U-Haul of San Rafael

U-Haul of San Rafael

Share |

Address

1205 Francisco Bl E
San Rafael, CA 94901

(415) 457-8400

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of San Rafael

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of San Rafael

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

COLIN M. on 2/13/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Every time I go to this location, I get the same lack luster, lazy service. The only one I find helpful is the short young girl, unfortunately forget to ask her name. The last time I rented a box van, I had to add so many per-existing dents and dings to the form, I felt like I was doing their job. Also, the 'day laborers' that hang out and wave you down are so annoying. The fact that they will walk up to you and ask if you need help looking like they just woke up and haven't showered in days, not only reduces the professionalism of the company from a patrons eyes, but also makes the question their security. If the Mill Valley/Tam Junction location ever gets vans, you bet I'll never return to the East Francisco Blvd location. My 2 cents.

Peter L. on 2/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Computer system slow and staff not skilled in using some features.

nicole g. on 2/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

all went very smoothly. staff was pleasant and helpful! thank you.

PATRICIA C. on 2/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

great staff

benny c. on 2/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The service was extremely slow and getting someone's attention was actually a chore, You got the feeling like you were bothering someone, Also the explanation of what you were paying for and how it was used was very quick and not completely customer friendly......

JORGEANNE L. on 2/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good customer service

MICHAEL M. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick and easy. Staff very nice and helpful.

william b. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvement needed - all good.

Roberto S. on 1/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys are all awesome. Very professional and good people.

vicki a. on 1/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was happy with the efficient check in and check out procedures and professional service. I'd use this place again for sure.

marco b. on 1/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Practical location, easy in-out driving, always they have solution and competence for my need.

bruce c. on 1/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick, efficient, personable. Good experience, thanks.

HEATHER T. on 1/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I rented a van or truck or two trucks every day for a week. Super easy and on time and friendly staff. Luis and Monica provided fantastic and friendly customer service!

austin b. on 1/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was excellent. Staff were personable & prompt.

KAITLYN O. on 1/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people who work here are extremely helpful and very friendly. I love coming to a business where people seem to be happy/ having fun at work. Would recommend this place to others.

John E. on 1/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, good clean equipment. I'll use Uhaul again!

ZACHARY S. on 1/23/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

NIGHTMARE! The agent behind the counter was rude. The manager was worse. I called the San Rafael CA location and reserved a van for 6 hours for the next day and the man on the phone told me I could pick it up after 10:00am. I got there at 11:15 to pick it up and was told that they changed my reservation to having to be back at 3:15pm even though I reserved it for 6 hours (10:00 - 4:00). If I Brought it back after 3:15 I would be charged $50.00 fee plus another $20.00 for an additional day. The manager seemed agitated that I wanted to talk to him. When I asked him why my reservation was changed without even giving me a call. The manager told me that he doesn't have time to call its a busy weekend and other people need vans. Do you want the van or not? I had to spend an hour on the phone making several calls until I got someone with common sense that would call the general manager of the San Rafeal CA location to fix it. They made a busy hectic moving day a NIGHTMARE.

JIM R. on 1/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

staff was incredibly helpful

Brian W on 1/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks to Drew and his staff for assisting me in the midst of a stressful situation.

david d. on 1/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

one person working prime pick-up hour of 8:00 - 9:00. good person, but net result was long wait (terrible service)

Leo H. on 1/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was great. Equipment was clean and ready. The problem is the Ford van. I re-fueled the vehicle, left the key in the ignition and while I paid for the fuel, the van self-locked leaving me with no way to unlock the van. Why is heaven's name would you have such a lock system? And if you were foolish enough to design this, where is the warning to the driver that the vehicle self-locks? I can only imagine this is happening all the time. I waited 1.5 hours for service to get back into the vehicle and get on my way!

Rae B on 1/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

ELIZABETH W. on 1/19/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

UHaul had a leak in the roof and allowed rain to leak on my furniture and ruined some of my belongings - a box of expensive books. After one hour of the internal light on in the back of the truck, the battery wouldn't start and we had to call and wait for AAA. It was a disappointing rental.

