U-Haul of Milpitas

U-Haul of Milpitas

Share |

Address

2395 Oakland Rd
San Jose, CA 95131

(408) 943-9191

(@ Montague Expwy)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Milpitas

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Milpitas

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

ALEJANDRO M. on 4/29/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I got charge for a utility dolly that I did not use. I Rented a appliance dolly and that is the one I used. I ask the attendant when I returned the truck he told me that I was going to get charge for the dollies I ask him for two dollies? and he replied oh no you are only getting charge for the appliance dolly. And now that I got my invoice I notice that I did got char for two dollies. Not happy about that.

Eric M. on 4/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No bathroom for use of customer. Van was dirty and missing radio antenna - Clean vans parked next to this one. Also the CSR gave information that was misleading about the size of cargo area. Queen Bed and Box spring do fit but limit cargo space by more than 50% due to having to transport laying flat.

Armando M. on 4/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When i picked up the 5x8 trailer one of the tires had a bad bald spot on it. They did not have another tire or trailer. I had to call road side assistance.. The guy came out to my house an hour later and he did not have the right size tire. He had to go back and pick up the right size tires. 2 hrs later he replaced both tires. One of the top back up lights came right off. it fell in the side wall. I had to repair this on site.

David B. on 4/26/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The lot needs to be repaved.

JONATHAN P. on 4/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent staff and customer service.

jose f. on 4/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Please be inform that after used the vehicle, before return the key to drop box, you should to provide sign paper for signature and time of returned.

Xiaolin T. on 4/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Picking up and returning process very efficient!

Felicia W. on 4/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent experience I appreciate the prompt service that I got whenever I hit the door with my reservation will definitely rent from this location again

robert b. on 4/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I dropped the truck off they checked it in gave a bill off 220.96 the next day they called to ask me when I was bringing it back told them I already did they said they would look in to it then emailed me another bill for 231.41 not sure why. Robert brimigion

Mary E. on 4/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

N/A

Debiprasad M. on 4/19/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Charges is very high.it's showing 19.95$ but at the end i am paying near to 75$ in 4 hrs.

shanmugaprabhu m. on 4/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Actually the right side mirror was loose, so i had a tough time changing lane towards right. Since i had a short distance travel i was able to drive slow and manage.

Chris f. on 4/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, I cant remember the returning team members name said he had been there for 8 years. HE DESERVES A RAISE!

HELEN L. on 4/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i have used you 2 times -both to move furniture from gilroy to san jose/milpitas. the first time-I was able to rent an 8 foot truck and it cost me around $100. this time I told the girl that I wanted to rent a truck and drive to and from gilroy and she told me she only had a 10 foot truck and that it was $1.59 per mile. I did not realize that the 8 foot and 10 foot trucks were quite different-both worked, but when I told the uhaul man-when I was returning the truck- about my first experience and the cost-he said that it was probably because the first experience uhaul person approximated that I would be traveling about 100 miles so the cost was a lot less. this last rental cost $160! I suggest that you train your people taking reservations to explain completely what the difference in the costs are and what the differences are in the trucks. I would have called the 10 foot -not a truck-but a covered box truck.

Platinum F. on 4/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly easy and very clear. It was a pleasure!

Davinder M. on 4/17/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Super easy and quick to rent and return the truck. Location is great but it's hard to get access to the drive way due to the Oakland Rd and Montegue Expressway.

Anubhav G. on 4/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

Keith R. on 4/12/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The tire pressure was low and I paid for a dolly which not only wasn't in the truck I needed to come back and get it, I paid the estimated mileage and came in under that mileage with a full tank and I was over charged $40. I returned inside the location two minutes after walking out while checking at the bill and I questioned the guy at the desk and it was like he couldn't read his own billing paperwork. The guy at the counter assured me the main office would take care of it and call me the following day which never happened. Clearly this place is ripping off the unexpecting customers which concerns me because I've used this location more than once.

Bruce B. on 4/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The brake fluid level was very very low. The employees were great.

Brenda H. on 4/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Create a feature that allows the Uhaul in store rep to change the days on the reservation more easily. He could not subtract days from the original reservation only add them.

