U-Haul of San Rafael

U-Haul of San Rafael

Share |

Address

1205 Francisco Bl E
San Rafael, CA 94901

(415) 457-8400

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of San Rafael

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of San Rafael

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Maria P. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Smooth move, thanks for the truck!

Ryan M. on 8/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Incredibly rude employee who checked me. Would never rent from this location again. Was treated like a second class citizen. Just very poor customer service. Super disappointed.

ANTHONY D. on 8/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The size truck I reserved was not available when I went to pick it up. I had to take a much smaller truck which required me to make two trips to complete my move. Having to make two trips because the size truck I reserved was not there cost me hundreds of dollars in increased labor costs!

Michael M. on 8/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Wash the truck! Filthy and smelled bad. Water shortage no excuse. Price turned out 3times advertised rate.

BROOKS B. on 8/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very nice and helpful people

Brett Z. on 8/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

thanks guys! painless

stacy s. on 8/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

staff is very unfriendly. Since people renting vans and trucks are usually tired, stressed and in a time crunch because of moves or other large jobs, a cheery demeanor would be welcomed. Also - every customer should be provided either a lesson or a written list of the vehicles basic features - gas tank, radio, air, door locks , etc. .. .

KIRK M. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No complaints.

John L. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reserved a 15' bed truck. None available due to late returns. Had to use a 10' with subsequent double mileage. Monica gave me a discount for half the mileage and was very helpful in finding a solution. Hire more people like her and promote her. Made a potentially frustrating experience into one where I am recommending the location.

David S. on 8/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My third rental last two months. Very good service each time.

Adonai T. on 8/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young gal that helped me was attentive and superior customer service. When I returned the trailer it was a bit confusing but the same gal that attended me was very sweet and gave me 100% customer service

Chet K. on 8/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience. Love the new equipment: Transit Connect!

LINDSEY T. on 8/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you Saul for making our experience easy! And taking great care of us. Excellent customer service!

SERGE G. on 8/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a pick up only 1 month ago and preregistered for the next rental, but check in took way too long. You should have an express check in for returning clients. The exterior of the box van was dirty.

robert r. on 8/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. Very helpful! Thank you

SEAN P. on 8/18/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Find a way to better connect your online service to your stores. There seems to be some kind of lack of communication between the two. Making reservations online dose not seem to hold water that well with the stores (i.e. trucks go out regardless of the reservation). The store did well in getting me a truck regardless of the lack of communication. Over all pretty happy. Sean

KEN S. on 8/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have been a U-Haul customer for many years. The store in San Rafael on E. Francisco is First Rate. I'll be back.

sophie h. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

have the vehicle I reserved ready on time, not 30 mins late when I have to wait in 99-degree heat for you to find a vehicle.

DAVID Z. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner was awesome. Extremely courteous and helpful.

LIZ R. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was lost and called your customer service number for directions. she did not know anything and referred me to an emergency road help number. which was a RECORDING! SO NOT HELPFUL! otherwise, very helpful personnel in both locations.

Elizabeth N. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff. The only complaint are the guys asking for work outside the building.. As a woman traveling ALONE - this is NOT COMFORTABLE.

Gunnar B. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience with great help. Thanks.

Dave N. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service. Truck ready on time. Return was easy.

Scott M. on 8/14/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The guy who checked me out was extremely rude...if I didn't need the truck I would have walked out.

DEREK W. on 8/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You need to buy more equipment 26' trucks and give people what they reserve.

Richard H on 8/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent staff service

Edward R. on 8/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

They need to have TWO staff at the counter, most especially when there is a line of two or more.

Cyrus C. on 8/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service at the front desk!

JENNA S. on 8/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. We used the online check in and once we got to the location the checkout service was fast and efficient. I would highly recommend this location.

peter a. on 8/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

James E. on 8/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quality of staff was excellent. Quick & efficient.

Elizabeth P. on 8/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck was clean, but there was a tire warning light on when I picked it up.

Linda O. on 8/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went very smoothly. We checked in quickly, the truck was ready for pick up, and the staff showed us all that we needed to know about the truck we rented. Very good experience at this location.

