U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

Share |

Address

1000 Sherman Ave
Elizabeth, NJ 07202

(908) 355-6462

(Located next to Twin City Supermarket)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Storage access

  • Mon-Sun: 24 hours

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

NANCY C. on 5/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome staff

MORRIS M. on 5/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mr. Omar, was courteous, efficient, and knowledgeable of the rental equipment. His customer service skills were excellent. It would be a delight to refer my family, friends, and co-workers to Mr. Omar's facility. Thank you for a fine selection in personnel.

Tamisha B. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect

Melvin M. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was a long line, should've been more that one person to take reservations.

Patricia S. on 5/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Once again my experience with this location and most of all dealing with Omar has been above and beyond expectations! The place is immaculate, like no other I have seen and I have used Uhaul in various locations frequently. I love dealing with Omar everything runs so smoothly and he is so upbeat, friendly and accommodating. Thank you again Omar! Thank you Uhaul! Love this Elizabeth location a lot! Trucks are clean, new and they never have any kind of odors. Kudos to you guys! You stand out from all the rest. Patricia Strobel

NICKZA P. on 5/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great costumer service and prices are cheap!

NANCY C. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The team there are awesome... Friendly and ready to help customers with their issues..... Keep up the good work...

Patricia S. on 5/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Omar was above and beyond wonderful! Friendly, accommodating, courteous and very efficient. We love Omar! Patricia Strobe and Anita Gore

sara o. on 5/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My Mother and I recently relocated to New York City from Honolulu, Hawaii and as loyal UHaul customers for many years now, we decided to use UHaul once again for our self-move needs. We rented a UHaul 9' Cargo Van for the afternoon. We must say that working with Omar Sullivan and his team at UHaul Moving & Storage of Elizabeth was our best experience with any UHaul EVER. Omar himself was very kind and personable from the moment we rented our van from him all the way through our final turn in and payment. He went over and above, exceeding every service standard, in helping to arrange an Uber or Lyft ride to our final destination. Omar made our transition, which otherwise could've been a very stressful experience, a seamless and pleasurable one. It was clear to us, as customers, that Omar fosters a service-forward store, where the entire team seemed to be working together and supporting each other. This is a store we will be returning for all our moving and storage needs, as well as recommending to all we meet. Thank you, Omar & team, for an overall stellar job!

MARIO R. on 5/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very nice and effective.

alvaro o. on 5/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good group of workers. Good equipment. No complaints.

NANCY C. on 5/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Omar Sullivan was so helpful we love him keep him there

DAMION Y. on 5/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service

shana g. on 5/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager was very kind and patient

Shawndra G. on 5/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall I had a wonderful experience at this location. The truck was clean the staff was courteous and professional and informative. I will definitely be using them and refering to friends and family.

Joseph S. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work. I'v rented here for 10 years for a charitable one-pitch softball tournament called Play Ball For Miracles. If anything a little more help at the counter, always busy!

DENISE P. on 5/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service. Thank you.

ALICIA C. on 5/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Omar is the best!!! Really went above to help out!!!! Oh the staff works very well together!!!!

KARL h. on 5/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Short staffed....representatives were professional ....continued to provide a GREAT attitude for each customer ....will recommend this location...GREAT WORK

Earl M. on 4/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Leiah's is an excellent representative of the company. Her interpersonal skill, personality, work ethic and knowledge of the company's protocols are incomparable. Leiah made me feel welcome.

KERI-DEAN S on 4/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You guys did good

Thomas M. on 4/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Did not have Blankets? Ordered them ahead? Had to go to another place out of my way.

Cynthia R. on 4/22/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Please check your receipt carefully. After being told I would be charged $63 I got a receipt stating that my car was charged $108 for a 5 hour rental. I called the location & they stated that they had made a mistake and charged me a two day rental even when my reservation was done online. They did correct the problem but it was an inconvenience having to call to have to get refunded & the wait period to receive my refund back.

Urbie C. on 4/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Omar was great and everything was excellent. Please, thank Omar for great customer service for us.

