U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Share |

Address

1525 Bryant St
San Francisco, CA 94103

(415) 252-0133

(Alameda & Bryant)
Driving directions

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JEFFREY s. on 12/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank-you!

Jeremy S on 12/4/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Commitment to free storage for 1 Month on phone was not maintained once I arrived with 26` Uhaul to unload. The staff was unfriendly, but his was a disappointing experience. Will pursue with Uhaul.

Steven W. on 12/3/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I would never rent a van from this location. You had only one person doing the check-in and what should have taken five minutes turned out to be a twenty minute delay. She was apologetic, but whoever is managing this location needs to have better staffing, especially during the morning pick-up period. Also, there were no carts available for transporting contents to and from the van to the storage unit.

Corrie S. on 12/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When scheduling the return of my 26', I had arranged the 30 day complimentary storage. The Rep. indicated as he only had small units available, he would split it between two. Upon arrival, with movers scheduled, the staff informed me I would have to pay for the second unit. I was left with no choice. I was disappointed they would not honor what they had indicated.

BREND M on 11/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Super friendly and helpful staff. Thank you!

Nicole M on 11/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Advertise U-Box storage space commiserate with the type of apartment it fits. A 1 bedroom box fits should fit a 1 bedroom apartment, NOT one room. I had to get another box at the last minute

Nathaniel L. on 11/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Expensive price

John H. on 11/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The first time I rented from you, the return was much quicker and easier. The second time, somewhat more annoying.

Jack B. on 11/22/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service tonight. I was in and out quickly and the employees were very clear and helpful.

Tally R on 11/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Boxes were out on time. Employees were helpful and nice. Great experience.

AARON H. on 11/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clearer instructions on how to get to the truck pick-up location

Lowell D on 11/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Always encountering issues at this location and with these U-boxes. Still waiting on the mananger to call me back after he stated he would last week.

DENNIS W. on 11/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing! Very Pleasant and professional!!

Tracy H on 11/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very helpful. My dads in the army and he told me about it. When he has to move he calls u-haul. Thanks guys

mario l. on 11/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The van smelled of urine and was not clean at all. No offer to compensate me was made. The service was very slow. Nice people though.

edward b. on 11/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All Excellent. Thank you Will you sell or redevelop your real estate? Ted Bartlett 415.254.0711

Barbara S. on 11/14/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was ;limited staff so when something went wrong with another client's truck they had to scramble and we had to wait. That said, the staff were courteous, helpful and friendly - a pleasant surprise on a Sunday morning at 7:30 am.

Justin M. on 11/14/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The van I was given first was not clean. It smelled like someone had been living in it; which was probably true. I swapped out twice for a new van - the second one had the same cleanliness issues.

Nancy N. on 11/13/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It is very important to note there is no overnight drop offs during the online reservation process. I also had missing rental equipment and since this location seems to be short staffed, I was not able to obtain equipment easily. The truck rented to me also did not have any gas, which ate into the limited time I had left before returning the truck.

Marc R. on 11/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I broke my foot 10 min into the move and had to return the truck without barely using it. The guy who took the truck back went above and beyond. He was so nice and compassionate. I really appreciated that when I was in such pain. No robot could replace that.

Raeline W. on 11/10/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I requested 6 moving pads but was charged for the full dozen.

Dean A. on 11/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was told there was parking when I called to reserve, when I got there I told the guy at the counter that I was told parking was included, he said no, I said that's not what she told me and he said you can park there if you want and you will get towed in a rude manner, won't be renting here again

SETH H. on 11/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There are a few things I can always expect when renting from the Bryant locations. 1. Trucks at the Bryant locations are consistently dirty. 2. I also feel the staff, well, rather the gentlemen with large redish beard and the heavier gentlemen, who constantly wears headphones at the return dock, lack anythings which remotely resembles what you would call customer service. 3. It also seems the manager, Casey, appears rather apathetic himself, so it's no surprise his staff's effort to provide any customer service is absent. I've rented from the Bayshore Blvd and Valencia St locations before, and their customer service is a 180 degree difference than the Bryant location, so this leads me to believe the good talent is out there, but just not at this location. Perhaps this is a top down issues. I would recommend corporate look into this location and perhaps provide training to improve this team's performance from a customer facing standpoint.

Alice C. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location is very busy at the end of the month, in the mornings, especially on weekends. I would advise arriving earlier than your pick up time if your schedule is tight and need the truck at a specific time.

Douglas C. on 11/6/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very tough location in Downtown San Francisco. Garbage and homeless tent cities lining the streets. I was glad I was along on this move for my young daughter. The employee checking us in was polite and cordial but the computer systems of UHaul were "malfunctioning" which delayed our drop-off process and inconvenienced our ride away from the facility. Based on the front end and back end of our experience, we will probably use Penske or Budget in the future.