KEN Y. on 8/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service at this location. Would highly recommend it to all my friends.

SOLOMON M. on 8/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck I was rented broke down.

micheal s on 8/6/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guys who came to load were great. The U haul staff and service were a disaster. Plain scary. Michael Stanford not Sampford as above

Karen L. on 8/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Saul helped me and he was great. Courteous, informed, very friendly.

calvin b. on 8/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You guys are great. Love your website.

Ida H. on 8/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing

JEFF S. on 8/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reasonable prices and good vehicles. I always rent here.

JESSE J. on 8/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, expedient, and knowledgeable.

LESLIE A. on 8/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We needed another truck within our designated time frame and we got one but we had to pay for another cargo van. It should have been comped, free.

dirk o. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Maybe have some more people man the sign in booths. Other than that, nice people and good service: keep doing what you are doing Thanks, Dirk Ooijkaas

CHRIS R. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

People dropping of the truck were late, so I had to sit around for a couple of hours...the staff was diligent in calling to try to get the truck. You may want to put a small table and chairs so people waiting can have a place to sit.

mike t. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John, the office worker in San Rafael who helped us with the cargo van rental was excellent!! He saved the situation by being very flexible and creative considering the offsite phone reservation person essentially lied and made a reservation for a truck and time that did not exist. I assome the phone reservation employees work on commissions driven by the number of appomemts they make. Problem is they make promises the on site people can't keep and therefore sets them up for failure!

TRISH W. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

service was fast and easy!!!!!!

VALERIE K. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff! It's always a pleasure to work with this team!

mary jane p on 8/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints.

PAUL B. on 7/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The equipment was faulty. The parking brake was broken and the truck rolled Down a hill unattended. If not for the speedy action of one of my labor chasing after the truck, climbing through the window and applying the brake property would have been demolished and likely someone would have been hurt. Time to RETIRE that truck from the fleet.

ELIZABETH S. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys were amazing! Went above and beyond to help me and my elderly mother. Thanks U-haul of San Rafael

Karen E. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My only complaint was that the van smelled like cigarette smoke.

LINDA H. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had not reserved a vehicle and was told that everything was reserved or out, I wanted a van or p/u truck. Anyway, the person in charge then took a look at his computer and said, oh, we do have a van. So I rented the van, picked up my outdoor dining set from Sears-drove home, drove back to U-haul and turned it in. Everything worked perfectly and I do thank the counter person for having a look at his computer to make this happen. Thanks. I always rent from U-Haul at this same location. Mrs. Howe

david l. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well informed and accommodating associates

jacqueline u. on 7/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service at the counter, great truck!

RICHARD C. on 7/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep boxes off floor in front of register

VALERIE B. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

If a customer wants to pick up a trailer at a certain location then make sure it is there.

Cathy L. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect...

SUSAN W. on 7/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I wanted to rent a 24 foot truck and the only one they had was broken and had not been repaired in months. None were available. More 20 foot trucks. I wanted one sooner and could not reserve it.

ARTHUR P. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff esp. the guy who checked me in.

Charles H. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It is kind of difficult to see the cashiers with the racks of stuff in front of each register station. The staff and equipment were 10 out of 10.

James M. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The foot truck I rented didn't break down (however I only drove it for 40 miles!) Gas gage probably worked, but the "out of gas" light on the dash was lit. When I released the emergency brake the entire instrument panel (plastic) fell off! The outside of the truck had numerous body damage, too much to document prior to my renting the truck. This truck is what I would (if a car) I would call "a beater."

Dan B. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very good service

THOMAS F. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service. Very happy with my rental.

linda c. on 7/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service and vehicle great. Too bad , but it is always a surprise when the rental rate is 19.95 and the total invoice is 53.75 at the end of the rental. Oh well.

Lee K. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager was really nice and professional

DAN F. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

could use more staff.

