U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Share |

Address

19001 Joy Rd
Detroit, MI 48228

(313) 584-9033

(W Of Southfield Fwy)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

BRADLEY A. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly helpful people

GREGORY T. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The individuals at this location were professional and very helpful

AHMAD R. on 9/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very friendly and fast service

KIESHA/ ALVIS R. on 9/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Don't lie about MILEAGE. I know for a fact I didn't travel 100 miles in 15 min. Don't cheat customers about money

Keneatra S. on 9/5/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The equipment that I requested (utility dolly) was not in the truck when I picked it up. If they could check the truck and make sure that it is there when a reservation is placed and picked up, it would have been an excellent experience.

CHASTITY A on 9/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My things have been there for four years. And i had not one problem. Thank you.

Leslie m. on 9/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

On the busiest moving weekend of the year I would have an additional customer service staff for a quicker process.

JAMES B. on 9/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Emaculant customer service, quick, efficient and professional. Will return & recommend for future business.

LaTasha c. on 8/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager on duty at the time had a very bad attitude. I would prefer not to deal with him again. I've been coming to this location for many years. I've never felt this way the people working there. Maybe there's been a change in ownership. Not hood not good!!!!!

Tia T. on 8/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I believe the representative's name was James. However, my U-Haul experience allowed me the opportunity to breathe. When you meet a smile, with helpful suggestions to allow for an easier day, the U-Haul connection became spectacular (from pick-up to delivery). Thank you. Tia

korey M. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service

sterling l. on 8/27/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When you request to have equipment and you're told that it's there it should be available for yourent use when you get there.

SANDRA M. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The personnel was most helpful, courteous and informative. Very personable. I was in and out in without a hassle. It was breeze getting the truck I requested on the phone days prior. Thanks for a job well done.

Patricia B. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

First the lady on the phone recommended a truck that was way to big for my needs although I told her what was going into the truck, which cost more money upon arrival. Second when returning the truck, Uhaul worker by the name of James Broughton, basically accused me of taking a dollie out of the truck when the truck was NEVER equipped with one. He argued several times with me when I told him we did not receive, purchase to use or nor was the dollie in the truck at the time of pick. Rude associates. all the way around not a good place.

Merriam W. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would try to train the staff to be more considerate and not act as if a woman is stupid. One of the men working when I dropped the vehicle off was quite ignorant. I did not appreciate his attitude; especially when I was spending my money; rude! The truck I had was very smelly; nasty inside and the windshield was cracked. If I have to use this service again, I will go somewhere else. No matter how far it is.

Lavon C. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customet service was excellent, they took the time to explain the Rental Details, and the Rental return was quick and a breeze, Excellent Service,

JAMES B. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Superb prefer this location over the rest. Customer Service excellence.

Eddie L. on 8/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck smelled REALLY BAD of cigarettes. The Windows on the inside were so full of smoke and dirt. I had to clean the entire inside of the truck before I could make my trip. This made me late on my departure by an two hours. This location was forced on me because the truck in South Lyon had an issue when j was picking it up. This also added an hour to my departure making me three hours late.

LARRY S. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Super good staff!!! Uhaul should give them a raise!

karema h. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

James has a bad attitude very disrespectful and when he told me he was the manager I was appalled. I would never refer a pig to go rent anything from that place. Devaugh and Micheal calmedemail down they were the only ones that appreciated my service. I watched people cuss James out while I was waiting to get my reservation and he was very rude and disrespectful and told us the customers if we didn't like it there were plenty other u haul places to rent from. Never ever would I ever rent from that dump again.

JOSEPH T. on 8/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were friendly and professional, keep up the good work!

Russ F. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Guys working that day were VERY friendly and were awesome! In and out!

