U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Share |

Address

1400 Genesee St
Buffalo, NY 14211

(716) 896-2345

(@ Barthel)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Genesee

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

William H B. on 1/13/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing, they did all they needed to do to make this an easy move.

BILAL M. on 1/10/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Professional awesome.

Maryann B. on 1/10/2017
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

we ordered the trailer at Orchard Park location, we live in Boston NY which is about 15 min from that location. we had to go to Genesee St to pick up trailer...real inconvenience. They said there were no trailers at Orchard Park the day of pick up-I understand that, so I feel u haul should have made sure there was a trailer at Orchard Park for me-the Genesee St location is 30 miles away!

CHARLOTTE B. on 1/5/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

everything went well

Roxanne A. on 1/2/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It would be nice for a UHaul employee to pick up the customer with the truck and to pick up the truck when contract is done ... one less arrangement the customer has to make to have someone have to do this...

Vanessa B. on 12/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just by luck we got the same moving crew I used when I moved from Virginia to Buffalo. They remembered me and once again were very professional. Yes I would recommend them again and again. Vanessa

Ali A. on 12/29/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The 'big' guy was so big he could not bend to attach the dolly chain to my car axle, we had to do it outselves.

otis s. on 12/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am very happy with the service at 1440 genesee st however at the corner store in buffalo was another story as not only did they have me waiting over a hour but they didn't have my truck. I had to call an agent as no email was sent to me for the reason of this. I then had to travel to another location causing me to be late with the movers costing me more money as I was paying them hourly.

DOUGLAS K. on 12/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Had plenty of room to move around in. Very nice place.

JANETTE R on 12/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff, However the no lights in units is very inconvenient.

BENITA H. on 12/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck was very noisy n kept stalling but it got the job done thank God the streets were dry. The staff was very professional however in returning the truck an employee checking trucks as they come in to make sure they were clean ran up behind me started me and I hit y my knee on the hookup on the back of the truck was in extreme pain immediately all the was from my leg chin up to my buttocks my sciatic nerve bothered me for 2 days I limped. I keep my feet up for two days with ice on injury. It appears o k but I had to report it never know whay damage it may have caused some injuries don't really show up until days later. Can you ease send me an incident report form as I woulx like to fill it pit. I askef gor one 1 and was told go on line and get it

Debra P. on 12/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The time of a whole being placed on the credit card used to pay for the account which was settled by a debit charge of returning the money within 3 to 5 days I feel is totally absurd that money should be released immediately it shouldn't take that long for that money to be released at this point it will probably cause me at least two possibly three overdrafts to the tune of $6200 that is a major disappointment with U-Haul yeah it says it in FinePrint about the whole thing tell you how long before the money will be released so I am quite disappointed with this area of my rental and payment if I was advised the length of time that the hold would take for the money to be returned to me I would've made $100 cash deposit without any problem and then the balance of payment would've been taken from the cash that I would've received my change accordingly furthermore the real representative that I spoke with Vodafone through the 800-number was quite snippy and rude and he also hung up his phone on me since all calls are recorded then that phone call should be checked the phone call was made approximately eight 13 p.m. December 9, 2016 by me Alexander Peterson phone number 716-602-6317 I've been very satisfied with renting with you all though this whole situation on my bank card was extremely disappointing and concerting 3 to 5 days a returning money that is mine is ridiculous thank you for your concern may God be with you and the company of U-Haul employees .

BRYENE S. on 12/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented a trailer 2x in a week the first time I could only rent the trailer for 4 hours because they double booked the trailer because of this I was unable to finish the job I paid 60 dollars and was unable to finish the job because of the reduced time. I came back again to rent a trailer Thursday and requested some type of discount because of this and the general manager said that u-haul doesn't issue any type of discounts. I have already informed friends;business partners and other businesses who we are associated with who also use this company for the same reason I do of the ordeal that I faced and we will not use U-Haul again because of this. As a general manager you should know that the customer is always right and do anything you can to satisfy that customer. I didn't want a free rental I just wanted some type of discount but as I stated previously I will not to use U-Haul until this situation is resolved. Thank you for your time. R+GAuto

Jackie M. on 12/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff members were very kind in helping me. I was unsure how the process worked. They were patient to explain everything in detail. The move went smoothly.

