start navigation end navigation

U-Haul of Lakewood

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Preston W. on 1/18/2017
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was called and told to come get a trailer then for some unknown reason to me I wasn't able to get that one and was called the day of pickup by another person who was very rude and and additional 100 miles out of my way on an island where I'd have to take a ferry. I was so insulted and left in a crises to accomplish what I drove 12 hrs to move that I tried just walking in to a Uhaul in tacoma and they where very kind and directed me to a place within a few miles where I could get the trailer.

walter j. on 1/18/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

John B. on 1/15/2017
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I returned the truck with more fuel than when I received it but was still charged $17 for fuel.

Oscar C. on 1/15/2017
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The inside of the store was crowded with merchandise and no place to wait my turn. The attendants were very welcoming and helpful.

JANICE S. on 1/12/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erik M. on 1/10/2017
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

ALAYNA R M. on 1/10/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is a very busy location, being so close to a major military base. To optimize customer service, it would help to have some extra staff on hand. During my own visit to this location, the associate who helped me was also helping 3 other customers simultaneously.

Elizabeth H. on 1/2/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert A. on 1/1/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dimitrius C. on 1/1/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great, speedy, and friendly staff

Mark C. on 12/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gwen F. on 12/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was good just the way it was. Thank you, you have a very good work crew this day. 12/30/2016 @noon PST. BRAVO!!!!!!

harry b. on 12/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES H. on 12/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

greg c. on 12/29/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck looked like it was entered in a demolition derby. It was an embarrassment driving it around and you should be even more so with your logo on the side. I will never rent from uhaul again. The representative I spoke with was great.

ESTHER N. on 12/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

everything was done excellently and smoothly. the staff really know their jod well. i have visited this uhaul site twice and i have recommended it to my friends. i have tried uhaul in pacific avenue where find a certain staff who does not want to talk to customers.

Robert C. on 12/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

giselle B. on 12/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keva A. on 12/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Tell Felica the amazing woman behind the front desk..... she did great and to kick up her feet and relax she deserves a break!!!! Thank you for all your help young lady!!! ?? She had a great attitude and a beautiful smile even though she was busy as ever! Both on the phone and with people right in front of her, she got me in and out of there very quickly! Thank you!

Lani P. on 12/20/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

douglas k. on 12/16/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

set aside some parking facilities for customers if possible, being required to park across the street behind the denny's wasn't terribly inconvenient, but it was neither raining or snowing that day, which is often an issue during winter.

Bryan W. on 12/16/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marion G. on 12/15/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Ensure that the truck the customer rents matches the paperwork in the office. If there's a problem, have the courtesy to CALL THE CUSTOMER instead of treating the truck as STOLEN and letting the air out of the front tire!!!

KRAIG AND LISA O. on 12/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES J. on 12/13/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location is truly convenient and the team is great and very helpfull. The location is at one of the towns most busy intersections. Bridgeport way and Pacific HWY have equally high traffic volumes. The out bound route leave few options after you exit. There is no customer parking. The operation is crowded.

Mary F on 12/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Simple billing issues snowballed into threats of a lien, but could never get in contact with a manager to resolve until area manager contacted. Only then did the billing issues resolve.

MARY F. on 12/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would never use this location again. When there was a billing issue, I could never get a hold of anyone for resolution until I contacted national who then put me in contact with area manager, who finally resolved a simple billing issue. Amazing.

Mary F. on 12/9/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Would never use this location again. Manager, Jasmine, was completely unresponsive when there were issues to the point I flew back to unpack the boxes and find alternate storage to meet my needs.

KARL J. on 12/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Delma P. on 12/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas H. on 11/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Helpful. Friendly.

Rachael P. on 11/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donna M. on 11/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

DOUG S. on 11/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Courteous, prompt and smiley!!

MARTY B. on 11/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

robert m. on 11/21/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Inform them of the "Haul/Tow" switch so they don't waste gas when they are unloaded or not hauling.

