U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Share |

Address

1525 Bryant St
San Francisco, CA 94103

(415) 252-0133

(Alameda & Bryant)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 7 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 5 am - 10 pm

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Downtown San Francisco

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Matt U. on 2/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Specific drop-off location unclear. Please include a simple map of the location showing drop-off area? Particularly useful for drop-offs in a city, where turning is tight in a big truck, and one-ways are common.

Jarett M. on 2/6/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff was uninterested and not very helpful (did not explain where "row R" was for the rental truck). Also, there are sketchy people hanging around the location offering to help move me for $$.

Madison S. on 2/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We had a new van, but the inside wasn't very clean. I also consistently have issues with the elevators in this building - It can take 20 minutes to get an elevator. However, I've noticed that the new manager has been doing well. Staff seem more involved and helpful than they were in the past. There appears to even be some enthusiasm from staff - he is making some big improvements there.

Alexa H. on 2/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not have someone whose first day it was check me out! She messed up the fuel count and couldn't even show me where my truck was.

MADELEINE R on 2/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very convenient

ANDREA S on 2/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone has always been professional and helpful!

david r. on 2/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the guys outside for check in and out were awesome- so helpful

JAYANTI A. on 2/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I did not do my original reservation with this location. What I did see was great. Only improvement I recommend is after hours drop off if possible.

JOSEPH C. on 2/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A bit speedier puck-up would be nice. :-)

Marc B. on 2/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would not recommend U-Haul. Next time I'll look into competitors' offers. I basically called to book a truck. Provided card info. Was told I would get a call back to confirm which never happened. I tried to call multiple times, leaving messages. Never got a call back. One day before my rental day I am told I am not in the system. So I had to book again. They found one truck at Bayshore location. Obviously whenI went there they didn't have the truck although they had confirmed by phone two hours prior that it would be there for pick-up at 2:30pm as initially planned. So we then had to go to Bryant street location to collect truck. Why did my first reservation not go through? Why did I get a confirmation my truck would be there, which had me Uber over to the location for $30 and then the truck isn't there? Worst customer experience I've had in a long time. Not acceptable to book truck and get a confirmation that it's there when it's not. Completely unprofessional.

Jessica Q. on 2/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks so much to the woman working the desk who got me the last truck when it turned out I'd accidentally made my reservation for the day AFTER I was scheduled to move!

jill l. on 2/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The experience was incredibly poor, I received different answers every time I reached out and even when I arrived to pick them up they told me they were not ready when I spoke with someone an hour before I arrived. I will never use Uhaul again after this experience.

Harold W. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We reserved a van for the day at 12pm for 6 hours, when we tried to return the van at 5:30pm the employees said they were closed (at 5pm) and we would have to leave the van on the street overnight because there was no late dropoff place for the keys. We parked the van on the street in front of the uhaul location. I took at taxi back to the uhaul location in the morning and they charged us for a 2nd day (another $30) for having the van sit on the street overnight. not good service. probably won't rent there again. def won't recommend to a friend.

Shawnee P. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Excellent quick service. Very pleased. Will recommend and use again myself.

MELISSA L on 2/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really a positive experience! Staff were efficient and cordial. All my needs were met!

Micah L. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

VERY expensive rental. Spent over $400 for just 24 hours with a truck, you guys used to include some miles with the rental, and now no miles included, and the price per a mile has more than doubled. I won't be using uhaul next time around, I would have paid half or less to hire a moving company to do the entire move for me. Employees at uhaul location were nice, but the price for the rental has scared me away for good.

DANIEL T. on 1/31/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location was very dirty out in the street. It would be much better if that was cleaned up.

Clayton M. on 1/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am always amazed how smooth the process is, and the reasonable cost.

Ebow D on 1/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Casey really helped me out.

SHANNON W. on 1/31/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was very friendly, but the overall experience of using Uhaul was terrible! I will NEVER use your company again!!! I feel like I was raped by Uhaul at a very vulnerable time!! I feel very taken advantage of!! I am planning on post a poor review on YELP and any social media I can find to warn others that may be considering using Uhaul!!!

CARLOS A B on 1/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to the staff - the woman who checked me in to storage was super kind and helpful. Even though it was late Sunday, she was super accomodating. Awesome service, thank you!