MARTHA K. on 1/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was very easy to rent a van for several hours. I reserved online and the price was very reasonable.

KAY P. on 1/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

UHaul can stop being completely dishonest, lying & robbing the customers. Over all because of the horrible experience I had that is continuing to date & has yet to end because UHaul employees gave & made commitments, assurances the company has refused to honor along with over charging / billing point blank robbing their customers & myself. Belinda in the traffic department & UHaull need to acknowledge the email for authorizing the 3rd free day of rental & show physical proof that I returned the truck after 7/7/15. Return all of the money UHal overcharged me & end this nightmare.

greg b. on 1/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was very nice and helpful, both at check in and check out.

RICHARD G. on 1/14/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Personnel were unavailable. Ws had to wait.

PHILIP S. on 1/13/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Uhaul should be responsible for ensuring that everything ordered ahead of time is available at time of pick-up.

ANDREA W. on 1/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great customer service... After the girl at the counter finished ordering a pizza for lunch.

mary l. on 1/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The man who assisted me at the counter was very professional , friendly and extremely helpful in everything I asked and what was involved in the transaction.

WALT H. on 1/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very helpful

Jeffrey M. on 1/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The website had issues and gave me multiple error messages. But I got a call this morning asking if I really wanted three trucks so hopefully the web site issues will be addressed.

Jake P. on 1/10/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

no explanation was given for the fees associated with the cost of the rental. I think the charges are probably reasonable, but the lack of communication as to what would raise the rates and how to drop off the vehicle left me completely in the dark and I will not be using that location ever again. The guy who was working the cashiers desk obviously did not care.

Tomasi n. on 1/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your people were so friendly and on time

PAUL P. on 1/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people were courteous and efficient. I don't see anything you could employe really.

DOUG V. on 1/8/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When you rent a Uhaul truck, then return to have a car/dolly loaded onto the vehicle, and have already paid for both, it's pretty ridiculous that you have to go inside and then stand in a line of 10 people just to sign the release for the tow dolly.

NOE P. on 1/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Esque son profecionales

DAVID S. on 1/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Make sure the guys working out in the yard tell the customer to go in the office when returning to make sure the rental is checked in properly. I was charged an extra day when the kid that helped me in the yard said I didn't need to go in the office but he didn't tell the manager it was returned so they called looking for the trailer. I told them I had dropped it off on time but they still charged me for an extra day.

david g. on 1/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Not much. Service was friendly and prompt.

William S. on 1/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Since everyone did such a good job, all I can say is keep doing it. I think service at this location has improved or maybe I was just lucky. The truck had 48K miles on it but it was tight and ran great. Everything on it worked. No complaints at all. In fact complements to everyone I dealt with today.

DONNA Y. on 1/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monica is a great asset to your location. Her customer service is great, she follows up, offers suggestions - the type of service you rarely see today. Very good experience.

DAVID M. H. on 1/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Your team members were knowledgable and attentive , the moving van was clean and ready to go when i arrived. Good job guy's !

ZORICA G. on 1/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Before I picked up my truck, I checked the website several times. The rental for my move was always 4 days. Once I rented the truck and got home, I realized it was only 3 days. First the disparity between website and location was upsetting, but more importantly, my drive was 10 hours. There was no way I would have been able to load, unload and return the truck in 3 days. Furthermore it was New Year's Eve and everything was closing early and on the first closed so there was no way for me to rent a storage unit. Then I was told I had to return the truck to Oceanside, which made no sense since I live in Encinitas and there was a U-Haul right in Encinitas. I got all this straightened out, but I really could have done without the nerve-wrecking experience. However, that was not the worst part. The worst part was Drew at San Rafael whom I wanted to report for not only negligence, but outright rudeness. A girl got my paperwork done. Then I waited outside for my truck. Drew finally drove it up, left the door open, left the truck running and went off to help someone else. He didn't say a word to me. He wore dark sunglasses and had an earbud in his ear. No idea if he was listening to music or if this was a U-Haul phone connection. I waited and waited while he helped another customer with his paperwork, and then he finally came back, again not saying a word, and we did a walk around the truck. Meanwhile, other people who came after me were driving off with their trucks. Totally unacceptable, rude, mean behavior. Leaving me to wait, when we could have completed the walk around in a minute, was simply bad, unacceptable service.