REV ROBERT/UNIT U. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep doing what you're doing

Raymond w. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service was great.

frantera k. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Well for starters retrain your associates on customer service. They are very rude with. Its never enough of them there which just makes the customer service even more sucky.

elwanda w. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented a van on Joy/Southfield Rd. I returned the van one day early, a VERY RUDE and DISTRSPECTFUL make by he name James Broughton was HORRIBLE! I told him I was returning the van early he stated to me "what do u want me to do with those keys"? When I got into the office to pay he stated it was already paid for because he took it upon his self to pay the balance from my credit card and I asked him who gave him permission to do such and he stated he assumed since I paid by card to pick it up I was gonna pay by the same card. I told him he has some damn nerves to assume I was using the same card. I asked for the manager he stated he was the manager. I told his disrespectful self " someone had to hire him and he does have a boss". He told me "Cuz don't make me come outta this suit on ya ass".. Meaning come out of his uniform to fight with me ( A woman). Where is the RESPECT FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE??Another young woman was in there trying to reach the manager in him as well before I got there stating he was nasty, rude and disrespectful to her as well. I called the manager Anthony Bundy who stated not to fall the president on James disrespectful behind that he will take care of it and call me Monday morning. I called the President David Ruff and left a voicemail and no one called me back yet. Tomorrow I will follow up with both the Manager and President but I WILL DEFINITELY CALL THE BBBon this particular location. He does NOT belong in customer service disrespecting customers/women as he does. I have rented from Uhaul several times lately but Will NEVER return there if something with James Broughton is not handled. I would appreciate a call back from someone reading this matter. He need to be off for awhile with NO PAY to appreciate a JOB.

Krisha C. on 7/31/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The young man who serviced me was very knowledgeable and helpful.

Francine H. on 7/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Kudos, Great customer service from staff!!

WESAM A. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good customer service very professional I all ways use this location for me and family or friends .

Elizabeth B. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The customer service at this location was better than St. Clair Shores.

Pete M. on 7/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great, friendly, high quality service with good equipment

Keisha B. on 7/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Less attitude

YACRISHA W. on 7/20/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer representative not knowledgeable about polices and procedures of uhaul was also rude and impatient when i asked him to go over bill and explain charges

Cassandra C. on 7/7/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff rude and unprofessional

PENELOPE C. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfy you don't have to do nothing. The employee was very professional and understood my needs I was very happy with service . Thank you, James

Cymone P. on 7/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was over charged for my mileage , their system was down so instead of telling me to come back another time they just wrote things down on paper which I believe is why I was over charged plus nobody seemed like they even wanted to be there working. I will never use this location again.

LATASHA C. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Explain everything clearly

DARIUS H. on 6/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing,everything was great

Lavon K. on 6/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Speedy and accurate service. Great customer service

KENNETH T on 6/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was great and the property is clean and secure.

KIM P. on 6/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Replace tires if the tread is near the tread bars. I had a double blow out. This could have be very dangerous.

aaron d. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not the greatest part of town.

Shreepal C. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The representative was very friendly. I had a very smooth transition. Highly recommended!!

SAADALLAH M. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent and I am going to refer more customers to that location and I appreciate everything you did to help me out real good over there

WANDA C on 3/21/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Staffperson who set up my initial contract was extremely rude. Subsequent staff were more customer friendly.

ASHLEY M on 3/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

JANICE D on 3/15/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Some of the staff was ok NOT ALL

SHARON K on 2/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer Service Rep. Anthony, he was very unprofessional. Had to return for entry card and to have my information redone.

DONMANIKA T on 12/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a very clean facility. Easy to get around in. Very nice and friendly staff. And it`s a great location.

REYNA C on 11/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ForThis particular store to be such a busy location, the employees maintain a professional and friendly establishment.

ERRON R on 10/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mike and Gary are the best. They were really friendly and helpful while dropping off my equipment and setting up my storage unit. Thumbs up to UHaul on Joy road, and two thumbs up for Gary and Mike!

SHANKEA W on 10/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was friendly and extremely helpful.

TERRY B on 9/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff knowledgeable and professional.

FRANK L on 7/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All about love good pepole

SHANEE L on 5/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was VERY helpful!

DOREEN S on 4/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All of your representatives were good. They were professional and understanding, more than helpful.

