U-Haul of Sunnyvale

U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Share |

Address

939 E El Camino Real
Sunnyvale, CA 94086

(408) 735-7060

(Off Wolfe)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

DON F. on 1/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Geting a truck near empty is bad business. I fielded the tank and brought back a truck 3/4 full with no refund possible. This is lousy, I will never use UHAUL again unless I get a truck full of gas, no guessing and wasting time driving to gas station and waiting in line-that took an extra hour. YOU REALLY NEED TO CHANGE YOUR POLICY REGARDING GAS! VERY UNFAIR TO CUSTOMERS!

WILL C. on 1/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Our rental truck would stall almost everytime we stopped at a stop light or stop sign. To avoid this we figured out we had to keep the truck in 1st gear anytime we tried to stop. It was very frustrating.

LILYANN S. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The referral of movers on the uhaul website was a horrible experience. I will not reserve movers from there again. They were 2 hours late, very unprofessional.

nicki h. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have customer parking available.

Proserfina C. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Provide parking spaces for your customer.

LAURA A. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There were a lot of trucks and vans at this location and it was clean and well organized.

Martha H. on 1/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

First of all there is no where to park to pick up a truck. The lot was very crowded and difficult to get in and out of. Secondly when I returned the truck no one checked me in and I was told they would send an invoice (this too 24 hours). When I got the invoice there was a gas charge even though I purchased gas before returning the truck and the gauge was in the same place as when I picked it up. Thirdly I made several attempts to contact the location and never received a return call. All around I'd say poor customer service and poor logistics for rental and drop off. I rent from U-Haul several times a year and this was by far my worst experience.

ANUPAM G. on 1/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very convenient to have a mover drop-off the U-Haul truck for me. It is very nice that you allow anyone with a valid driver license to drive the truck that I rent.

MIGUEL R. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was very smooth and everything was explained well.

RENEE G. on 1/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very easy for me to rent a truck (as a walk-in without a reservation) and later extend the rental period via telephone. Thank you.

TIM W. on 12/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly quick in and out service. Thumbs up

BRANDON P. on 12/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service at Uhaul of Sunnyvale was top notice. I was in and out in a matter of minutes.

Vinod P. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Keep it up.

JAVIER R. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing The service is excellent

Trilip B. on 12/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

One of the headlight was not working, resulting in very uncomfortable driving in the evening.

Rudolph E. on 12/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys rock! Keep up the good work!

Sheshagiri H. on 12/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very professional and on time. As always it's a hassle free service

BILL L. on 12/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everybody was very helpful

RAJASIMMAN M. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The headlights in the vehicle were poor. Could not drive it in the night.

benny w. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gas meter seemed not working correctly, when I filled with gas, it actually dropped in reading. The front desk did not charge me for gas usage, as I explained & showed gas invoices.

RICH B. on 12/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It is very frustrating to call the U-Haul location and get a answering service at some remote location.

NAINESH P. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was smooth. I was going to be late, so I called and they said no problem and changed my pick-up time for 2 hours more upon my request. Really Happy with their service.

Kathryn G. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great experience. We will rent again from you.

VINH P. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy return.

MANISH B. on 12/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff can be trained to be more professional

DON S. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys were great! Very helpful, and informative. I would highly recommend you to anyone who needs moving/transportation services.

REBECCA R. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I didn't like the fact that i reserved my truck at the location nearest me & then 2 days before i was due to pick it up it was switched to another location further away. as i was also was renting a car trailer i had to do this twice.

Catherine L. on 12/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Let clients know that onsite parking is not available. Vehicle cab was not overly clean.

GAURAV B. on 12/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice and quick service

Paul G. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

location was great, but all the emails today, 4 days after the rental are confusing and weird.

PEDRO V. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck I got it looks ok when I picked up... Driving around the block I stopped in my house and told my wife to adjust the right mirror and suddenly the mirror came out. And they want to charge the mirror to me even though the saw it was defected. The manager in charge finally understood that could be a defect of the mirror holder. They need to check very well the truck before they give it to the public. I thing this dealer location has poor maintenance on their trucks.

RACHELLE B. on 12/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service from both times I visited (pick-up and drop-off). Thanks for making customer service a high priority.

David J. on 11/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Find out there living location to give them a closer location, I live 7 minutes from curtner location and I had to drive 20 minutes out of my way to pick up a truck, I would have liked a closer location. All was good thank you for your help much appreciated.

HUE T. on 11/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gas meter is NOT accurate. I poured about an extra 10 gallons of gas that I am VERY UPSET about.

WILLIAM B. on 11/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

First rate place, I have been going to this location for years

Hemant C. on 11/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome service and easy to use.

DOUGLAS S. on 11/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

In and out no problems.

Julia T. on 11/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service! Vehicle was easy to operate.

ERNEST B. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

$500. is an exorbitant price to charge for a car dolly...Please check to be sure of that price. Thanks

RACHELL E. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The guy who checked me in was rude and acted like he was doing ME a favor. I said thank you and he ignored me.

MICHAEL C. on 11/20/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was late returning the 26' truck and got a call from the manager stating that i needed to return the truck because a family needed it ... i asked if i would be charged a penalty or extra for returnig it late the manager said no. I also mentiomed that i still needed a truck so he made me a reservation for a 20 footer. I get back truck is clean and gas is full - the manager decides to charge me an extra day as a penalty....so i get upset and say if im going to pay an extra day i want the truck back. He says u cant have the truck back anf not only that we dont like ur attitude so u cant rent another truck. He lied and left me and my two movers on the side of the road with no transportation. I called the regional they basically told me to go kick rocks. Is this how you do business? I am appalled !!!

Devesh K. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing in particular

Mark a. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I will continue to be a repeat customer of this location as I feel the staff is helpful, courteous, knowledgable...Mark nder

Adam D. on 11/16/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Usually uhaul rentals charge are by miles. According to online I would pay 0.99 per mile, but when I went to return the van I saw that they had charged a flat fee plan instead of usual miles. This resulted in a higher cost to me and they refused to change it.

gloria v. on 11/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

not a thing your great

Carlos T. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Awful service. Long line when I arrived for my appointment with only one individual working the desk who did not seem to want to be there. Did not have the truck I reserved and had to settle for a smaller vehicle. Fortunately, that worked out for me but I'm not sure if it would have worked out for everyone.

gloria v. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

better phone service

JOHN G. on 11/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast, helpful service. A great experience. We will rent here again.

David E. on 11/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

super fast in and out. Really nice guy manning the desk. Great.

JIM B. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wendy was very helpful and sure that I had everything I needed. Great service!

nick f. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the entire process went very well. the U Haul employees were very courteous and professional.

Patricia B. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check in was slow

Don S. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had an excellent experience with U-Haul of Sunnyvale. I read a couple of really bad reviews about this company and wondered what I was getting myself into. I was very pleasantly surprised with outstanding service and staff that was courteous, helpful and smiling . I'm not shure why they received the bad reviews but whatever the reason they must have fixed it . I have nothing but good things to say but good things about my experience ! In fact I already have another truck booked with them for next Saturday . Job well done!

SAMMY M. on 10/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was only 1 staff on duty when I went to pickup the truck. Had to wait over 15 minutes. Return was pretty swift with a second staff person available.

Kevin B. on 10/30/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Assist customers who lock their key in the truck, instead of telling them they will owe a lot of money for the uhaul service to come out and unlock the door for us. Even though the car was on the Uhaul lot!

Andrew P. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your employees were efficient and courteous and your after hours drop off was very convenient and a great time saver. I dropped off the van I rented on a Sunday night. It made my Monday a lot smoother considering I didn't have to drop off the van before work. Thank you.

BOB S. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was competent and courteous.

KYLE G. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Ask the customer if they have ever driven a uhaul truck. Demonstrate how to pull out the ramp, lock the door down, etc for 1st time users. Also, help to make sure the mirrors are adjusted accordingly for the customer.

EDGARDO G. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a few items that were not in the truck. Equipment was dirty.

SUNIL S. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

1. The sun visor in the vehicle was broken 2. The associate who received the vehicle sent me to the customer desk, then the customer desk associate asked me to go back to the other associate to get a white slip, then I walked all the way outside and the receiver was confused, then he scanned the receipt and said everything was ok, then I go back to the customer desk and he asks me "Still no white slip" ? At that point I was thinking to myself "what a bunch of idiots", then the guy at the desk realized his mistake and said he didnt need the white slip, then he made a very sarcastic joke saying "your total is 80 miles and $450".. I was like "what ?" and then with a sly grin he was like "just kidding". Seriously, fire these jokers, they bring UHaul a very bad reputation.

Charles V. on 10/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was fine, friendly & efficient. Mileage charge was a little high, but that's UHaul policy. Store was fine.

BETIM D. on 10/25/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff member was not trying to help when I asked for the possibility of changing the truck size. Also he was not friendly at all. Also the small dolly was not available even though I reserved one a week earlier.

WAYNE B. on 10/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

unused boxes were returned with the truck after hours. the location did not credit us for returning the unused boxes and did not make any attempt to contact us about the boxes if the receipt was needed to process the return of the boxes. in my opinion, they just looked at it and said "oh cool, free inventory for us to re-sell" If that wasn't their intention, we would have received a phone call telling us what was needed to process the return. shady shady shady

Wayne S. on 10/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and knowledgeable and the truck was fine. My short-distance move went smoothly. Thanks, UHaul.

DAVID H. on 10/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This transaction was awesome. The experience was AAA+++

jimmy d. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Received excellent service from everyone. I had the truck that I had reserved and was on the road in less than fifteen minutes.

FELIX A. on 10/19/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I dropped off my car overnight. I was wrongfully charged $40 for not filling up my tank to the original level. So I had to return to the uhaul location to double check. The uhaul employee was very hesitant to verify that my charge was accurate. Another employee forced him to go to the car and verify that the gas level. He didn't want me to follow him to also verify. At the end, we were able to verify that the charges were incorrect and go a refund. However, I didn't appreciate getting wrongfully charged for gas and having such a hard time verifying it.

Joseph B. on 10/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Smile more!

DAVID L. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly customer support

Jason T. on 10/16/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for making the return process so easy and friendly after a long trip

KILEY D. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It is a very busy location and to not have parking available for people to leave their cars is weird to me. It is especially inconvenient on a busy street that requires waiting at lights to make u-turns. Other locations allow parking onsite.

Mohamed Z. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Human experience can be improved: had to ask many questions to make sure I am getting the right service. It helped to have used moving trucks before. Think about people who did not or do not remember the details. I had to ask about the paper to note all scratches and dents on the truck to avoid being charged for them when returning the truck.

Sharon G. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Informing the customer sooner about available inventory. The Almaden location switched my reservation to this location due to lack of inventory. This was all done the day before move date! Not a guaranteed reservation through uhaul!

Sandeep T. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The van was not clean at all.

Manuel S. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was good except it opened until 7:15 a.m. I was there at 7:00 am to be the first ones and to take care of business quickly so I can enjoy my Saturday afterwards. Please be there on time like your customers.

JEFF M. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I called up Mtn View to rent a trailer. I never called up Sunnyvale. Somehow my rental was at Sunnyvale. They sent out email confirmation, but I never looked at it in detail since I had no reason to think it would be anywhere other than Mtn View. Rented a van for the coming weekend. Not from UHaul.

STEVE W. on 10/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

everything was great!!!