Troy R. on 1/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This facility is top notch.

Troy R on 1/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This whole facility is top notch.

EDRICK P. on 1/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have attendant review the po, and how much it cost. Perhaps ask if I want a receipt emailed or printed out.

mehmet z on 1/30/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had to wait for 40 min for the staff who is responsible to conducts for renting a unit work.

CESAR N on 1/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very well maintained

Glen W. on 1/25/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I would tell any one i recommended to be careful. 1. the fuel gauge was not working correctly 2. i was called the day after i dropped back the truck to ask when it would be returned. The person checking me back in on return had some difficulty to this on their phone and wrote out a manual slip for the return.

JOHN K. on 1/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Better check out time.

ED H. on 1/24/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nice experience, quick and easy pickup and dropoff

MATIAS G. on 1/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great job: quick & efficient

Steffny W. on 1/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was EASY to find the truck we needed and at a great price. We were contacted prior to the rental by text and an actual phone call! Everyone was extremely nice and very helpful.

JEFF C. on 1/22/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

website pricing was very misleading. I ended up paying double what my original quote was. Would try another service in the future.

OSA K. on 1/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Personal were very friendly and helpful!

RACHEL E. on 1/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We use this location at least twice a year and always have a good experience.

HANNAH K. on 1/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I don't like being cat-called and harassed by Mexicans wanting day labor work outside of this location. It's rude and offensive.

brittany m on 1/20/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The Downtown San Francisco location was very unorganized and the staff was not very helpful. They made it seem like it was an inconvenience for them to bring out my Ubox for me to unload.

Brittany M. on 1/20/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I came to this location twice for my Ubox - once to access and once to completely unload. For both visits I had an appointment scheduled, and upon arriving at my appointment time my box was not ready and they did not have my appointment on their calendar.

GREG I on 1/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great all the way around.

Giorgio G. on 1/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Vehicle (cargo van) smelled almost unbearably bad EVEN if it was squeaky clean and pretty new. It must be coming from either the cleaning products used, or from the rubber mats used in the cargo area, or I don't know what.

david k on 1/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My only frustration was the alarms which were constantly going off when I needed to access my storage unit. They were so loud it really hurt my ears.

ADRIAN M on 1/18/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Anyone can walk in. Don`t need a card. Roof leaking. Homeless people renting storage, storing dirty and infested items.

Timothy R. on 1/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

i have rented ,many times always paywith my paypal mastercard , the woman working that day said she couldnt take it i showed her a reciptr from 3 weeks earlier with the same card and she sould have looked up my history in the computeer , i had an actual card i was able to use , buyt still pissed me off

Daniel K. on 1/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They did not originally have my size truck so they gave me a $50 refund. That is how to do business and keep loyalty.

TREMAYNE C. on 1/16/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The reps working inside the store were horrible. They were checking mobile phones while working and I was told to calm when I was calm. This place place is very bad!!!

Natalie I. on 1/16/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have truck ready upon arrival. 20 minute wait because of mix-up (human or computer - not sure). It was raining - not fun to get all the way to truck and have it not be the right one. Charging at the end was off. Almost charged me $40+ more. Estimated approx $92 with 45 miles. I went well under 45 miles and the guy said it was $113! Associates inside fixed the error (I was being double charged for something?) - but again, not a smooth drop off and inconvenience. Glad I caught it.

Michael B. on 1/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The integration between moving help.com and UHaul needs a lot of work. The u boxes are a neat concept but not if the consumer struggles to get them back and forth to the storage site. I'm guessing PODs doesn't have this problem.

GABRIEL F. on 1/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful and curtious personel !

RAYMOND L. on 1/11/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Be more organize

LUIS M. on 1/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was hard to find. The staff was not so friendly and I wasn't thanked for my business.

LIZA G on 1/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You have a very nice facility there. The people in the front office and in the truck yard were very helpful, efficient and easy to work with.

ALEXANDRA C. on 1/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Wait time to pick up is sometimes long. It seems there are a lot of staff in the office but only a few are consistently occupied with customers -- I could be wrong but it seems this way to me. That said, some of the staff are great -- really very helpful.