JAMES P. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The girl who checked me in and out was really excellent. She should be commended.

PATRICIA M. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I reserved online. I arrived at the facility and in no time at all I was in the truck driving away. When I brought the truck back I was taken care of immediately and on my way. I was very happy with the service.

HARLEY B. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great drop odd experience, quick, and grateful for me returning a trailer hitch I found

TOMIO T. on 1/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great customer service!

STEVE S. on 12/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All went very smoothly with friendly agents.

RANDY S. on 12/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service across the board - staff, supplies, truck, hours, etc.

STEVE D. on 12/28/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Original guy taking reservations

CHUCK H. on 12/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck smelled like cigar smoke which was awful and it had not been washed in weeks.

TONY E. on 12/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really fast and easy rental process. We rented a pickup, carried some building supplies home, and turned the truck back in.

ANNAMARIA K. on 12/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Our Uhaul experience was great. We stood in line, swiped a credit card, and drove away. And the price was fair. What's not to like?

KENYA W. on 12/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

what you can do is have the rental equipment that you guaranteed to be in a Pacific location there. I was forced to drive to San Rafael from San Francisco to pick up a truck that was guaranteed to be in San Francisco it took me an hour and a half to drive through traffic just to get to the truck. An a hour and a half to drive back through traffic to get back to my original San Francisco location. It also cost me money to pay for the movers I had waiting. If at any time I broke the contract with Uhaul I would have been financially penalized. I believe u Haul needs to compensate me for the way u cancelled my reservation on Wednesday December 20th as well as forcing me to drive from San Francisco to San Rafael in 5 o'clock traffic on Wednesday December 23rd. Or simply dont guarantee equipment and take credit card reservations that you cant uphold. Because that's simply poor business practices

John D. on 12/23/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Overall the people who helped me were outstandingly friendly - they definitely made the little bit of waiting not a problem at all....

JON K. on 12/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly person helped with drop-off!

ROSIE N. on 12/22/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The staff did the best they could but the system was so overbooked it took 3 days to get my reserved truck...

Mary M. on 12/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Gas refund if we overfill.

LARRY C. on 12/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We were impressed on how quickly the process of checking out was considering the amount of people who were also conducting business at this location. The staff was friendly and well informed. Great doing business.

Marilyn I. on 12/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More people working at the counter on the weekends.

MICHAEL H. on 12/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have only two criticisms: 1) Check in & check out were slow & 2) the 15' truck averaged only 3.4 MPG (8 gals to drive 27 miles). Otherwise, I am satisfied and will rent again from U-Haul. Helpful friendly staff.

ELENA B. on 12/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Vehicle I rented wreaked of smoke and caused me to have an asthma attack. Had I known prior to renting your vehicle that it was smoked in, I would NOT have rented the vehicle. Next time I will be sure to ask.

MIKE T. on 12/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure when the person who hooks up your trailer tells you your good to go that they did intact connect the hitch, I drove from San rafeal to Santa Rosa with the hitch not connected to the ball. Luckly For me it was rush hour and the speed was only 25 mph . When I got to Santa Rosa to load the car on the trailer it came off the ball

BARRY G. on 12/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Get rid of the "owner" I've never seen worse customer service in my life. I'll make sure to let as many people as I can know how bad this guy is.

David P. on 12/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Van was pretty dirty on the outside and the windows were also dirty inside and outside - other than that the service was good the process worked well

Philip A. on 12/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvement required!

TOM O. on 12/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't say. I went in with my expectations and they were met, completely.

Richard M. on 12/14/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged over $4,000.00 for a one day rental by the manager. When I called explaining it he never returned my call. I continued to call until I got him on the phone and he then acted annoyed that I was bothering him. No apologies!

JEANETTE L. on 12/14/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Had a wonderful young girl help, she was informative, polite and great overall experience

TRACI K. on 12/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was pleasantly surprised by the experience I had. It was seamless and easy. Thank you!

GENKI K. on 12/12/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They didn't have 24 foot truck we originally reserved.

Lisa T on 12/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very pleased with the process and the flexibility to fill the U-boxes on site in my own time frame. Would definitely utilize again for my next move.

Amy M. on 12/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anselmo was GREAT! Thank you.

john m. on 12/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very efficient, professional, cost effective and courteous. keep up the great work and will pass on the kudos.

LAWRENCE S. on 12/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks!

Susan F. on 12/7/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Saul (I believe that's his name), the service representative who handled the drop off and final invoicing, was wonderful. He knew the various packages (commercial vs. otherwise) quite well, and was able to make adjustments so that I was charged fair pricing. He deserves acknowledgement, and because of him, I would happily return to and refer to this location.

jay t. on 12/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Provide vehicles with a full tank of fuel and stop playing the fuel game. It is an annoying company practice and is a disservice to your customers. Yes...it boosts per vehicle profits. But, it alienates customers

anni l. on 12/6/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience was compromised by conflicting information and poor communication: 1. I stopped by the store in person days before our rental and asked if the van would have a full tank of gas. I was told "Yes," but when I came to pick up the van on the rental day, I was given a vehicle with less than 1/2 a tank. I complained and Monica was able to change my rental to a van with a full tank. 2. I was also told my rental was for 24 hours, with a 24 hour drop off. I picked up the van at 7AM on Saturday, and brought it back around 6PM the same day, at which point Saul told me that I was supposed to have it back at that time, and that my rental was for the day only, and I was NOT scheduled to have a 24 hour return. I was just lucky that I brought it back when I did! 3. When I made my reservation with "Ellen" she told me she was IN the San Rafael location where I rented the van. Saul said no one of that name works there. So Ellen LIED to me. All of these pieces of the puzzle make me concerned that you have a staff wide communication problem. That said, both Monica and Saul worked swiftly and efficiently to address my concerns. They were both first rate in their problem solving. But I was just lucky that the failure of other staff members to properly process my reservation did not cost me dearly. If I rent from Haul again, I will demand much more written confirmation of the terms of my agreement IN ADVANCE, because I nearly got screwed in this process. I am not confident in the customer service at this location.

JANEY F. on 12/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys do a great job! Thanks so much

JESUS H. on 12/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Did not care about my situation

RICK M. on 12/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was informed the truck was on empty. I was told I would get a $33 credit. I was told I only needed to put a quarter tank of gas in the truck to get the credit. It took $35 just to get the tank to ¼. So I actually paid two dollars more for the stress of driving the truck from the UHaul to the gas station and ill ing it up so the employees didn't have to. But you know they charged the last renter for returning the truck empty a penalty. In the last 6 weeks I have spent more than $700 with U-Haul. Except for the girl who works there, everyone is a sub par employee. Sorry, but as a business owner, I would fire most of the crew. Anselmo was the only employee who actually made me feel like a valued customer. I urge management to pay a few surprise anonymous visits. Then fix the problem. The guys the work outside are fine. But the men in the shop are not professional. Eating pizza while helping me is not acceptable. Saying the manager is working today and the assistant manager is sick and there is no one in management that can help you today is B. S. I heard the story twice over the past week. I rented 2 vans and a truck this week. Plus I've made five trips to pick up more packing supplies.

JIM F. on 12/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

always slow to get uboxes ready for access, and usually unprepared when I get there. Twice they've not actually gotten the boxes staged for when I said I'd be there. Difficult to contact them by phone.

MARSHA B. on 12/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I bought the expensive insurance. There was no information about it on the website nor when I called. They told me it would be explained on site. Except when I was there there was a LINE of folks waiting to rent so he had NO TIME TO EXPLAIN ANYTHING! I assumed the price was for the whole trip. As it turned out, there is an extra charge per day over. I have paid, but his is not acceptable. You advertised a 15 foot box that is actually 10 foot box with a TINY 3x3 "extra space" attic. Why do you have to lie about this? Extra space means EXTRA SPACE ...not LESS space than you pay for. Pensky's square 15 foot box is 15 feet. Since I couldn't fit everything in your tiny false "15" foot box, I will rent from Pensky in two weeks. And from now on. And I will tell this to EVERYONE who will listen.

