U-Haul of Milpitas

U-Haul of Milpitas

Share |

Address

2395 Oakland Rd
San Jose, CA 95131

(408) 943-9191

(@ Montague Expwy)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Milpitas

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Milpitas

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Jesse L. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Using my iPhone to check in has problem to go back to the check in page after reading the equipment manual.

driver h. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We ordered 2 trucks and only one was available when we got there. We were fortunate to find a comparable truck at another location but it set us back 3 hours. As a result I worked a 15 hour day and got 4 hours sleep before our event the next morning.

Dominic G. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The 14 ft truck performed well with no problems. The car transporter trailer took some getting acquainted but proved to be well designed and performed very well across the 450 miles of the trip across three passes into Oregon.

Armida A. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I ordered, online, an appliance dolly and assumed it was in the vehicle I reserved but instead a regular dolly is what I got. Upon returning the vehicle I was asked where the appliance dolly was and told them the regular dolly is what I got. The sales associate couldn't seem to get my credit difference as I was told I still owed 11 cents.

Trevor G. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The 1st problem was when I picked up the vehicle it had under 1/4 tank of gas and was marked on the paperwork as 1/4 full. The guy inspecting it said this is what U-haul considers 1/4 of a tank. The 2nd problem was the truck was filthy. It had dirt and cat feces all over the truck bed. I did not realize this until I unloaded all of my belonging and smelled cat feces on my property. I had to clean off all of my stuff and rinse down the truck bed myself so I could finish moving my things. I feel I should be refunded part of my money for my rental. I have used this location in the past with no problems. This time I have found that the service at this location has went down the drain. Hopefully I can be compensated in some way for all of the inconvenience and for the fact I had to spend several hours cleaning cat feces off of my property.

Frank C. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service rep was superb.

Hanisha K. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very helpful and giving good suggestions on what to get.

Vikram T. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

advertise price was $1.39 and charge us $1.59. not right

Marcos V. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was very friendly and helpful. I was very happy with everything.

Chitra S. on 9/23/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The uhaul truck was in a bad confition when we have taken it. Also why is there an 80$ charge on my account. Thevrefund hasnt been given yet. As per the bill i should be charged only 24.94 why am i charged 80$

alejandro t. on 9/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast and professionals

LONG T. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good service, fast.

John D. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were fast, accurate, courteous and helpful. Great crew....

Nicole N. on 9/19/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff who helped me were very friendly and nice. However, the location itself was poorly staffed. There was only 2 people working at 10am on a Sunday, and one of them was busy fixing a car so there was only one person working the counter. I waited almost an hour to get checked in and picked up my rental at 11am...I reserved it for 9am. Please staff more people to help out at this location!

Rimma R. on 9/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great! Your employees are terrific in this uhaul store!

DAVID L. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Auxiliary port to listen to smart phone

Curtis K. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Can't think of a thing to improve. Experience was excellent. No problems. Kudos to the team.

scott d. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A most impressively run business. They know this business inside-out, customer service is A+. Use them regularly for trailers that are so heavy duty-can't buy a trailer as good.

Anandjot K. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service

Eric W. on 9/14/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Was told restroom was out of service. Two attendants asked me to move trailer with my car to storage location. Seemed like they weren't engaged or integrated in customer service.

manoj m. on 9/13/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person (I believe CJ) who helped me out over the phone on Sat evening with the reservation was extremely courteous. However, I can't say the same about the person who attended to me on Sunday. To begin with, he brought out the wrong van (or he messed up the mileage and fuel details for that van). Then he brought out another van and did not provide any walk through and was rude when I asked a question and then simply walked away when I had something else to ask him. If it hadn't been for the help I had received the previous evening, I would have walked away from this location and taken my business elsewhere.

robert w. on 9/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up good work

Ian P. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fasted check in/check out ever ! Thanks so Much !

Neal O. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Minor issue - the issuing attendant pulled information on the wrong van. Mileage and gas level were way off. He explained that the numbers were similar. However, it took a little extra time to straighten out. Check-in was very smooth with hand held app.

