Orono Old Town Self Storage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Orono Old Town Self Storage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

161 Park St
Orono, ME 04473

(207) 866-0253

Driving directions

View website

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for Orono Old Town Self Storage

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Orono Old Town Self Storage

Overall rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Sally C on 6/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very clean and people working at facility are very helpful

Paul K on 5/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

would have been good to know that the storage units have no lighting

Hannah B on 5/15/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Everything was excellent except the $6.95 charge. I was not notified of the charge and it came across as a scam or identity theft. I will avoid your services in the future.

Kimberly C on 5/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service of the office staff was very helpful and friendly. I trust that my belongings will be safe in their facilities. Safe and convenient location.

Bobbi C on 5/14/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Theyoung lady at the desk was polite, professional, and processed everyone very efficiently.

Ashley D on 5/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff had nice attitude, property was clean.

Chloe L on 5/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We had to postpone the move until next week!

linda b on 5/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very clean,easy access,perfect for university of maine students as it is two minutes from the campus

linda b on 5/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very clean,easy access,perfect for university of maine students to use over the summer.we have used it two years in a row and will go back

Katherine B on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was so pleased with the friendliness of staff. There were dollies to help move boxes. Although, a big flat bed type like Cosco and BJ`s have would have been sweet! Well worth the rent!

Lori S on 5/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was helpful and efficient and the storage unit was more than enough space.

juliet c on 5/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Would like longer access hours

LINDA B on 5/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent friendly service.facility is clean ,no dampness.room access is easy,facility is next to u of maine so its great for student stuff during the summer.would definetly recommend it.

Rolando L on 5/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I honestly like this place. This is my second tone using the storage for the summer and it`s a reasonable price.

Robert S on 5/5/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

hours are short unable to check in as reserved. Access to storage not available nights or weekends. Charge for storage up front. price was more than reserved. will not use uhaul for storage again.

Christopher D on 12/21/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service. Very accomdating.

Matthew L on 12/20/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor communication. Poor accommodation.

ANNMARIE R. on 9/3/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff at this location was difficult. We placed the request in July for this vehicle. We asked for a 17' received a 14'. Set up request for August 29 - Sept 3, was called and told to have it back on August 31 by 8a. When we gave them a copy of our original agreement they told us that there were too many requests and they couldn't let us keep the vehicle. They called later and I was told "well I hope you realize I had to make a customer very unhappy because of your needs." We were then told we had to take the truck back to Bangor we were not able to bring it back to this location. Over all this was a very poor experience and I will not use the services again.

Benedikt H on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Facility was not well versed in handling U-Box moves. Communication at pick-up and drop-off was sparse. Necessary form was not collected which resulted in delayed delivery of goods.

robin a. on 8/19/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Woman who spoke with me on the phone after I returned the truck was rude.

Claude C on 7/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Irene was very conscientious and very helpful.

AMY G. on 7/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice truck and reasonable price! Thank you, Amy Grant

LYNN A. on 6/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location has the best office staff I've ever seen. Can't thank them enough for all thier help.

James A on 6/21/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall convenient, however hidden eMove charge of $6.95 sours the experience.

KAREN I. on 6/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff at this location was very accommodating! My trucks "service engine light" was on though.

David B on 5/17/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very accomadating

Diana P on 5/12/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

we opted not to use facility since we could not access when it was closed and it was not opened on the weekends.

linda b on 5/11/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

excellent service from the lady at the facility but uhaul needs to get their act together as the facility had no record of my reservation done on line from uhaul

Rolando A on 5/9/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good and helpful service. Got just west I wanted!

Courtney M on 5/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The ladies at the office were very helpful and everything went smoothly

THOMAS T. on 5/6/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Better training from U-Haul down to these store levels would be great. Also, provide adequate equipment to these store level. U-Haul corporate is really failing these smaller rental locations...

TAMMY F. on 5/3/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. Efficient. Friendly.

PETER H. on 4/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

upgrade the truck.

Betty I. on 4/8/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They staff there are great. Excellent service.

BETTY I. on 4/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were great. We have rented from them several times and they go out of their way to help.

BETTY I. on 3/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were great to work with.

