Orono Old Town Self Storage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Orono Old Town Self Storage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

161 Park St
Orono, ME 04473

(207) 866-0253

Driving directions

View website

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for Orono Old Town Self Storage

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Orono Old Town Self Storage

Overall rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

DAVID M. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service!

Michael C. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service here!!! Thank you.

Ella W. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great location and excellent service. Jessica, the person who works there was very friendly and helpful.

Debra S. on 7/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The inside of the truck that I rented this morning smelled like vomit and dirt. I was very surprised about that. I have used equipment at the Stillwater facility and it was very clean and smelled new. It ran fine and very friendly people, I am very pleased with how they accommodated me at such short notice. I have a storage unit at the Orono facility(Park S.) I am very happy with. Cleaner vehicle would have made the little trip nicer. Thank you.

Sally C on 6/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very clean and people working at facility are very helpful

Cindy L. on 5/31/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

1. Limited business hours, which made it difficult. Old Town has better hours. 2. Had to get them to accommodate me in order to have the auto transport/truck system hooked up by them, the professionals, instead of me reading their printout and attempting to do it myself, which they would have preferred. Really?? Kinda important that the hook up is done by someone who knows what they're doing. 3. The straps that go over the wheels came off as I travelled. Completely off. My tires were on top of them. No safety chain to hold the car to the rig. My car could have fallen off the flatbed, and it's a miracle it didn't. The 800 number never answers, so I called a relative to send an email (evidently their preferred method of communication) and got a response that way. The patronizing woman who "helped" me couldn't find the rest area I was at because I didn't have a mobile device with GPS so she could find me. I was denied road service for help getting the straps on & secured because I admitted to not inspecting the straps every 100 miles. BE SURE TO INSPECT WHEEL STRAPS EVERY TIME YOU STOP, or know enough to lie about it. Or you will be trying to find a trucker (in the rain, at night, at a remote rest area) to help you out. No one has ever told this detail to me, and I've rented this kind of set-up a few times in the past. My neighbor, who was with me, verified that the guy at the Uhaul in Orono never told me to inspect the straps. They kept coming loose, needing ratcheting every time I got gas. A gas station attendant who owns horses taught me how to ratchet the straps tight. God bless her. It may be more inconvenient, but I will be renting from Penske in the future. People would have been killed if my Subaru hadn't somehow, miraculously, stayed on the flatbed on the pot-holed interstates I travelled. 4. Don't count on Uhaul.

Paul K on 5/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

would have been good to know that the storage units have no lighting

Hannah B on 5/15/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Everything was excellent except the $6.95 charge. I was not notified of the charge and it came across as a scam or identity theft. I will avoid your services in the future.

Kimberly C on 5/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service of the office staff was very helpful and friendly. I trust that my belongings will be safe in their facilities. Safe and convenient location.

Bobbi C on 5/14/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Theyoung lady at the desk was polite, professional, and processed everyone very efficiently.

Ashley D on 5/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff had nice attitude, property was clean.

Chloe L on 5/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We had to postpone the move until next week!

Robert P. on 5/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Dropped off truck on a Sunday after hours. Process was online and easy.

HOWARD G. on 3/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

have another customer rep available in case one becomes busy

KATHRYN T. on 11/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck practically had no drive the transmission was SO bad. The truck spent most of the "u hauling" actually struggling in first or second gear instead. Aside from the crappy vehicle, both staff members weren't exactly "up to par" the first one had maybe NO clue what she was doing and had to call around took us um TWO HOURS to rent a truck that wasn't in convenient at all and then we were promised not to be charged an extra day bc thanksgiving week Friday uhaul wasn't open well gee that's not really OUR fault now is it? No I'd say not so the girl swears up and down we can bring the truck back Saturday morning and then the not so pleasant employee on Saturday morning tried to charge us an extra day anyway being like "oh well I have to charge you..." Ok and calling us at 8:18 when the truck wasn't due back until "between nine and ten" which is what employee of the month number one initially told us she said "Saturday morning between nine and ten should be fine" then Saturday morning sunshine calls up at eight eighteen being snotty as hell "it's due back at nine I hope you're coming" um yes I'm coming I don't want this about to break down piece of crap... Over all bad and rotten attitude from one employee and total incompetence from the other AND a shitty gas guzzling tinder box of a truck. Not a favorable experience.

