Customer Reviews for Empire Car Rental
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

2,810 reviews

87 Ethel Ave   Toronto, ON M6N4Z7
(Keele & St Clair)

(416) 532-9191

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/5/2022: Closed
  • 10/10/2022: Closed
  • 12/25/2022 - 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 1/1/2023 - 1/2/2023: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(416) 532-9191

87 Ethel Ave
Toronto, ON M6N4Z7
(Keele & St Clair)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/5/2022: Closed
  • 10/10/2022: Closed
  • 12/25/2022 - 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 1/1/2023 - 1/2/2023: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
3.0

The Lot is a dirt lot , so expect this , its not really important as to why you are here. The staff are nice Torontonians and the equipment is here in a decent location for pick up or drop off in Toronto downtown area. I was doing a one way drop off and it was about 25 mins from City Place area of Downtown, which for Toronto driving was very acceptable. I would recommend this place for location , just dont wear heels .. also if this is you drop location there is a Metro grocery store 100 feet away and lots of restaurants in the immediate area.

Todd G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice and pleasurable, patient and quite helful staff.

Errol H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James B. 
Rating:
5.0

It wasn't very clear that we arrived at the correct entrance walking in. A sign leading to the office that you see from outside the location could've been helpful :)

Andreas S. 
Rating:
5.0

Consistent good service.

Mark M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ernesto E. 
Rating:
5.0

Unfortunately the truck I rented was super dirty, it was on Sunday so I imagine somebody else finish with it and return it that way But overall good experience.

Adolfo G. 
Rating:
5.0

Allow me to rent from one location in toronto and drop off at another more convenient location in toronto but other than that the location was good the person working there was friendly and thr process to rent was easy

John D. 
Rating:
2.0

Never did see anyone as dropped off vehicle when office was closed. Had left 2 messages at this location to be sure that they knew we were dropping off there and no one returned calls. I finally did reach a lady who was extremely rude when I asked her questions and didn't have time for me.

Lorraine K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sanji P. 
Rating:
1.0

Equipment was filthy dusty dirty and they over charged me. Customer service is the worst

Khandi R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ADRIANR L. 
Rating:
3.0

I did not get the trailer I ordered. Instead I got a smaller one and could not properly pack it up and had to subsequently leave a mattress behind. Then I was over charged on the back end.

Jesse C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julius H. 
Rating:
3.0

They mentioned that we can return the car later as they close at 6 pm. Just dropping the keys and that's all. When we return the car, after 6 pm, and did the check out, the bill was higher than expected. My only issue is that should be mentioned when they offered/mention this kind of options. Also just dropping the keys has a 20 cad hidden cost that is not mentioned. Business are important but honesty with client too.

Tetsu T. 
Rating:
3.0

Was convenient to get to, but it was rather frustrating when I booked two dollies to move my apartment and they claimed that they had no dollies on site. However when we were returning the truck we saw them with an entire shopping crate of dollies. Making it seem like they just didn't want to provide us with the items we requested. This made the move take three times as long as it would have and almost made us late in returning the vehicle, which would have allowed for them to get an additional $20 dollars out of me. Not the best experience at all. I may switch back to my other locations since I never experienced any of these issues or the additional fee for dropping off after hours.

Ashley I. 
Rating:
3.0

There was a glitch in the process of the online truck sign out where it didn't let me progress though the “Driver Information - Confirm info…” section as there was an error saying “no special characters or spaces” in the DL No. box. It took almost 30 mins online to sort out which was annoying. I'd love to see more fuel efficient rentals in the future, hybrid or electric vans

Christopher R. 
Rating:
3.0

I made my reservation almost 1 month before the move in date and the location could still not Provide me with a dolly... There should be better prioritization for reservations. I dont know if it was specifically that day, I waited for 15minutes until I got served, thus missing some of my planned elevator reservations.

Onur C. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent helpful staff on hand …no improvement necessary .

Joan M. 
Rating:
3.0

Literally the worst app I have ever used

Adam L. 
Rating:
3.0

Hi, at pick up I stated that the van wasn't clean, I received it dirty. Then when I dropped it back, in time, I was charged $25 cad for it, when it wasn't clean to begin with. I did returned it in the same state. My move was pretty small. I'm really hoping I will get those $25 charged back, as I found it unfair.

Fernando Alberto R. 
Rating:
1.0

my order was cancelled in me!!!!!!!

Greg N. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kiah O. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff there was kind and friendly it was a great experience.

Jason R. 
Rating:
5.0

They were courteous and helpful. The staff treated each other kindly, (one person was learning the system), so it was a pleasant experience to hang out while waiting.

Ann W. 
Rating:
1.0

i had placed an order for a UHAUL to use for Sunday evening at 8pm. i received a call that the van I ordered was not in fact available and would not be available until 10pm - UHAUL had guaranteed this would not happen. I ordered a new one for 6:30pm on Monday for mobile pick up. The site was not working and not allowing me to go forward with the pick up. Thankfully, there was someone still in the office even though it had closed and they managed to help me create a new contract, but were not particularly pleased to do so. I had a really bad experience.

Nakisha S. 
Rating:
3.0

Staff were condescending. Registration process between in person and app-based was confusing and staff had no interest in explaining or helping. Wouldn't go here again unless I have to

Greig M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sydney C. 
Rating:
3.0

Online checkin process was longer than ideal. You should have had me set up all personal stuff at home, you save it, then there would be less work at the lot.

