U-Haul of San Rafael

U-Haul of San Rafael

Share |

Address

1205 Francisco Bl E
San Rafael, CA 94901

(415) 457-8400

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of San Rafael

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of San Rafael

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Sandra G. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When you charge $0.99 per mile, the gas should be included.

LYNN S. on 1/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The man in the yard was very helpful.

FELIPE G. on 1/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was very courteous with me. It was a great experience.

DOUGLAS H. on 1/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More staff.

Holly L. on 1/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Incredibly easy and efficient rental service! Online check was a real time saver.

Kevin H. on 1/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

truck was old, needing serious engine/drive train repair, dirty truck in/out, little to no power driving down freeway.

JOSEPH G. on 1/20/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

i dont think i will ever use Uhaul again. i had two trucks cancel on me, i needed to move items for a memorial for a marine that passed away. i was late because of the poor Uhaul service and poorly managed motor pools. i made two different reservations that failed. one i get but two, the second being the day of the event 2 hours after i was supposed to pick the truck up is not excusable. i can say it simply that i have no trust that Uhaul can provided service that is anything other then sad.

Marc F. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck was ready and clean. Much better than my last rental. Everything worked well.

Linda K. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent expierance ! Very nice employes! What a plesant suprise this uhaul location was !certainly not the typical uhaul expierance Thank you

Edward R. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, knowledgeable and courteous.

MARIE B. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Your customer service is excellent. Everyone is always helpful. John at the location left me the sweetest message during a very stressful time. I so appreciate the grace period to get my truck back after a very stressful week. I am impressed that real people answer the phone and that there isn't much waiting. Very caring people. Thank you.

tom k. on 1/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't place the furniture pads and hand truck in the truck taking up space and tell the customer that you can't do anything about it when I say that I need that space for my furniture. Your representative said that he couldn't remove it, and if I did, I would be charged. Ridiculous.

John K. on 1/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager Drew was friendly, professional, & very well organized.

john m. on 1/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

want to give manager Drew huge compliments. rented a trailer and had problem with the brake light wiring. He promptly cut and capped my wires to working order and i was on my way. thank you Drew!

marielle r. on 1/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Prompt service. We had to wait for a rather long time before anyone showed up at the counter.

CECLIY R. on 1/14/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was told it was .79 cents per mile, then was charged .99. Told to put gas in to 3/4 tank mark- which is difficult to do, so filled the tank. Then when turning it in and asking about this told there was somewhere in the small print about the gallons- would have been nice to have been given this information BEFOREhand. Won't go there again

EUCLID G. on 1/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff were nice and accommodating. Thank you.

nick n. on 1/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The derive was excellent as always from this location, Drew is the man when it comes to helping his customers, as I stood in line I heard him resolve 3 other problems with ease that were stressing out other customers. By the time I left, myself and all the other customers were super happy with the way everything was handled and in a timely manner, I will definitely use this u haul location again, I can't say the same for other locations as I've had a lot of bad experiences with u haul and there customer care line, but I know when in arrive at this particular location I will be taken care of, Thank You!!

TOM W. on 1/13/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Drew was helpful and efficient.

THOMAS J. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very happy with the rate. Equipment was perfect for my job.

John C. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

parking was limited.

james p. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great BUT, I feel $1.19 a mile is excessive.

PAQUITA R. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the 3 people I interacted with were very efficient, polite, helpful and made the process of renting the u haul--checking in and checking out--very easy and pleasant. thank you very much to all of them for great service

ELENOA G. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have nothing to say.

VALERI G. on 1/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

are unfriendly and captious

STEVE C. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good job. Drop off done quickly, no time wasted.

LORI H. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Explain that "safe tow" will be charged each day, It was a unexpected charge for the 2nd day but not the fault of the gal who checked me in because originally I was to rent for 1 day. But the gall who checked me in was absolutely the tops, efficiate, fast and nice.

