U-Haul of Sunnyvale

U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Share |

Address

939 E El Camino Real
Sunnyvale, CA 94086

(408) 735-7060

(Off Wolfe)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Susan R. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

One person working in the morning at the end of the month is a bad plan. I had to wait more than a hour in line to rent a trailer that I had a reservation for! Standing in line for a hour any place is uncalled for. Please fix your staffing issue, because clearly there is an issue.

PHILIP G. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a great experienced with the Uhaul staff. The manager was very friendly and helpful and polite too. it tooks us 20minutes to finish the processing and we're set to go. when we returned the equipment the staff helped hs right away and very courteous. They made our day brigjter and lighter. keep up the great work!

Jim P. on 5/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvement needed. JT was awesome!! He took care of our every need. Even when their computers went down he was able to rent is the truck needed.

STEVE W. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy and quick to pick up

Pablo M. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Returned the van the same day I picked it up. Got a call two day later asking me when I was going to return it.

JASON W. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck had low oil light come on. I had to fill with oil. They did not credit me. Also door was hard to close

NAVID M. on 5/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More registers

SAM L. on 5/24/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a cargo van on line. They seem efficient when a received an email and text on the confirmation. I also took the time to fill out all the necessary information for their express Check-Out. The experience went downhill from there. When I got there in the morning, the gal at the counter took a while to locate the key for my reservation. When she found it, she informed me that the van needed to be filled with gas. It took another 15 minutes before the van came back and the gal proceeded to complete my check out, noting in the process that I should return the van with at least 1/4 tank. I asked for clarification that the gas was only 1/4 full and she confirmed it. The General Manager was at the next register, so I mentioned that wouldn't it be a good idea to fill the gas tank before your customers come in, especially those that have reserved the vehicles? He told me that was not their process. I told him I did the express Check-In and have waited 20 minutes and now I have to go fill the van with more gas, why did they not fill the gas up? Again, he told me that was not the process. At this point, I was feeling very frustrated and told him as a feedback, it would be good to check the gas level when the cars came in and fill the gas to the 1/4 mark so that they would be ready for the customers the next morning. Thinking about this, they should already know what the gas level was because this is part of the check -back process. At the vehicle check out inspection, another guy with a General Manager shirt was sitting in the driver seat and rambling off the mileage and other things. Knowing what attention was paid to details or lack of, I asked the guy if I could sit in the driver seat so I can look at the mileage counter and other things as necessary. He did this unwillingly and when he acknowledge that he was also one of the GM's, I gave him the feedback that I did the Express Check-In, waited patiently for the van to be filled with gas and that it would be a better process to have the rental ready prior to the customer coming in. In addition, I am behind my schedule because I now have to fill the gas up some more. He told me to speak to the other guy ;0( He had other paperwork in his hand, so I asked him what else was there and he said there is a physical inspection around the car, but since I am sitting in the driver seat, he didn't know if I just want to sign it because I seem to have an attitude!!!

Laura W. on 5/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mileage fee too high.

adam c. on 5/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The 10 foot truck should not be recommended for one bedrooms It is too small. Only the 15 foot truck should be recommended for both bedrooms.. It should be recommended in order to guarantee that you have your truck by 8 am the next day, that you rent the truck starting with the previous evening. For example if you want a truck at 8am on a tuesday so that your movers can load at 8am the next day, it should be recommended to get the truck monday evening. Also, the truck should be given to the customer with a full tank of gas.

Ricky S. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

more availability of trailers if needed

CARRIE B. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserve the truck with a credit card but I asked them to note that the credit card was not to be charged because I was paying cash the next day. They went ahead and charge my card anyways you guys have lousy customer service I'll never come back to you again

HARIKRISHNA B. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience all together. Very well maintained vehicles. Easy pick of and drop off options and last but not least trust worthy.

Emmanuel H. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When I got my truck, the manager did not tell me that the dolly was not complimentary. He just said that the plastic tie was easy to break. When I broke the plastic tie, I saw that its usagecost $7. I did not use the dolly. When I returned the truck, I told the woman that I did not use the dolly, not even unscrewed it from the base. She insisted that since the plastic tie was broken, I needed to pay!!! The manager should tell customer that it costs to use the dolly!!!

GEORGINA S. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This store has great customer service.

May K. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went fine. Check out took a bit longer than usual, but it was 10 am and there were a number of customers who arrived at the same time. Bringing the trailer back was quick and easy. Employees were friendly and thorough.

