U-Haul of San Rafael

U-Haul of San Rafael

Share |

Address

1205 Francisco Bl E
San Rafael, CA 94901

(415) 457-8400

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of San Rafael

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of San Rafael

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

TRISH W. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

service was fast and easy!!!!!!

VALERIE K. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff! It's always a pleasure to work with this team!

mary jane p on 8/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints.

PAUL B. on 7/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The equipment was faulty. The parking brake was broken and the truck rolled Down a hill unattended. If not for the speedy action of one of my labor chasing after the truck, climbing through the window and applying the brake property would have been demolished and likely someone would have been hurt. Time to RETIRE that truck from the fleet.

ELIZABETH S. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys were amazing! Went above and beyond to help me and my elderly mother. Thanks U-haul of San Rafael

Karen E. on 7/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My only complaint was that the van smelled like cigarette smoke.

LINDA H. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had not reserved a vehicle and was told that everything was reserved or out, I wanted a van or p/u truck. Anyway, the person in charge then took a look at his computer and said, oh, we do have a van. So I rented the van, picked up my outdoor dining set from Sears-drove home, drove back to U-haul and turned it in. Everything worked perfectly and I do thank the counter person for having a look at his computer to make this happen. Thanks. I always rent from U-Haul at this same location. Mrs. Howe

david l. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well informed and accommodating associates

jacqueline u. on 7/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service at the counter, great truck!

RICHARD C. on 7/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep boxes off floor in front of register

VALERIE B. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

If a customer wants to pick up a trailer at a certain location then make sure it is there.

Cathy L. on 7/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect...

SUSAN W. on 7/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I wanted to rent a 24 foot truck and the only one they had was broken and had not been repaired in months. None were available. More 20 foot trucks. I wanted one sooner and could not reserve it.

ARTHUR P. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff esp. the guy who checked me in.

Charles H. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It is kind of difficult to see the cashiers with the racks of stuff in front of each register station. The staff and equipment were 10 out of 10.

James M. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The foot truck I rented didn't break down (however I only drove it for 40 miles!) Gas gage probably worked, but the "out of gas" light on the dash was lit. When I released the emergency brake the entire instrument panel (plastic) fell off! The outside of the truck had numerous body damage, too much to document prior to my renting the truck. This truck is what I would (if a car) I would call "a beater."

Dan B. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very good service

THOMAS F. on 7/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service. Very happy with my rental.

linda c. on 7/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service and vehicle great. Too bad , but it is always a surprise when the rental rate is 19.95 and the total invoice is 53.75 at the end of the rental. Oh well.

Lee K. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager was really nice and professional

DAN F. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

could use more staff.

JIM R. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

While I was waiting in a truck I was dropping off, my wife was standing in front of, and to the side of the truck. At that moment, one of this dealer's employees, driving another UHaul truck, approached my truck from the rear, very fast, then whipped around my stopped truck to the right and zoomed past me, missing my wife by just inches. When I confronted him later and told him that he almost killed my wife, he said, without even looking at me, "Uh, sorry" and continued walking away, again not even looking at me. Would you also like to hear about the filthly, smelly (reeking of cigarette smoke in the cab) pickup truck whose air conditioning cut out for several hours on the 5 freeway in the hot afternoon sun? And the 1-800 UHaul customer service who told me that my options were to drive a hundred miles out of my way to have the repairs done? And miss my return trip by a day or more?

TROY K. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Super-fast drop-off.

onica m. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They did every thing RIGHT! Excellent sevice all the way ~~ Especially the man who checked me in on Saturday. I wish I would have gotten his name? He went way beyond his duty to help me. And now that I remember also the man who checked me out on Friday gave excellent sevice as well.

Megan O. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was actually excellent. Quick, efficient, friendly. -So very rare these days. I wish I'd gotten the gals name so I could tell you now. She deserves a raise.

Richard H. on 7/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall a good experience.

Valerie K. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Drew (?) if that's his name - - is a very hard working professional person. He seems very overworked. I never got the van checked in and still haven't received a receipt. Your process seems very slow and beauracratic. Doesn't ever seem to be enough employees. I hope you send me my receipt soon.

