U-Haul of San Rafael

U-Haul of San Rafael

Share |

Address

1205 Francisco Bl E
San Rafael, CA 94901

(415) 457-8400

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of San Rafael

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of San Rafael

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

MELANIE S. on 9/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck rental was ok but the representative on the phone told me that there was 1st floor storage which was absolutely untrue. It was very inconvenient & ended up costing me extra miles & an extra day on the truck just to drive to the supposed 1st floor storage space which did not exist.

COLLEEN P. on 9/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I don't like the billing system, where you have to estimate the miles you'll be driving. When we returned the van, we weren't charged for actual miles. I'm still not sure (three days later) what we actually paid for the rental.

Giselle K. on 9/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The price is right, but this was the second time I rented a van recently and this one really stank of dog. I mean, wet filthy dog. I may not return to this location because it is just disgusting. Check out van from yesterday and tell me if I'm wrong.

AMANDA W. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Upfront about renters responsibility for filling up the tank.....I had asked on 2 separate occasions "Ok all I'm paying for is the rental & mileage".....the gas responsibility was no big deal however it was never communicated at time of reservation

Robert C. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved a furniture dolly and one was not available when I picked up the truck. Please make sure that equipment that is requested and reserved is available. Also, the mileage rate for an in town move is ridiculous.

DON B. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We had no air in one tire after we loaded trailer w our stuff. Called them and they sent someone over in one hour to replace whole tire. All went well next day as we drove to our new home. We brought it back twenty six hours early but no discount. Would have made us even happier! Thank u

MICHAEL H. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Lacked the correct wrench to change the ball size.

JERRY B. on 9/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is an awful location. There are scary people lurking around the lot that come up to your window and scare the hell out of you. They try to give you the worst equipment available at first. After you check out the bald tires and lights that do not work, they then pick the next rolling pile of junk and make you take that. Ignoring decent equipment sitting right there in the lot! Be advised, go to a different company if possible! All that being said, the Santa Rosa location off Todd Ave. is even worse! Which hardly seems possible. The Roseville main location is great! Mathew Wood treats you decently and would never try to force a rolling piece of junk on you. Beware people!

JAMES T. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Fix the POS system. it really slowed down the rental process as it was buggy at the time of pick up.

ERIC E. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Delineate/designate customer parking more clearly. Professional counter staff - - nice.

ayse m. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I helped move an elderly poor and handicapped person and at the end got an unexpected charge of 40% more in taxes and gas charges. Was not informed of these at the beginning! Wrong customer service. Very disappointed.

TATE H. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. I'll be back

STEVEN B. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It took far too long to obtain the rental. The site is understaffed and U-Haul's technology and forms are antiquated. Cheaper and more efficient rentals are available from a nearby location.

NANCY D. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The GM was great to work with and very professional!

Ted L. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I returned the truck on the EXACT fuel setting as when I rented it - we only traveled 27 TOTAL miles - I put 2.5 gal of fuel in the Truck prior to my return - have the receipt When I received the email receipt I was charged for 5.3 gals of fuel !!!! $29.15 - after I had put 2.5 ....that would indicate the truck burned 7.8 gal of gas to go 27 miles Very Disappointed in this blatant attempt to garner additional rental revenue and am Disputing this charge TL

VICTORIA S. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More counter people would be helpful. Some of the people are courteous and professional others are not. Perhaps some customer service training might be very helpful.

EMILY R. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff. Equipment clean, ready to go, easy to use. Only down-side is would have been nice to have more than 1 person working front desk on a Sunday morning to help expedite the line.

Wendy H. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service was excellent. They went above & beyond to help me with my rental needs.

RICHARD P. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was actually very impressed how fast and organized this location was.

EDA K. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a mix up with getting a dolly, which was an honest mistake. However, when I called about it twice, both times I was told that I would receive a call back shortly from the correct person, and neither time did that happen. I finally just went back to the store. That made the whole process take much longer.

DAVID D. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work !

rein s. on 8/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always happy with Uhaul.

JASON Y. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had to pick up two Uboxes at this location. The only issue I had was that the representative that took the call at the uhaul customer service number (not the rental location) promised that my rental (trailer, pickup, and Ubox) would be ready within 30-40 minutes of my phone call. But when I got there the staff informed me that customer service rep promised too much in too little time. Subsequently I had to wait over an hour while they extracted the Uboxes from a warehouse down the street, hooked up the trailer, loaded the Ubox, etc. I do not believe the folks at the San Rafael location could have done anything better - the issue was customer service promising too much. I think what needs to happen is customer service should quote a reasonable time based on talking someone at the location, and then have the customer receive a confirmation call (or better yet, a text message) from the actual location saying "your Ubox and vehicle rental are ready" so there aren't any broken promises and wasted time. Easy fix: always call the location first to confirm that everything is in fact ready and waiting rather than take customer service's word for it.