Raul L. on 4/20/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

N/a

NADINE S. on 4/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My experience was good however I was a little disappointed that the hidden fees wasn't told to me up front. Insurance I expected to pay but the cost for environmental and taxes were extremely high.

NANCY C. on 4/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Running a Awesome store, means keeping great employee.... Give those employees a raise, they deserve it..... I am a weekly customer and love seeing the same employee, CANNOT stand seeing new faces because that means they don't know what they are doing.

Derrick C. on 4/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Better rates.

TAMARA T. on 4/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service...Everything went smoothly. Exactly what I needed after a hacked move.

Robert B. on 4/14/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved 24 Moving blankets and when I picked up the truck there were none available.

JIAJUN W. on 4/13/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The personnel confirmed the gas level that is not full. She modified the paper contract but the system still show the gas is full.

ADALBERTO A. on 4/12/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

the gas tank was not full!!!!! because is parking after you take off the bas goin down to lees in quarter is imposile to put 5 dollars for 13 milles so fix you trucks please

john b. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every Thing was Excellent! Only God is Perfect! I Don't know If, You can improve!!! The Entire Staff set The Bar for Excellence very High!!! Short of Passing God's Vetting Process; and entering Heaven, and being Granted! Angel's Wings'! Do Not change anything!

Samuel V. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

NJ Location: Personal were NICE and friendly. Very helpful, quick and professional. Dropping off was pleasant. I have rented before from this location and they were always courteous and friendly.

Coretta T. on 4/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Only complaint i have is when picking up truck attendant was on a call helping a customer when there was a line waiting. Another attendant was in and out the office. I thought she should help with the line, that took time, I had people waiting to move my stuff. Once I finally got waited on the guy was quick and very helpful.

Marion D. on 4/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When a customer make reservations online and include a appliance dolly. I think you all should make certain one is available at the time of pick up, If not guaranteed then you all should not give customers the option to include it in the order online and state that. Thank you..

michelle n. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have no complaints. The gentleman who serviced me on Tuesday, 3/29/16 (I'm so sorry I didn't ask his name)was extremely professional and personable without going over the top. I had a personal issue that prevented me from immediately renting the truck and he was so comforting. He handled my situation with confidentiality and displayed true empathy. Thank you for having him on your team. He made a great impact on me.

harold t. on 3/22/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Manager had attitude...I received a text stating my equipment was ready when I went to pick it up it was damage....

GARY E. on 3/22/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I drove on the compound (as did other customers) looking for parking and was immediately blocked in by an employee who drove a truck on my car's bumper as if he wanted to hit my vehicle. When he had me trapped, he got out and cursed me out telling me I should have parked outside on the street. He stood by my window cursing until he eventually got back in his truck and move it so that I could reverse. I WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY EVER AGAIN!!!

Elizabeth L. on 3/21/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged for one extra day and a missing dolly and when I called the location to find out why and have the charge credited back to me I was informed that the truck was found a day later with the key inside. I told the employee on the phone that I returned the truck within 5 hours of pick up and expected refund. She said she was getting back to me and I have not heard from her nor have I received the credit.

Daniel G. on 3/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little confusing where to return the van to

Ellen W. on 3/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We not only rented a truck to move, but we also rented a storage unit which was much needed and also happen to be available through the said truck rental establishment . But there were a few drawbacks. 1. The unit we purchased was on text second level, but there were NO ELEVATORS. My roommate and his friend nearly hurt themselves pulling extremely heavy objects up the stairs. That should not be. 2.The units only go up to 10'×10', we had to rent a second unit which was smaller. It was very inconvenient. We got a price break on the second unit but once again it was on the second floor. No ELEVATORS.

Khalid B. on 3/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Same I said above.

FERNANDO J C. on 3/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Is ok

WILLIE J. on 3/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was charged for movers that didnt show up. Had to contact uhaul for credit. Also we had a flat tire and roadside service took over 90 minutes leaving us in the highway.

MARIE T. on 3/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

2 elevators would be nice, especially when your sharing with someone else, it would be a lot easier and quicker, thanks guys for your nice office manager :)

Hernan M. on 3/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

MARIA M. on 3/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I got charge over 100 dollars extra. Miles vacillation is completely wrong. Customers service is the worst and when I returned the truck I should have being giving a receipt with miles calculation and verything else.