DARNELL C. on 11/27/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had the worse customer service experience I ever had dealing with Uhaul ever, at the Genesee st location. The service representative sat at the counter with her cell phone on speaker and was having a very inappropriate conversation, while I was standing there waiting for the other rep to come back in with the mileage. I also tried to explain to her about the gas tank needle was reading incorrectly and I put $10 in the tank, so I would not be charged $4.00 a gallon. I forgot to check the mileage before leaving but realized once I returned it had to be different than what was on the contract. I kept the for a little over an hour and only drove 5 miles or less but was charged for 17 miles...Being a former assistant manager for Uhaul in Richmond VA in late 80s..I am so disturb with the unprofessionalism I don't know if I want to ever go back to Uhaul.

Crystal A. on 11/22/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The customer service provided was very much appreciated.

kenneth d. on 11/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

staff very friendly

RICHARD F. on 11/19/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

they should go over the truck with the customer.

Adam R. on 11/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy drop off. Staff was a pleasure to work with.

Gesua G. on 11/12/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The back tire was making a lot of noise on the driver side

marquitum m. on 11/10/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I didn't use the uhaul do to other issues. I brought it back approximately 15 - 20 min later and explaind that I was scammed by someone that I was supposed to by furniture from and that I was unable to do so I asked if I could be credited seeing that I am moving next week I was told no because I took the uhaul of the lot.

Emma R. on 11/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Returned truck before it was due and they did not put it in the system correctly and was charged an extra $175. Had to go to the location get it corrected, called their customer service had to ask for manager for them to contact another dept to get authorization code to call my bank with. Lady at the front desk was not professional, on a personal call eating a bologna sandwich.

MICHAEL J. on 11/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Easy, friendly process.

jason w. on 11/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My experience was great!!!!! I have no complaints

Ludmila P. on 11/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Management was extremely helpful when I had inspected the U-Haul container and realized that it may not be large enough to fit my personal belongings. Immediately called another store to see if they would be able to bring over another container - which they did within 30 min. Able to load both containers with all of my belongs. This is my second time to come to this store for assistance with long distance moving. Absolutely recommend! Thank-you, Genesee store staff. Great job!!

Tonya F. on 11/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the great work. Everyone was great from start to finish!

darryl m. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Professionals and entertaining at the same time

john r. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went very smoothly! Will do business with you, again, and recommend you to others!

kaleigh s. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a truck and ended up having to use a Cargo van because the location over booked. Absolutely awful customer service experience. Had to make several extra trips to get my stuff over and had to put several extra miles that i was charged for all of the extra miles i should not have had to put on if i had the correct size truck!

John W. on 10/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff. Very helpful.

Brenda B. on 10/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff helpful,polite !

JOE W. on 10/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The entire staff was cheerful, helpful and very pleasant to work with. They are obviously proud to work there!

rose s. on 10/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always a pleasure working with the very courteous ppl at this location.

Brian T. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great... Thank you

rose s. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My experience was excellent, keep up the good work guys

MICHAEL Z. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep doing what you are doing

Dwayne r. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged for equipment I returned and then told equipment was definitely not there only to get a follow up call to tell me that I did return the equipment still waiting to get my money back

Jeremy H. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I am in the middle of fighting with uhaul I was charged the day I made the reservation for the truck. Then when I returned the truck I was then charge for the truck again. I am very angry and will never use your services.

Derrick R. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff and great store.

Thomas W. on 9/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck was clean, but ramp was full of glass. Ramp should be included in cleaning inspection.maybe it is,just over looked.

frank s. on 9/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Loved Tee very helpful!!

K`VON J on 8/31/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

this Uhaul failed to end my lease and did not tell me. you guys would`ve potentially charged me for more months i needed the locker than i needed

MEGAN P on 8/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even bough there was trouble locating the truck I had reserved for my move, the staff member did everything he could to make sure I was able to find a one-way vehicle.

LINDA W on 7/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Thank the facility For my safe keeping bug free environment

DINESH A on 6/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very helpfull

BRENDONIA D on 6/1/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No because I was giving me information about the storage and if I moved out before that I would be reimburse

PAUL M on 5/16/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Made reservation 1 month Pryor. When I arrived at facilitie could find my reservation and tryed to charge me more the double price quoted took an hour to resolve problem

MARCIA H on 5/16/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

People are respectful very clean storage room very tight security , but they need to have light in the storage room . Beside that I would recommend

BRENDAN L on 4/30/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff member who helped me seemed incompetent, even after I gave her my license she still spelt all of my information wrong, she couldn`t even find my storage locker

MISTY K on 12/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place.. New staff

TINA S on 10/14/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Poor service lock still on from previous customers so I`m in the parking lot with my stuff had to go through several people The Manger was great once she were contacted

VALERIE B on 9/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Have used this facility before and it is always high level of courtesy and professionalism.