Serita B. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Not used to having issues and in the scheme of things not a huge deal, but; Customer service rep at check-in was quite abrupt/rude. No one went over the vehicle (14' truck ) with me, simply left keys in ignition running . There was a screw in right front tire and the transmission kept popping down to 3rd gear from "D" and getting stuck there. I fueled up the vehicle to within 1-2 'lines' of where it was when I picked it up and yet I was charged $70 (!!!!!!!) for fuel! I'm not even sure how that was possible. In the middle of move, working & school full-time each & so little time to deal with contesting, but will certainly be using a different rental company next time I move!

Tate H. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'll be back

evan l. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We had to wait for approximately a half an hour or more for our vehicle. It seemed like they may have been understaffed.

PAUL R. on 8/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff were very courteous and friendly. It was a pleasure to rent a van at this location.

peter h. on 8/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Clean the outside so that the customer can inspect for damage Too many boxes and products blocking the entrance

JOHN U. on 8/20/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I picked up the truck on saturday morning. There was only 1 person to help us. It took over an hour to serve us. I turned the truck in on sunday and they didn't check the truck in until wed… I had to call 4 times before they "found" the truck… This sucked!

JIM H. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pick up of vehicle took an hour - manager was vacation and store didn't appear to be adequately staffed

sofia g. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

More communication on UHauls end between the two location and within each location. Both times I used UBoxes, the people working at the front desk were unaware how to work the UBox system

eric a. on 8/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Bryan took excellent care of our needs

MARIANNA H. on 8/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the guys that helped me was very good!

ERICA H. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great !!! Staff was efficient , friendly, helpful ~ in and out quick like

MATT M. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There was only one person working on a Saturday morning which is unacceptable. The employees were fine but I expect management to staff more people on a Saturday morning.

KENNAN B. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We had an expensive guitar (15K) stolen when we were in the process of moving - most likely it was stolen by one or both of the workers we hired to help us move who were soliciting on your property. We understand that these are no U-Haul employees - therefore it is not the fault of U-Haul that this happened - however we will never hire similar type of workers again to assist us with anything.

Bill P. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely superb service. First class in all aspects. Well done. Thank you!

ellen c. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck was great and the employees, especially at return, were super helpful and friendly and made the check in and out process a breeze.

ROSIE E. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was flawless....

Jimmy P. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A+++++

Harold M. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Rent pickups to another drop off location

William S. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I don't know it was frustrating - the guy said the truck had a 1/4 tank; but really it was 1/8 tank. I did not realize this until I'd pulled away from the location. So I called the number and was told it was no problem, the system would be updated and should just return with 1/8 tank of gas -- which I tried to do but the system had not been updated, the call I made was noted in the record but they still said I need to add gas or pay a $50 refueling feel (for about $8 worth of gas). So I had to go add more gas. It was an enormous hassle all because your San Rafael location did it's job poorly.

DEBORAH M. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick, easy, no-hassle drop off. Perfect UHaul experience!

stephen h. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Employee Cody was very helpful and is an asset to the company.

VIRGINIA T. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a problem with the computers and I had to wait for over 30 minutes to get my pre-reserved van. No apologies, no discount, nothing. I think you should at least apologize to the customer and explain to the 6 people in line behind her, on a Saturday morning, what is going on.

Patrick W. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer Parking consists of 7 spaces? Customers have to drive through truck yard to get to a nearly nonexistent parking area. Dangerous. But thanks anyway, you had exactly what I needed when I needed it.

jeffrey c. on 8/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Picked up trailer on time, was able to drop off early. Was an overall good experience.

Giselle K. on 8/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was happy for the good price, so I do not mean to complain here. This is just a point where things could be better. The truck had food debris in the bed, like a sack of dry goods had spilled out at some point. It's kind of gross. I had to sweep it out myself, and put down blankets. The truck was just returned that morning so it was a quick turnaround, so maybe it had not been fully inspected. Otherwise, you can't beat the price with Uhaul, and I am a returning customer.

David B. on 8/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Pickup was dirty when I picked it up, even keys had grease on them. When I returned it I was charged a $100 cleaning fee, this is ridiculous.

MOLLIE C. on 8/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not really !

gay v. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I know that due to the drought, you are not allowed to wash the outside of the vehicles, but may you could hand wash them periodically. They are very dirty

ROSE C. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Rental was very easy. Staff at the location, as well as over the phone, were helpful.

Dina G. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

waiting a long time in line to get to sign contract, everything else was great!

