give me a straight answer about how the process works, but that was mostly when I called customer service

KELLEY B on 9/4/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Didn`t call to verify drop off, I called 3 times before getting thru. Didn`t come to get boxes when scheduled, they didn`t call. I called mult times until geting rude manager

KRISTEN H on 8/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Received boxes SUPER fast. Thank you.

BILL G on 5/27/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My wife shouldn`t have to carry big boxes herself. No one offered to help her. GM was rude and interrupting.

MICHAEL V on 5/25/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was rude and very unhelpful. They seemed lazy because the manager wasn`t onsite and refused to bring my U-Box out from storage because they were too busy.

TERESA B on 4/14/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick, friendly service. Very helpful.

LI J on 11/7/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My overall experience is great. This is my first time using U-box service and it definitely met my expectation. I look forward to the arrival of my goods in the destination!

ALLISON E on 10/25/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Our representative, Ryan, at the Riverside Ave UHaul in Burlington VT has been terrific. Other reps have not been very helpful. Also, the UBox is poorly constructed. It`s a rip-off.

GAVIN R on 8/1/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

hard to get ahold of anyone helpful horrible service I will not be using you again not worth paying 1220 to feel nervous about if all my things will be delivered to the right place and ontime.

MONIQUE C on 7/28/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The workers were creepy, stole my cell number and texted me. Plus, I was charged for a month twice.

NICOLE C on 6/30/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Awful expereince. I will NOT be using your services again.

MAYADA I on 6/25/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall i was happy with experience especially because u-haul rectified a problem I had with the location the box was dropped off at.

MALLORY R on 6/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The company needs to be more upfront about the delivery and rental charges.

ABBY M on 5/26/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Manager at facility was helpful given our situation

HENRY L on 4/10/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Can`t offer suggestions/ type more than this/ this box wont let me

MISTY S on 4/7/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Andy was great! He was very flexible and helpful regarding delivery and pick-up of the Ubox.