U-Haul of San Rafael

U-Haul of San Rafael

Share |

Address

1205 Francisco Bl E
San Rafael, CA 94901

(415) 457-8400

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of San Rafael

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of San Rafael

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Larry G. on 12/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have given U-Haul of San Rafael high ratings because this was at least my third time renting from them in the past three or four years and it has gone relatively smooth each time, but particularly this time with your computerized appt. and early check-in! The mileage was a little hard to gauge, probably because I do not use GPS, did not consult a map, and made a guess, but it did not cost me very much more for the mileage. All nice young people working their Dec. 21!

Susan H. on 12/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good service. On time, courteous and prompt. Thank you.

LEIF K. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Deliver vehicles in the city in which you promise them. I was promised a truck and auto transport in San Francisco but had to drive all the way to San Rafael because that promise was not kept. I was also promised a $50 reduction in the fees as a result of this inconvenience which also was not respected. That just sucked.

RICHARD S. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always a great experience hiring from you guys. Thank you!

JON W. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Having to leave the dolly and pads in the truck to take up space is false advertising. They take up so much room and space you're not really getting as much space as advertised. This is a very shady tactic and a reason I will consider other options to rent my truck next time. Uhaul should really change this policy and allow the dolly and pads to be left at the uhaul location if requested by the customer. This is ridiculous

Tate H. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing to improve; everything went smoothly and as expected. I'll be back

CHRISTOPHER M. on 12/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best location to rent trucks. Family run. Nice, smart, and efficient. Can't get any better than that!

Esther L. on 12/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Huge improvement over the last time I used this UHaul -keep it up! Thanks

SETH H. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The trailer electrical went out once the trailer got wet. It shorted out the instrument lights and the taillights in my vehicle by blowing the fuses. The trailer lights also did not work. Went through a ton of fuses trying to identify the problem and ended up driving in the dark without lights. Wasted half the weekend either stranded, going to the parts store for fuses, or waiting for friends to give me a hand. Only before returning the trailer did I realize it was the trailer's electrical causing the problems - each time I hooked it up and it started rolling/moving it would short out and fry my fuses. Looking underneath the rear of the trailer there was a bunch of soaking wet electrical tape spliced wires for the rear license plate lights. Horrible experience - I called your 1800 number and they never called back. Hope you fix it before renting it to someone else.

Fred S. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Yes, I had figured the load very carefully and used the dimensions supplied by U Haul on line for the size of the inside of the truck. The numbers are not accurate. There is a little space where the rear door hangs down precluding a full box from being stored consistent with the dimensions published by you. I have to make another trip to get the remainder of what I was supposed to pick up.

Barry T on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone very helpful and courteous. Had rented a trailer but when I saw the U-Box opted for that instead.

HARLEY B. on 12/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff.

KRYSTAL M. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The team made it a very easy and simple process.... thank you

Ryan S. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I dropped off my trailer mid morning, but it wasn't checked in until mid afternoon, coincidentally about thirty minutes after it was due back. It was raining and I didn't need a receipt so when the uhaul rep said I was through, I left. They charged me for an extra day, I guess they thought I wouldn't notice.

LOUIS B. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The corporation, not the local representative, could not keep my order straight. The number of email, text messages and phone calls I received about the wrong place to deliver the truck, the wrong day to return it and the overall confusion about my order was truly unbelievable. The icing on the cake was getting an email with extra day and mileage charges after being told there would be no more charges. I will seriously think twice about renting from UHall again.

MARY H. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

truck had leak. gas was not as full as indicated on contract. gas fuel guage was faulty. no blankets were provided, even tho paid for in advance and contract confirmed should be there. not at all satisfactory experience.

JEFFREY G. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

4pin adapter from last rental a few years ago was burned out and replaced free of charge, even with the attendent and myself being injured in the process of removing burned out adapter, very friendly and helpful

Christopher B. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I have reported my incident through both the Haul Facebook and Twitter accounts to report how disgustingly filthy my rental truck was. I am waiting for a response to a credit. I have rented six trucks in two years from this location and in ever case, the trucks cargo holds are filthy with disgusting and vile sticky substances that get all over my cargo. Haul rides my ass to insure that my truck rental is returned in perfectly clean condition and somehow I always get trucks that looks like that have been soaked with medical waste and gobs of seminal fluid. For shame Uhaul!

