U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Share |

Address

19001 Joy Rd
Detroit, MI 48228

(313) 584-9033

(W Of Southfield Fwy)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage at Southfield Frwy & Joy Rd

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JAMES B. on 2/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Remarkable and Superb, customer service skill, professionalism and more importantly they listened and was able to stasify wants and needs. 1000% customer satisfaction. Great Job.

JOHNNY B. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very clean, professional and informational establishment. The customer service was excellent.

JAMES B. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very clean & professional. 100% satisfied.

Lakeya s. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing experience.

FADYA A. on 1/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I reserved a truck around 12, on January 24, 2016. I got confirmation that truck will be ready 4 pm. When I got there they told me they gave my truck to someone else I had to wait one hour and half before they were able to give me another truck. Yes, I was late but I did call they said it was ok and they'll change my reservation to 430 pm I arrived 425pm You don't understand how frustrating that was for me and family considering how we traveled 3 hours. It was a very disappointing experience very frustrating. I hope my survey will help you to better your customer service and help you be more organized. Thank you,

CHARNIKA B. on 1/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

N/A

ANGELA W. on 1/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really appreciate the customer service here.

BONNIE B. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The person that waited on me was very rude and disrespectful. Not only to me but also the group of ladies that was ahead of me. His team leader, manager or whomever was over him tried to get him to shut up sohe could handle the situation and he kept telling the ladies to go to another location. His super had no control over him at all, then he just started laughing as though he was high saying oh yeah, customers always right. He kept repeating himself and laughing. Then when I came back to pay for rental, he started the process to cashed me out while the other guy checked out my returned rental and as I took my cash out of my purse to pay, this guy tells me he charged it to my card and if I didn't want it on my card I should have stayed out side with my rental. When I told him that I was going to pay in cash upon my return with my rental he told me OK. Now he's checking me out in the guy name checking out my rental. Neither guy would give me the name of the rude guy that checked me out. I did file a complaint with your corporate office.

WILLIAM D. on 12/31/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service was great

JAMES B. on 12/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best service, equipment and professionalism I have encountered in years. Thank You uhaul once again. ??

HEATHER K. on 12/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The man working was very helpful

ANTOINE P. on 12/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They had a very excellent staff. I will be returning.

DANIEL E. on 12/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service never had better service than I did at the Joy Rd store. I will recommend to everyone I know.

Katrina L. on 12/20/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customers service sucks. He was a ass hole the whole time. Everyone was complaining. Never again as long as he is working there

eboni d. on 12/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was surprisingly expectional. Some places in the city have poor service. These guys were awesome. My hats off to you

ROZAN B. on 12/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

As always I was handled in a very professional manner the equipment was clean and the return was very simple I will use u-haul for all my future moving expeditionservices Happy Holidays

KEVIN W. on 12/14/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had a horrible experience while at this location the agent who helped me was smoking a cigarette while bringing my truck to me the mileage an gas listed on the contract was NOT correct then my truck broke down an I needed service. I had to wait overnight to bring the truck back when I returned the gentleman apologized for everything but still charged me for a truck I was not even able to use! I informed him of the actual odometer reading but on my final bill it still wasn't corrected. I certainly should have received a full refund!

DOMONIQUE M. on 12/13/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Remind your customer service staff that even when the customers are wrong you still give the correct information with courteousness and polite. I was handled by a very arrogant and obnoxious individual that made me not want to ever use a uhaul service again. Sincerely, Domonique

chet p. on 12/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Anthony and his coworkers provided excellent customer service. Sincerely Chet Pitts

Linsey E. on 12/7/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was over charged a lot for the rental. I was told by one person that he used the truck and he wrote down the mileage for the truck. The next day when I got there I was charged for using 20 miles when I didn't even use 10. All I got back was 40 dollars out of a hundred and they couldn't even tell me why. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

DEANTE G. on 12/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The managers multitasking with numerous customers was exceptional.

DONMANIKA T on 12/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a very clean facility. Easy to get around in. Very nice and friendly staff. And it`s a great location.

Crystal C. on 11/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Hire more cashiers

aneesha t. on 11/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Everything

lamaten j. on 11/26/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There was only one person working the register And the computer was running very very very slow ,even though I had reservations it took over an hour. I hope it's not this way all the time.

Forrest P. on 11/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The transport trailer was old, beat up and patched. It was covered with snow, so the condition was not readily apparent. My reservation did not have the address, only a cross street for the location. I had to stop several times to ask for information.

EBENZER I. on 11/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good

JAMES B. on 11/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was very professional, clean, maintained, and made my move very comfortable for my situation. Will do more business and recommend to friends and family. Thanks Uhaul :)

KEVIN W. on 11/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Anthony was a great help an provided me with excellent customer service. He was professional kind listened to my concerns an then handled it quickly without incident. I will absolutely visit his location in the future if I have any moving or storage needs. Great job again to the Joy road uhaul team!

KELLY L. on 11/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendlier Customer Service.

REYNA C on 11/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ForThis particular store to be such a busy location, the employees maintain a professional and friendly establishment.

aloui a. on 11/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Employee was professional.

