U-Haul of Milpitas

U-Haul of Milpitas

Share |

Address

2395 Oakland Rd
San Jose, CA 95131

(408) 943-9191

(@ Montague Expwy)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Milpitas

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Milpitas

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Maria L. on 7/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I didn't know there was already a dolly and pad that came with the truck, I paid for another one if that can be mention in the specification that will help.

Joe E. on 7/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

charge the quoted rate and don't bundle miles in. I went over budget due to their up-sells and couldn't purchase the item that necessitated the truck.

James K. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Late drop off went smooth

Monte R. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The speedy electronic checkout is AWESOME!

ELISA G. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

always great customer service! thanks

Jesse R. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome customer service, we had some issues with wiring for a 8×5 Uhaul trailer. The shop in San Jose was very kind, understanding and the employees displayed a professional attitude with great customer service. The wiring issue was resolved and we were able to complete our trip with no issues. Thanks again and we will look forward to using Uhaul again. ;)

Ernesto J. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not charge for the unused equipment, i.e dolly, furniture pads.

Angelina M. on 7/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy who helped my dad and I was very nice and helpful. A great experience.

Baba K. on 7/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I liked the new ford Truck. They are good.

Brett L. on 7/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The whole booking/reservation process is a nightmare. You need to make some major changes before I ever rent from you again. Don't reserve a truck for someone if it is not available! How hard is this? The savings on a Uhaul truck are not worth the time I had to spend dealing with all the reservation crap. Get it together Uhaul.

Hongwei L. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Karan D. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Hire more people so they can answer phone instead of all calls getting forwarded to national call center even when called local store. The store wasted my two hours because their truck did not have a license plate and the national call center did not know what the store should do.

aNNAMARIE b. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both clerks were very professional. I am happy that I rented from this location.

Marie C. on 7/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They changed the location on me the day before, (to 29 miles north where I'd be picking it up in terrible morning traffic so it'd probably take up to 2 hours) so I had to contact customer service, then they ended up changing it to a slightly closer one and gave me an extra day, so I picked it up the night before. I was upset mostly because i am driving south and those locations opened at 9 am when I wanted it by 7 am. So I went from being very upset to getting over it once it was settled. The man working at the milpitas location however was very nice.

Donna B. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice guys!!!

Michael H. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent customer service - really nice guys - very helpful and easy to deal with

Michael H. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

Charlene S. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the guy that helped us seemed like he didn't want to be their & we were bothering him.

Sean M. on 6/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The milpitas uhaul location is always helpful and pleasant. They're the only part of my uhaul experience which has been good.

kenneth m. on 6/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Special thanks to John that inspected and tested my truck the night before. Very nice to deal with, knowledgeable... KC Muir

Richard C. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They knew what they were doing and did it quickly and professionally.

Sarah H. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always happy with the service and rentals at this location. Robert was very helpful.

Gilbert V. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for making time adjustment

Matthew G. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Get reservation system squared away. I had to go to two locations because your guys did not have what the computer said you did. Very frustrating. Last week I had my reservation ( a different one) cancelled before I picked up my unit.

Boris P. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

U-Haul can be cleaner.

Victor I. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Honest Crew

DIEP N. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick and painless

Hung N. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

5 stars, staffs and equipments are excellent.

brian k. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing

Pat b. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None! It was speedy service when we picked it up.

Anh H. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing except keep the same employees. I interacted with 4 different employees (plus the phone support person when I needed to extend my rental for a few more hours). They were all very professional and courteous. Thank you!

Tarren C. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have more than 1 person working

jason r. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks!

John M. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was given a smaller truck at the last minute. Truck windows were very dirty. Steering wheel was sticky. Check in space was cluttered and dirty.

Hai N. on 6/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Quick checkout a plus.

Jennifer E. on 6/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

2nd time there in a month, both a great experience.

irma l. on 6/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a Truck and car towing. The problem is that I had to pick the truck and car towing at two different places...wasted time picking it up at two places!!!