Scott F. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Your policy is misleading and charges far more than suggested. Your staff is rude. I had a negative experience with your company.

Jeff S. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Made the day easy. Thanks.

Chrysa C. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Cody and Anselmo were great! I have rented far too many moving trucks and this was my best experience by far. Cody and Anselmo were both very nice and friendly and went out of their way to help. They made it a very good experience. They were so nice and good at their job. These guys are really great.

DENNIS G. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The one clerk processing check-in was fast, efficient, friendly & knowledgeable...

Stephen B. on 11/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very happy, truck had under 12,000 miles on it so was in excellent condition. Good experience.

Randall M. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service rep. I had did not know anything about the insurance you provide. It would be helpful if he had some knowledge of the policies.

MARILYN I. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have more people working at the counter on the weekends!

DAN B. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our reservation truck was not available. Manager was able to provide a smaller truck at a lower mileage rate to cover additional load-up required by smaller truck. Somewhat satisfactory but did increase our gas and labor costs. Isn't there a $50 credit for a blown reservation?

ELIZABETH M. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Open up at 9:00 sharp and have more ppl at desk....however the staff on Sunday November 23rd was excellent and I was very impressed. Eliz McLeod

JAMES R. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work. The staff at this location know their business and are effective at their jobs. It was a pleasure dealing with them.

TAREN P. on 11/21/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We moved in the same town used only 16 miles. We filled 1 galon of gas. upon Check out the dude charged us $15 extra said gas was not enough

CHUCK H. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Try to keep some of the good employees. Everytime I go there you have someone different and they usually are less than helpful. The guy I got today was obviously new and couldn't even get the computer to function. He tried, but just didn't know how to even do his job. No help when we got out in the yard either. No one even talked to us. Pretty bad

DAN B. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location was extremely helpful in arranging for the equipment for this date and several others. I would definitely recommend this location, as being service oriented and efficient. Thank you!!

DIONICIO C. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nicee.

LESLIE S. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was referred by a friend. I would refer this UHaul to a friend. Truck was new, great condition.

ANTHONY N. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The driving directions to the site were a bit off. One can simply go straight on Francisco Blvd. E., no need to go via Bellam St.

JANA J. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

After our already horrible Mountain View experience, we didn't expect any issues here as we just needed to drop it off. We swept the truck and folded the moving pads to avoid any issues and dropped the truck off early morning at around 7:30am. The location was still closed so we dropped the keys in the key dropbox. We couldn't return the truck the night before and it wouldn't have changed anything as the location wouldn't open until 10am anyway. We wanted to call to confirm all is fine but received an email instead stating a $40 additional day charge. So we called again and got promised a call back within 72 hours to get an update on our claim that we don't need to pay an additional day. We returned the truck after 23.5 hours, just the fact that no one starts working at this location until 10am shouldn't make us pay an additional day charge. I'm 50% positive we get this fee back, however, the fact that this was again such an unpleasant experience made it obvious that its not a matter of picking a bad location, UHaul seems to have serious customer service issues overall. First time and definitely last time renting a truck with UHaul.

Robert S. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had a bad experience turning in the truck. Had called the night before to extend my rental agreement. Was told it was charged on my credit card along with 1 large mirror box and two small mirror boxes. when I came in to turn in truck and collect the boxes San Rafael office I I was met with a very unhappy and smart representative who was nasty and unpleasant when I told him we had been charged. Had to go through his curt attitude, he recharged me and did not get the boxes correct. I never want to come to your store again.

manuel c. on 11/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nice personal I will refer Manuel Castaneda

Cameron C. on 11/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, helpful, and fast. Great place to get a truck from

