U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Share |

Address

19001 Joy Rd
Detroit, MI 48228

(313) 584-9033

(W Of Southfield Fwy)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Elizabeth B. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The customer service at this location was better than St. Clair Shores.

Pete M. on 7/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great, friendly, high quality service with good equipment

Keisha B. on 7/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Less attitude

YACRISHA W. on 7/20/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer representative not knowledgeable about polices and procedures of uhaul was also rude and impatient when i asked him to go over bill and explain charges

Cassandra C. on 7/7/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff rude and unprofessional

PENELOPE C. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfy you don't have to do nothing. The employee was very professional and understood my needs I was very happy with service . Thank you, James

Cymone P. on 7/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was over charged for my mileage , their system was down so instead of telling me to come back another time they just wrote things down on paper which I believe is why I was over charged plus nobody seemed like they even wanted to be there working. I will never use this location again.

LATASHA C. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Explain everything clearly

DARIUS H. on 6/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing,everything was great

Lavon K. on 6/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Speedy and accurate service. Great customer service

KENNETH T on 6/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was great and the property is clean and secure.

KIM P. on 6/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Replace tires if the tread is near the tread bars. I had a double blow out. This could have be very dangerous.

aaron d. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not the greatest part of town.

Shreepal C. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The representative was very friendly. I had a very smooth transition. Highly recommended!!

SAADALLAH M. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent and I am going to refer more customers to that location and I appreciate everything you did to help me out real good over there

CRYSTAL R. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very professional kind and courteous staff. The service was excellent. I appreciated it. Refreshing. Thank you.

ANDREW P. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

not a thing

mohamad e. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anthony was great helping out

deangela J. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The attendant was rude during the check out procedure

MICHAEL H. on 5/20/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

They over charge you at this place don't go there

ingrid r. on 5/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck over all was clean the guys were busy and rushed the process a little (First time renter) and the fact that I had to purchase items not quoted to me over the phone prior to my picking up the vehicle was manipulative on the companies part. Reference # 86958838 / I'll try budget or peskey next time.

JANICE B. on 5/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This has to be the finest experience I have had renting a trailer. From the initial phone contact, to vehicle drop off staff was friendly and helpful. It was a real pleasure to do business with these folks.

harvey m. on 5/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anthony Bundy demonstrated Exemplary costumer service skills!!

Robert S. on 5/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Personnel were very eager to change this reservation so that I had more days, drop off at another site 6 miles away, and pay about the same. People were helpful with hookup and paperwork. When I returned it to the second location, staff asked why I would return the trailer 6 miles from renting location. He took the trailer but said he had no place to put it. All very strange.

Alexander L. on 5/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Did not receive the correct dolly that I paid for, but gave me the money back when I returned.

KIM W. on 5/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was good for me. Thank you Kim White

JERRY M. on 5/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I got nothing but misinformation and false promises through the 800 number. It would seem your employees are each stepping on the others toes. I couldn't get one single straight answer from anyone until I was able to talk to the employees in person. I finally found a store with a hitch, made arrangements for an install at noon on Saturday. Then someone Fromm 800 number confirmed appointment for 2 pm. At 1:50 in route for install, local store called and told me I was to late and the wouldn't be able to put the hitch on until Monday. Yet I had confirmation for install at 2 and trailer rental at 5. Then I met James at the Joy Rd store. He more than made up for all the bullshit I'd put up with in the three hours I'd spent on the phone trying to get a hitch and rent a trailer. James made apologies for U- hauls incompetence, look me in the eye, shook my hand and kept his promise. Within three hours on a Sunday afternoon, I was ready to hit the road finally. You need to hire more employees like James. When I thanked him for going above and beyond, he said he was "...just doing his job." You need to figure out where the communication breakdown is between corporate and local stores and fix it. Bottom line, I would never recommend doing business with U-haul unless it was at the store level, face to face, with an excellent employee like James. Skip the 800 number all together. Please make sure James knows he did a fantastic job. If not for meeting him, every time someone ever mentioned U-haul around me I'd curse and recommend they go somewhere else.

JAMES B. on 4/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Superb and excellent service as well as customer service. Professionalism at its finest.

judie b. on 4/27/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Since I’ve been a tenant, management has changed. My expectation is that the same courtesy customer service would remain. Not the case. The new management is rude, rude, rude. Customer service has fallen by the waste side. I am looking to move soon. Just trying to transfer to a larger unit was the worst experience ever. Each time I’ve encounter new management, absolutely rude. You should consider offering customer loyalty incentives. It seems company forget about you when you stick around, thus the reason people hate contracts. Customer/tenant since 2014

RICARDO S. on 4/18/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would never come to this location again very poor attitude towards customers

eric c. on 4/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

they do explain options and the have poor customer service.just like you ask people to bring it back on where you left is gas wise. ask if they want insurance and other options. everybody don't understand the same

jamie c. on 4/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

service at counter was a little slow waiting on someone to send over contracts which held up everything, other then that James was great. One thing is when renting trailers you should offer the trailer hitch option as a rental with the trailer versus someone having to purchase one and have no need for it after using the trailer, also the insurance price for the trailer is ridiculous and the pricing definitely need to be adjusted. Thank you

Kimberly D. on 4/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place and people to do business with!

JAMES B. on 4/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I enjoy shopping @ this location.