NANCY P. on 11/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You have some really nice service people who work at this location

Wendy F. on 11/5/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location is not in a nice part of town. It is not Uhaul's fault but the homeless tents and people directly across the street are VERY disturbing and unnerving. The people hanging out there are a bit obnoxious. The GM Casey Clark was fantastic and very very helpful. He helped a lot especially as we were very unhappy with having to take the car dolly to another location for drop off and then go back to Bryant to unload. And it took 30 minutes to discuss and change the storage unit to the one we reserved (5x10 not 4x8). Most all of the problems were a result of the original reservation taken at the toll free line with a lot of incorr ct information given. With the help of Casey we were finally compensated for all our inconveniences. The location WAS clean but NOT inviting.

Christine B. on 11/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Tough location with homeless people, however, the employees were incredibly helpful and amazing people. They were very nice, patient, and helped me with all my needs. Every single person who works there made my experience with UHAUL great. Thank you so much to them!

nicolas l on 11/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

lot of issues getting my ubox numbers.Jay was the only person that was helpful when communicating.She went above and beyond. Everyone else was unprofessional and unhelpful.Movers were very good.

Rob G. on 11/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly customer service inside and out

NICOLAS D. on 11/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was disappointed I had to wait 1.5 hours until the person in charge of storage came in. I arrived at 7AM as that is what the store hours said, but had to wait to be able to move into storage unit until 8:30am. I think if staff can't be there on time, other staff should cover. I had a great overall uHaul experience, but this was a small inconvenience-- I was late for work because someone came into uHaul late for their job....

Esther K. on 11/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The attendants at this facility are nice, but they do the minimal requirements. I wish they could be a little more helpful with a more positive attitude.

jacob w. on 11/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service was excellent. Helped me and my brother move his household coat effectively and safely. Very happy with my experience at u haul. Will definitely use again !

Mary B. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was GREAT at all touch points! Everything went smoothly and everyone was friendly and hustling. Would definitely recommend.

Stephen P. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A really good rental experience!

Isabella C. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service was good. Would like there to be a drop box to drop off key. A lot of homeless and police activity outside of the location-- very unwelcoming.

Jefferson P. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Reservation was made online at the San Rafael location. Very disappointed that i was called the night before (6PM) to change my pick up location due to the unavailabilty of trucks at the San Rafael location not my fault. We had to rush to San Francisco, the location is in very dangerous looking nieghborhood with a homeless encampment across the street. I was worried my car would get broken into or stolen while I was in the store.

Jennifer H. on 10/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy who helped us was the best! Definitely give him a raise.

Marinna A on 10/30/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have been very disappointed with my overall experience. I am so happy to finally be done with my ubox.

Steven B. on 10/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Uhaul experience was seamless. Good guy behind the counter. Nice clean fresh vehicle. Smooth check in and very easy return. I will use them again.

greg h. on 10/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The cosmetic service could be happier. None but one of them seemed happy.

alan b. on 10/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your confirmation email said 100 Valencia so I went there only to find out I needed to go to Bryant. Very annoying.

Miles K. on 10/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience! Check out was a sinch and the gentleman, I think his name was Ray, was excellent.

Hanna Y. on 10/25/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Very deceiving about the price. I will never come back. I made a reservation online and the rate they gave me did not match what I was later charged on my credit card. I feel completely cheated and really disappointed. Will probably call to complain and leave a terrible review. I would have done things differently had I had all the information from the start....

David M. on 10/25/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The return of van experience was deplorable. I have rented from this venue at least 20 times in the past few years and never experienced such a rude employee. the employee thought he was living out the life of prison guard. Demanding I stay in the vehicle and go through a comprehensive light test to ensure all light bulbs on the van were in working order before being allowed to exit the vehicle. His manner, demeanor and general intelligence were so far below an average humans that I cannot believe he is employed at all. Such was his rudeness that I will now end my relationship with Haul and rent elsewhere in the future.

Stephanie N. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The area of the office is a little scary and I thought it was strange that we went back to get the truck and then had to pull it to the exit to "check out" and get the furniture dolly.

Gayle M. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The whole deal was a rip off. The fuel gauge was not working and I put almost 20.00 in fuel and it was still on E When I got the vehicle the guy said if I brought it back on 1/4 tank the rental would be 12.00. It was not. Everything I was told was WRONG and FALSE. Then the homeless factor bothering us!! OMG Casey the manager was not on duty.

Adrienne S. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We were informed the day before that our pickup location had changed, it would have been nice to be informed sooner since we had to change many plans.

Tommie M. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

of course, there is the situation with the homeless encampment across the street. otherwise, all the employees are great...maybe a little jaded...but mostly very friendly and helpful. I also need to give a shout out to the customer service team that called me to let me know that I was late returning my uhaul and was helpful and flexible in allowing me to keep it longer. I screwed up and they were awesome and deserve props!

David C. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

move to a less scary neighborhood.

Grant C. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience booking online and with pickup. Only issue is with fueling situation. Its a big hassle when you pick up a vehicle that is only partially fueled so that when you return it you need to try and figure out how much fuel to put in to return it to the partial level. Its SO MUCH EASIER to get a full vehicle and return it full.