JIM R. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

While I was waiting in a truck I was dropping off, my wife was standing in front of, and to the side of the truck. At that moment, one of this dealer's employees, driving another UHaul truck, approached my truck from the rear, very fast, then whipped around my stopped truck to the right and zoomed past me, missing my wife by just inches. When I confronted him later and told him that he almost killed my wife, he said, without even looking at me, "Uh, sorry" and continued walking away, again not even looking at me. Would you also like to hear about the filthly, smelly (reeking of cigarette smoke in the cab) pickup truck whose air conditioning cut out for several hours on the 5 freeway in the hot afternoon sun? And the 1-800 UHaul customer service who told me that my options were to drive a hundred miles out of my way to have the repairs done? And miss my return trip by a day or more?

TROY K. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Super-fast drop-off.

onica m. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They did every thing RIGHT! Excellent sevice all the way ~~ Especially the man who checked me in on Saturday. I wish I would have gotten his name? He went way beyond his duty to help me. And now that I remember also the man who checked me out on Friday gave excellent sevice as well.

Megan O. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was actually excellent. Quick, efficient, friendly. -So very rare these days. I wish I'd gotten the gals name so I could tell you now. She deserves a raise.

Richard H. on 7/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall a good experience.

Valerie K. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Drew (?) if that's his name - - is a very hard working professional person. He seems very overworked. I never got the van checked in and still haven't received a receipt. Your process seems very slow and beauracratic. Doesn't ever seem to be enough employees. I hope you send me my receipt soon.

ALBERTO D. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and fast service I will rent from u-haul again

WALT O. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

What can I say. My experience with the San Rafael U-Haul has always left me Happy, Hungry & Erect. Great, hardworking team you got there.

PATRICIA S. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great. Our sales rep asked questions to make sure we were getting the best truck/type of rental. I would highly recommend them!

BILL D. on 7/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Lower rates!

Gene A. on 7/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Nice employees, website easy to navigate your major problem! Your trucks. They are an embarrassment with all the dents, X marks, scratches, gas guzzling and very unattractive exterior design. I use PENSKE most of the time because I'm assured they will be pretty and clean 95% of the time. Thanks for the opportunity to mention. Good luck. Gene

Linaya F. on 7/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It would be great if there was more parking for the cars of those who have picked up rental vehicles.

enrique l. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was exelent and fast from this place all areas were clean and also the barrooms. Today it was a very hot day, it will nice to have a place were to drink water.

Terry V. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Unhelpful about providing parking while using the rented vehicle.

David R. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff prioritized their own internal non-priority tasks over customer service both on pick up and return.

Kwang C. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything Good !!!!

Gaye M. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The wait time was a little long, to get a question answered or get service. I was very happy overall with the service staff and the cost and condition of the vehicle. Thank you to the entire team at San Rafael.

Ken B. on 7/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Transparency in costs from the start. $19.95/day turned into $108 for three hours. Yes, I added blankets, hand cart and insurance which I know where extra but the final cost was nearly double.

roger g. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

good people good service, motorcycle trailer woked out very well

SRINIVAS M. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Very long lines. Took over an hour to even speak to the attendant.

SETH E. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved a 26 foot truck and I was called the day before my move and was informed that they only had a 20 foot truck. Huge problem when you needed the space. Very frustrating and made our move very difficult.

