South Street Auto Salvage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

South Street Auto Salvage (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

320 South St
Newark, NJ 07114

(862) 236-3484

Driving directions

View website

Customer Reviews for South Street Auto Salvage

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of South Street Auto Salvage

Overall rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

BIG RONNIE B. on 11/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not sure it was just a drop off

verneda t. on 11/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Better customer service

Jackie S. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Upon truck pick-up there was a water bottle half filled with urine in plain sight within the cab of the truck. Also, the bed of the truck was not swept broom clean. This location did not have blankets available to rent. Overall, it was an experience I could not recommend.

Marklay G. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I DEFINITELY DON'T RECOMMEND THIS PLACE !!! Since he time that you step in to this place , you gonna feel like you are doing something wrong and the only wrong thing that you are doing ia not to plan ahead and find another location to rent a van/truck or a trailer . Please read this review and DON'T go there . Owner/manager has a incredible bad attitude with customers and I'm can confident to tell you that this is not one of those days that everyone has it . That is the way that they treat customers at this place . Don't expect to get even a "good morning" . I'm feeling really bad to write this bad review but at the same time thats what makes me feel better by helping other people to not use this service . Shame on U-Haul to have a partner like South St Auto Savage .

Chike U. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The owner had an immediate attitude. Couldn't even respond to my Hello. My reservation was for 2 hours from 3 pm. I get there at 3 pm. He asks me how long my reservation will take. I tell him roughly an hour, maybe an hour and half. He then tells me that I need to have it back before 5 pm, and that I cannot leave the truck outside (which is where I picked it up from), and that if I wasn't back by 5, I'd have have to keep it for the night. I said that I knew that, and that I didn't think it would take that long. He then says, "Yeah, I know, everyone says that though. Then they don't come back in time." At this point, it's been 3 more minutes, and I let him know that the longer he takes, the longer it'll take me to bring the truck back. He asks me how many miles I would be using. I said maybe 5. He then proceeds to put a 9 mile estimate on my contract (which I didn't notice until bringing it back). Upon returning the truck back, the guy had more of an attitude when he realized he'd have to refund some money since he didn't listen to my 5-mile estimate. Pros: Truck was clean Cons: Owners/managers attitude, truck wasn't completely full of gas, being told I wasn't allowed to use the truck for the entire time I reserved it for.

Mary T. on 7/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was great, and John the representative was excellent. Very helpful and informative he was??. Yes I will use and recommend uhaul again????

joseph f. on 6/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect.

shane p. on 5/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The cargo van i got was smelling very badly. I asked them to give me another one, they told me they don't have any other vans. I was about to go to another location. But due to lack of time i had to take the van. I do not recommend anyone to go to this location. They guy is very rude and always angry. This is not even good for UHAUL business. Guys, Please go to other UHAUL location. Don't waste your time in this particular location :320 South street.

Sybil B. on 4/22/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I only rated the location as "below average" because there was street paving going on the day of pick up and the location was difficult to get to due to street closers, one-ways, traffic, etc. Otherwise the gentleman was friendly and helpful.

Larissa L. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Worker was nice but the office smells like cat urine.

Alison L. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't offer an option to return the van at night if that option does not really exist.

Kristopher M. on 3/22/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You can start by removing this location from your roster of third-party merchandise provider. He is very disrespectful and a racist The worse customer EVER. This man blatantly spoke to me in a condescending tone, called my fiance' a bitch and threatened us with the fact that he had all of our information! I am African American and my wife is German, I suggest that you not allow someone like that to represent your company name. We notified the police who said that if it didn't become physical there wasn't anything they could do. We also have told everyone on our social media accounts NOT TO DO BUSINESS THERE!!! WE want the matter addressed immediately! You will receive formal documentation from our attorney if we do not receive correspondence from you regarding this matter..

Libia R. on 3/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have been a frequent user of Uhaul trucks for quite a long time. This last experience was awful. The owner at this location seemed to be under the influence of either crack or meth. The office was filthy! It smelled horrific. I was afraid to touch the counter. He had several cats inside the office as well which unfortunately I am extremely allergic to. He was rude and unprofessional. He walked around like a crazy man. Unfriendly, hipper. Upon return he tried to bully me to come back the next day claiming he had turned off his computer. I had to demand my deposit back. Then he easily went on the Uhaul app! Plus I believe he even stole my money claiming extra mileage I did not use. Since i was extremely tired and I did not want a further argument I accepted. I am very disappointed. One person who witnessed his outburst said that he is not well in the mind. I will never go back. Disappointed with Uhaul as well.

Raphael C. on 3/7/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Rude owner, took over an hour to get vehicle. No wonder uhaul is going to hell. No one from corporate checks in on these locations for customer service.

Andrew S. on 3/7/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely horrible experience! The person who processed my paperwork was surely, short tempered, and told me that I could only use the truck for 6 hours rather than the 9 hours I had rented it for online. I was told that if I could not return the U haul within 6 hours that it would be my responsibility to keep the truck over the weekend (adding mileage to my bill), and return it on Monday. I finished moving in 5 1/2 hours and when I returned to drop off the U haul, the business had closed early. Do not trust South Street Auto Salvage.

ANTHONY W. on 1/15/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Guess being in the city, it appeared to be unsafe. There was not a specific location for nite drop off. And the instructions at the site were unclear. Nothing more to report!