ANDREW C. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First, I made a reservation for a pick-up truck via phone earlier in the week, and at the end of the call, had to ask my expected total cost. Hearing a value over $300 for a single day rental, I asked if there was another category/way to do the rental, at which point the representative quoted me a 24 hours + mileage rate, which came to ~$150 (for roughly 300 miles). Next, when I arrived to pick up the vehicle, my reservation was not found in the system, and I had to go through the reservation process a second time. Again, I had to ask about the rental category change. I picked up my vehicle at 2:58 on a saturday, drove my ~300 miles, but wasn't able to make it back to the location before closing (5:00pm) due to traffic, but figured. I dropped the pickup and keys in the provided drop box. Today, I received my receipt, and it noted a 6am check-in time and that I was charged for a second full day (an additional $78 plus $10 insurance). I was shocked to receive a nearly $90 additional charge for an extra couple hours beyond my "one day" rental. At no time was I informed that a couple hours would result in such a large swing in costs. I was helping move a spare mattress to my mother's, and was having catching up with her into the early afternoon, and then hit traffic coming into the Bay. Had I known hanging out with family for an extra hour or two would have cost me that much, I would have paid attention to my departure time instead of figuring that an after-hours return was within my contract period. I happened be driving near the store location today, and went in to speak to the staff to see if there was something they could do to make it a little more fair. Two different staff told me that I was beyond a 1 hour window (in the background, I heard another mention a 2 hour grace period), and there was nothing they could do. From the start of my recent interaction with this location, it felt as if the staff were just trying to hit me for the maximum profit possible, and not give me a reasonable deal if it existed. I've rented before from this location (I think twice (through my girlfriend's name)) and I wasn't treated so poorly. In the end, I was charged $224 for 26/27 hours and 294 miles use of a pick-up truck. Next time, my business will go elsewhere, and I won't hesitate to share this information with friends/family. I'm highly disappointed and feel like I was ripped off. Andrew

John S. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

small extra charges were made with no explanation

JENNIFER P. on 11/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick Fast and Easy!! Great Stall! Very Professional!

IAN S. on 11/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck smelled like cigarettes.

john anita f on 11/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor service and zero communication

Becky C. on 11/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was pretty busy and there was only one salesperson for quite a while. That's my only complaint and it's not that big of a deal.

anna m. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent all around ~ I'd come here again for sure! thanks for everything.

SERGE D. on 11/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dropped it off and was told that I was all done. Easy enough

christin a. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No one in store when I arrived for about 15 minutes

Travis M. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went as planned

Marilyn I. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Please have more people working at the counter, especially on the weekends!!!!!!

CRAIG D. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

They had what we needed and they were professional and friendly. Thanks.

Jason R. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

employee was rude and inappropriate when i explained i had a dolly on my reservation. He grabbed the dolly and slammed it in the truck and walked away. Apparently when inside he asked me if there was anything else i needed i was to re-add everything i had chosen online verbally to him. I said no thinking he meant did i need anything additional to my reservation. Next time he should keep his attitude at home.

ATHENA W. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John was fantastic to work with. He made sure we had everything we needed to make our move go smoothly. His assistance, kind words and helpfulness were just what we needed in the middle of a busy move. Thanks.

WESLEY F. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a truck for a 24 hour period. I was supposed to return it by 7pm on Wednesday. Due to Game 7 or the World Series, I was unable to get the truck back until 9pm. I have been charged for an additional day. I understand the policy but think that because of my circumstance I shouldn't have to pay for the additional day. It did not take away from the truck being rented the next day by any means as it was there ready with Gas in the morning. I would like a refund for the second day please. Thank you

Michael L. on 10/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I don't know why the yelp reviews are bad. Drew was courteous and efficient.

DANIEL B. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

cargo van needed body work. Truck had been in an accident. Staff was first rate. Great customer service.

ROBERT S. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good job all around. Thanks

Atle E. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented an open trailer for less than 24 hours. For some odd reason, they double charged me for a 48 hour rental and despite my attempts to get the double charge fixed... they have not solved the problem. Very frustrating. I don't see how it should be this complicated.

Peter M. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Can't think of anything. You already are amazingly efficient. Thank you.

STEPHEN L. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Young people working at the location were not helpful nor very professional and had a very lazy attitude. I purchased 3 wardrobe boxes and the employee left them on the ground behind the truck instead of putting them in the truck and when I got home the hang bars were not the right size for the box. Did not have time to return them so the were unusable.