Todd C. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Requiring that I haul around an unneeded hand truck and bag of blankets simply takes up space that I have RENTED according to the statement as to the size of the vehicle. While it began as an annoyance, it turned to actual be an issue since the stuff was in the way when we tried to put in a dresser. Rather than remove the bag and the hand truck and pay the extortion fee we unloaded a bunch of items and repacked. Scammers.

AMITAVA B. on 5/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Maintain your equipment ! The truck transmission wasnt working, in Neutral, it was going reverse, in drive it was staying in Neutral, had some near accidents yesterday ! The tie in rood was broken the fastener poped out wasnt able to tie my goods. Had to return the truck once I found that. Store closed so couldn't get the replacement. Called uhaul call center and road side assistance to report that. Good inspection would have found this out, also encourage customers to report problem and record them so you can identify problems in the equipment. People tend not to report problems if they either break them or cause them to waste time, but that causes more wastage later on. Consider getting into lawsuit due to any accident, thats more expensive.

JANYCE L. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work.

JULIO C. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

checking in online serves no purpose. I was scheduled to pick up the truck at 3:00pm. I got there at 2;40pm and didn't get attended until 3:15pm, which prevented me to return it at 7:00pm as I had hoped. Poor service, need more attendants behind the counter. You are trying to save money by not hiring enough people at peek times

Joshua L. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

After giving me a truck which after 3 minutes the alarm goes off the entire time you dive it down the road the manager actually told me that knew about the problem when I returned the truck. I told him that he should have told me before renting me the truck. He told me that he didn't need to tell me because I still was able to make my move. Worst customer experience I have ever had in my life. The manager was a flat out, I don't give a crap about my customers, jerk. I would never go to this location again!

SARA W. on 5/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Check out was easy and efficient.

KATHLEEN S. on 5/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck was not available at the Belmont location that I was sent to so had to drive back to Sunnyvale. The experience took over 2 hours and was the worst experience of customer service I've ever had with UHaul. Will NEVER rent from UHAUL using the 800 number ever again.

gak wee l. on 5/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

1. I like the new motorcycle trailer

JOSEPH G. on 5/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Joseph and his staff are absolutely amazing. Jason Soares met all expectations, went above and beyond to wow me. Will recommend all friends and family to the Uhaul of Sunnyvale!

SAMUEL S. on 5/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Notify the customer of the limited parking options ahead of time

Dean S. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Add customer parking

antonio T. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hard to park on the street w own car

ROHITH S. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The lady at 939 E El Camino Real working yesterday may 11th need to be more customer friendly. I am not expecting them to be super customer friendly. Just be customer friendly enough like most other business and have the courtesy to walk to the van i have rented to answer the question i have about the vehicle. It is important for me to know about where the switches and buttons of the vehicles are there and how to adjust the mirror etc as it will result in my safety and also your vehicle will be handled with care by people not trying to operate a big vehicle by guessing where is what.

POOJA G. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Please make sure to check the cargo hold for cleanliness. I found 2 trash bags which I had to throw away. If you have time to check the fuel gauge, you should have time to check the back.

Charles V. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have more employees to handle customer volume.

JIM L. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The windows on the vehicle were very very dirty inside and out. I had to get a ladder to scrub the outside windows. I had to also clean the inside windows. It looked like the vehicle had been parked outside for months. Otherwise, everything else was fine.

TOM R. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service but truck was very dirty.

Gloria M. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service, fast and friendly I'll recommend this location to anyone in need of a great and fast service, the employees are very professional and know the business well

Greg K. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I've rented from the Sunnyvale uhaul location many times, and the employees are always friendly and helpful. No nonsense, and taking care of business. In and out without issues. The precall to reserve what I needed was also a piece of cake. Thanks guys and gals! I appreciate it. Regards, Greg

Richard W. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Historically this has been a very good location - these people told me I was good to go...but would not listen to me regarding my concerns... PLUS I'd called in advance asking the mgr. if I could pay by check (it's a business situation) and the mgr. said if it was a local check I could... then when I got to the location, the people checking-in the truck said I'd already been billed... but didn't confirm the extra mileage and/or any asserted extra charges of gas which I could have clarified with my original initialed/modified contract... now I may have to drive 12 miles to go try to correct this tomorrow... ridiculous! If they thought I owed more gas they should have asserted that at time of drop-off - they weren't busy, and I was there over 1/2 hr. before the time the truck needed to be returned.