BRIAN H. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Change management at location.

jose m. on 11/8/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

the attendant was very rude. I will never come back to this place.

ALEXIS M. on 10/30/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was confused as to where the front office was. There were no signs to point me in the right direction so I had to go walking the premise which made me uncomfortable

Charley D. on 10/13/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The employee we dealt with was good, polite and professional. The rental went without a hitch. Our group will rent from them again next year.

Queen T. on 9/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very nice he was so hepful

SANDRA D. on 9/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Really rude costumer service! The man was almost yelling at me, his tone of voice was very impolite like he was anoyed by my presence there. He didn't offer any assitance with the van or explain anything. He just told me fill up the tank before u come back! When I came back he said oh u are here finally. I know uhaul is a responsible company but u should take into consideration that this kind of personal is gonna make you loose clients. I wouldn't rent a uhaul from that place again in my life. His tone of voice was like I did somebody wrong just by going there to pick up the truck.

arnold b. on 9/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

customer service was very poor.

Clive G. on 9/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Get the person at the salvage yard to wear a shirt instead of an undershirt and try being polite instead of trying to sound like a New Jersey mobster.

Jenny M. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

For your employees to provide courtesy and offer carts, this location didn't even have parking.

kessewaa b. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

location was not far. It was easy to pick and drop off. Thanks

ribeiro s. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything at this location was excellent.

PROBUS I. on 8/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Uhaul representative was totally unproffessional/rude/unhelpful.geographicall location is great. This man nerds to be replaced!!!

FAROD J. on 8/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

U-Haul screwed up my reservations so I had to get a bigger truck but when I got to the location A smaller truck was available but they made me pay for a more expensive truck.

Dariel E. on 7/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was pleased with the equipment. The contact at the location was not very friendly.

Anthony A. on 7/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service was terrible

CHRISHANA W. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I like the new Uhaul trucks! Great on gas and very clean!

NANA O. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Employee at location was very unprofessional . To the point I thought it was personal until I witness his interaction with another customer . As if my use of the services is a burden . And this is not my first time using Uhaul. This guy is not professional the least bit at all.

KIMBERLY I. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The owner was so rude and nasty with me I will never go there again and the truck had no gas plus he made me estimate the mileage

CHRISTIAN S. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I got a flat tired and the tire warning sign was on all the time while I used the vehicle, even after I changed the tire.

Miya A. on 3/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was okay but the provider wasn't very friendly.

Omar G. on 3/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Although the customer service person wasn't exactly a poster boy for friendliness he was efficient and got the job done in a timely fashion.

Cloria M. on 3/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The person who handled my paperwork wasn't that courteous, but he did the job properly. I received the correct order and was given sufficient instructions for dropping off the truck.

JAMES B. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

In kind of a hard to get at location, behind a big fence

Randolph W. on 12/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reserved a cargo van upon arrival I was told van was not there. No phone call in advance and agent was nonchalant about the van not being available. I was given a 10ft vehicle which cost me more in gas and tolls.

Jaime S. on 11/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Whole experience was quick conveinient.

Tasha W. on 9/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck was very & service was great at such short notice!!

lyneshia j. on 9/21/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was waiting for a half hour to forty minutes just to return the truck. Never again with this place!!!

Thomas B. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Look for franchisees that actually show respect to their customers. The apathy and disrespect shown by this particular proprietor is now "the face" of U-Haul brand, and will assuredly have me looking to rent from your competitors in the future.

Pedro S. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Horrible customer service, the owner of the junkyard where the agent is located is very rude and has no manors.

ABDURRAHMAN B. on 7/30/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy was totally rude and ass hole

Tiago D. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

First my 14' reservation made on 7-17-14 magically became a 10' in their system. Next my 20 mile drive was billed as 50 miles.Could it be any worse?

LARRY S. on 6/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We dropped off the truck after hours. The facility was closed and we simply used the drop box which was easy to find.

kwesi k. on 5/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Like it

NANCY R. on 4/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was originally directed to a different drop-off address (39 Frelinghuysen St., Newark, NJ). The guy there refused to accept the truck and I was forced to bring it to the South St. address. This address is a junkyard. I missed my train home because of U-Haul's error in drop-off location and I was late picking up my son.

BONETTE R. on 3/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great Customer Service and Clean and well taken care Cargo Van. Thanks

SEBASTIAN R. on 3/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was a bit unsettling leaving the Uhaul van overnight.

SHAIRAH R. on 2/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The sale rep was very rude and nasty. The truck had items left in there that didn't belong to me and when I went to return the truck they were trying to charge ME 25 dollars cleaning fee for there mistake. The gas gage was way off, told the guy he brush me off saud it was right. Again when returning the truck they told me the gas amount was wrong and needed more. Put 40 dollars I the truck just to get to the point they said I needed to be. So it was obvious the truck NEVER had the correct amount of gas. I didn't even travel far. I'm upset and pissed to the max!!

PATRICIA O. on 2/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Satisfy your customers and give them whatever they requested for, instead of giving them what you think is best for them

YVONNE R. on 2/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location was located in the middle of nowhere and I did not feel safe leaving the truck out on the street over night, nor walking home after I dropped it off. There no cars located anywhere near the facility. It was all industrial. I waited until the next morning and then charged $40 more for the extra day. I am not happy!!

Eugene F. on 1/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service was not good.

Edmilton A. on 1/5/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The person at the location was rude and obsurd.