U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Share |

Address

1400 Genesee St
Buffalo, NY 14211

(716) 896-2345

(@ Barthel)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Patrick C. on 8/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The assitant manager terrance was most upbeat and friendly. He answered all my questions with a great attitude. We will be renting storage at his facility in the near future.

Thomas C. on 8/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The person I dealt with for drop off was very professional and friendly. I would recommend this location for drop off.

paul d. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Guy that waited on me was very friendly and professional. 1st trailer I almost took had a completely bald tire. I noticed it and he was very apologetic for the office not noticing it and switched trailers. The price charged was $7 or $8 more than my confirmation but since my original location never had my trailer and the location it got transferred to gave my trailer away the day before, I wasn't going to haggle. Especially not after having to drive to the other side of the city to pick it up. Mostly a bad experience. Trailer I finally got was fine.

Stefan T. on 8/18/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Had 100 miles extra on car then on paper, employee said he will put a note in but never did

miro s. on 8/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Get your computer programs working better, OR more training for your staff!!

Robert G. on 8/14/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

it's OK the way it is

MEGAN P on 8/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even bough there was trouble locating the truck I had reserved for my move, the staff member did everything he could to make sure I was able to find a one-way vehicle.

Hilary A. on 8/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not only was the staff professional and courteous with me, but I witnessed amazing kindness patience and compassion with others(yes plural) I will return to this location and highly reccomend it!

carolyn j. on 8/10/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The issue that I hadi was that the today I went to pick up the truck reserved the computers were down and I was not able to get the truck on that day which through off my plans. You would have thought they would have offered some type of discount for my inconvenience but nothing was mentioned and that I could not like.

Debra W. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very courteous and knowledgeable and helpful - knew how to do their jobs and explained the hook up etc thoroughly

jesse o. on 8/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Improve customer service in store had to connect own trailer and disconnect

michelle m. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hazel Watson was awesome. Frankly we got jerked aroubd to a lot of different locations before we finally ended up getting our truck from Genesee Street. I wasn't happy because my reservation kept getting the time changed and location changed it was very inconvenient. But when it got changed to Genesee Street Hazel Watson was helpful and very nice and somehow made our experience pleasant! If it wasn't for Hazel Watson I would give uhaul a poor rating.

marquita h. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

When very fast. In and out..great experience... thank you..

ALVIN R. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employees were helpful and generally nice but have zero sense of urgency. The line was long and the staff was working as if there was only one person waiting.

Victor L. on 7/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer service poor employee need to be more nice with the people.

Tony H. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing At This Time May Have The Truck With A Full Tank Of Gas Instead Of 3/8

ANNETTE P. on 7/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service man was quick,polite and professional. We need more like him in other businesses.

ann j. on 7/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was outstanding

Larry J. on 7/9/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Trailer was old and rusty and should have be taken out of service. Engaging the lock was very difficult due to rust and bad alignment. Never had this issue before with any U-haul rentals. Would have returned the trailer if time had permitted.

amanda s. on 7/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Terrible I was charged double on my credit card for a uhaul and only got reimbursed $30 out of $110.00 that was tooken out of my card I will never use them again

Tamela G. on 7/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

n/a

Enrico P. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am a repeat customer. I found everyone I dealt with to be very accommodating.

William G. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The pads and dolly I requested we're not in the trailer as expected. It made for a difficult move to say the least.

LINDA W on 7/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Thank the facility For my safe keeping bug free environment

Melissa C. on 7/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staffing was short. It took twenty minutes for the rental to be inspected on our return then another fifteen minutes to complete the return.

Jolene R. on 6/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Experience would definitely recommend!

james g. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly, efficient service. Plentiful inventory.

Adele C. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent and manager was super customer friendly and competent at his job

DINESH A on 6/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very helpfull

VALERIE B. on 6/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I got a excellent deal the staff was very nice i would go there again

WILLIAM S. on 6/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We were dissatisfied with the service. We were given the given the wrong key it didn't match the paperwork.We charged for more gas then what was actually in the truck when we picked it up.

MARLA Y. on 6/14/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

They were great.

Jon H. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff and manager were excellent. This is a very busy location and they still took care of everyone with top notch service. I'll be back again soon.

christopher w. on 6/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Staff was great - very busy but they kept their sense of humor and paid attention to each customer. Great Manager and great cashier!!!!

BRENDONIA D on 6/1/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No because I was giving me information about the storage and if I moved out before that I would be reimburse

kelly m. on 5/31/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Inspect trailer before letting me drive 400 miles with bald tires and a 6 hour delay to replace them when 1 blew.

Gerald B. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was given the worst run around. Starting with the Niagara Falls Blvd. Location. Then the Sheridan Drive location. I was given very bad information from both.

Tonya E. on 5/27/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Inform you staff at this location that it is very important when they see with their own eyes a storage unit that is unsecured they need to secure that unit or building right away not wait. Also please train your staff how to properly check people in and out using the card key.