CHRISTY B. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Why is mileage so expensive?

SHAY A. on 5/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Long waiting time

DANA W. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The guy who checked me out at the counter was exceptionally rude. I rent cars almost on a weekly basis because of my work--cars are always rented with a full tank of gas, and I am responsible for filling the tank back up or am charged a mark-up fee. Your business rents me a truck with 1/4 tank of gas for a vehicle that gets terrible mileage--this is a horrible inconvenience to your customer. I will never rent from U-Haul again. And you should fire the rude guy who mans your counter in Sunnyvale.

BRENDA M. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good costomer service.

Kyungho C. on 5/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good....

Melvin W. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Fast service and nice helpful staff.

michael e. on 5/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Please see that operators at call center are better trained and that employees at this location are more courteous and helpful.

CAROL P. on 5/5/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Returned vehicle was not inspected. We returned the truck with a full tank, but was charged around $30 after the fact. The receipt indicated that there was under 3/4 of a tank.

MANJUNATHA K. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff unclear about what to do next, had to ask multiple questions such as where do i pick up the truck, while returning what happens next etc etc. People had trouble pulling into the parking lot too (vehicles were not being cleared off the entrance)

Lakshmi Kanth Y. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had to pay $60 in hidden charges, i don't even know what those are for. Why dont you show those details online? don't you think this is cheating?

Henry R. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Every time I have used Uhaul, the customer service rep would do an inspection with you of the truck. They would check the gas tank for you and any kind of nicks in the truck. None of those happened to me. I walked out into the yard, the rep pointed and said find this number on a truck, take down the sign in the window and put it behind you. Customer service has gone down I guess. When I got into the car, the needle was on the bottom part off of 1\4 tank. I returned it back at the gas level and have since been charged the uhaul gas fill up charge. At the end of the day, you are expecting the customer to do the job of your employees. This is ludicrous and anyone that asks me about my experience at Uhaul will get the same story you have.

JAMES H. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would lower the milage fees you now charge 1.29 per mile is steep for people on a fixed income

NATHAN S. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

- Only one person working the desk on a Saturday afternoon meant having to stand in line 15 minutes. - They made me park on the street, which is a very busy street (El Camino Real) with limited parking - The reservation was initially at 12:15 at the Mountain View UHaul, but they didn't have the truck. I asked them for the $50 "guarantee" refund, but they refused to give it to me and instead moved my reservation to another location that was 20 minutes away. This was after having to wait in line at that location for 15 minutes. - All in all it took an hour and a half to procure my reserved truck.

VIKASH KUMAR K. on 5/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Service!

phil l. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

1. I will never rent from U-Haul again. When I returned my truck, the U-Haul employee shouted with demeaning tone of voice that my return truck is "FILTHY". I didn't have any trash in back and blankets were folded so I didn't understand what he was shouting about. He shouted again and said look at the floor and would you rent the truck in this condition. And told me read the sign. I was puzzled, it was scrap marks from moving. Am I suppose to polish the floor before returning. There are ways to say the same thing without belittling customers. Train you employees right. This employee should not be working at U-Haul. Absolutely no customer service. 2. I booked over the phone the day because the lady told me it is $0.99/mile but I didn't realize until I return U-Haul charged me $1.19. This is a small difference in my case but it is absolutely not right.

Serge M. on 4/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service to the customer !

ISAO Y. on 4/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I rented a van for 1 hour, drove it five miles. I was charged extra despite pre-paying for estimated 10miles.

David P. on 4/28/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Personnel and management at this location are routinely non-responsive to customers.

Steven L. on 4/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Been there three times and the guys there are always helpful and friendly.

danny p. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

One thing I did notice that the paper work indicate in highlite where the gas needle should be when returning it after done was greater then when I first picked it up so basically at the mercy of waiting my bill calling back explaining the issue only to wait another three weeks for any such refund hope I'm wrong

RAGHAVENDRA R. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is my first time and I had an bad experience/issue (40 Miles took 15 gallons of gas ) and the guy was not at all helpful and ready to talk. Also people are standing inline and very few store guys to assist or help them. I am really not happy with the experience that i had and would never go back.

James B. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was charged a few dollars for not returning the van full. I did return it full and took a photo before I left the vehicle. I phoned the office and they said I didn't. No e-mail to follow this up.