ALBERTO D. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and fast service I will rent from u-haul again

WALT O. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

What can I say. My experience with the San Rafael U-Haul has always left me Happy, Hungry & Erect. Great, hardworking team you got there.

PATRICIA S. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great. Our sales rep asked questions to make sure we were getting the best truck/type of rental. I would highly recommend them!

BILL D. on 7/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Lower rates!

Gene A. on 7/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Nice employees, website easy to navigate your major problem! Your trucks. They are an embarrassment with all the dents, X marks, scratches, gas guzzling and very unattractive exterior design. I use PENSKE most of the time because I'm assured they will be pretty and clean 95% of the time. Thanks for the opportunity to mention. Good luck. Gene

Linaya F. on 7/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It would be great if there was more parking for the cars of those who have picked up rental vehicles.

enrique l. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was exelent and fast from this place all areas were clean and also the barrooms. Today it was a very hot day, it will nice to have a place were to drink water.

Terry V. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Unhelpful about providing parking while using the rented vehicle.

David R. on 7/6/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff prioritized their own internal non-priority tasks over customer service both on pick up and return.

Kwang C. on 7/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything Good !!!!

Gaye M. on 7/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The wait time was a little long, to get a question answered or get service. I was very happy overall with the service staff and the cost and condition of the vehicle. Thank you to the entire team at San Rafael.

Ken B. on 7/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Transparency in costs from the start. $19.95/day turned into $108 for three hours. Yes, I added blankets, hand cart and insurance which I know where extra but the final cost was nearly double.

roger g. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

good people good service, motorcycle trailer woked out very well

SRINIVAS M. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Very long lines. Took over an hour to even speak to the attendant.

SETH E. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved a 26 foot truck and I was called the day before my move and was informed that they only had a 20 foot truck. Huge problem when you needed the space. Very frustrating and made our move very difficult.

EDWARD K. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I specifically reserved a 26' truck because I wanted to complete the move in one trip and had only one day to do this (for which I took off work). I was told they would not not know until a day or two beforehand whether I they could get the largest truck, but if they had trouble they would notify me of this. Therefore I was relieved when I received an email confirmation Saturday for a 26' truck set to be picked up Monday at 12:15. I also receive a confirming text. Had they not been able to get me a 26' truck or at least a 22' or 24' truck (I have a 20' hang glider and its storage pipe that need to be transported), I would have cancelled the reservation. Unfortunately, when I arrived as schedule at 12:15 Monday afternoon, without comment, a 19' was rented to me! When I expressed surprise at the size of the truck I was told it was all they had. Because I had already taken the day off from work and my ability to do this is limited, I had no choice but to go forward with the rental. As a consequence of this too small truck, the already stressful and difficult job of moving was made that much more expensive, time consuming, and stressful. Specifically, U-hauls failure to deliver as promised had the following unpleasant consequences: 1) I had to make two trips, instead of one; 2) I had to hire two separate sets of workers, because the first set could not remain for a second trip; 3) The second "set" I hired, consisted of one man, since at 6:00 o'clock at night, there are not many anxious to begin work. This means the second load took even longer to complete than the first; 3) Because I had to make two trips, instead of one, and the second was with just one helper, I was the stuck with having to carry heavy furniture down steep and narrow stairs, not something I planned on; 4) Because I had to make two trips, instead of one, and the second was with just one helper, we did not complete the job until 1:30 a.m. and my (former) neighbors called the police on us for making too much noise as we stumbled around loading furniture in the dark. I then went to work the next day on four hours sleep; 5) Because I had to make two trips instead of one, I was charged for twice the mileage I should have been at a rate of 99 cents per mile. And to top it all off, when I called to speak with a manager the next day, I was twice told the manager would be given the message and return my phone call; I'm still waiting.

