U-Haul of Milpitas

U-Haul of Milpitas

Share |

Address

2395 Oakland Rd
San Jose, CA 95131

(408) 943-9191

(@ Montague Expwy)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Milpitas

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Milpitas

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Richard B. on 8/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A lot more crowded than the spacious location in Chico. Very helpful personnel as in Chico location.

Morgan J. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Overcharged

MOHAN VAMSEE G. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is Easy even though for a first timers like me. Thanks.

Maria L. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Excellent location, specially Mr. David. Very helpful, curtious, and an excellent employee.

FERDAWEK T. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing keep up the good work ??

michael y. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both guys who helped me are terrific! they are knowledgeable, courteous, polite and got everything done in no time. I have been coming to this place for many occasions, and will definitely recommend to all my friends and colleagues! Thanks guys and please keep up the great jobs you have been doing!

David S. on 8/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

Paul F. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was prompt and friendly

bill p. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It would be great if the 4C Council could get a discounted rate since we use this service regularly.

ANILA KUMAR G. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everythings great??

Jose P. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good and fast service thank you.

NAM Q. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The man who gave me the truck lacks of basic knowledge (how to turn on the truck loading light,what is the emergency number for road assistance...his answers for my questions are the same: I don't know)

edward s. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only wish a restroom was available

Michelle F. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service.

Jeffrey L. on 8/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

In and out quickly with clean and equipment ready. Fantastic service!! Thanks Dave.

lilan c. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

THX

Jennifer D. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the truck had a shifting issue. it took forever to go up a hill.

David S. on 8/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the truck was really bumpy when driving even at low speed like 10 MPH. The tires really need a balance.

BILL P. on 8/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The passenger side mirror is loose and moves from its set position.

TEJAS V. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service is awesome!! Paperwork was done within 2 mins. Thank you UHAUL

Gabriel L. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service from Glen he met all our needs and questions.

GOPALA c. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

While advertising I was told in the website that per mile it is $1.19. once I drop off the vehicle they charged $1.59 per mile. I have to talk to the representative on this.

Kevin R. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I ordered 12 furniture pads and thye did not put tjem on the truck.

manuel c. on 7/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfied. They were fast.

Shelby W. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The van was very clean. The staff were friendly, quick, and attentive.

Francesca S. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My reservation was for originally a different location and I wasn't told about the change in location until I showed up at the original location to pick up the truck I was very upset to find that it had changed location and I receive no notification when I went to the new location I asked for some kind of discount for my time and trouble and was told no I had to call back till 1 800 number when I call the 1-800 number I got zero response the phone kept ringing and ringing and hanging up on me over and over again I never got through to an actual person

Robert R. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both of your employees were very helpful and pleasant.

Roger M. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wanted to rent a motorcycle trailer to take my gold wing in for service. Originally I was going to rent the 4x9 motorcycle trailer with the tire chock for the motorcycle. I went to the rental yard and found a 5x9 trailer that also had a motorcycle chock. The clerk helping me jotted down the trailer number and modified my reservation to the larger 5x9. Two days later I went to pick up my trailer and the one 5x9 trailer was not there - gone, rented. I needed a trailer so I took a 4x9 instead. Why was this important. The gold wing motorcycle weights 903# on the showroom floor. The 4x9 trailer is rated at 950# cargo weight. I will have to drain most of the gas, empty all saddlebags before I feel the bike is well under 950#. The 5x9 trailer I originally rented is rated at 1,650# cargo. A much higher safety rating for my motorcycle. I am upset because the clerk and I wrote doe the unit number of the single 5x9 trailer so it would be there when I came by to pick it up. Gone is gone. I have learned some things about working with U-Haul. Not all 5x9 utility trailers are the same. Many of the newer trailers have that integrated motorcycle chock. The older trailers do not and are not designed to trailer motorcycles. What have I learned? Go to the rental yard that morning or prior evening to verify the trailer you need is still there. Give yourself time to go to another yard for what you need.

Ramunas R. on 7/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hello just one think 1,59 per mile NO COMMENTS!!!!!!!!!!

Maria L. on 7/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I didn't know there was already a dolly and pad that came with the truck, I paid for another one if that can be mention in the specification that will help.

Joe E. on 7/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

charge the quoted rate and don't bundle miles in. I went over budget due to their up-sells and couldn't purchase the item that necessitated the truck.

James K. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Late drop off went smooth

Monte R. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The speedy electronic checkout is AWESOME!

ELISA G. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

always great customer service! thanks

Jesse R. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome customer service, we had some issues with wiring for a 8×5 Uhaul trailer. The shop in San Jose was very kind, understanding and the employees displayed a professional attitude with great customer service. The wiring issue was resolved and we were able to complete our trip with no issues. Thanks again and we will look forward to using Uhaul again. ;)

Ernesto J. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not charge for the unused equipment, i.e dolly, furniture pads.