RALPH M. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees were very helpful and courteous, so please do not change anything.

Nguyen D. on 9/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff and very helpful.

Graeme C. on 9/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Well, I would check with the location to make sure the equipment is available for use. When I made the reservation I requested an enclosed 4x8 trailer, but there was no such trailer available at the location. Since my schedule was pretty tight, I had to settle for an open top trailer. While I was able to complete the move, it was definitely inconvenient and required some changes to our original plans.

Pavel S. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent.

scott d. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very efficient opperation, fast rental and return, always has what I need

Shahyar D. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every thing was great just i reserved u-haul close to my home but i had to pick up from u-haul that was far and custumer have to pay more money for more milagr

allen s. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast friendly service!

Jay C. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff. Late drop off an advantage.

Erika C. on 8/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great.

John L. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I believe the person at the counter's name was John. He was quick to help and got me set to go in minutes. I also dropped off the truck back to him and I was on my way quick and easy.

sean k. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I got the truck from one loaction and the trailer from another, both places charged me for the trailer so I have to chase down a refund which has lowered the experience rating.

Nicole D. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John who checked us in was awesome. He was very quick, friendly, and helped us with all of our questions!! I wish all customer service people were like him.

Brian N. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

no complaints, agent was very knowledgeable and helpful!

Latanya G. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The price change several times

Nazanin S. on 8/27/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Absolutely rude manager! We reserved the large truck but when we got there we saw one smaller one is getting returned. We asked for that and the manager said no. I tried to call another location to see if they have smaller one available, the hiring manager told me in a very rude way that good luck you cannot find! Aweful facial expression veryyyyy rude! At first they said they do not have furniture dolly because they did not want to open a new one. Then after they thought they are going to lose us to another u haul location they said no actually we have one!! Verg bad experience! Poor customer service

Richard B. on 8/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A lot more crowded than the spacious location in Chico. Very helpful personnel as in Chico location.

Morgan J. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Overcharged

MOHAN VAMSEE G. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is Easy even though for a first timers like me. Thanks.

Maria L. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Excellent location, specially Mr. David. Very helpful, curtious, and an excellent employee.

FERDAWEK T. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing keep up the good work ??

michael y. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both guys who helped me are terrific! they are knowledgeable, courteous, polite and got everything done in no time. I have been coming to this place for many occasions, and will definitely recommend to all my friends and colleagues! Thanks guys and please keep up the great jobs you have been doing!

David S. on 8/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

Paul F. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was prompt and friendly

bill p. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It would be great if the 4C Council could get a discounted rate since we use this service regularly.

ANILA KUMAR G. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everythings great??

Jose P. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good and fast service thank you.

NAM Q. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The man who gave me the truck lacks of basic knowledge (how to turn on the truck loading light,what is the emergency number for road assistance...his answers for my questions are the same: I don't know)

edward s. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Only wish a restroom was available

Michelle F. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service.

Jeffrey L. on 8/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

In and out quickly with clean and equipment ready. Fantastic service!! Thanks Dave.

lilan c. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

THX

Jennifer D. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the truck had a shifting issue. it took forever to go up a hill.

David S. on 8/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the truck was really bumpy when driving even at low speed like 10 MPH. The tires really need a balance.

BILL P. on 8/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The passenger side mirror is loose and moves from its set position.

TEJAS V. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service is awesome!! Paperwork was done within 2 mins. Thank you UHAUL

Gabriel L. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service from Glen he met all our needs and questions.

GOPALA c. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

While advertising I was told in the website that per mile it is $1.19. once I drop off the vehicle they charged $1.59 per mile. I have to talk to the representative on this.

Kevin R. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I ordered 12 furniture pads and thye did not put tjem on the truck.

manuel c. on 7/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very satisfied. They were fast.

Shelby W. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The van was very clean. The staff were friendly, quick, and attentive.

Francesca S. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My reservation was for originally a different location and I wasn't told about the change in location until I showed up at the original location to pick up the truck I was very upset to find that it had changed location and I receive no notification when I went to the new location I asked for some kind of discount for my time and trouble and was told no I had to call back till 1 800 number when I call the 1-800 number I got zero response the phone kept ringing and ringing and hanging up on me over and over again I never got through to an actual person

Robert R. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both of your employees were very helpful and pleasant.