EDWARD K. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I specifically reserved a 26' truck because I wanted to complete the move in one trip and had only one day to do this (for which I took off work). I was told they would not not know until a day or two beforehand whether I they could get the largest truck, but if they had trouble they would notify me of this. Therefore I was relieved when I received an email confirmation Saturday for a 26' truck set to be picked up Monday at 12:15. I also receive a confirming text. Had they not been able to get me a 26' truck or at least a 22' or 24' truck (I have a 20' hang glider and its storage pipe that need to be transported), I would have cancelled the reservation. Unfortunately, when I arrived as schedule at 12:15 Monday afternoon, without comment, a 19' was rented to me! When I expressed surprise at the size of the truck I was told it was all they had. Because I had already taken the day off from work and my ability to do this is limited, I had no choice but to go forward with the rental. As a consequence of this too small truck, the already stressful and difficult job of moving was made that much more expensive, time consuming, and stressful. Specifically, U-hauls failure to deliver as promised had the following unpleasant consequences: 1) I had to make two trips, instead of one; 2) I had to hire two separate sets of workers, because the first set could not remain for a second trip; 3) The second "set" I hired, consisted of one man, since at 6:00 o'clock at night, there are not many anxious to begin work. This means the second load took even longer to complete than the first; 3) Because I had to make two trips, instead of one, and the second was with just one helper, I was the stuck with having to carry heavy furniture down steep and narrow stairs, not something I planned on; 4) Because I had to make two trips, instead of one, and the second was with just one helper, we did not complete the job until 1:30 a.m. and my (former) neighbors called the police on us for making too much noise as we stumbled around loading furniture in the dark. I then went to work the next day on four hours sleep; 5) Because I had to make two trips instead of one, I was charged for twice the mileage I should have been at a rate of 99 cents per mile. And to top it all off, when I called to speak with a manager the next day, I was twice told the manager would be given the message and return my phone call; I'm still waiting.

Martin B. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

when I first called for info, the person became argumentative when I said I would call back rather than reserving right then. When I persisted that I would not reserve right then, he became insulting, saying "you are weird". I later called back to report this to a manager, was told Drew was busy, he would call me. He did not. Three days later I called again, again told the manager Drew was busy, he would call back. Again, he did not. When I picked up the truck, I waited in line for 25 minutes. When I first reserved the truck, I was told I would get a 10% courtesy discount. It took multiple calls after returning the truck to finally get this discount. Overall, I don't think this is the experience you would want your customers to endure. For what it's worth - if you are even paying attention to this.

TRACEY P. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The lines to get the truck on a Sunday were very long. I don't know how to rate this location because I've never been to another location.

knut l. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The total cost was significantly higher than promised over the phone. Personnel need training on how to handle phone inquiries.

Alex O. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was overcharged, Didn't receive the right size equipment, took a very long time, miscommunication between branches. I have used Uhual 5-6 times over the past few months. This location needs improvement as it was my first time being here.

DAVID B. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast, pleasant, excellent all around. Great experience.

Michael h. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The only problem I noticed way the battery light way warning that the battery charaging system way not working.

JOHN C. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a UHaul hitch and wiring installed at a location close to my house on my new SUV. The wiring was not working properly and San Rafael rewired it. Unkn as to if they knew that I bought the insurance re this, they fixed it. took couple hrs, but I really needed the trailer. No add cost and fixed.

GERARD B. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The door on the cargo van trailer was almost detached due to broken rivets. The trailer should have been inspected before the rental.

WALTER O. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Where to begin, I approached the San Rafael U-Haul like a majestic antelope; careful not to frighten it away. It was the most beautiful corner lot I've ever seen. The trucks were all lined up PERFECTLY. no trash, no filth. I can only assume they have an elite staff, second to none. Entering the building I see a man behind the counter who calls himself Drew Bates. His part time job is Managing that facility... His full time job is being the sexiest man alive. After completion..... of my contract, I walk outside and see Luis, he was standing there in the breeze. His beautiful ponytail swishing around like the amazing rear section of a Unicorn. He got me set up with my truck & supplies, whispered the secret to love in my ear, and sent me off. The following day I returned for an Auto Transport. Jon took me outside, he looked at the trailer, then at my truck. Placing two fingers on his temple and closing his eyes, he levitated the trailer across to lot and dropped it behind the truck!! I shit you not! I told him that I've never seen anything like that before! He told me that was nothing and levitated MY truck on to the trailer like it was nothing... My mind couldn't handle what I had seen so I passed out....... When I woke, a strange little boy called Cody was licking my face, so I left quickly... Cody was strange.

MARK H. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks to Drew and the staff. They are always professional and courteous.

Xenia Z. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Please stop advertising $19.95, even with the clausal asterisk, it is a lie. I got screwed on the so-called online"package deal", the guy denied having any knowledge of it until I showed him the email and i ended up paying $89.00 for using a cargo van less than 2 hrs, for a less than 10 mi. move. Also, the tank was not full when I first received the can, yet I still got charged for that as well.

mike s. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was all good. I particularly appreciated being met as I returned the truck, and having my bill calculated and run right there, with no waiting at all.