Lyle P. on 5/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and couteous. This location has the best selection of trailers in western NY. If you need a trailer, this is first place to check.

david o. on 5/21/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Ordered trailer 9 miles away and told me to pick it up at 10 AM. 20 minutes after the location closed i recieved a text to pick it up 9 miles away.bait and switch social media is my next step.around the 1st of the month.shame on uhaul.poor buss. Practices.hello twitter

monica m. on 5/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Appliance dolly was broken but received a discount when returned

Rochelly F. on 5/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Love the customer service

Jamie H. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I called customer service before hand and asked very specific questions about what methods of payment were accepted or not. I was told all debit, even straight cash could be used. I was informed that no credit card was necessary & there were no hold fees. Offff course once we got there everything was different. They didn't except my debit. They needed a credit card. And they also needed $100 to hold. I don't know if policy changed because it was a location in the ghetto that we rented from...or if the 2 customer service reps I spoke with were both horribly lacking basic knowledge of their jobs. But it sucked. And it caused a huge delay.

PAUL M on 5/16/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Made reservation 1 month Pryor. When I arrived at facilitie could find my reservation and tryed to charge me more the double price quoted took an hour to resolve problem

MARCIA H on 5/16/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

People are respectful very clean storage room very tight security , but they need to have light in the storage room . Beside that I would recommend

AMANDA W. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They didnt have the size truck needed so i hsd to make more trips then usual so that cost me more money

Mareo S. on 5/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy who helped me was very nice, polite and professional. He really made my move less stressful. Great job

KIMBELY b. on 5/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This company over charged my card and when I brought it to their attention they told me to call my bank. I see why they say they prefer card payments because they don't like tI refund money. I will never use this company again.

Len N. on 5/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service and support.

PATRICK M. on 5/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful staff, great knew pick up, really made several tasks much easier. Thank all. Patrick Maloney

kaitlyn g. on 5/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Make sure transmission in vehicle is good before letting people drive it across the country. Expedite road side assistance so people aren't left sitting on the side of the road for 3 hours. Also, have a person answer the phone instead of going thru a 5 minute recording every time.

Denise S. on 5/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This location was one of the first locations that provided great service and answered all our questions. They explained the storage unit in depth and the fact that we qualified for a free month since we did a one way rate which was a lifesaver to us.

michael m. on 5/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

When res make pepole aware of chares store charring more

Nelida M. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick service, friendly, and got the job done.

nancy e. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a large U-Haul location in the city of Buffalo. I was able to find what I wanted with less than a week in advance. All other locations, even though they were closer to my home, were sold out for the size that I wanted. The process was fast and efficient.

wendy s. on 4/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service/ no improvements to suggest

BRENDAN L on 4/30/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff member who helped me seemed incompetent, even after I gave her my license she still spelt all of my information wrong, she couldn`t even find my storage locker

MISTY K on 12/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place.. New staff

TINA S on 10/14/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Poor service lock still on from previous customers so I`m in the parking lot with my stuff had to go through several people The Manger was great once she were contacted

VALERIE B on 9/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have used this facility before and it is always high level of courtesy and professionalism.

KATHERINE B on 8/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great.

DEBBIE B on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have nothing but good things to say about the place staff was great I would recommend over Uncle Bob`s

PATRICIA D on 7/31/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service that i recieved was very good.

TERA R on 7/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just had a c-section and Justin along with the manager were absolutely helpful. Excellent customer service

SANIKA L on 7/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I did not appreciate homeless people living where my storage was I didn`t feel safe I would not recommend this facility to anyone the storage place had a bad smell to get at time.

MICHELLE N on 7/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Management team at this location since was professional. You might want to consider having more than 2 sets of moveable stairs. if the 2 are in use you will be unable to access an upper unit.

BARRIE C on 7/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I spoke with Chris at the U-Haul location several times. He was helpful, responsive and professional.

Tejeshwara C on 6/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had reserved two boxes in Buffalo but only received one. My box arrived two days later than date committed in California. Will not recommend to anyone.

DALILA K on 6/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The prices, availability, and access were not the same when i went into the office. I was frustrated and extremely disappointed. I now have to searchc for another storage facility.

R TODD B on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great service!

ROXANNE C on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I just want to say Justin is a great representative for your company,he is very knowledgeable and helpful. He explained terms etc very simply and clearly.

PATRICIA B on 2/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Justin wasknowledgeable and friendly. Great experience!!

MATTHEW S on 5/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very polite helpful staff.

TAMISHA J on 1/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged $48 for gas when I returned the truck back with the same amount of gas as when I rented it! some of my furniture was water damaged after being in one of your storage units.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At check-in I had to purchase a new lock because only 1 type was allowed. This was not indicated anywhere when making the reservation - classic bait and switch. I cannot recommend this location.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

b

TRACEY F on 10/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good experience no complaints

MICHELLE N on 9/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints. If rates were cheaper I would have kept unit but $80 a month for such a small space no longer made sense.