Roger M. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wanted to rent a motorcycle trailer to take my gold wing in for service. Originally I was going to rent the 4x9 motorcycle trailer with the tire chock for the motorcycle. I went to the rental yard and found a 5x9 trailer that also had a motorcycle chock. The clerk helping me jotted down the trailer number and modified my reservation to the larger 5x9. Two days later I went to pick up my trailer and the one 5x9 trailer was not there - gone, rented. I needed a trailer so I took a 4x9 instead. Why was this important. The gold wing motorcycle weights 903# on the showroom floor. The 4x9 trailer is rated at 950# cargo weight. I will have to drain most of the gas, empty all saddlebags before I feel the bike is well under 950#. The 5x9 trailer I originally rented is rated at 1,650# cargo. A much higher safety rating for my motorcycle. I am upset because the clerk and I wrote doe the unit number of the single 5x9 trailer so it would be there when I came by to pick it up. Gone is gone. I have learned some things about working with U-Haul. Not all 5x9 utility trailers are the same. Many of the newer trailers have that integrated motorcycle chock. The older trailers do not and are not designed to trailer motorcycles. What have I learned? Go to the rental yard that morning or prior evening to verify the trailer you need is still there. Give yourself time to go to another yard for what you need.

Ramunas R. on 7/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hello just one think 1,59 per mile NO COMMENTS!!!!!!!!!!

Maria L. on 7/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I didn't know there was already a dolly and pad that came with the truck, I paid for another one if that can be mention in the specification that will help.

Joe E. on 7/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

charge the quoted rate and don't bundle miles in. I went over budget due to their up-sells and couldn't purchase the item that necessitated the truck.

James K. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Late drop off went smooth

Monte R. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The speedy electronic checkout is AWESOME!

ELISA G. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

always great customer service! thanks

Jesse R. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome customer service, we had some issues with wiring for a 8×5 Uhaul trailer. The shop in San Jose was very kind, understanding and the employees displayed a professional attitude with great customer service. The wiring issue was resolved and we were able to complete our trip with no issues. Thanks again and we will look forward to using Uhaul again. ;)

Ernesto J. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not charge for the unused equipment, i.e dolly, furniture pads.

Angelina M. on 7/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy who helped my dad and I was very nice and helpful. A great experience.

Baba K. on 7/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I liked the new ford Truck. They are good.

Brett L. on 7/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The whole booking/reservation process is a nightmare. You need to make some major changes before I ever rent from you again. Don't reserve a truck for someone if it is not available! How hard is this? The savings on a Uhaul truck are not worth the time I had to spend dealing with all the reservation crap. Get it together Uhaul.

Hongwei L. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Karan D. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Hire more people so they can answer phone instead of all calls getting forwarded to national call center even when called local store. The store wasted my two hours because their truck did not have a license plate and the national call center did not know what the store should do.

aNNAMARIE b. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both clerks were very professional. I am happy that I rented from this location.

Marie C. on 7/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They changed the location on me the day before, (to 29 miles north where I'd be picking it up in terrible morning traffic so it'd probably take up to 2 hours) so I had to contact customer service, then they ended up changing it to a slightly closer one and gave me an extra day, so I picked it up the night before. I was upset mostly because i am driving south and those locations opened at 9 am when I wanted it by 7 am. So I went from being very upset to getting over it once it was settled. The man working at the milpitas location however was very nice.

Donna B. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nice guys!!!

Michael H. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent customer service - really nice guys - very helpful and easy to deal with

Michael H. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service

Charlene S. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the guy that helped us seemed like he didn't want to be their & we were bothering him.

Sean M. on 6/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The milpitas uhaul location is always helpful and pleasant. They're the only part of my uhaul experience which has been good.

kenneth m. on 6/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Special thanks to John that inspected and tested my truck the night before. Very nice to deal with, knowledgeable... KC Muir

Richard C. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They knew what they were doing and did it quickly and professionally.