JANICE G. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

FLAT TIRE ON CAR CARRIER, TOOK AWAY 1 1/2 HOUR DELAYED MY TRIP. WALK AROUND MAN WAS RUDE IN AM WHEN I PICKED UP TRUCK, ASKED HIM TO PLEASE PULL UP MY SEAT FOR ME , AS I AM 70 AND DID NOT KNOW HOW, HE EVENTUALLY DID AFTER TELLING ME IT WAS "NOT HIS JOB". DISRESPECT NOTED. NEW MANAGER WAS INFORMED AND HE WAS GOOD ABOUT IT, AND HAD THE TIRE CHANGED PERSONALLY,--GOOD NEW MANAGER, POOR WORKER.(WORKER DID NOT WANT TO CHANGE TIRE. WHEN INQUIRING ABOUT RENTAL SEVERAL WEEKS BEFORE HAND, WAS NOT TOLD TO RESERVE THEN AS i LOST $ 100 DOLLARS ON PRICE JUMP, COULD HAVE SAVED ME HAD I BEEN TOLD. i HAVE HAD TROUBLE LONG PAST AT SAME LOCAL UHAUL. WAS ALSO TOLD IN SAN RAFAEL THAT "AS A COURTESY, HEMET UHAUL WOULD UNLOAD ME CAR FOR ME'" NOT TRUE. TRIED TO UPGRADE TO 20 FT TRUCK, NONE AVAILABLE, HAD TO STUFF CAR LAST MINUTE. HEMET WAS TOO BUSY FOR ONLY TWO AT COUNTER HELP, MANAGER AND ONE LADY. THEY WERE GREAT HELP THOUGH COMPAIRED TO SAN RAF LOCATION.

WOODY R. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

While waiting in line to drop off the trailer, one of the staff members yelled, "HEY! Get over here" as if I was wasting his time --- it was unbelieveably rude. Upon stopping he lifted the trailer off my trailer-hitch and pointed for me to get back in my car and "Get out of here." I've never had service so terrible in my life. I paid over 200 dollars only to have to pick-up and drop off location changed several times (apparently the Mill Valley location didn't have enough space for us). A contract is a contract here, and if I'm spending a large amount of money (for me), I would certainly hope for a better experience. I am very disappointed in Uhaul.

guadalupe r. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very long wait times at the counter. Better staffing ratios.

LISA B. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ray was excellent in accomodating an earlier pick up for us saving us precious time and that was very appreciated. Thanks

mark d. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The person working the front desk, the young gentleman, was extremely professional and courteous. He had numerous people in line and kept calm under pressure while everybody was waiting to be serviced.

leana b. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have hard time understanding the bill, I was quoted 1 price not the same as the actual charge. Also I never got the trolly I ordered.

Lawrance S. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service from your employees was very courteous and straight forward. Great experience.

STEVE H. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

When I called the corporate HQ to make my initiall reservations they gave me misleading information regarding the vehicle and its availability. However, Jonathan Oconnor at the pick up facility was very helpfull, corrected the problems and made my experience as I had expected. He was excellent!

LUIS T. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service us great.Thank you

Jonathan H. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Poor entrance/exit signage for customers

Walter L. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Xcellent service!

Gail S. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Give a phone number that will allow you to talk to someone at that location. I lost several pad locks. Couldn't ask if left in truck because got someone. At another. Location. Otherwise everything great. Thankd

michelle l. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

the rental truck I rented gave me 1/4 tank of gasoline. I have to move to Pittsburgs CA Eastbay with no idea how much gasoline I needed. It was more simple just to fill up full tank $71.30. As the result, I left more the 1/2 tank when return the truck. I was hoping for reimbursements, but I learn in the hard way your policy do not reimbursed gasoline if over fill the tank. This is rotten policy. I am not very good to figure out such. Manage to drive moving truck already overwhelming. I am not doing this everyday. People are in hurry and stress in moving. Who spent times to read TINY PRINTED POLICY PURPOSELY for us to sign deceitful contract? the way you charge $30.00 fee + $5.50 per galon of gasoline if not return the same fuel and yet you do not refund the over fill gasoline. Are you getting rich yet? I bet you are trillionaire by now. Let me tell you bad news, when you die, you cannot take A PENNY with you but your good or bad names you left behind. I spit to your left eye.

MARILYN I. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have more people working at the front counter to check in people.

Aimee M. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When I arrived the one clerk who was working the front desk alone couldn't explain your payment scale. Why does it say that you rent the truck for $39.00 and it ends up costing $120.00? The truck was not inspected and it's condition was not reviewed with me prior to my driving it away. The back of the truck flew open while I was driving and I almost lost the dolly on the drive home. ei: the dolly nearly ended up through someone's windshield. The entire truck shook and rattled as I drove it away but I was in a hurry and had to be back at the drop off in 4 hours so I took it anyway. The transmission felt and sounded as though it was blowing up every 20 minutes. I returned at at 6pm and there were 7 people in line to return their vehicles. There was ONE clerk. When I went to the garage and the clerk who had rented me the "TRUCK" 4 hours prior was working under a Jeep, he told me he could help. I waited 40 minutes. REALLY tomorrow I want to talk to someone from your company. This will be posted publicly? Then the public should know…Don't rent from this company

suveen s. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

i am plannign to file a suit against u-haul. you guys gave me a bad truck with three tires that burst and risked my life,, you are the most irresponsible compnay and a sham. i brought the pooor state of the truck to your employee's notice as soon as i had driven a mile and eturned it. yet you guys confirmed that the truck was good to go.. you are the worst company that i have ever seen. i have alll the evidence of the truck with em which i am going to be posting in my legal suit . you have no right to play with the lives of yuor customers

CHRIS A. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck was dirty. Fuel gauge showed below a 1/2, but guy argued with me that it was. Got frustrated and just let it go. Worst uhaul service I've ever had. Makes me question ever using them again.