Martin B. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

when I first called for info, the person became argumentative when I said I would call back rather than reserving right then. When I persisted that I would not reserve right then, he became insulting, saying "you are weird". I later called back to report this to a manager, was told Drew was busy, he would call me. He did not. Three days later I called again, again told the manager Drew was busy, he would call back. Again, he did not. When I picked up the truck, I waited in line for 25 minutes. When I first reserved the truck, I was told I would get a 10% courtesy discount. It took multiple calls after returning the truck to finally get this discount. Overall, I don't think this is the experience you would want your customers to endure. For what it's worth - if you are even paying attention to this.

TRACEY P. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The lines to get the truck on a Sunday were very long. I don't know how to rate this location because I've never been to another location.

knut l. on 6/28/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The total cost was significantly higher than promised over the phone. Personnel need training on how to handle phone inquiries.

Alex O. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was overcharged, Didn't receive the right size equipment, took a very long time, miscommunication between branches. I have used Uhual 5-6 times over the past few months. This location needs improvement as it was my first time being here.

DAVID B. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast, pleasant, excellent all around. Great experience.

Michael h. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The only problem I noticed way the battery light way warning that the battery charaging system way not working.

JOHN C. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a UHaul hitch and wiring installed at a location close to my house on my new SUV. The wiring was not working properly and San Rafael rewired it. Unkn as to if they knew that I bought the insurance re this, they fixed it. took couple hrs, but I really needed the trailer. No add cost and fixed.

GERARD B. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The door on the cargo van trailer was almost detached due to broken rivets. The trailer should have been inspected before the rental.

WALTER O. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Where to begin, I approached the San Rafael U-Haul like a majestic antelope; careful not to frighten it away. It was the most beautiful corner lot I've ever seen. The trucks were all lined up PERFECTLY. no trash, no filth. I can only assume they have an elite staff, second to none. Entering the building I see a man behind the counter who calls himself Drew Bates. His part time job is Managing that facility... His full time job is being the sexiest man alive. After completion..... of my contract, I walk outside and see Luis, he was standing there in the breeze. His beautiful ponytail swishing around like the amazing rear section of a Unicorn. He got me set up with my truck & supplies, whispered the secret to love in my ear, and sent me off. The following day I returned for an Auto Transport. Jon took me outside, he looked at the trailer, then at my truck. Placing two fingers on his temple and closing his eyes, he levitated the trailer across to lot and dropped it behind the truck!! I shit you not! I told him that I've never seen anything like that before! He told me that was nothing and levitated MY truck on to the trailer like it was nothing... My mind couldn't handle what I had seen so I passed out....... When I woke, a strange little boy called Cody was licking my face, so I left quickly... Cody was strange.

MARK H. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks to Drew and the staff. They are always professional and courteous.

Xenia Z. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Please stop advertising $19.95, even with the clausal asterisk, it is a lie. I got screwed on the so-called online"package deal", the guy denied having any knowledge of it until I showed him the email and i ended up paying $89.00 for using a cargo van less than 2 hrs, for a less than 10 mi. move. Also, the tank was not full when I first received the can, yet I still got charged for that as well.

mike s. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was all good. I particularly appreciated being met as I returned the truck, and having my bill calculated and run right there, with no waiting at all.

NEIL A. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I actually had a bad experience. I was scheduled for a 9 am pick up, and when I go there, there was a huge line and I got my truck late and had to pay workers who were waiting for me. I also had a hand dolly that was broken, with broken welds creating a danger, so did not use it for fear of liability with my workers. I will use a different company in the future unless you make it right to me

Elizabeth R. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Needs to be staffed a bit heavier on Sunday. Waited for an hour to pick up my van. The staff was efficient and professional there just were not enough of them.

megan a. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Booked in advance, but they didn't have the rental available. Very disorganized. The associates weren't bad, but someone obviously made a big mistake and it screwed up my weekend. Never again!

SYLVIA A. on 6/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with this experience! !yes I would recommend to a friend....they were very professional,and answered all my questions in a professional manner..thanks

SUSAN B. on 6/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This place was packed with people once you're done waiting the people at the counter do their best. U-haul prices have gone up so much I will not rent a U-Haul again! I rented a trailer my trip was 135 miles and I'll just say I could have bought a trailer for what they charged!

brad j. on 6/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The van we rented was in excellent shape. The check in and check out process was efficient.