Paul N. on 10/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff.

chet p. on 10/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was great

TEEKA J. on 10/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was great! And local I would definitely use them again.

TOMEKO D. on 10/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The uhaul truck need a jump every time you turned it off .

ERRON R on 10/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mike and Gary are the best. They were really friendly and helpful while dropping off my equipment and setting up my storage unit. Thumbs up to UHaul on Joy road, and two thumbs up for Gary and Mike!

JAMES B. on 10/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

NA

JAMES M. on 10/9/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was overcharged mileage because the odometer was off and they didn't properly record it. I was charged for 119 miles, which is quite a bit since I only moved from Dearborn to Detroit, which is 34 miles according to Google Maps. That's $67 overcharged...

SHANKEA W on 10/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was friendly and extremely helpful.

TERRY B on 9/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff knowledgeable and professional.

FRANK L on 7/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All about love good pepole

SHANEE L on 5/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was VERY helpful!

DOREEN S on 4/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All of your representatives were good. They were professional and understanding, more than helpful.

MARCIE H on 3/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Young Man Was Very helpful.

GERALD E on 3/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service.

LORI G on 3/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very good. No complaints.

MAHER T on 1/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was courteous and helped to get the most suitably sized unit.

SHERITA M on 1/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Speedy friendly service

ELZABETH M on 12/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Well train staff especially the manager on duty.

PAULINE M on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just keep up the good work.

LORI G on 8/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was disappointed that the space I was quoted was too small and the next biggest one was too big and DOUBLE the price.

THOMAS S on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys there are good in what they do and love keep the customer very happy and well taking care of!!!!

SELINIA J on 7/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Someone cancelled my reservation, but the staff was very helpful. Also the late fee notice posted at the storage needs to be changed the cost does not reflect what will be charged for late fee.

LORETTA T on 7/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

GOOD SERVICE ALL THE TIME

DARIUS W on 7/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything was to my liking with no problems

CARL M on 6/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

F

WINNIA N on 4/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

none

DEWAYNE P on 3/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was very good and i was very impressed.

NKAGA G on 8/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love my experience both at California and here in Detroit. Keep on with the good job. Grace Nkanga

LULA W on 8/11/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It could have better parking.

DEREK S on 7/10/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very well maintained

ERIK G on 6/16/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Served it`s purpose

JOAN W on 3/21/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sometimes the workers seemed over worked. They multi tasked really good but they are human. Being out of breath from being over worked is not good a appearance for the company.

SHERITA B on 1/16/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff have awesome customer service

SHAVONNE W on 12/28/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

All the workers I had contact with, except for one, was very helpful and friedly. If needed, I will use this location for storage again.

DUJUAN A on 11/30/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice, friendly, and professional staff.

KAREN L on 11/5/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was very pleased with the service keep up the good work

TROY G on 10/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My only complaint is that the units are a little expensive

SHAVONNE W on 8/23/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The men were very heplful and assisted with everything.

DENEAN B on 3/8/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent professional customer service provided by Nate. He definitely goes the extra mile to extend great service a good turn out for whatever problem that may occur. Excellent Team Player!!!

BRANDY H on 2/4/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks, guys! I was a great 4-5 months, and you took good care of me!

KATHERINE H on 12/10/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Good. Nice staff. Helpful

SHAVONNE E on 11/7/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Everytime I rent a truck from your business, I always get the wrong information. Customer Service is terrible. The guys are always willing to accomadate and fix what customer service messed up.

BRANDY H on 10/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always friendly and very helpful. Thanks!

JANET B on 9/16/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your Staff at Joy Rd and Artesian was excellent and very helpful, kind and very professional everything will be alright for me and my family. Thumbs up to Nate.

TAIRA S on 5/15/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner Mr.Anthony amd staff were very helpful and caring.To make sure yur needs were meet.I would use his business again Ms. Stevenson

AMBER H on 11/26/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

ALLWAYS GOOD

LASHAWN H on 6/27/2010
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The only complaint I have was that there were a fer dead rodents and rodent droppings in both my storage units and around the facility.

GREGORY I on 6/25/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I enjoyed the experience.

WARREN P on 5/15/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Brenda and I are repeat customers.

MALINDA R on 3/2/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was friendly and helpful to my needs.

CHRISTOPHER C on 8/15/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There were times when the customer service was very poor and my room was sold due to dishonest employees not turning in my pymts which I do have the receipt for!!! I will never recommend to anyone.

JESSICA J on 7/31/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

there should be unlimited acsess to the storage units. this would be more convient to those who work between the hours of operation.

FLOYD M on 7/22/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

its was ok.

SHERYL J on 6/15/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gentlemen were very friendly, helpful and fast.

KORY J on 6/9/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. Lewis was very professional and helpful. If I need U-Haul`s sevices again I definitely use go back to the Joy Road location.

KAMARIA G on 5/26/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Employees are rude and always in a hurry.

LARRY C on 4/25/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

just fine no problems

ANGELA L on 4/2/2009
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

needs better customer service , allow payment arrangements when customers can`t make payment in full by due date

YOLANDA S on 3/8/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The salesperson was very friendly, and explained everything well.