Michaele V. on 10/23/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Reserved a 10 footer to be picked up at 2498 Sutter St location. Was told that I was sent a text that the vehicle is at the Bryant location. Had to spend $40 on a taxi, then was charged $80 for being an hour late for the movers. Unhappy! Sutter location was necessary confirmed, changed, without notice and I am not happy! Michaele Vargo

AT H. on 10/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All went well

Asim Can K. on 10/22/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Cashier was rude, we did not like the overall experience of location but the truck was fine as always

Leslie M. on 10/22/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The area around this location does not feel safe.

JONATHAN V. on 10/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I wasn't totally clear on the rental period / thought it was 24 hours, but pparrntky is was til the end of the business day. Could have been more explicitly spelled out by the agent.

WANDA G. on 10/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

EVEYONE WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL AND EXPEIDTED MY RENTAL EFFORTLESSLY.. Thank you for helping me with my MOVE... WG...

MICHELE W. on 10/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is the best run u haul facility Ever and I have used many of them over the years. Highly organized and helpful and flexible. The service is consistently good time and time again.

Christina R on 10/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly accommodating when I realized I made a mistake in the size of the unit I needed.Politely quickly found a unit that was suitable.She answered all of my questions adequately.

KHUSHROW M. on 10/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We have Uhaul on Treasure Island, SF and I live on the island but never get a Cargo Van at the location. Please do something about it as it would save lot of time for the island customers. That was the only very upsetting thing.

John N. on 10/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Park-Merced U Haul is closer, why did I have to go downtown? That did cost me more miles.

Stephanie C. on 10/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was a bit nervous about the last minute notification as to where I Would pick up the truck and if the time I requested would be honored. I like the plan ahead a bit more than that plus I had to let the movers know.

Ken B. on 10/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The people are great at this facility. We own a business less than a mile away and use them all the time. The only complaint is that the windshield is constantly filthy on almost every vehicle we've rented. We make bets on whether it'll be clean and I always win - a smoker or some such person ahead of us. Give them some windex and a towel and you'd have an A-1 rating.

jacob w on 10/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Service was great and prompt. They made sure had all I needed and had me in and out in no time!

Stephen G. on 10/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Charge what is in the contract not a different surprise rate.

CARLOS D. on 10/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is good

Yukon C. on 10/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

n/a

Peter M on 10/10/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Need larger unit doors, aisles and elevator height. Needs mobile ramps or lifts for raised units. Needs scrambled access codes and loiterers off sidewalk. Excellent staff

Omar A. on 10/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great customer service!

Angella M. on 10/7/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We were waiting outside around 7:45am till 8:20am for someone to open the location. There was someone who was there since 6:45am. Also workers were standing outside with us. The general manager who got called in was very competent and handled the situation very professionally. But until there is a new location manager I wouldn't recommend this location.

Dennis J on 10/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Your web site is incomplete, you returned my box without the cover or my lock, and was held together with plastic wrap! I want a refund! call me.

PHILIPPE D. on 10/5/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I arrived at 6:45am for a 7am store entrance. Store did not open until 8:35am. Completely inexcusable. Cost me a job from one of my major clients. Completely ridiculous.

Joshua Z. on 10/4/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Lady who helped me was incredibly nice, patient, worked hard to get us a truck even though she said they had overbooked vehicles. Gas was nearly empty when received. Tried to point out that levels didn't match but guy didn't seem to care, just put in extra gas and was annoyed. PILES AND PILES OF USED SYRINGES where you wait to get your vehicle. Yes. Really. You're basically avoiding needles while shooing away people trying to offer "help"

Jeff W. on 10/4/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

service desk person was mildly rude and not a clear communicator and became slightly impatient when I couldn't answer her question, but because she had not articulated a question clearly. Person who checked me out was friendly, but she marked up the gas above where it was at, even though I mentioned the gas meter was a 3/8 full. She ended up marking closer to 4/8 - thereby costing me money. Overall, truck was fine. But what a terrible place. A homeless encampment is nearby, with mexicans looking for work straddling the sidewalks. Will only go here if I really have to in the future.

KIMBERLY P. on 10/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

On Sunday, 10/2, the U-Haul online system was "down." I was charged $80+ for the rental plus deposit. I was told that someone would contact me on Monday, 10/3 to adjust this (once my information was entered into the system). I was never contacted. I called and left a message and the manager was supposed to call me back. No one called me back. I called again today, 10/4, and was put on hold for over 10 minutes. I finally hung up and called the 1-800 number. I am still trying to get the charges adjusted correctly, since what is showing in my online credit card account does not match what was supposed to happen.

