U-Haul of Vestal

U-Haul of Vestal

Share |

Address

3732 Vestal Pkwy E
Vestal, NY 13850

(607) 729-4951

(Btwn Bunnhill & Jensen Rd)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Vestal

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Vestal

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

DARLENE B. on 10/28/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the team was very helpful and called to check in on our arrival time when we were running late. thanks. busy roadway, but there is a red light!

Michael M. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Every time I have been at this location there is a new employee who does not appear that they should be by themselves. They are always arguing with an unhappy customer … add me to the list. I'm not sure why there is a reservation system when everything gets messed up and you routinely get shuffled from location to location. I keep telling myself never again! I think this experience will do it!

ARIEL C. on 10/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Gentleman that checked me out was very polite an quick. Couldn't ask for a better experience.

Jodi I. on 10/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was interested in renting a 20' truck but they do not carry that at the Vestal location, that was a little inconvenient but not the end of the world.

JOE W. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is a regular location for u haul, and I used it once before.

Steve G. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Cheaper prices

Christopher K. on 10/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The van's cab smelled like smoke and the driver and passenger seats were very dirty and grungy.

LYLE E. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very nice people at this site I had to make changes to pick up times and return time and they were not flustered at all good people.

RUSSELL P. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I ordered a truck, I specifically ordered a utility dolly with straps. And I was supposed to be charged $10.00 for this. Upon arrival for the truck, it was told to me that they did NOT have any dollies!! Then they called around and found a dolly on Chenango Street in Binghamton. We were then told to go pick it up! This should not have happened!! Whoever was in charge of the order should have made sure our utility dolly was on the truck we ordered. We should NOT have been made to go hunt one down. It was well out of our way, not to mention the time it took away from our moving!! When we got to the U-Haul store on Chenango Street, we were told it would cost us $12.96. It was ordered for $10.00!! This is really bad service on the end of U-Haul! I think it would be fitting to have some sort of refund for the hassle we endured during an already difficult time in our lives. As you well know, moving is NOT an easy task, especially for people over 60 years old. I also find that the rates were extremely high for just a one trip move. It shouldn't cost over $150.00 just to rent a truck to go from Endicott to Waverly. So I am imploring upon the management of U-Haul to refund something due to the poor service we endured. Thank you!

JONATHAN G. on 10/6/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Not setup the truck to fail by putting faulty parts in it. Have never been treated so poorly by a business in my life. Is there any corporate oversight at these franchises? Vestal site needs an audit.

PHILLIP D. on 10/5/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Customer service is usually great. This time not so much. I was told one price over the phone when I made my reservation. Then when I got there they didn't have what I requested and then I had to pay the increase in price. Then they guy misinformed me that I wouldn't get my deposit back. It was cleared up but I felt overall just judged. Like I couldn't understand what he was saying. I felt judged and overwhelmed by the time I left.

greg p on 10/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The 2 guys working were very helpful and plight. Knew what questions to ask and incuage conversation about using the u box.

Richard R. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Offer coffee to the customers.

Charles B. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Get rid of the "$19.95" per day sign. Everyone knows that it's going to be more than $19.95 unless you let it sit on the lot and don't add mileage.

JESSICA M. on 9/29/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only complaint I had was that the windshield was filthy insode and out I had to stop and wash it after picking the truck up because it was hard to see. Other than that everything was fine

colin w. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great professional service!!!

TODD P. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

when I called and got through the call center I was promised one time and then told another when I picked up the truck and due to their issues they wanted to charge me more for a scheduling problem that I had nothing to do with I would never use u haul again

Marie W. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Gas gage did not work so we could not tell how much gas we used, So as a cosiquence we filled the truck up. we did not have to cause we got the truck 3/4 full. so it coast us an extra $30. You got more gas, your welcome.

David B. on 9/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Rewards program for frequent customers.

Julia F. on 9/20/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I really had no issues to complain about. The men that waited on me were very nice and helpful and the vehicle was clean and ran well.

DALE B. on 9/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was not very impressed with the policy of encouraging you to check with insurance company to see if you are covered for rental truck damage and then insisting that I understand that U Haul did not deal with insurance companies. If I damaged your equipment in any way, I would have to " immeadiately" write a check for up to $40,000 to UHaul. The General Manager made it a point to keep telling me that he wasn't trying to upset me but that I would have to immeadiately write that check. I ended up taking insurance. General Manager came out side to make sure that I knew that he was the General Manager as I was taking picture of his name on the front window. I know this sounds stupid but it really ticked me off. Was not impressed with his style and will not rent from this location again. Chenango Street may be dirty but treats you with respect.

sally d. on 9/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything went well and as expected.....thank you again UHaul...pleasant experience once again!

