U-Haul of Sunnyvale

U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Share |

Address

939 E El Camino Real
Sunnyvale, CA 94086

(408) 735-7060

(Off Wolfe)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

GILBERT H. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have rented u-haul from this location for years, and never had a complaint.Always excellent service

randy n. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Person that helped me was great! Quick, efficient, pain free

Venkateshwaran S. on 2/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome service and customer focus.

Daniel R. on 2/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

fast friendly service. Truck was clean and well maintained. Staff seemed busy yet still accomdating. Thanks for making this an easy process

STACEY L. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service representative for U haul was rude and short and obviously really didn't have time for me or any of my inquiries he also failed to go over the schedule when it was due back. I rented for two days but I did it on line and called to change pick up date and the phone rep failed to change return date and the guy who called to tell me it was late was very very rude.

Andrew C. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location was clean and well maintained but seemed understaffed when we picked up the truck. The wait was long and the line at the counter reached the door before we left the building to pick up our truck. The employee who helped us was polite but clearly a little stressed. The truck was in excellent condition and worked perfectly. The return process was super easy and the employee who accepted our return was super friendly and polite. Would rent from this location again, but would hope it would have a couple more staff members present during peak times.

Lisa B. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I did not receive a receipt for Saturday 2/21/15.

TRINIDAD G. on 2/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I didn't get a padlock key.

Mohammad R. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Clean and professional!

ALEXIS S. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We asked the sales person about the mechanical condition of the truck prior to renting as we've had problems in the past when renting a vehicle and he said it was new and was in great shape and easy to drive. 15 mins after leaving the lot the vehicle started making a warning "bell sound" and would not stop unless I parked the vehicle and turned off the motor. There was no warning light illuminated and no indication in the manual of what caused the bell. It was not the parking brake. 10 mins after turning the vehicle on it started again. I have recorded the sound. I drove for approx 90 miles with the obnoxious bell ringing the whole time. This was the worst moving experience I have ever had and I will never recommend uhaul again. I plan to make a formal complaint with the BBB.

CHIEN L. on 2/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the truck is very new and clean the rep is helpful do a walk thru and explain the vehicle

viet t. on 2/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager @ U-Haul Sunnyvale, Joe, was awesome to work with! It was my first time renting a big trailer and he helped me pick the right one for the job. Really great customer service and I will be back for more business very soon! Thanks Joe & the U-Haul team!

Hector A. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly and Exelent Customer Service...

BENJAMIN M. on 2/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I will never work with Uhaul again. In the past 2 months I have spent over $3000 on Uhaul services. This rental experience was an indication of how bad it gets. The truck was faulty, Roadside services was not helpful and told me "fuck you". I will hit you anyway I can with bad reviews.

Brian S. on 2/4/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No service representative at the front desk when I arrived. Waited 20 minutes before anyone showed up. Had tried to find them, but failed. Very disappointed in the customer service. The inside of the windshield was horribly dirty. There was a layer of dust and grime which made seeing through it in the dark very difficult. I do not believe it should be the responsibility of the rentee to clean the inside windshield. Would not recommend this location to anyone.

FRANCISCO M. on 2/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Decrease the price on mileage per mile. For example .50 cents per mile. Also Have the option for unlimited mileage for a reasonable price! Thanks, Chico

yakov l. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you so much!

yinghua z. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There is no place for customers' car to park... customer has to walk along EL Camino to find a place...

Vidushi K. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had asked for a luggage trolley but upgraded to appliance . BUT did could bot be used at all for the purpose..

DAVID H. on 1/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went well with no problems. I read their instructions and had my hitch and towing rig inspected before the day of the actual rental. This also gave me an opportunity to measure the trailer. I ended up changing my reservation for a slightly larger one which worked perfectly. A good value and a smooth rental transaction. I'll be back!

MAZIN A. on 1/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work; prompt and friendly.

Hussain W. on 1/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had taken the u haul for the first time and it proved to be useful. Customer service was good and the truck was maintained well.

YOUNG-SUP S. on 1/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Do not include the utility dolly. It takes space and the tie wrap comes off when moving.

JAMES B. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work. It was very easy to pick up my reserved truck rental at the Sunnyvale, CA Location. They were very helpful there.

NORM D. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The trailer looked like it had been towed behind an oil burner, black spots all over it.

MAGDALENA B. on 1/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very nice person we dealt with.

DON F. on 1/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Geting a truck near empty is bad business. I fielded the tank and brought back a truck 3/4 full with no refund possible. This is lousy, I will never use UHAUL again unless I get a truck full of gas, no guessing and wasting time driving to gas station and waiting in line-that took an extra hour. YOU REALLY NEED TO CHANGE YOUR POLICY REGARDING GAS! VERY UNFAIR TO CUSTOMERS!

WILL C. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our rental truck would stall almost everytime we stopped at a stop light or stop sign. To avoid this we figured out we had to keep the truck in 1st gear anytime we tried to stop. It was very frustrating.

LILYANN S. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The referral of movers on the uhaul website was a horrible experience. I will not reserve movers from there again. They were 2 hours late, very unprofessional.

nicki h. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have customer parking available.

Proserfina C. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Provide parking spaces for your customer.

LAURA A. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There were a lot of trucks and vans at this location and it was clean and well organized.

Martha H. on 1/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

First of all there is no where to park to pick up a truck. The lot was very crowded and difficult to get in and out of. Secondly when I returned the truck no one checked me in and I was told they would send an invoice (this too 24 hours). When I got the invoice there was a gas charge even though I purchased gas before returning the truck and the gauge was in the same place as when I picked it up. Thirdly I made several attempts to contact the location and never received a return call. All around I'd say poor customer service and poor logistics for rental and drop off. I rent from U-Haul several times a year and this was by far my worst experience.