CHUCK H. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Call me as soon as possible so I can go over this by phone. There were a lot of things that went wrong and this little box won't hold all my comments. Chuck Handelin, Original Construction Co. 1 415 459 4430

MARY O. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service needs improvement, line very long. Only one customer service rep.

Cathy N. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Yesterday was very hot and I was nice and cool in the truck I rented. Great air conditioning!

DAREK B. on 7/25/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Took forever to get the trailer attached to the uhaul pickup, i was there almost an hour. Ridic.

sam w. on 7/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your team was very helpful and were able to get me on my way very quickly. I was on an 1800 mile road trip to pick up a car and without even thinking only called the day before for a tow dolly. You guys are awesome. The lady that assisted us stayed with us till we were on our way. I was very grateful, I still needed to drive 850 miles that day to get home. Thanks for the help and the use of the dolly. Sam and Mary

Romans V. on 7/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I took 17' truck, drove 22 miles and put 7 galons in the tank, so truck makes 3 miles per gallon!! That is a lot even for that old truck.

FERMIN A. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great! Thanks Drew!

Diane B. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The process was quick and efficient. Very easy and less expensive for a small move. Worked perfect for us.

CJAISEY D. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing needs improving. Check-out went quickly. A very nice guy :-)

LINDA F. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

1. Put a lock on the truck for one way customers to use. Do you think people who are traveling a longer distance, i.e., to a location in another town, are LESS in need of a lock to lock up their belongings in the truck than someone who is traveling a short distance within town? The answer should be no. You should know better and I should not have to purchase a lock just because I am moving out of town rather than within town. Poor, poor customer service. 2) I could not pick the drop off location I needed in Sacramento because it was not listed on the San Rafael location's drop off list. This made it so I had to go back and forth on the phone three different times with corporate U-Haul once I reached Sacramento, and I did not appreciate having to do this, especially when Stefanie at Sacramento U-Haul Corporate was amazingly rude and gave me unnecessary grief over needing to drop the truck off at the 65th Street location, when she had "chosen" another location for me without my knowledge or consent. Ridiculously poor service.

JAMES C. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

not enough people working at the rental counter. Took forever to rent the van

CHRISTOPHER H. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have a separate line for people with reservations.

TIMOTHY S. on 7/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service.

Sara L. on 7/17/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I would say the cab of the truck was filthy dirty and dusty - was hesitant to touch steering wheel. I did not like having all the Latino men hanging in parking lot looking for work - very uncomfortable. I had to park in last open space and they were standing at end of space so that I could not pull into parking space fully.

CHRISTINE M. on 7/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The customer service rep who brought my truck to me drove it up like he was driving a Mustang, tearing out of the space and screeching to a halt in front of me. He then went into the office and yelled for someone to move their car," ASAP" and then forgot to include my two packs of moving blankets after he was told to do so by the customer service rep. This forced me to return from Richmond (another 5$ toll and a massive inconvenience.) Other than nepotism I can't for the life of me figure out how this kid got that job.

TOM C. on 7/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Huge turnaround since the last time I was there!

SUSAN P. on 7/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really like all the helpful folks at the San Rafael branch. I use U haul almost every year for some project and you guys are GREAT

Richard N. on 7/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rented a "4x7" utility trailer that was actually only 43 inches wide. This should be advertised as a 3.5x7 (though 4x7 is even painted on the trailer) or at least customers should have this pointed out to them. Admittedly I hooked up and left the lot without checking it out myself. I had two 46 inch wide boxes that I had intended to place crosswise, so it was a nuisance to have to put them lengthwise, but stacked.

Philip C. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was disappointed with the way you handled my online reservation. If I had wanted to rent a trailer from your El Cerrito location, I would have specified that in my reservation. From now on I will contact the San Rafael location directly via telephone.

CATHY N. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck I reserved was not available at the scheduled prearranged time. I was given a larger truck for the same rental price and that was good but the truck was too big. I broke branches on several trees when I pulled up into my driveway to get to the garage and unload the truck. This would not have happened with the 10' truck.

charles s. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

State that you can not deliver to the address I asked for before I book. It was shipped to a place 50 miles frome my destination.

RICHARD C. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice efficient employees Receiving and returning easy

jean h. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I thought I my reservation was "express" but still had to stand in line for 30+ minutes to get waited on.

