start navigation end navigation

U-Haul of Grand Forks

U-Haul of Grand Forks

Share |

Address

1632 Gateway Dr
Grand Forks, ND 58203

(701) 775-0586

(& Washington)
Driving directions

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 12 pm - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 12 pm - 5 pm

 

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Grand Forks

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Grand Forks

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

RUTH M. on 4/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We waited 45 minutes because they were short-staffed on a busy Sunday afternoon. The gentleman who helped us was pleasant and the situation wasn't his fault, but we were frustrated that our volunteer moving crew had to wait so long for us to show up with the equipment. Then, on our second day of travel we had a flat tire on the auto transport trailer, and a flat tire on the truck by the last day (presumably due to the dented rim). The engine for our 17' truck underperformed on hills and mountains (regularly topped out at 45MPH where the speed limit was 75MPH on the busy Interstate) and we were passed by other U-Haul trucks.

LARRY B. on 4/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Henry was the name of the young man that helped us and provided us with great customer service. Will definitely send other customers your way and look forward to working with you in the future.

Candice S. on 4/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure to reserve any equipment you may need. The staff were friendly.

Glen B. on 4/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great service nice people and very helpful

STEVE F. on 4/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvement needed. I am a repeat customer of this location and each time I have rented from this location the customer service is above and beyond excellent.

JAIME D. on 3/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The worker here was not happy to be at his job the day we dropped off the truck

DAVE T. on 3/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall great experience, just next time Wash the exterior of the windows please.

DANIEL C on 3/19/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They called my parents and said they could not deliver my U-Boxes because they didn`t have drivers. My family would need to pick up the Boxes or rent a truck to get my goods on their own.

RICK G. on 3/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

all was good

GUNNAR L. on 3/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Upon return there was a couple people returning and I was not acknowledge for a very long time. One person was on the computer and I thought he was ignoring me but then I realized he was finishing up some rental check in. Would have been nice to just had them acknowledge that they were finishing up and would be right with me. Other then that, everything else was great.

Daniel H S. on 3/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

tire pressure sensors were engaged when the tire pressure was fine, the truck needed an oil change. let the East Alton store know upon returning.

CAROL G on 3/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Grand Forks was fine, now ask me about Ft Myers

Robert M. on 2/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was helpful and friendly.

robert s. on 2/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was given prompt service with a smile by three different people. Just keep up the good work!! I wouldn't think of calling anyone other than U-Haul!!

GEORGINA A. on 2/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Personel not as helpful compared to Amarillo Amarillo was excellent.

Brandy P. on 2/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location is hard to get to by patrons unfamiliar with this particular intersection. But I do commend the employees on very good directions.

Kerri S. on 2/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice and friendly on the phone and in person.

brian n. on 2/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location is difficult to access and get out of due to high traffic. The trailer was full of snow when i picked it up, although they had a couple others that were not filled with snow, i was the lucky one to get the snow filled trailer.

brett b. on 2/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It is very difficult to clean the trailer fully due to the ice build up in the winter. If possible that would be a nice addition. Good experience though. Please add jacks to the front of the trailers.

WENDY H. on 2/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The battery could not keep a charge in the cold weather, which required the truck to have multiple jump starts, .The battery should have been replaced when the sevice person came the first day, but he was told that if it started with the first jump not to replace it. So every day we had it we had to start the vehicle multiple times to try to keep the charge up, this did not work, and the truck required to be jump started everyday. So on the day when the truck had to be returned, we could not get it initially started. The road side assistance was going to take 3 hours to get to us. The 3 hour wait would have put us past the time the truck needed to be back. The service was only able to extend the drop off time by a few hours, I understand that it was rented but perhaps the fleet should be better prepared for ND/Minnesota weather and equipped accordingly. Fortunately, with multiple attempts we were able to jump the truck on our own and had it returned by the original time. Moving in the winter is very difficult, and having a truck that doesn't run makes it especially tough. I sure hope the battery was replaced before the next customer picked it up.