LISA G. on 1/4/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No drop off after hours and some problems with the truck happened. Really not into the front desk staff that was working that day. They tried to tell me I had to bring the rental in after 4 hours when the store is closed. Would be better if everyone had the same training

ADAM G. on 1/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very helpful and made the rental process very easy.

JESSICA F. on 1/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy who checked the truck in was really great and helpful.

DAIWAN T on 1/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No good at all and win not send any one to that storage place

Fernando B. on 1/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very happy with overall service, I would recomend to anyone that needs help moving.

SONDRA H. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

75$ is more than ridiculous I have the truck for an hour max I will never ever use you all again I will figure out how to get a truck

SAMUEL P. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and professional customer service.

NICOLE K. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Regulate the area in front of the store. There were people badgering us to hire them as movers.

Justin T. on 1/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very easy checkout. Staff was direct and helpful.

Liam G on 12/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The woman who helped me was amazing. I can`t remember her name, but she had Charlie Brown nails on. I`ve never had a better customer service rep in my life. Make sure that she is commended.

David K. on 12/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was super impressed and very satisfied. The staff were friendly and helpful. The truck worked great. Thanks!

BRANDON PAUL C. on 12/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was told I would receive a call from the manager of the location because given my experience with the truck I should be eligible for some form of refund. I never heard back. Frankly I was frustrated and wanted to move on but I still feel like some form of refund would be appropriate and greatly improve my satisfaction.

MICHAEL D. on 12/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More flexible when customer did not meet the promise date of return

Nastassia M. on 12/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Double check the locations of your trucks. There were 4 rows of 10' trucks. The person at the front gave me the key to a truck that was behind a front truck so I had to waste about 15 minutes to get a new key and get re-checked out.

Tommy B. on 12/23/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location did not have our 15ft truck ready. They gave my contractor a 10ft truck. This was too small and I had to hire additional hands to help cover the issue. I also had to have another person come back to the location to pick up a 15ft truck, in which the manager, Alejandra(?) was uncooperative and was originally unwilling to release a truck because my contractor was using the company credit card. This was extremely frustrating because the original contractor spent 50 minutes trying to get our originally reserved 15ft truck. We were charged for both vehicles and it caused serious stress to all involved. As someone who spends $5k-$6k per year with UHaul, I expect that we will receive a full reimbursement for the 10ft truck rental and a refund for the additional costs incurred with my business due to incompetence of the UHaul employees involved. Matt - info@photo-matica.com - 415 375 1528. Corp account number: 7445.998.01409

Joseph D. on 12/23/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The van was picked up and we did not realize that the cargo area had been urinated on until it was too late. We had to use the van anyway. We ruined two $45 moving blankets to cover up the urine and it caused serious stress to all involved on a busy day for my business. As someone who spends $5k-$6k per year with UHaul, I hope that we will receive some kind of reimbursement. Matt - info@photo-matica.com - 415 375 1528. Corp account number: 7445.998.01409

devan k. on 12/23/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was assisted by Alejandra Lopez, she was so rude and did not help me. She gave me a truck at 4.30 PM and wanted to bring it back on next day morning at 8 AM telling that she wanted to rent the truck to someone else next day. In that case I think I should not be charged for full day. She was not friendly and did not have patience to answer my questions. She was behaving as if she was renting me the truck for free. She should learn how to deal customers. I do not think I will ever come back to Uhaul at San Francisco near Bryant St again and would not recommend any of my friends to go there. Sorry for being harsh but your front desk representatives should know how to talk and deal customers.

TONY P. on 12/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck Dispatch needs to be in uniform. It's hard to tell who works there, especially when someone wants to see your contract...

MAURO P. on 12/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Be less confusing

deborah b. on 12/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

efficient service on both ends, thanks so much

MERCEDES D. on 12/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Please ask the employees at the counter to TRY to be friendly. I felt like I was bothering them by checking out a vehicle. When I called about something missing in my vehicle, they said I would be credited and I never was. The guy who (we think) was a manager was pleasant and actually helpful.

MATTHIAS M. on 12/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Location is super busy, waited in line for over 30 minutes to find out that the vehicle I ha reserved was no longer available. Staff were super friendly and worked hard to solve my issues

Joshua S. on 12/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There is a disconnect between what's on the web and what happens in practice. The web reflects a 4-hour rental but gives the impression of a loose reservation start time. In practice, you get 4 hours from the time your reservation window begins.