WILLIAM C. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made a reservation online and it got messed up and ended up with a truck smaller then what I ordered and ended up paying more then quoted online

Ganie C. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Early check in process didnt do any good; still waited 40 munutes to get my truck. The two clerks were fantastic; they just need someone to bring out the vehicles being rented instead of them doing everything.

Sivarama K. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service. Please keep it up, guys!

phillip h. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service.

Andrew N. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I honestly can't think of anything you could do. I was in and out on receiving my truck and then bringing it back was as easy and fast.

AUVREY D. on 6/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None excellent service fast and convenient.

Nguyen L. on 6/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing, everything was perfect !

phung h. on 6/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Get me in and out sooner. I shouldn't have to wait in line for 20 min. To pick yp or worse, drop off. Make it more stream lined. This time it was in and out quickly, but not so much in the past.

Ralph D. on 6/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Disappointed in end price. $19.95/day sounds fine, gas sounds fine, $1.09 per mile sounds fine. But $200 for 2 days, 120 miles is steep. It just is.

James P. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great customer service, excellent attendant.

John M. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location does a very good job. Everything went smooth from pick up to drop off. Awesome crew!

jodi f. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good experience

Yue L. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

At one point, when I'm ready to return the truck, the truck won't start. Calling UHaul redirected me to roadside assistant, and it's endless waiting. Finally, after many frustrating minutes and attempts, the truck finally started. (w/o Roadside assistance)

Nicholas S. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have used uhaul several times but this was by far the quickest return I have ever made. I dropped it off and was in the road in just a couple minutes. When I pulled up there was an employee walking toward me already. When I parked, another opened up the back to make sure i didn't forget anything. They did a walk around and filled the paperwork out very fast. It was impressive.

Fiore Z. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drop-off was quick and easy. Sent final invoice to my email.

Rene M. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location was closed at time of drop off by 2 minutes.

David L. on 6/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was not a good experience. The website preselects all of the moving supplies which raises your cost. That seems very deceptive. In addition, the line was so long when we arrived that we didn't get our van until almost 45 minutes later, but the due time was the same. It would be better if U-HAUL left it up to the customer to choose what they wanted and didn't force your to buy things you didn't want. In addition, I was immediately spammed by after I provided U-Haul with my email address. Very poor and it does not make me want to do business with U-Haul online again.

Marc T. on 5/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rent from here about once every month to haul gear for my band. Their staff and cars are always dependable. They take care of their vans and I can always trust that they will not break down. I've been to other uhauls and have had bad experiences with dirty vans and staff actually sleeping underneath the counter! All the more reason to stick with the Oakland Rd uhual !

Manny M. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excelente customer service. Thanks

Abhinav P. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys are perfect.

donny k. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check out was fast.

Mario M. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No comment, everything were perfect

jim b. on 5/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys are great! I wish every company had this customer service!

JAMES C. on 5/24/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Suggestions as company policy to enhance the customer experience: -- provide 1x free furniture dolly on truck -- provide 1x free hand truck on the truck -- provide free furniture pads --------------------------------------------------- These items (if considered) will boost competitiveness. Thanks again for a smooth rental process.

brandt f. on 5/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Super friendly staff who really helped make a bad situation better! Way to go guys, and thank you!

darcee c. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was excellent. I was in and out quickly. The staff was knowledgable, friendly and polite. I highly reccommend this location.

vince t. on 5/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always excellent service. We have been going to this Uhaul for the last 25 years!

TONY N. on 5/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Prior check in should process much faster (less than 2 mins. rather than 5 mins.).

marc a. on 5/17/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We ordered a motorcycle trailer, and instead of saying they didn't have one they gave my wife a 5x7 trailer and said it would work. I had to purchase another strap because I had to secure my tire from rotating. After it was loaded and strapped my motorcycle down; went to drive away and right signal and brake light was inoperable. Therefore not only did the rep not do his job by not checking the signals. He put my wife's life in danger most important and second gave me the wrong equipment. I ended up using AAA to toe my bike. I would like a refund. Thank you Marc

Naynesh S. on 5/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Uhaul was not at all clean it feels like you are driving a truck of 80's or so where it rattles a lot and also the cargo truck was not at all clean.