CHRIS M. on 1/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drew is fantastic!

John M. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy that help me was doing a lot ,but the time to hook me up with all my stuff .I was not on A game he stuck it out with me Thank you . he wares dockmortens and is white and short. Thanks . not short when comes to serves

Juan C. on 1/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

friendly and helpful

ISABEL E. on 1/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent, helpful and friendly customer service. Thank you so much.

RUDY A. on 1/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Build future appliance dollies out of aluminum. Uhaul dollies are heavier than hell.

RYAN S. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Was great customer service. Friendly staff. Thank you.

Mark D. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very organized and efficient. My truck was ready to go.

constance s. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Latino guys looking so desperate for work were a little scary for me. I don't know what can be done about it and I feel sorry for them.

TRACY G. on 12/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. All great..except credit card mistake...so billed wrong..or machine or human did mistake.i caught it..he corrected it..

RONALD M. on 12/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing that I can think of. Staff was extremely helpful and personable.

Stephan F. on 12/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks so much. I wouldn't rent from anyone else.

Amy D. on 12/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service and a super easy pick up / return. Easiest van rental ever, and totally affordable rates

michael z. on 12/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monica was great and very fast getting me in and out very quickly.

NANCY M on 12/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We weren`t told that we had to number boxes and list all items to move overseas. We had to make a trip back to the States from Singapore to do this. We used a different company to ship overseas.

Larry G. on 12/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have given U-Haul of San Rafael high ratings because this was at least my third time renting from them in the past three or four years and it has gone relatively smooth each time, but particularly this time with your computerized appt. and early check-in! The mileage was a little hard to gauge, probably because I do not use GPS, did not consult a map, and made a guess, but it did not cost me very much more for the mileage. All nice young people working their Dec. 21!

Susan H. on 12/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good service. On time, courteous and prompt. Thank you.

LEIF K. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Deliver vehicles in the city in which you promise them. I was promised a truck and auto transport in San Francisco but had to drive all the way to San Rafael because that promise was not kept. I was also promised a $50 reduction in the fees as a result of this inconvenience which also was not respected. That just sucked.

RICHARD S. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always a great experience hiring from you guys. Thank you!

JON W. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Having to leave the dolly and pads in the truck to take up space is false advertising. They take up so much room and space you're not really getting as much space as advertised. This is a very shady tactic and a reason I will consider other options to rent my truck next time. Uhaul should really change this policy and allow the dolly and pads to be left at the uhaul location if requested by the customer. This is ridiculous

Tate H. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing to improve; everything went smoothly and as expected. I'll be back

CHRISTOPHER M. on 12/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best location to rent trucks. Family run. Nice, smart, and efficient. Can't get any better than that!

Esther L. on 12/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Huge improvement over the last time I used this UHaul -keep it up! Thanks

SETH H. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The trailer electrical went out once the trailer got wet. It shorted out the instrument lights and the taillights in my vehicle by blowing the fuses. The trailer lights also did not work. Went through a ton of fuses trying to identify the problem and ended up driving in the dark without lights. Wasted half the weekend either stranded, going to the parts store for fuses, or waiting for friends to give me a hand. Only before returning the trailer did I realize it was the trailer's electrical causing the problems - each time I hooked it up and it started rolling/moving it would short out and fry my fuses. Looking underneath the rear of the trailer there was a bunch of soaking wet electrical tape spliced wires for the rear license plate lights. Horrible experience - I called your 1800 number and they never called back. Hope you fix it before renting it to someone else.

Fred S. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Yes, I had figured the load very carefully and used the dimensions supplied by U Haul on line for the size of the inside of the truck. The numbers are not accurate. There is a little space where the rear door hangs down precluding a full box from being stored consistent with the dimensions published by you. I have to make another trip to get the remainder of what I was supposed to pick up.

Barry T on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone very helpful and courteous. Had rented a trailer but when I saw the U-Box opted for that instead.