MATTHEW M. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We waited for over 10 minutes to be helped, better staffing.

RORI E. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff seem completely disinterested in basic customer satisfaction.

STEPHEN G. on 7/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

terrible communication, inability to perform job provided, failure to take responsibility for mistakes, work performed left electronics non-functional. Bad experience with this location and with phone representatives.

Henning K. on 7/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

there were only two folks to help customers and it was kind of a long wait... but once it was my turn, the guy who helped me was really nice and very efficient.

METTE N. on 7/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly, but incompetent on procedures. Why do I use a credit card to secure my truck, then have to give you the card again to pay for it? Something is wrong with this procedure. We have made the mistake twice now (last experience as well). The thing is I reserved the car using my card, and then my husband pays for it on his card. Unfortunately, I got charged and my husband got my refund when we went fewer miles than expected. It's very frustrating. Also, it's a farce to have the $19.95 truck when you charge $1 a mile on top of it. Really, why not just have a flat fee and be HONEST about it?

phil B. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good. But having to fill the tank to 1/2 full was awkward. I would prefer to get the truck full and return it full.

Mark J. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Hire a different desk clerk. We arrived early to a full lot, with dozens (!) of trucks in it. I asked for one. Desk clerk says "they are all reserved." Really? I say. ALL of them? Yes. I went to the car, picked up my iPad, and got on the uhaul web site. In 5 minutes I had a 20 footer reserved. Had to stand in line again, finally reach desk clerk. I have a reservation, I say. He didn't even blink. So is he lazy, stupid, or just an a-hole?

WILLIAM M. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very busy place, but I was taken care of quickly nevertheless. I never received my email receipt.

GRIFFIN B. on 7/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was really easy to schedule and pick up the truck, as well as return it. Nothing to recommend!

Peter g. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I signed up for the Collision Damage Waiver insurance for a fee of $10 per day. This was the only insurance I was offered. I assumed it would cover any damage that might occur during the rental. WRONG. When I returned the truck with the back window accidentally broken during the loading process, I was first informed by the Uhaul employee that I was "all good" since I had opted for the CDW insurance. Then he informed me that I would be charged $150 for the damage. When I asked to speak to someone higher up, I was told the General Manager wasn't there and couldn't be reached that day. I am still waiting to hear from him.

GERRY LEE B. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Not much. The staff always is professional and pleasant. This was the 8th time I've used them for a dy in the last 10 months.

CAJETAN K. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment the Location the customer service was excellent ...Knows what his doing .......

DEMETRIUS M. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

more employees,have parking area for trucks and customers more organized

zach z. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Early AM there was only one individual for pick up Waited in line for 50 min! Second individual there was involved in installing a hitch. Why would you only have one individual schedule at this time for pick up.

matt p. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall good customer service. The gentleman who wrote my ticket was not stellar. I felt like he was disengaged.

FRED G. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Check in person could not figure out the number of days I had rented the truck although it was obvious on my contract that it was 2 days. Also, the mileage was 166 total and I was given 162 because I had to drive to my residence at the town destination. I didn't live at the post office or whatever downtown location you figure. U-Haul should automatically give some leeway. In the end I was not charged for the 4 extra miles.

ELISABETH C. on 7/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the location is great. U-Haul as an organization is a nightmare. the location staff have had to spend inordinate amounts of time fixing U-Haul system anomalies that forced overcharges that have yet to be refunded. the u-box systems and vehicle rental systems don't integrate at all, making for a very frustrating and complicated user experience, and the u-box organization made egregious mistakes (e.g. sending me a FULL u-box of someone else's stuff).

tom l. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was generally satisfied with the people that helped me, but the office seemed disorganized. Many people complained at how long they had to wait. Good luck

STEPHEN T. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No larger trucks, this has cost us lots of money and time.

PHYLLIS S. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The drop-off was incredibly fast, easy and friendly! My final bill was emailed quickly; no complaints at all! Thank you!

KATRINA M. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Waits were a little long, but employees here were incredibly helpful and really went above and beyond. Restroom was pretty grimy, though!

JOE B. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged a cleaning charge of $25 for not folding the pads I had rented. I had no idea I was supposed to do this (didn't see the sign in the truck I have now been told was there). I would have known if anyone had come out to the truck with me when I returned it, then I could have been told I needed to fold the pads and I would have done it. But instead I was just told I should leave and my receipt would be mailed to me. This was unprofessional procedure on the part of Uhaul (and unwise of me to leave without checking that all charges were correct and getting a receipt then and there). On Saturday when I got home from Uhaul and saw the cleaning charge on the receipt, I tried to call the rental location, my call was forwarded to a call center, where I was told someone form the Uhaul location would call me back. No one ever did. On Monday I called the Uhaul location again at about noon, got through, was told the manager would call me back. By 5pm, no one had called me. I tried a number of times to call the location, kept getting the call center, finally gave up and drove to the Uhaul place, where an employee did reverse the cleaning charge. He is the one who let me know it was for not folding the pads. It is an unprofessional operation when a company is run in such a way that if there is a problem the customer cannot reach anyone to discuss it, and phone calls by customers are not returned.