ANUPAM G. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very convenient to have a mover drop-off the U-Haul truck for me. It is very nice that you allow anyone with a valid driver license to drive the truck that I rent.

MIGUEL R. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was very smooth and everything was explained well.

RENEE G. on 1/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very easy for me to rent a truck (as a walk-in without a reservation) and later extend the rental period via telephone. Thank you.

TIM W. on 12/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly quick in and out service. Thumbs up

BRANDON P. on 12/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service at Uhaul of Sunnyvale was top notice. I was in and out in a matter of minutes.

Vinod P. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Keep it up.

JAVIER R. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing The service is excellent

Trilip B. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

One of the headlight was not working, resulting in very uncomfortable driving in the evening.

Rudolph E. on 12/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys rock! Keep up the good work!

Sheshagiri H. on 12/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very professional and on time. As always it's a hassle free service

BILL L. on 12/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everybody was very helpful

RAJASIMMAN M. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The headlights in the vehicle were poor. Could not drive it in the night.

benny w. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gas meter seemed not working correctly, when I filled with gas, it actually dropped in reading. The front desk did not charge me for gas usage, as I explained & showed gas invoices.

RICH B. on 12/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It is very frustrating to call the U-Haul location and get a answering service at some remote location.

NAINESH P. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was smooth. I was going to be late, so I called and they said no problem and changed my pick-up time for 2 hours more upon my request. Really Happy with their service.

Kathryn G. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great experience. We will rent again from you.

VINH P. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy return.

MANISH B. on 12/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff can be trained to be more professional

DON S. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys were great! Very helpful, and informative. I would highly recommend you to anyone who needs moving/transportation services.

REBECCA R. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I didn't like the fact that i reserved my truck at the location nearest me & then 2 days before i was due to pick it up it was switched to another location further away. as i was also was renting a car trailer i had to do this twice.

Catherine L. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Let clients know that onsite parking is not available. Vehicle cab was not overly clean.

GAURAV B. on 12/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice and quick service

Paul G. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

location was great, but all the emails today, 4 days after the rental are confusing and weird.

PEDRO V. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck I got it looks ok when I picked up... Driving around the block I stopped in my house and told my wife to adjust the right mirror and suddenly the mirror came out. And they want to charge the mirror to me even though the saw it was defected. The manager in charge finally understood that could be a defect of the mirror holder. They need to check very well the truck before they give it to the public. I thing this dealer location has poor maintenance on their trucks.

RACHELLE B. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service from both times I visited (pick-up and drop-off). Thanks for making customer service a high priority.

David J. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Find out there living location to give them a closer location, I live 7 minutes from curtner location and I had to drive 20 minutes out of my way to pick up a truck, I would have liked a closer location. All was good thank you for your help much appreciated.

HUE T. on 11/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gas meter is NOT accurate. I poured about an extra 10 gallons of gas that I am VERY UPSET about.

WILLIAM B. on 11/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

First rate place, I have been going to this location for years

Hemant C. on 11/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome service and easy to use.

DOUGLAS S. on 11/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

In and out no problems.

Julia T. on 11/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service! Vehicle was easy to operate.

ERNEST B. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

$500. is an exorbitant price to charge for a car dolly...Please check to be sure of that price. Thanks

RACHELL E. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The guy who checked me in was rude and acted like he was doing ME a favor. I said thank you and he ignored me.

MICHAEL C. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was late returning the 26' truck and got a call from the manager stating that i needed to return the truck because a family needed it ... i asked if i would be charged a penalty or extra for returnig it late the manager said no. I also mentiomed that i still needed a truck so he made me a reservation for a 20 footer. I get back truck is clean and gas is full - the manager decides to charge me an extra day as a penalty....so i get upset and say if im going to pay an extra day i want the truck back. He says u cant have the truck back anf not only that we dont like ur attitude so u cant rent another truck. He lied and left me and my two movers on the side of the road with no transportation. I called the regional they basically told me to go kick rocks. Is this how you do business? I am appalled !!!

Devesh K. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing in particular

Mark a. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I will continue to be a repeat customer of this location as I feel the staff is helpful, courteous, knowledgable...Mark nder

Adam D. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Usually uhaul rentals charge are by miles. According to online I would pay 0.99 per mile, but when I went to return the van I saw that they had charged a flat fee plan instead of usual miles. This resulted in a higher cost to me and they refused to change it.

gloria v. on 11/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

not a thing your great

Carlos T. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Awful service. Long line when I arrived for my appointment with only one individual working the desk who did not seem to want to be there. Did not have the truck I reserved and had to settle for a smaller vehicle. Fortunately, that worked out for me but I'm not sure if it would have worked out for everyone.

gloria v. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

better phone service

JOHN G. on 11/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast, helpful service. A great experience. We will rent here again.

David E. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

super fast in and out. Really nice guy manning the desk. Great.

JIM B. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wendy was very helpful and sure that I had everything I needed. Great service!

nick f. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the entire process went very well. the U Haul employees were very courteous and professional.

Patricia B. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check in was slow

Don S. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had an excellent experience with U-Haul of Sunnyvale. I read a couple of really bad reviews about this company and wondered what I was getting myself into. I was very pleasantly surprised with outstanding service and staff that was courteous, helpful and smiling . I'm not shure why they received the bad reviews but whatever the reason they must have fixed it . I have nothing but good things to say but good things about my experience ! In fact I already have another truck booked with them for next Saturday . Job well done!

RACHEL F on 2/26/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

200 characters is not enough to properly explain the horrendous experience I have had thusfar with U-box and Uhaul. Horribly unorganized, and a waste of hours of my time.

JOANNE W on 2/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone that I interacted with at this location was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. The team spirit and attitude seemed to be very good. Thank you so much!