NEIL A. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I actually had a bad experience. I was scheduled for a 9 am pick up, and when I go there, there was a huge line and I got my truck late and had to pay workers who were waiting for me. I also had a hand dolly that was broken, with broken welds creating a danger, so did not use it for fear of liability with my workers. I will use a different company in the future unless you make it right to me

Elizabeth R. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Needs to be staffed a bit heavier on Sunday. Waited for an hour to pick up my van. The staff was efficient and professional there just were not enough of them.

megan a. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Booked in advance, but they didn't have the rental available. Very disorganized. The associates weren't bad, but someone obviously made a big mistake and it screwed up my weekend. Never again!

SYLVIA A. on 6/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with this experience! !yes I would recommend to a friend....they were very professional,and answered all my questions in a professional manner..thanks

SUSAN B. on 6/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This place was packed with people once you're done waiting the people at the counter do their best. U-haul prices have gone up so much I will not rent a U-Haul again! I rented a trailer my trip was 135 miles and I'll just say I could have bought a trailer for what they charged!

brad j. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The van we rented was in excellent shape. The check in and check out process was efficient.

ALISON G. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

customer service is great here.

R SCOTT S. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really a seamless, pleasant experience - really essential at the start of a not so fun moving day. :) Thanks for all the hard work making sure everything worked flawlessly.

Richard L. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent. Anselmo Boccone did a great job in the initial rental and on the return as well.

olivia c on 6/13/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

A chair was smashed when the box arrived. Almost beyond repair

Steven A. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff and convenient service. Only complaint is that there was a little confusion with my reservation, but it was cleared up without too much hassle.

dirk o. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

this time it was perfect!

Maggie C. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well run operation and efficient and accommodating staff.

Robin W. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

this is the second time I've rented here and the staff is always exceptionally helpful!

LISA S. on 6/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you Drew and Jen

oxana w. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

dropped off after hours. No problems

Jesse T. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

the parking was very crowded because there were so many rental trucks clumped up near the 'drive way' and it made moving or parking your car difficult. please put cars waiting to be rented in the far corner so there is more space for visitors to manuever and park

CHARLES T. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Total jerks!!!! The staff is incredibly rude and the GM is a jackass.

rein s. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It's all good.

CLARENCE L. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Although I would preferred non-smoking vehicle, I had to rent what was available, therefore, I responded with "not applicable" Thank you Michael at Tam U-Haul for booking a truck on such short notice

WANDA C. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience. Thank you.

JOHN V. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys here were GREAT!

eddie L. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfied with the service until they charged me over $600 for 50 miles. But They refunded the money. They should get the employees more training and have them pay more attention to details.

Reda S. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was excellent, the staff competent and helpful, you are tops, but the mileage cost needs to be about half to make it work for me in the future.

ALEX B. on 6/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Well it was weird that nobody was at the desk this morning.

PETER F. on 6/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Reserved on line. Cargo van was waiting for me when I arrived. Clean and ready to go. The return process was fast and efficient.

NICOLE P. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great with the truck and the whole rental experience. Jon at the San Rafael location was incredibly kind and helpful and provided exceptional customer service. Thank you for everything!

Timothy W on 6/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Lock on one box was destroyed. Person that referred me had lock ripped off door. I am seeing a pattern.

AMIR E. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was frustrated to find out that I couldn't keep the truck for the whole day. It's odd to me that if I had simply changed my reservation for a whole day when I made it rather than taking the recommended 6 hours that I would have had it for a whole day. And it wouldn't have cost me any more. I think the site should default to whole days.

LISA W. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The service is awful and also the truck had too many dollies in the back also we DID NOT WANT THE INSURANCE FOR TRUCK - We were ripped off - WE DID NOT REQUEST AND YOUR COMPANY WON;T GIVE US THE CREDIT BACK

RACHEL G. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

New employees don't seem to get much training before helping people. He didn't know answers to any questions. Did not tell me about having the truck back at a certain time. However the young man that hooked up my trailer when I picked it up was super helpful and thorough!!