REBECCA H. on 11/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy to reserve, and great customer service!

ZHILONG L. on 5/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It is nice for renting a truck from U-HAUL.

linda b on 5/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very clean,easy access,perfect for university of maine students as it is two minutes from the campus

linda b on 5/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very clean,easy access,perfect for university of maine students to use over the summer.we have used it two years in a row and will go back

Katherine B on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was so pleased with the friendliness of staff. There were dollies to help move boxes. Although, a big flat bed type like Cosco and BJ`s have would have been sweet! Well worth the rent!

Lori S on 5/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was helpful and efficient and the storage unit was more than enough space.

juliet c on 5/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Would like longer access hours

NANCY S. on 9/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very handy pickup/drop off place for me as I work at UMO. The lady who worked the desk was very friendly and helpful. The cargo van I rented was clean and in great shape.

GENEVIEVE T. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The size truck I reserved several weeks ahead was not available and was given the next smaller truck with a discount on mileage. Luckily I only needed to make one trip with the smaller truck. My card was charged twice--for the reservation and then the actual rental. When I called the worker was polite and offered to refund me if it was still there in a few days; it was Monday and I had rented the truck for the weekend. Extremely friendly service overall.

BRIDGET S. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

She was awesome and helped a lot. She was one of the nicest people I have had the pleasure of working with. She made things easy and no hassle at all.

DALE L. on 6/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Cross properties in orono, ME was great. The truck was clean and the service was excellent. I would rent from them again

LINDA B on 5/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent friendly service.facility is clean ,no dampness.room access is easy,facility is next to u of maine so its great for student stuff during the summer.would definetly recommend it.

Rolando L on 5/8/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I honestly like this place. This is my second tone using the storage for the summer and it`s a reasonable price.

Robert S on 5/5/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

hours are short unable to check in as reserved. Access to storage not available nights or weekends. Charge for storage up front. price was more than reserved. will not use uhaul for storage again.

GILBERT C. on 4/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Maybe have a few more vehicles available

Christopher D on 12/21/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service. Very accomdating.

Matthew L on 12/20/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor communication. Poor accommodation.

RUSS L. on 12/3/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

These folks were amazing and genuinely wanted to help. I was very please with the service I received.

THOMAS V. on 9/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My understanding is that there is supposed to be a joint inspection by the owner and the renter. We did not do that. I would have been more comfortable if we had. My overall experience was excellent.

ANNMARIE R. on 9/3/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff at this location was difficult. We placed the request in July for this vehicle. We asked for a 17' received a 14'. Set up request for August 29 - Sept 3, was called and told to have it back on August 31 by 8a. When we gave them a copy of our original agreement they told us that there were too many requests and they couldn't let us keep the vehicle. They called later and I was told "well I hope you realize I had to make a customer very unhappy because of your needs." We were then told we had to take the truck back to Bangor we were not able to bring it back to this location. Over all this was a very poor experience and I will not use the services again.

Benedikt H on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Facility was not well versed in handling U-Box moves. Communication at pick-up and drop-off was sparse. Necessary form was not collected which resulted in delayed delivery of goods.

robin a. on 8/19/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Woman who spoke with me on the phone after I returned the truck was rude.

Claude C on 7/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Irene was very conscientious and very helpful.

AMY G. on 7/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice truck and reasonable price! Thank you, Amy Grant

LYNN A. on 6/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location has the best office staff I've ever seen. Can't thank them enough for all thier help.

James A on 6/21/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall convenient, however hidden eMove charge of $6.95 sours the experience.

KAREN I. on 6/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff at this location was very accommodating! My trucks "service engine light" was on though.