Pam D. on 10/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, polite and quick check out is always appreciated by customers. Everyone at this location was great! Yes, we'll return...

LOUIS B. on 10/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I asked to charge a different credit card and the original was charged. Poor service.

MONIQUE R. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We dropped off our rental and forgot our camera in it. When we drove off we realized it and called to have someone hold it for us. Not one person saw the camera. We can only assume it was stolen by one of the employees. Unfortunate, to say the least.

elias s. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

doing an exellent job this is my tenth time and very satisfied with the service and the crew.

DAVID A. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My experience was positive. Without a reservation I was able to rent a 10' truck, complete my tasks and return the vehicle the same day thanks to after hours drop off. Thanks Uhaul!

DENNIS B. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Although I used U-Haul for convenience and their reputation, the rental price was more expensive than the competition.

Gregory T. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very good, knew their stuff.

STEPHAN G. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was great! there were a few people in front of me in line & everyone was taken care of quickly. I had a Trailer hitch put on to my SUV the day before and they did a wonderful job.

Tom K. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Gas gauge on truck broken. Probably put more gas then needed into the truck. Reservation check in with a rude employee, come to find out he's the site GM.

AUSTIN C. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have the gas tank filled above 1/8..

RICHARD F. on 10/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have a clean windshield. Ours was filthy. Keep Anselmo. He was very helpful. he has great customer service skills.

Theresa M. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My van smelled like someone died in it. When I picked it up, I asked the employee to spray some air freshener and it didn't help at all. I literally had to hold my nose the entire trip.

janet m. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

too tired to think .

Tom S. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The computer software at both locations (sending and receiving) of my cross country move needs much improvement. At both locations long delays happened while employees called district and national headquarters to solve computer problems. Also I used MovingHelp.com on both ends and the UHaul reservation software crashed numerous times. I finally had to order the moving help first at that site and then order the UBox separately.

RAY H. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drew was ever helpful

douglas h. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

An inviting & less cluttered admin./processing area.

SIMON P. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hole in truck roof leaked onto household goods & artwork inside. Estimating damage for a claim later

Sandra P. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I made a reservation on-line and the customer rep found it, but my address etc was not in the computer. I was hoping to have a faster transaction. Also, I rented some moving blankets and was informed that they or the trucks were not treated to prevent bed bug. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. :-) Overall great customer service and CLEAN.

HOLLY W. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were friendly and efficient.

Eric F. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Always very courteous but slow.

LORENE J. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Provide adapters for trailer electrical connection. I told them what I had when I reserved and was not told to bring my adapter. I paid almost as much did the adapter as the rental! Very disappointed.

sher k. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck seemed in need of a tuneup- but the service peoe were friendly and helpful.

Kathy c. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

staff was very accommodating! Will come back again! thank you!

Edward F. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing

MIKE T. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They were fast and efficient in getting my trailer loaded up and dropped off.

LUKE M. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was overcharged and contacted U Haul. I was told it would be resolved. It has not been done. I will dispute the credit card bill and consider posting on social media.

CHRIS M. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location was OK, staff wasn't very engaged with the customers but I got what I needed. The problem with this purchase was the website, the inventory on the site isn't related to actual availability, so the site let me reserve a trailer that wasn't actually available. I then spent a fair amount of time with customer service trying to find an alternative at that location, customer service was not very experienced in doing this for someone.

Pezhman N. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Some of the staff were very rude and gave me wrong/incomplete infomation

SUNITA R. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

quick checkout, great service

gordon h. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a cargo van for pickup at 6:30 pm on 9/30/14 at the San Rafael location. I arrived 20 minutes early and waited 15 minutes before anyone was available to wait on me. I returned the van at 9:20 am on 10/1 and waited 25 minutes in the yard and office for someone to check the van in. Nobody showed up. I had a 10:00 doctors appointment so I left the van. I came back at 10:55. There were 6 people waiting to check in, check out or purchase something and 1 employee at the counter. After waiting 15 minutes I still had 4 people ahead of me and now 4 people behind so I walked around and found a guy sitting in an office. I told him there was only one person on the counter and 9 people in line. He said he was on lunch break! I asked him to find someone to help. About 5 minutes later, another person showed up. It took another 10 minutes to get checked out and even then I had to argue with the guy because I'd only put 1 gallon of gas in the van for driving 10.3 miles! He said that wasn't enough even though the gas gauge read the same as when I picked it up. I have rented from the U-Haul in Mill Valley and the service was good. San Rafael is a disaster! If you don't want to wait forever, go to another location.