Angelina M. on 7/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy who helped my dad and I was very nice and helpful. A great experience.

Baba K. on 7/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I liked the new ford Truck. They are good.

Brett L. on 7/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The whole booking/reservation process is a nightmare. You need to make some major changes before I ever rent from you again. Don't reserve a truck for someone if it is not available! How hard is this? The savings on a Uhaul truck are not worth the time I had to spend dealing with all the reservation crap. Get it together Uhaul.

Hongwei L. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Karan D. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Hire more people so they can answer phone instead of all calls getting forwarded to national call center even when called local store. The store wasted my two hours because their truck did not have a license plate and the national call center did not know what the store should do.

aNNAMARIE b. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both clerks were very professional. I am happy that I rented from this location.

Marie C. on 7/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They changed the location on me the day before, (to 29 miles north where I'd be picking it up in terrible morning traffic so it'd probably take up to 2 hours) so I had to contact customer service, then they ended up changing it to a slightly closer one and gave me an extra day, so I picked it up the night before. I was upset mostly because i am driving south and those locations opened at 9 am when I wanted it by 7 am. So I went from being very upset to getting over it once it was settled. The man working at the milpitas location however was very nice.

Donna B. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice guys!!!

Michael H. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent customer service - really nice guys - very helpful and easy to deal with

Michael H. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

Charlene S. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the guy that helped us seemed like he didn't want to be their & we were bothering him.

Sean M. on 6/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The milpitas uhaul location is always helpful and pleasant. They're the only part of my uhaul experience which has been good.

kenneth m. on 6/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Special thanks to John that inspected and tested my truck the night before. Very nice to deal with, knowledgeable... KC Muir

Richard C. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They knew what they were doing and did it quickly and professionally.

Sarah H. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always happy with the service and rentals at this location. Robert was very helpful.

Gilbert V. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for making time adjustment

Matthew G. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Get reservation system squared away. I had to go to two locations because your guys did not have what the computer said you did. Very frustrating. Last week I had my reservation ( a different one) cancelled before I picked up my unit.

Boris P. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

U-Haul can be cleaner.

Victor I. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Honest Crew

DIEP N. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick and painless

Hung N. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

5 stars, staffs and equipments are excellent.

brian k. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing

Pat b. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None! It was speedy service when we picked it up.

Anh H. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing except keep the same employees. I interacted with 4 different employees (plus the phone support person when I needed to extend my rental for a few more hours). They were all very professional and courteous. Thank you!

Tarren C. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have more than 1 person working

jason r. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks!

John M. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was given a smaller truck at the last minute. Truck windows were very dirty. Steering wheel was sticky. Check in space was cluttered and dirty.

Hai N. on 6/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Quick checkout a plus.

Jennifer E. on 6/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

2nd time there in a month, both a great experience.

irma l. on 6/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a Truck and car towing. The problem is that I had to pick the truck and car towing at two different places...wasted time picking it up at two places!!!

WILLIAM C. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made a reservation online and it got messed up and ended up with a truck smaller then what I ordered and ended up paying more then quoted online

Ganie C. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Early check in process didnt do any good; still waited 40 munutes to get my truck. The two clerks were fantastic; they just need someone to bring out the vehicles being rented instead of them doing everything.

Sivarama K. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service. Please keep it up, guys!

phillip h. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service.

Andrew N. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I honestly can't think of anything you could do. I was in and out on receiving my truck and then bringing it back was as easy and fast.

AUVREY D. on 6/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None excellent service fast and convenient.

Nguyen L. on 6/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing, everything was perfect !

phung h. on 6/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Get me in and out sooner. I shouldn't have to wait in line for 20 min. To pick yp or worse, drop off. Make it more stream lined. This time it was in and out quickly, but not so much in the past.

Ralph D. on 6/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Disappointed in end price. $19.95/day sounds fine, gas sounds fine, $1.09 per mile sounds fine. But $200 for 2 days, 120 miles is steep. It just is.

James P. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great customer service, excellent attendant.

John M. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location does a very good job. Everything went smooth from pick up to drop off. Awesome crew!

jodi f. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good experience

Yue L. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

At one point, when I'm ready to return the truck, the truck won't start. Calling UHaul redirected me to roadside assistant, and it's endless waiting. Finally, after many frustrating minutes and attempts, the truck finally started. (w/o Roadside assistance)

Nicholas S. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have used uhaul several times but this was by far the quickest return I have ever made. I dropped it off and was in the road in just a couple minutes. When I pulled up there was an employee walking toward me already. When I parked, another opened up the back to make sure i didn't forget anything. They did a walk around and filled the paperwork out very fast. It was impressive.

