Petes Stop Tire (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Petes Stop Tire (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

299 Keyes St
San Jose, CA 95112

(408) 294-2779

(Corner of 7th Street and Keyes)
Driving directions

View website

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for Petes Stop Tire

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Petes Stop Tire

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

niko a. on 12/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

friendly staff

wesley b. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Very shady location, sign said open yet it was locked up and no lights were on. No visible lock box to drop key off. I dropped the truck off on Saturday November 5th at 8pm. They weren't open nor did they contact me on Sunday November 6th. They just contacted me and closed contract Monday November 7th. At 1030am. 38 hour after I dropped the truck off.

Alain C. on 8/27/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No blankest available while I had ordered them

Donald R. on 8/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

friendly and quick service

ceasar e. on 7/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My reservation was for 8:30am (I went to the physical location to make my reservation) and I had to wait 30 minutes until they finally opened the facility. The guy wouldn't even say "sorry for making you wait". Also, I was overcharged: my reservation was for the 19.95 truck (I have the reservation in paper to prove that). When I went to pick up the truck, they only had one truck and they gave the one they had, but the next day they charged me for the 29.95 truck. They never said they were giving me a larger truck. Even if they did, they were supposed to honor the original rate for which they accepted my reservation because they did not have the truck I wanted available at the time. They gave the only truck available and charged me what they wanted. Also, they overcharged me with the mileage. They argue I drove 19 miles, but I only drove 14 miles. It was a mess of a customer service. I filed a complaint. I hope to get my $10 returned, at the very least.

Manuel E. on 4/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

After the paperwork was done, we were handed the keys and told to go ahead and drive away. As there was more than one truck on the lot, we had to find the correct truck and then could not drive it out as it was too close to a fence. Rep should escort us to the truck and make sure all is in order and give help if we needed it.

Eric A. on 4/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This is not a comment about Pete's Stop, as it is about the entire process. I was completely dissatisfied trying to rent from a facility more local to me, and at an earlier time. I had to postpone my moving process because I had to wait until someone could drive me to the inconvenient location, and after 12noon. Also, I requested furniture blankets, which were not available at this facility. I needed to drive to another location to arrange that.

RICK T. on 1/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was efficient and friendly. Not one glitch!!

THOMAS N. on 11/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The place was fine for pickup, and the gentleman who helped me was good. Sadly, I ordered a furniture dolly and even called Uhaul ahead of time to confirm that this pickup location had them. When I got there, they did not have any in stock. That was a bummer.

RHEMA A. on 11/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Terrible!!! Didn't walk truck and wrong gas amount. Didn't go over contract. After driving 5 miles truck broke down.

carzon o. on 11/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Yery good

ESTHER C. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was almost back to location and got a blowout tire.

PHUONG L. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nice truck.. clean.. friendly uhaul representative

MARY JO J. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck endedup with a flat tire that I didnt know until I dropped off. The pick up location was in a sketchy neighborhood at a very unclean auto shop He didnt even go out and go voer the truck with me. Owner was very nice however but very unprofessional place for a uhaul. There were many official Uhaul locations that had 15 ft trucks sitting there that I would have much preferred- this location should have been at a discount or you should offer options. Truck transmission was weird and ran poorly. You should be paying me to rent this truck. Also I ordered furniture pads on the order which mysteriously ended up not being on the order and not in the truck so I had to go to another location during the move taking up valuable time and ended up extending my move time . I would like some sort of payment for the extra move help that I had to pay- $65+ tip

paige w. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck is a bit older, but service was friendly and exceptional

Ralph F. on 6/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was fine. The truck had an odd gas cap but also the regular brass gas cap.

Erin C. on 6/17/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We dropped it off after hours...It was very dark and there was an rv onsite that looked like someone was living there and there was a dog barking.

LEO J. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

billed miles were way too low; I asked for supervisor but no call backs

Michael W. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The person who could check out my rented equipment to me went home prior to my scheduled pick up time. Someone called him and I had to wait for him to return to be able to pick up the truck I reserved. I was basically handed a contract to sign without explanation and the person left before I pulled off the lot with my rented truck.

Vickie L. on 4/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was the new location where I had to actually pick up the truck.

Diane R. on 3/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Location was not great but personnel was very helpful.

ETHAN M. on 3/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

THe UHAUL sign is falling off the building and not visible as you approach. The approach for the parking lot is very difficult to navigate.

CATHLENE M. on 3/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I asked to have my pick up be at a different location because I know the people who work there, but I was denied the ability to go to the u-haul of my choice. Your company uses the excuse that not all locations have what we needed, however when I went to the location I wanted, they said that they had 6 trucks of the kind that I wanted to use available. The location you sent me to did not have boxes to purchase or any extras to purchase. The gentlemen that I dealt with was extremely kind and friendly.

Marcus P. on 2/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was courteous and the truck was clean and in excellent shape.

SHEILA S. on 12/21/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Not easy to get to. Had to circle block to find somewhere to park. Filthy place. Didn't want to touch a thing.

