U-Haul of Milpitas

U-Haul of Milpitas

Share |

Address

2395 Oakland Rd
San Jose, CA 95131

(408) 943-9191

(@ Montague Expwy)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Milpitas

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Milpitas

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Sherri L. on 12/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding customer service! Great job by all.

Nikko Charlson H. on 11/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A+ all around.

DELILAH C. on 11/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was super quick and easy to get a van from you guys, thank you for your help.

SAEED S. on 11/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very professional and friendly customer service.

truong d. on 11/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good service!

Jack L. on 11/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was great.

MARC M. on 11/22/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Sale Rep told me that I have a 3 hour grace period from the time I return my rental so that i didnt have to rush and only be charge for 1 day. But i was charge for 2 days and manager told me it was only 30min grace period. So there needs to be more training on the staff to make sure that everyone is on the same page on what they communicate to the customer. I was charge an extra $100 but couldnt give me a refund because our conversation was not recorded. This is my first review of any service/product that i've purchase so that tells how unhappy i am.

Adrain g. on 11/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

if the trucks where rented out with a full tank of gas. so we can return it the same way.. ( would be exellent ) my opinion??

Huei C. on 11/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service!!

Avid F. on 11/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great People and very good service. Thank you

Paul S. on 11/13/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The lot needs to be repaved.

anthony m. on 11/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy to reserve! Easy pick-up and return services. Clean vehicles and low prices! Will definitely go back when I need to rent for hualing.

Erick M. on 11/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work

Shankar Ram M. on 11/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Uhaul representative helped me a lot! Thanks.

Eric S. on 11/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Check the signal lights. Back right tail light was out.

Bharat L. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service from start to finish

Daniel S. on 11/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The representatives were very friendly and helpful!

Aaron A. on 11/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only problem we had was that the key to the uhaul did NOT unlock the driver side door and after spending a lot of time on the passenger door we were able to get the door open. This caused a delay in returning the truck to the San Jose location.

Eileen H. on 11/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

*** Special thanks to Kevin Nguyen for his knowledge, recommendations and patience.*** All the staff who helped me were very patient, helping me make decisions and putting aside items for me to pick up later. On both ends of the transaction, returns and purchases went very smoothly.

Wanda W. on 11/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There should be some designation for smoking and non smoking vehicles. Mine reeked of smoke, but because I only had it a few hours, I didn't want to be difficult. I had to drive with the windows down the whole time because of the smell. Customer service was great though

Virginia Y. on 10/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Prompt, efficient, and friendly!

Chris H. on 10/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I've had so much drama with this and am extremely disappointed and upset.I made a specific reservation months in advance to have this work out not only did I not get the truck I reserved way ahead of time to be picked up Friday and brought back Saturday . A 26" foot truc to be exact. It got changed to Saturday. Then had me pick up a "17 foot truck in milpitas and a 6x12 trailer in the middle of San Jose .... Then to top it off It wasn't big enough due to having to move a 4 bedroom house. I loaded up and what do you know not enough room. Had to go all the way to Manteca unload and then go all the way back to San Jose to load AGIAN .... what didn't fit the first time. I spent so much more in gas to cover the trips and having to go out of my in so many ways. Not to mention I went over my allotted miles due to having to make 2 trips and still return all the equipment we rented. Then this lady Teri Teague in traffic div in fremont said into a phone on a recorded conversation that she hates this guy (meaning me) into the phone.She single handly rearranged my whole schedule this was a complete mess. She got an attitude with me over the phone because I had questions. Then to make matters worse the 2 uhaul places i went to both said they had 26' trucks but were reserved! I reserved months in advance and I get treated like this? I'm sorry but 50% of the bill is hardly acceptable. I called to formally complain about how Teri talked to me and was messing up my plans and then I get transferred from customer service to the lady I specifically said was messing everything up! I am completely frustrated.

DVID O. on 10/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hello. Just taking the time to be courteous when explaining the fees involved in the rental would be nice. It had been awhile since I rented with U-haul and it seemed some things were different. The associate that helped did not seem interested in discussing my thoughts and abruptly reviewed the contract so that he could get me out of the office quickly. It makes me feel it may be time to look at other rental companies. That is unfortunate since I have used U-haul for 30 years now. Thank you. David

Jean M. on 10/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Can't think of anything that would have made our experience better, for it was fabulous, and your personnel were exceptional in helping us out.