WILLIAM E. on 4/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My improvement comments are ALL about the website. 1- Quit giving me lists of locations to choose from, only to tell me it doesn't have AFTER I've evaluated my choices and completed the process. 2- If I confirm a pickup of 8am, donn't go switching it to 10am on the paperwork after I turn it in. I have had this experience 2-3 times now.

Arlene A. on 4/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I loved the sport trailer, but it was dirty/dusty. No locks were provided for it so I had to go buy some on our way out at the beginning of our trip.

Sairav Suresh P. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Poor customer service

David R. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went pretty smoothly and prompt. Took a little bit long to get checked in and was a busy day, so a little more manpower at peak times would help.

ANDY Z. on 4/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very good

David E. on 4/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!

mary l. on 4/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All greatness!! Peter ! Robert! Glenn ! are the best!! Went smooth as silk!

Henry L. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lower rate per mile.

Michael M. on 4/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rent from this location often. I must say that the staff there is very efficient and friendly. I really appreciate the positive experience I receive whenever I get a truck from them. Great job .

Jesse M. on 3/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Windshield was full of bugs.

Charles K. on 3/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person who hooked up the trailer as well as unhooked it upon my return really stood out. He was excellent in his level of service which made an impression on me. I rent many times from UHaul and he has been the best! He's a young man and hope he gets recognized.

Bridgett W. on 3/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect, thanks!

Jesus A. on 3/28/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented a truck that had a corner cap busted and I finished breaking it by hitting it on a overhang. What got me mad is that I had to pay for it in full. Yes I'm responsible for it but really full price when it was busted already. Never going here again..

PUJA K. on 3/27/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only problem I saw was that online the website was allowing me to make a reservation for a truck at $1.39/mile where as at the store I go the same truck at $1.59/mile. Although, I did not argue with the clerk at the store I was not happy to see this discrepancy in pricing.

phuong n. on 3/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

service very good !! clean !

Richard N. on 3/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

LORETTA S. on 3/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am extremely impressed by how efficient the staff works. I walked in to rent a truck and was out of there in under 5 minutes! I walked out the doors and the truck was already pulled up and ready to go. A very happy customer and will definitely recommend this location!!

Susan D. on 3/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every single time I go into this store--for information, packing supplies or booking vehicles, the team working there is very very courteous and helpful. This service is much appreciated!

Todd H. on 3/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very professional.

Hanford K. on 3/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was the fastest checkout ever!!

Joseph B. on 3/17/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make sure the enclosed trailers don't leak It was raining and everything inside the trailer got wet!

edie h. on 3/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I did not rent the van, my son Christopher did, but he needed a credit card so I let him use mine. So send this survey to him @ cthurst2@gmail.com

Michael J. on 3/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My 10 ft truck rental return check-in took about 2 minutes. Very remarkable. Just like renting a car from Hertz, but much faster.

kristina s. on 3/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys were so nice and on point made my life so much easier being treated well during a hard move

Frances J. on 3/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service all around!

EMILY G. on 3/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Extremely friendly and helpful great service

lay eng c. on 3/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Super friendly, helpful and professional. Thank you guys at Milpitas UHaul!!!

DAVID Q. on 3/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Uhaul disappointed me again. We reserved a 26' truck at the Curtner/Almaden Ex location for 3/5/16 at 8am. The day before the move I got a text saying the truck would be available at 11am. After calling I found out that the person with the truck ahead of us extended their rental. What? How is that ok when the truck has already been reserved by me? This is ridiculous! They tried to solve the problem by offering a smaller truck. No deal. They called back to say they have a 26' truck only 10 minutes away at a different location. Great! Oh, wait, Milpitas is not 10 minutes away. It's a half hour away. Adding many more miles to now pay for just to get the truck to and from where we live. Uhaul needs to fix these problems with their business model. I cannot understand how this is normal protocol. I will NOT be referring friends to use Uhaul.

Eric E. on 3/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

customer service was awesome. Very friendly and helpful even with late return. Love how simple the whole process was

Adeel M. on 3/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Returned the trailer, gentlemen was very professional. I will definitely come back thanks UHaul team Old Oakland rd In San Jose!

PRANAVA L. on 3/5/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Though your in-person service were excellent, the on-line service was frustrating: I enconter resistance regarding picking-up the truck one day, then the auto-trailer the next day, after having loaded the truck. The consequence, was I had no more trailer reserved until one of your associate put it back on my reservation. Moving is stressful enough without adding more worry. Also, I was not aware, that the prefered location I choose to pick up my rental truck and trailer could be a different one. Being alone, it made it complicated to have to pick-up the truck so far away, as I had to go there again, with a taxi, to pick-up my car. I had planned to walk to my preferred location as it was close by.

Nagesh A. on 3/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reduce your mileage fee.

monica g. on 2/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentlemen at this location have great customer service and treat their customers well :) I hope you are taking great care of them as they are an extension of your company. Please call me for any questions.

Andy N. on 2/29/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Service was fast, friendly and efficient. The site was very run down but good location and well-stocked. The truck's mirrors and the inside of the windshield hadn't been cleaned in years. The truck was otherwise in good condition. Overall the experience was positive. UHaul is so much better run today than it was in the '90s that it's like a different company. Great use of technology.

Leia K. on 2/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff patiently explained anything we had questions about. The truck was convenient and brand new. Would definitely recommend.

Cheryl M. on 2/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Th truck's transmission was not smooth and the interior was not clean. But the service staff were very helpful and courteous.

Jeffrey B. on 2/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Communicate better about subsequent rentals to mine. I would have liked a bit more flexibility in returning the truck a little later if i could, but it was already booked for 15 minutes after my reservation

JOHN PRASHANTH J. on 2/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I wanted to change the vehicle because I can not enter more than 8 feet hight vehicle. But that guy said, i can not change the vehicle type. Because of this, we struggled a lot to move all things from the truck to my home. We should be able to change the vehicle based on our need.

QUANG H. on 2/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Customer service but the computer very slow in the morning

monica g. on 2/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both CS Reps were absolutely wonderful. They greeted me professionally and provide great customer service. I love this U-Haul :)

thang n. on 2/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had an amazing visit, quick, easy and affordable when I came this store to get the truck for my father and I meet the staff name is Pete Flore, this staff is so friendly and so helpfully. He was excellent. The vehicle was well maintained. The cost was affordable. Thank you!

JOSE D. on 2/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The best rent a pick-up I ever experienced, good service ,easy to get the car right away 5 min I ready to use " excellent " and easy to return too. Thanks u-haul team!!!! God bless your company.

JILLIAN L. on 2/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Guys were very helpful and polite. Pick up and drop off super easy and convenient! Thanks!

jan k. on 2/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wow...I drove up and two friendly guys are standing at the Return Area waiting for me to pull up. How chop-chop is that? Friendly sign-off to a very pleasant moving experience.

VU T. on 2/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Associates were very helpful and they were courteous.

Jonathan F. on 2/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great truck, no problems!

RYAN V. on 2/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

From my experience, none. Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. They are very friendly and courteous to me and the other customers. I always get my rentals here and will continue to do so. Will definitely recommend this location to everybody.

Jeff E. on 2/7/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I rented a pickup..and there were decals and advertisements all over the truck. Even covering some of the Windows; creating blind spots while driving. Other than the decals, rental was good.

Wesley E. on 2/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great job, made it very easy.

Joyson N. on 2/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There are no trucks available for walk-in customer , Keep some additional Trucks for walk-ins

YING LING T. on 2/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good service. Everything just smooth! Thank you!

Ted C. on 2/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

When I walk up to the counter I was not sure but the employees were great. Very good attitude and very affiant great service picking up and dropping off.

Yizhong L. on 1/31/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service guy was nice. The truck is in bad maintenance. Bad drive experience on highway. Very unsafe.

kim a. on 1/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Long line, long wait .. But once served, good service

phung h. on 1/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A bit busy, but the guys really hustled. Trailer was a bit dirty, but once he got the lights working, everything else was fine.

Susan F. on 1/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was fine although we waited in line quite a while to pick up the truck.

Yuramy R. on 1/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome service

MARITA G. on 1/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

So far my experience was very pleasant. .

MARTIN K. on 1/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is a Uhaul office I'very rented from on 3 or 4 occasions. In brief, they are always a happy and efficient bunch there, employees and owner. Theyou provide a consistently great experience. I've never experienced any glitches at all there. The place is run very well.