Sarah H. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always happy with the service and rentals at this location. Robert was very helpful.

Gilbert V. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for making time adjustment

Matthew G. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Get reservation system squared away. I had to go to two locations because your guys did not have what the computer said you did. Very frustrating. Last week I had my reservation ( a different one) cancelled before I picked up my unit.

Boris P. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

U-Haul can be cleaner.

Victor I. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Honest Crew

DIEP N. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick and painless

Hung N. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

5 stars, staffs and equipments are excellent.

brian k. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing

Pat b. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None! It was speedy service when we picked it up.

Anh H. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing except keep the same employees. I interacted with 4 different employees (plus the phone support person when I needed to extend my rental for a few more hours). They were all very professional and courteous. Thank you!

Tarren C. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have more than 1 person working

jason r. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks!

John M. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was given a smaller truck at the last minute. Truck windows were very dirty. Steering wheel was sticky. Check in space was cluttered and dirty.

Hai N. on 6/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Quick checkout a plus.

Jennifer E. on 6/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

2nd time there in a month, both a great experience.

irma l. on 6/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a Truck and car towing. The problem is that I had to pick the truck and car towing at two different places...wasted time picking it up at two places!!!

WILLIAM C. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made a reservation online and it got messed up and ended up with a truck smaller then what I ordered and ended up paying more then quoted online

Ganie C. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Early check in process didnt do any good; still waited 40 munutes to get my truck. The two clerks were fantastic; they just need someone to bring out the vehicles being rented instead of them doing everything.

Sivarama K. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service. Please keep it up, guys!

phillip h. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service.

Andrew N. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I honestly can't think of anything you could do. I was in and out on receiving my truck and then bringing it back was as easy and fast.

AUVREY D. on 6/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None excellent service fast and convenient.

Nguyen L. on 6/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing, everything was perfect !

phung h. on 6/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Get me in and out sooner. I shouldn't have to wait in line for 20 min. To pick yp or worse, drop off. Make it more stream lined. This time it was in and out quickly, but not so much in the past.

Ralph D. on 6/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Disappointed in end price. $19.95/day sounds fine, gas sounds fine, $1.09 per mile sounds fine. But $200 for 2 days, 120 miles is steep. It just is.

James P. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great customer service, excellent attendant.

John M. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location does a very good job. Everything went smooth from pick up to drop off. Awesome crew!

jodi f. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good experience

Yue L. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

At one point, when I'm ready to return the truck, the truck won't start. Calling UHaul redirected me to roadside assistant, and it's endless waiting. Finally, after many frustrating minutes and attempts, the truck finally started. (w/o Roadside assistance)

Nicholas S. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have used uhaul several times but this was by far the quickest return I have ever made. I dropped it off and was in the road in just a couple minutes. When I pulled up there was an employee walking toward me already. When I parked, another opened up the back to make sure i didn't forget anything. They did a walk around and filled the paperwork out very fast. It was impressive.

Fiore Z. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drop-off was quick and easy. Sent final invoice to my email.

Rene M. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location was closed at time of drop off by 2 minutes.

diwakar m on 8/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

amazing staff, specially dan. he helped me find a truck even though i did not have reservation. thanks guys

Matthew S on 7/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All U-Haul employees I interacted with were efficient and the whole process felt very streamlined.

DEBBIE M on 1/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to Dave and Shawn

RICHARD L on 8/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The San Jose location is not secured. The manager threaten to ship after just a day of loading but the location is not secured.

ROSEL W on 8/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr. Dave helped me .. went out of his way to teach me connect and disconnect the tow hitch from the trailer.. even accompanied my to my apartment and showed me how to use the equipment.

ROBERT L on 7/15/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly with the exception of the drop off. The employees could not give me a receipt which both wasted time and made me nervous about leaving my belongings with them.

PAM S on 9/3/2011
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No calls for delivery info. Told it would be there between 12-2pm. Showed at 3 without the 2 dozen blankets that I ordered. The brackets had been ripped off so there was no way to lock it. Big hassle!