Woods Sandy Hook Store (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Woods Sandy Hook Store (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

2883 Sandy Hook Rd
Sandy Hook, VA 23153

(804) 457-1040

(Located 2 miles south of I-64 on Rt 522 towards the town of Goochland)
Driving directions

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for Woods Sandy Hook Store

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Woods Sandy Hook Store

Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Lisa C. on 1/17/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Deidre was very friendly and helpful!!

Sandra g. on 12/5/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Give customers clear and truthful information. Train your people properly. The information had to be given at all locations. The 2nd and 3rd place couldn't find my receipt/ contract. We had to do the steps all over. Don't hide information that will waste people's time. Work together as a team with the other locations in your area.

Robby G. on 10/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Had a vibration while riding down the road above 50, head light was pointing up. Truck ran and performed great.. :D

Jennifer E. on 9/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great and Helpful staff, clean van and easy rental!

Carolyn H. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

they were very helpful during the whole process.

Gary J. on 8/16/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Should not take 1:45 to fill out paperwork!

mike r. on 8/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comment at this time.

Tanya S. on 7/13/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have someone who is knowledgable about processing a uhaul pick-up.

BRANDON D. on 6/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Super friendly service and welcoming environment.

Don B. on 6/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Trailer was clean but severely weathered.

Michael S. on 6/7/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

People were nice overall drop off was quick and easy.

Craig W. on 5/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

did a great job you have come a long way

Serge V. on 4/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. Trailer was in good condition.

Monti b. on 9/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service.

Margret D. on 9/12/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Tried to charge us an extra $32 for gas instead of just letting us fill up on site, the woman said the charge couldn't be removed. Then took it off after we insisted on adding the extra quarter tank ourselves. The employees only talked to each other, not us. I would not recommend this site, or renting from locations other than Uhaul owned locations.

Kevin B. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The transmission slipped in 3rd gear, I have no issues with this location however, in the 48 hours leading up to my reservation U Haul Traffic changed my pick up point at least 3 times all options were a minimum of an hour out of my way to pick up thus causing me to do a round trip rather than a 1 way costing my employer and myself extra money. I will not be using U Haul again this was a terrible experience.

GLADYS A. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were very joyful and helpful with every aspect of the truck rental. They made you feel welcomed and that they enjoy your business.

Thomas M. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The woman who helped check in the vehicle was extremely helpful!!

steve r. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people at this little store were very nice and helpful .

CYNTHIA L. on 6/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was a violent storm and a road block as we were returning the truck, so it was lucky that the Arch Village Exxon attendants had given me 25 extra miles. We did this because of the out of the way pick up originally, but I needed those miles to drive miles out of the way to get the truck to Sandy Hook, too. What a mess.

MARK W. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

trailer dolly or crank to raise and lower ther trailer on and off the hitch. Customer Service was very good.

ANN R. on 4/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Vey helpful !!

LISA P. on 3/15/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We really great. our U-haul got stuck in the mud and service was great with helping us get it out.

REBECCA S. on 1/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was very good. They were nice people to deal with.

Michelle D. on 1/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They do a booming business could use a bigger parking lot

PETE A. on 12/11/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The allowed us to return the truck after hours which was very helpful. They were also very friendly and provided prompt service

WALTER H. on 12/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The rental process is too long. It needs to be streamlined down to 5 minutes max. I have rented here 3 times and it takes about 20 minutes to complete the process.

SARA S. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Staff not helpful or knowledgable about equipment or their own computer system. Trailer not maintained, turning signal burnt out on trailer (verified that it was not our connection)

GARY M. on 11/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Mileage fee too high. Will not rent again soon.

Nancy G. on 9/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasant, small-town America location. Easy to reach. Good reputation around town, too.

JOE C. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The people at this location were very nice and helpful.

PATRICIA M. on 8/16/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I am never using UHAUL services again. Called 3 times in the last 6 weeks to say I needed a 9 am pickup for 8/16. There are a couple of places near me that open at 7 am. However UHAUL did not use those location. Went to location where pick up was to occur and they did not open until 11 am. Requested another location and it was 25 miles away. A few months ago I reserved a truck and again requested a 9 am pick up. Had to drive 50 minutes to get to location. Got there and they did not have a reservation nor a truck for me. I did have a reservation number at that time. Recommend using another company that rents out trucks.

JENS M. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people at Sandy hook tried to find me a trailer closer to where I was moving from but u Haul said there wasn't anything closer. So I had 120 round trip to pick up trailer. But many thanks to the people of woods sandy hook store.

ANDREW J M. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The sandy hook people were great but my experience was less than positive. My truck was not available as scheduled which cost me a great deal of time lost trying to move. I originally scheduled to pick up at sandy hook but my reaervation was changed to Hilliard rd which is 40 or more miles for my house and when I arrived my 24' truck was not available. I was given a 17' truck at sandy hook which caused me to make 2 trips. My mileage fee was reduced which I appreciate but the smaller truck caused me to make 2 trips. I was told that I would be compensated $50 so I will wait to see if uhaul follows their policy. I will say that the ladies at sandy hook (where I picked up the 17' truck were Great to work with. I would highly recommend their location to anyone who is looking for kind people to work with. I would also recommend people return their rentals on time so as to not disrupt others' moves.

DAVE O. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was not this locations fault but once again U-Haul screwed up my order. I reserved 3 months out and the truck I had requested was not availale on the day/time I requested it. I got a call the day before to tell me they did not have a truck until Sunday but they told me I could call U-Haul again to see if they could get a truck. I tried to do that but it was a waste of time. I was supposed to pick it up 5 miles from where I was moving and instead had to drive 25 miles to get the truck that was one day over due. That cost me more money in gas at $4.05 per gallon in a truck getting 7 mpg. Third time in 2 years this has happened with U-Haul in that a truck is not ready when promised. Very dissapointing. The location at Sandy Hook was nice and gave me a discount to help compensate plus extra miles but it did not make up the for the fact that I had people lined up for Saturday to help move and could not get help Sunday when the truck showed up. I was a bit disappointed that they did not have many U-Haul moving supplies. They threw in a mattress cover but I needed more things I could not get. U-Haul needs to improve the booking/reservation system to make sure a truck that has been requested is available and if not give more than a day before notice.

Anthony G. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service! Little mishap in paper work but promptly and politely fixed the problem. Nice brand new van!

Pennie G. on 6/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Couple of things it would have been nice to know before going to pick up the equipment you need to know your estimated mileage usage before pickup, that was not listed on the website when booking the truck. The other thing is that they stop processing Uhaul returns at 8PM even though the employee will tell you they close at 9PM they will not process the UHauls returned after 8PM which would have been nice to know before trying to rush to have it back before 8:30 PM so there would be time to process before closing. And Uhaul hours were not posted any where that could be seen.

Monti b. on 5/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone at Woods Sandy Hook Store provided excellent customer service.

sally d. on 4/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was a particularly convenient place for someone (like me) who lives out in the country. The women who rented me the van were very friendly and helpful.

CHRISTOPHER T. on 4/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owners provided me with great customer service.

bonnie l. on 3/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were great! Everything was PERFECT! Thanks so much for great service!

JOHN K. on 3/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was charged for insurance although I didn't order it and charged for two dolleys and received one. Sat for 1/2 hour in morning to get to location and then another half hour to ring it up. All the info provided when reserving the trailer was reentered not sure why

KRISTIAN L. on 2/25/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I specifically asked to return to this location and they did not want to accept the truck. The paperwork listed another drop off even though I was told that was simply for filling a field...not where I must return it. Wasted a lot of time and energy here!

CHARLES R. on 2/3/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Too far away from my original request for a truck. This added 40 to 60 miles onto my bill. I am very displeased with the distance.

PATRICIA D. on 1/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The lady who rented us the vehicle was super friendly!

Lorraine N. on 8/28/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

QUICKER RETURN TIME.

Galen S. on 8/27/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All good. Also, they have a great lunch cook!

LAWRENCE B. on 8/18/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Front two tires are worn and have dry rot. Forgot to put furniture pads in truck but was reimbursed. Friendly staff!

moshe L. on 8/9/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

nothing at this time. The staff was very helpful and knowlegeable and answered all of our questions.

MIKE S. on 4/14/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

staff was easy to work with, extremely helpful and made the rental experience a pleasure...would definately recommend and rent from this location in the future

SUSAN M. on 4/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service. The owner went above and beyond to help me with a problem created on the other end of my rental on a one-way drop off.

LUIS V. on 4/1/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Online allowed truck reservation but an hour later Uhaul called and said it was unavailable. Need to ensure that is someone can order online, then it will be available.

William M. on 3/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Diedre, Wood manager went the extra mile and provided excellent service. I will not only use them in the future, I will highly recommend them to others.

Marc M. on 1/24/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

DOROTHY W. on 12/19/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The staff at Sandy Hook are very friendly, but take a long time to complete the rental transaction. They were easily side tracked and stopped in the middle of helping me to hold personal conversations with one another.

ASHLEY B. on 11/30/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The personnel are great here. The staff gave me the opportunity to sweep out the back of the truck rather than charging me a clean-up fee (and let me borrow their broom). I was close on the gas tank, but I think they would let me pay to put more gas in it if I needed to rather than charge me the refueling fees. The location has a lot going on, so I had to wait a little while, but the service was great when it was my turn.

Sandy R. on 11/12/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service, great equipment. Appreciate the early Sunday morning pickup.

KRISTINA C. on 11/10/2012
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have bigger trucks available

ROY C. on 8/18/2012
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

just stay as you are

JON N. on 7/16/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Although it was out of the way, the service at this pickup was great