KATHERINE B on 8/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great.

DEBBIE B on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have nothing but good things to say about the place staff was great I would recommend over Uncle Bob`s

PATRICIA D on 7/31/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service that i recieved was very good.

TERA R on 7/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just had a c-section and Justin along with the manager were absolutely helpful. Excellent customer service

SANIKA L on 7/15/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I did not appreciate homeless people living where my storage was I didn`t feel safe I would not recommend this facility to anyone the storage place had a bad smell to get at time.

MICHELLE N on 7/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Management team at this location since was professional. You might want to consider having more than 2 sets of moveable stairs. if the 2 are in use you will be unable to access an upper unit.

BARRIE C on 7/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I spoke with Chris at the U-Haul location several times. He was helpful, responsive and professional.

Tejeshwara C on 6/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had reserved two boxes in Buffalo but only received one. My box arrived two days later than date committed in California. Will not recommend to anyone.

DALILA K on 6/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The prices, availability, and access were not the same when i went into the office. I was frustrated and extremely disappointed. I now have to searchc for another storage facility.

R TODD B on 6/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great service!

ROXANNE C on 3/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I just want to say Justin is a great representative for your company,he is very knowledgeable and helpful. He explained terms etc very simply and clearly.

PATRICIA B on 2/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Justin wasknowledgeable and friendly. Great experience!!

MATTHEW S on 5/17/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very polite helpful staff.

TAMISHA J on 1/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged $48 for gas when I returned the truck back with the same amount of gas as when I rented it! some of my furniture was water damaged after being in one of your storage units.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

At check-in I had to purchase a new lock because only 1 type was allowed. This was not indicated anywhere when making the reservation - classic bait and switch. I cannot recommend this location.

DEREK S on 1/1/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

b

TRACEY F on 10/14/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good experience no complaints

MICHELLE N on 9/4/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints. If rates were cheaper I would have kept unit but $80 a month for such a small space no longer made sense.

HELAINE M on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

MATTHEW S on 8/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant staff.

NICOLE G on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Facilities and staff were clean and nice!

ERIC M on 6/15/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is awesome!

NINA C on 5/7/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had storage unit sizes and prices which were applicable to the needs of dorm students

STEVEN W on 3/24/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

KLEE T on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Rob and staff did an excellent job. We would be a repeat customer in a heartbeat! Thanks, Rob, for the great service.

MICHELLE N on 12/6/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and professional- they even helped me carry boxes to my car without me even asking!

ROBERT W on 10/16/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I WILL ALWAYS PICK U-HAUL

MARISSA S on 8/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There is a rat problem at this location. There are now chew marks on an antique table of mine and there was rat excrement inside of my storage unit.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

ANISSA B on 8/23/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fence between my storage unit and the one next to it was detached from the ceiling.

GWENDOLYN C on 8/15/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment at this time.

GEORGE T on 5/14/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly, professional, and helpful.

DOUGLAS K on 4/29/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

friendly people easy 2 talk 2

JAMIE R on 4/27/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had my belongings in storage for 5+ months.. The workers were very friendly, and I would definetly recomend this location to anyone either moving or needs storage

CHRISTINE T on 3/16/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was ok need to update your system keep getting letters and I been moved out

CHRISTOPHER B on 2/27/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had no problems or concerns

AMANDA F on 11/21/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff could be more friedly...

CRYSTAL P on 11/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Found mouse droppings and shredded paper in packed stored items. Too expensive

VICTORIA C on 9/12/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make it more bright

WILLMERT P on 8/23/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was delayed for a long time due to typos made on my contracts by agent Mike Polak. He wrote my phone number and e-mail incorrectly.

JIMMIE S on 8/7/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.

SHEREDA M on 6/9/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very please with my service ** the young man that helped me was very helpful and kind to my needs.

BARBARA M on 5/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Efficient and friendly service.

VICTORIA C on 5/8/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smooth

AONTWONNETTA B on 1/28/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The storage center was great

TASHA C on 1/15/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

storage is way to small not worth the price i am paying i couldnt get a full load of a 17 foot truck into the unit and its just boxes

BARNABE S on 6/24/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I AM HERE TO LET YOU KNOW THAT I SIGN UP FOR AUTOPAYMENT DIRECT FROM MY ACCOUNT SO DO NOT WANT YO GUYS TO CHARGE ME FOR ANY LATE FEE ,I DID THIS SINCE DAY ONE SO THANKS FOR YOUR UNDESTANDING

RICHARD, G. S on 10/5/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All went well and the staff was helpful