U-Haul Moving & Storage of Oakland

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Oakland

Share |

Address

3700 Bigelow Blvd
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

(412) 687-4256

(On Polish Hill across from Bloomfield Bridge near Pitt University)
Driving directions

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Oakland

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Oakland

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Sherman T. on 12/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager Kevin Smith was great and very professional

Robert E on 12/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The motion timer for the lighting on the first floor is too fast

SUSAN S on 12/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

People helped me a lot when I was there. When I responded to their emails, they never answered, although it said to contact them anytime. 3 times I tried before I gave up. Still I recommend them.

BRIAN L. on 11/22/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Better signage. I missed the turn the first time. Otherwise it was an excellent experience.

SHAWN N on 11/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I truly could not have been happier with my experience here. Kevin and his team were always very helpful and courteous.

Gabriel C. on 11/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Robert Grace was extremely helpful and made sure I had a top notch experience at U-Haul. He was determined to provide the best customer experience he could and I appreciate it. The truck was clean in general and was well maintained. Regretfully, the ashtray in the cab reeked of cigarette smoke, making the whole cab smell not too good. Other than that, everything was great!

AMBER M. on 11/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kevin and his team were very helpful and kind. I have rented from this location several times and would continue to rent again. Thanks

Evan B. on 11/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dude who helped me out was great! Very helpful and cheerful.

Bridget M. on 11/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The woman you had working the front desk did not know how to use the operating system. She put the manager on speakerphone in order to figure out what to input. Overall the check-in and check-out process took a very long time due to her lack of knowledge about how to work the system.

denise m on 11/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you so much for having such an easy experience, building was so clean!

russ p. on 10/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kevin Smith, Calvin Beck, and Wonda Williams always exceed my expectations on every visit. I receive professional and courteous customer service each and every time. Kevin and his team are an asset to this company. Thanks for making this the easiest move I have ever done!! Nice Floors!!

MAJO D. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great people to work with. Very professional and friendly. I will definitely recommend this place to anyone.

CHRISTOPHER P. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I ordered a truck online, the total was $35 and when my fiancé went to pick it up, they ran his card for $100. They over charged us and said we put 500 miles on, when we put about 6! Then, when we went to return the truck, the woman at the desk was clearly under the influence of something and complained that she didn't have "time" for this and we stood in line for 25 minutes when I asked if there was a drop box. I've never experienced anything like that in any customer service situation. I have never used U-Haul before and have serious doubts about using it again. Payment should not be a surprise, especially when ordering online.

HOLLIE M on 10/16/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Kevin was exceedingly helpful, always professional and pleasant. I loved the changes that UHaul made when they took over. Mostly pleased that the company saw the value in keeping Kevin.

Joseph S. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager and all his staff were extremely helpful and polite. My rental experience was excellent. 5 stars!!

Alex H on 9/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Truck parked at loading dock, garage door broken, entry keypad broken, lock I paid for online didn`t show up in your system, paid for twice. Everything I wanted in a facility was broken.

SHARON S on 9/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The ramp by the entrance makes it is to load and unload one`s belongings.

ELISABETH E on 9/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager, Kevin, was wonderful and made my storage experience as easy as possible. The access bays should be fixed as it was a bit difficult to access our unit with a moving van.

catherine h. on 9/7/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Treated very well.

KRISTINA M. on 9/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This move has been one of the most difficult I've ever had. The week preceeding was just awful and the move itself was not fun. But the guys at this location made me smile for the first time that week. They were so accommodating and friendly. They really cared that I was having such a difficult time and went above and beyond to make anything they could easier for me. I will absolutely use this location for any future moves, although hopefully not too soon!

Geno A. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful experience. First time I ever used this location and I had A1 customer service. Kevin was absolutely great. Kevin was very respectable thank you for your services

Junrong H. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hope Uhaul can set up more company for squirrel hill neighbor

DOMINIC C on 8/29/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Service was good for Summer storage of student belongings. This was a perfect and convenient solution, for storage needs. Will defiantly use again, and recommend to others in need.

Tom D A. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My daughter attends the University of Pittsburgh and I have done business with Iron City Storage for 3 years - both for storage and moving services. The people are super helpful and the storage facility close by and easy to access. I have never had a bad experience here and would always recommend Iron City.

SUE T on 8/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager Kevin Smith Calvin were very helpful, They were wonderful.

SUE T on 8/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager Kevin Smith and Calvin were very helpful, They were wonderful. Easy move.

TRACY W on 8/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Daughter attends University of Pittsburgh and this worked great for us to store her things over summer would highly recommend doing this verses hauling things back and worth

MARC K on 8/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The facility is very well maintained and easily accessible and the level of service is excellent.

JOSEPH G on 8/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This worked out very well for our college student! Always a nice experience and friendly staff as well!

JANE T on 8/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and very helpful with our needs.

Jean W. on 8/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous.

CATHERINE S on 8/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We used this facility for summer storage after freshman year at the University of Pittsburgh. We will definitely be back next year. Very convenient and great prices Thank you

JOHN M on 8/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice Clean facility Big Storage elevators

WALTER E on 8/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The location was great and near campus. The facility was very clean and appeared very secured. I would definitely recommend to others.