ALVA R. on 5/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, great service

Andrew S. on 5/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff extremely friendly.

Mondeep T. on 5/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It would be nice to know upfront that uhaul charges by the mile and the price listed on the trucks is actually only to rent the truck.

ANN B. on 5/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

David and Stacy are the best. We got in and out very quickly and my rental was a joy to drive. Thank you very much, Ann

William W. on 5/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep it the same or reward the guys working that day. I honestly didn't expect the high level of customer service I got from the two guys working that day. Great attitude and hard working people!

Kevin N. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have ordered and confirmation # for 26' Uhaul but when I came to pick up the truck and they told me 26' truck an available , My reservation 2 weeks ago look like garbage , Here is my reservation # 27939958

EMMANUEL R. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dolly & moving blankets should be included especially if you're charging $1.09 per mile

ALEJANDRO M. on 4/29/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I got charge for a utility dolly that I did not use. I Rented a appliance dolly and that is the one I used. I ask the attendant when I returned the truck he told me that I was going to get charge for the dollies I ask him for two dollies? and he replied oh no you are only getting charge for the appliance dolly. And now that I got my invoice I notice that I did got char for two dollies. Not happy about that.

Eric M. on 4/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No bathroom for use of customer. Van was dirty and missing radio antenna - Clean vans parked next to this one. Also the CSR gave information that was misleading about the size of cargo area. Queen Bed and Box spring do fit but limit cargo space by more than 50% due to having to transport laying flat.

Armando M. on 4/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When i picked up the 5x8 trailer one of the tires had a bad bald spot on it. They did not have another tire or trailer. I had to call road side assistance.. The guy came out to my house an hour later and he did not have the right size tire. He had to go back and pick up the right size tires. 2 hrs later he replaced both tires. One of the top back up lights came right off. it fell in the side wall. I had to repair this on site.

David B. on 4/26/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The lot needs to be repaved.

JONATHAN P. on 4/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent staff and customer service.

jose f. on 4/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Please be inform that after used the vehicle, before return the key to drop box, you should to provide sign paper for signature and time of returned.

Xiaolin T. on 4/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Picking up and returning process very efficient!

Felicia W. on 4/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent experience I appreciate the prompt service that I got whenever I hit the door with my reservation will definitely rent from this location again

robert b. on 4/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I dropped the truck off they checked it in gave a bill off 220.96 the next day they called to ask me when I was bringing it back told them I already did they said they would look in to it then emailed me another bill for 231.41 not sure why. Robert brimigion

Mary E. on 4/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

N/A

Debiprasad M. on 4/19/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Charges is very high.it's showing 19.95$ but at the end i am paying near to 75$ in 4 hrs.

shanmugaprabhu m. on 4/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Actually the right side mirror was loose, so i had a tough time changing lane towards right. Since i had a short distance travel i was able to drive slow and manage.

Chris f. on 4/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, I cant remember the returning team members name said he had been there for 8 years. HE DESERVES A RAISE!

HELEN L. on 4/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i have used you 2 times -both to move furniture from gilroy to san jose/milpitas. the first time-I was able to rent an 8 foot truck and it cost me around $100. this time I told the girl that I wanted to rent a truck and drive to and from gilroy and she told me she only had a 10 foot truck and that it was $1.59 per mile. I did not realize that the 8 foot and 10 foot trucks were quite different-both worked, but when I told the uhaul man-when I was returning the truck- about my first experience and the cost-he said that it was probably because the first experience uhaul person approximated that I would be traveling about 100 miles so the cost was a lot less. this last rental cost $160! I suggest that you train your people taking reservations to explain completely what the difference in the costs are and what the differences are in the trucks. I would have called the 10 foot -not a truck-but a covered box truck.