Robert F. on 10/4/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

they were supposed to call me due to a problem with the mileage before billing me for the extra miles and days and did not. try to contact manager several times no luck, so stopped payment on overage bill

ROBERT S. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

cheerful informed staff, got in and out quickly, good all around thanks

Amy V. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately, the employees keep poor records and maintenance of the vehicles. I was charged for 21 miles when I only drove 8 miles. The printed record showed that the vehicle had 13 fewer miles than it actually did when I picked it up, and I was charged for those miles I did drive. I will never use these services again if I am not reimbursed nor recommend their services.

la shawnte b. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The inside of the trucking rented was extremely dirty. They were a bit unorganized. My truck was behind another one and I had to wait for an attendant to move it. I asked for a dolly that wasn't given when I pulled out, so I asked for the charge to be removed. Other than having to return to the office three times before actually leaving, the truck itself ran well. I accomplished what I needed it for.

Layla K. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Absolute worst experience using Uhaul and even more terrible experience with the manager of this location. I rented a uhaul van to transport my things to my new apartment. After I had loaded all of my belongings, I began driving and the Uhaul van broke down on me. After 30 minutes of phone conversations and roadside assistance discussions, I was told I would have to wait for a repair man (which could take up to an hour or longer). I tried up the van after waiting some time and the issue had resolved, so I decided to give it a shot. I made it to my destination. To explain the issue further, mid-driving, the car's acceleration broke down and I could no longer accelerate (imagine if I had been going 70 on the freeway). I went to return the vehicle the next morning (this location opens up at 7 am). After returning the van, I asked to speak with the manager and found out the manager was running late. Doors did not open until 7:30, making me late for work. I described what happened to the manager and his explanation was "yea, we have noticed that some of the vans in a shipment have been doing that, so we just wait for costumers let us know to take them in for repair", so basically I was their guinea pig. He proceeded to tell me that they would take it into the shop to determine the exact cause and THEN we could discuss compensation. He actually jokingly said, "thank god you were not on the freeway". The manager than asked ME to call THEM to find out in a day or two. In no way is it my responsibility as a customer to follow-up with him. I am so appalled by this manager's decorum as well as the customer service I received from Uhaul. Absolutely ridiculous service provided by Uhaul.

Michael S. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything in the U-Box was good, but in the transportation of the box, my TV was shattered. We packed this u-box extremely well, bought insurance on the box itself, and even purchased U-Haul's recommended boxes to transport a TV, and it still arrived broken.

Clayton W. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Will never use Uhaul again. You obviously bait and switch with pricing and don't give any employees (at least none that I had access to) the ability to explain charges. Total rip off.

Shimul B. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The customer representative was having trouble finding the truck and needed lots of help from her colleagues which caused a delay of more than 20 minutes. Other than that everything else was pretty smooth.

Thomas P. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The best U-Haul location ever. 10/10, excellent customer service and experience. I'm sad to move away!

Peter L. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff working is not competent. I waited 30 minutes before a staff member could help me.

Derek B. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Hire salesforce

Thomas H. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Expedite the process for getting a vehicle. There is always only 1 counter open and the line gets long. The last thing someone wants on moving day is to wait a long time. This time the cargo vans locking mechanism didn't work. To unlock I always had to put the key into the ignition so I could unlock the doors. It was a bit of a hassle.

Bhaskar S. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They didn't know what temporary license is even though it was issued by the police department.

Joshua G. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

For starters, when I initially called I was told I could leave the truck at this location. Once I found out that I couldn't, the lady told me to drop it off at 1575 Bay Shore, so I did and dropped off the key. I had to call back at 1pm to find out why my truck wasn't taken in yet. From there, I had to speak to 3 different people and waited 30 minutes until someone from 1575 Bay Shore could help me. I don't know where everything went wrong, but it was a very long and stressful process. The original truck that I was going to take had to be resigned because there were two other trucks in front of the one originally assigned to me. This could have been the problem. I still do not have a receipt for everything and will never go back to that location and will tell people to not use this location. Patrick was helpful though.

William D. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very service oriented met us at the curb quickly closed out our rental we were in a big rush to catch our bus home to Los Angeles from San Francisco

adam p on 9/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I am living out of town and the hours are not the best, but the location is good for when i am in town.

DANIEL S. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have been using this uhaul location since I first moved to San Francisco in 2011. Originally I was in a band and we used it to transport equipment to and from gigs. This time I just used it for moving. The one thing I think would be SOOOO amazing is if Uhaul, in major cities, had specified parking areas sprinkled throughout the city so that when I have to park it over night I don't have to spend 2 hours of mileage, gas, and time looking for a parking spot. In San Francisco this is a particular issue I have had EVERY TIME I have rented a Uhaul. So maybe 40 hours of my life has been spent driving in circles around the Richmond and Sunset districts of San Francisco looking for a parking spot. Then when I do find a spot the sign says, "no parking for vehicles 7 feet tall and 22 feet long" so I had to google, "how tall is a Ford Transit 250" and I get "83.6 to 109.4? so I just assume, "well uhaul doesn't want their vans towed so I assume they are on the shorter end of the spectrum, but your website lists them as 7 feet tall and does not specify a length. So I have always just had a bad experience parking it. But if you had like, just a lot with ten space that only uhauls could park in then you would decrease the likelyhood of the uhaul being towed and increase the likelyhood of getting customers, because I have not used a Uhaul before specifically because I thought, "I won't be able to find parking, lets just find another way to do this"

Tamir A. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the vehicles are blocking each other, and this is the second time I get keys for a blocked vehicle and have to wait till one of the reps move the blocking vehicle.

Wiley W. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

you should not require that users answer every question in this feedback form that is a pain in the ass every aspect of the uhaul experience was simply amazing-- I am a UX / Service Designer and just loved how good the online experience was and the fact that all the informational stickers in the truck are in the place where you need them

Barrett L. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Facility is nice, people are friendly and helpful, location is really sketchy, you always get haggled when you drive up and I never feel safe parking my car, especially at night.

BARRETT L on 9/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The facility was clean, Folks working there have been nice, but It takes a while to check out waiting in line not enough folks. The street and area are really sketchy

Diana C. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great service

David F. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Long line waiting to pick up. When I got there, there was only 4 people ahead of me and it took over 20 minutes to actually get the van.

John D. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent, fast In and out . Great user experience!

Michael S on 9/22/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They did not have u-boxes ready when I came in, but were quick to get them together

Steven M. on 9/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We originally ordered the truck from the Sutter Street Location. When we got there, the person who rents the truck(s) was not there and no one knew where he would come back. Also, they said they only had 1 truck and it was reserved for someone else. Not sure why the site would allow me to book it. So we changed our reservation to another shop. All was good until we received a flat tire. Called for service, 1/2 later, service came. To make a long story short, a 3 hour project lasted 5 hours. Not happy!

sayed o on 9/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Top Notch. Alejandra and Wes were simply wonderful throughout the whole process!

SUSIE C. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The block of Alameda St where U-Haul is located is so terribly disgusting, it really turns ones stomach. The filth, the stench, the sad people shooting up in broad daylight is a rough gateway to traverse on the way to your doorway. How about asking the City to install mobile restroom facilities, like the Lava Mae showers/sinks/toilets? It wouldn't remove the homeless, but it might make the experience more palatable. Thanks, Susie susie@archsupplies.com 415-225-5299

rudy c. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Inservice for the branch manager IE reservation desk mr. Sanchez and Company to be well-versed in measurements of household goods for better recommendations of a truck to be rented otherwise their courtesy both mr. Sanchez and the eminent guy or young men are excellent and they did their best under the situation thank you much and have a good day

Kathryn T. on 9/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was wonderful, but the location made me uncomfortable.

Susan R. on 9/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was a good experience except the "Choose a drop-off location" part. On the website it says it's "just a preference," but then when I found one closer it wouldn't let me change to the new location. Then I get a call from the guy saying I HAVE to return it to his place because he has it reserved for someone. If I had known it was a firm choice and not just a preference, I wouldn't have selected a drop off location because it honesty screwed up my day.

DOUG G. on 9/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Should have suggested 35 miles for use. When I asked for mileage, it should have been explained about overage in miles. I just added 30 dollars to my bill that was unneeded.

Zachary T on 9/20/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

After calling multiple times to confirm everything would be ready movers arrived and no one knew anything about my uboxes, took 4 hours to locate them

Rachel E. on 9/19/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We rented a van from you several weeks ago. That van had a back up camera and remote door locks which were both nice features. The van we rented this time didn't even have power door locks and it certainly didn't have a back up camera. It was sooooo annoying to have to turn the car on just to unlock the back door each time we brought a load down from the apartment. Please do anything you can to make sure your fleet has remote door locks and back up cameras.

Jery W. on 9/18/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

1) I rented a cargo van. The engine light was on and the service person told me it's ok to drive. I got engine fault right after I left the station. 2) I came back to the station. The front desk person ask to go get roadside service before I can swap the van. I end up waited around 2 hours to get a replacement van. My suggestion to Uhaul is 1) never allow a broken car leave the station 2) The front desk should not let customer wait for 2 hours if it's at Uhaul's fault.

BONNIE J. W. on 9/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure your trucks are suitable to drive

Nathan M. on 9/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks to staff for working with me in returning the vehicle a few minutes late.

Thomas D. on 9/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We got the truck and it looked to be fairly new. We got to the storage facility and loaded up. As we were leaving my partner told me to stop and look at something. I got out to see that the right front turn signal was hanging by the wires!!! I was able to snap it back in, but no longer felt comfortable about the truck. I told the guy that received the truck on return and his response was an "Oh Well..." I was A little surprised at that. I'll check closer next time. Much closer!

Jorge M. on 9/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Before someone move of from the place can you have somebody check the rental units to verify the mills, and the condition of the unit before we Moved out from the place.

ALEXANDER M. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The whole staff is super helpful and friendly. Everyone I interacted with were on point and gave great customer service. I would definitely come back to this location again.