Nicholas M. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved a truck from arco in el ssobrante. Whem I call to pick it up they didnt have any more available. I got jacked around trying to get a replacement and had to drive an hour out of my way to get the truck I needed. I will definitely be contacting someone to collet my $50 guarantee.

luis t. on 6/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service is great

Annice O. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A lower price per mile would be great - we don't rent these kinds of vehicles if we can help it because the cost feels prohibitive. Also, it would be great if the vehicle was washed beforehand. The interior was clean, but the exterior was not, mirrors were dirty and difficult to see out of and the exterior was dirty which made the walk around to assess for pre-existing damage harder. Otherwise, a positive experience!

LUIS T. on 6/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service is great. Thank you

Mark P. on 6/25/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was only one person working the counter and he also had get the vehicles ready, he was very stressed. But he did a great job!

Tom t. on 6/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I'll never use you again.

victor g. on 6/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderfully convenient and well priced. I kick myself for not using them sooner

MELODIE H. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The person that gave us the rental, Cody, was very rude. Did not explain anything and did not give me any paperwork. He pulled up the truck got out of it and walked away. I will never go there again.

Angie M. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was surprised that there was no water fountain and I could not even buy a water!!! Not cool after I spent the morning moving and rushing to deliver the truck on time :/

edward l. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service counter is often understaffed. There was one man trying to handle two people at a time while I and others stood waiting. I don't always have 30 minutes of time to be waited on when I am there to pick up equipment. This is not the first time or even the second time I have had to wait a long time just get to the service counter. I guess I should have known from past experience to allow an extra half hour or more to even be able to talk to someone.

BARBARA R. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The customer service at this location was awful. There was no attention to detail regarding my order - my ubox was not ready when I was told it would be, my phone calls were never returned (called three times on three separate days) to ask questurns regarding my move, and each time I stopped in to uhaul to ask questions it took the desk personnel 5-10 minutes just to find my ubox in the system. Completely disorganized location which thus made my moving experience very disorganized. I would not recommend this location or uhaul to anyone.

Scott T. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck I received was old, but did work just fine. Interior was dirty, could have used a quick vaccum. Uhaul rep forgot to load the furniture dolly in the back of the truck, forcing me to drive all the way back to pick it up. Granted, I should have double checked, but trusted that it was loaded when I asked the guy just two minutes prior to not forget the dolly. Got a "oops, sorry about that" response. Lost an hour of move time because of the oversight.

susie c. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The woman who helped me was fabulous. I highly recommend her. thanks for such a good experience

CALEB N. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Move was delayed due to truck not available. No compensation for major inconvenience.

ARABSHAHI R. on 6/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

waited in line too long. The forgot to add my pads.

Richard S. on 6/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck needed a tune up bad. I waited for 10 minutes before someone showed up to help me. The person that finally showed up was reasonably pleasant and efficient. By that time there was a line 6 people behind me.

GREG B. on 6/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent service even under heavy customer demand. Very efficient and professional as usual

Juan L. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Yes I made reservation on line, My first time follow the instructions I click my rental for a average of 4 hours, 8:00 am to 12:00 pm, when I arrive to pick up the truck I asker the attendance if I can increase my rental until to 2:00 pm. She said that because I had schedule my reservation for 4 hour, I hat to stick with it. And she refuse to cahnge I was very disappointing. When I returned the vehicle I requested a recip she said I'm to busy to give you a recip it will be email to you, and she never was polite to me, I hope the this won't happen to other people, thanks to Rebekah hatfield ...

Scott D. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Luis and Esmeralda were great!

Beth P. on 6/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Easy process. Reasonable price.

KATARZYNA B. on 6/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very nice staff; prompt and courteous.

MANUEL G. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well at this point I dont know what else to improve, the employees were very proactives, the service was excellent, over all I was very happy how you handle business.

TERRENCE B. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

VERY slow service when we arrived - fellow at the desk said "i'll be right with you", then disappeared and never returned. Another employee handle it fine. The battery gave out in the truck, which was not good. However, SR was excellent in getting someone over with a new battery in about 40 minutes, even though we were on the other side of the Bay. So: Mixed bag.

mina s. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service was poor. When we were surprised at all the extra charges, the guy at the front desk kept laughing and telling us to calm down. He was very rude and made us feel really bad.

matthew e. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have some ramps to go with the dollies....

WES G. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This facility was less than clean. Trash/debris laying inside the facility, the area just outside the entry door to the building seemed to be an area where wind blew trash and flying debris. The parking lot was a disaster. Full of trailers, trucks, and non-UHaul people looking for work. After the employee and I got the trailer unhooked it was difficult to navigate my way out of the parking lot back to the road way because of how the parking lot is set up. There is certainly room for improvement at this facility.

