start navigation end navigation

Empire Car Rental(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

186 Mulock Ave
Toronto, ON M6N3C8

(416) 532-9191

(Keele & St Clair)
Driving directions

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm

 

  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for Empire Car Rental

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Empire Car Rental

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

BRAD P. on 4/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always so helpful

ARLENE H. on 4/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I just want to say that the young lady that served us was very pleasant and a pleasure to deal with. I hope that this gets back to her as she deserves to know she is doing a great job!!! Sincerely, Arlene Hagemann

CORREA J. on 4/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

no unexpected charges, great service

Kasia S. on 4/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had pre booked on the phone 1 day prior for a 1 way from Toronto to Brantford. When I arrived I found out I was booked for a in-town move. The manager of the Dovercourt location (where I actually picked up) was very helpful and brought another truck down right away. I had to re-register all of my info and then post pone my move and my movers by an hour. Shit happens on moving day overall the Manager for Dovercourt location was amazing and handled my situation like a pro... it was also his Sunday (day off I assume). I wold rent again in a instant from him! Thanks again.

Moira P. on 4/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very good and best movers were very good too

SHANAN H. on 4/13/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Service was unsatisfactory to say the least. I was sent to several locations with last minute changes to the availability if my truck which I was told was confirmed. My credit card was charged an additional days worth of service after I returned my truck on time. No one was available and has been available to rectify this ongoing problem. The 186 mulock ave location has a number listed belonging to a man, apparently that number is his personal number and he can't for reasons unknown to me, help me rectify my problem. I will never use uhaul service again. My experience was highly unsatisfactory, and I'm astonished by the lack of professionalism from what I believed to be a reputable company. I will not promote or endorse to anyone I know to use uhaul moving services, based on my experience I would be doing them a great disservice.

Jesse W. on 4/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Van was dirty inside. There were many scratches and dents on the outside that had not yet been noted with stickers. (I made the Uhaul girl walk around the van with me and put damage stickers on all visible damage before I would sign the paperwork. Otherwise, I likely would have been charged for the damage! Her response was "well, you have insurance anyways, so it doesn't matter." The mileage on the van itself was not the mileage on the odometer. However, this being said, in the past, with different customer service agents at the same location, I have had nothing but positive experiences. Hopefully, this was only a one-off occurence!

Bruce T. on 4/7/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great experience. Only issue, is that it took 1/2 hour to pick up the truck which I booked on line. The customer in front had a reservation issue that took quite a bit of time. I'm sure this doesn't happen all the time.

robin h. on 4/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Was not at all impressed that I was pressured to return the truck with in six hours. I was under the impression that a truck rental was for a 24 hour period, like a car. At least 8 hours is needed for a proper move. This caused undue stress to our move. I will not be renting from U-haul again. You need to be more forth right about what your offering time wise. When you advertise $29.99 a day, would lead one to believe the rental would be at least 8 hours.

Chris A. on 4/1/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the truck was a mess not ready when i came to pick it up full of garbage in the back and in the cab. I got charged way to much for fuel. if its me paying gas I didnt put back in I undrstand but a 30 dollar fee on top is ridiculous. You are thieves. I will NEVER EVER use U Haul or speak about it in a positive light.

SAM G. on 4/1/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The most disgraceful dump I've ever seen.

CATHERINE B. on 3/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

More vechicles, I booked a week in advance, and could not find what i wanted. Although, this location had an ample amount of space there were too many clients and no vechicles. I felt pressured to return the vechicle after 3 hrs. even though i wasn't finnished the job and when i did return the truck, i misunderstood about the gas and wanted to go to a gas station for more gas. I had ordered the truck for 7hrs to begin with but was told i owed $30.00 and could not go get more because the next client was waiting for my truck.

NICHOLAS B. on 3/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Maybe put asphalt down instead of the mud but otherwise great experience.

Dariusz G. on 3/23/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Better store front than a trailer in a muddy field. Looks more like a work site than a business.

SORINA C. on 3/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I've had the worst customer service experience in my life renting a truck with U Haul and I will never use your services again. Furthermore, I will advise everyone I know not to rent with U Haul. We took great care to fill up the gas tank to the level we took it, but U Haul still charged us $ 50 pretending it wasn't fill up, which was untrue. But could we prove it once the gas thank was filled up again? In my opinion, U Haul is a completely dishonest company.

PATRYK C. on 3/21/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

very disorganized no attendant on site, need to call a number and wait for service all kinds of issues with my contract; mileage, fuel, return time use as last resort in emergency only, but don't be in a hurry

BRAD P. on 3/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The service at this location is the best I've ever had and I rent cargo vans all the time. I am always treated so well by the staff, who are extremely helpful.

Angshu C. on 3/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The location is not very easily found. I had to call the office to find out where it is. The guy who was there when I went the first time was really helpful. The lady who was there on the day I went to pick the truck, was fairly rude and didn't explain things very well.

ANDREW L. on 3/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The customer service agent was excellent. The physical location is a little on the rough side, but no real problems.

MARC D. on 3/5/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Trailer was left in a an awkward position took me almost 1 hour and a half to attach, trucks blocked the way in, the trailer also had no connectors for the brake lights, no uhaul representatives to help out, then after everything being chargered for returning it to the first location i was supposed to return it at. Overall just a bad experience.

AMIR A. on 3/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It was driving on ice. They did not clean snow at all so it was pressed on top of each other every time snow fell. It was icy slippery all over the yard. Very poorly maintained.

SUMMER E. on 3/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had some serious issues with my reservation. The first location I booked from, Decent Car & Truck Rental & Services, was horrific. My reservation got bumped and the person at Decent was rude and unhelpful. I called the U-Haul line and had a fantastic experience with your helpful staff. The other location I got sent to to get the proper truck was great. Decent was so bad I tried to rent from a different company. Please consider pulling them from your rental places. They won't even answer the phone when I tried to call back after being told that I probably screwed up my own reservation even though I had the email confirmation in front of me w the proper truck I had booked.

MANUEL R. on 3/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ill definitely use uhaul again.

MARYLIN D. on 3/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great cust service..

Jorin C. on 2/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service from Fred.

Jo Ann M. on 2/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Fred, was early which was a bonus on a hectic moving day. He was polite and very helpful in giving suggestions to improve my order. Tiniest problem was that there was no washer fluid for cleaning windows. My only frustration was that I left 2 messages about parking my vehicle there but no one called me back. For the price and great service, I would highly recommend UHaul and this location.

MARCIN T. on 2/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No one there to receive the truck. Trucks aren't locked.

CORY R. on 2/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Your company sucks and keeps screwing me around. U-Haul has lost a customer. I'll be using Carter from now on.

CAMMOK O. on 2/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service. Best customer service

Marie-Maxime B. on 2/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was over charged for the service and now can no longer get a hold of anyone working at this location to discuss my bill.

PATRICIA M. on 2/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

1. Was given misinformation about credit card/cash deposit required. 2. The young spanish girl was very snippy to me and an associate at head office and not in the least bit helpful. 3. The lot where vehicles are should be plowed. When trying to leave the truck got stuck in the snow and took 30mins to get out.

Mike T. on 2/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No issues. Service was ivk and easy. Online check In is nice.

Allan H. on 2/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The vehicles need to be kept in better condition, and free from litter and trash. The girl however was very nice and helped me a lot.

STUART F. on 2/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It would maybe help to have signage on Weston Street, pointing the way to the location. If signage does exist already, I clearly missed it.

TASHI D. on 1/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous service

david m. on 1/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

just open the store on time because i had reservation at 9 am and no one was at the place they arrive to open at 9:27 am and is not waiting area so was brutal wait outside with the weather i was so cold, if the company can check the time will be great because i was so late i came out with the van until 10 am which is late for me to start my schedule plus i have to pay one hour to my stuff thats the only point that make me disagree thanks

STACEY H. on 1/28/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Location was not easy to find, overcharged me on gas and KM's and I was not even over. I called to ask why I was charged that, no one called me back then didn't answer there phone when I tried again. Was not pleased with this location at all!

Fred D. on 1/27/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Get ice off parking lot. We got stuck. Had to use wood ash we happened to have with us. Staff did their best. Tires on truck were not suitable for Canadian conditions.

miguel j. on 1/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent uhaul experience.. would happily go there again.

Duri S. on 1/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This location was nowhere near to my place of residence or the location that I had requested

joao f. on 1/23/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

In my view you get enough as needed. You're great.

Dan M. on 1/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My only issue with the overall rental experience was that the van was given to me with absolutely no washer fluid left, which required me to find a gas station to fill it up at my own additional cost. It isn't a huge deal or expense but I think that in the winter this is something that shouldn't be left up to the customer.

Paula Q. on 1/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Very hard locating the place but not your fault. Street sign not apparent. Opportunity for U-Haul signage perhaps? Good thing we saw a Uhaul truck from St. Clair so were able to back track. An improvement however is to tell clients where the drop box is when they pick up since not near the office but outside the gate.

YAACOV B. on 1/14/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the only comment I have is that the person who assisted me with hooking-up the trailer did not know how to connect the chains properly. The place was friendly and inviting.

andy M. on 1/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

As I had no copy of contract with me when I arrived, see other comment, I had nothing for representative to sign that I had infact returned the unit, something I asked for. She did arrange to send me the email confirmation which did arrive within an hour but I left with nothing in hand to indicate I had infact returned the unit other than the promise of an email. I should have been given a signed release, I asked if there was nothing to sign and was told that the email would be sent. Blind faith on a trailer you say is worth $6,000. I did see her take down the unit number but still should have been given acknowledgement of the units return.

GABRIELLO P. on 1/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

It was just a little tricky to find. A large sign would make it easier to find. :)

VANESSA S. on 1/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hard to find!!! Great service

ISABELL L. on 1/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Equipment was neat and ready.. staff was very polite and helpful. Great uhaul experience

Robert S. on 1/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I recieved very poor customer service when I went to pick up my Truck. The attendant wasn't very helpful and didn't give me any instructions for the truck. It was also at 1/8 less gas than indicated on the document and the attendant didn't verify this information with me before giving me the keys. Overall I had an awful experience.

LIAM C. on 1/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Did not having moving pads, which I believe I was still charged for. No salt or dirt on the lot during Winter. Made it very slippery and a group had to push out all of our trucks out of the lot. Truck was clean and operated well.

paula k. on 12/31/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only negative about this experience was that the location was very hard to find. I never even saw a sign for "Empire Car Rental."

BRIAN W. on 12/31/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It needs better signs to where the Key drop box is for after hours. it took me 20 mins to find! they have a sign directing you to another building, when the drop box is actually on a post. Very frustrating!

Tatyama K. on 12/27/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Please verify your third parties are qualified and professional before working with them.