Eric B. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This location seriously needs to get faster computers, printer/ internet connection, etc.! The time it took to process each customer with the system was ridiculous. The counter person spent the majority of time waiting for the system to "think" / process each step. Also, this poor hard working counter person was all by himself, serving many, many customers on a busy Saturday afternoon. Cody was excellent, but severely hampered by an inadequate computer system, and lack of co-workers to staff the counter. Overall a disappointing customer service experience; get more staff and A BETTER COMPUTER SYSTEM! The truck itself was fine.

NEHA P. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I got there early so I was able to get in and out very quickly. Usually, the wait time is fairly long. Nice staff. Vehicle very clean.

David F. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wow, great service picking up and returning. San Rafael is really on the ball these days. It was a pleasure to deal with people that care about their jobs and do it well.

bryan f. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well run, excellent customer service

ALAN K. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went off quickly without a single hitch. The vehicle was ready as scheduled and I was out the door promptly. And, the return process was just as efficient. I would like to see you build your risk of equipment damage loss into your rental price rather than operate it as a separate (highly) profitable enterprise.

ROSE B. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The whole experience was easy and smooth. No problems or issues.

STEVE R. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

In particular the guy who I dealt with was great. Very professional.

ROBERT B. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hire more employees like Monica.

JEANETTE R. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Tie down the dolly I ordered with the truck. =)

donald h. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Location is very under staffed during high volume times.

ROBERT L. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Again, don't really have any comparison experience for rating the location.

bonnie a. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Another driveway might help make pickup a little smoother/quicker.

jon m. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a long line that took a long time. You must have been under-staffed... The Tam Valley location is much easier and faster.

Jon M. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Just once it would be nice if the equipment I reserved was actually available when it was promised. We laugh about it: "What will we end up with this time?"

WILLIAM N. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Return space is limited, billing was correct, no notes to confirm verbal details on credit for less than ordered pads and more fuel at return than at pick up.

GEOFF B. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anselm was very professional and knowlegable. Great customer service Thank you

Chris M. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was the best experience I've had at this location, it was all new people I haven't seen before and they were very nice and efficient. It was a consistently terrible experience to visit this location for the last few years so I'm very happy it seems to have improved.

John S on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

One staff younger, male - didn`t get his name was particularly helpful throughout the process - making sure I have what I need, and providing tips on how to maximize my ubox :

CYNTHIA V. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were quoted more free miles than we were actually given. Over the phone we heard 150 miles per day but were only given 100 miles per day. Otherwise, everything was fine.

ARNOLD B. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was significant damage to the front end of the truck and obviously previous renters smoked in the truck making it a health hazard to non smokers.

ANTHONY B. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I dropped off the truck with 3/4 tank and I picked it up with less than 1/4 tank. I was charged a late fee, insurance and over mileage. The price I paid for the gas is equal to the charges. I should be refunded the charges as the gas was the same price.

DAVID C. on 5/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check out process less cumbersome. Check in at end of rental very quick. Overall much improved experience over old times.

MARK M. on 5/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Trailer was not clean and the attendant said it's illegal to clean it? Would be nice to get a clean one 'on the outside'.

JOHN K. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

On site immigrant workers hanging around driveway of facility might be useful to some, intimidating to others... U-Haul management needs to figure that one out. Overall, though, my rental experience positive.

Bill B on 5/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You`re lucky to have Drew as an employee.

Robert R. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great overall experience

ROBERT M. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT

Justin M. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I think your initial price of $19.95 is mis-leading, after you tack on all of the other charges.

Monica B on 4/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Box was not delivered on time. Staff was extraordinarily unhelpful and had no idea when the box would arrive. Absolutely terrible experience.

Brian M on 4/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

General manager Drew was outstanding to work with

Alisha M on 2/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

.

NANCY M on 12/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We weren`t told that we had to number boxes and list all items to move overseas. We had to make a trip back to the States from Singapore to do this. We used a different company to ship overseas.