SONIA M. on 1/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

By far thee BEST store and service in the Silicon Valley! I rent from all over, Tully, Curtner, Sunnyvale, Fremont, the service doesn't compare to Oakland Rd. Dave has an awesome crew!

Alfred W. on 1/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Online reservation was easy. Truck & equipment was ready to go. Rep was efficient finishing paperwork.

CHLOE S. on 1/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Although the truck was clean (no dirt, stains) it smelled bad, which made it unpleasant to drive. Also the "needs oil change" sign came on every time the truck was started.

Donald P. on 1/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The attitude of the personnel at this location was the worst of experience since I've been dealing with u-haul and I've been dealing with u-haul for about 20 years then in the end of my contract I was overcharged and I still haven't received my money back yet as of right now so overall I would not recommend this location to anyone thank you

VENKAT RAJU G. on 1/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent service, thanks!

NATHAN B. on 1/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees are wonderful. I rent the trucks every weekend for work and these guys are great. I recommend this location to everyone. The trucks are all the same anywhere you go, its the people that separate this location from any other.

Venkat Raju G. on 1/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent service. thanks!

Alaina C. on 1/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was amazed at how quick & easy the process was! After reserving a truck online, i walked into the location and was greeted by friendly and professional staff at 8am (I wasn't even chipper at that time). After 5 mins, I was on my way! When I dropped the truck off, a nice man had an app on his phone to check the truck back in and I was done in 3mins! This was the best moving experience I've had thus far... I will definitely be using this store again next time.

ANNA R. on 1/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was prompt and curtuous .

Sheldon P. on 1/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Customer Service. Great Team!

VERANETTE M. on 1/7/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Went to rent pick up too expensive. Lowe's rates cheaper had to settle for trailer which I needed assistance from family member. Would have walked away entirely of I couldn't have gotten a family to tow

JOHN B. on 1/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very professional staff at this location. Would highly recommend this location.

Michael M. on 1/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck was clean but had extremely annoying and loud 'rattling' in the dashboard. This truck had VERY high mileage on it.

Marinelli D. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at this location are very helpful. The pickup and drop off was very easy. Thank you for providing excellent customer service!

HASSAN Z. on 1/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

To have friendly workers

KATHERINE L. on 1/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This U-Haul store is amazing. Check-in of my rental took one minute. Seriously, including email of the return receipt. The gentleman was extremely friendly, and my experience was the best in over 25 years of U-Haul rentals.

Mark M. on 12/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The 20' truck I reserved wasn't available, and wasn't going to be available for several hours. I needed the larger truck, so I had to rent two 15' trucks instead at considerable additional expense. The person working at the UHaul site was very pleasant and understood why I was displeased but that doesn't solve the money issue. I was told I'll get a $50 credit due to the truck not being available but that doesn't cover my additional lost time and money getting a second truck. Also, the power went out at the site during my contract signing causing additional delay. It took almost an hour to rent the 2 trucks and I was paying my workers by the hour also. Thank you Mark Mazon 408-887-9049

Tim C. on 12/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Love your services.

HENRY L. on 12/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This place is great and probably THE cleanest truck rental shop I've been to. Once you pull in, you can already tell they run a clean and tidy business by all the trucks parked out front, and there are alot of trucks. Everyone there is friendly and professional. You can tell they take pride in what they do. Thank you Pete for the excellent service. Will rent again!

diwakar m on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

amazing staff, specially dan. he helped me find a truck even though i did not have reservation. thanks guys

Matthew S on 7/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All U-Haul employees I interacted with were efficient and the whole process felt very streamlined.

DEBBIE M on 1/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to Dave and Shawn

RICHARD L on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Jose location is not secured. The manager threaten to ship after just a day of loading but the location is not secured.

ROSEL W on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Dave helped me .. went out of his way to teach me connect and disconnect the tow hitch from the trailer.. even accompanied my to my apartment and showed me how to use the equipment.

ROBERT L on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the exception of the drop off. The employees could not give me a receipt which both wasted time and made me nervous about leaving my belongings with them.

PAM S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No calls for delivery info. Told it would be there between 12-2pm. Showed at 3 without the 2 dozen blankets that I ordered. The brackets had been ripped off so there was no way to lock it. Big hassle!