ALISON G. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

customer service is great here.

R SCOTT S. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really a seamless, pleasant experience - really essential at the start of a not so fun moving day. :) Thanks for all the hard work making sure everything worked flawlessly.

Richard L. on 6/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent. Anselmo Boccone did a great job in the initial rental and on the return as well.

olivia c on 6/13/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

A chair was smashed when the box arrived. Almost beyond repair

Steven A. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff and convenient service. Only complaint is that there was a little confusion with my reservation, but it was cleared up without too much hassle.

dirk o. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

this time it was perfect!

Maggie C. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well run operation and efficient and accommodating staff.

Robin W. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

this is the second time I've rented here and the staff is always exceptionally helpful!

LISA S. on 6/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you Drew and Jen

oxana w. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

dropped off after hours. No problems

Jesse T. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

the parking was very crowded because there were so many rental trucks clumped up near the 'drive way' and it made moving or parking your car difficult. please put cars waiting to be rented in the far corner so there is more space for visitors to manuever and park

CHARLES T. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Total jerks!!!! The staff is incredibly rude and the GM is a jackass.

rein s. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It's all good.

CLARENCE L. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Although I would preferred non-smoking vehicle, I had to rent what was available, therefore, I responded with "not applicable" Thank you Michael at Tam U-Haul for booking a truck on such short notice

WANDA C. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience. Thank you.

JOHN V. on 6/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys here were GREAT!

eddie L. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfied with the service until they charged me over $600 for 50 miles. But They refunded the money. They should get the employees more training and have them pay more attention to details.

Reda S. on 6/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was excellent, the staff competent and helpful, you are tops, but the mileage cost needs to be about half to make it work for me in the future.

ALEX B. on 6/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Well it was weird that nobody was at the desk this morning.

PETER F. on 6/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Reserved on line. Cargo van was waiting for me when I arrived. Clean and ready to go. The return process was fast and efficient.

NICOLE P. on 6/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great with the truck and the whole rental experience. Jon at the San Rafael location was incredibly kind and helpful and provided exceptional customer service. Thank you for everything!

Timothy W on 6/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Lock on one box was destroyed. Person that referred me had lock ripped off door. I am seeing a pattern.

AMIR E. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was frustrated to find out that I couldn't keep the truck for the whole day. It's odd to me that if I had simply changed my reservation for a whole day when I made it rather than taking the recommended 6 hours that I would have had it for a whole day. And it wouldn't have cost me any more. I think the site should default to whole days.

LISA W. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The service is awful and also the truck had too many dollies in the back also we DID NOT WANT THE INSURANCE FOR TRUCK - We were ripped off - WE DID NOT REQUEST AND YOUR COMPANY WON;T GIVE US THE CREDIT BACK

RACHEL G. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

New employees don't seem to get much training before helping people. He didn't know answers to any questions. Did not tell me about having the truck back at a certain time. However the young man that hooked up my trailer when I picked it up was super helpful and thorough!!

Eric B. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This location seriously needs to get faster computers, printer/ internet connection, etc.! The time it took to process each customer with the system was ridiculous. The counter person spent the majority of time waiting for the system to "think" / process each step. Also, this poor hard working counter person was all by himself, serving many, many customers on a busy Saturday afternoon. Cody was excellent, but severely hampered by an inadequate computer system, and lack of co-workers to staff the counter. Overall a disappointing customer service experience; get more staff and A BETTER COMPUTER SYSTEM! The truck itself was fine.

NEHA P. on 6/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I got there early so I was able to get in and out very quickly. Usually, the wait time is fairly long. Nice staff. Vehicle very clean.

David F. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wow, great service picking up and returning. San Rafael is really on the ball these days. It was a pleasure to deal with people that care about their jobs and do it well.

bryan f. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well run, excellent customer service

ALAN K. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went off quickly without a single hitch. The vehicle was ready as scheduled and I was out the door promptly. And, the return process was just as efficient. I would like to see you build your risk of equipment damage loss into your rental price rather than operate it as a separate (highly) profitable enterprise.