JULIANNA K. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Upon calling to clarify a double charge on my uhaul rental a total of three separate times since April 13, noone has returned my request with a refund. I am about to report this business and location to BBB if I make one more call and still nothing is done.

kevin k. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The truck I had needed to have the wheels aligned as I was coming over hwy 17 on the downgrade when I used the brakes the truck shook pretty bad.

Ernesto V. on 4/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Maybe another clerk to help with the long lines.

Joseph A. on 4/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The reason for the negative selections was that I returned my equipment on Tuesday and it was not checked in until Friday after I was getting phone calls from UHAL asking where my equipment was.... I had returned it 3 days before. Why was it not checked in immediately when I returned it?

elaina j. on 4/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great I can't think of anything to improve on.

Michael W. on 4/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I drove 9 miles and put a gallon of fuel in to bring the gauge up to the same level. Yet, I was charged a fueling charge and now I have to go get that removed.

ken m. on 4/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have more customer service agents available at the desk. Every time I went to your facilities (4 times) there was a line that I had to wait in. Average wait was about 10 minutes. Too long.

Stu G. on 4/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff and great service??

Janet M. on 4/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I think at drop off instead of just saying we'll invoice you, email you the total. I would at least like confirmation of the ending mileage verbally when I'm there?

Ales K. on 4/12/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

What to improve: Better assistance especially for the first time user of u-haul services. Also the gas level marked on the paper was not according to the gauge in the car.

Joe B. on 4/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I first went to U-haul at 625 S Mary Av, Sunnyvale, CA - he didn't have a vehicle but he was very helpful, found and reserved the rental for me.

SARAH M. on 4/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It would be great to be able to park there, otherwise the experience was excellent!

JOE E. on 4/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I will not ever visit your mountain view store, they are rude and not very concern about customers, on the other hand, the girl that took care of us at the Sunnyvale store was VERY NICE AND GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!! i wish i could remember her name right now,

PRABAL P. on 4/7/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Your trucks should have a digital gauge to avoid disputes on level of fuel at the time of drop off.

VINCENT L. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We were standing near the front counter waiting to be helped. One employee was standing at the counter working on something. She didn't not acknowledge us. A second employee came out and went to the counter and was working on something else, didn't acknowledge us. Finally we asked if someone was going to help us. The second employee did. Employee was very nice.

WILFREDO M. on 4/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

associates are very nice & cooperative.they answers all questions you wanted to asked..for sure,if i need a u-haul ,i'll go again in El camino....thax El camino for your great services like me.your the number one......

bahram K. on 4/5/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I put gas in the truck when I delivered it. Then, they told me they will inspect it later and send me my receipt. When I got the receipt through email, it showed they charged more extra $8+ for the gas. I even took a photo of the gas gauge before I delivered the truck. They stole money from me for now reason.

Steohen A. on 4/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Even though I only did 15 miles, I ended up putting in 3 gallons on fuel. The tank was clearly NOT full when I picked it up. I believe the 10' van should get about 10mpg NOT 5mpg. It would also be helpful if you showed a diagram of the van bed showing that it is NOT completely flat, but has protrusions the wheels etc.

KATHERINE C. on 4/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, I received quick service for pick up and drop off. The staff member was friendly and professional. I will return.

Harold H. on 4/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have a separate cashier/register for moving supplies- it's not fair to wait for 15 minutes for a box!

Heather W. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

customer service was good, but could have been happier to help...seemed bothered

CHIP W. on 3/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The check in service is just way to slow. I arrived early and the time in line with just one clerk was just way way to slow.

MRTIN L. on 3/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I spect to have what i order online but the dolly its diferent i dont use because its to small but just for brok the seal they charge for i buy My own , whent i try to inspect for demages they refuse to mark because they ready make file i dont see any file. But little weird. I spect y some contact me whent they read my coment.

daniel v. on 3/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was one of the most efficient and professional U-Haul locations I have experienced (Sunnyvale). Good equipment options and extremely helpful staff. So much better than the Mtn. View location!!

maynard c. on 3/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Would have liked a smaller trailer but you do not have them when you do not return to the original rental business. It was much larger than I needed and more expensive.

