U-Haul of Clearwater

U-Haul of Clearwater

Share |

Address

201 S Missouri Ave
Clearwater, FL 33756

(727) 461-2532

Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Clearwater

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Clearwater

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

remato p. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good guys..Dmitry the night guy there is very respect I full and good worker..

JOANNE M. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Joe was extremely knowledgeable and super nice! Dane was very friendly and so polite! Terrific experience!!

kim r. on 8/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. Your employee (Joe) was very courteous and efficient. Everything was exactally as promised.

Michael H. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Joe being the boss of this establishment, should be highly aware at all hours of his shift what he is doing well affect other people's lives. When my husband and I came to pick up the U-Haul that we previously reserved online at this location, we were greeted by Joe. Initially at the end of our transaction Joe said our total was going to be $$45 and some change " What he did however, was that handles our receipt printed out and said "however this is the real charge I put on your card" That amount was $85 "and some change" We completely understand that a business has to charge certain fees and certain taxes are allocated to each transaction. But he didnt inform us at all, Because of Joe's decision to charge my card knowingly with a larger amount was going to be charged, I wasn't able to go move my things that day to the storage unit. One simple mistake caused a ruckus of a mess in my life. Yes the small amount may have only been a small amoint financially but as you understand-Money just doesn't grow on trees. It was entirelt rude for Joe to roll his eyes in my response to his comments about how "it's just policy" and in reality he apologized and said he was just too tired". In reality he either lied to our faces or was a complete dooshbag about how he treated us. Young or not-I work hard for my money and his little "i was too tired" or not excuse caused much more damage than he even realized. Joe's unprofessional behavior should be recognized by someone in the company. I believe the only reason why we would come back to uhaul is because of Mary Ann Holland ( The general manager) located at the 2180 S. Belcher Rd. store. The phone number there is 727-531-1072. Mary made the entire experience 250,000 times better. I cannot thank you enough for hiring a person like Mary. She is kind, empathetic, and cares about every single person that walks through her door. You can imagine that the way that she treated us turned my perception around on your company. I would highly recommend that she becomes some type of training manager for other managers. She not only solve our problems but I noticed this woman can multitask exceptionally well. In entire last 72 hours, we've been attacked at my house, up and rooted our lives, hit by a car, and havr had many other tragedies in our recent lives. So Mary could have been the straw that broke the camels back-instead of reaching my breaking point, Mary was like a guardian angel. She is the reason I will be returning to your company for moving. I would love to hear something from someone as a response to know that my message was hard, and honestly the only thing I truly ask is that someone have a educated conversation with Joe at the location where he works. If anyone has any questions they can reach me at 727-674-3817

john b. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Guys where great

Brenda S. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was fantastic! Could not have been a better experience.

Diana G. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Not considerate to customers very disappointed

daniel r. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not much. Very customer service oriented team on this location. Great job!

MIRANDA S. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

N/a

Johnathan M. on 8/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Super helpful and friendly

GLENN H. on 8/14/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Trucks alignment was horrible. Needed 2 hands to steer for any length of time. Truck vibrated at highway speeds so bad it made the side mirrors useless. I was told I could by a moving blanket for $12 or a dozen for $10. The problem is I wasn't told the second option was a rental not a purchase. Fortunately the moving help told me.

John B. on 8/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Ryan W. on 8/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Extremely helpful staff quickly corrected problems I had at the pick up location as well as reimbursed me for a light I had to buy for the trailer mid-trip. Very quick and professional.

hellen m. on 8/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Joseph, the Manager was very efficient and helpful.

tommy s. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My experience overall was great the only bump in the road was in your call center....the girl was seemingly upset in her attitude on the phone...she seemed bothered and too quick...I felt somewhat rushed and did not want to ask her any questions....Manager Joe was great....friendly helpful with all my questions and very professional.

Michelle M. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The gentleman that was there at the time was sweet and I want to thank him for letting us drop the trailer there.

James W. on 8/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Convenient and nice location.

christopher b. on 8/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Worst experience ever with a moving truck compamy. I had a reservation to pick it up Saturday at 4 pm at the location in clearwater. I get there and the pick up truck was not there. So I talked to them and found out they have guarantee it will be there and will pay 50 dollars if not. Guess what? They didn't pay. The deal is if you have a set time, place, and date it's guaranteed. So I called and the rep refused to give me the money and his name. Then I had to walk home because I left my car at home and got dropped off. Never again.

Roberta W. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was very helpful and personable.

rodrica d. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was excellent and fast

george j. on 7/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location is convenient to where I moved. The person that checked me in was pleasant, courteous, and helpful. A Most Postive experience!

CHRISTA D. on 7/29/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Nice guy

Shelbi C. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I can't remember the gentleman's name, but he was extremely helpful. We even gave him a tip because he worked so hard in the Florida heat.

Warren W. on 7/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Howard who took care of us was fantastic, polite and absolutely a people person. This man is an asset to your team. But your computer system need to be upgraded to slow. Send undercover boss in there and you will see how much of an asset Howard is. In fact we just recommended another family to your location. By the way it was busy when we were there and Howard handled it professionally.

