U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

Share |

Address

1111 Sam Houston Dr
Victoria, TX 77901

(361) 578-9833

(Across From Victoria High)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Jaclyn N. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It's a shame it's the only real uhaul location in Victoria and there aren't any other companies around to compete against them. I've used Uhaul multiple times in the past and after this big move I hope to never have to use them again. It's been the worst! Reserving vehicles is a joke especially when no one calls you to confirm forcing the customer to do the work. When I confirmed the day before they explained that they showed the reservation (put in 2 and 1/2 weeks earlier) and we're not going to have the 26 foot truck. This put major stress on the fact that we had set up and hired movers and were packed to leave. The 2nd reservation we had to do due to not being able to fit it all in the 26 footer was made and confirmed the same day. When I showed up to pick up a 6X12 trailer at the storage place where I was again told by employee, "I see your reservation but the trailer is already checked out to another customer that came in." Uhaul is really not doing there best to manage the reservation system nor do they care to actually hold true to their guarantee of $50 for not upholding their end of the reservation.

Adriana A. on 7/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was friendly and very helpful!

Clinton W. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the part of town was super shady and the attendant just motioned me out, said thanks, and waived me off

Randy U. on 7/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasent experience. Courteous staff and a clean well maintained vehicle.

Judith M. on 7/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When locating a drop off in San Antonio, these locations were extremely far from our home. There are many locations in San Antonio and only 4 were pinned. This Needs to be updated.

James C. on 7/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I ordered an appliance dolly ahead of time and when I arrived there at my scheduled pick-up time there was no appliance dolly available.

Guadalupe G. on 7/19/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Make it at there convenience,not the employer.

Danny C. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The gentleman working there was by himself when we stopped by to drop off the car dolly we rented. it was about 30 minutes before closing time, and he had 2 customers ahead of us, and 1 that stopped after us. He ended up working late to accommodate us all. Well done.

Hege R. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When we got there, we were told there was no truck and was sent to a different location and told it was open. That place was closed so we returned. After 30 minutes on the phone with an incredibly rude woman who was alternately calling the store clerk to yell at him, the store clerk located the truck on the lot. He was courteous. The other woman deserves a demotion or getting fired.

greg R. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Customer Service

Larry M. on 7/13/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was not the first location I had to drive to for a truck. My original pickup place was Palacios, TX and they did not have the truck. Then I had to drive an hour out 9f my way to Victoria, TX for the truck. Then an hour back to my house.

Gregory C. on 7/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Service, very friendly employees.

Patrick B. on 7/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went as planned.

Che-I H. on 7/9/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Short staff, only one person, waiting for 40 mins just to return the truck

Adrian M. on 7/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This doesn't really have anything to do with the drop off or pickup experience, but I will say that I was fairly disappointed in the fact that my 6x12 trailer did not have a jack on the tongue. Why is that?? I had an incident where I had to disconnect the trailer from the vehicle and had to improvise another car jack that just simply was not as safe as using a frame mounted jack as comes with most trailers. It was precarious at best, and very inconvenient. Wouldn't it be safer to use a frame mounted jack and issue a lock for the hitch so as to prevent someone else hooking up to the trailer?

Emilio V. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

While my first experience with U-Haul went very well my second experience was terrible. The second time I made a reservation, received a confirmation number for a 26' truck and when I arrived on July 4, the location was closed. I was transferred to several different UHaul people and after several hours of calls back and forth all they offered was a $50 refund for cancellation. I had hired people, driven over 60 miles to get the truck and they offered no further credit for their mistake. I'm highly disappointed with U-Haul.

Matthew V. on 7/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Why is the mileage fee $.99 per mile? That's absolutely ridiculous!

Francisco A. on 7/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience. The young lady was friendly and helpful.

Rosemary R. on 7/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The uhaul served it purpose. Only complaint was its says easy ride and it was a very rough ride. After making two local trips, our backs were sore.

Elliott C. on 7/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

K

Jeffery C. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Exceptional customer service.

Nathan H. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service

Terry C. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful service. Very professional and helpful. Great customer service

gerald j. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The vehicle was available on the date and time agreed upon. Everyone was polite and professional and was genuinely considered about getting me into my vehicle.