MURTADHA A on 8/24/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

..........

DEKWUAN S on 8/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good place to store your belongings over college break. Safe and prices are great.

THERESA O on 8/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent facility. Kevin has been very helpful with my questions. I would highly recommend this facility.

MICHAEL H on 8/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Service and very convenient to Pitt Campus

john s. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

would not recommend the location because of the distance to travel to get there. In addition to the distance to the location I was disappointed in the fact that there was no cruise control in the vehicle, also no back up cameras.

SHIRLEY A. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager (Kevin Smith) was very polite and quick to provide services. Great job.

JOHN M on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very Clean storage excellent Staff

AJAY D. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Due to my busy schedule, I had to call this U-Haul location thrice to adjust my pickup time. Kevin made it seem to so easy. He was there to help when we picked up the cargo van and back again when we dropped the van at the location. This U-Haul location would be my first choice when I need help with moving.

SUBRATO B on 8/22/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It is a well maintained storage. I will use this whenever I need in future.

Jim F. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The customer service rep and manager were knowledgeable and professional. Great to deal with.

KYLIE B on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience!!

MARGARET R. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The 2 men there were wonderful in helping us. Also in helping another couple that was having a lot of problems. The service man was most kind to them in a difficult situation as he was being yelled out he kept calm and helped them make things right. Very professional and I thank them!

Daniel A. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Should state in info that it is convenient to university of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon.

ERIN M on 8/17/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

VERY GOOD

ZACHARY M on 8/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall great experience. Reservation was easy, staff was friendly and professional, and the building and unit were very clean.

Luis A. on 8/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager was extremely friendly and helpful. Wonderful team at this location

Thomas O. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Take a little more time to review things

Clare C. on 8/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Do you want a smooth, head ache free moving experience -- if your answer is yes, go to Iron CCity U Haul near to the Bloomfield Bridge. Kevin Smith, the Manager will help ypu with everything from directions to equipment to finding the right boxes. The van we used was spotlessly clean. Moving is always a time consuming challenger that is full of surprises. Dealing with Kevin at Iron City U Haul and the great service he provides take one major uncertainty out of the moving process.

Olivia S. on 8/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was great! The young man who checked me out was professional, fast, and friendly.

DELLA p. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was a small mix up with the person who made reservation manager corrected it and did a great job Djpennywell

Amber H. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Guy was very nice and helpfull

RYAN S. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good experience overall. This place is mainly a storage facility, that also happens to have a few truck/vans to rent out. I think the entire place is staffed only by one person... Nobody was available when we arrived at 8am to pick up our truck, but we went outside and found the GM and everything else went smoothly. Can't speak for the storage, but the uhauls are fine.

ANDRE B on 7/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I live outside the state of PA and have been using this location for 2 years now and from day one Kevin has been nothing but the best and greatest.

DANIEL B on 7/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall it was a great experience.

XUANCHONG L on 7/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff provides excellent service.

ELIZABETH P on 7/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a nice storage place and Kevin Smith was especially helpful. He always answered my questions and was professional and courteous. I would recommend this location to friends because of him.

KEVIN A on 7/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kevin and the rest of the staff were great. Very nice and accommodating people. The facilities were very well maintained, and the multiple loading docks were useful.

CHUFANG X on 6/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. I definitely recommend this facility to anyone who wants a non-stressful moving experience.

APRIL C on 6/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Robert was fantastic. He stayed late to get me into the unit. He backed the van up for me because I was too nervous. He then even helped unload my cabinet. He was amazing!!

SUSAN K on 6/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very convenient to use.

TIA H on 5/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Excellent service staff very helpful

ADAM B on 5/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Couldn`t have asked for anything better! Staff was very helpful and Kevin really helped me out with everything I needed for my move! Would go back every time!

CONNER V on 5/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people were very friendly and helpful throughout the move in process, and the facilities were great!

SIVARAMAN B on 5/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was great!

SHARON S on 5/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everytime we arrived there, the `garage door` was open and no one else was moving items in. I don`t think that is very secure.

CATHERINE S on 5/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We used this U-Haul for summer storage. My son attends The University of Pittsburgh, this location is less 2 miles from campus, very clean and prices are reasonable. We will be back next year.

RENEE R on 5/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Helpful staff.

SUBRATO B on 5/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

First time stored in an U-Haul facility. Looked to me a great option at first sight.

MORGAN E on 5/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The facility is super clean and Robert was very helpful. Highly recommended as the storage solution.

AUDREY A on 5/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was so friendly and helpful, especially Kevin! :

DENISE C on 5/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Super helpful friendly people!

TRACY W on 5/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy process Using this storage was very happy!

HARINDER G on 4/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

staff were helpful,plenty of carts available for loading.the unit was clean.

ADAM B on 4/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome experience! I could not have asked for anything better. The staff really helped with everything I needed and were very nice people. They made sure that I had everything I needed for my move.

MARK S on 4/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had not been to the storage place for two months. When I walked in the GM recognized me. Great service!!