Grant S. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This location is great, however, the back of the truck had clearly not been swept out. I don't really care about that though because its kind of expected. The main reason I gave this a low review is because of the customer service when I was picking up the truck. When I arrived, I was next in line to be helped and there were 2 cashiers. Both were helping someone. I WAITED ABOUT 15-20 MINS TO BE HELPED EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS NO LINE. The lady that was helping me then proceeded to randomly walk away in the middle of helping me without telling me why. I was just sitting there waiting for her to come back. She was nice I guess but I ended up waiting about 45 mins to get my truck when there was NO line. The other cashier never even finished helping the person that was originally in front of me when I had left.. By the time i was finished there was a line of about 5-7 people behind me and man do I feel bad for them. Once I got in the truck though the service was great and I was rolling within 5 mins. When returning the truck, I waited only about 7-8 mins even though there was 2 trucks in front of me.

BYRON H. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lower the rates!

DANIEL D. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No suggestions. Great experience, thanks!

Jon G. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I routinely spend 1K-2K per month renting Uhaul Cargo vans. Recently I returned a van at closing time. Immediately after drop-off I realized I had left a backpack behind the passenger seat. I was unable to talk with a person at the physical location and kept getting routed to a offsite customer service rep that could only "send a message to the office" The office eventually called back nearly 24 hours to say the backpack wasn't found. I knew this couldn't be possible because i was 100% certain it was left in the vehicle. I was forced to drive 45 minutes into SF and demanded to inspect the vehicle myself. The vehicle was ready to be re-rented and, of course, my backpack was exactly where i said it was. The employees response was "we never look behind the seats".. Please try harder.

Anna A. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The surrounding area was quite sketchy with a big homeless encampment. It is not a location that I would recommend someone to walk to.

Chris p. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We had a very good experience. Truck was clean and in good working order. Great customer service from beginning to end.

Andy H. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was impressed. There was a customer service rep at the driveway to check me in. She was friendly and very funny.

BENJAMIN B. on 9/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed my business with UHAUL today. The workers were courteous, polite, well groomed, knowledgeable and very punctual. UHUAL is a strong organization.

Maria Riza L. on 9/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pick up was fast. I was out of the office in 5 minutes due to the early online check-in. That was a big plus!

DANIEL S. on 9/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

When I was at the desk inside the store I was shown a fuel level for the car I was getting. And I accepted that I would return it at that level. When I went to pick up the car the customer had parked in the way and so I had to get a new car. I was not advised by anyone that the fuel level that I needed to return it when was different because it was a different car and so when I arrive to return it it was fueled to the level that I accepted in the store. However that was not an appropriate fuel level for the car I was given in so I had to pay for refueling charges. I know that the refueling amount was on the receipt I was given for the car but I didn't look at it because having used U-Haul multiple times it's not something I usually look at. So if there happens to be a car change after you accept in the store to a certain fuel level perhaps the person giving you the car should indicate that the fuel level to be returned with has changed. Other than that place is great and I will continue to use them. Another thing I guess I just made an assumption about was that in San Francisco there are height and length restrictions regarding where you can park certain vehicles then I was not given the dimensions of the vehicle so I had to look up how tall and how long a Ford Transit 250 is and that specific car has a height and length that vary from car to car. So perhaps it could be written on the receipt. But I just assumed that being in San Francisco that the San Francisco Fleet of Ford Transit 250s must comply with the cities laws otherwise they would be towed all the time. I also drive the van 22 miles, 15 of which were spent trying to find parking. It would be brilliant if uhaul contracted with the city to have park spots made available for overnight U-Haul parking only. I'm sure building parking lots in each city would be out of the picture, but I'm sure that you could contract with places like safeway, who do not allow overnight parking for safeway customers and thus have ample parking spots, to allow U-Haul to park in their lots from 10pm to 8am.

Kendra A on 9/7/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I absolute would not use this service again. They recommend that you park your U-Box illegally, and don`t actually answer customer complaints.

Linda J. on 9/6/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Horrible--electricity out so could not use paper confirmation. Also, on return was told 24 hour drop off and was told when arrived at 8:30PM--it was not. Finally, found drop box after calling central phone number. The call center was NO help--told to leave truck unlocked and key under mat--Wrong! We would never have done that. Horrible waste of one hour.

David B. on 9/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The representative, Anaya, may have spelled wrong, was extremely professional and courteous. This is a rare trait these days, I was very impressed and thankful of her customer service.

Sabrina B. on 9/4/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was informed on the phone that straps would be included in the truck. When I went to pick up the truck, I was told that the call center often misinforms customers. I had to buy rope and bungees which I hadn't budgeted for. Also, when I made the reservation I specified a different pickup location than the one I was scheduled to pick up at.

Sandra H. on 9/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The ashtray was filed with ashes and inside car all dusty and smelled of smoke. The guy checking me outide with truck was actually smoking while checking the truck and giving papers. There was only one person at the desk on a Saturday morning at 9am with at least 6 groups waiting to rent. The woman at the desk was very pleast and helpful, especially since she was fielding alot of impatient customers. She gets the Gold star for the day. Checking in was fast and easy and the guy who checked me back in was also very friendly, efficient and professional.