Fiore Z. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drop-off was quick and easy. Sent final invoice to my email.

Rene M. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location was closed at time of drop off by 2 minutes.

David L. on 6/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was not a good experience. The website preselects all of the moving supplies which raises your cost. That seems very deceptive. In addition, the line was so long when we arrived that we didn't get our van until almost 45 minutes later, but the due time was the same. It would be better if U-HAUL left it up to the customer to choose what they wanted and didn't force your to buy things you didn't want. In addition, I was immediately spammed by after I provided U-Haul with my email address. Very poor and it does not make me want to do business with U-Haul online again.

Marc T. on 5/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rent from here about once every month to haul gear for my band. Their staff and cars are always dependable. They take care of their vans and I can always trust that they will not break down. I've been to other uhauls and have had bad experiences with dirty vans and staff actually sleeping underneath the counter! All the more reason to stick with the Oakland Rd uhual !

Manny M. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excelente customer service. Thanks

Abhinav P. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys are perfect.

donny k. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check out was fast.

Mario M. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No comment, everything were perfect

jim b. on 5/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys are great! I wish every company had this customer service!

JAMES C. on 5/24/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Suggestions as company policy to enhance the customer experience: -- provide 1x free furniture dolly on truck -- provide 1x free hand truck on the truck -- provide free furniture pads --------------------------------------------------- These items (if considered) will boost competitiveness. Thanks again for a smooth rental process.

brandt f. on 5/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Super friendly staff who really helped make a bad situation better! Way to go guys, and thank you!

darcee c. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service was excellent. I was in and out quickly. The staff was knowledgable, friendly and polite. I highly reccommend this location.

vince t. on 5/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always excellent service. We have been going to this Uhaul for the last 25 years!

TONY N. on 5/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Prior check in should process much faster (less than 2 mins. rather than 5 mins.).

marc a. on 5/17/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We ordered a motorcycle trailer, and instead of saying they didn't have one they gave my wife a 5x7 trailer and said it would work. I had to purchase another strap because I had to secure my tire from rotating. After it was loaded and strapped my motorcycle down; went to drive away and right signal and brake light was inoperable. Therefore not only did the rep not do his job by not checking the signals. He put my wife's life in danger most important and second gave me the wrong equipment. I ended up using AAA to toe my bike. I would like a refund. Thank you Marc

Naynesh S. on 5/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Uhaul was not at all clean it feels like you are driving a truck of 80's or so where it rattles a lot and also the cargo truck was not at all clean.

ALVA R. on 5/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, great service

Andrew S. on 5/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff extremely friendly.

Mondeep T. on 5/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It would be nice to know upfront that uhaul charges by the mile and the price listed on the trucks is actually only to rent the truck.

ANN B. on 5/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

David and Stacy are the best. We got in and out very quickly and my rental was a joy to drive. Thank you very much, Ann

William W. on 5/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep it the same or reward the guys working that day. I honestly didn't expect the high level of customer service I got from the two guys working that day. Great attitude and hard working people!

Kevin N. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have ordered and confirmation # for 26' Uhaul but when I came to pick up the truck and they told me 26' truck an available , My reservation 2 weeks ago look like garbage , Here is my reservation # 27939958

EMMANUEL R. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Dolly & moving blankets should be included especially if you're charging $1.09 per mile

ALEJANDRO M. on 4/29/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I got charge for a utility dolly that I did not use. I Rented a appliance dolly and that is the one I used. I ask the attendant when I returned the truck he told me that I was going to get charge for the dollies I ask him for two dollies? and he replied oh no you are only getting charge for the appliance dolly. And now that I got my invoice I notice that I did got char for two dollies. Not happy about that.

diwakar m on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

amazing staff, specially dan. he helped me find a truck even though i did not have reservation. thanks guys

Matthew S on 7/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All U-Haul employees I interacted with were efficient and the whole process felt very streamlined.

DEBBIE M on 1/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to Dave and Shawn

RICHARD L on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Jose location is not secured. The manager threaten to ship after just a day of loading but the location is not secured.

ROSEL W on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Dave helped me .. went out of his way to teach me connect and disconnect the tow hitch from the trailer.. even accompanied my to my apartment and showed me how to use the equipment.

ROBERT L on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the exception of the drop off. The employees could not give me a receipt which both wasted time and made me nervous about leaving my belongings with them.

PAM S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No calls for delivery info. Told it would be there between 12-2pm. Showed at 3 without the 2 dozen blankets that I ordered. The brackets had been ripped off so there was no way to lock it. Big hassle!