Libre-entreposage

De quelle taille d'unité d'entreposage ai-je besoin?

U-Haul offre une variété de tailles et de types d'unités pour répondre aux besoins des clients. Consultez notre guide des tailles d'unités de libre-entreposage pour vous aider à choisir la bonne taille d'unité d’entreposage. Vous êtes à l'établissement et trouvez votre espace trop petit? Demandez de le combiner avec un autre espace à proximité ou optez pour une unité plus grande moyennant des frais supplémentaires.

Comment réserver une unité d'entreposage?

Il existe quatre façons de réserver une unité d'entreposage chez U-Haul; en ligne, en personne à un établissement, en téléphonant directement à l'établissement ou en téléphonant au 1-800-GO-U-Haul.

Combien de temps garderez-vous ma réservation?
Les établissements appartenant à U-Haul et gérés par U-Haul garderont une réservation jusqu'à un jour après la date prévue de votre emménagement.
Est-ce que U-Haul facture un dépôt ou des frais d'administration?
Les établissements appartenant à U-Haul et gérés par U-Haul NE FACTURENT PAS de dépôt ou de frais d'administration. Il n'y a aucuns frais pour réserver ou sécuriser votre espace. Seul votre premier mois de location est dû lorsque vous signez votre contrat! Les établissements d'entreposage affiliés peuvent honorer ou non cette offre aux clients U-Haul. 
Dois-je signer un contrat de longue durée?
Nous n'exigeons pas des clients qu'ils signent des contrats à long terme pour la location d'espace d'entreposage auprès de U-Haul. Votre contrat de location avec U-Haul est mensuel. 
Qu'arrive-t-il si mes besoins en matière d'espace d'entreposage changent?
Si vous êtes un client actif et que vous devez changer la taille de votre espace d'entreposage, vous pouvez demander d'être transféré dans une unité plus grande ou plus petite à tout moment. Parce qu'il n'y a pas de contrat à long terme et grâce à la facturation mensuelle, vous n'êtes pas engagé envers l'unité. Pour faire une demande de transfert, parlez à un(e) représentant(e) du service à la clientèle à votre établissement d'entreposage. 
Puis-je signer un contrat pour un ami ou un parent?
U-Haul ne vous permet pas de signer un contrat de location pour un ami ou un parent. Lorsque vous signez votre contrat de location, vous en acceptez les modalités. Pour cette raison, nous ne pouvons pas légalement vous permettre de signer un contrat pour un ami ou un parent. 
Quelle est la différence entre les heures d'accès aux unités d'entreposage et les heures d'ouverture (régulières)?
Les heures d'accès aux unités d'entreposage sont les heures où l'établissement d'entreposage vous est entièrement accessible. Alors que les heures d'ouverture (régulières) sont les heures où il y a un membre du personnel présent sur les lieux pour répondre à vos besoins en matière d'entreposage. Ces heures varient généralement selon l'établissement. 
Comment puis-je ajouter ou désigner quelqu'un qui peut accéder à mon espace d'entreposage?

Lors de votre emménagement, informez le membre du personnel qui a le droit d'accéder à votre espace d'entreposage. Les personnes seront ajoutées à votre contrat. Vous pouvez également ajouter ou enlever des personnes par l'entremise de votre Compte U-Haul.

Comment puis-je accéder à mon unité d'entreposage?

Vous pouvez accéder à votre pièce à l’aide d'une carte d’accès ou en saisissant votre code d’accès sur le clavier de verrouillage/déverrouillage ou sur le clavier d’inscription/de départ rapide le cas échéant. Hors des heures ouvrables, les portes pour le chargement et le déchargement sont fermées et nécessitent un déverrouillage supplémentaire pour les ouvrir.

Que de passe-t-il si j'égare ma carte d'accès ou j'oublie mon code d'accès?

Si vous égarez votre carte d'accès, vous pouvez en acheter une nouvelle auprès du service à la clientèle de votre établissement. Si vous oubliez votre code d'accès, vous pouvez le trouver dans votre compte U-Haul.

Comment dois-je verrouiller mon unité de stockage?

Nous exigeons que tous nos clients verrouillent leurs unités avec un cadenas en forme de disque. Ils sont en vente au rabais dans le magasin U-Haul en ligne ou au comptoir lors de votre emménagement. Les cadenas ajoutent une sécurité supplémentaire et empêchent les cambriolages. Vous n'êtes pas tenu de l'acheter de U-Haul.