MARCIE H on 3/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Young Man Was Very helpful.

GERALD E on 3/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service.

LORI G on 3/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very good. No complaints.

MAHER T on 1/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and helped to get the most suitably sized unit.

SHERITA M on 1/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Speedy friendly service

ELZABETH M on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Well train staff especially the manager on duty.

PAULINE M on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just keep up the good work.

LORI G on 8/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was disappointed that the space I was quoted was too small and the next biggest one was too big and DOUBLE the price.

THOMAS S on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys there are good in what they do and love keep the customer very happy and well taking care of!!!!

SELINIA J on 7/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Someone cancelled my reservation, but the staff was very helpful. Also the late fee notice posted at the storage needs to be changed the cost does not reflect what will be charged for late fee.

LORETTA T on 7/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

GOOD SERVICE ALL THE TIME

DARIUS W on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was to my liking with no problems

CARL M on 6/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

F

WINNIA N on 4/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

none

DEWAYNE P on 3/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was very good and i was very impressed.

NKAGA G on 8/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love my experience both at California and here in Detroit. Keep on with the good job. Grace Nkanga

LULA W on 8/11/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It could have better parking.

DEREK S on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well maintained

ERIK G on 6/16/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Served it`s purpose

JOAN W on 3/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sometimes the workers seemed over worked. They multi tasked really good but they are human. Being out of breath from being over worked is not good a appearance for the company.

SHERITA B on 1/16/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff have awesome customer service

SHAVONNE W on 12/28/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

All the workers I had contact with, except for one, was very helpful and friedly. If needed, I will use this location for storage again.

DUJUAN A on 11/30/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice, friendly, and professional staff.

KAREN L on 11/5/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with the service keep up the good work

TROY G on 10/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My only complaint is that the units are a little expensive

SHAVONNE W on 8/23/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The men were very heplful and assisted with everything.

DENEAN B on 3/8/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent professional customer service provided by Nate. He definitely goes the extra mile to extend great service a good turn out for whatever problem that may occur. Excellent Team Player!!!

BRANDY H on 2/4/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks, guys! I was a great 4-5 months, and you took good care of me!

KATHERINE H on 12/10/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good. Nice staff. Helpful

SHAVONNE E on 11/7/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Everytime I rent a truck from your business, I always get the wrong information. Customer Service is terrible. The guys are always willing to accomadate and fix what customer service messed up.

BRANDY H on 10/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always friendly and very helpful. Thanks!

JANET B on 9/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your Staff at Joy Rd and Artesian was excellent and very helpful, kind and very professional everything will be alright for me and my family. Thumbs up to Nate.

TAIRA S on 5/15/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner Mr.Anthony amd staff were very helpful and caring.To make sure yur needs were meet.I would use his business again Ms. Stevenson

AMBER H on 11/26/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ALLWAYS GOOD

LASHAWN H on 6/27/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The only complaint I have was that there were a fer dead rodents and rodent droppings in both my storage units and around the facility.

GREGORY I on 6/25/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the experience.

WARREN P on 5/15/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Brenda and I are repeat customers.

MALINDA R on 3/2/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly and helpful to my needs.

CHRISTOPHER C on 8/15/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There were times when the customer service was very poor and my room was sold due to dishonest employees not turning in my pymts which I do have the receipt for!!! I will never recommend to anyone.

JESSICA J on 7/31/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

there should be unlimited acsess to the storage units. this would be more convient to those who work between the hours of operation.

FLOYD M on 7/22/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

its was ok.

SHERYL J on 6/15/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gentlemen were very friendly, helpful and fast.

KORY J on 6/9/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. Lewis was very professional and helpful. If I need U-Haul`s sevices again I definitely use go back to the Joy Road location.

KAMARIA G on 5/26/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employees are rude and always in a hurry.

LARRY C on 4/25/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

just fine no problems

ANGELA L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

needs better customer service , allow payment arrangements when customers can`t make payment in full by due date

YOLANDA S on 3/8/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was very friendly, and explained everything well.