PENELOPE H. on 3/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Need more one way small trucks

BIENVENIDO D. on 2/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing because the customer service was very good and very nice uhaul is a very good company

ANTHONY A. on 2/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

As a regular user of your service I am always impressd by the great courtesy and professionalism of your operation at Sherman Ave. location. Keep up the good work

MAURICIO R. on 2/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good service, good people.

CARLOS R. on 2/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I, will recommend this location to anyone, excellent thank you.

CORINNA K on 2/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There were mice.

NOAH S on 2/16/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Facility condition and service provides was good. No issues.

CORINNA K. on 2/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Staff was very helpful.

MIGUEL V. on 2/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A1+

LLICERDA M. on 2/7/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Please have more pleasant workers.

JOHAUN C. on 2/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service all across the board!

michelle F. on 2/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have to be honest and say that the truck that was given to me was in really really bad shape. I had to hold the outside mirrors with my hand which was very dangerous. I was shocked at what was put on me and I was by myself. Very traumatic experience! Please check your trucks on a daily basis. And to make it so bad ,, I put more gas in the vehicle then I was supposed to and could not get a refund.

Erlon A. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

keep smiling lol

JOHN P. on 1/31/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

2 extra charges on the bill for stuff I did not request. Was not able to review the charges before paying.

Derrick C. on 1/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hire more great worker like these guys.

LEYDA Q on 10/5/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Beware!!! Incredibly misleading sales people and completely over priced. I`m moving out asap!

CHANDRA G on 9/18/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Rodent infested. Severely overcharge on truck rental. Staff needs better training diversity.

CAROLINE G on 8/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

generally positive, although they forgot to take me out of the system when I moved out and so I continued to receive bills in the month after I had moved. When I called they fixed it.

ROLF F on 8/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful and super friendly!

YAHKYMA G on 8/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and friendly

THERESA G on 8/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was billed after removing my items from storage unit. Other than that my experience was good.

MICHELE M on 7/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I found 2 dead mice in the unit. An add`l payment was taken from my account after I moved out. I`m still waiting for the money to be returned.

ANA MARIA L on 6/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Yes recommend, it was clean, convenient access and knowledgeable staff

VEDIKA L on 6/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was my first experience with UHaul. Brilliant service throughout - simply impressed, especially with your Elizabeth 07302 staff. Thank you!

ATIYYA S P on 4/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service was great.

PHILLISA R on 4/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The facility was well maintained and secure and the staff was always very helpful

MICHELLE E on 1/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The facility was neat and clean and very professional

MARY T on 12/19/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

no comment

MABLE M on 12/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was great, place is well lit and secure, the only bad thing about this facility is there`s no elevator to bring your belongings in and the steps can get a bit much to someone with asthma.

ANTONETTE D on 9/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Things were stolen out of my storage unit. When I called, I was told my unit didn`t looked tampered with like I was lying when I know what I own.

REGINA D on 5/31/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Price for rental is to expensive.

PIUS P on 3/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was ok, the reps can be more friendly and act like they love or like the job.

CAROLYN V on 1/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

For $10 only, we were able to have 24 hr access to our storage unit.

NORMAN EDWARD S on 1/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and Curtis staff. I would highly recommend them.

CAROLYN V on 12/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful staff! It was a pleasure renting from them.

KAREN P on 11/19/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The facility is well kept, staff is very friendly.

RINA V on 10/21/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Easy access not burocratic stress was great. Very practical. Thanks.

JORGE C on 10/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

SANDRA R on 8/10/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was charged a $10 fee to have 24 hour access despite me receiving a letter stating that it was supposed to be free as part of my storage agreement.

KISHORE Y on 7/18/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good. Very friendly staff.

PATRICK V on 6/28/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff. Friendly and very professional.

ROBERT L on 6/16/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

xoxo

PATRICK V on 4/30/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great friendly and professional. Excellent customer service experience.

SANJAY J on 4/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

you guys ROCKS!!!!

NORMA F on 12/18/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall great experience!

REID U on 12/10/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was Great!