HELAINE M on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

MATTHEW S on 8/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant staff.

NICOLE G on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities and staff were clean and nice!

ERIC M on 6/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is awesome!

NINA C on 5/7/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had storage unit sizes and prices which were applicable to the needs of dorm students

STEVEN W on 3/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

KLEE T on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Rob and staff did an excellent job. We would be a repeat customer in a heartbeat! Thanks, Rob, for the great service.

MICHELLE N on 12/6/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional- they even helped me carry boxes to my car without me even asking!

ROBERT W on 10/16/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I WILL ALWAYS PICK U-HAUL

MARISSA S on 8/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There is a rat problem at this location. There are now chew marks on an antique table of mine and there was rat excrement inside of my storage unit.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

GWENDOLYN C on 8/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment at this time.

GEORGE T on 5/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful.

DOUGLAS K on 4/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

friendly people easy 2 talk 2

JAMIE R on 4/27/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had my belongings in storage for 5+ months.. The workers were very friendly, and I would definetly recomend this location to anyone either moving or needs storage

CHRISTINE T on 3/16/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was ok need to update your system keep getting letters and I been moved out

CHRISTOPHER B on 2/27/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had no problems or concerns

AMANDA F on 11/21/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff could be more friedly...

CRYSTAL P on 11/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Found mouse droppings and shredded paper in packed stored items. Too expensive

VICTORIA C on 9/12/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it more bright

WILLMERT P on 8/23/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was delayed for a long time due to typos made on my contracts by agent Mike Polak. He wrote my phone number and e-mail incorrectly.

JIMMIE S on 8/7/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

SHEREDA M on 6/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very please with my service ** the young man that helped me was very helpful and kind to my needs.

BARBARA M on 5/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Efficient and friendly service.

VICTORIA C on 5/8/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smooth

AONTWONNETTA B on 1/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The storage center was great

TASHA C on 1/15/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

storage is way to small not worth the price i am paying i couldnt get a full load of a 17 foot truck into the unit and its just boxes

SARAH N on 11/23/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Worked well for me

MARK R on 10/5/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees at the Genesee location were always very nice and helpful. I had the unit for many years and never had a bad experiance.

ALISA W on 7/10/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The times that I was able to access my unit has no reflect on the staff at that location. This was also based on the fact that I had a smaller unit.

LISA C on 6/30/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I purchased the truck for a Sunday 10am -10pm however I was never informed ahead of time that the facility closed at 5.

BARNABE S on 6/24/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I AM HERE TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I SIGN UP FOR AUTOPAYMENT DIRECT FROM MY ACCOUNT SO DO NOT WANT YO GUYS TO CHARGE ME FOR ANY LATE FEE ,I DID THIS SINCE DAY ONE SO THANKS FOR YOUR UNDESTANDING

LATASHA G on 6/21/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would Never spend money with this company again. the service SUCKS

DANICA R on 5/18/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no complaints and it was a pleasant experience.

ALISA W on 3/29/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even though Jason W. was a younger person in a busy store he was very knowledgeable. He got busy but never ignored me and even offered me the promotion deal with my storage unit.

RENITA M on 3/28/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Needed the space for 6 days but still had to pay by the month.UHAUL SHOULD TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION PRORATING FEES.I DID FIND OUT THAT OTHER PLACES HAVE MORE SPACE AND ARE LESS IN PRICE.

KATHLEEN R on 3/18/2010
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff were rude, there were rat feces in all of my boxes. Some of my boxes looked like they made a home in them. The place is DISGUSTING!!! Maybe use U-Haul again but never this location.

PETER V on 2/27/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The storage hallways were very narrow. I was not able to fit my sofa in the unit due to it being so narrow.

RICHARD, G. S on 10/5/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All went well and the staff was helpful

LAURA H on 8/30/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wish my rent could have been pro-rated for the rest of the month, I think U-Haul should consider that option.

JEROME T on 7/17/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Found ALOT of mice crap on our items- not happy. Also a strong bad smell. Staff was always confused on what to do when i tried to pay for two units.

LESLIE M on 6/24/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Last agent at time of rental close out. The agent had her son was talking on her cellphone. When I asked for assistance the agent popped her lips and was very rude.

ASHLEY B on 6/17/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

=

LAURA H on 5/27/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff were INCREDIBLY helpful and open to all of my questions.

ATESHA J on 5/25/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

CHARMANE R on 5/16/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

there were rat droppings all in my belongings

BETHANY P on 5/12/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I moved in, the unit still had some things in it and had not been swept out. Other than that, I was happy with the facility.

TROY L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

You can take your rental area and your 200 character limit and shove them up your ass. If you want my opinion then don`t limit my frustrations to 200 characters.