BRYAN J. on 10/9/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very accommodating. Very easy process. Great to see that u-haul in using technology. I looked at using Pods, u-ship, u-pack and regular chipping companies. Uhaul was the most cost effective ...

ELIAS P. on 7/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice guy

STEPHANIE D. on 5/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There was only one employee working for the garage at the location and indicated that he doesn't even usually do anything with uhaul. There was a mix up on the reservation and another man was also there to pick up the one truck they had. He claimed he also had a reservation but since I had mine in my hand, the employee gave the truck to me. The truck ended up being a pick up truck and I had reserved a 10' truck. I went a ahead and took the truck (after I was cussed out by the other customer and the uhaul employee did nothing.) I ended up having to pay for another truck the next day because this truck was not adequate and was not the truck I reserved. I feel my money should be refunded because of all of this inconvenience and verbal assault.

THOMAS B. on 4/23/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rent from uhaul a lot and usually have no problems. However, Iran into difficulty from this agent when I needed to contact him to extend the rental the number on the contract was not a valid number. I left a message which was not returned and when I became stranded with the truck my repeated attempts to contact this agent went unanswered. To add insult to injury I was charged an additional 96.25 because I was "late" returning the truck even though it was dropped off after hours the day before. I hope uhaul rectifies this for future renters...

julie q. on 4/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This 10 ft.ft. truck met our need and the gentleman was courteous. Small site but very convenient for downtown locations; Saves time, gas and mileage.

NANCY C. on 3/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great customer service here. However, they need to have better signs to direct you where to go. The office was through a garage past working mechanics. I recommend they move the desk to the front of the building so they see you drive up.

LINH N. on 1/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the pick up location was small relative to other Uhaul locations, but the service was good and prompt. The process was very quick.

KENNETH C. on 1/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very tight parking space. Suggest better reorganization of trucking and parked cars. Perhaps, keep trucks in outer parking spaces. One way markings needed so traffic comes in one way and leaves another.

PHIL H. on 10/30/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

daniel runs an excellent very helpful shop... i have high regard for his opinion and help

Alex L. on 10/26/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager Yao is very nice and very helpful.

MELISSA S. on 10/16/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Be more clear about mileage charges.

ZACHARY P. on 10/12/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I don't know the guy's name, but he was solid. Straight forward, to the point, tacit however very professional. Pete's Stop isn't the most sightly place, but this guy has it together.

WAYNE W. on 10/7/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Closed Sunday Dropped off then Area was rough Did not feel 100% safe

NANCY R. on 9/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There is always room for improvement. But I. Could'nt find any at this facility. Five stars! Service was excellent. Staff very courtious and helpful.

PREDID P. on 9/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The owner was very professional and did his best to accommodate our request as other U-Haul place fail to give us the truck.

Franklin R. on 9/10/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Worst experience of renting equipment I have ever had. Told I could drop it off at a different location, then the owner txt'ed me telling me that I needed to bring it back to the same location or I would be charged more. No gas in the vehicle when I picked it up. I was told it would cost 19.95 a day, when I got the bill it was more than doubled due to mileage. I specifically asked what the charges were and the Uhaul representive told me it was 19.95 plus 1.00 for the day. There is only one person at this location who can rent the vehicle and he was not there when I got there, very poor customer service. Won't happen again.

kelly w. on 8/22/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This location was great for me, close to work and I could leave my car while I moved. The owners were accommodating and polite. I would use them again.

ALIC R. on 8/6/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was nice.

DAVID G. on 8/5/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pickup was quick. Truck was in good condition. When I was done I threw the keys in the drop box and they emailed a receipt.

PETER N. on 7/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Proprieter at Pete's Stop was super fast and nice.

Angela W. on 3/4/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I made a reservation online for pickup at this location and when I arrived I was informed that "the guy who does the uhaul rentals is not here" My move was delayed because of this and I finally convinced the guy at the shop to give me the phone number for Richard who does the uhaul rentals and I came back an hour and a half later when he finally showed up. Also, he had a uhaul sign in the shop saying that if your rental is incorrect or late then they will give you $50. I asked about this as my situation seemed to fall into this category but he refused to honor the offer posted in the shop. The rental was clean and it met my needs but the process was quite a hassle and an inconvenience. I would consider other options besides Uhaul in the future.

BRITTANY W. on 1/29/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They can learn how to put a trailer on a hitch. It came detached once we put the car in drive.

MARK H. on 1/5/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Location is small, hard to get in and out of. Didn't have number of pads ordered.

MAX H. on 11/26/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Excellent service but it really is a tire store.

BOB H. on 11/17/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing - had a very good experience.

MARTHA V. on 10/29/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a cargo van and found the cab to be very dirty. Windows and dash were full of dust and grime. Seats were stained with who know what. Gas cap was missing. I went back to point it out to the staff and they were not even aware that it was missing and I was not offered a replacement. Was told that it was OK since the tank has a sealing valve.

ENRIQUE B. on 9/26/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

quick in and out

DUC N. on 9/15/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It's a car repair shop not a Uhaul location - no customer service at all.