PHIL I. on 9/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Communicate with customers like a person does when they give a shit. Don't give keys to a person only for them to find out their truck is parked behind another truck. Don't rent trucks to people with the gas light on. Don't rent filthy trucks to people. I could barely see out the windshield. There were empty drink bottles in the truck when I got in.. You suck

TERRENCE J L on 9/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good experience all around.

RITA H on 9/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We stored our things for over 3 years. The cost was reasonable and we knew that our things were in clean safe place.

CHARLES R. on 9/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It's centrally located, so that's a plus, but other than that, it's not an ideal location. The entrance/exit is narrow and on a steep hill, and the street you exit onto is narrow and congested with large trucks. Little about coming and going from this location is convenient. Also, the service of the booking agent at the service counter was a bit terse (though the agents in the parking lot were a bit friendlier).

Tesa S on 9/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They did a great job! Thank you!

David C. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The quality of the trucks weren't great. The sun visor was broken on the driver's side and the window rollup bar was broken

coleman b. on 8/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was very frustrated with this process. I arrived in San Francisco and went to the location listed on my reservation. That location did not hold my reservation and we had to start calling through the 1800 # to find out where they had moved my reservation and where to actually go rent my truck. I had people waiting on site to help me move and they had to wait almost 3 hours because I had to taxi around San Francisco trying to find this location on Bryant St (where I did not request pick up from and was not labeled on my email confirmations) and this was not budgeted for or time allotted for. I had to spend all this extra money on transportation just to get to the uhaul store that had my reservation when you guys could have easily either kept my reservation location in tact or informed me on a travel day that I need to be going somewhere else in a massive city like SF. Super frustrating and will certainly be keeping me away from using U-haul for future moves.

Katharine G on 8/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was convinced to switch from a PODS unit to a uhaul unit when I arrived to rent a truck and was told the UHAUL unit was the same size- it wasn`t. The unit dirty.

James N. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

super helpful staff

Orlando S. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They forgot the to put the blankets to cover my furniture ! But Alehandra and I think Tiffany were amazing! Super nice ladies!

Alan R. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

One person on duty to check in 6 trucks that lined up Saturday afternoon. But she was very efficient, helpful and friendly. The line moved along much faster than anticipated. She should be commended.

Blake P. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I made my online reservation for a time period that your in house person changed on me. He told me I could return it anytime after the time he put down. Thing is you OVERCHARGED me by an extra day when I talked to him about this. Also, I said no dolly. You put the dolly in my truck. I've rented before and its usally tied to the truck, so if useds its tie is cut. Well you guys snuck it on my contract and placed it loose in my truck. This is shady, sneaky practice.

Jaclyn F. on 8/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When we arrived to pick up our truck, it took around 45 minutes to actually get checked in because there was only one person working the front desk.

THERESA G on 8/26/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff/hours were great. Unit was mouse infested droppings EVERYWHERE. Furniture, boxes, floor. Items nibbled on. Writing to the manager directly.

ROCHEAN C. on 8/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing keep up the good work

MEGHAN H on 8/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was good but uhaul.com could not get things straight. All of my dates were different when I got emails and I had to call to make sure it reflected the right thing. It was very confusing.

NEIL H. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I returned your heap of rotting junk with a full tank of gas. I wasn't compensated. You dispatch them off your lot with half a tank on purpose. Go fuck yourselves, gouging cunts.

Brenden D. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have been charged twice by uhal

Richard P. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

NICE WORK!

John S. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All good, clean facility and new cargo van, I would go there again

Patricia L. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I rented a truck for 2 days. The SF UHaul representative told me that Uhaul would refund me a day if I returned the truck a day early. When I arrived in Santa Cruz that U Haul rep stated that he had never heard of offering a refund for a day. He said he would contact customer service and get back to me. However he has not contacted me. The representatives are uninformed and do not follow up with customers.

ARTURO M. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location has a lot of homeless line up in the street, It make it feel the place feel unsafe.

Joseph K. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I tried to return the truck at night but was unable to. There was no posted signage making it clear how to leave the truck and I was concerned about the safety of the vehicle.

RICHARD B. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

everything was just fine

John B. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Jessica Ramos and other staff were so very helpful, I really appreciated that

John B on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would like to mention Jessica Ramos for the incredibly helpful service she provided. She was able to help me find my exact needs in storage and was very professional.

Christopher C. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The equipment functioned as expected, but it was very frustrating to be charged for two days instead of one. I was misled by the staff member who processed my rental, who claimed that I just needed to return the truck by the time the office closes, and that I just needed to state an approximate drop off time. Though I arrived within 20 minutes of that drop off time, I was charged for a second day. Now, I have to call a manager the next day to work on a refund. Very frustrating.