LISA R on 11/6/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I wouldnt change a thing. Customer service was superior.

HELENA R on 8/24/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My rental unit is on the top level of the facility and I am extremely disappointed to find that there is no way to get there except by STAIRS. No elevator. REALLY!

KIM W on 8/20/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the staff was very courteous and friendly thank you

DEREK L on 7/22/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Did not like having pest traps in my unit, could have used a light to see inside the unit otherwise great experience - easy to get in and out and facility was safe and felt clean overall

MELISSA C on 7/17/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would prefer the ACCESS hours to extend into the evening on Sundays, being that it`s more convenient for people to move on the weekends rather than during the week.

DEREK L on 6/22/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clerk was very friendly and helpful, storage was easy to access and appears safe because it is indoors storage unit could have been cleaner

KATHERINE A P on 6/16/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was fine.

MAYURESH S on 6/10/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The hours need to be longer

ALISHA F on 6/8/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They are impossible to get ahold of. I tried to contact U-Haul in Elizabeth NJ for 4 days before I finally got someone to pick up my boxes.

LAWRENCE S on 3/9/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

wasn`t told about all the fees upfront. also had problems due in payment due to a hold placed on my account which i was told wouldn`t be resolved for 5 days, but the hold was lifted that day.

DAVID S on 3/5/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

friendly staff and on time delivery

PIUS P on 1/24/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was outstanding and the manager went above and beyound to make sure my move was nice and easy.

MICHAEL A on 11/21/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was very good!

DONALD L on 9/30/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very, very good. The young lady at the counter was lovely!

GRETCHEN P on 9/8/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very clean. everyone very professional.

MEISHA JOVONE F on 8/10/2011
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The store was clean but I never get in touch with someone from the actually store when calling.

CHRISTINE V A on 6/24/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dawn and her staff have always been helpful and friendly. I`ve had storage at this facility since 2007. Thanks everyone,

FLAVIO F on 6/12/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good customer service, I`m very happy. Thanks

CHRISTINE V A on 4/26/2011
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young lady who took care of me was extremely nice. Matter of fact, each time I visit the facility or call in to make payment I`ve had no problems.

VERA H on 1/24/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

helpful professional

IVANA B on 1/7/2011
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager onsite dawn is very helpful. She helped make a tough situation easier to deal with.

IDA S on 12/5/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

After 12pm there was only 1 person working and there was a lind of approx 8-10 customers. Seemed a little short on staffing. I had to wait 30+minutes just to reserve an additional storage unit.

DUANE C on 11/6/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The choice in size of the unit we used was perfect, so I wasn`t paying for a unit with too much or not enough space. The manager Dawn was very pleasant.

LUIS H on 8/22/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and clean facility.

LUIS H on 7/23/2010
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dawn was excellent in providing my movers directions to the wstorage location.

JEREMY F on 5/25/2010
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

While my experience was good, the pricing was not competitive. There were too many hidden cost and the policies were not the best i.e the disk lock. I left the facility was the cost was too much.

JEREMY F on 3/26/2010
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only complaints are the price of the monthly storage fee. As well as having to purchase a special lock for the faclity.

EILLAEN M W on 12/10/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Dawn was extremely helpful during the time I dealt with the Elizabeth U-Haul store. I found her to be extremely pleasant abd helpful.

MURIEL S on 11/22/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ive had my storage for 3yrs. and the staff at this Uhaul have and had always been professional and courteous. I will definitely use them in the future......

SHEMIK M F on 11/12/2009
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Upon obtaining a storage unit, I was under the assumption that this facility was secure. My storage unit was broken into.

DELI F on 10/13/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best experience ever. Geeral manager was absolutely helpfull in every way possible. Thank you very much for the great help.

MICHAEL ADAM S on 10/3/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

good service

ALVERTO C on 9/14/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

.

DELI F on 9/10/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

both location managers were superb Linden and Elizabeth centers. My move went great. Thank you

LAUREN W on 8/31/2009
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Call me!!!

KEITH G T on 8/20/2009
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good service thanks

PAUL N on 4/2/2009
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I truly liked the U-HAUL service.