Customer Reviews for Abes Mini Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

367 reviews

5435 Richmond Rd   Williamsburg, VA 23188

(757) 941-5622

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 3:30 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/1/2021: 9:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • 6/17/2021: 9:00 am - 2:15 pm
  • 7/26/2021: 9:00 am - 2:30 pm
  • 7/29/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(757) 941-5622

5435 Richmond Rd
Williamsburg, VA 23188

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 3:30 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/1/2021: 9:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • 6/17/2021: 9:00 am - 2:15 pm
  • 7/26/2021: 9:00 am - 2:30 pm
  • 7/29/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
3.0

Be open on the weekends, not everyone have access to a cell phone to check in. Process took longer than anticipated.

Robin R. 
Rating:
5.0

Very respectful & Would highly recommend

PEGGYANN P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very easy to work with!

BRUCE L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was outstanding. Responded to my text message late at night for return.

THIENTRI N. 
Rating:
5.0

Very cooperative and personable staff.

Donald S. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went very smoothly

THOMASDUANE J. 
Rating:
4.0

Not this locations fault but I have spent over $10,000 over the last few years with U-Haul and always been well under the mileage and day allotment but this trip was over mileage by $90 and they don't want to do anything about.it. Therefore, they have lost a loyal customer for life. Bad business sense!

Tamesha O. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEREMYROBERT G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Phillip E. 
Rating:
5.0

Not a thing! Everything was outstanding.

Nick C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael S. 
Rating:
3.0

Is toner service was fine, but the equipment needs serviced.

Lonnie M. 
Rating:
5.0

I have always had good service from U-Haul. This was no exception. When I arrived, my paper work was ready and the truck was sitting out front ready for me to drive away. The check in process was equally easy. Friendly service and quality equipment. "Thumbs-up to Abe's!"

Thomas C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bradley M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter M. 
Rating:
1.0

To long to process the truck to secure the rental Business is to be open at 9am for return of truck and at 9:40am the gate was still locked. I decided to just leave the keys in the drop off box. To this date still have not received a final invoice. Extremely POOR SERVICE. They do not represent UHAUL well.

MICHAEL PAUL L. 
Rating:
1.0

The uhaul service provider didn't finish the paperwork , of course I thought it was completed because she handed me the keys to the truck and said ok you're all set. I got half way to my destination and I got a call from a woman named Bridgett who works for Uhaul which my 12 year old daughter answered. Bridgette went on to tell my daughter that we didn't have a contract and we were going to get pulled over for driving a stolen truck and that it wouldn't be their fault if we did. Then she hung up. My daughter was horrified and crying, afraid we were going to jail. I pulled the truck over called the number that had just called and asked to speak with the person who had just called. She stated that it was her and I asked what she had just told my daughter and she told me that we didn't have a contract and that the truck was considered stolen and that if we get pulled over we would get arrested. Needless to say it was a long drive back worried that we were going to get arrested and we didn't even get to accomplish what we set out to do. Now....charged $134.36 for something that I didn't get to use and was threatened. I even spoke with her field supervisor Godfrey Waswa and he apologized for Bridgett's behavior but did NOTHING ELSE. Oh wait.....he did do something else. Send me a copy of the bill where he charged my credit card and refused to give me the money back because we put miles on the truck. I do wonder however, if I never had a valid contract how can they charge me? My advice, find another company who can show some professionalism when something goes wrong and make sure that your contract it complete before you leave with the keys. DO NOT do the online sign in!!!!!!

heidi B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elsa R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sam G. 
Rating:
5.0

Give mileage paper so people can know exactly how many miles they have from the time they start driving before they go over the mileage from the beginning.

Nekita W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GEORGE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ki H. 
Rating:
5.0

Air conditioning in the vehicle was inoperative.

Frank F. 
Rating:
4.0

I returned the rental at 3:22 not 4:21...

Nicole D. 
Rating:
5.0

This is not for tye specific location, but for Uhaul overall. Apparently I had a past due amount that delayed me picking up the truck. The company should have a system that reaches out to individuals, at the very least it should have been caught at the time of reservation to help cut back on delays. Also, the amount that I owed, was in the system using my license, however I was deployed to Iraq at the time, so there was no way I could have been in Williamsburg renting a truck. I would like to see better security when it comes to accepting reservations. I have used Uhaul numerous times and this has been the only issue I have encountered. I am overall pleased and this specific location was excellent... Especially the system they have in place with the coronavirus pandemic going on.

