U-Haul of San Rafael

U-Haul of San Rafael

Share |

Address

1205 Francisco Bl E
San Rafael, CA 94901

(415) 457-8400

Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of San Rafael

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of San Rafael

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

ralph k. on 12/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great job Uhaul, great and well maintained equipment very friendly service

mark h. on 12/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Figure out the difference between Hayward and Belmont. And know which of your locations have/don't have trailers. Also I had to go to two different spots in Petaluma to return the piece be a use the one I was instructed to go to doesn't take trailers. I could have built a trailer in the amount of time it took to deal with your company. I will never use Uhaul again.

Krista M. on 12/1/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Saul was awful! Never will I go to that Uhaul again! Poor little girl working with him was wonderful! He should be fired before ruining your entire shop there!

Krista M on 12/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Saul I think his name was the rudest most arrogant jerk Ive dealt with in a really long time! He deleted my reservation to up my rates refused to honor the emailed quote I had! No pads in pods!

Steve H. on 12/1/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Engine oil was 2 quarts low. Did not notice until I loaded the truck and had driven 12 miles. Brought truck back to uhaul for them to add oil. Why wasn't this checked by uhaul staff before giving me the truck?

daria s. on 11/30/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There was only one person working when I picked up and I had to wait a long time. The van's bed was filthy. I had to sweep it out myself. I was driving at night and the van's console was not lit at all so I couldn't see many of the controls. I did not feel comfortable leaving my car there overnight because the neighborhood is not safe.

Brett Z. on 11/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Check out tires... a tire literally shreaded off the trailer.. sparks flying everywhere on the freeway 80 miles in with 400 miles to go. blow out was at 1 am in the middle of the freeway with a brand new bmw on it. The roadside came in about an hr and was very nice

Krista M. on 11/24/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

No pads over charged refused to honor quote! Horrific customer service! Very sad!!!

Marilyn I. on 11/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More people working at counter on the weekends would be great!

Doug W. on 11/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The counter guy who gave me the keys was excellent.

chad h. on 11/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The crew are great!......I hope they're getting paid appropriately ;)

DOUG S. on 11/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was raining, profusely to the point the parking lot was flooded and the staff worked very hard to make sure I had the correct ball on my hitch, dolly hooked up properly and wiring/lights attached and working, even though it meant wading through a lake to do it! Thanks much!! Douglas

Dyane G. on 11/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, it was PERFECT, easy and fast. Thank you!

Claire K. on 11/19/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

it was hard to find someone to help me both upon arrival and drop-off of the vehicle

ISABELLE S. on 11/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I like the staff a lot -- always very helpful and understanding . Anselmo has assisted me with several of my rentals and I always find him to be friendly, efficient and wanting only the best for this customer as well as the U-Haul company. What a great employee!! It's always a pleasure to rent vehicles from this location.

Geoffrey B. on 11/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person who helped me hitch the trailer gave great customer service and was friendly.

Michael L. on 11/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

There is no parking onsite or on any adjacent street. I had to park app. 1/2 mile away and walk over. Rental truck was not ready. 12V supply to plug in navigation or phone charger was not working and I ended up getting lost due to empty battery on navigation. Tank was below half full.

Jon A. on 11/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

After a long day driving I was tired and I ended up parking the truck in the wrong spot in the lot. One of the attendants yelled something and pointed me to another place. My hearing isn't the best and I didn't end up going where he or another worker wanted me to go and were very rude and kept saying "We've got signs" It was as if I made their job intolerable parking 100ft from where they wanted me to go. They embarassed me in front of my wife making my confusion seem like some major issue. There was hardly anyone else at the store at the time and I wasn't hindering anybody else from getting help. I hope when they get older they have their wits about them better than I do or at least come into contact with folks that have a bit of compassion.

Laura M. on 11/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for great customer service today. Pick up and drop off were easy and handled well.

mary j. on 11/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

As always good service

jerry a. on 11/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Well done... no issues... love the facility.

Steve H. on 11/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We had a top-notch experience with everyone at this Uhual location. Anselmo was fantastic! He was so friendly and personable. He explained all the details of our rental! Also, the young woman who helped us check in our truck was also very friendly and helpful! I have rented here in the past and will do so again, I'm sure, in the future! Thanks to all!

LISA D. on 11/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drew and staff were very helpful and professional. I have utilized U-haul most of my adult life and can assure you that this was the most clean and organized branch I've seen so far. Thank you.

Larry R. on 11/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really great service, couldn't have asked for better. Thanks Steve!

