Auto Service Experts (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Auto Service Experts (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

1303 Dundee Ave
Elgin, IL 60120

(224) 523-8858

Driving directions

View website

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for Auto Service Experts

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Auto Service Experts

Overall rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Antonio M. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No comment

Sara M. on 7/31/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The associate at this location was argumentative, belligerent, disrespectful and unprofessional. I can't believe that U Haul wants someone like this representing their company. This was the worst experience I have ever had with u haul and will think long and hard before I rent from them again.

Sandy P. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was beyond stressed renting this vehicle. I never received a call confirming my rental the day before. I then called the 800 number and was told that there wasn't a truck definitely confirmed for my use but one might be in by noon the next day. I had gotten plans that could not be changed for my move so this was completely unacceptable. Also my preferred rental location was changed to one thirty minutes away. This was one of the most stressful moves I have ever experienced and I will second guess using uhaul ever again.

lars b. on 6/10/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Took some time with the paperwork. One thing that U-Haul could do, at least in States that have tolls, is to remind the customer to bring their I-Pass from their vehicle before they get on the toll way.

AUDREY L. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hard to understand the rep on phone.

FELICIA W. on 1/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy/ the worker was very rude. The Uhaul truck was two centimeters & I mean a centimeter from where I received the truck at. He needs to attend customer service classes!!

ANNYSI H. on 11/8/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Not the fault of the company we dropped off the trailer but their location; really no space to park the trailer.

STACIE N. on 10/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Location was closed at the time of dropoff

RANDY W. on 10/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have the truck ready, clean, and available where it is most convenient for me, in other words at the location where I made the reservation. Charging me for extra miles to pick up the truck in completely the opposite direction was extremely inconvenient and succeeded only in further upsetting an already disappointed customer.I will not be using U-Haul again as I cannot think of one positive thing to say about this experience. Unless you count charging me extra for absolutely no added benefit. U-Haul lost a repeat customer and a lot of good will for $20. Nicely done...impressive business model.

JARHONDA W. on 9/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor customer service. Not professional. Very rude.

STEVEN G. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Not only was I told by whoever took the reservation that I would be picking up the truck in crystal lake I had to drive 115 mins to get truck and was told I had to drop back off there that's 64 miles I had to pay for just to get the truck

William V. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was a problem with the key getting stuck in the ignition.

mike k. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very quick & helpful.- Much better then Randall & Rt 20 location.

robert h. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

easy access and parking friendly staff

JASON R. on 5/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Loved the service will definitely rent a truck from this location again in the future.

BENTLEY S. on 5/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First off I made reservations for a full size car dolly, It was Givin away to someone else. Then I was the only person in the store and I'm trying to figure why it was Givin away. He then proceed to tell me to hold on and help a customer who walked in 2 min in our conversation. Then more customers came in. I was in there for 2 hrs before he got to me Again. At this point I didn't wanna deal with it and just opt for a 2 wheel half size car dolly.. when I picked it up I tested the lights on the dolly. No brake light or signal on the right side. That was ok but what made it more worse is the ratchet strap kept comming loose to where I was stopping every 30 min to check it.

TIMOTHY S. on 5/8/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The guy running the place is an ornery man who doesn't speak good English. I reserved the truck online, then wa s promted to "check in" online to make it faster when I get there to pick it up. Entered my credit card and drivers license info. 15 minutes later I arrived at the location and I guess my rental clock started 20 minutes prior when I checked in online. What a crock! I would have never checked in if I knew I lost those minutes. And on top of it - he still had to enter my drivers license number and credit card when I got there. That took another 5 minutes. What good was it checking in ahead of time? I asked him that and he started yelling at me and implying I was cheap being worried about 15-20 minutes I lost and was basically mocking me after I answered him why 20 minutes mattered. This guy thinks he can just bully people and intimidate them - but he has no business dealing with the public. Never met such an a-hole in my life. Customer is king my friend - not you. It's like I was bothering him by asking questions. Shocked at the way I was talked to.

Jaime G. on 3/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My preferred drop off location was changed to the other side of town, and I was charged the extra 2 miles to drop it off there. I called customer service and was told I had to drop off at the new location. It was a congested area and hard to maneuver with a car trailer. It was very inconvenient, especially since my original drop off location is less than a mile from our new house.