Larry M. on 4/8/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Do not give long distance trips the oldest truck in your fleet. Barely made it. Will never use your location again.

shahar L. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was great, quick, and professional. Thanks a lot

JAMES B. on 4/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent as always

WANDA C on 3/21/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Staffperson who set up my initial contract was extremely rude. Subsequent staff were more customer friendly.

ASHLEY M on 3/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

JANICE D on 3/15/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Some of the staff was ok NOT ALL

SHARON K on 2/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer Service Rep. Anthony, he was very unprofessional. Had to return for entry card and to have my information redone.

DONMANIKA T on 12/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a very clean facility. Easy to get around in. Very nice and friendly staff. And it`s a great location.

REYNA C on 11/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ForThis particular store to be such a busy location, the employees maintain a professional and friendly establishment.

ERRON R on 10/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mike and Gary are the best. They were really friendly and helpful while dropping off my equipment and setting up my storage unit. Thumbs up to UHaul on Joy road, and two thumbs up for Gary and Mike!

SHANKEA W on 10/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was friendly and extremely helpful.

TERRY B on 9/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff knowledgeable and professional.

FRANK L on 7/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All about love good pepole

SHANEE L on 5/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was VERY helpful!

DOREEN S on 4/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All of your representatives were good. They were professional and understanding, more than helpful.

MARCIE H on 3/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Young Man Was Very helpful.

GERALD E on 3/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service.

LORI G on 3/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very good. No complaints.

MAHER T on 1/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and helped to get the most suitably sized unit.

SHERITA M on 1/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Speedy friendly service

ELZABETH M on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Well train staff especially the manager on duty.

PAULINE M on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just keep up the good work.

LORI G on 8/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was disappointed that the space I was quoted was too small and the next biggest one was too big and DOUBLE the price.

THOMAS S on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys there are good in what they do and love keep the customer very happy and well taking care of!!!!

SELINIA J on 7/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Someone cancelled my reservation, but the staff was very helpful. Also the late fee notice posted at the storage needs to be changed the cost does not reflect what will be charged for late fee.

LORETTA T on 7/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

GOOD SERVICE ALL THE TIME

DARIUS W on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was to my liking with no problems

CARL M on 6/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

F

WINNIA N on 4/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

none

DEWAYNE P on 3/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was very good and i was very impressed.

NKAGA G on 8/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love my experience both at California and here in Detroit. Keep on with the good job. Grace Nkanga

LULA W on 8/11/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It could have better parking.

DEREK S on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well maintained

ERIK G on 6/16/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Served it`s purpose

JOAN W on 3/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sometimes the workers seemed over worked. They multi tasked really good but they are human. Being out of breath from being over worked is not good a appearance for the company.

SHERITA B on 1/16/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff have awesome customer service

SHAVONNE W on 12/28/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

All the workers I had contact with, except for one, was very helpful and friedly. If needed, I will use this location for storage again.

DUJUAN A on 11/30/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice, friendly, and professional staff.

KAREN L on 11/5/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with the service keep up the good work

TROY G on 10/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My only complaint is that the units are a little expensive

SHAVONNE W on 8/23/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The men were very heplful and assisted with everything.

DENEAN B on 3/8/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent professional customer service provided by Nate. He definitely goes the extra mile to extend great service a good turn out for whatever problem that may occur. Excellent Team Player!!!

BRANDY H on 2/4/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks, guys! I was a great 4-5 months, and you took good care of me!

KATHERINE H on 12/10/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good. Nice staff. Helpful

SHAVONNE E on 11/7/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Everytime I rent a truck from your business, I always get the wrong information. Customer Service is terrible. The guys are always willing to accomadate and fix what customer service messed up.

BRANDY H on 10/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always friendly and very helpful. Thanks!

JANET B on 9/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your Staff at Joy Rd and Artesian was excellent and very helpful, kind and very professional everything will be alright for me and my family. Thumbs up to Nate.

TAIRA S on 5/15/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner Mr.Anthony amd staff were very helpful and caring.To make sure yur needs were meet.I would use his business again Ms. Stevenson

AMBER H on 11/26/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ALLWAYS GOOD

LASHAWN H on 6/27/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The only complaint I have was that there were a fer dead rodents and rodent droppings in both my storage units and around the facility.

GREGORY I on 6/25/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the experience.

WARREN P on 5/15/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Brenda and I are repeat customers.

MALINDA R on 3/2/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly and helpful to my needs.

CHRISTOPHER C on 8/15/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There were times when the customer service was very poor and my room was sold due to dishonest employees not turning in my pymts which I do have the receipt for!!! I will never recommend to anyone.

JESSICA J on 7/31/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

there should be unlimited acsess to the storage units. this would be more convient to those who work between the hours of operation.

FLOYD M on 7/22/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

its was ok.

SHERYL J on 6/15/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gentlemen were very friendly, helpful and fast.

KORY J on 6/9/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. Lewis was very professional and helpful. If I need U-Haul`s sevices again I definitely use go back to the Joy Road location.

KAMARIA G on 5/26/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employees are rude and always in a hurry.

LARRY C on 4/25/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

just fine no problems

ANGELA L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

needs better customer service , allow payment arrangements when customers can`t make payment in full by due date

YOLANDA S on 3/8/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was very friendly, and explained everything well.