DANIEL A on 4/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very kind and helpful staff. you should put the right address to drive to on your website, the mailing address sends googlemaps slightly off, and i had to take a u-turn to get into the parking lot

Amey K on 3/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing service. Very convienient.

MICHAEL S on 3/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The units are a bit low compared to many other storage facilities just over 8` instead of ~9`. Otherwise, the facility is clean and the staff are very helpful. B for the units, but A+ for service.

CHRISTINE V on 3/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you!

JACQULINE M on 2/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I loved this storage facility and I would definitely recommend it to others. Everyone there is always so nice and friendly.

DENYS C on 2/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Robert, one of the young men working on Feb 24th, was particularly helpful. He helped with some heavy items and lent us a few tools to take apart a table. He was very helpful and pleasant.

SHAWN Q on 2/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kevin was very helpful and easy to work with. The facility seemed secure, well-lit and clean.

SONDRA H on 2/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks Kevin! You have always been friendly and helpful. I appreciate it.

BEATRIX P on 2/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I called the staff was very helpful. However, I think having an email that is responded to would be helpful because I emailed a couple times and never received an answer.

SHIRLEY G on 12/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you!!...

JOSHUA P on 11/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kevin is great and is always very helpful.

KATIE O on 11/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was easy to work with and facility was secure and well-maintained.

LISA I on 11/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Manager was very accommodating!

BRIAN V on 10/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The access hours are terrible if you work a 10-6

RACHELLE T on 10/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

PETER W on 9/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

rented here on two occasions over several years the employees have always been FANTASTIC. Always, polite, courteous and helpful.

LINN D on 9/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This facility met our needs for temporary storage between apartments

Brian M on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was quick and polite. Facility was clean and well maintained. Would recommend to others

Nathan M on 7/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service.

Angela K on 7/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Storage facility was in good condition. Paperwork was handled quickly and returning our uhaul was hassle-free.

Elizabeth S on 8/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentleman that help us get checked in was very helpful. He answered all of our questions. Great fast service. The facility is nice and the guy helped us upgrade the size of the room.

William J S on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Iron City Self Storage facility was conveniently located with quick and easy access. The storage unit I reserved was just as requested with no concerns.

William J S on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Iron City Self Storage facility was conveniently located with quick and easy access. The storage unit I reserved was just as requested with no concerns.

Timothy A on 7/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Attendants were very friendly and helpful. Space is clean and seems well managed.

Casey L on 5/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly and informative. Only utilized truck. Did not use storage space.

Mina A on 5/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Always very helpful : we go to this place every year for my son

pat m on 4/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great coordination of truck rental with storage !! The guys were very helpful!

AGNES B on 10/1/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We did not use this storage facility because they did not offer the free month of rental space as per our one way truck rental agreement. we are using a different space.

Juliet K on 8/20/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service. Would recommend to anyone search for a storage facility and U-Haul truck rental. Friendly and helpful employees.

Wendy W on 7/29/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

second time using this facility, very professional, wish they had longer weekend hours. Would recommend them to others.

Avigail O on 5/29/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I used Iron City Self Storage last summer and had a great experience--so far, this summer looks to be as positive.

James W on 1/27/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Clean facility and the staff was very friendly and helpful

GIANA H on 8/20/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The facility was very clean and the business owner was a gentleman who helped out with whatever I needed help with.

JAREN B on 8/6/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer Service at Iron City was great, but the Uhaul customer service was very poor. The customer service reps at Uhaul didn`t understand any of their deals and limitations.

ROBERT L on 8/1/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Unit was as advertised. No complaints, good size

GREG L on 7/26/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great place, all indoor storage, dollies and carts available. Only downside is limited parking so crowded lot sometimes

Daniel R on 6/29/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I ended up canceling the reservation for reasons unrelated to your facility. I did have several phone calls with your team though and everyone was friendly and helpful.

Rachel E on 6/17/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

So far there are no problems I am aware of with the storage unit. The storage unit size I needed was available, and I was able to begin moving stuff in immediately.

Amanda C on 5/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were wonderful and helpful with everything!

MARY LEE S on 9/9/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

good

KEVIN P on 8/3/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service, easy to use, good location.

MASATAKA I on 7/26/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I think 100 a month for storage is a little expensive. I thought that my rent fee was 80 dollars on website but when I went there, I was told 100, which I didn`t find entertaining.

SHEILA B on 7/2/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Iron City Self Storage appeared very clean. I had never made storage reservations and I am pleased that the process went smoothly.

HENRY K on 5/18/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pleasant staff made move in easy and quick. Facility clean and well lighted.

DAVID R on 4/30/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Loading area on a hill is a challenge

CHARLES B on 4/27/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great indoor facility . Excellent staff . Would recommend it highly .

MICHAEL H on 3/4/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful booking and reservation, helpful staff

HSUNHSIEN C on 9/14/2007
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Didn't receive the service at all. The manager didn't admit my reservation via UHaul. Called 100 times customer services and regional office; people were rude, can¡¦t assist me. No UHaul any more.

PATRICIA A on 8/8/2007
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i did not move in. i only end up buying boxes and tape.

PATRICK M on 7/27/2007
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Although I had to make a last minute switch, the staff were very helpful and quick with their responses.