WILLIAM S. on 12/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We had to wait for pick up, but drop off was a breeze.

Michelle B. on 12/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

More customer parking would be nice. Also, there were a large amount of people loitering in the parking lot, which was frustrating.

TANYA G. on 11/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Verify time of return - not just date. Make sure you have the best phone numbers to reach people at.

BRENT F. on 11/28/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There was one incredibly slow guy working there and a line of people waiting.

Christopher C. on 11/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service at check-in. Thank you.

TERRYL L. on 11/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Your staff person at 7 am was great and very helpful.

MARILYN I. on 11/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have more people working at the counter on the weekends!

Rod K. on 11/24/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Old truck..... Worn down. Time to upgrade the equipment. Service was great

DAVID S. on 11/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It is great!

ralph k. on 11/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly service and well maintained equipment, it doesn't get better then that, good job Uhaul

JESSICA J. on 11/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No truck was available when I got there, since one hadn't been returned. While they tried to find me one in another city, another was returned, so I had that one prepared quickly and made it out on time. Moral of story, be prepared with a backup plan.

ROBERT C. on 11/22/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Monica (I think that's her name) was excellent with helping me out. Thanks!

Katy V. on 11/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was efficient and friendly

MIGUEL H. on 11/20/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service! Friendly staff!

Richard L. on 11/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pro: Huge store and great selection, very clean and neat and very friendly service. Con: Only one person working at this huge station, long line waiting.

CHARLIE B. on 11/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anselmo made the contract very easy and supplied me with a new truck and clear instructions. Smooth!

CATHERINE OR BRU S. on 11/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Got charged $25 cleaning fee for nothing! Will yelp a bad review. Man behind counter grumpy.Barely responded questions I asked.

RON S. on 11/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

my only complaint was the windshield inside was dirty but not obscured The employee I dealt with was very helpful and totally professional.. and I told him so

MAUREEN S. on 11/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Clean the inside of the vehicle - seats, steering wheel, dash and side door pockets. We cleaned it ourselves and it was pretty dirty as was the inside of the windshield. Windshield wipers were in poor condition. Otherwise things were ok. First truck we drove off the lot had a tire indicator light on. Location quickly gave us a new truck. There was a lot of confusion on what to do with unused pads. San Rafael first told us they would credit when we returned them that day. When we arrived that day, we were told the destination location would have to credit so we carried them with us. When we returned the truck the destination location gave us a credit but told us the originating location should have credited them.

Carlos P. on 11/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great service!

MARK A. on 11/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I made a same day online reservation for a 9' van in the morning, picked it up in the afternoon to make a San Geronimo/SF run and returned it. No surprises. No problems.

STEPHANIE W. on 11/13/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

excellent help with person attaching trailer

Keegan D. on 11/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good, efficient service. Truck is not luxury but that is what I expected - ran well and was clean and comfortable and got the job done.

Vincent W. on 11/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Re: maintenance of equipment above: 1. Side view mirrors would not remain in proper position. Wind from driving blew them out of position....constantly! Very unsafe. 2. There is a leak (yes it rained during my 1 day 10' moving truck rental) directly behind drivers seat, dripping down the back of my neck. EXTREMELY annoying!

R SCOTT S. on 11/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drew was great - very knowledgeable, very helpful, very personable. :)

Francois S. on 11/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Person at the counter was very professional and very pleasant.

ROCK W. on 11/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More of Monica

Lisa S. on 11/7/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Require the gas tank to be full for all customers. The 3/8, 1/2 tank variations are a hassle.

phil h. on 11/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went great. Thanks.

REGINA N. on 11/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentleman who assisted me at the counter was very efficient and pleasant.

KARIN G. on 11/3/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I really can't think of anything. Everyone I had contact with was friendly and helpful.

SHARI B. on 11/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have never used a uhaul before, so this experience was new to me. I received a call from uhaul the day before the move, telling me they didn't have a truck locally, but they have one 50 miles away..I said OK, what else was I going to do..we went to pick up the uhaul, the people at the pickup site were very nice and made sure I had been credited for the travel time, filled the uhaul gas..got us on our way.

