U-Haul of Sunnyvale

U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Share |

Address

939 E El Camino Real
Sunnyvale, CA 94086

(408) 735-7060

(Off Wolfe)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Heather W. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

customer service was good, but could have been happier to help...seemed bothered

CHIP W. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The check in service is just way to slow. I arrived early and the time in line with just one clerk was just way way to slow.

MRTIN L. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I spect to have what i order online but the dolly its diferent i dont use because its to small but just for brok the seal they charge for i buy My own , whent i try to inspect for demages they refuse to mark because they ready make file i dont see any file. But little weird. I spect y some contact me whent they read my coment.

daniel v. on 3/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was one of the most efficient and professional U-Haul locations I have experienced (Sunnyvale). Good equipment options and extremely helpful staff. So much better than the Mtn. View location!!

maynard c. on 3/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Would have liked a smaller trailer but you do not have them when you do not return to the original rental business. It was much larger than I needed and more expensive.

JESSE Y. on 3/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service was not very good. I didn't like the attitude I got from the person I dealt with. He seemed to have a "whatever/don't care" attitude. Also I got stuck with a dolly that I had to remove because it got in the way of my moving. I asked to get it removed before I used the truck but apparently that did no good. I called customer service about the removal because I had a dolly already. I got a smaller truck than what I requested so I needed to utilize the whole space. That person said it was fine and would note it on my contract, but I still got charged for this!! I will be calling about this (AGAIN!!) Also the transmission on the truck was shotty. Changing gears between Park to Reverse did not line up with the indicator, same with changing from Reverse to Drive. Overall..I was very disappointed with the experience.

Haufai A. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

have more customer support on site.

LINDA H. on 3/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The only difficulty I had was in adjusting driver's side mirror.

LINDA L. on 3/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very warm perhaps air conditioning

Larry P. on 3/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

when I made the arrangements to pick up a 17 foot U Haul truck. I was not told that I had to travel at least another 25 miles north which woulda ended up making me another at 50 miles round trip to just get the truck.

Tom F. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your bill is practically unreadable. You need to show a clear total somewhere on it. There are three different numbers that could be read as total. It is a minor issue, easily fixed, but I had to call the office to get clarity and I had to put a note with it for my accountant.

KADEN S. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Moving is already a stressful event and the time we allotted went over; U-haul made it very easy to extend our truck with very little hassle.

KENNETH C. on 3/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I generally understand service businesses. Our last experience we had a planned pickup time and a tight schedule that same day. The map service from the call center gave us an address that had wrong directions. Some 3 1/2 miles from the actual branch in Sunnyvale, Ca. We called several times loosing eventually a Half HR. we were not called back as requested from the contacted branch. We found it on our own. Upon arriving we had three counter people talking among themselves with No notification. Something is severly wrong with your trafficing or dispatching operation. I never really cared for the roll over call center. Customer should have a choice for particular questions for the particular Branch or lot you rent from. Thx K.R. Cole

Bill C. on 3/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good service

RAJAGOPALAN R. on 3/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customers need to get their receipts soon once they return the vehicle and it would help to understand the total bill amount

JUNG L. on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

satisfied

NICHOLAS T. on 3/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have had a very awful experience with the 6x12' trailer I have rented from the Sunnyvale U-Haul center. I picked up the trailer for a massive move from Santa Clara CA to Louisville KY (about 2,400 mi). I picked up the U-Haul with ease. Cust service was great at this time. They helped me with hitching the trailer (which seemed pretty old and weathered compared to other similar trailers) and assisted to check my lights. I set out for my move 2 days later after packing the trailer. My wife and kids flew out while I drove. I was to meet them there with all of our belongings. About two hours into my drive I noticed that my truck was really struggling to tow the trailer even on the flat road on I-5. I then see cars start to back off from my trailer and then heard an explosion. I immediately got off the gas to try and stabilize my trailer that started to sway and pull my truck around. I was able to safely pull over and inspect the scenario. Upon inspection I found that the right rear trailer tire was flat and engulfed in flames! I ran into my truck and grabbed my gallon of drinking water to save the other tire from catching fire and to prevent damage to my items in the trailer. I immediately called the 1-800 # on my contract to get help as i was at this point in the middle of nowhere. I told them the situation and being that I am in the automotive business I knew that something mechanically was wrong (either bearing or brake seizure due to the nature of heat coming from that side of the axle). U-Haul road side then told me to wait in my truck until help came. About 1hr 1/2 later a pick up truck came with a gentleman with a tire and a floor jack. I inspected and found that is all he brought, no tools, no brake parts... he put the tire on but as i suspected it would not rotate due to an internal problem. He (the road side guy) left me and said it was all he could do. I then re-called road side and explained the sitaution. Still stuck on the side of the road with my dog and no food with limited water. Road side said that they would send out another road side guy who would have more tools and parts to help me out and to wait until he got there. Another two hours passed and the guy shows up. He has no replacement parts either (from the same company) but does have some basic tools to at least inspect the brakes/bearings. I took pictures of everything. The brakes were completely worn down metal to metal, the clips, springs and all hardware were either broken or worn out. the bearings were cooked from the heat. It was very apparent that this trailer was not inspected upon me taking delivery putting my life and the life of nearby drivers at risk! I was very upset at this point as regular routine maintenance would have prevented this whole situation. I work as a assistant service manager at a dealership and if we had let a veh leave our shop in this condition and a situation like this would have occurred it could potentially end in a law suit. To continue my s