HARLEY B. on 12/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff.

KRYSTAL M. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The team made it a very easy and simple process.... thank you

Ryan S. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I dropped off my trailer mid morning, but it wasn't checked in until mid afternoon, coincidentally about thirty minutes after it was due back. It was raining and I didn't need a receipt so when the uhaul rep said I was through, I left. They charged me for an extra day, I guess they thought I wouldn't notice.

LOUIS B. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The corporation, not the local representative, could not keep my order straight. The number of email, text messages and phone calls I received about the wrong place to deliver the truck, the wrong day to return it and the overall confusion about my order was truly unbelievable. The icing on the cake was getting an email with extra day and mileage charges after being told there would be no more charges. I will seriously think twice about renting from UHall again.

MARY H. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

truck had leak. gas was not as full as indicated on contract. gas fuel guage was faulty. no blankets were provided, even tho paid for in advance and contract confirmed should be there. not at all satisfactory experience.

JEFFREY G. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

4pin adapter from last rental a few years ago was burned out and replaced free of charge, even with the attendent and myself being injured in the process of removing burned out adapter, very friendly and helpful

Christopher B. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I have reported my incident through both the Haul Facebook and Twitter accounts to report how disgustingly filthy my rental truck was. I am waiting for a response to a credit. I have rented six trucks in two years from this location and in ever case, the trucks cargo holds are filthy with disgusting and vile sticky substances that get all over my cargo. Haul rides my ass to insure that my truck rental is returned in perfectly clean condition and somehow I always get trucks that looks like that have been soaked with medical waste and gobs of seminal fluid. For shame Uhaul!

Scott F. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Your policy is misleading and charges far more than suggested. Your staff is rude. I had a negative experience with your company.

Jeff S. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Made the day easy. Thanks.

Chrysa C. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Cody and Anselmo were great! I have rented far too many moving trucks and this was my best experience by far. Cody and Anselmo were both very nice and friendly and went out of their way to help. They made it a very good experience. They were so nice and good at their job. These guys are really great.

DENNIS G. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The one clerk processing check-in was fast, efficient, friendly & knowledgeable...

Stephen B. on 11/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very happy, truck had under 12,000 miles on it so was in excellent condition. Good experience.

Randall M. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service rep. I had did not know anything about the insurance you provide. It would be helpful if he had some knowledge of the policies.

MARILYN I. on 11/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have more people working at the counter on the weekends!

DAN B. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our reservation truck was not available. Manager was able to provide a smaller truck at a lower mileage rate to cover additional load-up required by smaller truck. Somewhat satisfactory but did increase our gas and labor costs. Isn't there a $50 credit for a blown reservation?

ELIZABETH M. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Open up at 9:00 sharp and have more ppl at desk....however the staff on Sunday November 23rd was excellent and I was very impressed. Eliz McLeod

JAMES R. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work. The staff at this location know their business and are effective at their jobs. It was a pleasure dealing with them.

TAREN P. on 11/21/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We moved in the same town used only 16 miles. We filled 1 galon of gas. upon Check out the dude charged us $15 extra said gas was not enough

CHUCK H. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Try to keep some of the good employees. Everytime I go there you have someone different and they usually are less than helpful. The guy I got today was obviously new and couldn't even get the computer to function. He tried, but just didn't know how to even do his job. No help when we got out in the yard either. No one even talked to us. Pretty bad

DAN B. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location was extremely helpful in arranging for the equipment for this date and several others. I would definitely recommend this location, as being service oriented and efficient. Thank you!!

DIONICIO C. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nicee.

LESLIE S. on 11/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was referred by a friend. I would refer this UHaul to a friend. Truck was new, great condition.

ANTHONY N. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The driving directions to the site were a bit off. One can simply go straight on Francisco Blvd. E., no need to go via Bellam St.

JANA J. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

After our already horrible Mountain View experience, we didn't expect any issues here as we just needed to drop it off. We swept the truck and folded the moving pads to avoid any issues and dropped the truck off early morning at around 7:30am. The location was still closed so we dropped the keys in the key dropbox. We couldn't return the truck the night before and it wouldn't have changed anything as the location wouldn't open until 10am anyway. We wanted to call to confirm all is fine but received an email instead stating a $40 additional day charge. So we called again and got promised a call back within 72 hours to get an update on our claim that we don't need to pay an additional day. We returned the truck after 23.5 hours, just the fact that no one starts working at this location until 10am shouldn't make us pay an additional day charge. I'm 50% positive we get this fee back, however, the fact that this was again such an unpleasant experience made it obvious that its not a matter of picking a bad location, UHaul seems to have serious customer service issues overall. First time and definitely last time renting a truck with UHaul.

Robert S. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had a bad experience turning in the truck. Had called the night before to extend my rental agreement. Was told it was charged on my credit card along with 1 large mirror box and two small mirror boxes. when I came in to turn in truck and collect the boxes San Rafael office I I was met with a very unhappy and smart representative who was nasty and unpleasant when I told him we had been charged. Had to go through his curt attitude, he recharged me and did not get the boxes correct. I never want to come to your store again.

manuel c. on 11/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nice personal I will refer Manuel Castaneda

Cameron C. on 11/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, helpful, and fast. Great place to get a truck from

ANDREW C. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First, I made a reservation for a pick-up truck via phone earlier in the week, and at the end of the call, had to ask my expected total cost. Hearing a value over $300 for a single day rental, I asked if there was another category/way to do the rental, at which point the representative quoted me a 24 hours + mileage rate, which came to ~$150 (for roughly 300 miles). Next, when I arrived to pick up the vehicle, my reservation was not found in the system, and I had to go through the reservation process a second time. Again, I had to ask about the rental category change. I picked up my vehicle at 2:58 on a saturday, drove my ~300 miles, but wasn't able to make it back to the location before closing (5:00pm) due to traffic, but figured. I dropped the pickup and keys in the provided drop box. Today, I received my receipt, and it noted a 6am check-in time and that I was charged for a second full day (an additional $78 plus $10 insurance). I was shocked to receive a nearly $90 additional charge for an extra couple hours beyond my "one day" rental. At no time was I informed that a couple hours would result in such a large swing in costs. I was helping move a spare mattress to my mother's, and was having catching up with her into the early afternoon, and then hit traffic coming into the Bay. Had I known hanging out with family for an extra hour or two would have cost me that much, I would have paid attention to my departure time instead of figuring that an after-hours return was within my contract period. I happened be driving near the store location today, and went in to speak to the staff to see if there was something they could do to make it a little more fair. Two different staff told me that I was beyond a 1 hour window (in the background, I heard another mention a 2 hour grace period), and there was nothing they could do. From the start of my recent interaction with this location, it felt as if the staff were just trying to hit me for the maximum profit possible, and not give me a reasonable deal if it existed. I've rented before from this location (I think twice (through my girlfriend's name)) and I wasn't treated so poorly. In the end, I was charged $224 for 26/27 hours and 294 miles use of a pick-up truck. Next time, my business will go elsewhere, and I won't hesitate to share this information with friends/family. I'm highly disappointed and feel like I was ripped off. Andrew

John S. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

small extra charges were made with no explanation

JENNIFER P. on 11/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick Fast and Easy!! Great Stall! Very Professional!

IAN S. on 11/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck smelled like cigarettes.

john anita f on 11/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor service and zero communication

Becky C. on 11/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was pretty busy and there was only one salesperson for quite a while. That's my only complaint and it's not that big of a deal.

anna m. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent all around ~ I'd come here again for sure! thanks for everything.

SERGE D. on 11/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dropped it off and was told that I was all done. Easy enough

christin a. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No one in store when I arrived for about 15 minutes

Travis M. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went as planned

Marilyn I. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Please have more people working at the counter, especially on the weekends!!!!!!

CRAIG D. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

They had what we needed and they were professional and friendly. Thanks.

Jason R. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

employee was rude and inappropriate when i explained i had a dolly on my reservation. He grabbed the dolly and slammed it in the truck and walked away. Apparently when inside he asked me if there was anything else i needed i was to re-add everything i had chosen online verbally to him. I said no thinking he meant did i need anything additional to my reservation. Next time he should keep his attitude at home.

ATHENA W. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John was fantastic to work with. He made sure we had everything we needed to make our move go smoothly. His assistance, kind words and helpfulness were just what we needed in the middle of a busy move. Thanks.

WESLEY F. on 10/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a truck for a 24 hour period. I was supposed to return it by 7pm on Wednesday. Due to Game 7 or the World Series, I was unable to get the truck back until 9pm. I have been charged for an additional day. I understand the policy but think that because of my circumstance I shouldn't have to pay for the additional day. It did not take away from the truck being rented the next day by any means as it was there ready with Gas in the morning. I would like a refund for the second day please. Thank you

Michael L. on 10/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I don't know why the yelp reviews are bad. Drew was courteous and efficient.

DANIEL B. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

cargo van needed body work. Truck had been in an accident. Staff was first rate. Great customer service.

ROBERT S. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good job all around. Thanks

Atle E. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented an open trailer for less than 24 hours. For some odd reason, they double charged me for a 48 hour rental and despite my attempts to get the double charge fixed... they have not solved the problem. Very frustrating. I don't see how it should be this complicated.

Peter M. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Can't think of anything. You already are amazingly efficient. Thank you.

STEPHEN L. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Young people working at the location were not helpful nor very professional and had a very lazy attitude. I purchased 3 wardrobe boxes and the employee left them on the ground behind the truck instead of putting them in the truck and when I got home the hang bars were not the right size for the box. Did not have time to return them so the were unusable.

Pam D. on 10/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, polite and quick check out is always appreciated by customers. Everyone at this location was great! Yes, we'll return...

LOUIS B. on 10/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I asked to charge a different credit card and the original was charged. Poor service.

MONIQUE R. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We dropped off our rental and forgot our camera in it. When we drove off we realized it and called to have someone hold it for us. Not one person saw the camera. We can only assume it was stolen by one of the employees. Unfortunate, to say the least.

elias s. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

doing an exellent job this is my tenth time and very satisfied with the service and the crew.

DAVID A. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My experience was positive. Without a reservation I was able to rent a 10' truck, complete my tasks and return the vehicle the same day thanks to after hours drop off. Thanks Uhaul!

DENNIS B. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Although I used U-Haul for convenience and their reputation, the rental price was more expensive than the competition.

Gregory T. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very good, knew their stuff.

STEPHAN G. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was great! there were a few people in front of me in line & everyone was taken care of quickly. I had a Trailer hitch put on to my SUV the day before and they did a wonderful job.

Tom K. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Gas gauge on truck broken. Probably put more gas then needed into the truck. Reservation check in with a rude employee, come to find out he's the site GM.

AUSTIN C. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have the gas tank filled above 1/8..

RICHARD F. on 10/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have a clean windshield. Ours was filthy. Keep Anselmo. He was very helpful. he has great customer service skills.

Theresa M. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My van smelled like someone died in it. When I picked it up, I asked the employee to spray some air freshener and it didn't help at all. I literally had to hold my nose the entire trip.

janet m. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

too tired to think .

Tom S. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The computer software at both locations (sending and receiving) of my cross country move needs much improvement. At both locations long delays happened while employees called district and national headquarters to solve computer problems. Also I used MovingHelp.com on both ends and the UHaul reservation software crashed numerous times. I finally had to order the moving help first at that site and then order the UBox separately.

RAY H. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drew was ever helpful

douglas h. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

An inviting & less cluttered admin./processing area.

SIMON P. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hole in truck roof leaked onto household goods & artwork inside. Estimating damage for a claim later

Sandra P. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I made a reservation on-line and the customer rep found it, but my address etc was not in the computer. I was hoping to have a faster transaction. Also, I rented some moving blankets and was informed that they or the trucks were not treated to prevent bed bug. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. :-) Overall great customer service and CLEAN.

HOLLY W. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were friendly and efficient.

Eric F. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Always very courteous but slow.

LORENE J. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Provide adapters for trailer electrical connection. I told them what I had when I reserved and was not told to bring my adapter. I paid almost as much did the adapter as the rental! Very disappointed.

sher k. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck seemed in need of a tuneup- but the service peoe were friendly and helpful.

Kathy c. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

staff was very accommodating! Will come back again! thank you!

Edward F. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing

MIKE T. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They were fast and efficient in getting my trailer loaded up and dropped off.

LUKE M. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was overcharged and contacted U Haul. I was told it would be resolved. It has not been done. I will dispute the credit card bill and consider posting on social media.

CHRIS M. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location was OK, staff wasn't very engaged with the customers but I got what I needed. The problem with this purchase was the website, the inventory on the site isn't related to actual availability, so the site let me reserve a trailer that wasn't actually available. I then spent a fair amount of time with customer service trying to find an alternative at that location, customer service was not very experienced in doing this for someone.

Pezhman N. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Some of the staff were very rude and gave me wrong/incomplete infomation

SUNITA R. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

quick checkout, great service

gordon h. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a cargo van for pickup at 6:30 pm on 9/30/14 at the San Rafael location. I arrived 20 minutes early and waited 15 minutes before anyone was available to wait on me. I returned the van at 9:20 am on 10/1 and waited 25 minutes in the yard and office for someone to check the van in. Nobody showed up. I had a 10:00 doctors appointment so I left the van. I came back at 10:55. There were 6 people waiting to check in, check out or purchase something and 1 employee at the counter. After waiting 15 minutes I still had 4 people ahead of me and now 4 people behind so I walked around and found a guy sitting in an office. I told him there was only one person on the counter and 9 people in line. He said he was on lunch break! I asked him to find someone to help. About 5 minutes later, another person showed up. It took another 10 minutes to get checked out and even then I had to argue with the guy because I'd only put 1 gallon of gas in the van for driving 10.3 miles! He said that wasn't enough even though the gas gauge read the same as when I picked it up. I have rented from the U-Haul in Mill Valley and the service was good. San Rafael is a disaster! If you don't want to wait forever, go to another location.

marine S. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The person who showed me my truck and went over the details really offered no info as to how to open the back and railing (I had to ask - he just handed me the keys). Also, he did not even rotate the side mirrors to the viewable position (they were closed shut) so went I go onto the freeway after leaving the store and my rear view mirrors were not working!!! I was very stressed driving down the freeway without being able to see behind me. Also - he did not show me how to release the emergency brake....I would not recommend this store because this person did not make an effort to make sure I left the store safe and knowing how to operate the truck.

Jan W. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing, no complaints.

liz d. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You need to have more than 1 person working at the front desk. I arrived there early, and then had to wait an hour to get a truck to rent. I had called in advance, and made a reservation, too.

DAVID C. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I re-fueled the vehicle above what it was before I picked up, which was incorrectly marked on paperwork, and to which I brought to Monica's attention, who in turn initialed my paperwork. I was then charged $30 ez-fuel. I will be disputing this charge. Please note that the fuel level noted on the receipt that was emailed to me was also way off and below what the fuel level I left the vehicle with was.

Lee S. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Whoever was working the front counter on Sunday morning did a fantastic job. He handled stress like a champ and there were some customers being annoying & mouthy.

AYASHA S. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found no need for improvement.

STEVEN C on 4/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lock and hasp were torn off of my unit when I received it and there were a number of things missing from my U-box.

BETH C on 3/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager was very helpful and even offered to let us have a lock in case we needed to lock up our U-Box in between trips as our lock had partially broken during shipment.

JAMEY G on 3/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Box itself is a bit expensive but our experience with delivery and pickup has been excellent and we wish to commend UHaul Delivery Associate Sandy on outstanding customer service.

HEIDI H on 3/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sandy the delivery person was the best part of all. She was super friendly and professional.

PEDRO R on 2/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was attended by Becky. Never did Becky make eye contact with me although I was sitting directly in front of her, and she continuously responded that she did not know the answer to my questions.

RACHAEL T on 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would recomend a larger size for a one bedroom/studio and and I have very few Items.

ANDREW P on 12/23/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well staffed and staff very helpful. Everything went great.

MONIQUE C on 11/26/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Slightly misleading saying it is $79.95 when it is $300 to deliver!

JUDITH B on 10/17/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The u-box was ready when i went to pick it up. it was not delivered.

MARK J on 10/4/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the uhaul delivery gal was brilliant and apologized to me on behalf of san rafael uhaul. they did not call me to schedule a window for delivery and the uhaul customer service people were useless.

MARI J on 9/29/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It was incredibly difficult to access my box I called in advance multiple times and yet no one was able to help and the box was not accessible when I showed up

JOHN B on 9/11/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very hard to communicate with San Rafael store. They didn`t return calls and call center couldn`t resolve issues. Only one man was authorized to handle UBox which created wait times over 3 hrs!

LEE K on 8/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The driver picking up the ubox`s was awesome!

NANCY D on 8/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were helpful hitching up the trailer and treated us with kind regard.

GREG C on 8/3/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Manager lost staff, no one to deliver box. I was not called - had to pay men when no box. I did get free truck to drive box myself next day. U-Haul did not meet an agreed on and contracted deadline.

NANCY D on 7/29/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At the start of the process I couldn`t find my box, I was told it would be put in the parking lot by 4 p.m. Label boxes to be less generic. Anthony was best in terms of customer service.

BENJAMIN T on 7/24/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Bad service, broke my lock and did not replace until i demanded it.

TAMARA B on 7/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at San Rafeal are exceptional. They went out of their way to ensure all boxes were accessed easily and called me on the phone instead of making me wait, tt time of payment. 5 Stars!

LONNER H on 7/14/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager at the san rafael, california store, christopher, was fantastic as well as the two men working under him. telephone customer service i found untrained confusing, though friendly.

ELI C on 7/9/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I cannot express how much I hate this company in 200 characters or less. This has been the worst experience of my life.

ADRIANE R on 7/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Especially Walt who fixed a major problem with my account that would have had the Ubox going to the wrong town. I loaded at the Uhaul site and everyone there was really helpful.

RYAN L on 5/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service from Chris and staff at San Rafael

RICHARD K on 4/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

convenient, easy to load, made moving so quick and trouble free! thank you u-haul

ROSS G on 1/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service

JOHN A on 1/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

On site staff were great, corporate organization scores about a 1/2 out of 10. I got a billing, late notice and lein notice before my belongings were confirmed delivered which took 5 weeks.

DONNA G on 11/25/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

in-store personnel great, but the two people I talked to over phone provided misinformation about your fees and policies.

VENKAT G on 9/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Seattle customer service sucks.

CHARLES C on 8/6/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience with this company was awful. I got an apology and nothing else.

MICHAEL M on 7/23/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little pricey, but otherwise a very good service

MICHAEL T on 6/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The checkout experience in the store is MISERABLE. It took 30 minutes. You guys have got to figure out how to make the experience better. Also, the wood box is a bit concerning. Would prefer metal.

KEN C on 6/12/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Made arrangements to have box delivered at 1pm. My pregnant girlfriend waited at the house that had no furniture. 200 characters not enough space to explain how bad it was.