U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Share |

Address

1400 Genesee St
Buffalo, NY 14211

(716) 896-2345

(@ Barthel)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Lyle P. on 5/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and couteous. This location has the best selection of trailers in western NY. If you need a trailer, this is first place to check.

david o. on 5/21/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Ordered trailer 9 miles away and told me to pick it up at 10 AM. 20 minutes after the location closed i recieved a text to pick it up 9 miles away.bait and switch social media is my next step.around the 1st of the month.shame on uhaul.poor buss. Practices.hello twitter

monica m. on 5/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Appliance dolly was broken but received a discount when returned

Rochelly F. on 5/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Love the customer service

Jamie H. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I called customer service before hand and asked very specific questions about what methods of payment were accepted or not. I was told all debit, even straight cash could be used. I was informed that no credit card was necessary & there were no hold fees. Offff course once we got there everything was different. They didn't except my debit. They needed a credit card. And they also needed $100 to hold. I don't know if policy changed because it was a location in the ghetto that we rented from...or if the 2 customer service reps I spoke with were both horribly lacking basic knowledge of their jobs. But it sucked. And it caused a huge delay.

PAUL M on 5/16/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Made reservation 1 month Pryor. When I arrived at facilitie could find my reservation and tryed to charge me more the double price quoted took an hour to resolve problem

MARCIA H on 5/16/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

People are respectful very clean storage room very tight security , but they need to have light in the storage room . Beside that I would recommend

AMANDA W. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They didnt have the size truck needed so i hsd to make more trips then usual so that cost me more money

Mareo S. on 5/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy who helped me was very nice, polite and professional. He really made my move less stressful. Great job

KIMBELY b. on 5/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This company over charged my card and when I brought it to their attention they told me to call my bank. I see why they say they prefer card payments because they don't like tI refund money. I will never use this company again.

Len N. on 5/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service and support.

PATRICK M. on 5/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful staff, great knew pick up, really made several tasks much easier. Thank all. Patrick Maloney

kaitlyn g. on 5/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Make sure transmission in vehicle is good before letting people drive it across the country. Expedite road side assistance so people aren't left sitting on the side of the road for 3 hours. Also, have a person answer the phone instead of going thru a 5 minute recording every time.

Denise S. on 5/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This location was one of the first locations that provided great service and answered all our questions. They explained the storage unit in depth and the fact that we qualified for a free month since we did a one way rate which was a lifesaver to us.

michael m. on 5/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

When res make pepole aware of chares store charring more

Nelida M. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick service, friendly, and got the job done.

nancy e. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a large U-Haul location in the city of Buffalo. I was able to find what I wanted with less than a week in advance. All other locations, even though they were closer to my home, were sold out for the size that I wanted. The process was fast and efficient.

wendy s. on 4/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service/ no improvements to suggest

BRENDAN L on 4/30/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff member who helped me seemed incompetent, even after I gave her my license she still spelt all of my information wrong, she couldn`t even find my storage locker

Arnold W. on 4/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Had to use them for a commercial van to take our St Bernard to the groomer and vet . The van was clean and ran excellent and there was no problem what so ever with the service we received . The whole experience was pleasant thank you .

DANA D. on 4/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The employee's were very nice.

russ s. on 4/18/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Originally scheduled somewhere in Buffalo and was told to expect a confirmation call a day in advance if pick up. Received call from somewhere in Canada to drive there to get it???!!! I refused and they scheduled pick up at Main Street Buffalo NY. Manager had attitude when I arrived, then Did not have trailer I reserved. He found one at Genesee St. At Genesee Street they were very nice and efficient, however the vehicle carrier trailer vibrated my tow vehicle for the three plus hour trip. At my mechanics, we dropped off the car and discovered a tire worn to the casing and also no license plate on the trailer. Send ma my $50 dollars!!! It was no fun from the beginning!!

Jonathon w. on 4/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Coffee. ??

RICHARD J. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the location at the staff at that location were great. my overall experience with U Haul was not however. I had reserved a 5 X 8 trailer at your Main Street Buffalo location. on the morning I was suppose to pick it up or less than an hour before I was suppose to pick it up I received a phone message from a U-Haul rep at the Main St. location advising that the customer failed to drop off the trailer. the message told me to go to 4141 Transit Rd in Amherst to pick up a trailer as I was told they had one. I then drove 25 minutes out to Amherst. to my surprise there is not even a U-Haul location at this address. it is a Home depot plaza. I then called the 800 number that I had my reservation receipt and the woman I spoke to told me that "the system" said there was a trailer waiting for me at 1400 Genessee street in Buffalo. I then drove all the way back to Buffalo...another 25 minutes and picked up the trailer. note that the Genessee Street location is probably about 5 minutes form the original Main Street location. your local employees don't even know where the other local U-Haul pick us are in the area. also when I reserved the 5 X 8 trailer you cant tell form the website where the larger locations are located at. Thanks for the run around!