Varun S. on 10/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Van was smelling bad.

TONY T. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Happy we will come back soon thanks your great sevi

sriram c. on 10/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very nice van , friendly staff at 800#er and locally

Mahvash v. on 10/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Jentelman who helped us was very polite, expert and helpful. I am so pleased with the service. Thank u

georgiannee j. on 10/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None that I can think of.

Mukesh L. on 10/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good staff

ahmad a. on 10/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

U-Haul of Milpitas are great . the equipment was clean and the guys over there they was so nice and useful .. thanks

Huei C. on 10/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The GM and the staff are very professional and friendly.

CHRISTOPHER P. on 10/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A restroom would be appreciated greatly.

George I. on 10/13/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I like this U-haul place, and rent trailers from time to time. The prices are very reasonable. I wish they would clean up the driveway a little, because I'm afraid of my car tires getting a flat or damage. Also, a few weeks ago when I was returning a trailer they made me wait 15 minutes before unhooking it, because another customer's RV was blocking the parking place they wanted me to pull the trailer to. Another thing is that on my most recent rental, the license plate did not match the rental document. These are small things, and I try to put up with them due to the reasonable rental prices on trailers. But they are things that I would certainly like to see improvement on.

DENNIS H. on 10/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very happy with this location. every time i have dealings with them they have always been courteous, professional and helpful.

Carlos C. on 10/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Exelent job.thumb up

Christina R. on 10/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Very happy with my experience.

culley c. on 10/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your crew was friendly, informative and quick. They are pleasant to work with and I had a great experience.

Nancy R. on 10/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Lower your cost on mileage

Kathryn O. on 10/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When I dropped off the cargo van, I was initially told that no cargo vans were accepted at this location and I'd have to drive it back to the original pickup location. I then needed to show the receipt to staff, listing that location as drop-off point. Only then was it checked in and accepted.

cynthia a. on 10/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My experience was great so I don't know

devin s. on 10/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

THESE ARE THE MOST FUCKED UP PEOPLE ON THE PLANT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WILL NEVER, EVER, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER EVER USE U-HAUL AGAIN FOR AS LONG AS I LIVE. U-HAUL IS A FUCKED UP COMPANY FROM THE TOP DOWN WITH INCREDIBLY FUCKED UP EMPLOYEES.

John B. on 10/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My son borrowed my two inch ball so it is gone. Bought a new one and your guy put it on for me after I did it wrong. Thanks! Like the early check in. Should have gotten one size larger. Made two trips.

DENNIS D. on 10/6/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

understaffed; customers not allowed to use restroom by order of manager a Mr. Daniels. Customers told employee would get in trouble if he allowed use by customers. Violation of city and county codes.

Michael C. on 10/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would not recommend U-haul to anyone as the customer service experience was poor. Three weeks in advance I reserved a truck and scheduled moving helpers and the day before I was to pick up my truck, Uhaul notified me that a truck smaller than what I had ordered would be available 7.5 hours after I needed it. I dealt with 3 or 4 different CSRs from Uhaul, none of home acknowledged the mistake nor apologized. I will not use Uhaul again and will not recommend Uhaul to anyone I speak with.

Marylou B. on 10/5/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Ryan at Portland Oregon was so professional and kind. He made me feel Important. Ryan deserves an employee of the month award. Five Stars for Portland Oregon.

Igor K. on 10/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The was some issue with my online order of moving boxes (the order was not found in the system), but the guy resolved the issue by manual processing.

Jagadish N. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There are certain things which are beyond control of any particular U-haul store. Like when I picked Truck & Trailer from 2 different locations, there was conflict in the drop of location, one overriding other to finally end up in a mess. I was not so "intelligent" enough to sort out for myself until the last moment. Anyway, I do not want to be another pampered customer. But I disliked the pay-take-forget attitude which is probably because a slack co-ordination b/w the stores which customer at the end can sense. Well, again that is obvious; every store franchise would care about their own not about the others. And as customer you take care about your own when u r customer of 2 different stores.

Jennifer C. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great! Professional service

Shyam S. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Found that the 10' truck that I booked wouldn't fit all my stuff, but the staff was very understanding and set me up with a 15' with out extra charges /fees than the rental. Thanks guys!