Gary H. 
Rating:
4.0

Check-in process was "automated online" but still took 10+ minutes as we sat around waiting for "Approval". Why wasn't that done in advance?

Hunter S. 
Rating:
5.0

N/A

Rosendo O. 
Rating:
1.0

I would definitely not recommend U-Haul to my worst enemy. This was the worst service I have ever received. They couldn't get my moving date correct. They thought I was moving February 19 instead of March 19th. When I went to pick up the truck in Williamsburg, they didn't have the 2 dozen pads and the cost of the tow was doubled. I had to spend an hour on the phone trying to get this problem corrected. The guy behind the counter was no help and said, "That's just the way it is." I was so frustrated when I left! The next morning when I went to pick up the two after the truck had been loaded, I arrived at 7 a.m, but the place was closed! They didn't open until 9 a.m. When they opened, the woman said she couldn't help me attach the tow, and a veteran ended up having to assist me. I didn't get on the road until noon!!! I set up the pick up time at 7 a.m. because I didn't want to drive at night to my destination. I am a single woman and a widow and did not receive the help I needed. This was the worst experience I have ever had moving!

catherine F. 
Rating:
5.0

Really nice staff

Richard C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

susen E. 
Rating:
4.0

Had an equipment failure. Battery died. Had to call for road service

Robert B. 
Rating:
3.0

Make your “50 mile radius” policy more apparent when booking and make consumers aware that the “preferred location” is useless (even though the order that was placed online was at the original location). Also, making a “reservation” and having/receiving several confirmation texts and emails is borderline deceiving. Having to drive an hour toward the direction we were moving, wait in line for 30 minutes then drive an hour back (Plus the location had none of the equipment we reserved) set our day behind schedule by almost 3 hours thus putting behind all other scheduled apts/installations. It was definitely an inconvenience that poured over the whole weekend. We would have canceled if anyone else was available.

Chelsea B. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was done perfectly, no need to change or add a thing. Thank you.

Kathy M. 
Rating:
2.0

Spent 15 minutes trying to get license downloaded at the request of rep on duty at Abes. After finally getting all paperwork done, find out the rear door of truck would not shut. No one could not get the door to shut and was told the other trucks were reserved. Was getting ready to cancel reservation and look for another truck when another customer was able to get the door to close. Equipment should have been inspected prior to arrival and going through hassle of doing paperwork. Will not go back to Abes.

Curtis R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott S. 
Rating:
5.0

The uhaul appeared clean but it pulled very heavy and I did not have very much in the trailer. It pulled heavier than a full size car on a trailer. When I arrived in Michigan it almost caused me to crash multiple times. Every bump seemed to activate the surge brakes. I could only drive 45-50 mph and when the “brakes” or whatever else would happen intermittently the trailer would become very unstable and would really jolt my vehicle. I explained this to the return agent. I have pulled many trailers in my life and this was the worst problem I have experienced.

Jeremiah M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ashley P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David K. 
Rating:
5.0

Cindy was a joy to work with. Both Cindy and Lee were very professional and made the experience very enjoyable. Will use their facility again if I need to rent a truck or trailer!!

Brian B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve B. 
Rating:
5.0

The young lady at the desk was so sweet and personable. The online process was convenient and easy to use. I would recommend this place to everyone!

Catherine D. 
Rating:
5.0

I recommend putting a U-Haul sign on Richmond Road - in addition to current sign saying Abe's Storage - so new customers can more easily find your business. Once there, a customer receives excellent service and good products at a fair price. It's just finding the place for the first time that is a little challenging.

John V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph T. 
Rating:
5.0

I was pleased with everything this location offered and the people who helped me.

Daniel W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

shirley P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

aaron G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric W. 
Rating:
2.0

when i reserved the trailer i picked this place because it was close to the storage unit my sister-in-law rented. i did not know that there would be nobody there to help me get the trailer off my vehicle. not everyone can pick up a trailer off the hitch. i returned the trailer after 24 hours (actually 26 but we had some vehicle problems and ran late) and want to know if i will be getting any kind of refund.

carol C. 
Rating:
4.0

She was very thoughtful and gave me great information. Thank you so much! Best move to date with the help of Abes Staff member.

Febbie P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mary C. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great!

Terry S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ethel S. 
Rating:
3.0

I did not interact with a person. My only issue was checking the uhaul back in. The system could not recognize my location via GPS. I was super worried about dropping off the uhaul and being charged extra.

LaRhonda J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marilyn M. 
Rating:
5.0

Again super easy!

Bill M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Micah W. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lori R. 
Rating:
5.0

Pleasant and professional service. Thank you!

Marcus H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Colt S. 
Rating:
5.0

She was ver nice.

Jay D. 
Rating:
4.0

Friendly staffer. Pretty quick location. Not much happening there.

CHRIS T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

lynita H. 
Rating:
5.0

The woman that helped me with my rental was exceptional!! Friendly, thorough and a pleasure to do business with, we will absolutely rent from Abe's mini storage again!! Thank you!!

Elizabeth P. 
Rating:
5.0

Cindy IS this location and she is AMAZING!!!

Karen F. 
Rating:
5.0

Abe's mini-storage was great! One thing I'd note about the Uhaul.com website... When I reserved the Rental Truck online, I was led to believe that I'd be able to pick up the truck at the closer Uhaul location to my house (zip code 23168), which is only 5 miles away, instead the truck was reserved at a further location 15 miles away (zip code 23188). It added about 25 miles round trip to the cost. I would've liked to have known that the location was the further location before I placed the order. Not a huge deal, but at least wanted to mention that. Thanks!

ANDREW R. 
Rating:
1.0

Too much to type. I called and made a complaint and still haven't received a phone call back.

Jena C. 
Rating:
5.0

Good experience all around. Would recommend.

William N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wade V. 
Rating:
5.0

Perfect

Kay H. 
Rating:
3.0

Though our reservation included the need for only 6 pads, we were charged for 12. At the drop off location they could not credit us for pads we never received. If they had not been willing to just check in with 12 pads ( to avoid being charged), our credit card would have charged for 6 missing pads. Uhaul would not refund us for pads we never request or received. Bad business Uhaul not allowing the reservation system to fix a error.

erik S. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck I used needs an alignment performed on it. the steering wheel pulls... a lot! Other than that Cindy was great!

Jennifer T. 
Rating:
2.0

I was upset because UHaul changed the location for my pickup. The new location was an hour and half away from my home!!! I drove all the way over there for my 11:00 am pickup, and the only guy there was so slow. I didn't leave there until after 12:30, and even then I HAD TO HOOK UP MY OWN TRAILER!!! He was youtubing how to connect it while I got it done. I am a 55 year old woman. He didn't know how to do his job!!

Noel C. 
Rating:
1.0

Was given inaccurate mileage information and had to pay extra. Not good service at all

greg L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAUL L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jerry S. 
Rating:
3.0

When I dropped the trailer off the one person working was very busy. He was trying to get another customer out the door. When I told him I was dropping a trailer off he told me where to park it and disconnect from my truck. (I parked it disconnected it and drove away). If he is too busy to assist I'm too busy to wait.

bill A. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Customer Service!!

Maria D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael W. 
Rating:
5.0

I picked up the rental, drove less than a mile before the oil light came on. Had to pull over at a gas station and add 1.5qts oil to get it to the proper level on the dipstick.

David R. 
Rating:
2.0

The person at the counter didn't know what he was doing. It took over 2 hours to get the trailer. The trailer was in rough condition. Dirt inside and a soft tire which turned out to have a slow leak. I really needed the trailer or I would have gone somewhere else.

TERRY A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gary B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

karl M. 
Rating:
4.0

I returned the trailer a day earlier and returned it on a Sunday when there was no one there. They adjusted the invoice by the one day. Very good way to do business.

Mitchel W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William H. 
Rating:
1.0

Be available - Be on-time - Do not tell your customer you can not help when your the owner - Answer your phone - I will never go back to this place and will make sure everyone I know will not go to this place - only cares about getting his $ and nothing about the customer - The lady Cindy is the only person whom actually showed she cared about the service we got.

Carrie C. 
Rating:
5.0

Keep doing what you're doing very professional and helpful

julie M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID L. 
Rating:
4.0

Your agent was extremely helpful and knowledgable about the equipment offered. My rental piece was clean and road ready when I arrived to pick it up. Good job.

james S. 
Rating:
5.0

Cindy was so nice and helpful . Moving is stressful enough and her kindness truly helped

jackie C. 
Rating:
5.0

Just keep up the good work.

Richard H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terry B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christina J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tony M. 
Rating:
5.0

Cindy was fantastic across the board. The rental process, equipment, and service was impecable. I highly recommend this business for anyone moving into or out of the area.

John C. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service at the desk and on the phone. I am totally satisfied. Thank you!!

jody B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gary W. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top