David W. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reported that the lights on the trailer didn't work, the guy that hooked them up didn't test them. My business lost a job because I lost a customer because I couldn't deliver the car to them by the agreed time. I was told they would take care of it and I still was charged after all of that.

RICKY P. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well organized and helpful quick and courtesy.

Adria S. on 4/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Although I did adhere to the gas refill chart the required amount was not sufficient to replace to fuel this causing me to pay an additional fee at return.

doreen j. on 3/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Continue doing what you are now doing

Ignacio V. on 3/24/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Super friendly and helpful staff. Nice job in receiving the equipment.

nicki g. on 3/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was a very tall gentleman that took care of us, he was exceptionally helpful and very pleasant to work with.

Ben A. on 3/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful young man checked me in and had me on my way very quickly. I will definitely return to this location the next time I need to rent a U-Haul. There is a place closer on Niagara Falls Blvd but they have never been very helpful.

anita p. on 3/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

On the dollies, a seal should be placed to lock the belt. If a customer requests the use of a dolly, realize they don't need it, they should be able to call a specific phone number and upon return of the equipment if the seal is not broken they should not be charged for it.

Juliana s. on 3/15/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made reservations for a tow dolly and a 10' truck four days prior to the Sunday I needed the rental. The Friday before hand I called again to verify and check what time would be the earliest I could pick up the equipment. When I called I found that I had not spoken to someone at the Genesee location nor someone at the orchard park location, it was a customer service rep. This representative had made one reservation at the orchard park location and a second at the genesee location for the towing dolly. When I asked the earliest time I could pick up it did not work with my schedule because I was leaving early Sunday morning to drive to Philadelphia. Upon finding out all of this was not what I wanted the representative relocated my reservations for the orchard park location and for Saturday evening rather than Sunday morning, I was assured that everything was straightened out. Upon arriving at the orchard park location I found that they had not changed the day or time of my reservation and they in fact did "not have the towing dolly that was compatible" with the car I would be towing. They informed me that my car (2012 ford Taurus) was too wide and that they "thought" the genesee location would have a wider-set dolly. I paid for the rental truck and drove it to Hamburg where I filled up my car. This was 5pm at that point and I was told as long as I got to the genesee location by 7 they would be able to rent me the dolly. Arriving at the genesee location at 6:30 the front desk was very confused and aggravated that again my reservation was for the next day and that it was so close to closing time. Never the less they rang me up accordingly. After entering in the information for the size of my car they found that the towing dolly was not equipped to carry the weight of my car. That another auto towing device would have to be used. This of course was forty dollars more than what I had expected to purchase. After flying in from Philadelphia that afternoon, having to pick the truck up from one location, fill the truck up in an hour and run over to the second location I reluctantly agreed to pay for whatever got me out of there and back home. After paying for the device I was told to back the truck up and the gentleman would "hook it up". After anchoring the hitch the man attempted to attach the device that allows it to signal as the vehicle is on the road. The metal prongs inside were bent so he pushed it half in and left it. After this he told me that I could now put the car on and hook that up. When I asked more questions I started to realize he would not be helping me hook up the car himself. I asked him if he was going to assist in hooking it up and he told me he really didn't know how. With very vague instruction my boyfriend and I pulled the car up and hooked it up. After having it adjused the follwoing day by a neighbor we set out. Arriving in Philadelphia I received one last incorrect accommodation from Uhaul: that the location to drop of was c

EVIE B. on 3/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I normally don't give reviews but my experience was so horrible I felt that I needed too! The 1st location was a satellite location, I reserved a 10ft truck but was told I reserved it for 10pm and that it wouldn't be available until 6:30...meanwhile I reserved it for 1pm! So the guy in the store in an attempt to make good on their mistake was going to give me a bigger truck for the rate of the smaller truck, no problem, I just needed the truck, 45mins later he couldn't figure out how to use the system so I ended up going to an actual location, that was even worse than the prior place, the MANAGER was in the store and was so unprofessional I wanted to leave, but I needed the uhaul truck, at this time it's about 2:10pm, after another wasted 45mins, after not being able to figure out how to let me use my card I pay 228.19 in cash was told I'd get my deposit at the drop off location...apparently it's frowned upon to not bring a uhaul truck back to the original location, because after dropping the truck off in the same state just a different area maybe 20mins from the original location I paid 128.19 for a uhaul truck and was told I'd be mailed a check to my PREVIOUS address for the deposit! After asking some sensible questions on how stupid all this sounded, I was told to go to the drop off location and pick up 100$!! I would rather use a camel than do business with u-haul again!