Jeff S. on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best U-haul service center anywhere!!! Customer Service A+++

LEENA C. on 3/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was given the wrong truck. I drove away a mile when I realized the millage and gas filled was not matching my contract. I went back and had them fix the error. When you are moving every sec. matters. I returned the truck few hours before it was due back. I get a call next day from Uhaul saying truck is not back.

GILBERT H. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have rented u-haul from this location for years, and never had a complaint.Always excellent service

randy n. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Person that helped me was great! Quick, efficient, pain free

Venkateshwaran S. on 2/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome service and customer focus.

Daniel R. on 2/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

fast friendly service. Truck was clean and well maintained. Staff seemed busy yet still accomdating. Thanks for making this an easy process

STACEY L. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service representative for U haul was rude and short and obviously really didn't have time for me or any of my inquiries he also failed to go over the schedule when it was due back. I rented for two days but I did it on line and called to change pick up date and the phone rep failed to change return date and the guy who called to tell me it was late was very very rude.

Andrew C. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location was clean and well maintained but seemed understaffed when we picked up the truck. The wait was long and the line at the counter reached the door before we left the building to pick up our truck. The employee who helped us was polite but clearly a little stressed. The truck was in excellent condition and worked perfectly. The return process was super easy and the employee who accepted our return was super friendly and polite. Would rent from this location again, but would hope it would have a couple more staff members present during peak times.

Lisa B. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I did not receive a receipt for Saturday 2/21/15.

TRINIDAD G. on 2/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I didn't get a padlock key.

Mohammad R. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Clean and professional!

ALEXIS S. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We asked the sales person about the mechanical condition of the truck prior to renting as we've had problems in the past when renting a vehicle and he said it was new and was in great shape and easy to drive. 15 mins after leaving the lot the vehicle started making a warning "bell sound" and would not stop unless I parked the vehicle and turned off the motor. There was no warning light illuminated and no indication in the manual of what caused the bell. It was not the parking brake. 10 mins after turning the vehicle on it started again. I have recorded the sound. I drove for approx 90 miles with the obnoxious bell ringing the whole time. This was the worst moving experience I have ever had and I will never recommend uhaul again. I plan to make a formal complaint with the BBB.

CHIEN L. on 2/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the truck is very new and clean the rep is helpful do a walk thru and explain the vehicle

viet t. on 2/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager @ U-Haul Sunnyvale, Joe, was awesome to work with! It was my first time renting a big trailer and he helped me pick the right one for the job. Really great customer service and I will be back for more business very soon! Thanks Joe & the U-Haul team!

Hector A. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly and Exelent Customer Service...

BENJAMIN M. on 2/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I will never work with Uhaul again. In the past 2 months I have spent over $3000 on Uhaul services. This rental experience was an indication of how bad it gets. The truck was faulty, Roadside services was not helpful and told me "fuck you". I will hit you anyway I can with bad reviews.

Brian S. on 2/4/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No service representative at the front desk when I arrived. Waited 20 minutes before anyone showed up. Had tried to find them, but failed. Very disappointed in the customer service. The inside of the windshield was horribly dirty. There was a layer of dust and grime which made seeing through it in the dark very difficult. I do not believe it should be the responsibility of the rentee to clean the inside windshield. Would not recommend this location to anyone.

FRANCISCO M. on 2/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Decrease the price on mileage per mile. For example .50 cents per mile. Also Have the option for unlimited mileage for a reasonable price! Thanks, Chico

yakov l. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you so much!

yinghua z. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There is no place for customers' car to park... customer has to walk along EL Camino to find a place...

Vidushi K. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had asked for a luggage trolley but upgraded to appliance . BUT did could bot be used at all for the purpose..

DAVID H. on 1/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went well with no problems. I read their instructions and had my hitch and towing rig inspected before the day of the actual rental. This also gave me an opportunity to measure the trailer. I ended up changing my reservation for a slightly larger one which worked perfectly. A good value and a smooth rental transaction. I'll be back!

MAZIN A. on 1/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work; prompt and friendly.