Aaron R. on 6/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thank you

CHARLES R. on 6/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All good

Judith T. on 6/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I called to reserve the uhaul on the same day I needed it and was glad one was available on a Saturday. Service was fast with no waiting and drop off was simple. Great experience!

alwyn g. on 6/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My original 'assigned' drop off was at 3801 Halsey St in Victoria. I found the address but it is a little run down convenience store. I saw no evidence of UHaul equipment. I walked to the store and saw a little banner tied to a fence partially hidden by bushes. I went in and asked the clerk about dropping a trailer. She told me to drop it behind the store 'next to to other one'. I went there and walked back in to ask if anyone could help me. She simply told me there was no one to help. I called U Haul and talked to a lady named Amber in Corpus Christie, and she was very helpful. She gave me directions to the yard where I finally left it. I would not recommend the place on Halsey St. to anyone. I did have one question that no one could answer. I rented four bags of pads, but only used less than two. Since I know U Haul will buy back unused boxes I asked if I could get credit for the two unused and unopened bags of pads, No one knew.

Josue C. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My original pickup was in Houston customer service cannot make that happen not at all I was lied to for 2 days I would never use Uhaul again but the Victoria location did come through

randall g. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service, personnel friendly and helpful. great experience !

Jerry C. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We were told when we picked up truck that we did not need to return until 11am the next day. We got a call at 8 or 9 am asking where he vehicle was... Then got charged an extra day. Very poor customer service!

JOHN S. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reserved for 3:00 pm and received 7:30 pm.

Tracy T. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very fast service. Great experience. We were hauling a 2013 Nissan Quest, and the only issue we had was that when the van was on the hauler, the rails of the hauler made it impossible to open the doors. I had to climb out the window to exit the van.

Tracy T. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very fast service. Great experience.

Robert W. on 6/10/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Fast and no hassle.

Luis V. on 6/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome customer service!!

Micah P. on 6/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Everything booking was.wrong didnt expect truck before we took it so we had tire issues lost a half of day didnt get comped at all then quarts of oil and all you daid was ok thats it no I deserve a.compensation for.how I was treated i booked.truck 6weeks in advance

Brad R. on 6/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have no suggestions for improvement However would like to let you know Justin is a star for you guys hard working very polite and knows his job well. I had been in about three times for packing materials. Please give him a kudos from our family

Glenn W. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

"Was the personnel helpful?" Don't mean to be a grammar Nazi, but really, this is a webpage, not a private email. Hint: The word ,"personnel" is plural, not singular.

James B. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made this reservation 5 weeks in advance. I received a phone the day before I was schedule to pickup stating that my truck would not be available until 3 PM. I already had moving help scheduled for 10 AM. I returned the call and was informed that I could get a truck 9 AM but it would be at a different location. I picked up the truck at Rio Grande location. I had to leave me car at the Rio Grande location while driving to the Sam Houston Drive location to pickup the car dolly and moving pads. I do not work for U-Haul. It is not my job to move equipment around the city. I had to leave my car at the Rio Grande location all day while loading the truck preventing me from loading anything in the car. This poor planning caused a long day to be even longer.

Crystal T. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I wad unable to pick the truck up for the hours I wanted on my reservation. Was not even offered an apology for the inconvenience, just told that this is what it is going to be or too bad. The mileage was wrong on the truck at pick up time. The staff was rude and unprofessional. One of the service reps literally walked out on a customer as I was waiting. When I dropped truck off they tried to bill me for the messed up mileage they were suppose to have fixed. Then they could not explain the extra $10.00 charge to me. The manager was no help as he took extra long to come address the customers issues. Worst experience ever. I would highly recommend retraining the staff to provide a better customer service experience, and have them knowledgeable in the pricing.

betsy d. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Frustrating at first to receive phone calls from district office to say my reservation could not be honored due to not enough trucks to fulfill all reservations. But, finally did get a call from the Victoria location saying I did have a truck available. Another customer ahead of me was turned away because of not enough trucks to match his reservation. Overbooking by the district office was a more than frustrating issue.

daniel e. on 5/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The moving company was awesome

Salvador L. on 5/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Trailer was dirty, it seems like they forgot to clean it before they rent it to me. I always rent from this location and the equipment is clean all the time, the stuff is very professional and friendly :). Thanks !