Sheryl L. on 7/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was extremely friendly and very helpful.

Ron G. on 7/18/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I WAS EXPECTED TO PAY ADDITIONAL MONEY FOR BRINGING THE TRUCK BACK WITH LESS GAS. HOWEVER THE REVERSE ISN'T TRUE WHEN I BRING IT BACK WITH ABOUT $15 MORE GAS. ALSO I WAS EXPECTED TO PAY FOR EXCESS MILES, BUT NO CREDIT FOR MANY LESS MILES. THAT IS NOT FAIR.

laurie O. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When we came in to pick up boxes and make the appointment to pick up the truck, there was only one person on staff and we had to wait 25 minutes. When we came in to pick up the truck, there were two people on staff and one of them was extremely show and seemed to not like his job. The truck was fine but no one told us how to start it correctly. It was originally started by the uhaul guy so we drove it to our home. When we went to start it again, it wouldn't start. We had to call customer service, who told us to insert the key then pull it out a bit, then start it. They could have told us this before we left the uhaul place. Very frustrating.

Marci W. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Maybe update the trucks. However, it was convenient!

mike f. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

On initial inquiry, anticipated my questions and answered fully. Gave me printed estimate with charges, so I could compare options. Very pleased, selling my trailer and will use Uhaul next time.

Melanie R. on 7/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I would like to recognize the gentleman whom rented me the truck. He went out of his way to give quality customer service. He was professional and kind. I was very grateful for his quality customer service skills. He is someone you want to promote within the company. Class act! I was not expecting that when renting a truck!

Daniel M. on 7/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing just keep doin what ur doin u guys are top notch all the way

carmen r. on 7/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything is good as it is.

Justin O. on 7/9/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When you drive in to get a vehicle. It's a one way always blocked by a truck headed out the wrong way. Service is sloowwww. Asked for a dolly. Got home. No dolly. Poor entrance to the place. Parking lot was set up terribly. Will not be back.

Ray B. on 7/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received excellent, courteous service and very well-maintained equipment that was ready when I came for pickup. This was a very good experience and the staff made the entire rental and return easy. The only thing I might suggest is that it is sometimes difficult to reach this location by phone because the staff is busy servicing other customers. Maybe add more people at this location?

DAN B. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had an appointment for a truck rental at 9:00 AM on Sunday, July 3rd. I waited and waited until someone finally showed up at 9:45. Not only was I inconvenienced, but the 4 people waiting to help me were also inconvenienced.

Daniel N. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely nothing it was an excellent overall experience

frank d. on 7/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent!

jerry D. on 6/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Joe was very very helpful. Good crew there.

thomas s. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Only problem was, I had to drive approx.15 miles to another location to pick up the trailer. Then when paying by cash, had to put a 100.00 deposit to pay by cash which I didn't have at that time, no one informed me of the payment by cash deposit. I had always thought "cash was king", not even a waiver for previous customer for a long time. Kind of disappointed about that.

PAUL A. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More people working in check in, one person can't serve a line of people.

Aneika B. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young man that did my transaction was very professional

Beverly O. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We did have an issue when unloading car from transport some wasn't chained down right and it pulled the front bumper on the driver side loose and broke something.The manager at Clearwater told us to take the car to an auto place and get it fixed and bill U-Haul This is still in process.

william m. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing stay the same. All was good!

mary w. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The man that I returned the uhaul to was very friendly and personable. Made me laugh after a really bad day.

ted p. on 6/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Trailers Wheels dry rotted. Tire blowout on Highway. Poor U-Haul customer service on the phone and on the roadways. Uhaul doesnt care!!!!!!!!!

Jose Q. on 6/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I dropped my vehicle off after hours. The location was well put together and clean on the outside. The air was still running out back but besides that all was well.

remato p. on 6/22/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My comments are on top .I do not like the guys at this location,they need training,

Emanuel H. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly people, great service! Vic does a superb job.

darrell e. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Don't know- they did GREAT!

Virginia A. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have rented many trucks and vans from winter Springs Fl and returned them to the Clearwater on Missouri...that office is very efficient. this was the first time to actually rent a van from that location. It was an easy transaction. The personnel were professional and courteous

Elizabeth C. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager, Joe Rogowski, gave us an extra day on our rental w/no charge due to Tropical Storm Colin's impact on our moving plans. Although we ended up not needing that extra day (we were able to safely leave on the planned day), we very much appreciated his consideration. Thank you!

EMMANUEL O. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Daniel provided excellent customer service. Thank you.

Alyxandra H. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The rep that I worked with was very friendly and made the process a breeze. Would definitely recommend that location to people.

CAROLYN P. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

None The guys that helped me were knowledgeable and very professional.

wendy h. on 6/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy rental, nice people.

Jeffrey T. on 6/7/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Smooth rental as always. Thank you.

Daryl J. on 6/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The equipment we rented was not available at the location we requested and it said we would be contacted by uhaul. We were never contacted and found out that our pick up location was changed by checking our order online. When I called the new pick up location, I was told there was several trailers closer to us but they were not available for out of state rental. The equipment we picked up was not maintained, the door would not stay closed we had to put a lock on it to keep it from opening. It also leaked. We have rented from uhaul several times and this was by far the worst experience we have ever had.