Hussain W. on 1/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had taken the u haul for the first time and it proved to be useful. Customer service was good and the truck was maintained well.

YOUNG-SUP S. on 1/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Do not include the utility dolly. It takes space and the tie wrap comes off when moving.

JAMES B. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work. It was very easy to pick up my reserved truck rental at the Sunnyvale, CA Location. They were very helpful there.

NORM D. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The trailer looked like it had been towed behind an oil burner, black spots all over it.

MAGDALENA B. on 1/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very nice person we dealt with.

DON F. on 1/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Geting a truck near empty is bad business. I fielded the tank and brought back a truck 3/4 full with no refund possible. This is lousy, I will never use UHAUL again unless I get a truck full of gas, no guessing and wasting time driving to gas station and waiting in line-that took an extra hour. YOU REALLY NEED TO CHANGE YOUR POLICY REGARDING GAS! VERY UNFAIR TO CUSTOMERS!

WILL C. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our rental truck would stall almost everytime we stopped at a stop light or stop sign. To avoid this we figured out we had to keep the truck in 1st gear anytime we tried to stop. It was very frustrating.

LILYANN S. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The referral of movers on the uhaul website was a horrible experience. I will not reserve movers from there again. They were 2 hours late, very unprofessional.

nicki h. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have customer parking available.

Proserfina C. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Provide parking spaces for your customer.

LAURA A. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There were a lot of trucks and vans at this location and it was clean and well organized.

Martha H. on 1/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

First of all there is no where to park to pick up a truck. The lot was very crowded and difficult to get in and out of. Secondly when I returned the truck no one checked me in and I was told they would send an invoice (this too 24 hours). When I got the invoice there was a gas charge even though I purchased gas before returning the truck and the gauge was in the same place as when I picked it up. Thirdly I made several attempts to contact the location and never received a return call. All around I'd say poor customer service and poor logistics for rental and drop off. I rent from U-Haul several times a year and this was by far my worst experience.

ANUPAM G. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very convenient to have a mover drop-off the U-Haul truck for me. It is very nice that you allow anyone with a valid driver license to drive the truck that I rent.

MIGUEL R. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was very smooth and everything was explained well.

RENEE G. on 1/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very easy for me to rent a truck (as a walk-in without a reservation) and later extend the rental period via telephone. Thank you.

TIM W. on 12/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly quick in and out service. Thumbs up

BRANDON P. on 12/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service at Uhaul of Sunnyvale was top notice. I was in and out in a matter of minutes.

Vinod P. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Keep it up.

JAVIER R. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing The service is excellent

Trilip B. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

One of the headlight was not working, resulting in very uncomfortable driving in the evening.

Rudolph E. on 12/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys rock! Keep up the good work!

Sheshagiri H. on 12/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very professional and on time. As always it's a hassle free service

BILL L. on 12/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everybody was very helpful

RAJASIMMAN M. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The headlights in the vehicle were poor. Could not drive it in the night.

benny w. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gas meter seemed not working correctly, when I filled with gas, it actually dropped in reading. The front desk did not charge me for gas usage, as I explained & showed gas invoices.

RICH B. on 12/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It is very frustrating to call the U-Haul location and get a answering service at some remote location.

NAINESH P. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was smooth. I was going to be late, so I called and they said no problem and changed my pick-up time for 2 hours more upon my request. Really Happy with their service.

Kathryn G. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great experience. We will rent again from you.

VINH P. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy return.

MANISH B. on 12/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff can be trained to be more professional

DON S. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys were great! Very helpful, and informative. I would highly recommend you to anyone who needs moving/transportation services.

REBECCA R. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I didn't like the fact that i reserved my truck at the location nearest me & then 2 days before i was due to pick it up it was switched to another location further away. as i was also was renting a car trailer i had to do this twice.

Catherine L. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Let clients know that onsite parking is not available. Vehicle cab was not overly clean.

GAURAV B. on 12/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice and quick service

Paul G. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

location was great, but all the emails today, 4 days after the rental are confusing and weird.

PEDRO V. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck I got it looks ok when I picked up... Driving around the block I stopped in my house and told my wife to adjust the right mirror and suddenly the mirror came out. And they want to charge the mirror to me even though the saw it was defected. The manager in charge finally understood that could be a defect of the mirror holder. They need to check very well the truck before they give it to the public. I thing this dealer location has poor maintenance on their trucks.

RACHELLE B. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service from both times I visited (pick-up and drop-off). Thanks for making customer service a high priority.

RACHEL F on 2/26/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

200 characters is not enough to properly explain the horrendous experience I have had thusfar with U-box and Uhaul. Horribly unorganized, and a waste of hours of my time.

JOANNE W on 2/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone that I interacted with at this location was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. The team spirit and attitude seemed to be very good. Thank you so much!