LINDA W. on 12/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Since this was the first time I had to transport a vehicle, it would have been nice if this location would have indicated that using a dollie to transport my vehicle was improper, that a trailer was the appropriate means of transport. If they had just asked, did the owners manual show that this was the proper procedure to transport. Not only would it have protected my vehicle from the damage that was caused (replace differential at $3,000), but you're company would have been paid $300 more for the trailer. If you are the experts, why would you not go a step above and advise the customer that what they reserved is not the best or safest choice. Do people just not care anymore? A simple mistake was the difference of $300 more for a trailer to a $3,000 repair bill. Very poor customer service from the experts!!!!!!!!

BENZIN T. on 11/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The auto transport was not safely secured Damaged my back of my car

manuel b. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

was fast and easy had no problems

GEWONE R. on 11/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have a bad experience with this one place. The owner was rude and he keep calling me and send email alerts. I called in several different times to tell them about my experience and the money he keep trying to get from me. Poor service

STANLEY G. on 8/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only problem was the reservation was at a location within three miles but the pickup location was over 25 miles away!! The ignition key was almost impossible to remove.

ANTHONY C. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The trailer that we received had issues with the tires, during our 2000 mile drive we had to put the air multiple times, when called the place where the uhal was rented the person was totally not helpful. Not his problem attitude, will not rent again.

Russell G. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Simple and fast. Tehy open at 8:00 and I was out of there by 7:59. (owner showed up 10 min early and jumped to get me out quick). Also drop off is simple and no complications

DUSTIN I. on 6/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience and great prices! This is the second time I've used uhaul and I will definitely use uhaul again. The customer service rep on the phone that helped me with my reservation was extremely nice and helpful! Way to go uhaul!

THOMAS C. on 5/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

he was rude and wouldn't answer any of my questions. he made me hook up trailer alone in the rain and then came out only to check turn signals.

Russell G. on 5/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Could not pick up before 8:00 AM. But that is minor and was known up front so no big deal. Otherwise everything was excellent.

JEFFREY T. on 4/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The U-Haul system indicated that moving blankets were available, and they had to scramble to fulfill one of the 2 orders we requested. The problem is with the system and not the location.

sheila l. on 3/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The man was not very nice at all. Did not explain things correctly & i had to call the Rockford store to get the correct answers. Rockford store was very nice & pleasant. I will definitely recommend the Rockford store but not Auto Service Experts. Not sure what the Experts mean in their name but definitely not experts in costumer service.

Steven T. on 2/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. The experience was easy and quick. Much quicker than the last time I rented one using the old machine.

JACOB R. on 12/19/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My experience was terrible here. I called on a Sunday afternoon and when the person answered the phone they said "hello"? I would have expected them to say it was uhaul that I was calling. Then I couldn't understand a word the person was saying. They had a very thick accent and they were very short with me because I was calling on a Sunday. I felt like an inconvenience and that should not happen to a person in a new place.

Elizabeth M. on 10/1/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure the person renting you the truck checks over the truck WITH you. This gentleman did not do that.

ED S. on 9/3/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Best rate savings feature was great help and appreciated Will be repeat customer

THOMAS Z. on 8/12/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Would recommend if people lived close to that location. I live 5 minutes from the U-Haul in Crystal Lake and I was sent 20 miles to Elgin to pick up the truck which to me doesn't make sense since I reserved the trcuk 6 days prior to me renting it

DOMINIC G. on 6/3/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everythin went smoothly. They Showed Me How To hook up the trailer and disconnect it. before I left they made sure I was ready to go and Road safe.

JEFFERY H. on 5/21/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have nicer equipment that doesn't have dents and someone who doesn't tell me that I HAVE to have insurance and a trailer that doesn't need air in the tire each time we fill up with gas...

ANNA d. on 5/13/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

everything is perfect

Ray H. on 4/22/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

They close too early on Saturdays resulting in an extra days fee.

ROBERT R. on 3/30/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We live in unincorporated St Charles IL & the closest location was an Elgin location. When it was time to pick up the truck, there was no truck at our location & we were sent FURTHER north away to pick one up when there were 2 locations somewhat closer south or east of us. This resulted in a $2.08 charged for 4.9 miles over when we forced to drive 5 miles FURTHER each way and would have actually been under miles. (Besides the gas & miles put on our car). We would like everyone to know that this happens often!

ANGELIA K. on 3/26/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location smelled of cigarette smoke. As a non smoker I don't want to go into a business and smell cigarette smoke.

Adam G. on 1/28/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Providing trucks without water damage would be a good first start.

MAREK K. on 12/1/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great service. wonderful people. nice trucks.

Ann H. on 11/27/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Did not have the contract on hand and they were able to look it up and get everything taken care of, perfect service.