Dennis D. on 5/26/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

1. U-haul confirmed truck would be ready at 10 am. Then another person called while we were W route from Corpus Christi to Victoria and was told it was delayed to 3 pm. 2. Got call from third employee at the location saying he was getting it another location in town and it would eh ready at 1 pm. 3. Arrived there after 1 to find that truck was gone but i never was told. 4. Wasn't sure if a truck would be available at all that day so we settled for van but had to return it back to Victoria. 5. Call on Monday a day later asking where van was!! We returned it Sunday evening, check your security camera. 6. Suddenly was charged for an extra day even though we rented and returned on the same day Sunday

Jody B. on 5/24/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When i reserved the truck it was set up then hanged to a pick up like i asked but i wasnted told i needed credit card so had to redo paper work. Change to different truck .over an hour to get all that done. Then when i. Had flat the web site couldnt. Find my paper work live chat never got anyone. The 800 number finally did the man was i need address so they know where to go. The building didnt have one was like i need one told him name of business said still need one we had to look it up on internet that was slow because we out on freeway . finally he got it . just too much time for everything we did. Then when we returned u haul wanted to charge more then went inside and said they owed us money back. Alot of not knowing what and why .

Richard M. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Location is congested but overall it is good

Anthony W. on 5/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Continue to give the same fine service we received at this point.

Jamie R. on 5/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The girl working there that day had a real snobby smart ass attitude. Very rude!!

LaTunya W. on 5/19/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

first time i went to reserve trailer was horrible. need more employees with better communication skills to assist customers in a timely manner. second visit was ok just not enough help.

Shenhsiu H. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Only one staff service for 6 people and makes lots delay; However, he is so nice. The radio on trunk does not work.

LORRAINE S. on 5/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Stepfan was more than polite and took care of us very quickly. Very nice gentleman.

BAILEY B. on 5/8/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

my trailer was not locked down to vehicle properly and lights were not hooked up to my vehicle. Also, chains were dragging on the ground. Over all, i was very unsatified with thaw experience. I'm a female, and i trusted that I was in good hands and ready for the trip. Bailey Bissler

joe r. on 4/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was very Excellent I was extremely happy and would highly recommend U Haul to all my Friends and family

Bryanna S. on 4/27/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

If there is a way that the phone call attached to my rental about the issues with the truck can be sent in for further review IT WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED. I would also like the manager of that location to call me and/or someone in management. I was given a truck with a dead battery, broken lights, out dated uhaul inspection, LOW air pressure in the tires, nothing was cleaned. I do not believe I will EVER use uhaul again because they cost me so much more hell and money.

Jeremy H. on 4/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The damn driver's door of the truck opened while driving. It had horrible road no or and would not shut completely. Made for a horrible and unsafe trip.

Kenneth H. on 4/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The person who checked me in and out was very engaging and remembered me from previous rents.. it really feels nice to have that quality customer service.. rare these days. .

David L. on 4/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Do'nt change a thing. Your service is great.

phillip t. on 4/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Adam provided exceptional customer service and made our experience seamless. Thank you!

Arthur R. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

If something is unavailable please let the customer know beforehand and not while checking out. I reserved a bigger truck and an appliance dolly with straps. Thiis location did have them and didn't tell me until it was time to use my credit card.

lucas h. on 4/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was broke down on the other side of San Antonio Tx in boerne and called the Victoria u haul, gave them all the information on my truck and they still sent me a car dolley that was way to small that my tires wouldn't even fit on it and then charged me double the price cuz I had to leave the dolley in Boerne at the uhaul there in order to find another way of getting my truck home! Then they don't wanna reimburse me the money the double charged me for then sent the wrong tool for the job!

MELISSA L. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My service was excellent, fast and friendly. Rent from here often and will return. Thanks

John S on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Staff!

MARILYN T on 4/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was excellent, very helpful, professional and courteous, especially Ric. Because of this experience,I have already recommended that my friends use this service.

MARIANNE M on 12/4/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ric at Sam Houston UHaul is a gem. The computer system gave him grief at every turn, but he got the equipment I needed, on time and in a friendly, professional way. I will always be indebted to him!

BOB LINDA S on 9/14/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people were great to work with. However, something needs to be done with your computer system.