OLEKSANDR B. on 12/20/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

expensive

ZACH L on 12/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good

BRENDA D. on 12/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff is very slow and not too motivated to assist you. The transaction is completed ok, but an overall lack of energy is obvious.

TRAVIS W. on 12/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a surprisingly pleasant experience. Everyone was really nice.

Joe L. on 12/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the vehicle was new, clean and in excellent condition, except the windshield was a bit dirty and the washer spray didn't help much, which is annoying. the location was super neat and clean and the folks at every station were courteous and helpful. I noticed that the vehicles in the lot seemed to be newer and clean and it looks like a well run facility, in spite of my nitpick about the windshield. I was disappointed that there isn't an after hours drop off. overall a very good experience. Uhaul is my go-to for moving trucks and supplies and this experience reinforced that.

MATTIE S. on 12/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The wait on the phone was somewhat long so may need more counter help or support. Overall, excellent service, friendly, thorough and very much appreciated. Great rates!

Mark C. on 12/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had to get a truck at the last minute and the people there were very helpful and patient! Thank you very much!

DONALD C. on 12/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

U-Haul pricing is complex, and it was hard to figure out the best rate for our needs.

ROXANNE B. on 12/15/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck was filthy on the outside, they did not have the truck ready and I had to wait while they moved 4 other trucks to get to the one assigned to me. The attendant (J.S.) was not very nice to us, gave no assistance or information when asked questions and left me feeling I was imposing on his morning. The girl inside also didn't seem to want to bother to answer questions or help in any way. Over all there was no customer service inside or outside at this uhaul. This is the second time I have rented a Uhaul truck at this location (previous time was in 2011) and had the same experience then. I will not use them again. I would not recommend this location to anyone unless they had no other options.

brett l. on 12/14/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It seemed that there were a lot of 3rd parties involved for drop off and delivery of the pod. Everyone was extremely nice, but there was a few snafus since there were so many people were involved. Basically, communication and everyone on the same page could have been a bit better. All in all, great experience.

KRISTIN E. on 12/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My reservation had been cancelled when I arrived :( They were able to make it work for me and I got my truck in time which was awesome. I wanted a 2-day rental however and I'm not sure where confusion happened because I was called to return the uHaul after only one day. I was already far away and not able to return the uHaul and now I think I am being penalized. I am a VERY frequent customer and I would appreciate if someone would reach out to me to resolve this.

SIMON Y on 12/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you

robert w. on 12/12/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone (and I talked/interacted with 4 employees) was perfect. Great team !.

David O. on 12/10/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very hectic location. Felt very unsafe leaving my car parked nearby due to extreme amounts of homeless people/camps. Would avoid returning to this location due to unsafe feeling in general.

mark g on 12/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service was horrible, and I had to pay extra money for miles and extend my moving day by more than two hours due to the double ubox trailer not being available

MARK G. on 12/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer service is extremely poor and I had to pay additional money for miles and extend my moving day by more than two hours due to the fact that the lights on your double ubox trailer were not working.

ALDO R. on 12/8/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was given the truck with less then 1/4 gallon. I was told by the person who checked me out to bring it at 1/4 or risk getting fined for bringing it under a 1/4, he then said it would be adjusted for me when I came back. I was not credited for the extra gas I pumped. Your location lacks communication and leadership. No body bothered to verify between departments of what I was saying was true. I was dismissed with no resolution. I will not be using you guys again.

WILLIAM J. on 12/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good service, I can't remember names, but all of the employees I worked with were professional, respectful, and honest. Thank you.

Jun Y. on 12/7/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The checkout process was longer than expected

Sebastian C on 12/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks

Jesse W. on 12/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything was fine, I don't know why you have such bad yelp reviews. Spoiled shits probably.

SUSIE C. on 12/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff at this location are really great! Thanks

ROXANNE M on 12/5/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

friendly clean affordable and safe

DOMENICHI M on 12/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very efficient.