Christine A. on 3/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing! Everything was great!

MARYANN M. on 3/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was just great. Thank you

Michael S. on 3/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work and excellent customer service skills

WILSON V. on 3/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only location I like to deal with. Every other location sucks in my eyes.

Wilson V. on 3/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great people at this location, only location that I like to deal with. Every other location has a lot to learn from this location.

Gloria B. on 3/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I suggest that when it comes to replacing the gas it should come with a better understanding of replacing the fuel. It should be a breakdown to see how much gas is need to replace.

Misty M. on 3/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

As always the GM Bill .B. is great and he alwaya put customers service first.

Wilson V. on 2/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All the guys and gals are great there. They know me as soon as I walk in making the process very easy A++ people.

Dana G. on 2/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service.

LACOLE B. on 2/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Continue doing great work.

Andre M. on 2/13/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I'd suggest they get more staff to accommodate the level of business this location has on the weekend. The staff was friendly and help.

Debra G. on 2/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I find no fought !

Wilson V. on 2/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager Brian is excellent and employee Hazel is great too. Good people there.

JEANETTE B. on 2/7/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

do not advertise to get a specific sized truck from said location and this location dose not carry had to go 6mi out of my way to get uhaul after said location sent the order to canada not every us citzin has a passport .then we were redirectid to gennesse location .

luz v. on 2/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good coustomer service and very pront.

MISTY K on 12/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place.. New staff

TINA S on 10/14/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Poor service lock still on from previous customers so I`m in the parking lot with my stuff had to go through several people The Manger was great once she were contacted

VALERIE B on 9/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have used this facility before and it is always high level of courtesy and professionalism.

KATHERINE B on 8/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great.

DEBBIE B on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have nothing but good things to say about the place staff was great I would recommend over Uncle Bob`s

PATRICIA D on 7/31/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service that i recieved was very good.

TERA R on 7/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just had a c-section and Justin along with the manager were absolutely helpful. Excellent customer service

SANIKA L on 7/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I did not appreciate homeless people living where my storage was I didn`t feel safe I would not recommend this facility to anyone the storage place had a bad smell to get at time.

MICHELLE N on 7/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Management team at this location since was professional. You might want to consider having more than 2 sets of moveable stairs. if the 2 are in use you will be unable to access an upper unit.

BARRIE C on 7/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I spoke with Chris at the U-Haul location several times. He was helpful, responsive and professional.

Tejeshwara C on 6/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had reserved two boxes in Buffalo but only received one. My box arrived two days later than date committed in California. Will not recommend to anyone.

DALILA K on 6/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The prices, availability, and access were not the same when i went into the office. I was frustrated and extremely disappointed. I now have to searchc for another storage facility.

R TODD B on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great service!

ROXANNE C on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I just want to say Justin is a great representative for your company,he is very knowledgeable and helpful. He explained terms etc very simply and clearly.

PATRICIA B on 2/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Justin wasknowledgeable and friendly. Great experience!!

MATTHEW S on 5/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very polite helpful staff.

TAMISHA J on 1/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged $48 for gas when I returned the truck back with the same amount of gas as when I rented it! some of my furniture was water damaged after being in one of your storage units.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At check-in I had to purchase a new lock because only 1 type was allowed. This was not indicated anywhere when making the reservation - classic bait and switch. I cannot recommend this location.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

b

TRACEY F on 10/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good experience no complaints

MICHELLE N on 9/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints. If rates were cheaper I would have kept unit but $80 a month for such a small space no longer made sense.

HELAINE M on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

MATTHEW S on 8/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant staff.

NICOLE G on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities and staff were clean and nice!

ERIC M on 6/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is awesome!

