U-Haul of Vestal

U-Haul of Vestal

Share |

Address

3732 Vestal Pkwy E
Vestal, NY 13850

(607) 729-4951

(Btwn Bunnhill & Jensen Rd)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Vestal

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Vestal

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Ronald L. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Again NOT staffed. four people waiting and only one staff member. He was friendly, apologetic I know it is hard to staff................. Its over now.

Diane H. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone that works there is friendly and very helpful.

Daniel M. on 9/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not much you can do to improve. My experience was complete satisfaction.

Jennifer M. on 9/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Perfect in every way.!!! Robert assisted me and he was very pleasant, quick and efficient.

steve Y. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

1) Answer your phones directly rather than having the calls routed to the 800 office which can't solve your problem as quickly as the local office can. Very frustrating. 2) Tell your new Ford cargo van customers about the doors automatically locking when the keys are in the ignition...even if you are not leaving the van (eg; to fill your gas tank; checking to see if you're close enough to unload; etc. VERY FRUSTRATING to know that you now can not get back into your van until roadside assistance arrives...much later!

Mark R. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It went very smooth- quick and efficient. The equip. worked very well. Thank you.

Veronica R. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

vestal didn't do anything wrong, everyone there was nice, but my experience with the location in Columbia, Sc was so poor I will never recommend uhaul to anyone.

James S. on 9/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I can not think of any at this point.

William N. on 9/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck was beat. Had tape over a hole in the cap. Many dents and bangs in the body. Seats were torn. Truck rode so rough that a two drawer filing cabinet in the back caved in. All driving was done on interstate and primary state highways.

William G on 9/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The managers and staff at the Vestal NY Uhaul were great! Seamless service, very professional.

EMMANUEL A. on 9/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. Great employees best Uhaul in the area hands down.

victoria m. on 9/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You guys are the best!!!

William N. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The pick up was fine. However, when I tried to return the truck on line, I was told this required an account. I don't want an account. I rent something maybe once every 10 years and don't want spam from Uhaul.

Julann A. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Friendly staff and kind service. Thank you.

SHARUL H. on 9/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sharul and Franklyn were great. They were probably the best Customer Service representatives I've ever dealt with.

DOMINIC R. on 9/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Almost impossible to file a grievance because machines can not resolve this situation. It would be nice if someone would call me at 732-713-1328.

Greg D. on 9/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Have the agent double check the reservation price quote. I was over charged. Uhaul is issuing a refund but that takes time.

severyn m. on 9/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The location was great, the service was fast and friendly, and the equipment was also in very good condition!! Thanks!!

RODNEY F. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Let the customer know there are no tie downs in the vehicle. Glad I was able to find some rope.

Tina J. on 8/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was fabulous thank you for being kind and helpful!!

carla m. on 8/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We would have preferred a vehicle that didn't smell like smoke. Wish we had known to ask that when we rented.

Mateusz G. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Fully inspect the trucks b4 rental.. My trucks battery died during my first load..out me behind schedule for at least 35-40 min

Joesph P. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location is to small for the business it produces. The employees were great

Katherine D. on 8/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The young man who checked me in (Franklyn, I think) was very helpful.

Victor M. on 8/25/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Waited on a call back for a truck at x price never received a call back. Called and was transferred to a southern hub location where my truck was reserved at x price. Go to get the truck and they tell me to pay way more for a bigger truck than requsted and i had to bring it back to their location. It cost me more to bring the truck back then they told me it would be to drop it off where i was moving. Needless to say i paid out the wazu, and you lost my service with your company for good. If you would like to make good on your bogus reservation that scham wowed me out of way more than initially stated give a call at 6074220713, but in all honesty im not holding my breath. Good day.

daniel H. on 8/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The service was top. They really helped me with finding best plan for the money. I wish uhaul had more round trip options. Also the front windows were very dirty. They really showed when driving towards the sun.

Stephen D. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was a long wait to pick up the van I rented. But it wasn't really the location's fault, just a lot of customers at once. I'm not really sure what the point is of checking in online, when you have to wait at the location anyway. Then it seems like the uhaul employee runs through the same items again that were completed during on line check in.

christina p. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Trying to get the gas tank to the appropriate level is difficult. Last time I rented a car, they offered a discounted rate for gas to fill the car, and filled it themselves. I would either like to pick up a truck with a full tank so it's easier to tell how much gas to replace; or pay Uhaul a reasonable rate per gallon to fill up. $4 per gallon plus a fee is not reasonable. Otherwise, my experience scheduling and picking up was top notch. Knowlegable, efficient, answered all questions. I'll continue to use Uhaul for moving needs in the future.

Laura C on 8/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The box was open and damaged, on top of that it took 1.5 hours to load it when we went to pick it up.

Garry A. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I would not recommend U-Haul - the reason is not regarding the personal - on your web site you note a 20' truck as having a floor space of 20' lenght by 7' 7" width and a 6' 5 or 6 ceiling - you fail to note that almost 20% of that space is located over the cab - with a 36 inch ceiling height . It was pointed out by your person that the cubic feet noted was correct but when shopping for a truck rental I compared your stated floor size to your competitors.

Monica H. on 8/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These folks made the whole process simple and painless. I will definitely recommend them and use them again if needed. Excellent service!

MATTHEW S. on 8/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Order No. 20772028 I specifically asked to pick up my truck at 621 Field Street, Johnson City, NY. My email confirmation even states to pick up the truck at this location. When I arrived, the man behind the desk told me my truck is in the Vestal, NY location. "Didn't they call you?" No they didn't call me. I was very upset. I am not from the area. I asked the attendant to provide me with the location of the Vestal U Haul. He wrote on a piece of paper 305 Vestal Parkway. There is no U Haul location at this address. Vestal Parkway has to have an East or West at the end of it. He did not tell me the East or West. Irregardless I googled uhaul vestal and received this same address. THIS ADDRESS DOES NOT EXIST FOR UHAUL. I couldv'e googled the address too. It took me one hour and another phone call back to Johnson City to confirm. The attendant said he would call the Vestal location. The attendant called me from the Vestal location and told us the correct address. 3732 Vestal Parkway East, Vestal, NY. Very poor customer service. Location pickup change and not notifying me in advance, stupidity on behalf of the Johnson city attendant with providing me a wrong address and UHAUL not updating their system on the Vestal location. POOR SERVICE !!! Thank goodness the gentlemen {Adda?} at the Vestal location was so nice to me after a nightmare experience.

Susan R. on 8/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sharule was outstanding and went far above and beyond to make the experience a great one. We had a slight issue with our truck coming back from another rental late but Wes keep us posted and turned the truck around so we could still use it to load and be ready to go the next morning. Thank you everyone and we would recommend this location with great ratings for customer service

ed g. on 8/14/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clean, well maintained location. Pleasant staff. Have used this location 4 times now in the past year or 2 and have always been treated well and received good equipment. Charges based on 3 days use and specific miles even if you return the truck early and with lesser miles. Small gas gauge is VERY hard to assess exact amount to refill, and anything over is not re-reimbursed (but if it is deemed under you are charged a fee). Just not a user friendly charge structure.

Kristie W. on 8/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was a great experience. They were extremely helpful when we ran into delays with our move and needed to keep the rental for extra time. I would most definitely recommend this location to friends.

Michelle W. on 8/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My vehicle was scratched badly by the guy (the general manager!) who attached the trailer to my car, and he refuses to call me back. I was also charged more than I should have been. I'm not at all happy with this experience!

RALPH B. on 8/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Make sure the insurance company the people pay insurance for do there job. We have no problem with u- haul that was the second time we rented from them with in a few day's. No problem the first trip. But rained the seconded trip that was our final move the mattress got wet now is getting mold.

Cheryl R. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The truck I rented (pickup) was dirty inside!! I could have been wiped down before rental. Otherwise, it was perfect for my needs. Thank you!

Carolyn C. on 8/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, the customer service was great, and the vehicle did what we needed it to.

charles s. on 8/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I have always been able to receive a cargo van with no delays.They are well maintained......etc, Personnel are very professional and when I want a van there ready to assist, I contact them again and again.

Anita F. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were great!

Wai C. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great experience for a trailer rental overall.

Joe R. on 8/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I reserved a 10 foot truck on 6/15 in person at the above location. I mentioned to the employee that the rate online was $186. He told me he would put that rate in this reservation. I picked up the truck 6 weeks later and was charged $227. I was told the initial reservation was put in for that amount. I have nothing to prove the initial price but my word, but if I go online today to reserve this truck for next week I get the cheaper rate. This was not an end of month rental which I would understand an increased demand. I feel the employee did not do as he told me. I would have reserved the truck online rather than drive to the uhaul location.

Malik G. on 7/31/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

They overcharged us by 15 miles which is 15 dollars and refused to acknowledge this when told what beginning mileage we had wrote down

Margaret h. on 7/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep doing what you are doing. the staff was polite and considerate and in no way were doing anything other than give honest service. Thank you

Reggie L. on 7/31/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The gas meter was not accurate

stephanie s. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

2nd time at this location to help family move the guys there are excellent and I will contindeed to use this location.

Ethan D. on 7/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentleman that helped me hook up the car hauler (4 wheel) was pleasant, helpful, and articulate. When I returned the hauler, a different employee helped me. I'm sure he sensed that I was late for work, as he quickly detached the trailer and sent me on my way. I will likely rent from this location again should the need arise.

Pearl K. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had to wait longer than expected because there was a problem with the computer

Albert S. on 7/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

thank you for your help

Mike B. on 7/25/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Truck Irented did not have a full tank of gas when I picked it up . Had just over 1/4 of a tank of gas ! I questioned why the tank was not full and was told this was the policy , really ! ???? I was driving one way to pick up a motorcycle in NJ 175 miles each way and had to put $ 44 of gas in the truck before the trip delaying my departure . I returned the truck with the same gas gauge reading . On the email receipt They said there was a 2/8 th's less gas than when I picked up the truck !!! They charged me an extra $ 8 for two gallons of gas ! Absoutly rediculous ! The tank should have been full when I picked up the truck . And itis supposed to be returned that way !!!! I am truly dissapointed with the U Haul Vestal location . Mike Burkus

STEVE M. on 7/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

n/a

phillip s. on 7/19/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It was not the store that I had the issue with, it's the lack of communication between the customer service & the location. I dealt with UHaul twice this summer & each time was one of the biggest nightmares of my life. My life goal has become to buy a box truck so I never, ever have to deal with your company again. I was given a reservation by UHaul scheduling for 530 on Sunday (with a conformation text) for a store THAT CLOSED AT 500. I had movers organized (on both ends) & a job to start on Monday morning. It's hard to put into words how bent over I got because UHaul doesn't even know what time it's own locations closed. I'm in medical school and don't have the time to get jerked around by a company like this. I spend time driving back and forth to Binghamton (over an hour away) and probably lost years off my life from the malignant hypertension in dealing with your employees. Honestly, my experience could not have possibly been worse from start to finish. Every employee had the dreadful 21st century attitude of ambivalence & blaming someone else. I don't understand how UHaul will remain viable treating people like I was treated.

Jason C. on 7/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Again, typical great service from the Vestal, NY location. It's very nice to be quickly in and out, especially when renting both a truck and trailer that require a few extra steps. The truck was a lower mileage GMC Sierra that worked out perfectly towing a car 250+ miles away. The U-Haul auto transport trailer is easy to load and secure the vehicle on the trailer. Everything was better than expected. Highly recommend the Vestal location.

Samuel S. on 7/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service at this location and the manassas location and the customer service center. Just can't say enough about how great U-Haul was during our crazy move. Would not do business with any other moving company but U-Haul!!!!

Jason C. on 7/18/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything about the rental was great. The staff were very professional, kind and proficient in their job. I checked in online which saved lots of time. I was in/out in less than 5 minutes with everything exactly as expected. I highly recommend the U-Haul Vestal, NY location to anyone.

Jeffrey J. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Incredible service. Top notch. They work hard and it shows!

Gregory M. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

cheap bastards charged me for the 1 mile i went over on my 200 estimated miles regardless of me returning the vehicle with more fuel that i picked it up with> Fuck you and shove that $0.31 up your ass. I'll never use Uhaul again you pussay bastards. Cheap ass Fucktards.

susan p. on 7/13/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have written to this companyabout th e truck I rented the trucked leaked my furniture got wet I haven't received a response yet written to company twice

Michele M. on 7/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people working there were very friendly and very helpful.

Michael B. on 7/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing it's very efficient the employees were polite and nice. Good morning how c a new we help to have a nice day upon return of truck

chris s. on 7/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

All good

Brian F on 7/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Vestal store people not very helpful. They never return your calls.

Kathleen M. on 7/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer services reps were friendly, professional and helpful. The only complaint was a dead, decaying cat next to the truck I rented on 7/9/16 in Vestal, NY. The smell was awful and since I love animals, this was a very disturbing sight. Management should ensure this was taken care of.

michael b. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Not a thing

Anita L. on 7/3/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My only concern is that I rented. 4'x7' trailer to move a 3'6" oven and the trailer was too small. I learned you can't assume 4'x7' is the actual size. We ended up using a big wagon we already owned; check dimensions before renting something you can't use!

Ann Marie K. on 7/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff very helpful, accommodating & professional. Truck very clean, rate very reasonable. Thanks to all staff at Vestal location!! Ann Marie Knapik

Armis P. on 7/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The vehicle was not inspected. If it was, staff would have noticed broken side view mirror. By broken, I mean the mirror could not be adjusted in a stationary fashion. This was most definitely a safety hazard. Also, Truck smelled of cigarette smoke. Blue lighter on floor next to passenger seat might have been a clue. I mentioned the above condition of the vehicle when returning the vehicle and was not offered any type of remedy.

anthony C. on 7/1/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Workers seem put out and annoyed having to deal with customers.

mike s. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Small place, but good service and lots of products for customers. I would suggest bigger locations for the amount of inventory, but still beter than an empty cubicle like the pickup location.

MIKE S. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Small location still, but the guy was cool. Not much space inside due to its small size and the products available to customers, but its better than an empty cubicle like the pickup location, so thats totally fine.

James M. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything great EXCEPT impossible to reach by phone. Left with music/advertisement for a total of 45 minutes! Tried both local and 1-800.... never able to speak to a real person over phone.

marion s. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Vehicle was excellent on road trip to Canada. Fuel efficient and smooth. If needed, I would rent again without hesitating. Thanks UHaul.

Jewels J. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have rented 2x in the past week, and had a long wait on the phone both times (5-10min) to make reservation. Once I did get through the staff was great.

kate a. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I called during an emergency and they had a cargo van ready for me in a matter of minutes. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Great experience!!

Pat A. on 6/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was extremely helpful & friendly. They took the time to make sure my husband & I were satisfied. We would definitely recommend this U-Haul store. They gave us a choice of stores to return equipment & it was very convenient. Yea to them all. It's always a pleasure dealing with good people.

Ronald W. on 6/22/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was a very busy time of day. I would recommend that anyone might want to pick up equipment before 4 PM.

Scott P. on 6/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Both the pickup and dropoff locations were a breeze. U-Haul employees were helpful, prepared, and extremely professional at both spots. Clearly they are all concerned with safety. I would be happy to recommend U-Haul to anyone in need of a trailer.

Elizabeth S. on 6/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Personnel were courteous and informative. Can't think of any improvements to be made.

Kevin W. on 6/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, very easy and no wait.

Robert and R. on 6/17/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was great.

Jon B. on 6/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Better demark the entrance and exit. Twice now upon my exit, vehicles have attempted to drive thfough the exit road in order to gain access to the adjacent swimming pool buziness.

KEVIN H. on 6/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The Manager {Robert Barlow} was quick to get my rental going for me, I have rented several times recently for a move, and brought the van up to me. He is always quick, helpfull and professional. The only thing was the return later that day. The crew was cleaning up the previous rental and saw me waiting, made me wait until I got out of the van to go in to get somebody before stopping the cleanup and coming to take care of checking me in.There was nothing but the cleanup {2 crew} and me for check in at the time going on. I waited 10 minutes while he saw me waiting before I got out and then he decided maybe he'd better check me in. {It was CREW NOT RObert!!!} Thanks

mary K. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

no improvement needed. Everything was great. Very friendly staff. It went very smoothly. THANK YOU!

Randy P. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The odometer on the vehicle needs to be checked it turned at every 7/10 of a mile not 1 mile have lived in this area all my life know exact mileage of certain areas including how far we are from the main highway and it was definitely off the only reason we used U-Haul was the fact we were desperate and I am telling all of our friends and family about our experience !

Lang G. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Little bit of a wait time because there was only one person working when I got there to pickup my rental. Appointment to pick up was at 3, wasn't hooked up until 3:30 but still had to have it back by 6 to stay within the 3 hr window I rented for.

JEAN H. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I started driving and the visor fell down. The holder was broken.

john t. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Vestal Pkwy location the best, personable team, very helpful. I will go out of my way to always use the vestal location.

Crystal B. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Make sure the staff gives the person renting a truck correct information... because of incorrect information we had to do 7 trips to a storage unit instead of 1 or 2. Clearance needed for a truck to fit in a storage unit is information all Staff should be educated on. Not at all happy with u haul. We did receive a 25 $ credit but it was not applied to account and I had to call again the next day to remind them to credit account. Not to mention we had to drive 62 miles instead of.maybe 20 total so the 25 $ credit doesn't even cover even close to that

Randy S. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A lot of paperwork , seems like there could be a more streamlined approach.

Margarethe J. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The check-out process was great! Your rep caught an error in the mileage fee and brought it to our attention. I'm so grateful for this experience!! Thank you much for making a stressful day a little bit easier.

Doug H. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went well. Nice truck the guys were very helpful and courteous.

Jim S. on 6/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

the guys were great service fantastic, but my 19.95 local van was anything but. 59 cents a mile ok 9$ insurance gas it said full but the mile range said 387 I filled it it said 437 so it really wasn't full so my 1995 come on price turned into 69$ too many hidden costs kind of predatory wouldn't do it again what do I actually get for 19.95 not much

Stephen D. on 5/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I wish there was a way to speed up the process at the counter. I used the "online check in" feature, but that didn't seem to speed things up at all.

donald p. on 5/31/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drop of box said that I had to put my contract in, which I did not as it was the only copy I had.

jeff s on 11/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My u box departed arizona for upstate ny. It ended up being delivered in new jersey. My attempts to recieve partial refund for violation of contract ignored..

Joseph L on 8/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at the U-Haul facility were very knowledgeable and friendly. They were helpful selecting the correct number of boxes as well as provided helpful packing tips.

Kveta K on 5/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The person/staff was outstanding and very hard working. We thank the Vestal staff for their hard work.

greg p on 10/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The 2 guys working were very helpful and plight. Knew what questions to ask and incuage conversation about using the u box.

RALPH T on 6/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Numerous occasions we were not given the full details of what U-Boxes entails *** Manager not being courteous*** Anthony The above cost us $150 in Mover.com

MATTHEW S on 3/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer assistance was great!

EMILY C on 12/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The clasps on the U-box were damaged. Staff disorganized. I reserved online and stopped in the day before to confirm in person, took 90 min to pick up box, @ drop-off they had no idea I was coming