MIKE B. on 9/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was good. The employees were curteous. The truck fit for what we were. Moving. Everything was good.

GARY J. on 9/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just keep up the good work and I enjoyed doing business at your place.

ROBERT C. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The rates are a bit steep...

christopher f. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Rented a motorcycle trailer, the trailers right side ramp pin locking mount was completely rusted off so only one pin was holding the ramp in place. Other than that the service was great and the employee was very helpful.

Kimberly O. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast and easy! Loved it!

SABRINA V. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very efficient and knowledgable.

KENNETH M. on 9/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful experience overall, we were very impressed.

RICHARD L. on 8/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Got charged 17 USD for gas that was less than 1/8 short

Geoffrey V. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Another flawless rental - thx.

peter f. on 8/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

More people need to be working. The wait time was unacceptable!

JOHN H. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Over $100 to rent a van for a few hours...DAMN!!! Excellent place, people and equipment, but I knew this was gonna get costly!

TONY C. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

A little confusing as they do not confirm your pick-up location until 24 hrs before rental. Originally, I was left a message stating I needed to pick-up in Montrose, PA. When I called back, they said Vestal was fine. Why do I have to pick-up where you want, does not sound customer driven to me.

Ryan M. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Your website. I thought I reserved a van for the full day, not four hours. Fortunately, your staff was able to extend it to five.

DOUG S. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing that I can think of

justin h. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing to really improve. Very easy process. Thank you for everything!

JOHN M. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a hell of a ride. We appreciate the fact that you and your company don't have a policy against aiding and abedding in a crime. Thank you for your generous service

Nancy M. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Why if I rented truck,that advertised,$19.95 a day,was I rushed to have it back in 4 hours?? 4 hours,to me,does not constitute a day. Otherwise,everything was fine and a very friendly staff.

Jeffrey W. on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service, Very helpful staff

RAYMOUND E. on 8/23/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service. Anthony was very polite and helpful.

LYNDA D. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All of the staff at the local locations were excellent , professional, and they had great customer service. However" the one call service female that I spoke with on Tuesday morning was VERY Rude & her customer service skills were NONE I would not want to deal with her again. she could use training and supervision.

JESSICA D. on 8/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Did not know who to contact about claims. Customer service center is a joke, they had me call multiple numbers about claims. No one seemed to know what to do about faulty equipment. Worst rental experience ever. I'll never use U Haul for anything in the future

Biagio A. on 8/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very pleasant and welcoming, fast and effiecient. thanks

JOE H. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I reserved the trailer online and had a confirmation number. When I called the preferred location (Vestal)to confirm that the trailer was there I was told that they did not have a trailer.They connected me with national reservations and they told me that the trailer was not available until the following day in Vestal. I called to confirm that the trailer was available the following day. I can honestly say that I drove to the location wondering if a trailer would actually be there. I was pleasantly surprised when there was a trailer available with my name on it. If the equipment is not available at the preferred location you should not let a customer reserve the equipment or let the customer know where the equipment IS available.

David S. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Return was quick and easy

VIVIAN R. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

the return was fast and easy.

ANGELA B. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We reserved a 17 foot trick to minimize our trips since we have to put gas in it before we return it PLUS pay .99 cent a mile, some crazy $1 environmental fee, and $29.95 just to rent the trucm. I made sure several times that the reservation was for a 17 ft truck before I hung up the phone. When my husband picked it up they said it was reserved a 14 foot truck and had no 17 footers available. So i called the number that I thought was the actual location in Vestal and complained. She said she could extend our time that we could have the truck from 215 to 7 which i was happy with. Then i got to thinking this means more trips.. more gas.. more milage money, so called back asking for a little discount/break on the bill because of THEIR mistake.. but "No there is no discount we offer" and to find out I'm not even calling the actual location like i thought! So i asked to speak to someone else or if there was another number i can call to speak to someone about my problems. "No theres no other number to call" so i hung up and delt with it. Upon returning the truck the guy says ok your total is 172$. WHAT! For one day! Nope, they charged me two days because i returned the truck after 215pm because i had to make more trips because they gave me a shorter truck. So i went and re explained everything after waiting a few minutes he adjusted the price to 115$ with no appology or anything. Disatisfied with the customer service of uhaul.

Lynne C. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Beware! Just because you place a hold on a truck- even weeks in advance with a credit card, this does not guarantee you will get it when and where you want it! I reserved a truck two weeks prior to my needing it and two days beforehand I was called and told that the truck I need will be 50 miles away! I have to spend two hours and MY gas to go get it! That is UNACCEPTABLE!!!

Heath G. on 8/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The general manager was very helpful. Due to his customer service and help, my experience was excellent.

BETHANY J. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I needed a rental for Sunday and booked online. After booking online I called the location to see if it would be possible to pick up the truck Saturday instead. The truck I had reserved was not available and I was told I could reserve a size smaller which I did so that i coukd pick it up saturday night for sunday use. I then was contacted Saturday morning wanting to know why I hadn't picked up the truck yet. Apparently the reservation was changed from 7 pm to 7 am and there were no trucks available for me to pick up Saturday. So I called the regional office. Both individuals I spoke to were very rude and short with me. I was told that the truck that I wanted in the first place would be available for pick up Saturday night which is what I wanted to begin with. And to top it all off i had to pay .99 per mile as opposed to .79 a mile because i picked the truck up on saturday instead of sunday since the location didnt open until 9. Overall terrible customer service and I will not be doing business with uhaul in the future nor will I recommend them to anyone.

Lois S. on 8/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The motorcycle trailer we rented was rusted out at the tailgate. The right side pin holder was almost completely rusted off. Other than that we had no complaints.

JOHN D. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and helpful

Jesse M. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Forgot my debit card there and was called almost immediately.

AMANDA B. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I am not very happy, you are supposed to offer $50. for the guarantee and this did not happen, we got our reservation and a phone call when I went at noon to get my 17 ft truck they told me they had none and laughed basically. then hour and half later someone returns a 26 ft truck and I had to upgrade, not to mention when I returned it I put 20.00 in gas in it and then you turn around and charge me again. I was going to rent a truck again in a few weeks to move some furniture but if this is how your company treats people I will never rent again. so you should not have charged me 82 to my credit card and I was an email and confirmation I got 50 .00 guarantee reservation credit to my acct. Thank you for your understanding and patience.

charles w. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The only thing I would suggest is that u maybe inform customers that your trucks may have hi and low speed shifts. Other than that all is well

David D. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Use of apps for check out and on-line check-in resulted in pleasant experience.

EDWARD S. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There seemed to be no direct connection between the reservation line and the sites. For example: 1) the reservation attendant recommended a drop off point at my destination that ultimately could not receive my vehicle and 2) my pickup point did not have a light enough trailer to haul my Jeep, resulting in my ultimately removing the trailer from my contract and require two drivers (one for the Jeep and one for the U-Haul truck) to get to my destination 12 hours away.

MARTIN A. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Brand new 2014 pickup with 4G miles had nonfunctional trailer electric connector. Was told I could take it anyway with no brake lights and no blinkers on the car hauler. Was told no other vehicles were available. Cause 1.5 hour delay until another vehicle could be found. I was also told I could go to Binghamton location if I wanted! Not acceptable to pick me to another location when I was already delayed. Ugadi should have a driver swap equipment in those situations. After lotsof ccomplaining and insisting I received a $100 gift certificate. Now worth my aggravation. They also gave me a box truck as a replacement and told me they would charge me at the pickup rate. They did not. I had to call again to complain. Eventually 2 days later I was reimbursed. Never again will I rent from u haul. I will likely not use the gift certificate. Maybe for tape and straps.

JIM P. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

YOUR LOCATION WAS EXTREMELY UNDER STAFFED. YOU HAD ONE EMPLOYEE DOING EVERYTHING. I WAITED AT LEAST 20 MIN. TO GET WAITED ON. THERE WERE SIX PEOPLE WAITING IN LINE. YOUR EMPLOYEE DID THE BEST HE COULD BUT HE NEEDED HELP. NO WAY COULD HE CHECK IN TRUCKS, GET CUSTOMERS THERE TRUCKS AND WAIT ON EVERYONE IN A TIMELY MANOR . I FELT SORRY FOR HIM. ONE MORE WORKER WOULD HAVE MADE EVERYTHING SMOOTHER.

MAUREEN P. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The 26 ft truck I rented was unsafe, with no functioning ventilation/air system, couldn't defogger windows, the brakes were bad, the taillight turn signal was out, and the truck leaked water during a rain. After the truck was fully packed by movers who were paid by the hour, the truck wouldn't start and we had to wait an hour before a jump. Then the service told us the battery wouldn't hold a charge. We drove it anyway, and then had to leave it idling for several hrs so we could drive it back to uhaul. Our movers couldn't stay any later so we lost an hr of important move time. It was a nightmare...

Daniel P. on 7/28/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

be sure windshields are clean

AMII T. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pleasant and professional staff.

CHRIS M. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

General manager was excellent. Entire process from online reservation to pickup to return was very efficient. Will use again.

MIKE B. on 7/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

None

Amanda G. on 7/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Super fast check out! Pleasant surprise. There was no review of the vehicle before leaving or upon arrival. Caused a bit of worry but not a big deal. I appreciated the friendly service and the speedy checkout!

Randi L. on 7/19/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No comments

WILLIAM S. on 7/18/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We had a reservation to rent a 20 foot truck and tow dolly at 8am on July 4, 2014. When arriving the night of July 3rd to confirm our reservation we were told by the Uhaul employee that the truck already was not going to arrive until 930am the next morning (even though our reservation was for 8am) we agreed even though slightly annoyed. We arrive on the 4th at 9:40am and are told that our truck still has not returned. The employee tells us to go home and they will call us as soon as the truck has been returned. After going home and it is now 11:30am and still no call from Uhaul we call to see if our truck is in yet, it has not yet been returned. After we have asked for a manager on the phone and being transferred for the 3rd time I was hung up on. Our movers arrived at our home at 12pm and were not able to reschedule to come any later. I then came into Uhaul to see if anything can be done (bigger truck, discounted rates, etc) because I got no where on the phone and our movers are unable to schedule for a later time and they are the ONLY moving help we have for the entire day. Uhaul tells me the only thing they can do is give me my $50 reservation guarantee back and wait for my truck. Mind you we have a 5 hour drive home and haven't even started packing our truck. We do not end up receiving a truck until 3:30pm with an 8am reservation and we've not lost our moving help with NO refund or time reschedule on them. We also reserved a storage locker in Erie, PA (our final destination) through Uhaul where it stated we would receive the first month free, when we FINALLY arrived to this storage locker the woman had no idea what we were talking about, and were forced to pay $71 dollars for our first month when we were not prepared for that. Since the "in store" Uhaul employees/manger said they've done all they could do we were told to call 1-800 GO UHAUL to receive more assistance/a greater refund for what we have gone through. We have since done that since being moved back to our final destination (Erie, PA) making the phone call on July 10, 2014. The person I spoke to told me a manger would be contacting me in 3-4 business days and I have not heard a word since, it is now July 18, 2014. Please understand my extreme frustration in this situation and why I do not plan to use Uhaul in the future.

KEITH B. on 7/17/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck was not operating properly. No defrost, no A/C, made engine noises, no power, extremely poor fuel mileage. Very outdated fleet - will shop around for next truck rental.

ALE D. on 7/16/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We were charged an incorrect fee upon returning the truck and had to go in person, after holding for 13 minutes and being hung up on, in order to get the correction done.

JOSHUA S. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Store is painted with a weird color scheme- inconsistent with branding. Primo location, non-primo paint scheme.

Paul m. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

your reservation scheduling sucks.i ask for a motorcycle trailer she says she doesn't have one. takes my credit card # which should not be given out so freely since there is no purchase yet.Transfer me to another out of area agent.Tells me we have a ramp truck @ same location I called. I go there to get the ramp trailer and what do I see. A motorcyle trailer.And when I drop off the trailer what do I see still sitting there? A motorcyle trailer.Screw your company with the over 10 minutes of nothing. Penske for now on!!!!

JENNA N. on 7/13/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Some staff was only concerned with letting customer know what they did wrong or what fine print to read online which has covered the company, instead of helping the customer get what they need. Some staff is unfriendly and seems unmotivated. This location drummed up my gas charge when the gas was filled right where we received it-- but apparently it wasn't 7/8. Overall disappointed in customer service here.

David K. on 7/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Anthony was an extremely courteous and knowledgeable person. He made you feel at ease and took care of things as needed. Thanks

Mark D. on 7/9/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Manager and employees were very courteous and helpful in making suggestions that would work for me.

Geoffrey V. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Not a thing. U-Haul is fortunate to have such great peeps running the business in Vestal.

ALLISON M. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great thanks

SHELIA B. on 7/4/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

call me 607-647-5142 I have done things with u haul in the past and yesterday was the worst nightmare with this rental ask for jim I was sent to three places and made reservations for a car dolly and ended up with a car transporter and end up with a return of 146 miles on a f-350 4x4 and the car was going only 7 miles very bad business when reservations made ahead of time and your company could not commit to the reservation

RALPH T on 6/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Numerous occasions we were not given the full details of what U-Boxes entails *** Manager not being courteous*** Anthony The above cost us $150 in Mover.com

MATTHEW S on 3/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer assistance was great!

EMILY C on 12/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The clasps on the U-box were damaged. Staff disorganized. I reserved online and stopped in the day before to confirm in person, took 90 min to pick up box, @ drop-off they had no idea I was coming