Emily s. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had a great experience with the Bryant Street location. I originally called to get some information that I couldn't find online, and the rep that answered the phone was extremely helpful and we ended up booking my reservation over the phone. I called back twice for further coordinating and details and both times got very good customer service. Then when we went to pick up the truck ,the rep behind the counter was awesome as were the women who helped us pick up the truck, get our additional supplies, and finish our paperwork when we returned. Return was equally as easy and the whole experience couldn't have been better. Honestly, I was shocked that it was as easy and pleasant as it was.

leslie k. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent, clean and friendly

evelyn c on 8/21/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There were rats in my storage unit. They ruined a lot of the stuff I had inside and most of it had to be thrown away. It was disgusting and disappointing.

Rachel P on 8/21/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The facility was very much under staffed and I had to wait over an hour to have access to my box. was never notified that I would need 24 hrs to access my box couldn`t move into my new place for aweek

minji k on 8/20/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Storage fee wrongly charged- took 10 days, 10+ calls and a physical visit for refund. Most of the calls were automatically forwarded to the national office, because they are busy.

eb t. on 8/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was super helpful. Very friendly and positive. Customer service gave us wrong info so we went to another SF location first that would not let us return the truck to them. The added time/travel was frustrating.

Elissa M. on 8/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The van we were given smelled absolutely awful - like someone had been smoking in it and tried to cover it up. It was so bad it was nauseating.

ROCHEAN C. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing just keep doing what you all do. It was a grreat a experience with my Tony the Tiger Voice.

Ali N. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It took me three trips just for the guys to figure out what truck I could take... They were super disorganized and wasted my time.

Nicholas d. on 8/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

As above - great experience - simple and well done

MICHAEL P on 8/18/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The unit was infested with mice.

Seth H. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Each and every time I rent from this place, which is very often, I get a dirty transit van with windows and side mirrors that are so dirty you cannot use them while in reverse with confidence. The time before last, I took the initiative myself and used the all purpose cleaner and cleaned the windows with a dirty rag, only requiring to stop at a gas station because the rag left a film on the side mirrors when dried. This is not the first time, the third time, or even the fifth-plus time. I'm assuming this will happen again when I go to rent another van this Saturday.

Jane Q on 8/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

super efficient

Ronald C on 8/17/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff and friendly,

margret e. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Although I moved to Oakland, this facility was not too out of the way (kind of freeway close); everyone trying to return just at closing time but employee (esp Mr. Brooks) managed the line and got us out of there in record time! Thanks, Mr. Brooks!

Alexandre D on 8/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff could be more knowledgable about the UBox, especially when it comes to the required paperwork for moving the UBox between Canada and the US.

ROBERT B. on 8/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I thought everyone was professional and efficient.

KEMAL A. on 8/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Staff was useless. My u-box was delivered late. The scheduling was a mess. I showed up to unload my box and was told they could not locate my box in the warehouse. Colossal waste of time.

Kemal A on 8/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Staff was useless. My u-box was delivered late. The scheduling was a mess. I showed up to unload my box and told they could not locate my box in the warehouse. Colossal waste of time.

Jim K on 8/14/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

everything was fine

Hetty P. on 8/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience. Check in went very fast less than 5 minutes due to the fact that I used express check in on-line. Highly recommend Uhaul.

andrew s. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My entire store unit was infested by rats. Most of my belongings had to be thrown away because of smell of rat feces. There were also live rats in my suitcase when arriving home. I was told I would get a phone call by the manager by the end of the day but this has not happened.

SHELBY B. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Employees quick to help always a good experience when dealing with staff from this location.

Basil A. on 8/11/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Location is dirty and worn. So was the truck. But it got the job done. Workers were efficient, that's for sure.

Jeremy L. on 8/11/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

horrible experience.

LILIANA I. on 8/11/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff was not attentive at all when I payed the guy dident even tell me how much I was paying just told me to swipe the card. Super vague!! In everything !

MATTHEW S. on 8/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer relations.

JESSICA R. on 8/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best U-Haul experience ever!

Onkar D on 8/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great!

Adam G. on 8/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

$80 rental plus $15 in gas is too high to rent a van for a small move. Will look into alternatives next time.

Katrina R. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pickup was a bit frustrating because the key they gave me was not the correct one, so it required walking back and forth from the parking lot to the office two times. Also, the cabin smelled VERY strongly of weed.

GUY B. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Actually station staff at the exit so they can verify that I left the lot with less gas than I was promised. Instruct staff that if a customer returns at 5:02, and there is obviously no end of day rush, and returning the vehicle obviously takes two minutes, it is poor customer service to be willing to spend SEVEN minutes explaining to said customer that he can't check it in (while giving no explanation), you don't have any suggestions for where he can park the vehicle in the meantime, and that "yeah I guess parking here will be fine" if the neighborhood has a history of gas-siphoning incidents. I have no intention whatsoever of doing business with U-Haul ever again.

Stephen R. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars