Customer Reviews for State Street Auto
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

142 reviews

420 Fairview St   Belvidere, IL 61008
(Corner of North and Fairview)

(815) 544-9314

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/21/2022 - 5/22/2022: Closed
  • 5/28/2022 - 5/31/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(815) 544-9314

420 Fairview St
Belvidere, IL 61008
(Corner of North and Fairview)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/21/2022 - 5/22/2022: Closed
  • 5/28/2022 - 5/31/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adam M. 
Rating:
5.0

I didn't have a problem with the rental location, or anyone at this location. The problem is with hidden and bullshit charges they stick on you last minute in the hope you won't check the receipt and just brush it off. Cleaning fee for a unit that was allowed to be rented dirty

Ian C. 
Rating:
3.0

The location wasn't bad but the customer service definitely needs improvement. It took talking to 3 different agents after 2 hours before I was able to get the code to the lock box. This is completely unacceptable!!

Rachel P. 
Rating:
5.0

I did a mobile drop off so I hade no interaction with any one.

Xavier A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Heather A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Debbie M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KEITH H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lori N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elizabeth H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason D. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

michelle D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris K. 
Rating:
5.0

UHaul 24/7 app doesn't work worth a darn. Work on that and you'll be doing a great job all around!

GARY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bobbie C. 
Rating:
4.0

There was dried blood on the door from the previous renter which was very disgusting.

Jonathan G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward K. 
Rating:
5.0

The men was very nice

DENISE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Emma H. 
Rating:
4.0

Convenient location to drop a trailer. I have dropped here a few times now with no issues.

Catherine B. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast move her

james P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JACK G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard K. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice

ranfis M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brockton P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Maria L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Catherine B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Danny B. 
Rating:
5.0

The trailers could use more tie down locations. There just weren't enough tie downs to adequately secure items from moving around our falling over.

Rusty M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dean W. 
Rating:
5.0

i DON'T HAVE ANY SUGESTIONS

martin c C. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you

Chareall A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bruce G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alejandro T. 
Rating:
5.0

Had a very hard time during pick up trying to do it online had to call and still wasn't able to check in. The gentleman at the desk was extremely helpful!!!

Jodi Z. 
Rating:
4.0

The trucks need to be cleaned !!!! They were really dirty .... And for the price I paid for it to drive 20 miles I can just rent a rental truck at enterprise for a day for $45.00 - $50.00... Because the truck cost $45.03 to drive 20 miles... Also with the coronavirus that truck should be clean totally inside and out!

Patrick G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jonathan R. 
Rating:
1.0

Everytime I rent the rates go up I started at 39 a mile bein 79,89, now to a 1.19 a mile.We our a 501c3 Nonprofit organization in the past 2 months their site has been down it will not let me apply for a Corporation acct.I have spoken with several mgrs and still paying The regular prices. I'm tired of calling and getting no results.

VIVIAN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Gentleman that checked me in was very professional and courteous.

Dave S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marlin N. 
Rating:
3.0

The lot looks like an abandoned building. Weeds in lot. Threatening signs that if you dare to park the truck next to the building instead of the lot they will charge you $40. No signs to tell you where to drop the keys which is about 100 yards from where you are supposed to park the truck.

Russell M. 
Rating:
3.0

Your online reservation process is by far the worst I have ever dealt with. It took well over an hour to complete the process. The first 2 times I went through it and provided all the information, it ended with the reservation could not be completed. No other information, no other communication, just stuck in a parking lot with no truck. Even during the process, I was provided an opportunity to chat with a representative and sent multiple messages that were never answered. Finally after waiting on hold for over 20 minutes, I was able to contact someone that could help me. It should not have been my responsibility to reach out to correct the problem, your staff should have been there to support and resolve the issue. Not just send a fail message on a mobile app and providing no support to resolve the issue. I will be looking elsewhere the next opportunity I have to rent a truck and will certainly share this poor customer service experience with anyone I know.

Jeff S. 
Rating:
4.0

Reserved the truck via your app/on-line service and found the app very difficult to work through in both setting up the rental and picking it up. The return was much smoother.

Thomas H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erik J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gary S. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick friendly service

kevin B. 
Rating:
3.0

I had to pick up the equipment at an alternate location. At the pick up location the person had to re-enter all of my information, which took twice as long as is should have.

Ronald M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

julie B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tricia R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pamela P. 
Rating:
5.0

Gentleman that owned the shop was friendly and professional. Customer service agent who booked this for me on the phone was absolutely awesome, explained exactly what we needed to hook up trailer and lights.

shierly P. 
Rating:
5.0

Will use again for next load. Very satisfied with location and personnel.

