Customer Reviews for Safe Ship of St Augustine
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

369 reviews

1965 A1A S   Saint Augustine, FL 32080

(904) 823-8884

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/26/2021: Closed
  • 7/3/2021 - 7/5/2021: Closed
  • 7/10/2021: Closed
  • 7/17/2021: Closed
  • 7/24/2021: Closed
  • 7/31/2021: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(904) 823-8884

1965 A1A S
Saint Augustine, FL 32080

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/26/2021: Closed
  • 7/3/2021 - 7/5/2021: Closed
  • 7/10/2021: Closed
  • 7/17/2021: Closed
  • 7/24/2021: Closed
  • 7/31/2021: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

I love this store. Always friendly and courteous

CHRIS T. 
Rating:
2.0

Truck had 150,000 miles on it and engine sounded iffy. Reserved a furniture dolly and needed it! But location did not have one. Service person was cold and unengaged. Returned truck at 3:30 in afternoon and office closed. Had to use their app to take pictures to prove truck was clean, mileage, and gas gauge was full. Had trouble with app because it required to track my phone location and my settings didn't allow their app. Took 25 minutes to complete return of truck on my phone. Not sure why they couldn't just verify everything when they opened the next day like rental car companies do, they had my credit card. Self return process on my phone was not explained in reserve process or pick up process.

Steve Z. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Corey S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANTHONY H. 
Rating:
2.0

Truck pulled to the right and wasnt a full tank when we picked it up and got charged when we didnt fill it but we put gas to above where the truck was when we picked it up

MArleen L. 
Rating:
1.0

Would not return the trailer that I had the car on I had to find another location and took me an extra hour just to return the trailer.

john R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GREGORY P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARY H. 
Rating:
5.0

I would recommend if they serviced the trucks. The truck we had needed to have the tires balanced and rotated. It was an extremely bumpy ride. So much so that we could not drive our things on the interstate. We took back roads through town to stay at a low speed. We were planning on renting the truck for a couple of days. But turned it in because the ride was so rough. They did offer another truck but we chose to just do the rest of the move ourselves. No price adjustment was offered. We have used uhaul consistently the last 20 years. This experience was very disappointing.

Scott A. 
Rating:
5.0

Return truck app for after hours didn't work and had to call customer service for return. Overall good experience. I'm familiar with computers sucking ass and didn't surprise me.

Ken H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg C. 
Rating:
3.0

The vehicle came with low air pressure in one of the tires.

Jess B. 
Rating:
5.0

Newer clean trucks. Helpful staff!

Louis K. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice operation.

Paul D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

john M. 
Rating:
4.0

It was a very good experience - location was convenient and store manager was helpfu.

Bobby E. 
Rating:
5.0

very professional, knowledgeable, and accommodating...

Mike B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marko B. 
Rating:
5.0

Paul was great and very timely with service and information. Good experience. Will recommend.

Mike B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rebecca R. 
Rating:
5.0

Safe Ship handled the return with efficiency and friendliness. Great place wth lots of services.

Michael B. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dustin B. 
Rating:
3.0

Windshield was covered in bug splatters, and box wasn't swept

Barry B. 
Rating:
4.0

Very nice truck. Hopefully it stays at this facility.

Michael C. 
Rating:
5.0

We have used ship shape before and was very satisfied with the assistance that Paul provided today. Thanks

RICHARD S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Durell P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very good customer service and a great experience overall.

Brian R. 
Rating:
5.0

The man in the store was very helpful. Said I needed a hand truck because I forgot to get one at the other location so he gave me a hand truck & dolly free of charge.

Douglas P. 
Rating:
4.0

I picked up on a Sunday and had to change truck size. The instructions given by St. Aug store were negated by Jacksonville. The online process when O got there was not working. Got error page. Fortunately I was with a taxi driver who had an extra phone and I was able to call Jax office for help. But it took three calls, on hold for five minutes each time, to complete the process. It took 45 minutes and the driver missed four rides so I had to pay him $50 instead of $5!! And if he had not been there I would not have been able to get the truck to move my daughter. Would have been a total disaster. The phone service data connection is weak there. And I have Sprint and an iPhone 7. You need to improve the online check in service. My suggest: allow client to complete the DL and photo part and set pick up window (make it more than 15 minutes!) ahead of time while at home with wifi access. Then in the day of pick up or day before to be safe, send a text they can reply to for pick up. Something. This would have been a real mess if I had not had a second phone available and a patient driver. And as I said, it cost me ten times as much as it would have.

David G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joyce Y. 
Rating:
3.0

Easy and convenient drop off service.

Thea B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James T. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent truck.

Leonard F. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kim J. 
Rating:
5.0

i phone checkin and return was such a convenience!

Anthony S. 
Rating:
4.0

The truck's exhaust system had been altered with a holes hand drilled through the bed panel rather than using the correct tailpipe causing extra loud exhaust noise in the cab when passing guard rails, other vehicles or when they were passing you on the right side of the vehicle. The dealer marked the holes and stated a repairman put them there. The noise was very discomforting to my hearing, unfortunately I did not know the noise problem until after I had the truck loaded and was on my way from FL to TN.

Thomas G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frank D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frank C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joe C. 
Rating:
5.0

Dont let the sliding door go past the upper frame. Mine got jammed and I had to call for help.

Lisa M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rick G. 
Rating:
2.0

We reserved online . Truck was filthy with coffee puddles up in drink holders and all over dash. Insurance which was reserved didn't show up

Amy H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Allan C. 
Rating:
5.0

I have sent several emails and never heard back. Very disappointed with the communication from that day. I had no choice but to rent the truck and leave with it. But the 1499 charge I had questions about and never received an answer.

lindsey S. 
Rating:
5.0

Explain drop off if office is closed.

Jeanne B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Allen A. 
Rating:
4.0

All worked the way it was supposed to

Vanella W. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast and easy making the move quick

Robert P. 
Rating:
5.0

Vehicle was rented with a check engine light on. I informed the agent at Safe Ship. He came out and verified the light and said it would be OK to take the vehicle anyway. Vehicles should not be rented when there is an obvious ptoblem.

Jack B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Skeeter D. 
Rating:
3.0

Give the locations all access to the inventory and availability at all locations within a 25050 mile circle. We had to go to three different locations to find a 10 ft truck with one-way rental.

Robert H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GUILLERMO R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carl O. 
Rating:
3.0

I had gotten a text after I had dropped truck offf and placed keys. Of how to check truck in. I did call and leave a message so wasn't a problem and simple enough to drop keys and park truck thanks

jolene R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tina W. 
Rating:
5.0

All went well. Easy rental done using smartphone.

Tom S. 
Rating:
3.0

When I reserved truck, I requested 8am pickup & it was confirmed. When I arrived at the location they didn't open until 9am. Need better coordination with reservation system - I wasted an hour. Even if I would have used the code to access the truck - the office staff had the key - so, that wasn't a good option. Thanks!

Peter B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carrie B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

william H. 
Rating:
3.0

it was closed so cannot tell you much about it. drop off process was simple.

Dipu A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank god someone still knows how to be efficient and ready to get you on yor way

james P. 
Rating:
3.0

Not sure the clerk that helped knew what she was doing.

ron B. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome to work with

jerry C. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ross E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DIANE G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen S. 
Rating:
1.0

This store operator is not user friendly. In fact he is unfriendly. I could see this when I took the truck. Later I called and explained that I was charged for $9.38 in gas after driving only 2.2 miles, and that the fuel readings on the invoice didn't match what I recall them reading, he became even worse. He explained that if I had an invoice I should bring it in for a refund. I didn't put fuel in, but was bothered in principal by the inaccurate billing. He repeated the statement about bringing in an invoice and hung up.

Robert G. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck has over 130,000 miles and the transmission felt like it could not get out of low gear. Everything else was great.

Peter F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert Y. 
Rating:
1.0

I reserved a one way rental directly from the the renting location, but the agent used an “in town only” contract. This created a major problem. She was aware of the one way drop off. In addition, the drop off location that was noted online was closed when we arrived even though we arrived before closing time. When contacting U Haul customers service to find another drop off location it was then that we learned that that drop off location had been shut down for violations. We were also told about the “in town only” contract and were advised to contact the renting location. Upon contacting the renting location the agent said she had caught her mistake after we left and had thought that she had corrected the error in the system. She said she'd get back to me. About 15 minutes later the district manager contacted me and said to go to the nearest U Haul location then call him. The first location we called said they were full. The second location we input into our GPS sent us on a wild goose chase. The third location we drove to said they weren't affiliated with U Haul. However, they told us of a location. We finally arrived at that U Haul and called the district manager. He helped guide the agent through the checkin process. Although the district manager was apologetic, and very helpful, we will not be using U Haul again, as our experience was extremely stressful.

audrey P. 
Rating:
5.0

Always use this location. Great people. Fast and easy. No hassle

SHAWN D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HOWARD B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Deborah M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keaishia B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cherie M. 
Rating:
5.0

Watch out for small cars parked behind trucks!

DIANE G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gwendelyn R. 
Rating:
5.0

The AC quit working about 1/2 through the moving process. August in Florida is quite warm, and this made the move highly uncomfortable.

Ken M. 
Rating:
3.0

I had a couple concerns, no orientation was provided to the rental equipment prior to my hooking it on my truck and before my leaving At the location. Had this orientation happened we may have identified the safety issue with the equipment. My second concern was specifically that, The location. Had this orientation happened we may have identified the safety issue with the equipment. My second concern was specifically that, The tow dolly I had reserved and picked up later in the afternoon did not have working tail lights, brake lights or turn signals. This was a definite safety hazard The tow dolly I had reserved and picked up later in the afternoon did not have working tail lights, brake lights or turn signals. This was a definite safety hazard because my trip was scheduled for overnight. I did not have the luxury of postponing another day and therefore had to risk it and utilized my automobile parking lights for safety. I should be entitled to a refund of my rental due to the safety hazard.

Robert S. 
Rating:
1.0

I returned the truck with adequate gas but the staff insisted it wasn't enough and charged me an extra $27.She needs her eyes checked.

Robert C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EVALIN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Harald B. 
Rating:
4.0

Have greater inventory of smaller trucks available

Gerard S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bernard G. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service. Will rent from again.

William G. 
Rating:
2.0

I was also billed a second time. Now I have to go all the back over there to get it fixed. Really not pleased at all.

Linda S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry O. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Blair S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Renee S. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top