Qu'est-ce que le service en ligne Emménager/louer maintenant?
Le service en ligne Emménager/louer maintenant est une toute nouvelle offre pour les clients du libre-entreposage. Lorsque vous louez maintenant, vous réservez immédiatement votre unité d'entreposage en signant votre contrat de location et en payant votre premier mois de location en ligne. Lorsque le formulaire en ligne est rempli et le paiement accepté, vous recevez immédiatement une assignation d'unité et un code d'accès à l'établissement. 
Quelle est la différence entre une réservation et un emménagement en ligne?
L'emménagement en ligne réserve votre unité immédiatement. Vous devez remplir votre contrat de location en ligne et payer votre premier mois de location avant de recevoir votre assignation d'unité et votre code d'accès. Entretemps, une réservation retient une unité de la taille de votre choix dans notre système pour une période de temps sélectionnée. Il n'est pas nécessaire qu'un paiement soit effectué ou qu'une entente soit signée avant que vous ne vous présentiez pour terminer votre emménagement. 
Est-ce que tous les établissements et toutes les unités sont admissibles au service d'emménagement en ligne?
L'emménagement en ligne est disponible dans la plupart des établissements appartenant à U-Haul et étant gérés par U-Haul, et dans certains établissements d'entreposage affiliés. Les unités sont installées à la discrétion du gestionnaire de l'établissement, mais en général, pour l'emménagement en ligne, les unités sont disponibles en différentes quantités de chaque taille. Trouvez l'établissement le plus proche qui répond à vos besoins et utilisez le filtre « louer maintenant » sur la page de l'établissement pour voir s'ils offrent l'emménagement en ligne. 
Comment puis-je accéder à mon unité après avoir terminé l'emménagement en ligne?
Pour l'emménagement en ligne, les instructions vous seront envoyées par courriel. Vérifiez vos courriels pour les consulter. Si vous ne les avez pas reçues, vérifiez votre compte U-Haul dans la section communications pour accéder à une copie des courriels qui vous sont envoyés. Toujours pas reçu de courriel? Communiquez avec votre établissement de libre-entreposage pour obtenir plus d'instructions.

Comment puis-je payer pour mon espace d'entreposage?

Les clients ont plusieurs options de paiement pour leur espace d'entreposage. Payez en ligne, en personne ou par téléphone. Toutes les principales cartes de crédit sont acceptées (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, AMEX) ainsi que l'argent comptant, les chèques ou le traitement automatique des chèques en magasin. Vous pouvez également mettre en place le paiement automatique à votre établissement d'entreposage ou sur le uhaul.com/orders.

Comment puis-je mettre en place le paiement automatique pour mon espace d'entreposage?

Pour mettre en place le paiement automatique, créez ou connectez-vous à votre compte sur le uhaul.com/orders. Cliquez sur le tableau de bord pour trouver vos locations en cours et ainsi que votre numéro de contrat pour l'unité que vous souhaitez ajouter au paiement automatique. Cliquez pour payer votre facture et sur la page de paiement, cliquez sur « ajouter au paiement automatique ».

 

Vous pouvez également mettre en place le paiement automatique à l'établissement d'entreposage lors de l'emménagement ou en tout temps pendant les heures d'ouverture.

Quelles sont les promotions disponibles sur l'entreposage chez U-Haul?

U-Haul offre un mois d'entreposage gratuit pour la location d'équipement à sens unique dans les établissements participants. Pour trouver des établissements, visitez le site uhaul.com/storage ou consultez notre page de rabais pour obtenir des offres supplémentaires dans votre région.

Quand dois-je payer ma location mensuelle?

Votre location mensuelle doit être payée tous les mois à la date de votre emménagement. Par exemple, si vous avez emménagé le 15, votre prochain paiement de location devra se faire le 15 du mois suivant.

Est-ce que U-Haul loue au prorata?

U-Haul ne calculera pas au prorata la location d'une unité d'entreposage. À la réception de votre paiement, votre paiement mensuel vous couvre jusqu'à votre prochaine échéance mensuelle.

Que se passe-t-il si je rate un paiement ou si je règle un paiement en retard?

Si vous ratez ou réglez un paiement en retard, vous devez payer des frais de retard qui varient selon l'établissement et la région. Afin d'éviter tout retard de paiement, inscrivez-vous au paiement automatique sur le site uhaul.com/orders.

Ai-je besoin d'une assurance pour louer un espace d'entreposage U-Haul?

Une preuve d'assurance est requise pour louer un espace d'entreposage U-Haul. Pour votre commodité et votre tranquillité d'esprit, nous offrons l'assurance d'entreposage libre-service la plus abordable qui soit avec Protection SafestorLes tarifs commencent à 7,95 $ par mois pour une couverture de 1 000 $; pour plus de détails sur ce qui est couvert et les garanties, visitez notre page sur la couverture pour les dommages.

 

Si votre assurance de propriétaire ou de locataire couvre votre unité d'entreposage, vous n'avez qu'à apporter une preuve d'assurance avec vous au moment de l'emménagement.

Quelle est votre politique en matière d'annulation de réservation?

U-Haul n'a pas de politique d'annulation de réservation, car votre espace d'entreposage n'est garanti que jusqu'à sept jours avant la date prévue de votre emménagement. Si vous ne vous présentez pas à la date prévue de votre emménagement, votre unité est considérée comme libre à la location pour d'autres clients.

Quelle est votre politique en matière de déménagement?

Lorsque vous êtes prêt à déménager, assurez-vous que votre espace soit propre et que tous vos biens ont été sortis afin d'éviter des frais de nettoyage. Vous devez également enlever le cadenas de votre unité. Veuillez aviser le personnel que vous déménagez afin de vous assurer de ne pas recevoir de facture.

What size storage unit do I need?

U-Haul has a variety of unit sizes and types to fit the needs of our customers. Check out our self-storage size guide for help choosing the right size storage unit. At the facility and find your room too small? Ask to combine it with another room nearby or transfer to a larger unit for an additional fee.

How do I reserve a storage unit?

There are four ways you can reserve a storage unit with U-Haul; online, in person by visiting a location, directly calling the location, or by calling 1-800-GO-U-Haul.

How long will you hold my reservation?
U-Haul owned and managed locations will hold a reservation up to one day after your expected move-in date.
Does U-Haul charge a deposit or admin fee?
U-Haul owned and managed locations DO NOT charge a deposit or admin fee. There is no cost to reserve or secure your room; just your first month of rent is due when you sign your contract! Storage affiliate locations may or may not extend this offer to U-Haul customers as well. 
Do I have to sign a long-term contract?
We do not require customers to sign long-term contracts to rent storage from U-Haul. Your rental agreement with U-Haul is month by month. 
What if my storage space size needs change?
If you are an active customer and your storage space size needs change, you can request a transfer to a larger or smaller unit at any time. With no long-term contracts and monthly billing, you’re not locked into a unit. To request a transfer, speak to a customer service representative at your existing storage facility. 
Can I sign a contract for a friend or relative?
U-Haul does not allow you to sign a rental agreement for a friend or relative. When you sign your rental agreement, you are agreeing to the terms and conditions. For that reason, we cannot legally allow you to sign a contract for your friend or relative. 
What is the difference between storage access hours and office (standard) hours?
Storage access hours are the hours when the storage facility is fully accessible to you. Meanwhile, office (standard) hours are the hours that a staff member is on-site to assist you with your storage needs if needed. These hours will generally vary depending on the location. 
How do I add or designate who can access my storage room?

When you move-in, let the staff member know who is able to enter your storage room. They will add them to your contract. Otherwise, you can add or remove individuals through your U-Haul account.

How do I access my storage room?

You can access your room using either an access card or entering your access code on the arm/disarm keypad station or quick check-in/out keypad station where applicable. Outside of office hours, the loading/unloading doors are closed and require an additional swipe to open them.

What happens if I lose my access card or forget my access code?

If you lose your access card, you can purchase a new one at the customer service office for your location. If you forgot your access code, you can find it within your U-Haul account.

How do I lock up my storage unit?

We require that all customers secure their rooms using a round discus style lock. They can be purchased at a discount from the U-Haul store online or at the counter during move-in. The locks add an additional layer of security and prevent break-ins from occurring. You are not required to purchase from U-Haul.

What is Online Move-In / Rent Now?
Online Move-In / Rent Now is our newest service offering for self-storage customers. When you Rent Now, you secure your storage unit immediately by signing your rental agreement and paying your first month of rent online. Once the online paperwork is completed and payment is processed, you receive a unit assignment and access code to the facility immediately. 
What is the difference between a reservation and online move-in?
Online Move-In secures your unit for you immediately. It requires you to sign your rental agreement online and pay your first month of rent before receiving a unit assignment and access code. Meanwhile, a reservation places a hold in our inventory for your selected room size for a selected period of time. It does not require a payment or agreement to be signed until you walk in to complete your move-in. 
Are all locations and units eligible to rent using Online Move-In?
Online Move-In is available at most U-Haul owned and managed locations with some storage affiliates also offering the service. Units are set up at the discretion of the facility manager, but generally units will be available in various quantities of each size for online move-in. Find the nearest location that meets your needs and use the rent now filter on the location page to see if they offer online move-in. 
How do I access my unit after completing Online Move-In?
Directions will be sent to you via email for online move-in. Check your email for instructions. If you didn’t receive them, check your U-Haul account under the communications section for a copy of emails sent to you. Still haven’t received it? Contact your self-storage facility for further instructions.

How can I pay for my storage space?

Customers have several options to pay for their storage space. Pay online, in person or over the phone. All major credit cards are accepted (VISA, Mastercard, Discover, AMEX) along with cash, check or set up ACH in store. You can also setup auto pay at your storage facility or on uhaul.com/orders.

How do I set up auto pay for my storage space?

To set up auto pay, create or log in to your account on uhaul.com/orders. Click into the dashboard to find your existing rentals and locate your contract number for the unit you’d like to add to auto pay. Click to pay your bill and on the payment page, click “add auto pay.”

 

You can also set up auto pay at the storage facility during move-in or anytime during office hours.

What promotions are available at U-Haul for Storage?

U-Haul offers one month of free storage for all one way equipment rentals at participating locations. To find locations, visit uhaul.com/storage or view our discounts page for additional offers in your area.

When is my monthly rent due?

Your monthly rent is due every month on the date your move-in occurred. For example, if you moved in on the 15th, your next month of rent is due on the 15th the following month.

Does U-Haul pro-rate rent?

U-Haul will not pro-rate rent for a storage unit. When your payment is received, your monthly payment carries you until your next monthly due date.

What happens if I miss a payment or am late on a payment?

If you miss a payment or are late, you will be charged a late payment fee that varies by location and region. To avoid late payments, sign up for auto pay on uhaul.com/orders.

Do I need insurance to rent storage at U-Haul?

Proof of insurance is required to rent storage at U-Haul. For your convenience and peace of mind, we offer the most affordable self-storage insurance available with Safestor. Rates start at $7.95 per month for $1,000 worth of coverage; for more details on what is covered and benefits, visit our damage coverage page.

 

If your homeowners or renters insurance covers your storage unit, just bring proof of your insurance along with you during move-in.

What is your reservation cancellation policy?

U-Haul does not have a reservation cancellation policy as your storage space is only guaranteed up to seven days in advance of your expected move-in date. If you do not show up by your expected move-in date, your unit is considered free to rent to other customers.

What is your move-out policy?

When you are ready to move-out, ensure that your room is clean and all belongings have been cleared out to avoid any cleaning fees. You must remove the lock from your unit as well. Please notify staff that you are moving out in order to avoid getting billed.

Does U-Haul allow customers to store RVs, Boats, Cars, or other Vehicles?

Yes. U-Haul offers Vehicle Storage at select facilities. Each facility is unique to its market, offering a variety of options, including but not limited to open-spaces, covered spots, or fully enclosed vehicle storage units. Learn more about storage options for your car, motor-home, boat, etc. by visiting our vehicle storage page.

What do I need to bring to rent a vehicle storage space?

You will need to bring your Driver’s License or other government-issued ID. In addition, you’ll need to provide the following information for the vehicle you will be storing: license plate number, make of boat/vehicle, and proof of current insurance policy.

What security features are available at U-Haul?

U-Haul owned and managed storage facilities utilize multiple layers of industry-leading security features. These are collectively called MAX or maximum security. You can find any combination of the following at our storage facilities: security cameras, individually alarmed rooms, electronic access, intercoms, fire sprinklers, and limited access to floor or building. For more in-depth look at security at U-Haul, read our Security Features at U-Haul Resource Guide.

Do you have any resources for first-time storage renters?

As the leaders in moving and storage, of course we do!

For more tips, visit our Storage Tips Section for comprehensive How-To Guides and more!

What type of carts are available during move-in?

We offer moving carts and mattress carts at our storage facilities. They are free to use for all customers. Courtesy carts are located at the loading docks for each facility. We ask that customers return carts upon using them so that all customers can enjoy this benefit.

What other items does U-Haul have available for customers during move-in?

Customers can purchase moving boxes and packing supplies while they are moving into their storage facility. All our U-Haul owned and managed storage facilities offer moving boxes, tape, covers/bags, and more to purchase on premise. For locations that are remote, please visit the customer service office nearby for additional items. You can also order products online for pick up or ship them home.

What is a climate-controlled storage unit or facility?

Climate-controlled storage facilities are facilities where temperate and humidity is managed within the building. That means, that the temperature within the facility is anywhere between 65 to 85 degrees depending on the time of the year. That means your items don’t get exposed to changes in temperature and humidity outside,which can cause damage to your items should they be in storage long-term.


Not sure if a climate control storage unit is right for you? Learn more about climate control facilities and review our climate-control checklist.

Have questions or need help?  
Chat live with a moving expert

Back
To Top