KATHLEEN G. on 11/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Actually everyone was very kind. The difficulty for me was when moving I ordered 2dollies: 1 regular and 1 appliance, but the appliance Dollie was not inside the uhaul truck. It caused some problems, as we needed to move heavy furniture.

MARILYN I. on 11/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The gas gage did not work even though I put in 7 1/2 gallons for a 12 mile usage.

GARY C S. on 10/31/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

1 .)talk about bridge tolls( i paid.you paid. I repaid you) which means i paid twice. 2.)if i don't ask for any packing, hand trucks/refrigerator dollies don't have em in the truck. 3.) we most likely spent 14.00 more than we needed to on gas. You can lower that margin of error. 4.) you made more selling us insurance than you did renting us the truck. You can , if the customer has full coverage, let his company handle claims. So don't lie about that. 5.) did i like the men and women working there ? Yes. 6.) did they as men and women give me confidence to return ? Yes. 7.)the CORPORATE PERSON need to look in mirror and ask.What am i selling?

RAUL V. on 10/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

TYLER S. on 10/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All was great. I hope you've cleaned up your Concord, CA location one of the worse years ago. Thank you!

KRISTIN O. on 10/27/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I chose this location due to it having an after hours key drop as I had to travel for work Sunday evening. On arriving, the key drop was taped up with a sign in the window saying key drop not available until 10/29. No communication to this effect was sent to me. I had to change my work plans at great expense. I expect this to be addressed by uhaul

TOM R. on 10/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very organized and consistent in response. Good communication.

MARK A. on 10/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Shop in middle of remodeling so may not be typical experience.

Robert S. on 10/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service... Keep on smiling. It makes a difference.

KIRK M. on 10/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good job.

SIMON W. on 10/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I always receive great service here, even at 7:00AM on a Friday morning, when everyone's had just about enough of the week.

Jamine T. on 10/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Friendly customer service but they didn't mark off on any paper places that the truck had been damaged so it was a little worrisome. Also, it isn't very clear how to make sure the gas is at the same level upon return. And the lock on the back of the truck didn't work. Also, it's not ok to make the renter assume liability for the truck overnight when they are forced to park on the street because the parking lot and night drop are closed due to construction at the site.

ROBERT W. on 10/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Finish construction ASAP

DOROTHY W. on 10/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

nothing to suggest; they were already making repairs to the yard area

CARTER B. on 10/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was such a relief to easily move my reservations from Novato.

Pedro H. on 10/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I recommends

Ivan J. on 10/19/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Employees were busy eating behind the counter when I came in. No one made eye contact no acknowledged me when I arrived nor when I literally stood in the line, right in front of them, for quite some time. There were 4 employees. Not a lot of class if you ask me

ROBERT W. on 10/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Extremely helpful personnel !

CRAIG J. on 10/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The wait at the counter when picking up the car transporter was long...only one person helping customers. Otherwise everyone was very helpful.

Kenneth P. on 10/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service, friendly; on-time & helpful! Good efforts, thanks.

Richard H on 8/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent staff service

micheal s on 8/6/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guys who came to load were great. The U haul staff and service were a disaster. Plain scary. Michael Stanford not Sampford as above

mary jane p on 8/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints.

olivia c on 6/13/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

A chair was smashed when the box arrived. Almost beyond repair

Timothy W on 6/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Lock on one box was destroyed. Person that referred me had lock ripped off door. I am seeing a pattern.

John S on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

One staff younger, male - didn`t get his name was particularly helpful throughout the process - making sure I have what I need, and providing tips on how to maximize my ubox :

Bill B on 5/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You`re lucky to have Drew as an employee.

Monica B on 4/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Box was not delivered on time. Staff was extraordinarily unhelpful and had no idea when the box would arrive. Absolutely terrible experience.

Brian M on 4/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

General manager Drew was outstanding to work with

Alisha M on 2/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

.

NANCY M on 12/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We weren`t told that we had to number boxes and list all items to move overseas. We had to make a trip back to the States from Singapore to do this. We used a different company to ship overseas.