marine S. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The person who showed me my truck and went over the details really offered no info as to how to open the back and railing (I had to ask - he just handed me the keys). Also, he did not even rotate the side mirrors to the viewable position (they were closed shut) so went I go onto the freeway after leaving the store and my rear view mirrors were not working!!! I was very stressed driving down the freeway without being able to see behind me. Also - he did not show me how to release the emergency brake....I would not recommend this store because this person did not make an effort to make sure I left the store safe and knowing how to operate the truck.

Jan W. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing, no complaints.

liz d. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You need to have more than 1 person working at the front desk. I arrived there early, and then had to wait an hour to get a truck to rent. I had called in advance, and made a reservation, too.

DAVID C. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I re-fueled the vehicle above what it was before I picked up, which was incorrectly marked on paperwork, and to which I brought to Monica's attention, who in turn initialed my paperwork. I was then charged $30 ez-fuel. I will be disputing this charge. Please note that the fuel level noted on the receipt that was emailed to me was also way off and below what the fuel level I left the vehicle with was.

Lee S. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Whoever was working the front counter on Sunday morning did a fantastic job. He handled stress like a champ and there were some customers being annoying & mouthy.

AYASHA S. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found no need for improvement.

Toni R. on 9/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall had a good experience. I felt the representative overcharged me when it came to mileage. That was frustrating. I probably need 40-50 miles and he said he would charge me for 80 miles. Granted I should have paid more attention when he was letting me know. I felt like I was taken advanced of. Other than that he was courteous and professional.

Michelle S. on 9/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

more parking!!!

Mark D. on 9/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My experience was good. It was a quick checkin and the truck was what I expected. Staff was friendly and helpful. Everything worked well.

Peter S. on 9/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Smoother relationship between on-line reservation and service at counter (had to do most everything over again). Staffing also very thin (but capable).

Ken C. on 9/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service . Truck was practically brand new. People were awesome!

MARC F. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great support. Thx

werner B. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am very pleased with your staff involved in my rental. In the future, U-Haul will be my partner. Thank you for you excellent service, Werner G. Butz

MARCELLA S. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I booked a furniture dolley online and was not told until I arrived that they were not available and had not been for some time. If that was the case I should have been told ahead of time so I could make other arrangements. I was forced to purchase one., NOT THE PLAN

CHAS B. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good customer service from Ryan and Cody. promote these individuals. ;-)

Dwayne A G. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

If you check in ahead of time, you should not have to still wait in line. Someone should be called to give you the keys and final details since they already have the information required.

David H. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a dolly and was given a hand-truck and then was told the hand-truck WAS a dolly, and that they were out of real dollys. And when I asked 'what about these right here?' I was told they were only for sale. So I paid $7.00 for a hand truck that I didn't really need. Also, there was only one person helping customers, and even though I reserved the truck on-line I had to wait in a long line behind customers that were not even sure what size vehicle they needed and wait while they decided how many boxes they wanted.

STEVEN L. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff is friendly and hard-working. But there is not nearly enough parking or staffing, for the business volume. We got the last parking space on a Sunday morning, by sheer luck. Then waited 30 minutes in line to pick up our 10' reserved truck. When we arrived at our moving location, we found that the utility dolly that we had ordered was not in the truck. And 3 of 12 blankets ordered were missing. The staff is friendly and hard-working. But the place is understaffed.

Magge C. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The entire staff is frirnfly, nice and professional

BRIAN W. on 9/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

have a staff member with CPR training available at all sites, That way, when a customer like me who doesn't move heavy objects is having a heart attack or stroke, they can be revived. Seriously.

john w. on 9/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The mileage rate is very high.

Steve S. on 9/20/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was picking up an open trailer , your staff member insisted that he needed to connect the trailer to the vehicle hitch . He grabbed the trailer with one hand and pulled it towards the vehicle lost control and ended up damaging the tail gate off vehicle . There was know manager on site and I had to all the phoning to your insurance company . You need to train your staff in connecting trailers .

REZA G. on 9/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Keep your word on pricing! Not charge more than what was quoted ! Get better people to work for you or pay them more! None of them looked or acted like they wanted to be there !! That's a Shame !!

MIA K. on 9/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was excellent! The young man that assisted me was very knowledgeable and answered all my questions and concerns. Please hire more people like him!

MELANIE S. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck rental was ok but the representative on the phone told me that there was 1st floor storage which was absolutely untrue. It was very inconvenient & ended up costing me extra miles & an extra day on the truck just to drive to the supposed 1st floor storage space which did not exist.

COLLEEN P. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I don't like the billing system, where you have to estimate the miles you'll be driving. When we returned the van, we weren't charged for actual miles. I'm still not sure (three days later) what we actually paid for the rental.

Giselle K. on 9/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The price is right, but this was the second time I rented a van recently and this one really stank of dog. I mean, wet filthy dog. I may not return to this location because it is just disgusting. Check out van from yesterday and tell me if I'm wrong.

AMANDA W. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Upfront about renters responsibility for filling up the tank.....I had asked on 2 separate occasions "Ok all I'm paying for is the rental & mileage".....the gas responsibility was no big deal however it was never communicated at time of reservation

Robert C. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved a furniture dolly and one was not available when I picked up the truck. Please make sure that equipment that is requested and reserved is available. Also, the mileage rate for an in town move is ridiculous.

DON B. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We had no air in one tire after we loaded trailer w our stuff. Called them and they sent someone over in one hour to replace whole tire. All went well next day as we drove to our new home. We brought it back twenty six hours early but no discount. Would have made us even happier! Thank u

MICHAEL H. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Lacked the correct wrench to change the ball size.

JERRY B. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is an awful location. There are scary people lurking around the lot that come up to your window and scare the hell out of you. They try to give you the worst equipment available at first. After you check out the bald tires and lights that do not work, they then pick the next rolling pile of junk and make you take that. Ignoring decent equipment sitting right there in the lot! Be advised, go to a different company if possible! All that being said, the Santa Rosa location off Todd Ave. is even worse! Which hardly seems possible. The Roseville main location is great! Mathew Wood treats you decently and would never try to force a rolling piece of junk on you. Beware people!

JAMES T. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Fix the POS system. it really slowed down the rental process as it was buggy at the time of pick up.

ERIC E. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Delineate/designate customer parking more clearly. Professional counter staff - - nice.

ayse m. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I helped move an elderly poor and handicapped person and at the end got an unexpected charge of 40% more in taxes and gas charges. Was not informed of these at the beginning! Wrong customer service. Very disappointed.

TATE H. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. I'll be back

STEVEN B. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It took far too long to obtain the rental. The site is understaffed and U-Haul's technology and forms are antiquated. Cheaper and more efficient rentals are available from a nearby location.

NANCY D. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The GM was great to work with and very professional!

Ted L. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I returned the truck on the EXACT fuel setting as when I rented it - we only traveled 27 TOTAL miles - I put 2.5 gal of fuel in the Truck prior to my return - have the receipt When I received the email receipt I was charged for 5.3 gals of fuel !!!! $29.15 - after I had put 2.5 ....that would indicate the truck burned 7.8 gal of gas to go 27 miles Very Disappointed in this blatant attempt to garner additional rental revenue and am Disputing this charge TL

VICTORIA S. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More counter people would be helpful. Some of the people are courteous and professional others are not. Perhaps some customer service training might be very helpful.

EMILY R. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff. Equipment clean, ready to go, easy to use. Only down-side is would have been nice to have more than 1 person working front desk on a Sunday morning to help expedite the line.

Wendy H. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service was excellent. They went above & beyond to help me with my rental needs.

RICHARD P. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was actually very impressed how fast and organized this location was.

