U-Haul of Vestal

U-Haul of Vestal

Share |

Address

3732 Vestal Pkwy E
Vestal, NY 13850

(607) 729-4951

(Btwn Bunnhill & Jensen Rd)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for U-Haul of Vestal

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul of Vestal

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Erica R. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The fees really add up! What I thought would be a 30 dollar rental was really a 68 dollar rental for 4 hours and only at most 60 miles. I should of just made 2 trips with my parents minivan and it would have been cheaper.

Michael K. on 5/21/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It would be a great help to have an employee review dash board instruments at time of rental. For example, how do you brighten dash board lights.

George B. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The size of truck I requested was unavailable so I was given a larger size even though I preferred a smaller one. This cost additional gasoline expense for a long ride not to mention the increased difficulty of navigating a 20-ft truck. The people at this U-Haul were very nice and confirmed my reservation well in advance but had I known in advance that I would be given a larger truck (albeit for the same price originally quoted), I would have looked elsewhere.

hannah s. on 5/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

new computer system - computer kept freezing while the employee was trying to sign me in and out

John W. on 5/16/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Don't know of anything

Robbin H. on 5/16/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I received crappy customer service...was jipped out of moving equipment for my move...forced to take equipment I needed back...overcharged and treated like crap...I will never use uhaul again nor would I recommend it to friends

David F. on 5/16/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

2 days before our pick-up date UHaul notified us that the 4'x8' trailer we reserved wasn't available (although we'd reserved 7 wks in advance).* This was the 2nd time (out of 3) that we've had problems with getting what we requested. They said the best they could do was in Deposit NY, some 37+ mi out of our way (about 75 mi round-trip from Vestal. I called back twice (to a different #) & finally was offered a 5'x8' trailer from Vestal for the same price. Don't know why the reservation agents we contacted didn't offer this originally. A very frustrating experience yet again with getting a trailer at Vestal. * when I 'd tried reserving 3 mos in advance online, I was told it was 'too early' to reserve, and I'd have to wait closer to my departure date.

David S. on 5/12/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was charged $66.00 for damage to the truck that i did not do. I am extremely unhappy with my experience. I will never do business with uhaul again. I am in the process of going on social media and telling everyone I know to not do business with uhaul.

JOHN M. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My identity was STOLEN by JOHN MASTROGIACOMO!...The theft was facilitated by UHauls peculiar procedure that doesn't 'require the person renting to use a credit card if there's one on file'...to add insult to injury the receipt that they printed for this clown has my address, email, cell#...so much for protecting privacy! I am on my way to file a police report...the newspaper will be next!

Susette W. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service once again from Robert! Five stars!

John G. on 5/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good Customer Service

Robbin H. on 5/10/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was screwed out of equipment was not given any help...didn't even offer me a discount on other equipment I was using or the $50 guarantee Never again

Gail S. on 5/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

No complaints!

carl b. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful staff. Low mileage, clean vehicle.

Stephen M. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Mr Addo waited on me. He did an excellent job. I recommend that others do business with him.

Brian d. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

very polite and well spoken service person

AMANDA G. on 5/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

truck was not available in my nearest location a month in advance. Was called by this location stating my reservation had been changed. Asked if they would give me a break in the mileage since it was twice the distance . Was told to call the other location closer to my move in date to check availability since there could be no break on the mileage. Called the endicott location and explained the situation and was told no trucks available but that he felt the right thing to do was to discount mileage. Picked up truck without issue. Went to put less than an 8th of a tank of gas in (what I was responsible for) put $10 in and started the truck but gauge didn't move. Turned it off and put $10 more in. Still gauge did not move. Went to location and halfway there (3 miles) the gauge shot up to almost a half a tank (I was required for 1/4 tank). Asked for reimbursement or discount and was told no. Although this is clearly a trick for Uhaul to get free gas. I've always used Uhaul always had a feast experience at the endicott location. Feels like vestal is only in it for the money. Would like something done so I don't have to deal with this stress in addition to the stress of moving.

Matt M. on 4/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

General Manager was excellent. Curteous and respectful, especially for a young man, these days. Gave us excellent advice on best way to move our "stuff". Everyone at this location were good, but General manager was above grade, at least in my opinion. With this young man in charge, I would recommend this location to anyone in a heartbeat.

Jennifer W. on 4/25/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Robert, the manager at Vestal location did a marvelous job in helping us reserve the right truck. He knew exactly what we needed and how to reserve it! He was 100% more helpful then trying to reserve using the 1-800 # or online!

Lucinda G. on 4/25/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make sure that truck has a full tank of gas when returned. Rental car companies require that and it should apply to your trucks too. We started out from the rental location with only 1/4 tank of gas which was worrisome because we didn't know the miles per gallon rate of the vehicle. Would we reach our goal point before running out of gas?

Heather C. on 4/24/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When I arrived at the location to rent a 26ft. Truck at 4pm was supposed to be there at 3. So I was running late and was in a hurry. They told me the keys were in the truck and it was ready to go. Sense I was running late I didn't think to do the walk threw with your employee to inspect the truck. Witch that is there job to go threw it with me. Not one thing was rite the dolly was not sealed and the blanket was a used one. I told one of your guys and he called me a lier and charged me extra money. The truck was bucking the oil was low and the breaks were just about gone. I rent 1-6 trucks and vans and this was my first bad experience with u haul but I'll tell you something I will never rent from you company again, and make sure everyone knows how awful my experience was. I hope this matter is taken care of before you loose all of you customers.

Gabriel D. on 4/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best Location in area

Frank f. on 4/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It has been many years since I have rented from U Haul as I have hired teenagers to help me move things in and out of winter storage. I will definitely be back!

BLAKE E. on 4/19/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Still feel like I was overcharged for the miles because I could not pick up at requested location. I did not drive anywhere that was not expected. Brought truck back clean with more fuel than needed but no break for extra miles. :(

john h. on 4/14/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Robert did a great job setting me up.

arlene g. on 4/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

van was new and ran perfectly. Customer service excellent and prices fair. Good experience.

Theresa L. on 4/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Completely satisfied!

BONNIE B. on 4/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

We would recommend this place again; as staff & manager are very knowledgable about equipment & products. I don't blame anyone for the faulty truck; as if it wasn't reported, you didn't know it existed until you were driving in the hills. (Fumes were not detected on flat land). Fully check equipment. The cab was dirty; spent cigarette butts, under seats, dried liquids on dash & needed to have the box of the truck swept out. However, the furniture pads were clean & the equipment was in good working order. I don't believe the manager knew about the manifold; the 2nd day we became ill, from fumes, & had to take on another night, at a motel. Also, the dash recepticle had an electrical fire smell, when a laptop was plugged in; that took approx. 20 minutes for that smell to go away.

WILLIAM K. on 3/31/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Truck was not washed and was dusty in the back but it was clean. Not complaining just an observation.

PAMELA G. on 3/26/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great & easy experience! Each of the young men who waited on me were friendly, knowlegeable & very helpful....

Edward S. on 3/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and equipment

thomas s. on 3/18/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service in store was excellent knowledgeable and very helpful.

Braden S. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service.

DAN R. on 3/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Kate L. on 3/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone I encountered during my experience was very helpful and professional. Thank you!!!

Theresa L. on 3/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was highly impressed with the whole experience! Staff was very helpful, knowledgeable, and quick to meet needs. Excellent job!

BRYAN H. on 3/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck could have used air ride and cruise control

JOHN L. on 3/8/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pick up and drop off was easy & quick

CONNIE M. on 3/7/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I was not pleased that I purchased 2 dozen pads and DID NOT USE THEM AT ALL and was charged 20 dollars for them and did not get a refund for them. You will resell them and double your money on them and I think that is unfair!!!! I had just moved less then 2 months ago and paid 103.00 for the same truck and everything and just moved again yesterday and paid another 103.00. That's very expensive and got no break on anything!! I will NOT be renting from you again and WILL be telling everyone NOT to purchase anything extra its a rip off and no REFUNDS ON UNUSED ITEMS!!!!

ADOLFO O. on 3/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Well done!

Jeff F. on 3/2/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I made the reservation online. The pick up time was 10 AM on saturday with a drop off time of 5 PM on sunday. The Vestal store then called me around noon on sunday and informed me that I was late dropping it off and because of that I was going to be charged an extra day. I am very disappointed with the service overall. This was the first time I have used Uhaul and it will be the last.

RONALD F. on 2/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service, good equipment!

KATHY M. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No issues with truck, wish I could have rented in Owego rather than Vestal and saved $40. in mileage.

TODD Q. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Trailer had problem with wiring, caused all exterior lights (except headlights) and interior lights in my car to go out. Had to replace fuse. Was also pulled over by police.

Ann Marie S. on 2/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

we needed a rental van on short notice, Staff was both accomodating and very professional. Van was clean and ready for pickup with in an hour of us calling. Thank you!

JEREMIAS C. on 2/17/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Your rep knew i was renting one way and failed to disclose all the information about the rental. I was charged 3 times what i was quoted. I will never use this company again. Its a shame i have been using this company for a long time, today they lost a customer. Keep in mind the rental was for one day and it was over 500.00 unacceptable

bruce l. on 2/13/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have used uhaul many times and had a great experience except for this time. I will tell you. I would not recommend uhaul again to anyone. Our entire experience was garbage and on top of that we were ripped off at the end with outrageous service fees and charges. First the woman that we picked up the truck from was very kind and friendly we had gone through her before. However we were very late in getting started with our day by about 2 hours because the regional office doesn't know how to communicate. The regional office for western new york woman was incredibly bratty and very unhelpful. The reason i had to call her was because my wife scheduled for a morning pickup. The location we were picking up from isnt even open in the morning. How does that make sense. so needless to say thats why we were 2 hours late in getting the truck, and it put us so far behind we couldn't get our storage unit until the next day. Now comes the bigger of the issues. we were charged 6.44 for 16 miles over which is ridiculous but i don't really care about 7 dollars at this point. What i care about is that A.) the woman we picked up from did not show me the gas level on the sheet. I wish she had because it did not match the gas level in the truck. Which the drop off location claims 7/16ths of a tank was what it was supposed to be, and 3/16's of a tank is what i left it at. WRONG WRONG WRONG!!! When i picked the truck up it was at 4/16ths of a tank which is a quarter of a tank. As in the lines were touching. When i dropped it off. it was exactly at a quarter of a tank. So literally if i stopped at a gas station and put 1 dollar or maybe 2 dollars of gas in it. It would have been exactly where it was when i got it. But in stead I get charged 74.00 for that crap. That's more than i needed to put in the tank for the entire trip. Please. This is a freaking outrage. And to me it looks like i am being scammed. How do i know they didn't go out and drive around. The guy who called me to tell me all this was very unhelpful as well.

Linda M. on 2/5/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I was pleased with the ability to upgrade my reservation online. I was not pleased with the fact that I had reserved furniture pads and that the facility was completely out. If I had been notified prior to picking up the vehicle, I could made other arrangements.

Brad B. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Online reservation was quick & painless. Picking up truck was just as easy. Employees at Vestal were great.

Richard B. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Rented a trailer you label as a 5Ft wide unit. Real width is 51" or 4 and 1/4 ". Yes, detail measurements are provided on a web page (if rented on-line) but how many people have you inconvenienced due to your deceptive "marketing"? Since I had a bad experience with U-Haul before (BAD truck maintenance) I was already "suspicious" and did see the details on the web page.

Thomas L. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Vestal Location, great job and appreciated Anthony's efforts and professional assistance.

ALLEN W. on 1/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Warm up the trucks on cold days to defrost windows

George C. on 1/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Overall a good experience with helpful and professional employess. The truck i rented had some issues though. Primary and parking brake lights kept coming on and off and transmission shifted very rough.

greg p on 10/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The 2 guys working were very helpful and plight. Knew what questions to ask and incuage conversation about using the u box.

RALPH T on 6/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Numerous occasions we were not given the full details of what U-Boxes entails *** Manager not being courteous*** Anthony The above cost us $150 in Mover.com

MATTHEW S on 3/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer assistance was great!

EMILY C on 12/29/2012
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The clasps on the U-box were damaged. Staff disorganized. I reserved online and stopped in the day before to confirm in person, took 90 min to pick up box, @ drop-off they had no idea I was coming