Barry T on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone very helpful and courteous. Had rented a trailer but when I saw the U-Box opted for that instead.

john anita f on 11/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor service and zero communication

STEVEN C on 4/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lock and hasp were torn off of my unit when I received it and there were a number of things missing from my U-box.

BETH C on 3/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager was very helpful and even offered to let us have a lock in case we needed to lock up our U-Box in between trips as our lock had partially broken during shipment.

JAMEY G on 3/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Box itself is a bit expensive but our experience with delivery and pickup has been excellent and we wish to commend UHaul Delivery Associate Sandy on outstanding customer service.

HEIDI H on 3/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sandy the delivery person was the best part of all. She was super friendly and professional.

PEDRO R on 2/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was attended by Becky. Never did Becky make eye contact with me although I was sitting directly in front of her, and she continuously responded that she did not know the answer to my questions.

RACHAEL T on 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would recomend a larger size for a one bedroom/studio and and I have very few Items.

ANDREW P on 12/23/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well staffed and staff very helpful. Everything went great.

MONIQUE C on 11/26/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Slightly misleading saying it is $79.95 when it is $300 to deliver!

JUDITH B on 10/17/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The u-box was ready when i went to pick it up. it was not delivered.

MARK J on 10/4/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the uhaul delivery gal was brilliant and apologized to me on behalf of san rafael uhaul. they did not call me to schedule a window for delivery and the uhaul customer service people were useless.

MARI J on 9/29/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It was incredibly difficult to access my box I called in advance multiple times and yet no one was able to help and the box was not accessible when I showed up

JOHN B on 9/11/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very hard to communicate with San Rafael store. They didn`t return calls and call center couldn`t resolve issues. Only one man was authorized to handle UBox which created wait times over 3 hrs!

LEE K on 8/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The driver picking up the ubox`s was awesome!

NANCY D on 8/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were helpful hitching up the trailer and treated us with kind regard.

GREG C on 8/3/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Manager lost staff, no one to deliver box. I was not called - had to pay men when no box. I did get free truck to drive box myself next day. U-Haul did not meet an agreed on and contracted deadline.

NANCY D on 7/29/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At the start of the process I couldn`t find my box, I was told it would be put in the parking lot by 4 p.m. Label boxes to be less generic. Anthony was best in terms of customer service.

BENJAMIN T on 7/24/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Bad service, broke my lock and did not replace until i demanded it.

TAMARA B on 7/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at San Rafeal are exceptional. They went out of their way to ensure all boxes were accessed easily and called me on the phone instead of making me wait, tt time of payment. 5 Stars!

LONNER H on 7/14/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager at the san rafael, california store, christopher, was fantastic as well as the two men working under him. telephone customer service i found untrained confusing, though friendly.

ELI C on 7/9/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I cannot express how much I hate this company in 200 characters or less. This has been the worst experience of my life.

ADRIANE R on 7/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Especially Walt who fixed a major problem with my account that would have had the Ubox going to the wrong town. I loaded at the Uhaul site and everyone there was really helpful.

RYAN L on 5/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service from Chris and staff at San Rafael

RICHARD K on 4/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

convenient, easy to load, made moving so quick and trouble free! thank you u-haul

ROSS G on 1/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service

JOHN A on 1/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

On site staff were great, corporate organization scores about a 1/2 out of 10. I got a billing, late notice and lein notice before my belongings were confirmed delivered which took 5 weeks.

DONNA G on 11/25/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

in-store personnel great, but the two people I talked to over phone provided misinformation about your fees and policies.

VENKAT G on 9/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Seattle customer service sucks.

CHARLES C on 8/6/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience with this company was awful. I got an apology and nothing else.

MICHAEL M on 7/23/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little pricey, but otherwise a very good service

MICHAEL T on 6/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The checkout experience in the store is MISERABLE. It took 30 minutes. You guys have got to figure out how to make the experience better. Also, the wood box is a bit concerning. Would prefer metal.

KEN C on 6/12/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Made arrangements to have box delivered at 1pm. My pregnant girlfriend waited at the house that had no furniture. 200 characters not enough space to explain how bad it was.