Marty W. on 6/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All good!

Bill W. on 6/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little slow on the check in. Sat morn maybe need more than 1 check in person. Very efficient on the return. No complaints from me.

Joan M. on 6/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was only one guy available checking returning rentals in around 3pm and there were a lot. This kid did a great job but some customers were waiting for a while to check in. It would have been better if someone else was there to help. Just a suggestion.

Catherine P. on 6/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was a good experience, because of the great guy at the register who took care of my reservation. Other times I have had to wait in a long line and then the people on the register were unfriendly. This fellow deserves a gold star. He made it a pleasure.

LUIS T. on 6/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service is great. Thank you

SUSAN S. on 6/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Yes, we were out in about two minutes.

MARVIN L. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

During the entire use of the vehicle, the warning bell stating that I was not wearing my seat belt rang and I could not enjoy the radio or talk with my helper when he rode with me. When I returned, the first person tested the vehicle (Luis or something like that) agreed that the warning sound would not stop although the seat belt was engaged. I asked for a $10,00 return of my money since this so annoyed me. The manager, Drew something? said that the only way that the warning sound works is if the belt was not engaged. I asked him to test it and he refused. I then was upset that he challenged my truthfulness without testing the vehicle which he refused to do. He then denied that he was testing my honesty.

ROD P. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager Drew was both knowledgeable and extremely helpful.

Steve M. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

keep up the good work

MARY M. on 6/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There seems to be alot of unevenness in their personnel. One guy was terribly unprofessional in his attitide although he seemed to know his job. Etc. Fortunely everything went without a hitch.

Simon K. on 6/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Ubox system is totally screwed up. Had to wait almost an hour because of problems with system. Has been a problem from start to finish. Staff not trained well and system buggy.

Penelope G. on 6/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just keep giving the excellent service I got today.

amy a. on 6/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

----THE WAY YOU BILL IS VERY CONFUSEING AND NOT REALLY UNDERSTANDABLE---ONE BILL I OWE NOTHING THE NEXT I OWE 30.00 MORE DOLLARS WITHOUT A REAL EXPLATION----I DONT LIKE THI AT ALL IT MAKE ME FEEL A IF IM BEING RIPPED OFF

DEBORAH F. on 6/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service, trailer in excellent "like-new" condition.

TYLER R. on 6/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged for wrong drop off location even though this location is where I reserved to drop it off.

Steven C. on 6/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very efficient and polite

JESSICA C. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck was fine and the service was good. However, I am upset because I wasted $60 on the insurance. I told the clerk that my father was driving the truck, not me, even though I paid for the rental. The clerk told us that the insurance package would cover any damages that occurred. My father offered to show his driver's license and the clerk said he didn't need it. When we got to long beach, the uhaul clerk there told us that if anything had happened we would NOT be covered since my father wasn't on the insurance. Fortunately, no damages occurred but that money was wasted and we were misinformed. I would like to request a refund of the insurance coverage. Thank you

Tony Z. on 6/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Becky is great, we had a minor issue and she worked it out very quickly.

peter v. on 6/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

staff with more than 1 clerk on busy end of month weekends

ron p. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More help was needed at the front desk. Sat. Morning 9AM one person was working. Long line of customers waiting.

MARINA G. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The San Rafael U-Haul staff were WONDERFUL! They were so sweet and so accommodating. I just feel bad for those hard workers as they were definitely understaffed. You should look into this U-Haul! They did a GREAT job dispite the circumstances. Thanks guys!

jerry l. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Radio did not work for my Five hours of driving and the driver's window would not deal tight. Plus the "check engine" light was on as I drove out and stayed on without any problems.

JORGE D. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for all.

PATRICIA B. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We were overcharged and it took three phone calls and a personal visit to the location to resolve the issue.

LEAH S. on 5/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good

MARIA C. on 5/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My sixth rental from here and always the same courteous and exceptional service.

steven v. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Erroneously charged me for wrong destination and also additional coverage and took over 25 minutes on the pho ne to get the charge reversed

CATHERINE JULIE G. on 5/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great and fast service. The staff was exceptionally friendly.

ARTHUR S. on 5/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was very good!

DIONICIO H. on 5/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More personal please!!

DAVID E. on 5/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing, everything was great. You're staff is very courteous.I'll be back.

David H. on 5/26/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Compliments to Drew who handled a billing error quickly and cheerfully.

Mike C. on 5/25/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Check in process is tedious. Line was long and took forever - about 5 minutes per customer. As the 6th in line that means it was 30 minutes before I was helped. Pity the other 10 people behind me...

David G. on 5/24/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Don't call me an hour before I'm supposed to arrive to tell me you've changed my reservation to a different, completely inconvenient location. Once I do make new arrangements, I show up and there is no trailer for me. Come up with a penalty system for late returns. Don't "guarantee" a reservation and offer nothing more than a "sorry" when I have to wait over 2 hours for the trailer to come back.