Deepti S on 12/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Amazing service, Uhaul made my move so easy and efficient, I would recommend this service to anyone who is moving across the country.

bruce m. on 12/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing, the check in person was very nice, the check out guy name Luther, was beyond great, nice helpful pleasant. thank you

david v. on 12/1/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

More professinal customer service. Have a good printed out receipt, mine was very faded and more then 10% unreadable. Clean parking lot especially nails and screws pick up 5 nails and one screw as I walked the parking lot to pick up my rental truck as proof I handed it them over to the attendant to make him aware of the situation. Maybe this is a management issue.

KELLY P on 12/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Whatvstoid out was that the staff were very professional and extremely helpful. Thank you for your sevice.

SAM S. on 11/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I cannot think of any possible improvements.

mark g on 11/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had many issues, but primarily I had to drive back and forth to the uhaul center because the trailer that holds two uboxes was broken costing me additional charged miles and time.

ROLANDA M. on 11/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Overall everyone was helpful and was very impressed with there professionalism.

Tim I. on 11/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check in was a bit slow, but I think that was due to a trainee. Reservation was easy, pick up was easy, return was easy. Thanks.

CHIKA E on 11/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was really nice and helpful. They were efficient and had me in and out in a timely manner.

MARION S on 11/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Moving, even just dealing with boxes of stuff, bleh. I rented a vehicle here as well and I`m not kidding the staff was top notch thank u. It`s the people that make the brand.

TUNG T. on 11/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

uhaul was out of one way trucks.. it was last minute move so i didnt have a reservation though.

priscilla z. on 11/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was my first time renting storage and a moving truck. Reason I had to do so was because I'm going through a trough transition in my life right now. Everyone at this location made the entire process super smooth and easy. Very grateful for every person on the staff that I came across. Thank you all!

JON P on 11/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, especially Jessica.

PAULA A on 11/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Jessica and Sophie were wonderful. Especially Jessica--she is the best. Thanks

ROLANDA M on 11/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I really like the weekend staff that was there when I came the first time. They where friendly and very helpful.

laura T on 11/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Spent 2 hrs on the phone w/UH to get my moving help. Was told my moving help was arranged. 2 days before my box was to arrive, nothing was in system! Called again for an hr to arrange moving help.

Evan H. on 11/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I made the reservation online it did not tell me that the truck had to be returned by the location's closing time (or if it did say it, it wasn't obvious). Since they close early on Sundays that would have been good to know. I didn't realize how long it would take to actually pickup the truck. I planned on a four hour window, but it took nearly 30 minutes to pickup my 10' truck since the cashier needed to find a manager to login and complete my order, then the computers wouldn't process my order, then they weren't sure where the truck had been parked, and finally it turned out the truck had been blocked in by other trucks. The two cashiers who helped me at the register were really nice. They were apologetic and sincere about how long the process took. My sense is that they aren't being given sufficient resources. When I went to the lot to actually get the truck, the dude there basically pointed up the ramp and said, "go find it." Not helpful. When you check out a truck at this location you park the truck on a down-facing ramp for check-out inspection. This tilts the gas tank forward and makes the gas gauge register a lot more fuel in the tank than when the truck is on level ground. When you return the truck, it's parked on the same hill facing up, which makes the discrepancy even worse. When I called the guy out on this he was quick to adjust my check-out sheet to reflect a lower gas gauge reading. Glad I asked!

Amy B. on 11/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service has already improved a lot since I began storing my belongings with U-Haul last year.

Amy B on 11/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Delivery of my U-Box was convenient and cost efficient. The employees I spoke with were professional and knowledgeable.

KYLE M. on 11/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I requested pickup in Oakland, and got San Francisco. I should have been compensated for the gas and bridge toll I had to pay to get to the truck. If I requested Oakland, someone could have brought a truck over if it wasn't at the site I wanted. Instead you make the customer do the leg work, bad practice. I'll likely use your competitor next time.

Robert H. on 11/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was awesome as was the van.

FABIAN A. on 11/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was awesome!

PETER Q. on 11/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A quicker way to process drop off/returns.

STEVE K. on 11/21/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was told my U-Box and truck rental would be at the same location when they were actually at two separate locations. You did this to me at both ends of my move in San Francisco, CA and Madison, WI. After I got my truck at the first location in SF and drove to the second location where my U-Box was, they didn't have it on a trailer... even though I booked it that way. So they had to write a new contract and take even more of my time. And then I found out they didn't give me a ball hitch with the truck. The entire moving experience in both cities was incredibly frustrating and wasted a lot of my time.