Platinum F. on 4/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly easy and very clear. It was a pleasure!

Davinder M. on 4/17/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Super easy and quick to rent and return the truck. Location is great but it's hard to get access to the drive way due to the Oakland Rd and Montegue Expressway.

Anubhav G. on 4/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great

Keith R. on 4/12/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The tire pressure was low and I paid for a dolly which not only wasn't in the truck I needed to come back and get it, I paid the estimated mileage and came in under that mileage with a full tank and I was over charged $40. I returned inside the location two minutes after walking out while checking at the bill and I questioned the guy at the desk and it was like he couldn't read his own billing paperwork. The guy at the counter assured me the main office would take care of it and call me the following day which never happened. Clearly this place is ripping off the unexpecting customers which concerns me because I've used this location more than once.

Bruce B. on 4/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The brake fluid level was very very low. The employees were great.

Brenda H. on 4/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Create a feature that allows the Uhaul in store rep to change the days on the reservation more easily. He could not subtract days from the original reservation only add them.

WILLIAM E. on 4/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My improvement comments are ALL about the website. 1- Quit giving me lists of locations to choose from, only to tell me it doesn't have AFTER I've evaluated my choices and completed the process. 2- If I confirm a pickup of 8am, donn't go switching it to 10am on the paperwork after I turn it in. I have had this experience 2-3 times now.

Arlene A. on 4/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I loved the sport trailer, but it was dirty/dusty. No locks were provided for it so I had to go buy some on our way out at the beginning of our trip.

Sairav Suresh P. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Poor customer service

David R. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went pretty smoothly and prompt. Took a little bit long to get checked in and was a busy day, so a little more manpower at peak times would help.

ANDY Z. on 4/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very good

David E. on 4/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!

mary l. on 4/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All greatness!! Peter ! Robert! Glenn ! are the best!! Went smooth as silk!

Henry L. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lower rate per mile.

Michael M. on 4/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rent from this location often. I must say that the staff there is very efficient and friendly. I really appreciate the positive experience I receive whenever I get a truck from them. Great job .

Jesse M. on 3/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Windshield was full of bugs.

Charles K. on 3/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person who hooked up the trailer as well as unhooked it upon my return really stood out. He was excellent in his level of service which made an impression on me. I rent many times from UHaul and he has been the best! He's a young man and hope he gets recognized.

Bridgett W. on 3/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was perfect, thanks!

Jesus A. on 3/28/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I rented a truck that had a corner cap busted and I finished breaking it by hitting it on a overhang. What got me mad is that I had to pay for it in full. Yes I'm responsible for it but really full price when it was busted already. Never going here again..

PUJA K. on 3/27/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The only problem I saw was that online the website was allowing me to make a reservation for a truck at $1.39/mile where as at the store I go the same truck at $1.59/mile. Although, I did not argue with the clerk at the store I was not happy to see this discrepancy in pricing.

phuong n. on 3/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

service very good !! clean !

Richard N. on 3/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

diwakar m on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

amazing staff, specially dan. he helped me find a truck even though i did not have reservation. thanks guys

Matthew S on 7/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All U-Haul employees I interacted with were efficient and the whole process felt very streamlined.

DEBBIE M on 1/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to Dave and Shawn

RICHARD L on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Jose location is not secured. The manager threaten to ship after just a day of loading but the location is not secured.

ROSEL W on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Dave helped me .. went out of his way to teach me connect and disconnect the tow hitch from the trailer.. even accompanied my to my apartment and showed me how to use the equipment.

ROBERT L on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the exception of the drop off. The employees could not give me a receipt which both wasted time and made me nervous about leaving my belongings with them.

PAM S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No calls for delivery info. Told it would be there between 12-2pm. Showed at 3 without the 2 dozen blankets that I ordered. The brackets had been ripped off so there was no way to lock it. Big hassle!