GLENN A. on 5/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only thing that went wrong was we reserved a 24' truck and they did not have it at the location, they offered us a truck from another location that was about an hour total drive time, they offered us a mileage and bridge toll discount, but we decided to just get the 14' truck, they tried to make it right and we appreciated that. The manager I think his name was Derek was AWESOME, very nice and very professional, you have a great person in the position, he deserves a raise in pay. Thank you Glenn Anisman

WILLIAM S. on 5/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only thing wrong with the truck was the sun visor on the passenger side would not stay in its holder and tended to somewhat obscure my vision to the right as I drove. It would actually not fit into the clip that holds it, as if the clip had been installed in the wrong place. I didn't get to mention it as I actually dropped the truck off after hours, not the next morning as stated on the receipt. I think it would be a good idea to correct that problem with that truck. Thanks.

STEVEN C on 4/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lock and hasp were torn off of my unit when I received it and there were a number of things missing from my U-box.

BETH C on 3/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager was very helpful and even offered to let us have a lock in case we needed to lock up our U-Box in between trips as our lock had partially broken during shipment.

JAMEY G on 3/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Box itself is a bit expensive but our experience with delivery and pickup has been excellent and we wish to commend UHaul Delivery Associate Sandy on outstanding customer service.

HEIDI H on 3/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sandy the delivery person was the best part of all. She was super friendly and professional.

PEDRO R on 2/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was attended by Becky. Never did Becky make eye contact with me although I was sitting directly in front of her, and she continuously responded that she did not know the answer to my questions.

RACHAEL T on 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would recomend a larger size for a one bedroom/studio and and I have very few Items.

ANDREW P on 12/23/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well staffed and staff very helpful. Everything went great.

MONIQUE C on 11/26/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Slightly misleading saying it is $79.95 when it is $300 to deliver!

JUDITH B on 10/17/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The u-box was ready when i went to pick it up. it was not delivered.

MARK J on 10/4/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the uhaul delivery gal was brilliant and apologized to me on behalf of san rafael uhaul. they did not call me to schedule a window for delivery and the uhaul customer service people were useless.

MARI J on 9/29/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It was incredibly difficult to access my box I called in advance multiple times and yet no one was able to help and the box was not accessible when I showed up

JOHN B on 9/11/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very hard to communicate with San Rafael store. They didn`t return calls and call center couldn`t resolve issues. Only one man was authorized to handle UBox which created wait times over 3 hrs!

LEE K on 8/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The driver picking up the ubox`s was awesome!

NANCY D on 8/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were helpful hitching up the trailer and treated us with kind regard.

GREG C on 8/3/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Manager lost staff, no one to deliver box. I was not called - had to pay men when no box. I did get free truck to drive box myself next day. U-Haul did not meet an agreed on and contracted deadline.

NANCY D on 7/29/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At the start of the process I couldn`t find my box, I was told it would be put in the parking lot by 4 p.m. Label boxes to be less generic. Anthony was best in terms of customer service.

BENJAMIN T on 7/24/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Bad service, broke my lock and did not replace until i demanded it.

TAMARA B on 7/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at San Rafeal are exceptional. They went out of their way to ensure all boxes were accessed easily and called me on the phone instead of making me wait, tt time of payment. 5 Stars!

LONNER H on 7/14/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager at the san rafael, california store, christopher, was fantastic as well as the two men working under him. telephone customer service i found untrained confusing, though friendly.

ELI C on 7/9/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I cannot express how much I hate this company in 200 characters or less. This has been the worst experience of my life.

ADRIANE R on 7/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Especially Walt who fixed a major problem with my account that would have had the Ubox going to the wrong town. I loaded at the Uhaul site and everyone there was really helpful.

RYAN L on 5/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service from Chris and staff at San Rafael

RICHARD K on 4/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

convenient, easy to load, made moving so quick and trouble free! thank you u-haul

ROSS G on 1/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service

JOHN A on 1/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

On site staff were great, corporate organization scores about a 1/2 out of 10. I got a billing, late notice and lein notice before my belongings were confirmed delivered which took 5 weeks.

DONNA G on 11/25/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

in-store personnel great, but the two people I talked to over phone provided misinformation about your fees and policies.

VENKAT G on 9/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Seattle customer service sucks.

CHARLES C on 8/6/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience with this company was awful. I got an apology and nothing else.

MICHAEL M on 7/23/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little pricey, but otherwise a very good service

MICHAEL T on 6/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The checkout experience in the store is MISERABLE. It took 30 minutes. You guys have got to figure out how to make the experience better. Also, the wood box is a bit concerning. Would prefer metal.

KEN C on 6/12/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Made arrangements to have box delivered at 1pm. My pregnant girlfriend waited at the house that had no furniture. 200 characters not enough space to explain how bad it was.