Catherine A on 12/20/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

An employee called me to verify my storage locker promptly after I made the reservation! I only had a day`s notice to move out and they were very helpful with such short notice.

James S. on 12/5/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Take off that you rent a truck and have to have it back by 3pmit woks for 24 hrs.

ROBERTA F. on 11/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the staff was excellent to work with in selecting a truck. the location is very good because it it easily accessible and plenty of parking.

Claudette P. on 11/18/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't change anything.

SEAN R. on 11/2/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The employees should be better informed (mandatory $15 insurance when i had waived it online?) I went to pick up the truck 3 times before somebody was actually in the office.

KIMBERLY N. on 10/22/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented on line from the Chester location and was told I would have to go to Orono to pick up my truck. It was very inconvenient and when I asked if someone could bring a truck to the site in Chester, I was told no.

ANGELA T. on 9/3/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The rental staff was great- very pleasant and very helpful.

Jody L. on 9/2/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would not recommend Uhaul to anyone at this point. When my daughter returns from college, we intend to buy our own trailer.

STACY V. on 8/20/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young lady that helped me in Orono was new but she got the help she needed and quickly was able to accept the return and get me on my way.

KATHLEEN M. on 8/11/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employee should not have to multitask so much. Has to answer calls about other things while making you wait.

ANDREW T. on 6/1/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I went in to make a reservation for a truck, I was told all I had to do on the day of the reservation was to simply come in and pick up the truck. This, however, was not what happened. On the day I had to move my things from one apartment to another, I went to the UHaul Station in Orono, Maine only to find out that all of the information that I had given on the day I made the reservation (license, and credit card, estimated milage, etc.) had to be resubmitted. This makes me wonder what the entire point of the reservation was. What was more troubling was the fact that the woman who had taken the reservation not only gave me a false statement as to how I pick up my truck, she also gave me the excuse that she had assumed my father (who had been with me when the reservation was made) would be with me. I'm 23 years old, I already know well enough not to assume anything, especially with people who are complete strangers. I had to travel back and forth from home to get that information, that apparently is required twice, in order to finally get the truck to use it. Overall, this process of getting the truck was very unpleasant and I will not be giving any more of my money to this company. If there's anything to improve it is informing the customer, the very reason U-Haul makes money, what they need to have/do when a reservation is made before the day of pick-up.

NICOLE M. on 5/25/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck's spedometer didn't work at one point, so I pulled over and restarted it and it worked after that but maybe it's something to look into.

KATHERYN B. on 4/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More sizes to pick from they only had one truck available.

Vanessa K. on 4/8/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very helpful !!!

ROBERTA F. on 11/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was excellent-I really do not see anything that needs to be improved!!

Adam D. on 10/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

haveing a few more truck options couldn't hurt.

LARRY C. on 9/27/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks for your help...

Paul P. on 9/23/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have better stronger tie down hooks inside Trailers!

MARK B. on 9/1/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good Service, nice lady at desk

HENRY B. on 8/30/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck was in good shape and made the move much easier. The price was fair.

CAROLINE H. on 8/28/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very efficient and quick return.

TIKI H. on 8/27/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We ordered this online for pick up in Fort Kent, ME. We called a few days later and were advised nothing was available. We called the uhaul 800# and received the worst service advice imaginable and to top it off, the representative was rude and hung up on my husband. We called other local uhaul locations, nothing was available. Finally, the Houlton location (100+ miles away from us) called other locations and found one in Orono (about 3 hours away). No one could bring it up so we had to drive down to pick it up and back to load, then another trip to our new location. What a mess!! My husband sent an email about the rude service from the rep at the 800# and someone called back, very apologetic and gave us a $40.00 gift certificate. We appreciated it, but you do the math: three+ hours round trip out of our way? Time and gas - no way did that come close to covering what we were out. In the future we will call local uhaul direct rather than using the online service. The local rep at Orono went out of their way to help us - including staying late in order to allow us time to get there. I suggest the 800# rep receive training from them on how to provide customer service. Lessons in phone etiquette may also prove helpful so that others don't experience what we did. Update the online site to be accurate. Don't sell something you don't have.