Barry T on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone very helpful and courteous. Had rented a trailer but when I saw the U-Box opted for that instead.

john anita f on 11/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor service and zero communication

STEVEN C on 4/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lock and hasp were torn off of my unit when I received it and there were a number of things missing from my U-box.

BETH C on 3/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager was very helpful and even offered to let us have a lock in case we needed to lock up our U-Box in between trips as our lock had partially broken during shipment.

JAMEY G on 3/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Box itself is a bit expensive but our experience with delivery and pickup has been excellent and we wish to commend UHaul Delivery Associate Sandy on outstanding customer service.

HEIDI H on 3/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sandy the delivery person was the best part of all. She was super friendly and professional.

PEDRO R on 2/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was attended by Becky. Never did Becky make eye contact with me although I was sitting directly in front of her, and she continuously responded that she did not know the answer to my questions.

RACHAEL T on 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would recomend a larger size for a one bedroom/studio and and I have very few Items.

ANDREW P on 12/23/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well staffed and staff very helpful. Everything went great.

MONIQUE C on 11/26/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Slightly misleading saying it is $79.95 when it is $300 to deliver!

JUDITH B on 10/17/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The u-box was ready when i went to pick it up. it was not delivered.

MARK J on 10/4/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the uhaul delivery gal was brilliant and apologized to me on behalf of san rafael uhaul. they did not call me to schedule a window for delivery and the uhaul customer service people were useless.

MARI J on 9/29/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It was incredibly difficult to access my box I called in advance multiple times and yet no one was able to help and the box was not accessible when I showed up

JOHN B on 9/11/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very hard to communicate with San Rafael store. They didn`t return calls and call center couldn`t resolve issues. Only one man was authorized to handle UBox which created wait times over 3 hrs!

LEE K on 8/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The driver picking up the ubox`s was awesome!

NANCY D on 8/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were helpful hitching up the trailer and treated us with kind regard.

GREG C on 8/3/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Manager lost staff, no one to deliver box. I was not called - had to pay men when no box. I did get free truck to drive box myself next day. U-Haul did not meet an agreed on and contracted deadline.

NANCY D on 7/29/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At the start of the process I couldn`t find my box, I was told it would be put in the parking lot by 4 p.m. Label boxes to be less generic. Anthony was best in terms of customer service.

BENJAMIN T on 7/24/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Bad service, broke my lock and did not replace until i demanded it.

TAMARA B on 7/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at San Rafeal are exceptional. They went out of their way to ensure all boxes were accessed easily and called me on the phone instead of making me wait, tt time of payment. 5 Stars!

LONNER H on 7/14/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager at the san rafael, california store, christopher, was fantastic as well as the two men working under him. telephone customer service i found untrained confusing, though friendly.

ELI C on 7/9/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I cannot express how much I hate this company in 200 characters or less. This has been the worst experience of my life.

ADRIANE R on 7/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Especially Walt who fixed a major problem with my account that would have had the Ubox going to the wrong town. I loaded at the Uhaul site and everyone there was really helpful.

RYAN L on 5/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service from Chris and staff at San Rafael

RICHARD K on 4/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

convenient, easy to load, made moving so quick and trouble free! thank you u-haul

ROSS G on 1/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service

JOHN A on 1/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

On site staff were great, corporate organization scores about a 1/2 out of 10. I got a billing, late notice and lein notice before my belongings were confirmed delivered which took 5 weeks.

DONNA G on 11/25/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

in-store personnel great, but the two people I talked to over phone provided misinformation about your fees and policies.

VENKAT G on 9/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Seattle customer service sucks.

CHARLES C on 8/6/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience with this company was awful. I got an apology and nothing else.

MICHAEL M on 7/23/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little pricey, but otherwise a very good service

MICHAEL T on 6/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The checkout experience in the store is MISERABLE. It took 30 minutes. You guys have got to figure out how to make the experience better. Also, the wood box is a bit concerning. Would prefer metal.

KEN C on 6/12/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Made arrangements to have box delivered at 1pm. My pregnant girlfriend waited at the house that had no furniture. 200 characters not enough space to explain how bad it was.