ROSE B. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The whole experience was easy and smooth. No problems or issues.

STEVE R. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

In particular the guy who I dealt with was great. Very professional.

ROBERT B. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hire more employees like Monica.

JEANETTE R. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Tie down the dolly I ordered with the truck. =)

donald h. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Location is very under staffed during high volume times.

ROBERT L. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Again, don't really have any comparison experience for rating the location.

bonnie a. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Another driveway might help make pickup a little smoother/quicker.

jon m. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a long line that took a long time. You must have been under-staffed... The Tam Valley location is much easier and faster.

Jon M. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Just once it would be nice if the equipment I reserved was actually available when it was promised. We laugh about it: "What will we end up with this time?"

WILLIAM N. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Return space is limited, billing was correct, no notes to confirm verbal details on credit for less than ordered pads and more fuel at return than at pick up.

GEOFF B. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anselm was very professional and knowlegable. Great customer service Thank you

Chris M. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was the best experience I've had at this location, it was all new people I haven't seen before and they were very nice and efficient. It was a consistently terrible experience to visit this location for the last few years so I'm very happy it seems to have improved.

John S on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

One staff younger, male - didn`t get his name was particularly helpful throughout the process - making sure I have what I need, and providing tips on how to maximize my ubox :

CYNTHIA V. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were quoted more free miles than we were actually given. Over the phone we heard 150 miles per day but were only given 100 miles per day. Otherwise, everything was fine.

ARNOLD B. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was significant damage to the front end of the truck and obviously previous renters smoked in the truck making it a health hazard to non smokers.

ANTHONY B. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I dropped off the truck with 3/4 tank and I picked it up with less than 1/4 tank. I was charged a late fee, insurance and over mileage. The price I paid for the gas is equal to the charges. I should be refunded the charges as the gas was the same price.

DAVID C. on 5/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check out process less cumbersome. Check in at end of rental very quick. Overall much improved experience over old times.

MARK M. on 5/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Trailer was not clean and the attendant said it's illegal to clean it? Would be nice to get a clean one 'on the outside'.

JOHN K. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

On site immigrant workers hanging around driveway of facility might be useful to some, intimidating to others... U-Haul management needs to figure that one out. Overall, though, my rental experience positive.

Bill B on 5/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You`re lucky to have Drew as an employee.

Robert R. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great overall experience

ROBERT M. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT

Justin M. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I think your initial price of $19.95 is mis-leading, after you tack on all of the other charges.

VALERI G. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you

NIRA L R. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I ordered an appliance dolly but failed to be on the truck. MOD said they were short handed but things flowed pretty smoothly. Overall good experience??

John C. on 5/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is excellent

inger l. on 5/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was fast and easy

Tim S. on 5/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

confusion on check in when I was told my bill would be $5.54 as he checked his smart phone. I knew it would not be that amount but he was convinced. He did remove the trailer quickly and provided fast service. He had a smile in his voice and wanted to provide good service

LES B. on 4/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Location mis-handled the fuel and overcharged me for Fuel despite returning the vehicle with a fuel level well in excess of what it was when i took out the van.

Sharon N. on 4/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was perfection. I would only suggest that the gas tank be completely full..not just "almost"....There is no way to know how much to refill it to "amost" full again...so had to completely fill it, at I'm sure, at extra cost. But, thanks for everything else.

Aaron B. on 4/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It took 45 minutes to pick up my truck. Have more staff on hand when it is known that a lot of customers will be picking up first thing in the morning.

Monica B on 4/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Box was not delivered on time. Staff was extraordinarily unhelpful and had no idea when the box would arrive. Absolutely terrible experience.

PAUL W. on 4/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Just staff to interact with clients so you feel appreciated & wanted

MARY S. on 4/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service and "Anselmo" is the best

RAMSEY A. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great crew and truck ran like a champ. Was set up fast and the drop off was fast also..

pamela w. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The two employees present were helpful and efficient.

HERB P. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Sunday morning 9:00am and one person to wait on customers with 8 to 10 customers in line. I had to wait 40 minutes to rent a trailer which I had pre-registered for online when I made the reservation.