Maya R. on 11/10/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The personnel at the front desk was very nice and did what she could to help us. However, the truck we reserved for a one way trip was not at the location and we even arrived a little late for our reservation giving them time to get the truck. However when I asked if they had a truck if we returned it at the location they said yes. They were offering a 50$ discount but did not waive the fee of the miles it would take me to drive the truck back to the location another 100 miles round trip out of my way and 1/2 that in the cost of travel miles. Further more, originally I had teserved a. Offer truck and when I was on the phone with this location the same thing happened. They would not rent me the truck one way. So I went from a 26 ft truck to reserving a 20 ft truck. Then when I get to the site there is no 20 ft truck and she is offering me a 15ft truck which would mean multiple trips anyways. Horrible! There should be no difference between in town and one way trucks. This is a service you are providing and advertise that you can provide. So provide it!

LYSA W. on 11/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The windshield, on the inside was dirty. it was tough to clean. It would have been nice if I didn't have to do that. The place was very busy when I arrived and few rentals were back, so I understand. The staff was exceptional nice and helpful. thank you.

Michael W. on 11/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick and efficient. Friendly as well.

Rick B. on 11/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Your system is totally messed up. We reserved a 26 foot truck a few weeks in advance and the day before we needed it you called and said it wasn't available and there was nothing you could do! We seriously relied on this truck to move. I can't imagine using U-Haul again. And I'll tell everyone I know. I told my new neighbor and he said he was about to rent a U-Haul and now he will go elsewhere.

Sue M. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

$173.00 for 4 hours!!!! I rented a car from Enterprise for 4 days and it was less...I will be offering a friend a hundred before I rent a vehicle from you again!!!

Diana R on 11/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My two U-boxes were taken to the wrong city then when I finally got them one of the boxes was smashed wide open, contents were broken, and mice had chewed through my boxes.

Catherine R. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Actually, going to this location was amazing. Easy in easy out and the employee was really friendly and helpful.

Michael S. on 11/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Personnel was friendly and efficient.

ELLEN C. on 11/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service rep was amazing and sweet!

valetta c. on 11/5/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have no idea why i am being charged for 168 miles when i only drove a total of 42 miles and I can prove it on my GPS. I drove from your location to Novato 5 miles each direction Total of 10 miles. I then drove to Richmond 16 miles each way or a total of 32 Miles round trip for a grand total of 42 miles. I was with two other people who can verify this in a court of law. The second issue was my tank was less than 1/2 and the gentlemen noted this and signed his initials on my receipt. (see attached) I dropped the truck off at 2PM and was told to leave the key on the seat as I was charging it to the same credit card, but my receipt now shows that the truck was dropped off at 5PM??????? Please adjust my credit card immediately for the difference in miles. I found this whole rental very frustrating from the very beginning as there is never ever any customer parking and i almost got hit by a car after parking my vehicle across the street. there is always a line and never more than one or two agents to help. Again, please adjust my credit card immediately for this overcharge.

Deanna R. on 11/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good service.

NICHOLAS P. on 11/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Saul Godinez exhibited amazing customer service skills. While waiting in line he had to handle a most obnoxious and impatient customer on the phone-he was calm helpful and professional throughout-frequently expressing precisely how he would solve the customer's issue. After that - he helped us with a smile on his face and calm professional attitude. Anselmo also helpful and professional. Great staff!

Dan C. on 11/3/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The guy that hooked up the car trailer to my truck didnt tighten it down to the hitch ball and it detached when I went to put my car on the trailer and it ruined my bumber

David M. on 11/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very quick and easy.

MAHMOUD S. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

keep it up.

Angel W. on 10/30/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Would of loved it if they gave me a little instruction on driving before I left. Also, there was no parking and they asked me to park in a place I later found out was Uhaul restricted parking....I luckily wasn't towed due to their recommendation. Their employees need to park elsewhere to make room for customers. It was also incredibly hard to get out of the place. Everything was all squished together making it even more nerve wrecking to drive. The return was much better experience and the person who helped was great.

gina t. on 10/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Monique, at the desk command center, is a great asset to your company.

COLIN M. on 10/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location has been up and down regarding rentals of any type, but recently with the team it has at the very moment, they are great. Quality service and extremely helpful.

Bernie S. on 10/27/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

At pick up there was only one person in the building. He was at the counter and speaking Spanish on his cell phone. He did not acknowledge my presence and looked past me as he talked for several minutes, apparently to his Mom. I became very irritated that he would not at least tell me that he would be right with me. When I waved my hands to get his attention, he scornfully told me he had an energy call, even though it did not sound so, although I don't speak Spanish. I turned and was walking out the door when he called me back. He did take care of my order but was very terse; not good service. After I signed he told me that my truck was being readied and I should wait outside. There a young man was busy moving trucks around and left one running which I presumed was for me but no one went over its operation, looked at damage, etc so I stood there waiting for someone to tell me that this truck was for me and to send me off. Very annoying. Then I called out to get this second man's attention and asked if this one was for me. He did not come over to me and just yelled from afar that it was ready to go. I drove off without any assistance for how to operate the 20' truck. The return was handled with much better interaction. You need to teach both the Spanish speaking young man at the counter and the young man in the yard what real customer service is about.

DOUG W. on 10/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always good!!!

Jeff P. on 10/26/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Totally non-responsive for all calls about rental truck. made reservation through main uhaul customer service and was given wrong information which resulted in renting a vehicle inadequate for my move. money wasted, no help from anyone contacted. I'll rent from someone else next time

AL M. on 10/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The man who checked me in was great! asked pertinent questions and cared about my trip from So Cal to Nor Cal. Thanks, I appreciate your concern.

Neomai s. on 10/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys are doing a great job

Grant W. on 10/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drew and staff are spot on - a real pleasure doing business with them!

vanessa s. on 10/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely fabulous service. Professional, friendly, courteous staff. Prompt and well organised. Highly recommend U-haul San Rafael. Thank you

satish m. on 10/22/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer service has vastly improved over the past few months, as I have been using this facility for quite a few years, off and on. They have been very accommodating. I feel good coming back now!

Carey R. on 10/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I dealt with 2 people while renting/returning a pickup. Both were professional and relaxed. I was happy when I was walking back to my car at how easy the rental and return went. Thanks.

Eda B. on 10/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had hired a gentleman from Mexican decent to pick up the truck and drive it to my house. He was not treated very kindly by your staff. But otherwise I have been pleased

georgiannee j. on 10/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff members at the U haul in San Rafael are very friendly, accommodating, and sensitive to my moving needs, especially Saul. I hope I got his name spelled correctly.He is an people person, perfect forbusiness!

brian g. on 10/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. Your people that work here are stars!

KAREN S. on 10/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Get rid of the solicitors that hang around the gates. They were very intimidating and frightening.

Steven W. on 10/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monica ROCKS!!!! Nuff said...

gwen S. on 10/17/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

the person at the register was great, the person that checked us in was very cranky--

Susan R. on 10/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was to return the truck with the same amount of gas that was in it, a little more than 3/4 tank. I stopped at two gas stations and the nozzle kept shutting off as I tried to refill. I had to keep checking to see if the tank was filling, removing the nozzle and then turning on the engingine to check the level. The nozzle kept shutting off as if the tank was full. Something is wrong here. I'm expecting to get an additional charge for gas when I simply could NOT put anymore in. This seems rigged to me. Give me a full tank and ask me to return it full...but make it so I can without jumping in and out of the truck to see if I'm done. Seems to me a way for you to hit me with extra charges...not good.

Melissa R. on 10/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It took a really long time to get helped. Two people in front of us ended up leaving before they got helped.

mary lou w. on 10/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You got it all.

Dave G. on 10/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service tech!! Got me in and out in no time!!

Neil K. on 10/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Efficient and helpful...and the truck was excellent!

Thomas K. on 10/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Need to check trailer tires more closely, minimal tread on 1 tire.

sheela l. on 10/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very accommodating, friendly staff.

Diane B. on 10/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Show client location of gas tank filler!! Use better shock absorbers...All else ok.

Emily D. on 10/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very organized operation.

SUSAN S. on 10/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner is super fast and friendly. The woman who checks the vehicles... Monica ? Is great too!!

Lawrence J. on 10/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The parking situation is pretty bleak

TAWNYA S. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service, fast, easy..

Betsy G. on 10/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

phone call went to 800 number. they told me I had a 2:00 appointment but when I got there they said it was booked for 3:15. that is not what the woman on the phone told me. that was frustrating and not one person said they were sorry for the mistake. it was assumed it was my fault. that is not good customer service.

SHYIDA J. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Make sure we have license plates...got a ticket for not having one. Otherwise they were "perfect", the whole staff Saul, Brandon, all of them were simply pristine!

Cael H. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You have a great, hardworking crew at the San Rafael Uhaul office. Mostly younger folks, they are professional and provide true customer service (very rare these days). As a former office manager I feel they could use a little help. It appears that they are often understaffed and struggling to keep up with the workload (all to common due to penny-pinching corporate policies). No fault of theirs. Even under such pressure they are courteous. The risk you run in operating this way is high turn over/attrition and decline in morale which leads to poor customer service. These kids should be rewarded for their good work! Thank you for your time, Cael Hazard

Antonia F. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have more staff available on a busy Saturday afternoon and more rental equipment available.

Mansour M. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The staff service is excellent, while the truck was too old.

Gwynne F. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

add more staff and recognize the above average job that every member of this Uhaul team performs.

Joel M. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

no professionalism, nor oriented. Really disappointed.

WAYNE M. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Pick up was great. Drop off terrible. I followed the return signs and parked where it said stop. After I had walked from the van a young person asked if I was returning. I said yes. He said park it over there pointing to a disabled space. I said I am not moving it as I walked inside. He followed me complaining I had not moved it. I spoke with the guy behind the counter. He wanted me to move it too! I told him no way and that they both need to work on their customer service. Two lazy arrogant employees with no idea what they should be doing. Losers.

Jennifer M. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monica was wonderful, extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the equipment. I was pleasantly surprised by the great staff at this location.

Marie D. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The vehicle was mechanically sound but the inside of the windshield was filthy and the back of the van was dirty and just smelled like heavy cleaning product was poured in to compensate. Otherwise I love this location. Very friendly and efficient staff.

Hilary M on 9/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The two guys at the store, Anselmo and Saul, were wonderful. Helpful and patient and thorough.. Please give them a raise.

Craig D. on 9/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for your services. Everyone is knowledgeable and friendly.

Bob H. on 9/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were extremely helpful

Jody C. on 9/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

So easy! Friendly, helpful staff and clean place and equipment .

Delfin M. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep up the great service!

oendrila k. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very good customer service. We were running late and they did not give us a hard time for it.

jeff f. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Saul was incredibly helpful and on the ball, juggling people at the desk as well as on the phone. Top notch customer service!

JOHN H. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

the rental person told us we could drop off in a pacifica location on Monday. He was totally wrong, the pacifica location is not open on Mondays.

Kris S. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No problems!

Juanita R. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The team here was incredibly friendly and super helpful! By far the best experience I've had with u-haul!

brian g. on 9/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This place is the best.

TIM P. on 9/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The employees were very average. They weren't particularly polite or accommadating, very average.

Victoria S. on 9/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I spoke with the GM about this. The staff at this location is nice and knowledgeable. It's busy so multi tasking and keeping a good attitude might be challenging but necessary. There is one staff member who needs training on attitude and how it to behave with customers. I had a bad experience and I know at least 3 others who have had bad experiences and really complained verbally in front on me and others when I was there a couple of weeks ago. It's only going to help this staff member to receive mentoring and training. It would obviously be good for UHaul and for this location.

Donald F. on 9/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Guy checking me in wasn't clear about where to park, and was a little rude when I went to the wrong spot.

laura b. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We reported to the manager at the drop off that the passenger side floor boards heated up so much it seemed a cab fire hazard. He really didn't care in the least. Also, make it possible to drop the car off locally, not over 30 min away.

Stephen P. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check in to return the vehicle was fast and effecient.

NICOLAI H. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service / personnel attitude.....

anne s. on 9/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The man that works there is great and knows his job very well. His customer service is excellent & he explained everything to me. You're doing great!

Stacy J. on 9/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The reservation for these 2 u-boxes was completely messed up by they young man at the 800 number who took it for us. I asked to have the boxes at my home for 3 DAYS in order to get them packed, he told the facility 3 HOURS and there for the trailer was double booked, leaving US with a complete disaster to deal with. The San Rafael facility worked hard to make a difficult situation a little less stressful. Their help was greatly appreciated. Stacy Johnson

Ed L. on 9/19/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Would have liked to pick one up in Novato, CA

Vander M. on 9/19/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

If I reserve a truck for 8 hours my expectation is that I get the truck for 8 hours. I arrived 1 hour late to pick up----no one called texted or emailed me that they were going to give my reservation away. Your reservation system is not complete if it doesn't account for that but worse of all was the employee who gave my truck away. He was rude and in my view not on the customers side.

Robert R. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, and very helpful.

michael k. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Main Complaint: Location represented "Full Tank". Drove 14 miles total. Started to fill tank prior to return. I cut filling short at 3.6 gallons. Tank couldn't have been full at outset. Wasted $6.00. Equipment: Everything worked fine. But Passenger door badly caved in and unsightly. Another pickup should have been provided

GIL P. on 9/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had a good experience at this location. Drew checked me in quickly. Monica was excellent and efficient when I was returning the van.

David T. on 9/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very good customer service, though I had to wait in line before the one-only available counter person could help me.

Valerie R. on 9/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

fast professional experience-I was in and out in less then 5 minutes.

melinda W. on 9/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great customer service..efficient

Judy G. on 9/14/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Easy to find, quick in and out.

Shirley C. on 9/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

all was good

Luke L. on 9/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smoothly. Thanks to Patrick on the 800 number and Monica in the office!

ken s. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

maybe tighten the coupler on the trailer to the ball on my truck (at least your employee called me and said he may have forgot to tighten it!)

Jennie S. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I would not go out of my way to recommend, but certainly if someone were to ask I would recommend.

Virginia J. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy transaction. Rental was ready & waiting, although the outside was poorly washed the inside very clean. Staff courteous and appreciative that we returned vehicle so clean. I noticed the rate was higher than other weeks in the month, wondered why....but overall no problems, will certainly rent again.

Julia O. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

provide clear instructions as to where to park in your busy lot. We were instructed to park in what turned out to be a truck spot, which caused the other staff some consternation. So just be clear to customers as to where they can park.

joanna r. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The inside of the 15ft truck was reasonably clean but the outside was disgusting. It looked like food or vomit on the outside of the doors. The check in was very quick and everyone was polite.

robert b. on 9/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Add a check out / check in desk person

Karen N. on 9/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was helpful and made everything super easy!

Lloyd D. on 9/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I drove 1200 miles in 2 days. The truck needed cruise control. It would also be nice if the radio had an auxiliary jack or blue tooth. Otherwise, the truck was great.

klause b. on 9/10/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pro: Installer Luis Vasquez went above and beyond and did not give up when troubles arose with electrical wiring job. Very pleased that Luis got the Audi Q7 wiring done. He is very good. Cob: General Manager Drew Bates did not return phone calls to provide assistance when needed.

Julie H. on 9/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Monica was, as always top notch regarding customer service and it was busy this morning. She was handling other customer's needs as well. This lady knows how to successfully multitask. Thanks again UHaul!!

dan m. on 9/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was handled as requested and additional help given when needed with wiring harness. This is the the fifth or sixth time I have rented at his location and every time the people at the the counter and in the yard gave me the straight scoop instead of what I wanted to hear . That made a huge difference in my plans .

paul b. on 9/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pickup easy. Andrew great guy at desk. Young girl in yard very professional and checked hookup and connection fully. Dropped off after hours with no problem

Angela M. on 9/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You need more people in the morning 9am and at check in. Both times there was no one to be found in the store/counter. Two customers actually walked out. The one guy was trying to do both jobs. Once he was at the counter, service was great! and he did apologize for the delay. In the afternoon 2:30pm, again there was a guy checking in the vehicles but no one inside. I finally had to ask if I could get a receipt. Both employees were working to do everything, but frustrating for customers to have to wait.

Shawn G. on 9/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ha ha bigger lot! Nothing really our guy that helped us was personable and professional. It's nice to receive good customer service.

Marleen K. on 9/7/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent! How about a rewards Program?

Gail G. on 9/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was all very easy. The woman at the front was very efficient and all went smoothly.

henry s. on 9/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It's a great place to rent .

esther b. on 9/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Too few employees - had to wait in long line to be served.

Amanda T. on 9/4/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They didn't have the vehicle I originally planned on, the man who was helping me kept disappearing, making my wait even longer. And the u-haul call center couldn't get their info straight to send me to the right drop off location. It wasn't until my last call that anything got fixed. Very disappointed

John G. on 9/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The person who took my order on the phone was very helpful and friendly. Thank you!

Ellen c. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The woman who checked me in was friendly, professional and informed. I was really impressed.

Alex L. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

San Rafael Uhaul is a good place to get a truck.

OSCAR G. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well done guys

giovanna C. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The young men receiving the truck when I returned it was apathetic and unfriendly. Additionally, if you want your blankets folded upon return. Say so when I am renting them. The expectation to read instructions on a plastic bag are unreasonable.

Sharon L. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was a little bit of a wait time before I was helped but the sales attendant was apologetic, kind, and attentive. He (Brandon?) has helped me with my purchase of moving boxes in the past also. The open bed truck I rented was damaged and worn but it was fine for my moving needs. You could have a Rent-A-Wreck division to rent the trucks at a lower price that have been damaged but the engines are well maintained. :)

kit c. on 9/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy who took my order and hooked up the trailer couldn't have been more helpful. Convenient, well designed trailer at a good price!

Serge M. on 9/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All the staff at this location was great. While the vehicle ran very good, we picked up a van that was not clean inside and outside. Actually, we washed the van before using it and we found debris and garbage in the cabin (including old socks). Also, while the gas gage showed full, it did not remain there very long. After a few miles it came down pointing to a tank that was not not really full in the first place. Otherwise, we were satisfied with the rental and appreciate the efforts made by U-Hall to be technically savvy and moving forward.