David B on 5/17/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very accomadating

Diana P on 5/12/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

we opted not to use facility since we could not access when it was closed and it was not opened on the weekends.

linda b on 5/11/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

excellent service from the lady at the facility but uhaul needs to get their act together as the facility had no record of my reservation done on line from uhaul

Rolando A on 5/9/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good and helpful service. Got just west I wanted!

Courtney M on 5/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The ladies at the office were very helpful and everything went smoothly

THOMAS T. on 5/6/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Better training from U-Haul down to these store levels would be great. Also, provide adequate equipment to these store level. U-Haul corporate is really failing these smaller rental locations...

TAMMY F. on 5/3/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. Efficient. Friendly.

PETER H. on 4/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

upgrade the truck.

Betty I. on 4/8/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They staff there are great. Excellent service.

BETTY I. on 4/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were great. We have rented from them several times and they go out of their way to help.

BETTY I. on 3/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were great to work with.

Catherine A on 12/20/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

An employee called me to verify my storage locker promptly after I made the reservation! I only had a day`s notice to move out and they were very helpful with such short notice.

James S. on 12/5/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Take off that you rent a truck and have to have it back by 3pmit woks for 24 hrs.

ROBERTA F. on 11/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the staff was excellent to work with in selecting a truck. the location is very good because it it easily accessible and plenty of parking.

Claudette P. on 11/18/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't change anything.

SEAN R. on 11/2/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The employees should be better informed (mandatory $15 insurance when i had waived it online?) I went to pick up the truck 3 times before somebody was actually in the office.

KIMBERLY N. on 10/22/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented on line from the Chester location and was told I would have to go to Orono to pick up my truck. It was very inconvenient and when I asked if someone could bring a truck to the site in Chester, I was told no.

ANGELA T. on 9/3/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The rental staff was great- very pleasant and very helpful.

Jody L. on 9/2/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would not recommend Uhaul to anyone at this point. When my daughter returns from college, we intend to buy our own trailer.

STACY V. on 8/20/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young lady that helped me in Orono was new but she got the help she needed and quickly was able to accept the return and get me on my way.

KATHLEEN M. on 8/11/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employee should not have to multitask so much. Has to answer calls about other things while making you wait.

ANDREW T. on 6/1/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I went in to make a reservation for a truck, I was told all I had to do on the day of the reservation was to simply come in and pick up the truck. This, however, was not what happened. On the day I had to move my things from one apartment to another, I went to the UHaul Station in Orono, Maine only to find out that all of the information that I had given on the day I made the reservation (license, and credit card, estimated milage, etc.) had to be resubmitted. This makes me wonder what the entire point of the reservation was. What was more troubling was the fact that the woman who had taken the reservation not only gave me a false statement as to how I pick up my truck, she also gave me the excuse that she had assumed my father (who had been with me when the reservation was made) would be with me. I'm 23 years old, I already know well enough not to assume anything, especially with people who are complete strangers. I had to travel back and forth from home to get that information, that apparently is required twice, in order to finally get the truck to use it. Overall, this process of getting the truck was very unpleasant and I will not be giving any more of my money to this company. If there's anything to improve it is informing the customer, the very reason U-Haul makes money, what they need to have/do when a reservation is made before the day of pick-up.

NICOLE M. on 5/25/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck's spedometer didn't work at one point, so I pulled over and restarted it and it worked after that but maybe it's something to look into.

KATHERYN B. on 4/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More sizes to pick from they only had one truck available.

Vanessa K. on 4/8/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very helpful !!!

ROBERTA F. on 11/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was excellent-I really do not see anything that needs to be improved!!

Adam D. on 10/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

haveing a few more truck options couldn't hurt.

LARRY C. on 9/27/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks for your help...

Paul P. on 9/23/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have better stronger tie down hooks inside Trailers!

MARK B. on 9/1/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good Service, nice lady at desk

HENRY B. on 8/30/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck was in good shape and made the move much easier. The price was fair.

CAROLINE H. on 8/28/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very efficient and quick return.