Annie B. on 8/26/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck did not have power steering which we were not aware of and was very difficult to drive. The inside light stayed on for about 30 seconds and then we had to open the driver's side door to get it to come on again. Very distracting.

KORY T. on 8/4/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

your staff delivered to me a dirty truck which was over 1/2 empty and did so only after a significant battle over whether or not the truck was actually reserved. when I returned the truck, not only did they attempt to bill me for a variety pack of exhorbitant fees, they did not check the truck back into inventory and so added extra days to the invoice despite having the truck returned timely and clean. You have devastated the use of my credit card just prior to my trip to florida and I will be disputing the charges. This entire experience was awful.

sheila t. on 8/2/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

employees were professional, and polite. they answered all our questions making our business with u-haul, as well as the setting for this move very pleasant. the move we completed without a hitch; the equipment worked fine and as expected. we paid with a credit card, and as per our good customer relations to a company to which we use any credit we called to confirm all payments went through and to say thanks to those that where there. everything worked out as happily as can be as for moving heavy objects all weekend. there was no costumer abuse on additional equipment used as we had to also use packing blankets not originally in our contract, our fee and additional fee was not blown out of proportion. good place, great people.

Roberta F. on 6/28/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

everything was fine-staff very helpful

Duska B. on 3/15/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Was a very easy process. Nice customer service. Everything available as needed.

Harris R. on 1/1/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

need employees experienced with trailers.Trailer was dirty inside and out.

Sara T. on 10/19/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Better training on the use of your reservation systems for your agents. It took her nearly 45 minutes to add on insurance at point of sale.

PAUL F. on 9/29/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

cleaner equipment/blankets

SALLY L. on 8/18/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a 26ft truck a week ahead of time and was told it would be ready. When my driver showed up at 0800 to pick it up there was no truck of 26ft available with u-haul except in Waterville. Our crew was ready to move, so you had us! What could we do. We had to settle for a 17' truck and had to make 3 trips which was 150 miles instead of 50mi and took us much longer to move and tied up my crew of which i was paying. That is a poor way to treat a customer and very dishonest. I will never refer U-Haul or use it. Sally LaVertu Brewer, Me

MICHAEL K. on 6/26/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the uhaul truck used more gas than it should have used. I drove 967 miles to my destination, used over $400.00 in just gas. I had collectibles ( stuffed animals and other items) in the "mom's attic" that got wet from the roof of truck leaking in a rain storm. I have rented trucks from uahaul before and never had any problems. I am sure disappointed in this one. I mentioned this to Lynn and Irene who checked in the truck when I returned it. They both told me to contact the main Uhaul. I hope to have something done about this. thank you

CHARLENE K. on 5/5/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The gas gauge on the truck did not work properly. I had to return the truck with a 1/2 tank of gas and as I added gas the gauge did not move. I stopped at another gas station since it wasn't reading half and added even more gas. When I check this time the gauge read Full. I was not given any credit for the 1/2 tank that I was not required to put into the truck. Since the gauge obviously was stuck I think I should credited for the 1/2 tank.

DAN J. on 4/1/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

equipment wasn't in the best of condition, however this appeared to be from use not from any defects or lack of care. Overall this was a great experience. Thanks for the help

HAZEL D. on 3/10/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The rear view mirrors had to be cleaned. Other than that, it was okay.

LYNZSY S. on 1/13/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was a little unnerved that my initial reservation was set for the wrong day, but when I had to change my reservation day, they were more than accommodating.

PETER D. on 1/12/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly straight-forward service. Passenger seatbelt latch on truck didn't work well.

FRANK L. on 9/30/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Again,very helpful and accomodating. I was very pleased!

CARLY M. on 8/28/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The truck required oil two times during the trip and the dash lights and turn signals did not work. I felt very unsafe in the truck I rented.The customer service was exceptional; however, impeccable customer service does not substitute for customer safety.

Knud A H. on 8/17/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Manager did a great job ensuring that my trailer was properly hooked up and did some successful troubleshooting on my lights connection.

MIKE S. on 8/4/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service by Don the manager

DENNIS C. on 7/24/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The people there were very helpful snd friendly

Daniel H. on 7/14/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the only part that was not clean was the cargo area.

JEANNE S. on 7/12/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very happy with the staff.