RENE T. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

While walking into the location the staff was fooling around and didn't acknowledge my wife and I at first. The truck was pretty badly damaged, and it was advised to me that one of the employees caused the damage. Upon returning the vehicle no one can be found... Waited 20minutes to be helped only to be told I should of yelled for help? The representative didn't want to give me a receipt at first because he probably felt it would take to much time. Not the best UHAUL experience at all

Alicia F. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very quick and clean! Friendly as well! Thank you!

Loryn S. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I booked the reservation on line but was called two days prior to the reservation, and the agent informed me that the rental was not available at the specified location. I would have to drive a distance to another location. I informed them that I was not willing to do so, and I stopped in at the San Rafael location, where Brandon and his female co-worker (whose name I do not recall) set everything right for me. Those employees are the reason I would return. I would recommend that your call center, although polite, revise the reservation system so that this does not occur for other customers.

Jim F. on 8/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Experience was exceptional

Jackie C. on 8/26/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received a call the day before I was scheduled to pick up the Uhaul from this location telling me that they didn't have a 26 foot truck available at this location and were trying to send me to other locations that were a good 45-75 minute drive away. I had reserved this truck way in advance so there really wasn't any good excuse as to why the 26 foot truck I reserved wasn't going to be at the location I reserved it at. After a lot of back and forth and trying to send me to three other much further away locations the agent says "ok I found you a truck at the San Rafael location"?!? This added a lot of stress as to whether or not there really would be a truck there waiting for me to pick up for our very long three day journey.

sharon v. on 8/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a very satisfactory experience...nothing to improve.

Michael P. on 8/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Not this time where the staff on duty were very efficient, but sometimes the wait to check-in can be a little long. If I have already checked-in online, is there not the possibility of a "pick up & go" process without the wait?

Boris L. on 8/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Tire blow outs should not be left to chance or serendipity. They should be checked for, anticipated, and prevented with highest order of effort. All tire and safety measures need to be vastly improved, including more diligence in maintaining clean wind screens, better adjustable mirrors, and in assuring presence of emergency lighting. Furthermore, two-hour waits for service /aid are not acceptable and additional delay due to actual work time adds salt to the wound. I suggest more service centers be established. There is little excuse for having a new tire and a technician (Oscar) travel some 30 miles in a area like the San Francisco Bay Area. Oscar's one-way trip took over hour. Total time expended by Oscar exceeds 3 hours, I'm certain. During actual repairs, Oscar was super fast and most efficient with time in his repairs.

BARBARA B. on 8/24/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We were given smaller truck than we had reserved online causing me to have to leave valuable items behind and having to pay extra fee to remove. Two tires blew out on the highway causing a day's delay and costing my brother his job as a result.

Daniel L. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Van was very dirty ,but I guess a busy day.

Matthew F. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The cost for mile on my rental of a van was supposed to be .69 per mile. That's what it said in my estimate/ But my invoice said I was charged .99 per mile, adding $15 to the cost of my 55 miles driven. Not fair.

Gigi C. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

it was perfect!

juan s. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had great customer service

Angel C. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had a wonderful expirience all around- great employees and Awsome expirience returning the truck with the gal. Thank you

Clark G. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Person behind the desk was helpful and personable. helped make the experience easy and smooth.

Lois C. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

none

Andya R. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The pick up I reserved was not available because1 person didn't return his yet and the other had a flat. The flat should have been an easy fix. They have their own mechanic shop onsite and I should have at least received a phone call alerting me to the situation. The people, except the one female, were rude.

Gary S. on 8/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Service, Excellent Selection, Everything I Needed. Thanks for making my move easier.

William B. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. This place is pretty quick and efficient. Have used them in the past and will in the future.

alessandro s. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The equipment was ok but the van wasn't clean at all. And when I was back to return the van that was nobody to receive. I wait 10 minutes and then I put the keys in the desk and left.

grace c. on 8/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anselmo was very helpful!!

saaman s. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the lady at the counter was very courtious and pretty knowledgeable of the rental contracts with a big smile bravo bravo i always come to this location never have any problem job well done she also came out and pulled the passenger side mirror out and adjusted it for me thank you thank you

Robert J. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Nice folks but they got the drop-off date wrong ($40 extra...) and they got the drop-off location wrong (does not exist anymore...)

Denise H. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience. thank you

Shari Y. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check in was great....check out took WAY TOO LONG.

Patrick M. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service

Lawrence C. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Difficult entrance from San Rafael City side, i.e. easy to go into exit instead of entrance due to the way the lot and streets are laid out, plus lack of clear signage for newcomers like me and my wife.

Heidi R. on 8/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easiest drop off ever. No improvement needed.

jock c. on 8/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Drop-off was a little hectic. Generally above average.

JEFFREY H. on 8/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Easy pickup and drop off

chad h. on 8/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Smooth

Betty G. on 8/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing... everything was easy and well organized. The staff was very knowlegable.

Joshua A. on 8/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The running lights on the trailer did not work.

Bert B. on 8/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck had very annoying and loud vibration noise at highway speed coming from the top of the cab,in the area of the dome light-but I could not find anything loose inside or outside the cab.

john l. on 8/9/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Speed up the rental process!

Stacy J on 8/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Some confusion and delay getting us checked in and out at the facility,but over all a very good experience. Customer support @ 800 fabulous.

Julie H. on 8/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I wanted to mention your service representative in Florida, Laura Craig. She was extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable when making my reservation as your San Rafael, Ca office was busy and I ended up reaching her. Thanks Laura, enjoyed making a reservation with you!

SCOTT C. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Rental agent and national reservation agent conflicted wildly on my reservation. In fact, after giving my credit card number, receiving a confirmation number and expecting a truck waiting for me, the rental agent told us company policy prohibited us from renting the vehicle. He stated something about not being sure we would return the vehicle in time for the next customer. This is absolutely outrageous and caused a significant series of problems for us. U-Haul used to be reliable. This was an utter failure. To this moment, I still do not understand why your truck went unused, U-Haul lost rental revenue and we were insulted.

Marilyn C. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The whole staff was awesome. They were responsive to my complaint about the ignition/key issue with the truck & explained the yellow wagon light that remained on. And honored me as a Veteran. Classy service!

Oliver O. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This location is very neat and organized

Mike M. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent intake / pre-registerationi service online and the staff did a great when we arrived. Thanks.

nir y. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This guys over charged me, claiming I took the van for 67 miles when I only used it for 5 miles and they don't even answer my calls now. The worst service ever. I am filing a complaint with the better business bureau and will let everybody know through yelp and google+ Shame on you

gloria m. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I received a call that the truck I reserved was not going to be returned in time and changed my pick up time so that I could get a van instead. I received another call saying the truck WAS available and was on site ready for me anytime after 12. I went at 3:00 as per my reservation to find that the truck (10') and van were both not available. I ended up getting a 15' truck and the crew tried to be accommodating but the back and fourth with reservations was discouraging since the info was incorrect after all that.

David S on 8/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great service, but 2 weeks after they were picked back up, UHaul is sending me bills for late return. Hopefully this is not going to be a huge pain in the neck to deal with and sort out.

Lindsey R on 7/26/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

U-Haul is the worst moving experience I`ve had. I would need much more than a 200 character limit to even start to explain how horrible the whole moving experience has been...

Sharon L on 6/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I appreciate the helpful attitude of Mr. Bates and his positive response to my requests. He is very professional and courteous.

jackie c on 5/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Uhaul exceeded my expectations. The people I dealt with in Bremerton, Wa were great and the box arrived early in California too. Everything was in perfect order.

Dennis G on 4/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff and accommodated my need. Excellent customer service.

Dennis G on 4/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service, knowledgeable and friendly.

Carrie m on 3/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drew Bates was fabulous in every way. Helpful, professional, efficient. Only suggestion I have: rather than go thru MovingHelp, contact Lyfeassist directly- also amazing.

Shawn B on 2/28/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I keep receiving emails from Uhaul stating that my shipment is being prepared. They don`t stop coming - 5 or 6 emails every day. It is very annoying, and I will not use this service again.

Brian W on 1/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thanks to Drew and his staff for assisting me in the midst of a stressful situation.

Rae B on 1/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Lisa T on 12/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very pleased with the process and the flexibility to fill the U-boxes on site in my own time frame. Would definitely utilize again for my next move.

Richard H on 8/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent staff service

micheal s on 8/6/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guys who came to load were great. The U haul staff and service were a disaster. Plain scary. Michael Stanford not Sampford as above

mary jane p on 8/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints.

olivia c on 6/13/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

A chair was smashed when the box arrived. Almost beyond repair

Timothy W on 6/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Lock on one box was destroyed. Person that referred me had lock ripped off door. I am seeing a pattern.

John S on 5/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

One staff younger, male - didn`t get his name was particularly helpful throughout the process - making sure I have what I need, and providing tips on how to maximize my ubox :

Bill B on 5/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

You`re lucky to have Drew as an employee.