NINA C on 5/7/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had storage unit sizes and prices which were applicable to the needs of dorm students

STEVEN W on 3/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

KLEE T on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Rob and staff did an excellent job. We would be a repeat customer in a heartbeat! Thanks, Rob, for the great service.

MICHELLE N on 12/6/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional- they even helped me carry boxes to my car without me even asking!

ROBERT W on 10/16/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I WILL ALWAYS PICK U-HAUL

MARISSA S on 8/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There is a rat problem at this location. There are now chew marks on an antique table of mine and there was rat excrement inside of my storage unit.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

GWENDOLYN C on 8/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment at this time.

GEORGE T on 5/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful.

DOUGLAS K on 4/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

friendly people easy 2 talk 2

JAMIE R on 4/27/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had my belongings in storage for 5+ months.. The workers were very friendly, and I would definetly recomend this location to anyone either moving or needs storage

CHRISTINE T on 3/16/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was ok need to update your system keep getting letters and I been moved out

CHRISTOPHER B on 2/27/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had no problems or concerns

AMANDA F on 11/21/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff could be more friedly...

CRYSTAL P on 11/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Found mouse droppings and shredded paper in packed stored items. Too expensive

VICTORIA C on 9/12/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it more bright

WILLMERT P on 8/23/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was delayed for a long time due to typos made on my contracts by agent Mike Polak. He wrote my phone number and e-mail incorrectly.

JIMMIE S on 8/7/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

SHEREDA M on 6/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very please with my service ** the young man that helped me was very helpful and kind to my needs.

BARBARA M on 5/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Efficient and friendly service.

VICTORIA C on 5/8/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smooth

AONTWONNETTA B on 1/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The storage center was great

TASHA C on 1/15/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

storage is way to small not worth the price i am paying i couldnt get a full load of a 17 foot truck into the unit and its just boxes

SARAH N on 11/23/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Worked well for me

MARK R on 10/5/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees at the Genesee location were always very nice and helpful. I had the unit for many years and never had a bad experiance.

ALISA W on 7/10/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The times that I was able to access my unit has no reflect on the staff at that location. This was also based on the fact that I had a smaller unit.

LISA C on 6/30/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I purchased the truck for a Sunday 10am -10pm however I was never informed ahead of time that the facility closed at 5.

BARNABE S on 6/24/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I AM HERE TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I SIGN UP FOR AUTOPAYMENT DIRECT FROM MY ACCOUNT SO DO NOT WANT YO GUYS TO CHARGE ME FOR ANY LATE FEE ,I DID THIS SINCE DAY ONE SO THANKS FOR YOUR UNDESTANDING

LATASHA G on 6/21/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would Never spend money with this company again. the service SUCKS

DANICA R on 5/18/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no complaints and it was a pleasant experience.

ALISA W on 3/29/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even though Jason W. was a younger person in a busy store he was very knowledgeable. He got busy but never ignored me and even offered me the promotion deal with my storage unit.

RENITA M on 3/28/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Needed the space for 6 days but still had to pay by the month.UHAUL SHOULD TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION PRORATING FEES.I DID FIND OUT THAT OTHER PLACES HAVE MORE SPACE AND ARE LESS IN PRICE.

KATHLEEN R on 3/18/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff were rude, there were rat feces in all of my boxes. Some of my boxes looked like they made a home in them. The place is DISGUSTING!!! Maybe use U-Haul again but never this location.

PETER V on 2/27/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The storage hallways were very narrow. I was not able to fit my sofa in the unit due to it being so narrow.

RICHARD, G. S on 10/5/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All went well and the staff was helpful

LAURA H on 8/30/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wish my rent could have been pro-rated for the rest of the month, I think U-Haul should consider that option.

JEROME T on 7/17/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Found ALOT of mice crap on our items- not happy. Also a strong bad smell. Staff was always confused on what to do when i tried to pay for two units.

LESLIE M on 6/24/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Last agent at time of rental close out. The agent had her son was talking on her cellphone. When I asked for assistance the agent popped her lips and was very rude.

ASHLEY B on 6/17/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

=

LAURA H on 5/27/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff were INCREDIBLY helpful and open to all of my questions.

ATESHA J on 5/25/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

CHARMANE R on 5/16/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

there were rat droppings all in my belongings

BETHANY P on 5/12/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I moved in, the unit still had some things in it and had not been swept out. Other than that, I was happy with the facility.

TROY L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You can take your rental area and your 200 character limit and shove them up your ass. If you want my opinion then don`t limit my frustrations to 200 characters.