Hung C. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have better redundancy in place for non-functioning credit card validation capability. Not able to rent out cargo vans when your credit card machine is not working is not a good way to do business. Other people have lives and deadlines too.

Joel C. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing, it was great! John is the man.

Jordan E. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had a reservation for 9am. I did not receive my truck unit 9:45. The credit card processer was. It working and had me run down 2 blocks to get cash. I had movers waiting for me being paid by the hour. Was not handled correct.

joyce p. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for helping us. We needed help in a short period of time. Thank you for understanding and care.

David M. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The van was well maintained, but was dirty. Had to wash the windshield to see out of it. Other wise everyone was friendly and competent.

Wendy J. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I don't like that uhaul says $29.99 a day and in actuality it is closer to $80.00...plus gas, but that has to do with corporate not the location. This location was awesome. Friendly, fast service is the best and your location met that!

Jesse L. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Using my iPhone to check in has problem to go back to the check in page after reading the equipment manual.

driver h. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We ordered 2 trucks and only one was available when we got there. We were fortunate to find a comparable truck at another location but it set us back 3 hours. As a result I worked a 15 hour day and got 4 hours sleep before our event the next morning.

Dominic G. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The 14 ft truck performed well with no problems. The car transporter trailer took some getting acquainted but proved to be well designed and performed very well across the 450 miles of the trip across three passes into Oregon.

Armida A. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I ordered, online, an appliance dolly and assumed it was in the vehicle I reserved but instead a regular dolly is what I got. Upon returning the vehicle I was asked where the appliance dolly was and told them the regular dolly is what I got. The sales associate couldn't seem to get my credit difference as I was told I still owed 11 cents.

Trevor G. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The 1st problem was when I picked up the vehicle it had under 1/4 tank of gas and was marked on the paperwork as 1/4 full. The guy inspecting it said this is what U-haul considers 1/4 of a tank. The 2nd problem was the truck was filthy. It had dirt and cat feces all over the truck bed. I did not realize this until I unloaded all of my belonging and smelled cat feces on my property. I had to clean off all of my stuff and rinse down the truck bed myself so I could finish moving my things. I feel I should be refunded part of my money for my rental. I have used this location in the past with no problems. This time I have found that the service at this location has went down the drain. Hopefully I can be compensated in some way for all of the inconvenience and for the fact I had to spend several hours cleaning cat feces off of my property.

Frank C. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service rep was superb.

Hanisha K. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very helpful and giving good suggestions on what to get.

Vikram T. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

advertise price was $1.39 and charge us $1.59. not right

Marcos V. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was very friendly and helpful. I was very happy with everything.

Chitra S. on 9/23/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The uhaul truck was in a bad confition when we have taken it. Also why is there an 80$ charge on my account. Thevrefund hasnt been given yet. As per the bill i should be charged only 24.94 why am i charged 80$

alejandro t. on 9/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast and professionals

LONG T. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good service, fast.

John D. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were fast, accurate, courteous and helpful. Great crew....

Nicole N. on 9/19/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff who helped me were very friendly and nice. However, the location itself was poorly staffed. There was only 2 people working at 10am on a Sunday, and one of them was busy fixing a car so there was only one person working the counter. I waited almost an hour to get checked in and picked up my rental at 11am...I reserved it for 9am. Please staff more people to help out at this location!

Rimma R. on 9/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great! Your employees are terrific in this uhaul store!

DAVID L. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Auxiliary port to listen to smart phone

Curtis K. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Can't think of a thing to improve. Experience was excellent. No problems. Kudos to the team.

scott d. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A most impressively run business. They know this business inside-out, customer service is A+. Use them regularly for trailers that are so heavy duty-can't buy a trailer as good.

Anandjot K. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service

Eric W. on 9/14/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Was told restroom was out of service. Two attendants asked me to move trailer with my car to storage location. Seemed like they weren't engaged or integrated in customer service.

manoj m. on 9/13/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person (I believe CJ) who helped me out over the phone on Sat evening with the reservation was extremely courteous. However, I can't say the same about the person who attended to me on Sunday. To begin with, he brought out the wrong van (or he messed up the mileage and fuel details for that van). Then he brought out another van and did not provide any walk through and was rude when I asked a question and then simply walked away when I had something else to ask him. If it hadn't been for the help I had received the previous evening, I would have walked away from this location and taken my business elsewhere.

robert w. on 9/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up good work

Ian P. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fasted check in/check out ever ! Thanks so Much !

Neal O. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Minor issue - the issuing attendant pulled information on the wrong van. Mileage and gas level were way off. He explained that the numbers were similar. However, it took a little extra time to straighten out. Check-in was very smooth with hand held app.

RALPH M. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees were very helpful and courteous, so please do not change anything.

Nguyen D. on 9/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff and very helpful.

Graeme C. on 9/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Well, I would check with the location to make sure the equipment is available for use. When I made the reservation I requested an enclosed 4x8 trailer, but there was no such trailer available at the location. Since my schedule was pretty tight, I had to settle for an open top trailer. While I was able to complete the move, it was definitely inconvenient and required some changes to our original plans.

Pavel S. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent.

scott d. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very efficient opperation, fast rental and return, always has what I need

Shahyar D. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every thing was great just i reserved u-haul close to my home but i had to pick up from u-haul that was far and custumer have to pay more money for more milagr

allen s. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast friendly service!

Jay C. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff. Late drop off an advantage.

Erika C. on 8/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great.

John L. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I believe the person at the counter's name was John. He was quick to help and got me set to go in minutes. I also dropped off the truck back to him and I was on my way quick and easy.

sean k. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I got the truck from one loaction and the trailer from another, both places charged me for the trailer so I have to chase down a refund which has lowered the experience rating.

Nicole D. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John who checked us in was awesome. He was very quick, friendly, and helped us with all of our questions!! I wish all customer service people were like him.

Brian N. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

no complaints, agent was very knowledgeable and helpful!

Latanya G. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The price change several times

Nazanin S. on 8/27/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Absolutely rude manager! We reserved the large truck but when we got there we saw one smaller one is getting returned. We asked for that and the manager said no. I tried to call another location to see if they have smaller one available, the hiring manager told me in a very rude way that good luck you cannot find! Aweful facial expression veryyyyy rude! At first they said they do not have furniture dolly because they did not want to open a new one. Then after they thought they are going to lose us to another u haul location they said no actually we have one!! Verg bad experience! Poor customer service

Richard B. on 8/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A lot more crowded than the spacious location in Chico. Very helpful personnel as in Chico location.

Morgan J. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Overcharged

MOHAN VAMSEE G. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is Easy even though for a first timers like me. Thanks.

Maria L. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Excellent location, specially Mr. David. Very helpful, curtious, and an excellent employee.

FERDAWEK T. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing keep up the good work ??

michael y. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both guys who helped me are terrific! they are knowledgeable, courteous, polite and got everything done in no time. I have been coming to this place for many occasions, and will definitely recommend to all my friends and colleagues! Thanks guys and please keep up the great jobs you have been doing!

David S. on 8/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

Paul F. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was prompt and friendly

bill p. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It would be great if the 4C Council could get a discounted rate since we use this service regularly.

ANILA KUMAR G. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everythings great??

Jose P. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good and fast service thank you.

NAM Q. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The man who gave me the truck lacks of basic knowledge (how to turn on the truck loading light,what is the emergency number for road assistance...his answers for my questions are the same: I don't know)

edward s. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only wish a restroom was available

Michelle F. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service.

Jeffrey L. on 8/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

In and out quickly with clean and equipment ready. Fantastic service!! Thanks Dave.

diwakar m on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

amazing staff, specially dan. he helped me find a truck even though i did not have reservation. thanks guys

Matthew S on 7/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All U-Haul employees I interacted with were efficient and the whole process felt very streamlined.

DEBBIE M on 1/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to Dave and Shawn

RICHARD L on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Jose location is not secured. The manager threaten to ship after just a day of loading but the location is not secured.

ROSEL W on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Dave helped me .. went out of his way to teach me connect and disconnect the tow hitch from the trailer.. even accompanied my to my apartment and showed me how to use the equipment.

ROBERT L on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the exception of the drop off. The employees could not give me a receipt which both wasted time and made me nervous about leaving my belongings with them.

PAM S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No calls for delivery info. Told it would be there between 12-2pm. Showed at 3 without the 2 dozen blankets that I ordered. The brackets had been ripped off so there was no way to lock it. Big hassle!