EDA K. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a mix up with getting a dolly, which was an honest mistake. However, when I called about it twice, both times I was told that I would receive a call back shortly from the correct person, and neither time did that happen. I finally just went back to the store. That made the whole process take much longer.

DAVID D. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work !

STEVEN C on 4/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lock and hasp were torn off of my unit when I received it and there were a number of things missing from my U-box.

BETH C on 3/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager was very helpful and even offered to let us have a lock in case we needed to lock up our U-Box in between trips as our lock had partially broken during shipment.

JAMEY G on 3/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Box itself is a bit expensive but our experience with delivery and pickup has been excellent and we wish to commend UHaul Delivery Associate Sandy on outstanding customer service.

HEIDI H on 3/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sandy the delivery person was the best part of all. She was super friendly and professional.

PEDRO R on 2/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was attended by Becky. Never did Becky make eye contact with me although I was sitting directly in front of her, and she continuously responded that she did not know the answer to my questions.

RACHAEL T on 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would recomend a larger size for a one bedroom/studio and and I have very few Items.

ANDREW P on 12/23/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well staffed and staff very helpful. Everything went great.

MONIQUE C on 11/26/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Slightly misleading saying it is $79.95 when it is $300 to deliver!

JUDITH B on 10/17/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The u-box was ready when i went to pick it up. it was not delivered.

MARK J on 10/4/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the uhaul delivery gal was brilliant and apologized to me on behalf of san rafael uhaul. they did not call me to schedule a window for delivery and the uhaul customer service people were useless.

MARI J on 9/29/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It was incredibly difficult to access my box I called in advance multiple times and yet no one was able to help and the box was not accessible when I showed up

JOHN B on 9/11/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very hard to communicate with San Rafael store. They didn`t return calls and call center couldn`t resolve issues. Only one man was authorized to handle UBox which created wait times over 3 hrs!

LEE K on 8/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The driver picking up the ubox`s was awesome!

NANCY D on 8/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were helpful hitching up the trailer and treated us with kind regard.

GREG C on 8/3/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Manager lost staff, no one to deliver box. I was not called - had to pay men when no box. I did get free truck to drive box myself next day. U-Haul did not meet an agreed on and contracted deadline.

NANCY D on 7/29/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At the start of the process I couldn`t find my box, I was told it would be put in the parking lot by 4 p.m. Label boxes to be less generic. Anthony was best in terms of customer service.

BENJAMIN T on 7/24/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Bad service, broke my lock and did not replace until i demanded it.

TAMARA B on 7/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at San Rafeal are exceptional. They went out of their way to ensure all boxes were accessed easily and called me on the phone instead of making me wait, tt time of payment. 5 Stars!

LONNER H on 7/14/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager at the san rafael, california store, christopher, was fantastic as well as the two men working under him. telephone customer service i found untrained confusing, though friendly.

ELI C on 7/9/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I cannot express how much I hate this company in 200 characters or less. This has been the worst experience of my life.

ADRIANE R on 7/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Especially Walt who fixed a major problem with my account that would have had the Ubox going to the wrong town. I loaded at the Uhaul site and everyone there was really helpful.

RYAN L on 5/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service from Chris and staff at San Rafael

RICHARD K on 4/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

convenient, easy to load, made moving so quick and trouble free! thank you u-haul

ROSS G on 1/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service

JOHN A on 1/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

On site staff were great, corporate organization scores about a 1/2 out of 10. I got a billing, late notice and lein notice before my belongings were confirmed delivered which took 5 weeks.

DONNA G on 11/25/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

in-store personnel great, but the two people I talked to over phone provided misinformation about your fees and policies.

VENKAT G on 9/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Seattle customer service sucks.

CHARLES C on 8/6/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience with this company was awful. I got an apology and nothing else.

MICHAEL M on 7/23/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little pricey, but otherwise a very good service

MICHAEL T on 6/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The checkout experience in the store is MISERABLE. It took 30 minutes. You guys have got to figure out how to make the experience better. Also, the wood box is a bit concerning. Would prefer metal.

KEN C on 6/12/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Made arrangements to have box delivered at 1pm. My pregnant girlfriend waited at the house that had no furniture. 200 characters not enough space to explain how bad it was.