U-Haul of Sunnyvale

U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Share |

Address

939 E El Camino Real
Sunnyvale, CA 94086

(408) 735-7060

(Off Wolfe)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Sunnyvale

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Tim A. on 5/31/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The assistant manager (Andre?) was amazing.

Mohammad Hadi M. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The services were very good and I am quite satisfied. Thanks

Grant H. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No. Last in and last out. All was great! Thanks!

Ethan G. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Smooth check out process. Was greeted as soon as I pulled in. The manager went above and beyond to make sure I was taken care of.

Arnold B. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up and do maintenance to vehicles!

George N. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The location really wasn't a problem at all. The problem is a dollar 59 per mile is outrageously High especially to charge to Atlas Van Lines. And the second thing is that there is no key drop I return the truck in the evening and to not have a key drop for a truck or car rental places just unheard of how can you not have a key drop

Wai W. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was not contacted for the pick up location, and the guy from the convenient store who partnered with u haul tried to scam with at $1.59/mile

Brian M. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Have more than 1 person checking people in on a Saturday morning. Not have the truck can smell like pee

Analizabeth W. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very friendly, busy, hardworking and helpful.

Zhuo W. on 5/28/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Waited one hour to get checked in because only one person is working at Saturday morning, so i ended up one hour late, and paying one more hour to movers. No parking allowed while in renting, i have to park 2 blocks away on the street. Will never use uhaul.

gary b. on 5/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sometimes wait is too long because there is only one salesperson behind the desk

Harish K. on 5/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was very polite and overall very good experience. Thanks

ravinder L. on 5/20/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Learn customer service, the employee that helped me nor the manager know anything about customer service. I'm gonna make sure I let everyone I know to never come to this location. Worst u haul experience ever.

Francisco B. on 5/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Perfect location a little far from where I needed but ok. Great service

Lindsey F. on 5/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

At first my appointment was scheduled the wrong day, but they were helpful in fixing it. Process was smooth but the computers were super slow and I think at one point they were down, so the line was pretty long.

Sreejith G. on 5/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The computer system seemed to have a lot of problems, which held the line up for a long time. From the staffers' comments, it does look like the computers malfunction quite a bit.

Angelo G. on 5/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly personnel, pleasure to engage with

MIKAEL Q. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Zero customer welcoming. Did not have blankets, didn't suggest alternative. Forgot to give dollies, I had to go back.

Thomas M. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Wait times could be improved. I waited 10 minutes in line during pick up, and 10 minutes during drop-off. Sure, 20 minutes of waiting isn't *that* long, but it was not very busy so I expected this to be faster. Also, when dropped off the van, it would have been nice for someone to come out shortly after we pulled up and say "we'll be with you shortly". Instead we just stood around hoping someone would come check us in.

Mervin S. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I booked the truck at one location and when i got there was told i needed to go to another location. Good customer service would have allowed me to rent the truck at the first location. After driving 15 miles to the second location the Manager was horrible. I ordered boxes and wrap with the truck but was told the order did not reflect that. I was also told the truck had one quarter of a tank of gas and that we should bring it back at one quarter full. I mentioned that the entire process was poor and the manager said "i just work for the company" Horrible attitudes and poor service .

MEIR T. on 5/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very friendly and helpful staff.

JOHN N. on 5/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Understaff.

Brian S. on 5/14/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The rate charged was so out of the realm of feasibility in good conscience I cannot ever recommend U-Haul. However the experience I had with your facility in Coeur d'Alene Idaho was not only feasible in cost but the employees were gracious and knowledgeable. Your firm needs to reevaluate cost basis 2 further facilitate customer rapport.

Mark S. on 5/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent. Very professional all around. Highly recommended.

Maung N. on 5/13/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Even though I rented the 4x7, I was able to switch with 4x9 which has a ramp and same price. He is very fast and informative.

sherry s. on 5/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Adrian @ Sunnyvale was an awesome employee and deserves a raise! However......We made our reservation for Campbell and Triston assured me my trailer would be available, but it was not and he told us to go to Felton and rent from them (way far away) We had to raise a fuss and finally the regional office agreed to let us go to Sunnyvale, The drop-off we were told could be changed to Pittsburg (wrong) then the 2 places in Antioch were closed. We were never able to return the dolly till 5/10. I would never do business with U-Haul again because of all the mis-information. I am expecting the $50.00 inconvenience fee crexit to me. Sherry 530-389-8396

Smith N. on 5/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Check in/out process was quick. Adrian worked quickly and the process was smooth.

STEPHEN K. on 5/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great people served me.

MICHELLE A. on 5/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was well done.

Christopher S. on 5/8/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You need to add customer parking, as street parking is very limited. Truck interior was not so clean.

daisy c. on 5/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Worker did not go through the general operation of the truck. The cab was dirty from the last customers food and drinks. We were the first customers there but were treated like the hundredth that day. It was the first time we'd done this and it would've been great to get a Uhaul 101 lesson or procedure explanation.

Shannon T. on 5/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The people were great. The truck? It handled like a dead mastodon: Mushy. I've driven many trucks in my time but this one was... scary. I've never had to corner so slowly before. Might want to take it for a spin around town & you'll see what I mean. Anyway, the employees were awesome, and I thank you.

Jeff N. on 5/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I used the night drop but looked for the drop "Box" similar to the one in El Dorado Hills. It would be helpful if your instructions indicated where to drop the key so first timers would know it is a slot in the glass door rather than a box.. A sign with an arrow would also work.

david A. on 5/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Well you sent me to two different locations before I got my tralier.

Te-Wei C. on 5/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They are very professional and efficient! Totally worthy it!

William M. on 5/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Lower mileage charge. Call or txt me that my truck is not ready. Call or txt me when my truck IS ready. Staff more people on phones during busy hrs or days, like end of month!

Nan S. on 4/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No parking for customer

NESET O. on 4/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks

Mercy R. on 4/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing 'negative' about this location... The surrounding area (parking lot) was clean & organized. The attendant (Adrian Taylor) who helped us was very nice, warm & knowledgeable. He explained clearly the things that we were supposed to do....

Catherine K. on 4/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I use this location a lot for truck rental. They have really worked to speed up the check in process to get people through the line

Perla P. on 4/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and efficient

Irene M. on 4/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Maybe you could check if there is any debris left in the truck or on the ramp. We had some debris on the ramp. We swept it off. No really a big problem.

Morgan M. on 4/24/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We dropped off the truck very easily - the attendant just told us to leave it without inspecting anything. Later that day I realized I had been charged for fuel even though we returned it at 3/4 full (and had been told to return it with at least 1/2 a tank.

Lawrence p. on 4/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service!! Definitely would recommend this location to anyone. Thank you

Ben L. on 4/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing. Great experience. JT was great in completing the rental and the new vans are really nice to drive.

matthew z. on 4/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. I really had a good experience.

Ryan C. on 4/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great crew, friendly, knowledgeable and fast. Thanks

Michael L. on 4/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Was very good. Made an appointment for the wrong day on accident, showed up a day earlier and was able to still get in and out with a truck very quickly.

Debbie S. on 4/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All staff were friendly & helpful & the transaction seamless especially desk person checking us out. Made moving day less stressful!

Jianguang L. on 4/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

fast and good service

Linda H. on 4/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Too expensive for a part day usage

STEVE O. on 4/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff needs to be more knowledgeable on the way a rental is conducted, way too much confusion, especially when a reservation was in place.

David C. on 4/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep wet furniture blankets until they are dry. Only send dry blankets out with customers.

Saji J. on 4/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was pretty good.

James W. on 4/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff is quick and friendly!

Martin O. on 4/10/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Tell me ahead of time when the pickup/dropoff location changes, not make me find out myself (this happened twice during the trip). Don't accuse me of not returning enough gas when I returned it to the level I got it at.

ray e. on 4/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Reservation Was made in Mountain View, ca, and was transferred to Sunnyvale, CA after Uhaul called about 2:30 on the day of the rental at 3:00pm.

Steven H. on 4/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Service and very helpful.

Shane G. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Adrian was very helpful, efficient, and friendly. The guy should get a raise.

Maria C. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Let customers who pay you to use your service to park their car on your empty lot! Also staff more than one employee for a busy Saturday! Since the staff at this UHaul did not let me park my car in their parking lot (as I have done so with all other UHaul places I've gone to) and threatened to tow my car so I spent 10 minutes looking for street parking (on the busy El Camino Real!) I never had such unfriendly service from any other UHaul! On top of that, there was only one representative staffed at this UHaul and there was a giant line with at least 8 customers looking to rent, return or ask the representative questions.

Bert d. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work.

xavier l. on 4/1/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

you charge me more that the invoice

yagna v. on 3/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer parking. Maybe as a collateral you can keep the car keys in a locker, till the customer returns. If needed charge a minimal amount like 1-2$ per hour.

anne a. on 3/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Consider smoke free vehicles. Cigarette smoke is very difficult to remove and permeates every surface. My rental van was very clean, well maintained by the manager at this location. My rental van smelled badly of cigarettes from a previous rental and I had to keep the windows down all the time I was driving. Just a consideration, but overall, my experience was excellent with U-Haul at this location. Thank you!

INDERPREET S. on 3/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Satisfied

Euan G. on 3/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent GM

Eric W. on 3/23/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The milage was not entered properly into the computer. I showed this to an employee before I left and he said he would change it. It was not changed and I was charged extra money. This is not appropriate. Also, there was NO PADLOCK for the 10 foot truck, even though there were signs at the Uhaul saying padlocks were included. Also, neither myself nor the employee could adjust the outside mirrors, which results in an unsafe and ILLEGAL driving situation. Very disappointing when there are other options for my business to use besides Uhaul.

Deepak Kumar M. on 3/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The u-haul vehicle stinks & it is difficult to sit inside. If it can carry a freshner, it would make the driver's life very good.

Caroline A. on 3/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reservation confirmation was incorrect and when I called the night before to verify, I was told that the pickup location and time had changed.

ESLAM M. on 3/14/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They do not know how they can deal with customers ! To be honest, this is second time to deal with them. In the first time, I met a person who I give him 10+ (excellent). This time is horrible !

David S. on 3/13/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Trailer was not available at location referenced in reservation - san jose, cutter road. No on called the night before to confirm. Had to drive across town to Sunnyvale location to pick up trailer.

Jonathan G. on 3/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Would have like to get a discount for getting the equipment back 3 days early

Shawn C. on 3/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Customer Service. Easy return process.

vikram n. on 3/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good service and Very Good staff.

Linda L. on 3/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff Very nice and helpful

Fermin R. on 3/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great and friendly service.

Anne K. on 3/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My only concern is that whatever the "Safe Move' charge is for was really not clear to me. But the wonderful part were the two people who helped me extend the time to continue using the truck (yep, I had to do it twice!). They were very helpful, nice, and clear.

Bryndon B. on 3/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic service. Thanks!

DAVID G. on 2/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff here.

Joe C. on 2/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Even though I'd reserved in advance, the check in time is a little long , especially since the line waiting gets long.

John M. on 2/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was some nasty sticky liquid on the driver seat belt buckle. It spread to the steering wheel and all over. Something like Armor All was sprayed all over the floor, making it very slick and dangerous. This was a very bad idea. Skip the Armor All. Just don't bother.

ALVIN S. on 2/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck return check-in service was extremely fast and efficient too. Was back on my way in maybe 5 minutes, and shortly afterwards received their emailed receipt.

Richard V. on 2/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The general manager was great. He had everything ready. He got me in and out of there very quickly. The uhaul facility was very clean

don j. on 2/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Put more tie down points in trailer.

Donald A. on 2/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My problems were with equipment and the company, not this location. The 10 ft did not have a ramp. Not clear before I rented. Very important to the project. The main objective was to move appliances. The lack of headroom in the 10 foot made it impossible to move a refrigerator upright. Not good. $15.98 rental was a come-on. That was understood. But, the mileage fees were way too high. The issue is not whether I would recommend this location to a friend. It's whether I would recommend UHaul to a friend. I couldn't do that.

Philip M. on 2/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The attendant was very professional.

Jennifer D. on 2/15/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The location was out of furniture pads, which was not a deal-breaker for us but other customers were quite upset as they'd needed them. None of us had been given advance notice. There was a long line of people waiting for assistance with one person working and the general manager was nowhere to be found when we needed to get the keys to our truck. We had to go looking for him and he seemed taken aback at our needing assistance. Overall, the location seemed poorly staffed. The only person who seemed friendly and efficient was the woman working check in and she was one person for a line of about 10 (and growing).

brian w. on 2/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Keep up the good work friendly people

DAVID A. on 2/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience overall. The cashier at this location helped me to decide which vehicle to rent. Overall, good experience. :)

EARL B. on 2/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I liked how your guage shows how much gas to put in to meet the minimum number of gallons. That's a thoughtful gesture for your clients,

Nicole K. on 2/14/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The employee who helped me went above and beyond to get me what I needed for my move. I really appreciated his extra efforts. Thank you!!

RAVINDRA G. on 2/14/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Overall experience is good. I took ford van i just went for 5 miles. To refill the gas it took me $12.

Roy T. on 2/14/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Check your trailers to make sure the tailgate opens. Mine did not, the chain was kinked and would not release the tailgate. I had a large, heavy load, loaded by forklift at Home Depot but then was darn near impossible to unload at my destination. Frustrating. And I am a very frequent renter of your trailers. And, why can't I have a customer account tied to my email so I don't have to re-enter my info all the time?

VYSHAK K. on 2/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More timings for vehicles to be chosen

robert s. on 2/13/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the man that called me to confirm my reservation did not tell me they were located on El Camino Real so I went to the address that was on the email kinda sucks. only one cashier at the el camino location and 7people in line

ANTHONY G. on 2/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The employees and manager were nice and helpful.

Dick G. on 2/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The trailer was clean inside. The outside was quite dirty. The location should have a pressure washer and wash every dirty vehicle before it goes out again. It would make a good impression. Other than that, I was well-satisfied with my experience at the location.

glenn k. on 2/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Provide a limited number of customer parking spaces on your U-Haul lot for those leaving their cars while renting your trucks.

Brian C. on 2/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

great service

Christopher M. on 2/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The entire process of renting from this location was bad. First, I had to wait in line for 45min to an hour since there was only one person at the desk. When I get to the desk, I'm informed that the site has no furniture pads, despite the fact that I had reserved many of them. I reserved the pads since I needed them to move my furniture... I was told that I could go to another uhaul site and rent pads from them, but would have to return the pads to that location. When I picked up my truck, it was supposed to have a quarter tank of gas according to the contract I signed, but I was informed that "all the gas had been siphoned out" when I was given the keys. Luckily I was able to make it to a gas station. I returned the truck to the overnight drop box, glad to be done with my move. But.. I was called the next morning and told that the key was missing so they couldn't complete the paper work and check the truck back in or provide me with a receipt. I was quite sure I had returned the key, and some hours later after calling another office I was informed that "someone had fished out a number of keys from the drop box" Overall, a comically poor experience. The only reason this place is in business is because it has a monopoly on the moving market.

Kelly A. on 2/8/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have more staff working at 9:00 in the morning on Saturday. It doesn't make sense to have one person checking people in when it's such a cumbersome process even if a customer checks themselves in prior to arrival. And have at least another person putting people into their trucks.

susan d. on 2/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The problem I had was when I made the reservation I was not told I could not park my car on the lot. When my husband got there it was very busy and he could not find a parking on the street. he had to come home to get which put us back 1 hour. When I complained she said it was for liabilty reasons I get that. But that should be told to the customer at the time they make the reservation.. hank you

Xiaofei R. on 2/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good experience,good service.

Jayasenan G. on 2/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The person who helped at the desk was really nice.

james G. on 2/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guy that inspected the vehicle when I returned it was great, very polite and helpful. He explained what he is checking, went thru everything with me as far as what is my balance.

James S. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Contract amount was $81.14. Final charge was $97.14. Not sure why. The trailer was dropped off at about 10:30AM on Sunday 1/31/16, but emailed receipt shows return date/time as the next day at 7:47AM on 2/1/16. It appears the return was not recorded until the next day and I got charged extra. I will calling tomorrow.

Milind P. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a cargo van and never received one. Even after getting confirmation email i was not provided with appropriate vehicle.

Pillip C. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was knowledgable, kind and helped me with my day.

RACHEL F on 2/26/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

200 characters is not enough to properly explain the horrendous experience I have had thusfar with U-box and Uhaul. Horribly unorganized, and a waste of hours of my time.

JOANNE W on 2/17/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone that I interacted with at this location was knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. The team spirit and attitude seemed to be very good. Thank you so much!