Donald A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pete L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leland H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randy T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

frank B. 
Rating:
5.0

Great communication, friendly, and professional. Thank you

david M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

shannon S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Diana R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacob H. 
Rating:
5.0

Please let me preface by stating that I have no reason to believe that State Street Auto is responsible for my problems with U-haul. State Street Auto was courteous, professional and I had no problems whatsoever with them. However, my negative experience begins with getting a quote 3-4 weeks ahead of when I would need the ONE-WAY rental. The quote was given at the Avondale location on Kedzie in Chicago. The gentleman that gave us the quote didn't encourage us to reserve the 26' truck that we needed at that time. As a matter of fact, he said that as long as we reserved at least a few days before when needed, we'd be fine. Several days later, I received an unsolicited, though appreciated, call from a lady from U-Haul who asked if we were actually going to reserve or not. She proceeded to explain to me that the 26' trucks are more difficult to come by and they "sell-out" rather quickly. She also stated that we really had nothing to lose by booking now as we would pay nothing if we cancelled before actually picking up the truck. I thanked her and asked her to reserve the truck and auto-transport trailer. For some reason, she didn't know why, she couldn't execute the reservation. She advised me to call 800-GO-UHAUL and reserve that way. No way! They're already sold out of 26' trucks!! The lady on the phone was very helpful and explained to me that the guy at Avondale should've encouraged me to reserve when we got the quote as we wouldn't pay anything if we decided to cancel. He should've known how quickly the trucks sell-out. Maybe this is worse for ONE-WAY rentals, I'm not sure. So here we are. The lady on the phone worked diligently to try to find me a truck. U-Haul's system apparently can't search more than 50 miles outside of a location, zip or address that YOU give them. I don't blame customer service but U-Haul's system should be better. She worked with me as we tried to come up with towns 50 miles or more outside of Chicago to search. We tried towns in all directions of Chicago before she finally found a truck over 60 miles from Chicago. Well at this point I don't have much of a choice. I asked her if I can at least pick up the trailer from Avondale and she said this shouldn't be a problem. She gave me some extra miles to ensure that I don't go over the allowable mileage included in my ONE-WAY reservation. I also wanted an extra day as I'd now have to pick the truck up a day earlier than needed. She advised me that I can request that a day or two before the actual pickup. Now, over the next 2-3 weeks, I checked more than a few times to see if a 26' truck became available closer to our move location. No avail. Fast forward to a day or two before the reservation. U-Haul calls to confirm and I ask them check once again for a closer pickup. Nope. She gives me the extra day that I now needed to pick up the truck. I re-confirm that I can pick up the trailer from the Avondale location in Chicago. Nope! They don'

JAMES B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

bret S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles G. 
Rating:
1.0

Number online is not a working number. Not open on weekends. Would not recommend. Extremely dissatisfied with my overall moving experience. Most likely never use uhual again

robert M. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent Customer Service.

Paula C. 
Rating:
5.0

Wonderful to deal with!

julie E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeff E. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chanice M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mike M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

phil L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul F. 
Rating:
2.0

When u compare to drop off location no comparison. The guy is running another business and it was not clean or neat. Obviously not his main priority.

Norma F. 
Rating:
5.0

THANK YOU FOR EXCELLENT SERVICE..

CAROLE J. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service, went above and beyond to help us with our move and save us some money!

robert D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert W. 
Rating:
5.0

This gentleman was very kind and courteous to us. We will highly recommend him to our friends!

monica P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joe M. 
Rating:
1.0

I was told to go to a location 20 miles from my home to pick up my trailer, when i got the, the location was closed... Even though uhaul said they would be open. After a few calls, the uhaul rep had me hook up the trailer myself. This thing is heavy!!!! A neighbor across the street had to come help me

Jeffery H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter H. 
Rating:
1.0

Service man never got out of his office chair. Did not take us to the truck to do a walk around or anything. Upon opening the truck bed the next morning, it was filthy. Dirt was all over the inside of vehicle as well as the ramp. Will never rent from this place again.

Jan M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rick P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend them. have used them in the past.

thomas H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gina M. 
Rating:
2.0

The truck was clean and new and in good order. The lobby, office area, bathroom, not so much. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable though.

ROBERT S. 
Rating:
3.0

Only thing that bothered me was I put the dolly in the back n they said take a picture to verify u put it in there. Well if someone had stole it I would have had to pay for it. So I think either have some be available to drop off or have survalience to verify. Just saying.

RHONDA O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CANDY G. 
Rating:
2.0

Not a good place for drop off after dark alone.

MARCIE R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JASON C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JODY D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAT G. 
Rating:
3.0

Place was a couple of minutes from my house. Doesn't get easier than that.

FELIX R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRENDA H. 
Rating:
4.0

trailer placed so it was easy to hook up

LYNN L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cheryl C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

gary D. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANTHONY P. 
Rating:
5.0

down to earth very friendly

KEVIN B. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top