MARY JANE S on 1/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager of the Grand Forks, ND U-Haul was very helpful and so was the facility in Milwaukee OR. If I ever have to move again I would use U-Boxes.

ERIK B. on 1/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I reserved a trailer on line for the grand forks location. I was called the night before and told I'd have to go get the trailer in another town that was 50 miles away. Compensation for this? $50. So sorry. Grr...

CHARLES L. on 1/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Equipment was muddy and dirty when I picked up. Returned it was charged for the mess already in it.

Bryan I. on 1/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clean snow off of the equipment prior to the customers pickup!

DAVID O. on 1/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

VALORIE B. on 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work.

Jodi L. on 1/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You have a lot to fix in scheduling. This was one of the worst nightmares of my life! I rented the uhaul trailer on-line on 12/4/13 to be picked up in Grand Forks on 12/20 and move to St Paul, MN. I was sick in bed on the 17,18,19 of Dec and did not see the email sent by Rhonda stating there were no trailers in Grand Forks for 12/20. I did, however, find this out on 12/20 at noon which left us with no options. We drove from Velva, ND to Grand Forks the morning of 12/20 to pick up the trailer, go to the UND graduation ceremony for my daughter, do some packing and head out the next morning for St Paul, MN. Now we're being told there is "no trailer available" even after I received confirmation on my order! Rhonda told us "so many trailers are leaving G.F. and none are returning" - I’m sorry but that is not my problem – that is the business’ problem. I scheduled a trailer for 12/20 because that is when we would be in G.F. for my daughter’s UND graduation. We got the weekend off to move her to St.Paul, MN for her to start work on 1/6. There was no other time to work this out – we were now panicking. Thank goodness Brian Way, an assistant manager from Fargo, was in G.F. helping out on the 20th. He went above and beyond the call of duty to pick up a trailer for us that was in Rosseau, MN. Brian was very kind and compassionate about the whole ordeal – I thank him from the bottom of my heart. He deserves a promotion for this!

KRISTINA B. on 1/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff wasn't very friendly at first. ..seemed bothered that I walked in. Didn't say much of anything until he unhooked trailer and said I was ready to go

DAVE E. on 12/30/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Elizabeth was great to work with. My first time renting a truck and she was extremely helpful!

SARAH B. on 12/26/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

They could not get the forklift started in order for me to pick up my pods at my slotted time. I wasted $400 of hiring people to help move and I was not able to even get my things moved due to UHauls problem and UHaul has not done anything to reconcile this problem. Now I am struggling to try to find people to help move, I may not make it out by the time I was supposed to be moved out by. They have caused major problems in my move!

KURTIS J. on 12/23/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

If I reserve a trailer 3 weeks before my pick up date, I don't want to have to drive an extra 100 miles because there isn't a trailer available at my location. That is why I reserve it, so it will be where I want it when I want it. What is the point of reserving it if it doesn't actually reserve a trailer for my location?

NICKI H. on 12/22/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Full discloser that they can not guarentee the time you will get your trailer you have reserved, even if it was reserved 3 weeks in advance and requested a.m. If we had known this we would have requested it for the day before just to make sure we had it for the day we needed it and time as we had a long trip ahead of us on a time schedule. Overall the personnel at the location were curtious and helpful.

MARIE L. on 12/22/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvements necessary. The staff there was wonderful and went above and beyond to help me - especially when I got my car stuck in the snow right next to their location. They towed me out right away and were extremely gracious and kind about it.

William W. on 12/22/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quite a pleasant overall experience.

Wayne W. on 12/18/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

watch out for potholes!!! watch out for side winds!!

MIRACLES FOR V. on 12/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing customer service from a guy nsmef Henry. I know management material when i see it! Both employess verx helpful and knowledgeable. HELP MY COMPANY TO GET SETUP VERY FAMST AND EFFICIENTLY!!! PLEASE ACKNOWLEDGE THIS LOCATION FOR THE BEST UHAUL EMPLOYEES I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH!!

nathan a. on 12/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is by far the best Uhaul I have used ever. I have been renting storage lockers and using trucks for over 10 years and I have been treated bad, swore at and lied to. Bit this location in grand forks is caring and they look at helping the best way they can. Thanks guys

CARMAN M. on 12/18/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went very well.

