South Street Auto Salvage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

South Street Auto Salvage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

320 South St
Newark, NJ 07114

(862) 236-3484

Driving directions

View website

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Sat: 8:30 am - 2:30 pm
  • Sun: Closed

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for South Street Auto Salvage

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of South Street Auto Salvage

Overall rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Sybil B. on 4/22/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I only rated the location as "below average" because there was street paving going on the day of pick up and the location was difficult to get to due to street closers, one-ways, traffic, etc. Otherwise the gentleman was friendly and helpful.

Larissa L. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Worker was nice but the office smells like cat urine.

Alison L. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't offer an option to return the van at night if that option does not really exist.

Kristopher M. on 3/22/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You can start by removing this location from your roster of third-party merchandise provider. He is very disrespectful and a racist The worse customer EVER. This man blatantly spoke to me in a condescending tone, called my fiance' a bitch and threatened us with the fact that he had all of our information! I am African American and my wife is German, I suggest that you not allow someone like that to represent your company name. We notified the police who said that if it didn't become physical there wasn't anything they could do. We also have told everyone on our social media accounts NOT TO DO BUSINESS THERE!!! WE want the matter addressed immediately! You will receive formal documentation from our attorney if we do not receive correspondence from you regarding this matter..

Libia R. on 3/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have been a frequent user of Uhaul trucks for quite a long time. This last experience was awful. The owner at this location seemed to be under the influence of either crack or meth. The office was filthy! It smelled horrific. I was afraid to touch the counter. He had several cats inside the office as well which unfortunately I am extremely allergic to. He was rude and unprofessional. He walked around like a crazy man. Unfriendly, hipper. Upon return he tried to bully me to come back the next day claiming he had turned off his computer. I had to demand my deposit back. Then he easily went on the Uhaul app! Plus I believe he even stole my money claiming extra mileage I did not use. Since i was extremely tired and I did not want a further argument I accepted. I am very disappointed. One person who witnessed his outburst said that he is not well in the mind. I will never go back. Disappointed with Uhaul as well.

Raphael C. on 3/7/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Rude owner, took over an hour to get vehicle. No wonder uhaul is going to hell. No one from corporate checks in on these locations for customer service.

Andrew S. on 3/7/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely horrible experience! The person who processed my paperwork was surely, short tempered, and told me that I could only use the truck for 6 hours rather than the 9 hours I had rented it for online. I was told that if I could not return the U haul within 6 hours that it would be my responsibility to keep the truck over the weekend (adding mileage to my bill), and return it on Monday. I finished moving in 5 1/2 hours and when I returned to drop off the U haul, the business had closed early. Do not trust South Street Auto Salvage.

ANTHONY W. on 1/15/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Guess being in the city, it appeared to be unsafe. There was not a specific location for nite drop off. And the instructions at the site were unclear. Nothing more to report!