SUSIE C. on 11/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were very happy to get a van which had less than 1/8 of a tank of gas, so that we could bring it back 1/4 full and get $15 off our rate. I wonder if we could ask for such a van in the future?

Kyle H. on 11/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Was very pleased overall.

KUAI Y. on 11/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

SCOTT G. on 11/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

everybody great and friendly.

ALICIA B on 11/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Yes I would recommend a friend

DEREK B. on 11/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Casey did a great job with my experience.He was the reason I will go back to u-haul after having a truck break down on me.

Victor S. on 11/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck was clean and dependable. The staff was friendly and professional. The pickup and drop off could not have been more convenient.????

Vyacheslav C. on 11/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good job

Paul J. on 11/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I just wanted to express my appreciation to David, Jessica and Phil for all of their help. I don't have their last names or I would include them here, but they are doing an excellent job. :-)

MARIANNA K. on 11/12/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made reservations for Valencia street and when I arrived, they old me I need to go to the Bryant street location. They said UHaul called and left me a voice message about the change, I listened to the voice mail and this change was not mentioned. They only confirmed the time of the pickup and not the location. I had to pay money out of pocket for transportation and waste time to get to the other location.

MICHAEL M. on 11/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Back door was hitting something and very, very difficult to open and close, and windshield was dirty, but other than that a very good experience.

JULIETA C on 11/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was great!

SHARON L. on 11/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very courteous and polite

IAN B on 11/10/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My unit could have used overhead lighting. Dumpster full too often. Good overall experience.

Louis D on 11/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good service

BRYAN K. on 11/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I am a catering company on Treasure island, and rent a truck with a ramp almost every weekend. I want to know why I cannot get a rental and drop off a rental to the location on treasure island. Instead of having to pickup in Vallejo of San francisco

Thomas T. on 11/7/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Employees couldn't care less about helping and we're just sitting around outside instead of helping us when the truck we rented was boxed in by other trucks. One employee just sat on a wall, wouldn't even look up from the phone she was texting from, and told us we had to go back into the office around the corner and get the set of keys to move the truck. We came out with the second set of keys, and she became very annoyed when we handed her the keys and asked her to move the truck that was in our way. Awful experience overall.

DEANN R. on 11/5/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was extremely upset, the rental was about $30 more than the estimate,because of mileage. I told the service rep where I was going she said 25mi would cover it. I went more than 25mi, had I known I would have added more at the time of rental. It was not informed that there was a chart explaining how many gallons of gas needed to fill the vehicle back up. I but $35 in the tank and was not reimbursed for it. It was way over the amount that was in the vehicle initially.

CRAIG T. on 11/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Ensure that orders are placed for actual items rented. I had ordered a pack of six blankets but was charged for 6 furniture dollies.

THIEN N on 11/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

none

OSCAR P on 11/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was ok....service could be friendlier!

DEBORAH F on 11/3/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had a problem w/the lights shutting off in the hallway every 15min. requiring stopping, leaving the unit entirely and walking around until the motion sensor turned the lights back on.

JAY B. on 11/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both the woman who helped me in Santa Monica and the man I dropped the truck off with in San Francisco were both equally as nice and helpful. All around an easy experience which is very helpful during any moving experience.

Alberto R. on 11/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service from all staff at location was quite good. However, the truck was missing key repair equipment (spare lowering tool), and this location did not seem to have spares to give to roadside assistance. The delays from all of these problems led me to have to cancel all of my Saturday plans, and made a stressful thing (moving) much more stressful and difficult than it had to be.

MIKE B. on 11/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Easy to get to. The organization between the office and the yard could be better.

Josh P. on 11/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff were pleasant, professional, and efficient

ERIN P. on 11/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had reserved a 10' truck and had confirmed online before going to pick up the truck. However, when I got there, they said they didn't have any 10' trucks available, and instead would "upgrade" me to a 15' truck. However, driving in SF is not easy, much less with a bigger truck. I didn't want a 15' truck, which is why I reserved the 10' truck.