Shawn B. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They were closed when I got there only because the location I picked up my uhaul from was a total disaster.

AMBER P. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The 10' truck I reserved was not actually available so as a poor substitute I was given a pickup truck to move my 1-bedroom apartment. It took multiple trips, instead of 1, and I had to pay for extra gas, bridge tolls and time for the movers, which cost me way more yhsn ever expected. This was a real dissapoiintment and very costly move because Uhaul did not provide what I was promised.

Brian M on 4/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

General manager Drew was outstanding to work with

Alberto S. on 4/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service!!!! I was in and out in less than 10 minutes. Also, they are open until 8 o'clock which was very convenience for me.

ian h. on 4/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff were great. In particular Drew. Never met a Drew I didn't like. Thanks guys. Well done.

emma v. on 4/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very good.....thanks..

Rosalie P. on 4/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Pickup was very quick & efficient. Return was not quick as my van was showing as already checked in and it took at least 15 minutes to reverse transaction and check me in correctly.

Samuel R. on 4/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It took an hour to get through the line to pick up the item I reserved online. I thought that was unacceptable. There was only one person a the counter checking everyone in, and selling equipment. On a high volume weekend day, there should be more staff onsite

ORLANDO V. on 4/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

need to work on customer service. Employees do not give full attention to one customer at a time. Too much multi tasking.

Philip R. on 4/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Had a reservation for a Uhaul AT in Napa, CA and when I went to pick it up, they had rented it to someone else, even though it was reserved for me and they knew it. WT...? How does that happen? Unhappy is not the word... After speaking with Uhaul on the phone, they found a trailer but I had to travel 40 miles to retrieve it. This San Rafael Uhaul dealer has a nice yard, excellent customer service, they hooked me up. Having to drive an extra 80 miles sucked but things eventually worked out.

nancy m. on 4/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went well. Staff were great!

ALYSON Z. on 4/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very long line when I arrived and only one person checking people in. Waited in line for 20 minutes. Paid for a dolly and when I got to my destination it was not in the van. Had to return to pick it up. Other than that store associates were very helpful and friendly.

lee p. on 4/10/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The cost seemed exorbitant to drop off the vehicle trailer at my destination city 40 miles away - something like 3x as much.

WILL A. on 4/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had an odd situation where I rented a truck for a quick trip on Easter. Oops, the dump was closed, and San Rafael Uhaul could not have been more accomodating. I had originaly rented a trailer, then decided a truck was a better option. It all worked great. Monica there was professional and friendly and checked me back in today quickly with an iphone!

ROCHELLE K. on 4/7/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was in order, the truck was comfortable and clean. No glitches whatsoever.

HEATHER T. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I called ahead because I was going to be 30 minutes late compared to what time I rented the 10 foot truck three days before. The woman on the phone said that they would not give me any grace period and would charge me another full day if I returned it half an hour late. When I arrived, a young man who had helped me check out also help me check back in and he was friendly and helpful and reasonable. Great customer serviceby him, not her. Too bad because I am usually very pro females... Thanks

ANGLIQUE N. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was misquoted the price for the installation of my hitch - although I requested to rent a trailer at the exact same time that I ordered the hitch install, I was not quoted the wiring labor and the cost AFTER installation ended up being over $200 more than my original quote. Additionally, I was quoted a price for a 5X8 trailer when I asked for a 4X8 trailer. I noticed the charge and asked for the less expensive 4X8, my charge was cancelled and my credit card denied after we attempted to recharge me for the 4X8. I encountered overpricing and delays, putting stress into the start of my move. It was not a great experience.

Tyler B. on 4/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service clean truck clean store organized. They forgot the dolly know big deal hey reimbursed me. Only thing wrong was truck needed a wheel alignment other than that I was satisfied

Alisha M on 2/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

.

NANCY M on 12/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We weren`t told that we had to number boxes and list all items to move overseas. We had to make a trip back to the States from Singapore to do this. We used a different company to ship overseas.

Barry T on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone very helpful and courteous. Had rented a trailer but when I saw the U-Box opted for that instead.

john anita f on 11/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor service and zero communication

STEVEN C on 4/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lock and hasp were torn off of my unit when I received it and there were a number of things missing from my U-box.

BETH C on 3/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager was very helpful and even offered to let us have a lock in case we needed to lock up our U-Box in between trips as our lock had partially broken during shipment.

JAMEY G on 3/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Box itself is a bit expensive but our experience with delivery and pickup has been excellent and we wish to commend UHaul Delivery Associate Sandy on outstanding customer service.

HEIDI H on 3/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sandy the delivery person was the best part of all. She was super friendly and professional.

PEDRO R on 2/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was attended by Becky. Never did Becky make eye contact with me although I was sitting directly in front of her, and she continuously responded that she did not know the answer to my questions.

RACHAEL T on 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would recomend a larger size for a one bedroom/studio and and I have very few Items.

ANDREW P on 12/23/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well staffed and staff very helpful. Everything went great.

MONIQUE C on 11/26/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Slightly misleading saying it is $79.95 when it is $300 to deliver!

JUDITH B on 10/17/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The u-box was ready when i went to pick it up. it was not delivered.

MARK J on 10/4/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the uhaul delivery gal was brilliant and apologized to me on behalf of san rafael uhaul. they did not call me to schedule a window for delivery and the uhaul customer service people were useless.

MARI J on 9/29/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It was incredibly difficult to access my box I called in advance multiple times and yet no one was able to help and the box was not accessible when I showed up

JOHN B on 9/11/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very hard to communicate with San Rafael store. They didn`t return calls and call center couldn`t resolve issues. Only one man was authorized to handle UBox which created wait times over 3 hrs!

LEE K on 8/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The driver picking up the ubox`s was awesome!

NANCY D on 8/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were helpful hitching up the trailer and treated us with kind regard.

GREG C on 8/3/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Manager lost staff, no one to deliver box. I was not called - had to pay men when no box. I did get free truck to drive box myself next day. U-Haul did not meet an agreed on and contracted deadline.

NANCY D on 7/29/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At the start of the process I couldn`t find my box, I was told it would be put in the parking lot by 4 p.m. Label boxes to be less generic. Anthony was best in terms of customer service.

BENJAMIN T on 7/24/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Bad service, broke my lock and did not replace until i demanded it.

TAMARA B on 7/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at San Rafeal are exceptional. They went out of their way to ensure all boxes were accessed easily and called me on the phone instead of making me wait, tt time of payment. 5 Stars!

LONNER H on 7/14/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager at the san rafael, california store, christopher, was fantastic as well as the two men working under him. telephone customer service i found untrained confusing, though friendly.

ELI C on 7/9/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I cannot express how much I hate this company in 200 characters or less. This has been the worst experience of my life.

ADRIANE R on 7/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Especially Walt who fixed a major problem with my account that would have had the Ubox going to the wrong town. I loaded at the Uhaul site and everyone there was really helpful.

RYAN L on 5/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service from Chris and staff at San Rafael

RICHARD K on 4/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

convenient, easy to load, made moving so quick and trouble free! thank you u-haul

ROSS G on 1/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service

JOHN A on 1/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

On site staff were great, corporate organization scores about a 1/2 out of 10. I got a billing, late notice and lein notice before my belongings were confirmed delivered which took 5 weeks.

DONNA G on 11/25/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

in-store personnel great, but the two people I talked to over phone provided misinformation about your fees and policies.

VENKAT G on 9/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Seattle customer service sucks.

CHARLES C on 8/6/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience with this company was awful. I got an apology and nothing else.

MICHAEL M on 7/23/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little pricey, but otherwise a very good service

MICHAEL T on 6/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The checkout experience in the store is MISERABLE. It took 30 minutes. You guys have got to figure out how to make the experience better. Also, the wood box is a bit concerning. Would prefer metal.

KEN C on 6/12/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Made arrangements to have box delivered at 1pm. My pregnant girlfriend waited at the house that had no furniture. 200 characters not enough space to explain how bad it was.