JESSE Y. on 3/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service was not very good. I didn't like the attitude I got from the person I dealt with. He seemed to have a "whatever/don't care" attitude. Also I got stuck with a dolly that I had to remove because it got in the way of my moving. I asked to get it removed before I used the truck but apparently that did no good. I called customer service about the removal because I had a dolly already. I got a smaller truck than what I requested so I needed to utilize the whole space. That person said it was fine and would note it on my contract, but I still got charged for this!! I will be calling about this (AGAIN!!) Also the transmission on the truck was shotty. Changing gears between Park to Reverse did not line up with the indicator, same with changing from Reverse to Drive. Overall..I was very disappointed with the experience.

Haufai A. on 3/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

have more customer support on site.

LINDA H. on 3/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The only difficulty I had was in adjusting driver's side mirror.

LINDA L. on 3/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very warm perhaps air conditioning

Larry P. on 3/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

when I made the arrangements to pick up a 17 foot U Haul truck. I was not told that I had to travel at least another 25 miles north which woulda ended up making me another at 50 miles round trip to just get the truck.

Tom F. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your bill is practically unreadable. You need to show a clear total somewhere on it. There are three different numbers that could be read as total. It is a minor issue, easily fixed, but I had to call the office to get clarity and I had to put a note with it for my accountant.

KADEN S. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Moving is already a stressful event and the time we allotted went over; U-haul made it very easy to extend our truck with very little hassle.

KENNETH C. on 3/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I generally understand service businesses. Our last experience we had a planned pickup time and a tight schedule that same day. The map service from the call center gave us an address that had wrong directions. Some 3 1/2 miles from the actual branch in Sunnyvale, Ca. We called several times loosing eventually a Half HR. we were not called back as requested from the contacted branch. We found it on our own. Upon arriving we had three counter people talking among themselves with No notification. Something is severly wrong with your trafficing or dispatching operation. I never really cared for the roll over call center. Customer should have a choice for particular questions for the particular Branch or lot you rent from. Thx K.R. Cole

Bill C. on 3/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good service

RAJAGOPALAN R. on 3/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customers need to get their receipts soon once they return the vehicle and it would help to understand the total bill amount

JUNG L. on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

satisfied

NICHOLAS T. on 3/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have had a very awful experience with the 6x12' trailer I have rented from the Sunnyvale U-Haul center. I picked up the trailer for a massive move from Santa Clara CA to Louisville KY (about 2,400 mi). I picked up the U-Haul with ease. Cust service was great at this time. They helped me with hitching the trailer (which seemed pretty old and weathered compared to other similar trailers) and assisted to check my lights. I set out for my move 2 days later after packing the trailer. My wife and kids flew out while I drove. I was to meet them there with all of our belongings. About two hours into my drive I noticed that my truck was really struggling to tow the trailer even on the flat road on I-5. I then see cars start to back off from my trailer and then heard an explosion. I immediately got off the gas to try and stabilize my trailer that started to sway and pull my truck around. I was able to safely pull over and inspect the scenario. Upon inspection I found that the right rear trailer tire was flat and engulfed in flames! I ran into my truck and grabbed my gallon of drinking water to save the other tire from catching fire and to prevent damage to my items in the trailer. I immediately called the 1-800 # on my contract to get help as i was at this point in the middle of nowhere. I told them the situation and being that I am in the automotive business I knew that something mechanically was wrong (either bearing or brake seizure due to the nature of heat coming from that side of the axle). U-Haul road side then told me to wait in my truck until help came. About 1hr 1/2 later a pick up truck came with a gentleman with a tire and a floor jack. I inspected and found that is all he brought, no tools, no brake parts... he put the tire on but as i suspected it would not rotate due to an internal problem. He (the road side guy) left me and said it was all he could do. I then re-called road side and explained the sitaution. Still stuck on the side of the road with my dog and no food with limited water. Road side said that they would send out another road side guy who would have more tools and parts to help me out and to wait until he got there. Another two hours passed and the guy shows up. He has no replacement parts either (from the same company) but does have some basic tools to at least inspect the brakes/bearings. I took pictures of everything. The brakes were completely worn down metal to metal, the clips, springs and all hardware were either broken or worn out. the bearings were cooked from the heat. It was very apparent that this trailer was not inspected upon me taking delivery putting my life and the life of nearby drivers at risk! I was very upset at this point as regular routine maintenance would have prevented this whole situation. I work as a assistant service manager at a dealership and if we had let a veh leave our shop in this condition and a situation like this would have occurred it could potentially end in a law suit. To continue my s

Jeff S. on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best U-haul service center anywhere!!! Customer Service A+++

LEENA C. on 3/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was given the wrong truck. I drove away a mile when I realized the millage and gas filled was not matching my contract. I went back and had them fix the error. When you are moving every sec. matters. I returned the truck few hours before it was due back. I get a call next day from Uhaul saying truck is not back.

GILBERT H. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have rented u-haul from this location for years, and never had a complaint.Always excellent service

randy n. on 2/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Person that helped me was great! Quick, efficient, pain free

Venkateshwaran S. on 2/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome service and customer focus.

Daniel R. on 2/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

fast friendly service. Truck was clean and well maintained. Staff seemed busy yet still accomdating. Thanks for making this an easy process

STACEY L. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service representative for U haul was rude and short and obviously really didn't have time for me or any of my inquiries he also failed to go over the schedule when it was due back. I rented for two days but I did it on line and called to change pick up date and the phone rep failed to change return date and the guy who called to tell me it was late was very very rude.

Andrew C. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location was clean and well maintained but seemed understaffed when we picked up the truck. The wait was long and the line at the counter reached the door before we left the building to pick up our truck. The employee who helped us was polite but clearly a little stressed. The truck was in excellent condition and worked perfectly. The return process was super easy and the employee who accepted our return was super friendly and polite. Would rent from this location again, but would hope it would have a couple more staff members present during peak times.

Lisa B. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I did not receive a receipt for Saturday 2/21/15.

TRINIDAD G. on 2/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I didn't get a padlock key.

Mohammad R. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Clean and professional!

ALEXIS S. on 2/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We asked the sales person about the mechanical condition of the truck prior to renting as we've had problems in the past when renting a vehicle and he said it was new and was in great shape and easy to drive. 15 mins after leaving the lot the vehicle started making a warning "bell sound" and would not stop unless I parked the vehicle and turned off the motor. There was no warning light illuminated and no indication in the manual of what caused the bell. It was not the parking brake. 10 mins after turning the vehicle on it started again. I have recorded the sound. I drove for approx 90 miles with the obnoxious bell ringing the whole time. This was the worst moving experience I have ever had and I will never recommend uhaul again. I plan to make a formal complaint with the BBB.

CHIEN L. on 2/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the truck is very new and clean the rep is helpful do a walk thru and explain the vehicle

viet t. on 2/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager @ U-Haul Sunnyvale, Joe, was awesome to work with! It was my first time renting a big trailer and he helped me pick the right one for the job. Really great customer service and I will be back for more business very soon! Thanks Joe & the U-Haul team!

Hector A. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly and Exelent Customer Service...

BENJAMIN M. on 2/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I will never work with Uhaul again. In the past 2 months I have spent over $3000 on Uhaul services. This rental experience was an indication of how bad it gets. The truck was faulty, Roadside services was not helpful and told me "fuck you". I will hit you anyway I can with bad reviews.

Brian S. on 2/4/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No service representative at the front desk when I arrived. Waited 20 minutes before anyone showed up. Had tried to find them, but failed. Very disappointed in the customer service. The inside of the windshield was horribly dirty. There was a layer of dust and grime which made seeing through it in the dark very difficult. I do not believe it should be the responsibility of the rentee to clean the inside windshield. Would not recommend this location to anyone.

FRANCISCO M. on 2/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Decrease the price on mileage per mile. For example .50 cents per mile. Also Have the option for unlimited mileage for a reasonable price! Thanks, Chico

yakov l. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you so much!

yinghua z. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There is no place for customers' car to park... customer has to walk along EL Camino to find a place...

Vidushi K. on 1/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had asked for a luggage trolley but upgraded to appliance . BUT did could bot be used at all for the purpose..

DAVID H. on 1/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went well with no problems. I read their instructions and had my hitch and towing rig inspected before the day of the actual rental. This also gave me an opportunity to measure the trailer. I ended up changing my reservation for a slightly larger one which worked perfectly. A good value and a smooth rental transaction. I'll be back!

RACHEL F on 2/26/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

200 characters is not enough to properly explain the horrendous experience I have had thusfar with U-box and Uhaul. Horribly unorganized, and a waste of hours of my time.

JOANNE W on 2/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone that I interacted with at this location was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. The team spirit and attitude seemed to be very good. Thank you so much!