Howard B. on 11/1/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I made reservation online and filled out all of the information for a quicker checkin. After I checked in it took 25 minutes to get the van. When I went to the lot to pick up the van, they said they couldn't find the key for the van. They they went back an forth for 10 minutes to find another van. They couldn't find the key for that one either. Once they found a key, it appeared to be a spare key, because it was not the electronic key --there was no remote lock. The van had only 1/8 tank of gas (I thought you charge extra if brought back below 1/4). Anyhow, 35 minutes after I checked in, I was finally able to drive away. Very disorganized location. Nobody seemed to care I was waiting around forever.

JAMIE K. on 11/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience all around, but check-in was especially good. Lamar (I think was his name) was quick and courteous and made the whole process a breeze!

JOHN V. on 11/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was a little concerned about leaving my personal car on the street during the time I rented the truck. I wish there was a secure place to park on the property.

John G. on 11/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The issued cargo van was an older model than previously issued, with unexpected door locking controls. Discovered that some doors unlocked, and had to check every door to be sure they were locked.

BOBBY P. on 10/31/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Reservation never went through. Forced into a much larger truck rental And had to drive it round trip- cost me more than twice as much as my original reservation. Vehicle had sand on the floor of the cab and in the cargo area. Overall, extremely dissapointing experience. Spent over $400 for a 50 mile move... That's WRONG uhaul

LISA G. on 10/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everyone here clearly hated their jobs.

Arthur A on 10/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

process was never explained correctly. finger pointing went every other way whomever i spoke with.

buck t. on 10/29/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Francisco office was very helpful when making our reservation. However once we had paid and arrived in Bellevue Washington the two local offices Kent and Seattle where horrible neither office knew where our PODS where neither office would help us set up delivery and movers. Employees where rude and unhelpful and answered the phones "hello". Most incompetent employees and business I have ever worked with. It took us 2 days to find a employee willing to help us and it still took 3 hours. Will never use uhaul again or recommend the service. I will be writing a yelp review. no one apologized for experience and would not let us speak to manger that was competent. once you guys had our money all customer service went out the window! absolutely horrible!!!!!!!!!! We went 2 extra days without our stuff because of incompentant employees and lack of basic training.

eric h on 10/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was in great shape - thanks a lot for your help with our move!

SALEM K. on 10/28/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Moving help solicitation curbside is obnoxious. PEEPEE SMELL at the bottom of the ramp!!!!!

JOHN G on 10/28/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

U-Haul will never know how bad this facility is being maintained because of the 200 character limit on Comments! Staff very nice, but facility poorly maintained with many Security issues.

KATHRYN C on 10/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your staff, especially Jessica, is outstanding!

ROBERT J. on 10/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

truck bed was not clean but the employee at the check out offered to clean it out.

ZHEN W. on 10/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

offer some promotion will be better

NATHAN C. on 10/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Had to wait awhile . The truck was there but no one helped me get it until I waited for almost 40 min at the bottom of the driveway . Nice people, just seemed a little disorganized .

EDWARD B. on 10/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you! The staff was friendly. Everything went without a hitch.

JULIE C. on 10/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was a little confusing where to drop the truck off

john w on 10/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Delivery Company had wrong address and was late before going to wrong address making them 7 hours late total. Needed a 2nd box but it was too late to get one so had to leave a chair and lamp.

Erin S on 10/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Outside of the box being a day late it was a good experience. One team member was very helpful with getting my rental van to my ubox.

ALEXIS D on 10/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Needles and pointless bureaucratic wrangling with admissions. No trash services whatsover. Staff uncaring.