BRANDON B. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Incredibly easy. Service was quick and efficient and I paid less than they quoted. Great experience!

Monique S. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place. Have used them several times and will again.

john t. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

truck needs some serious repair work,steering was not good at all,truck wondered all over the road,terrible on gas 200 miles used $54.00 worth of gas,also no discount for veterans,penske gives a discount.

Dara S. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was awesome !

patrick m. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was informed by the customer service representative VIT, when I accepted the equipment that I could choose to add the insurance for the truck and tow dolly up to 24 hours after receiving. I check with my insurance company and they did not cover the UHAUL equipment. I called the central UHAUL Customer service line and was informed that this is not correct and the only way to add the insurance was to return to the location so I drove back to the location and VIT was gone for the day. The onsite rep. called to see if he could add the insurance and was told No. I wasted a great deal of time driving around and calling to clarify how to add the insurance. Significant mis-information by customer service and the onsite rep. was very frustrating. I was really disappointed. Another issue was that I reserved the truck and trailer at the Seminole, FL location near my house and was later informed that I had to pick up the equipment in Clearwater, FL. 30 minutes away from my house. This was also very frustrating. VIT (at the Clearwater location) was however very accommodating regarding this inconvenience and I was appreciative.

Mark E. W. on 6/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your Tech was very helpful and gave me the exact truck I needed.

DAVID A. on 6/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were awesome thanks again.

Lee B. on 5/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent staff! Thank you for your help!

EARLIE R. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When the store first opened all the employees were outside, so me and several others had to wait for someone to come in. But otherwise the service was great.

Michelle C. on 5/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Daniel was extremely helpful and very professional. Excellent asset to your team. Kindly followed me yo my house and let me drive him back. Really kind. Thank you!

Jeffrey T. on 5/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good experience. Will be back in 2 weeks to rent again.

Cruz T. on 5/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The place is too crowded with trucks that its hard to find a place to park.

DAVID B. on 5/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Same can be said of the personnel in Florida. Very pleasant and helpful. The check in process went without a hitch even though it was early on a Sunday morning.

Gary W. on 5/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Joe is perfect operator. Knowledgeable, friendly and made advance call confirming reservation. Trailer was ready when I arrived before reservation time.

cole s. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Location I dropped off at was fine - representative was understanding and actually knew what he was talking about. I would recommend having your employees, whether at the location or on the phone, know what they are talking about. You can refund me $100 back on my debit card for WHAT I WAS QUOTED BEFORE I GOT THE FINAL DESTINATION AND THE GUY TOLD ME THERE'S NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE.

Carol W. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Easy in very nice they will take care of terrible odor

Sabina Z. on 5/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

THIS IS THE WORST STORE EVER!!!! I PICKED UP A TRUCK FOR MY DAUGHTER WHO WAS PAYING FOR THE TRUCK. THE GUY AT THE DESK TOLD ME I HAD TO LEAVE A CREDIT CARD. I SPECIFICALLY ASKED HIM TWICE IF MY CARD WOULD BE CHARGED. HE ENSURED ME MY CARD WOULD NOT BE CHARGE - I WAKE UP TO $313.78 CHARGE & 4 BOUNCED CHECKS. U-HAUL REFUSES TO REFUND MY MONEY BECAUSE WE JUST RENTED THE TRUCK YESTERDAY & THEY WON'T DISCUSS THIS WITH ME UNTIL THE TRUCK IS RETURNED. THEN I MUST FILE A COMPLAINT AND WAIT AN ADDITIONAL 72 HOURS!!!! NEVER AGAIN IN LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Joseph M. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Top Notch operation, Clean and Super efficient, many moving supplies in their store, If you need a trustworthy U-Haul rental in Clearwater and surrounding areas this is the location.

Cynthia A. on 5/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I can't find anything. My time was great, efficient check in and return of vehicle. I had credit due b/c of mileage and it was done instantly. Thank you for making my move easier and with less stress!

Laura W. on 5/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff was so helpful. The only recommendation that I have is to let customers know that when pulling into the return lane that there will be someone there immediately to help you. I was not aware of this and the gentleman almost scared me.

Carlos M. on 5/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Entrance to parking lot not able to be seen clearly.

jane r. on 5/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

trailer seemed not inspected had to change over to another one . employee seemed not knowledgeable on equip

JOHN W. on 5/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Candace and Charles were very helpful.

kent z. on 5/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You need to tell thevrenters that the 10' box truck does not have a ramp included.

Paul L. on 5/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The equipment was ready when I arrived after being called to determine my pick up time. The staff worked hard to come up with the best value for my needs

Phillip B. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

U-Haul Corporate Customer Service leaves alot to be desired, was hung up on twice and not to friendly with the first customer service rep

Steven T on 5/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

VictorExcellentis the best. He went above and beyond to get the box delivered. Had it not have been for him I would be much more upset. Please fix the processPoor.THANK YOU!

DAVID V on 10/9/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellence of service! I highly recommend! Great staff as well!

RICHARD C on 4/29/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service was excellent