JEFFERY B. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was a high traffic store with not enough help at the service desk so the line went to the door. While they were professional, I had gotten frustrated because we were sent there due to the truck reserved for us elsewhere being given away. The corp office was going to give me a VIP discount of $50, yet I was told here that they were not going to honor that. I asked her to call corp office and it did get resolved, but I seriously began doubting whether U-Haul would be my choice next time I needed to rent a truck.

carl l. on 10/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You overcharged me for mileage by $54, which is just straight theft. What if I personally came in and stole $54 of equipment from a u-haul store? It's criminal to steal, but you guys get away with it because you're a big corporation with my credit card. BS

Sean M. on 10/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The customer service could be better for a couple employees

SARA W. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Show us to our truck, don't just point and assume we know which one you mean. I can't tell by looking the difference between a 16' and a 20'.

CHRISTOPHER M. on 10/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Explain that no paperwork exchange is necessary in routine cases

ELIAINE C. on 10/7/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Told had no more charges called yesterday billed another $73 will never use your co again can't afford that when moving spoke to Roy @ your co yesterday because open auth was on my bank account said 0 bal due you charge me $43 plus a scc fee for a trailer afTer that !!!!!NOT happy don't have extra $$$$ won't use u again will tell everybody how I "feel !!!!

Joseph M. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

everything was great. Great customer service.

DANEAN G. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great. Helpful, knowledgable staff. It was a good experience. Thank you guys for everything!

Catherine K. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Overall this location is great. After hour return is always a little scary because you can never be sure you'll have room to park the truck in the lot

Wendy H. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was very busy on Saturday. Being the first weekend of the Month and Sunnyvale Extra Dump day, I would think they could anticipate the rush and increase staffing to help with amount of business this weekend.

Abhishek G. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Waited long time before I got my rental van, after return when i refueled the van to exact measure, i was asked to pay for extra fuel, without looking at the agreement paper. Then, I have to spend time and mileage to drive upto the uhaul to get the charges corrected. Pretty bad experience, but I guess uhaul will be like this.

JOEL S. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were told our trailer (that we had just hauled 1800+ miles cross-country) exceeded the capacity of our hitch on our 2000 Jeep Cherokee, and that it never should have been handed out to us. The employee said that only one turn signal light worked on the trailer. We are due some sort of compensation for this mis-handling (by the way, very out of the ordinary in our long experience with U-Haul). Thank you for your consideration.

Kathleen C. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

easy drop off.

TREVOR B. on 10/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The experience was smooth, quick and painless. The staff was attentive and helpful. No problems at all.

Raveendra H. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I expect customer service guy to be friendly and helpful.

Nikhil S. on 10/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had some problem finding the place, due to address inconsistency on map. But that issue aside, no other problems.

GENEVIEVE P. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The service assistant was very incompetent. I brought a print out of my reservation and even then he was unable to assist us without several mistakes. At first eh had us repeat the whole transaction, look at the print out few times, ask name, few times, ask for license few times, ask for credit card few times, over and over. He finally asked the next assistant to help him and even after all that and 30 mins at the counter (after a 45 mins wait time in line) he gives us a dolly and say you're set. My reservation clearly showed a 10ft truck and a utility dolly and after all this he says, oh you had a truck!! The worst experience I could ever imagine. While waiting in line I was in fact hoping to avoid that counter because ehe was taking 4 times longer there than the other one, but unfortunately I got called there.

MICHELE H. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You continue to change the requested pick up location without regard to the customer's schedule or needs.

SKYLER G. on 9/27/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged $11 for fuel usage even though I put gas in the tank right before dropping it off and had it above the line in the visual on the contract. I'm furious. Make this right please!

RACHEL F on 2/26/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

200 characters is not enough to properly explain the horrendous experience I have had thusfar with U-box and Uhaul. Horribly unorganized, and a waste of hours of my time.

JOANNE W on 2/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone that I interacted with at this location was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. The team spirit and attitude seemed to be very good. Thank you so much!