Paul R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alexander H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Uroy M. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff were extremely professional and friendly. I have been to 4-5 different uhaul locations and this one stands out.

Binh T. 
Rating:
2.0

The manager was irate about people parking in certain areas of the yard that seemed like a parking spot, there was no signage. If you need to ask a customer to move their car. Please ask respectfully, telling me to get my car out of there immediately is not very hospitable. Will likely rent from a different location next time.

Allan R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Victor S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sepandar S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ezio S. 
Rating:
5.0

The person I dealt with was sensational. Quick and efficient.

Jeffrey J. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terrence F. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason F. 
Rating:
3.0

Ok service

Gaurav G. 
Rating:
1.0

This is a big, dark, sketchy looking lot with no surveillance or supervision behind a bunch of empty stores. Also, the address listed leads to a wall, whereas the actual entrance is around the corner. For some reason the dropoff in the app linked to the browser instead of doing it within the app, so location services didn't work and I was quite confused as to whether I did the dropoff correctly. The dropoff should really be in-app, not linked out to a browser.

Shaiyan K. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Drazen P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Uroy M. 
Rating:
2.0

First vehicle listed wasn't onsite (my time wasted searching) There was damage to the vehicle which was not documented no Uhaul x stickers (I had to upload photos, my time wasted) I had to go to the office anyways to get the key. I then had to spend 20 minutes returning the vehicle, with online photos etc. Summery: During office hours book the equipment online and deal with the awesome Empire location staff.

Graham B. 
Rating:
4.0

clearer parking spots laid out and numbered

Randy L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Uroy M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John S. 
Rating:
4.0

The cargo van was dirty inside with spills on the console, seats and cargo space that needed vacuuming but not terrible. Overall it was ok and did the job.

Darrin B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Denis B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joe M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHERMAN M. 
Rating:
5.0

In and out quickly and loved how easy it was to return the vehicle.

Steven G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very efficient team despite internet connectivity issues due to Rogers internet blackout.

Dorin C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin D. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff were friendly and efficient.

Scott T. 
Rating:
4.0

Offer to help set up trailer. I knew how to do it but I still would like the offer of assistance

Charles F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MarcAntoine M. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service all around!

Lindsay H. 
Rating:
1.0

I was billed twice. Once in cash and was also charged to my credit card. I'll not go back to this location.

Karlo M. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

Paul D. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Minwoo J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

VITORMANUEL M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jabing L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Francisco A. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Customer Service!

Liban M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

martin K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve W. 
Rating:
4.0

The staff are great. However, would probably gain by having extra employees during busy times.

Kenneth R. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service great price. Saved a small fortune moving ourselves

mirko Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Location needs more staff. There were a lot of customers there, too many for two people to be expected to serve promptly, plus dealing with calls to the office.

Adrian H. 
Rating:
1.0

Worst location I've been to, the staff are incredibly rude and unhelpful, every time I request equipment it's never provided that's 3 times in a row now. They didn't have my truck rental as requested and would not accommodate me with something similar. My experience at this location makes me want to contact the better business bureau. I had booked everything in advance and it was not provided when I arrived. Again, the staff here are so rude and unhelpful they actually joked about me wanting to rent a 20 foot truck. I will never rent a uhaul again it ruined my move, caused so much stress and anxiety, so much that I will actively make an effort to keep people away from this place. The man and lady working from the trailer at this location clearly don't care how they represent uhaul.

James B. 
Rating:
3.0

Looked like a junk year.

Ernest M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Otavio Antonio D. 
Rating:
2.0

I waited 20 minutes for my vehicle even though I filled out everything online and asked for Mobile phone pick up. A woman who was standing in the office told me I had to wait for the owner to pick up my truck and then when he came in he he told her to serve me. The windshield was absolutely filthy on the inside and outside. The cab looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a long time. I would not recommend or use this location again.

David F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Egemen E. 
Rating:
3.0

The first truck I was given was full of stuff and garbage and I was given a second van. Even though I ordered a furniture dolly, none was available to me and I was promised reimbursement which I have not received. After all of this was settled, a 9am pick up time turned into getting the van at 9:45am, th Elias time was critical for my moving time

Kerry D. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service as always,this is my favorite location by far!

Richard B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jean S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

nasra H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stuart G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adam T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lonnie B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Fang Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adriano F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Liam R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adrian C. 
Rating:
5.0

all good

Andrew V. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shiv S. 
Rating:
1.0

Please improve your only check in process and coordination with your locations. I got instructions to look for a lock box but that location doesn't use lock boxes, instead locking keys in the back of truck. And the code sent by U-Haul was incorrect. This cause me a 3 hr delay to my move. I called customer service and after waiting about 1 hr and them another 1/2 of trying various codes the rep said I could book at about location, far away, or wait til they open. Oh, stilling waiting for a manager to call me back.

Shawn R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Trevor T. 
Rating:
1.0

I was charged for fuel despite filling up the van before returning.

Christopher H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NATHALIE V. 
Rating:
5.0

One way trucks should be brought to the store its ordered from

Steven W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jonathan J. 
Rating:
4.0

I was charged for safe toe coverage and I didn't initially select that coverage during my reservation process. Oh well...

MASSIMO P. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top