SHANNON M. on 11/17/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris L. on 11/14/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

anthony g. on 11/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great rental experience thank you

charles j. on 11/13/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is my second time renting from U-Haul in less than a month I would like to say that running with U-Haul is a big joke they have the worst customer service I have ever encountered I would not refer anyone to U-Haul and I would tell people not to deal with U-Haul it's better to pay more money and go with a different company the employees are rude and the people that work the customer service lines will check your phone number and information and rent you equipment to be picked up in another state even though you did not ask for it I will never deal with U-Haul ever again please be aware to stay away from all U-Haul rental companies especially the one in Lakewood off Pacific Highway and Bridgeport

SYDNEY B. on 11/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARILEA M. on 11/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

great customer service

Richard S. on 11/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Staff was very professional and friendly...

Elizabeth H. on 11/10/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Put more gas in the truck than when we picked it up and they wouldn't refund the difference per policy they said. terrible gas smell in the truck but otherwise great

Joshua H. on 11/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck cab and box smelt like a homeless person was living in it. It smelt disgusting. Lock them while they sit in the yard?

Lynn O. on 11/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very easy pick up and return. Thank you.

chanda j. on 11/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

ian r. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The cab of the vehicle was full of dog hair when I picked up the truck. Also the oil change needed light was on. The attendant at the front counter did not even do a walk-through of the vehicle or check the vehicle with me they handed me the keys and told me to do it myself. This is the first time I have ever rented any vehicle of any type and not had a company representative do the walk-through with me. I don't know if this is normal for Uhaul but it's kind of crazy. When I turned in the vehicle the young lady outside who took it from me was very friendly and knowledgeable. She made returning the vehicle Pleasant and because of her customer service that is the only reason why I can give this location and average rating. If it would not have been for her I would have said poor. Need to improve your customer service when picking up a vehicle instead of the employee sitting behind a desk having the customer go do their job and bring the paperwork back to them filled out. Need to work on your customer parking as well you had me park my vehicle across the street in a gravel parking lot full of homeless people. I did not feel my vehicle was going to be safe park there.

George a. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

When I picked the truck up, the lady at the counter said several times, "there is about 1/2 tank of fuel" just put what you use back into the tank. I did not look at the paperwork to see that she actually marked "9/16 full". After finishing our unloading job, I sweep out the van, cleaned it and returned it to the store. There I learn of the "9/16" note of the form and because the van was blocked by other customers, I needed to add 2 gallons more to get it to the "9/16" level. Those 2 gallons cost me $10.34!!!!! I was/am not a happy customer. What can we do to relieve my angst?

John K. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service!

Jon P. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very helpful staff, clean location with super easy access to main hi ways

JULIANNE J. on 11/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just keep up the great work. : )

ED G D. on 11/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

More people to help check-in at the end of the busy weekend. The service was great when they had time. A very busy location at 3:00-4:00 Sunday afternoon.

ANTHONY Q T. on 11/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

WINN M. on 11/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Auto transport carrier was rusted and overall questionable shape. I mentioned this to the kid that was assisting me and reassured me that everything was well-maintained. Long story short--all four tires ended up blowing during my move. I lost about a day and a half total because some of the blowouts weren't in cell range and I had to wait hours for assistance. Also, the latch on the cargo door seized up and I had to tie the door in place with rope. I changed out auto carriers after the 4th tire blew. Whoever "secured" the tires straps did not thread them properly. At my first stop after picking up the 2nd AT, I noticed that both tire straps were completely off--my car was essentially just sitting on the back of the transport. Also another thing I didn't realize. Storage units are not pro-rated. I paid for a full months' storage and removed my belongings and closed out less than 2 weeks into the month. No reimbursement for the remaining two weeks. If that unit was rented anytime soon after I vacated, Haul is receiving two different payments on one unit. A COMPLETE RIPOFF. I would never use UHaul again if had another option.

Robert S. on 11/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very efficient. Easy and quick. Very nice experience.

Phillips E. on 11/4/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

robert s. on 11/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Slow as could be without even acknowledging it let alone an apology. Very poor customer service.

Russell S. on 11/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Easy pick up and drop off; great customer service. Would certainly rent here again.

lana k. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Our original reservation was at Puyallup. We got a call that it was double-booked and they moved us to 96th & Pacific. When we got there the truck wasn't there. The man behind the counter called corporate and made a new reservation and sent us to this location. We were supposed to have $50 credit d/t not having the truck that was supposed to be ready. That didn't happen. They finally found a truck that was huge and scary to drive - 2 1/2 hours later AFTER I drove to Lakewood. No, I would NOT recommend UHaul to a friend. My experience was absolutely HORRIBLE!

charles j. on 10/31/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Don't tell the customer that they are set and ready to go if they are truly not and remember that if customers time is very valued moving as stressful as it is when you have a reservation and it is confirmed it should be for the time that is confirmed at not 8 hours later. Moving and stressful enough Uhaul should not make it more stressful by not having everything together when you get there vehicle should be check them maintenance you should not have to stop and turn around back to your house or place of the you are moving from to go back to the location that you got your vehicle from to have them maintenance it I have used Uhaul over the past few years and over the last three years it has been a headache to deal with Uhaul as a company not a happy customer

Amber W. on 10/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas H. on 10/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roger B. on 10/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

margie m. on 10/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

HAUNANI N l. on 10/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dahisy C. on 10/27/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I ended up returning the truck about 15 minutes after renting it due to a cancelled purchase and I was surprised by how little I was reimbursed.

malcom p. on 10/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff!

Gillian R. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Jasmine was awesome when we picked up the van and the two young men who checked it back in were equally helpful. Quick and easy!

Richard A. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I setup my reservation online to pick up from this location and one upon arrival I was notified that I was supposed to go and pick it up from another location which was farther away from where I wanted to be the one I told her I wasn't going I wanted to pick up there then I felt like kind of gave me attitude which was very unprofessional

Rafael D. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Short and sweet when you drop off. Unless there is a shortage on staff, this location only had one employee at the time we were present. But i helped by backing in my equipment and unlatching it on my own. Should i have done this? Probably not. Also, thanks Uhaul for being the most non-veteran friendly company out there.

Peter B. on 10/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was fortunate that I arrived ahead of the 9 am "rush" as the location only had one person working. She did a great job but probably could have done with some help.

David G. on 10/22/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My wiring was incorrectly installed so I had to drive 1500 miles with no lights!

DAVID L. on 10/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert H. on 10/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck was ready...quick in and out with no issues.

MARSHA L S. on 10/19/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Corey C. on 10/18/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anja M. on 10/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jamison M. on 10/16/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The trucks are PACKED in at this location. Not the most friendly people but they get you into the truck and processed quickly. The lack of parking was a bit of a headache so make sure you have a plan for that

james Z. on 10/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bob L. on 10/14/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Yang L. on 10/13/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tanya T. on 10/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROD B. on 10/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Was pleasant, worked great moving furniture today.

Terry R. on 10/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

sally d. on 10/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

JUAN b. on 10/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM G. on 10/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katherine S. on 10/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

JIN C. on 10/10/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES T J. on 10/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Felicia D. on 10/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was awesome!!! From start to finish. Impeccable.

rOB R. on 10/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

So the staff read the owner manual to help us out the car in neutral while the keys weren't in the ignition but they didn't tell us that we should disconnect the battery so our battery died because the dash light was still on. So after returned our trailer I had to bring my car into ford services to get it fixed which was $191 bill I'm not happy with that. In addition next time we rent a trailer I'm most likely going somewhere else I felt like that was really expensive. Also I felt like the trailer was never serviced correctly because when the tire blew out the roadside came to check it out and told us the tires were really old and they should of never rented us that trailer.

Jeffery B. on 10/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager helped to inform checker how to utilize proper screens and went out of his way to assist us. Staff was very professional and friendly.

Tony W. on 10/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was stuck on highway in the middle of nowhere and couldnt get any help to continue my move because I rent a trailer i couldnt get assistance to get my family off side off interstate it was the worst experience ever

moises r. on 10/6/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location we picked up truck from was ridiculous!We had an appt time of 2:00,they took an hour to give us the truck (which when your moving you have a limited amount of time obviously),they had at least five of the truck size we needed,so supply wasn't the issue.We also rented a dolly which they said was in the truck (made scince due to the lengthy pickup)get home NO DOLLY,went back no apologies from staff.Also this location is on a very busy intersection with an entrance to 2 freeways so there is good reason to have separate enter and exit,but the exist was blocked by several trucks,so pulling out was a challenge in itself for safety let alone for convenience.Ive moved many times due to military and never have had any issues at Uhaul before.This place is terrible ..avoid it like the plague!

Tina W. on 10/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

RICHARD A J. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had to drive 16 miles one way out of the way to pick up the trailer. That took a lot of time out of my moving day.

chris c. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark E. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service lady was in a bad mood, but that sometimes happens overall quality was good

Julie W. on 10/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katie P. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jasmine W. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Staff was nice but the equipment we asked for was not in the truck which made it very frustrating!!

ron l. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

WALTER R g. on 10/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

sally d. on 9/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Be aware of limited onsite parking

william g. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

MIKE B. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Worst place I ever seen the personnel lazy and not educated worst uhaul location I ever been in to

Julia B. on 9/29/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck was clean. However overhead door was extremely hard to close. Latch on door didn't always lock when door was opened.

SALLY D. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At busy times the parking is very limited there.

joe h. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I came in and rented a 26' truck, later that day I was called and told I would have to go to another location to get the truck. No one offered to get the truck to this location. No apologies. I came in the day before I was suppose to pick up the truck and talked to a different employee who was very helpful and rented me a truck that just came in. He let me take it a day early. Found out the woman who originally helped me put the wrong size truck in the computer. This guy changed the reservation and fixed the issue. He was also more professional and polite than the girl who originally helped me. He seemed to care.

JOSEPH M. on 9/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great friendly helpful staff here! Always well stocked with the supplies I need for my business!

Chanda J. on 9/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Neeve W. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ken W. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frank V. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

keep track of what equipment is reserved and what is not. I had an enclosed trailer reserved online for a week and the day before I picked it up I got a call saying it was already reserved and I had to choose a different trailer.

MARY W. on 9/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lori C. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The milage rate was not correct, they didn't want to help set the mirrors so I could see out of them.

JOHN B. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was satisfied with the experience. Thank You

Caleb R. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reserved a certain sized trailer at this location for pick up and drop off for another location but they ended up giving that size we reserved away. We had to rent a smaller trailer which ended up being 3 trips AND we had to drop the trailer off at that same location We were really disappointed. What's the point in making a reservation if it isn't actually reserved? We won't use Uhaul for our next move.

LANG V L. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good

John S. on 9/23/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gregory R. on 9/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

KEVIN S. on 9/21/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When I arrived, the order for my packing supplies had been cancelled, so I had to re-order everything. Then I was charged for 12 furniture pads and only given 6. Also, was charged for a utility dolly that was never delivered. Horrible experience at Lakewood Uhaul.

scott m. on 9/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Customer did not leave a comment.

Danielle S on 7/24/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My box showed up at the wrong storage facility after I received numerous emails that it was going to be at one location. I even went in to make sure that my box was going to be in my location

nicole m on 7/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

nicole m on 7/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everyone was super friendly and helpful. Made our move across America a little easier!

ROBBIE RICHARD F on 8/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Lakewood staff is first rate.

Yvonne B on 6/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at the Lakewood U-Haul is excellent and well trained. I will use no other U-Haul store, even if it is closer.

TIFFANY H on 1/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Worst move ever! 200 characters not sufficient.

DAVID B on 11/27/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You need to have more D rings installed in the wooden boxes, staggered high and low

RANDELL L on 6/19/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Terrible service.

DANIEL P on 6/7/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Staff did not cross safety chains or properly ratchet down coupling. The Ubox came unhitched and the tongue dragged in the road. My brother and sister were following the truck in my car.

SALLY H on 1/17/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is great a small business. Steve has been totally awesome.

SABA W on 1/1/2012
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

good

DELLA R on 8/8/2011
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

had to tighten up some screws and adjust not fall apart, but it is good deal.wish it was cheaper and would take less time U-haul is my peace of mind.....thanks