GORDON L. on 10/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good people

Mia S. on 10/23/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I originally had a reservation for today Friday the 23 but needed to pick up the truck a day earlier. So I called the 100 Valencia locations to see if i could come a day early. In do so i found out that the 9' cargo van did not have a ramp which was important because i needed to use a dolly to move some heavy boxes and a dresser. So i had to switch my truck size to the 15' to have a ramp for the dolly. It was way more space then needed, cost more, higher milage fee, higher insurance cost, and lower gas miliage but hey if it meant not throwing my back out i was ok with that. So the nice man help me move my reservation to the 1525 Bryant location because they were the only ones that had a 15' that day. He put a dolly on my reservation and set it for a 5:15 pick up. I was very happy with the service at that point. I get to the Bryant location right at 5:15 and was helped by a very nice lady. Did the paperwork walked out back and got my truck and drove it to the check out man to verify everything like the lady told me and way on my way. Right on schedule. I live on a main street that is meter parking until 6pm. It also is a tow away zone from 4-6pm so I knew that if I got there right at 6 i would have pleanty of parking infont of my building or easy loading of my things. My plan worked got home at 5:57 and parker right in front of my apartment building and had room to pull the ramp out too. Great! Then I opened the truck to find that there was no dolly in it. My cheerful mood quickly turned to panic. I called the location and they said they don't always keep the dolly's in the truck like other locations and I had to ask the guy outside to get one for me. That was all news to me as it was not communicated to me that that was the case. I asked if one could be delivered to me as I was not able to move the truck to come back. I would never get a park anywhere near my apartment if I did that. The lady on the phone was not very nice only saying that the company name is uhaul meaning that you don't deliver anything. The only thing she could do was take it of my contract. Great but that does nothing for me. I needed that dolly, it was the whole reason for getting the bigger truck. I was on a time crunch and had not way other then bus to get there and back with a dolly which would have not worked for my time schedule. I asked if i could just bring the truck back then because I can't do much without the dolly and was told that I could but I would still be charged for the full rental. So to be blunt i was screwed. Needless to say I was livid at this point. Very disappointed in the lack of service I was receiving I got off the phone before I said what was on my mind to the lady on the phone. I moved what i could and then hired 3 guys in my building to help. Lucky they took payment in the form of beer and pizza because i had no cash. So in summary, I got a bigger truck from a further location, paid a lot more then i needed to and had to improvise last minuet whi

ERNEST C. on 10/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

None. Everything went smoothly on BOTH ends.

Sarah C. on 10/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

easy peasy.

MICHAEL M. on 10/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was great from first to last - much appreciated.

KEN H. on 10/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Mileage rate is to expensive 1.99$ per mile is to much

JAMES E. on 10/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

How would you rate this location overall? The bar has already been set so low by this company, that it doesn't take much to earn a higher rating than some of the competition, not to mention, some of the other neighboring U-haul locations. Was the equipment clean and well maintained? Is this a trick question? Yes, equipment was clean. However, how can a total POS, jalopy u-haul truck qualify for 'well maintained'. It's been 18 years since I rented my last U-haul, and now I remember why... Because your vehicles are by far the WORST in the industry. You wouldn't have to ask your customers to review if you had a half way decent product. It SUCKS. It BLOWS. Time for a major overhaul. The 'U' in 'U-Haul' should stand for the 'U' in 'Upgrade. Would you recommend this location to a friend? The location, perhaps, yes. The incompetent, illiterate derelicts who work there, and the POS vehicles that they rent - definitely, NO!!!!! If you have any other questions please feel free to contact me. I hope I've been of some service to you.

SHRONDA J. on 10/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The trucks should be aired out my truck smelled like cigarettes, they need to have more workers on staff I had to wait to return truck , and wait wait in line to pay for the return.

RICKEY O. on 10/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff seems unapproachable at first, but they turn out to be competent and professional with their responsibilities.. A little coaching around people skills and exhibiting a positive and friendly attitude will improve the customer experience.

MARY F. on 10/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone was very helpful. Rob was there to check me out of the parking lot on Thursday and then he was there on Friday morning to check my uhaul back in. Everything was easy with no surprises.

JASON B. on 10/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I am just one happy customer of uhaul sf located @ bryant st. So last saturday10/10/15 we got our rented truck and everything worked out well till billing etc. But at night i started worrying because my ipad mini was gone and am suspecting i might have left it at the truck. So i called uhaul and they were polite enough to get my concern and told me they would call back. After a day without receiving a return call i called uhaul and addressed my concern and they said they gonna give me feedback. On Tuesday 10/12/15 i decided to visit the office and to my delight they returned it back to me. I understand that maybe they were just busy that's why I haven't received a call back but to sum it all Iam very thankful for their professionalism and great effort to make the most for their customers. I truly appreciate the fact that their employess were also honest and true to their service, my ipad might not be too expensive but the fact that it costs my personal data is too much for me to worry about. With all sincere thanks and gratitude thanks uhaul for your good service.

ERIC S. on 10/13/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars