U-Haul of Vestal

U-Haul of Vestal

Share |

Address

3732 Vestal Pkwy E
Vestal, NY 13850

(607) 729-4951

(Btwn Bunnhill & Jensen Rd)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 7 am - 5 pm

Special Operating Hours

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Vestal

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Vestal

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

KEN H. on 8/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't make customer wait while he is on phone for a long time. I feel I shouldn't have to wait when I was in line first.

Rebekah O. on 8/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The U-Haul agents at this location went out of their way to help me work around a scheduling error made by the 'central' office. Pick-up and drop-off were easy. A good experience at this location. When central schedules, please don't tell people they can't schedule a one-way--and then book them for one! Thanks.

JASON T. on 8/25/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved a motorcycle trailer. I spoke with someone and detailed my needs. When I showed up I was told I had to return it at a time that was impossible. Given that the other reservation preceded mine I was pretty much told I was out of luck. I ended up having to rent a utility trailer with no ramp that had multiple screws and nails in the bed. I was offered no discount or refund. Horrible service.

MARK B. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I reserved at Binghamton site. Told them I had 20 % coupon from Ryder. they said they would give me the same price. Went to pick up and they said they did not have my vehicle it was in Vestal. Went to Vestal to pick up and they said they do not match prices. Not much I could do at that point. Very dishonest of U-Haul.

ROBERT K. on 8/24/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Vehicle pickup location and availability shown on web and from phone dispatcher did not match information given to us at pickup.

Danette S. on 8/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pleasant and very helpful customer service!

liz d. on 8/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The process was easy and quick. Thank you!

JOHN W. on 8/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your manager, Robert, deserves all the credit in the world for being such a nice , professional young man. He should get a promotion and pay raise.

MARSHA A. on 8/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No improvements necessary. Process was easy, vehicle was fine, personnel were friendly, professional and helpful. My experience was very positive.

Greg S. on 8/18/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Pulling a piece of equipment (ie a Trailer) out of the shop queue and back into service should not require the customer to ask about the trailer repair status. The Service Rep should inform the customer what the status is. Thanks.

CLAUDINE T. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I reserved a 4x8 weeks before needing it... Days before pickup I was to none available.... Yet I was able to locate one on my own.... Some at corp. customer service gave me a good rate price to pick it up at Oswego and drop it in Vestal.... That was a big help!

RICHARD C. on 8/17/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Staff and very helpful. Keep up the good customer service!

ROBERT S. on 8/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

From the moment I walked in the door to the moment I dropped the keys off I felt taken care of by the staff and was glad to do business with such a great operation. Highly recommend this location.

HUTHAEEFA A. on 8/14/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Hiring honest person to work

PAUL B. on 8/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Truck was dwlivered a day late.

MICHAEL B. on 8/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

nothing

Bill P. on 8/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Our experience with U-Haul was entirely positive and a huge relief. The staff was friendly and helpful, the truck worked fine, and we had no hidden charges or gotchas.

Thomas C. on 8/10/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The rental went very well. The van was exactly what I needed and we had no issues with it. The only place for improvement was that it took a while to determine the final price when I dropped it off. The system should automatically calculate the lowest rate but it didn't and the salesman needed to manually correct the calculation.

TONY D. on 8/5/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I'm told this is directed to your call center not the local location which is accurate and not. I was quoted one price and when I brought back the vehicle, I was charged another. I called your number and was told one charge and then charged another. The local supervisor was excellent and resovled my issue, but this is not the first time uhaul has tried this bait and switch tactic. This is or should be illegal and if I have time will complain to the better business burue and state attorney.

Melissa M. on 8/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience, staff was very helpful

Joseph L on 8/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff at the U-Haul facility were very knowledgeable and friendly. They were helpful selecting the correct number of boxes as well as provided helpful packing tips.

RACHEL E. on 8/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a very busy time of day and the staff were quick and attentive.

Derek J. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff working was very helpful.

Ron N. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good customer service in and out in no time on a busy weekend

GINNY R. on 8/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Give me a little break on mileage charges if I bring the gas tank back OVER FULL when I took it out at 7/8 full, especially if I show you the gas receipt from a few minutes ago.

CHAUNCEY M. on 8/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

However, the had an awesome...un~godly odor!!!

KRISTOPHER B. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

There was a long wait to check in, but we planned for it so it wasn't a problem. There was just one person ahead but it took a while. When we were finished, there was a long line. Maybe it was lunch time. Only 1 person working.

BRANT V. on 7/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When I arrived they were unsure if they had any packing blankets for me even though I had "reserved" 2 dozen. The UHaul staff had the nerve to say to my face that they thought the packs of packing blankets on their shelf were already "reserved." (So that other person's "reservation" counts but mine doesn't?) After pondering for a few seconds the staff member decided it would be okay if he gave me a dozen blankets and expressed this decision like he was providing top quality customer service by giving me half of the packing blankets I had reserved more than a week ago instead of none of the packing blankets I had "reserved." To be clear they did NOT apologize for being unable to provide me with all of the equipment I "reserved" and had to seriously consider whether to give me half of what I "reserved" or absolutely nothing of what I had "reserved." I "reserved" that equipment for a reason and expected it to be there when I picked up the truck (I confirmed on the phone more than 24 hours prior to my pick up date that all the equipment would be there as well as the truck). It is totally unacceptable that not only is not all the equipment I "reserved" there, but that the staff had to think about whether or not they could give me anything. I expect more than the truck to be ready when I "reserve" more than a truck and I expect the staff to have figured out the equipment allocation ahead of time. With all of the things run by computer these days I seriously doubt that they have no electronic means of keeping tabs on their inventory so they can allocate equipment ahead of time to fulfill each "reservation." So the staff here is either grossly incompetent when it comes to monitoring their inventory or they have the worst (or no?) system for keeping tabs on their inventory. Add to the fact that 24 hours before my original move date I was called by UHaul to be informed that they had 0 trucks within a 70 mile radius that they could rent to me and I had to push back my move date a full 24 hours (forcing me to scramble to find extra friends to help since some of my friends who were planning to help couldn't do so on the new day for my move). Given that the problems mentioned above regarding knowing their inventory (be it incompetence or a poor inventory system) I guess it's no surprise that they wouldn't have had any trucks available on the original day of my "reservation." So overall be ware that while it's called a "reservation" in reality it's just a request. You might get the truck on the day of your "reservation" or you might not, you might get the equipment you "reserved" or you might not. If UHaul is not going to provide the truck and all of the equipment I "reserve" don't call it a "reservation" call it what it actually is: a "request."

Kenneth M. on 7/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I arranged on line and needed to be out on time. However it took me over 25 minutes to check out , This timing was very important to coordination of a lot of people which really cost me. I was told the computer was down again which happens frequently. Highly frustrated.

SHELLEY E. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

These guys were amazing. Called me the day after to make sure we were doing okay. Checked out the equipment fully and it took less than 10 minutes.

JEFFREY H. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There is poor coordination between the call center and the local store. My reservation 9am-5pm reservation was changed to 7am-2pm, with no prior discussion with me. The call center changed it back to 9-5 for me when I called, then I got call from the local store saying it was only available 7-2. In the end this worked out, but I had zero confidence what I wanted would be there when I showed up - not a good feeling for a store that posts "Guaranteed Reservations" on its outside sign.

CLAIRE M. on 7/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went smooth as could be.

LORI B. on 7/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Check over the wiring better to make sure there are no defects or pinched wires that could cause problems down the road.

NICHOLAS D. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Just a quick easy drop off

EDDIE B. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Was charged an extra full day rental for an extra 5 hours of use. I agree with an extra charge, but this show be prorated fairly. If I knew I was going to get this charge I would have kept the trailer and not rushed the morning after my wedding!

JOSEPH G. on 7/19/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

i had a reserved when I went to pick it up it was not there. Ended up with a smaller truck had to make more than one trip to complete my move

MUSTAFA H. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great customer service, very quick and efficient. Would return again.

Cathy H. on 7/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A more pleasant experience in Vestal. They were respectful, knowledgeable, and apologetic because I received such poor service at my pick up location.

Kenneth S. on 7/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Remain committed to your customers. Thanks, Ken

DIANE R. on 7/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

OLD trailer. It leaked bad. Over half our belongings were soaked.

Chelsey F. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went very smoothly- no hiccups at all... Pick up and drop off were both quick and easy, truck was in good condition, no complaints! Robert and Anthony were both very nice, and helpful. Overall a great experience, made my moving day less stressful! Will recommend, and use again in the future.

lance d. on 7/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It's all good and I had fun there thanks

JORGE D. on 7/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I'm extremely satisfied with their service. Highly recommended..

MICHELLE D. on 6/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very good .

christopher p. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Uhaul as a company can improve pick up depots. Stand behind guarantee.

JOHN T. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Not a location site issue persay, but overall was a little disappointed with the rental. Notably, I was told at the night before pick-up that there was no truck available for pick up. As such, I was told to pick one up ~50mis away ... which I did since there was not enough time notice to do otherwise. The added mileage allowance was minimal at best and did not account for the added 5 gallons of gas required (cost of ~$15). This should have been part of the inconvience that Uhaul should have covered. Upon drop-off, I was off by 9 miles (shortage from estimate) and was charged an add'l $3.98. Not the money ... bit a insult given the added time (1 hr) to go out of my way to use the alternate pick-up location. Next time, I will call (not use the web which is not reliable) or use another rental provider (i.e., Hertz or Budget.

Evin T. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

everything is great,quick service and great customer service.

jeffrey b. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great employees at the vestal location

john w. on 6/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing, Robert did an excellent job.

Sean D. on 6/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very happy with this rental. The salesperson (Sean Morrisey) was friendly, confident and helpful. He made sure everything was working before I pulled away.

ROBERT D. on 6/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Trailer was VERY OLD and had numerous black "x" stickers all over it. That being said, it made the 1,700+ mile trip with no problems. The staff at the Vestal, NY location was VERY friendly and helpful. Personal opinion - $725 for a one way was high.

JOE M. on 6/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

it was a very nice experience, new vehicle with new tires and brakes, will definitely use you again for moving needs

EVIN T. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service is prompt, friendly and courteous. Excellent service.

Donald S. on 6/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I rented a auto hauler from this location Saturday afternoon and returned Saturday evening after the store closed as I was instructed. I was billed for 2 days and took 3 phone calls to get it straight and no one could explain what the problem was. Not at all what I would expect.

BILL J. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

nothing! It was fast and simple.

CHRISTINE H. on 6/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer service was amazing at this location!

Mary Ann H. on 6/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

if something major..like oil light comes on,,or headlights pointing in sme direction:right shoulder of road....IF anything like THIS happens to someone U HAUL SHLD REIMBURSE 10% of a state wide trip..ie, NYS to FL. our lives as U HAUL CUSTOMERS were in danger,,,and shld an accident occur, and above mention things were PROVEN to occur...U HAUL wld have a HELL OF A LAWSUIT on thir hands...SO! CHECK and RECHECK all fluids, ,,,headlights and anything else you cld think of...my relocation trip cost me $3500. and of measly 200 + 50 gift card was reimbursed to me. HAPPY with VESTAL NY store employees' friendly nature ..BUT servicing trucks needs to be INSPECTED a lot more closely....in A L L of ur locations. This is no joke. Our lives were in danger traveling at night in the rain with 2 headlights pointed to the right shoulderof the road. AND I myself had to buy OIL for the 26' truck and PUT IT IN MYSELF...itll take a LONG time to forget thisexperience....AND my talking to others about it,,,,,AGAIN, PEOPLE at store were GREAT...lights coming ON in truck during BIG trip....not so good!!!

RICHARD C. on 6/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pleasant experience with a very friendly Staff!

JERRY D. on 6/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

those folks are super

BRETT N. on 6/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Make sure the guys are cleaning the equipment when it is returned I rented a 6x12 trailer that was full of Top soil swep it enough to get my stuff in left it in the corners then I was billed $15 dollars for a cleaning for something that wasn't even my fucking mess I have a pick up truck I would need a damn Uhaul to haul a load of top soil

Jacques C. on 6/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very professional.

robert n. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

prompt professional service

LEORA K. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was wonderful. Both gentlemen who attended to me were quick, efficient and kind. Thank you!

WILLIAM G. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Employees were very nice and answered all questions,

Robert M. on 5/31/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The truck was older with over 100,000 miles, but still did the job.

Alexander F. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone was very friendly at pickup and drop off, even despite high customer load and long lines forming. I will definitely rent another trailer from here again in the future.

JENNIFER B. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved my truck rental a month ago. I never received a phone call to verify my pick up location and time. I called 4 days in advance and was told my location was not available for the size truck I requested, and that my pick up time was 7am. I requested the truck to be picked up within the town I live in at 11am. I lost 4 hours of my rental as I had to return the truck by 4pm and had to drive 20 miles to pick it up. I was not very happy with the outcome of my rental

Lawrence S. on 5/30/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Two recent rentals: Staff was friendly and helpful. Equipment was in good condition. My go-to rental location.

Robert R. on 5/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The attendant, Robert, was working alone but was very efficient.

Kveta K on 5/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The person/staff was outstanding and very hard working. We thank the Vestal staff for their hard work.

Jamel C. on 5/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very professional and helpful workmanship there

SHARON T. on 5/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drop off was smooth and fast.

PETER M. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Clean the vans interior and exterior before renting. Van looked like it had not been cleaned for some time.

ANDREW H. on 5/26/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck that was rented to me had huge holes in the roof and a bunch of my stuff got ruined when I transported my belongings in the rain. The customer service is poor at best and the management does not seem to care about its customers.

Anne R. on 5/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We had a one-way rental, ending up Reston VA but I was new to that area & rental agent sent me miles away (Sterling VA) to return the truck. The next day I found a closer location, less than 1.5 miles away. Rental agent should've worked harder to find that closer location.

Erica R. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fees really add up! What I thought would be a 30 dollar rental was really a 68 dollar rental for 4 hours and only at most 60 miles. I should of just made 2 trips with my parents minivan and it would have been cheaper.

Michael K. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It would be a great help to have an employee review dash board instruments at time of rental. For example, how do you brighten dash board lights.

George B. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The size of truck I requested was unavailable so I was given a larger size even though I preferred a smaller one. This cost additional gasoline expense for a long ride not to mention the increased difficulty of navigating a 20-ft truck. The people at this U-Haul were very nice and confirmed my reservation well in advance but had I known in advance that I would be given a larger truck (albeit for the same price originally quoted), I would have looked elsewhere.

hannah s. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

new computer system - computer kept freezing while the employee was trying to sign me in and out

John W. on 5/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Don't know of anything

Robbin H. on 5/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I received crappy customer service...was jipped out of moving equipment for my move...forced to take equipment I needed back...overcharged and treated like crap...I will never use uhaul again nor would I recommend it to friends

David F. on 5/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

2 days before our pick-up date UHaul notified us that the 4'x8' trailer we reserved wasn't available (although we'd reserved 7 wks in advance).* This was the 2nd time (out of 3) that we've had problems with getting what we requested. They said the best they could do was in Deposit NY, some 37+ mi out of our way (about 75 mi round-trip from Vestal. I called back twice (to a different #) & finally was offered a 5'x8' trailer from Vestal for the same price. Don't know why the reservation agents we contacted didn't offer this originally. A very frustrating experience yet again with getting a trailer at Vestal. * when I 'd tried reserving 3 mos in advance online, I was told it was 'too early' to reserve, and I'd have to wait closer to my departure date.

David S. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was charged $66.00 for damage to the truck that i did not do. I am extremely unhappy with my experience. I will never do business with uhaul again. I am in the process of going on social media and telling everyone I know to not do business with uhaul.

JOHN M. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My identity was STOLEN by JOHN MASTROGIACOMO!...The theft was facilitated by UHauls peculiar procedure that doesn't 'require the person renting to use a credit card if there's one on file'...to add insult to injury the receipt that they printed for this clown has my address, email, cell#...so much for protecting privacy! I am on my way to file a police report...the newspaper will be next!

Susette W. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service once again from Robert! Five stars!

John G. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good Customer Service

Robbin H. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was screwed out of equipment was not given any help...didn't even offer me a discount on other equipment I was using or the $50 guarantee Never again

Gail S. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No complaints!

carl b. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff. Low mileage, clean vehicle.

Stephen M. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr Addo waited on me. He did an excellent job. I recommend that others do business with him.

Brian d. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very polite and well spoken service person

AMANDA G. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

truck was not available in my nearest location a month in advance. Was called by this location stating my reservation had been changed. Asked if they would give me a break in the mileage since it was twice the distance . Was told to call the other location closer to my move in date to check availability since there could be no break on the mileage. Called the endicott location and explained the situation and was told no trucks available but that he felt the right thing to do was to discount mileage. Picked up truck without issue. Went to put less than an 8th of a tank of gas in (what I was responsible for) put $10 in and started the truck but gauge didn't move. Turned it off and put $10 more in. Still gauge did not move. Went to location and halfway there (3 miles) the gauge shot up to almost a half a tank (I was required for 1/4 tank). Asked for reimbursement or discount and was told no. Although this is clearly a trick for Uhaul to get free gas. I've always used Uhaul always had a feast experience at the endicott location. Feels like vestal is only in it for the money. Would like something done so I don't have to deal with this stress in addition to the stress of moving.

greg p on 10/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The 2 guys working were very helpful and plight. Knew what questions to ask and incuage conversation about using the u box.

RALPH T on 6/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Numerous occasions we were not given the full details of what U-Boxes entails *** Manager not being courteous*** Anthony The above cost us $150 in Mover.com

MATTHEW S on 3/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer assistance was great!

EMILY C on 12/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The clasps on the U-box were damaged. Staff disorganized. I reserved online and stopped in the day before to confirm in person, took 90 min to pick up box, @ drop-off they had no idea I was coming