Monica B on 4/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Box was not delivered on time. Staff was extraordinarily unhelpful and had no idea when the box would arrive. Absolutely terrible experience.

Brian M on 4/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

General manager Drew was outstanding to work with

Alisha M on 2/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

.

NANCY M on 12/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We weren`t told that we had to number boxes and list all items to move overseas. We had to make a trip back to the States from Singapore to do this. We used a different company to ship overseas.

Barry T on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone very helpful and courteous. Had rented a trailer but when I saw the U-Box opted for that instead.

john anita f on 11/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor service and zero communication

STEVEN C on 4/9/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lock and hasp were torn off of my unit when I received it and there were a number of things missing from my U-box.

BETH C on 3/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager was very helpful and even offered to let us have a lock in case we needed to lock up our U-Box in between trips as our lock had partially broken during shipment.

JAMEY G on 3/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Box itself is a bit expensive but our experience with delivery and pickup has been excellent and we wish to commend UHaul Delivery Associate Sandy on outstanding customer service.

HEIDI H on 3/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sandy the delivery person was the best part of all. She was super friendly and professional.

PEDRO R on 2/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was attended by Becky. Never did Becky make eye contact with me although I was sitting directly in front of her, and she continuously responded that she did not know the answer to my questions.

RACHAEL T on 1/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I would recomend a larger size for a one bedroom/studio and and I have very few Items.

ANDREW P on 12/23/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Well staffed and staff very helpful. Everything went great.

MONIQUE C on 11/26/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Slightly misleading saying it is $79.95 when it is $300 to deliver!

JUDITH B on 10/17/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The u-box was ready when i went to pick it up. it was not delivered.

MARK J on 10/4/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the uhaul delivery gal was brilliant and apologized to me on behalf of san rafael uhaul. they did not call me to schedule a window for delivery and the uhaul customer service people were useless.

MARI J on 9/29/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It was incredibly difficult to access my box I called in advance multiple times and yet no one was able to help and the box was not accessible when I showed up

JOHN B on 9/11/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Very hard to communicate with San Rafael store. They didn`t return calls and call center couldn`t resolve issues. Only one man was authorized to handle UBox which created wait times over 3 hrs!

LEE K on 8/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The driver picking up the ubox`s was awesome!

NANCY D on 8/11/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were helpful hitching up the trailer and treated us with kind regard.

GREG C on 8/3/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Manager lost staff, no one to deliver box. I was not called - had to pay men when no box. I did get free truck to drive box myself next day. U-Haul did not meet an agreed on and contracted deadline.

NANCY D on 7/29/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At the start of the process I couldn`t find my box, I was told it would be put in the parking lot by 4 p.m. Label boxes to be less generic. Anthony was best in terms of customer service.

BENJAMIN T on 7/24/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Bad service, broke my lock and did not replace until i demanded it.

TAMARA B on 7/18/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at San Rafeal are exceptional. They went out of their way to ensure all boxes were accessed easily and called me on the phone instead of making me wait, tt time of payment. 5 Stars!

LONNER H on 7/14/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The manager at the san rafael, california store, christopher, was fantastic as well as the two men working under him. telephone customer service i found untrained confusing, though friendly.

ELI C on 7/9/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I cannot express how much I hate this company in 200 characters or less. This has been the worst experience of my life.

ADRIANE R on 7/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service! Especially Walt who fixed a major problem with my account that would have had the Ubox going to the wrong town. I loaded at the Uhaul site and everyone there was really helpful.

RYAN L on 5/31/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service from Chris and staff at San Rafael

RICHARD K on 4/6/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

convenient, easy to load, made moving so quick and trouble free! thank you u-haul

ROSS G on 1/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good service

JOHN A on 1/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

On site staff were great, corporate organization scores about a 1/2 out of 10. I got a billing, late notice and lein notice before my belongings were confirmed delivered which took 5 weeks.

DONNA G on 11/25/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

in-store personnel great, but the two people I talked to over phone provided misinformation about your fees and policies.

VENKAT G on 9/16/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Seattle customer service sucks.

CHARLES C on 8/6/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My experience with this company was awful. I got an apology and nothing else.

MICHAEL M on 7/23/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little pricey, but otherwise a very good service

MICHAEL T on 6/13/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The checkout experience in the store is MISERABLE. It took 30 minutes. You guys have got to figure out how to make the experience better. Also, the wood box is a bit concerning. Would prefer metal.

KEN C on 6/12/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Made arrangements to have box delivered at 1pm. My pregnant girlfriend waited at the house that had no furniture. 200 characters not enough space to explain how bad it was.