ERIC R on 10/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Daryl was extremely helpful. I appreciated that very much.

NICHOLAS R on 9/12/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Checkout and return was fast but the employee forgot to tell me that there was a padlock on the U-Pod I was renting and did not give me the keys so I had to return for them.

ALEXIS D on 8/19/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

THE worst company I have ever worked with and will never use anything U-Haul again.

ELIZABETH V on 8/9/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No info that box was in, had to go to store and ask. Called several times and left messages and never got a return call. U-Box itself worked out really well, would use it again. Bad customer service.

ISABELLA O on 7/12/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This was one of the biggest headaches I have ever had with a company. We went with ubox to save the stress...Obviously not. I could go on for hours about the anger it caused...But I`m so done.

DAVID W on 7/9/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Our box arrived in Grand Forks from New Hampshire 1750 miles in only 4 days however it took over 2 weeks to travel the last 100 miles to our home. Nice service but communication could be better.

LETICIA D on 6/28/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Delivered a full box not out emptyBoxTold us no charge/We were chargedThen after our move we were told it could notBe delivered were we needed itDrove over 70miles for It

MASELA O on 6/23/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My experience at the U-Haul store was great. The staff was professional, knowledgeable, helpful and friendly.

BRIAN H on 6/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Brian the GM was great to work with and very helpful

JAMES H on 6/3/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff at the Grand Forks ND store are excellent. Even when the call center messed up our reservation, the staff got our U box ready within 2 hours of when was supposed to be ready.

ROBERT C on 5/28/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The boxes were easy to use and to transport. However, I was not informed they would be bolted shut. Luckily my friend had a wrench set. This should be explained prior to getting the UBox`s.

NICHOLAS R on 5/26/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It took a very long time for me to get my U-box. The things they did on the computer took a very long time, especially at Grand Storage where the 10 foot truck I rented was.

MAXON H on 11/5/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was a hole in the door. It was obviously from a forklift.left me wondering how things might be treated.

JUDY H on 11/3/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Chris went out of his way to assist me in moving the U-box from Grand Forks to Denver. THANK YOU

SHAUGHN B on 8/6/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good value for money. Shipped two boxes from California to North Dakota. I packed them well and tight. No breakage, no damage, no leaks. Great service on both ends of trip!

HEATHER C on 8/3/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We were told info completely different from said `company policies`.So they had us thinking we would have our box in one week, but it ended up taking 21 days.Not worth $2000.

MARIAH L on 7/22/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My box arrived 28 days after I requested it to be shipped and no one at UHaul has been able to explain why it took so long.

CAITLIN C on 7/22/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a terrible experience but Chris did his best and went above and beyond to help me. Give that guy a raise seriously he`s the only thing holding together the shitshow you call a business.

SHANNON C on 7/22/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Chris was absolutely amazing. He saved us a ton of money, was incredibly friendly and completed everything very quickly.

KIRK O on 6/25/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My U-Box was bolted shut and wrapped in plastic. Seems like a good idea in case the padlock breaks.

JUDY H on 5/28/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The rental truck was there but the reserved U-Box was not UGH! Crystal and Chris saved the day by contacting Fargo. Thanks Chris and Crystal.

DREW D on 5/13/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy that dropped off the box was extremely friendly and accommodating. Would use again and recommend to others.

LINDA B on 4/22/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The boxes were a great and easy way to move. The staff needs a little more training to help the customer a little better. But otherwise I probably would use them again if I needed to.

HEATHER G on 2/8/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Christopher Bohlman was very friendly and efficient.

CALVIN T on 9/23/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

If the boxes had not been available locally and I`d have had to depend on U-Haul to deliver the boxes out of Fargo the cost would have been totally prohibitive!